Unfulfilled  Election promises PDF Print
Friday, 09 May 2008 16:21
 21B(F), Jalan SJ 6, Taman Selayang Jaya , 68100 Batu Caves
012-2766551 / 013-6302747

7-5-2008

Unfulfilled  Election promises

The People’s Party of  Malaysia  or Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) criticizes the Pakatan Rakyat government which comprises of  The People Justice Party or Parti Keadilan   Rakyat, The Islamic Party (PAS) and the Democratic Action Party (DAP)  for not fulfilling their election promise to the electorate to undertake a 20 % reduction of the assessment in the 12th General Election.

It has made the electorate feeling that such a promise made by the Pakatan Rakyat is merely meant for fishing votes during the election.

According to a news report , the Menteri Besar of the Selangor Mr. Khalid had declared that the Selangor economic growth did not meet the target as predicted, thus the governing Pakatan could not fulfil the election undertaking to   carry out a 20% cut in the  assessment .

The reason given by the the Pakatan Rakyat government is not convincing and unacceptable.

If the Pakatan Government  put a greater check into the running of the local authorities and direct them to pull up their socks,  reduce   wastage,   corrupt  practice,  abuses, and  cronyism, at the same time practise openness and transparency in the administration and good governance as promised, the assessment rate needs not be that high, yet they can still deliver  quality and good services to the people.

For instance, during the BN days a bridge project at Selayang Pandang which only costs RM 400 000 , but it takes RM 1.2 million to get it completed. Such a practice if reformed and it should be as the Pakatan Rakyat has been telling the people they shall push for it, much tax-payer money wasted could be saved, and the money saved can be refunded to the people.

The high assessment rate should not be burdened  on the people in the first place. The wasteful excess charges even if it is discounted, cannot be viewed as a discount to the electorate as undertake by the Pakatan Rakyat. The people has long been overcharged by the BN government.

In fact, after cutting out the money saved through the reduction in the assessment, the local authorities still have more than enough money to run their duties. So,    there is no need for the State government  to  subsidise if prudence is observed and practised in the local authorities.

Based on the observations and study made by the People’s Party, there are a lot of wastage , abuses, corruption in the previous government, and many projects are mere  white elephants and the goods delivered do not match the prices claimed. It benefits and satisfies only the cronies.

Consequently, to meet the appetite of the cronies  for more money, the assessment rate keeps rising. A case is the Selayang Municipal Council, the service the taxpayers  get is not commensurate with the tax paid and is far from it,  despite strong objections by the residents,  the Council bulldozes its way to raise the assessment `.

The electorate is fed up with the BN arrogance and measures, dissatisfactions accumulate, and chose to cast their vote for  the Pakatan Rakyat .

The  demand of the electorate is clear and obvious, they want an authetic reform and change.

The  electorate has very high expectations on the Pakatan, just  as they had done in the 2004 11th General Election to the Prime Minister, Mr. Abdullah Badawi, when unprecedented supports were given, but Mr. Abdullah has let them down.

Thus the Pakatan Rakyat government must value the people’s mandate and prove that it can outperform the BN government, otherwise the Pakatan will be thrown out of office come the next election.

Vice President of Parti Rakyat Malaysia

Koh Swe Yong

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by smeagrooo, May 09, 2008 16:32:46
are u telling me that if PR cant perform well during this 4-5years, the ppl are gonna vote back BN scums? It must be a joke rite?

what did the PR govt inherit? a bag full of holes. u still hv little napoleans lording over the rakyat and not committed to serving the ppl. all out to sabotage.

we are not stupid la.

next ge, all will be wiped out!
written by KKchan, May 09, 2008 16:34:36
Dear Mr Koh,
We have waited for 50 years to give BN the boot (at least partially) and we can't wait a little longer to allow PR to get into the act? PR are not miracle workers or faith healers. Just human beings like you and me but with a greater sense of alturism. And they need time to reassemble the missing documents too to see what went awry. Patience.
written by Wisdom above, May 09, 2008 16:38:36
Can you assist on how to legally annul all previous state contracts signed by the previous BN Selangor state Government.

High priced Negotiated contracts cannot be held as illegal contracts.

Please assist Pakatan Rakyat Selangor Govt to cut wastages.
Help & guide them.

A new Pakatan Rakyat Federal Government is the only and best solution to your questions.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by wag the dog, May 09, 2008 16:43:03
Compilation of Quotes on RPK - Bapa Bangsa Malaysia

Over the last three days most of us have gone through a rollercoaster ride over RPK’s case and have posted comments on blogs. To honour This Towering Malaysian I have compiled some of the quotes in my blog so that these last three historic days are etched in our history.

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by Mark C, May 09, 2008 16:43:13
Funny fellow wants everything to do done in 2 months? reform takes time and to reverse back the ravages of the previous administration in 2 months is a ridiculous expectation.
written by babakl, May 09, 2008 16:46:26
Hai koh, what thinking are youmade off? BN being robbing us for the last 50 years you are happy for them to continue it just because PR does not fully keep its promise just few months ago? Hei go fly kites while the wind is still strong and fly it high. If i had given bn 5 years and this is only what they had done, i will give PR 50 months to do the otherway i.e clean, fare, honesty.and transparent.No corruption. That is still way better for our nation.
written by quietguy, May 09, 2008 16:51:08
I think these PRM guys are still bitter at PKR for breaking up their party.
Get over it, people!
written by netmiser88, May 09, 2008 16:51:53
Mr Koh,
Please tell me how long will you honestly give the 5 PR ran states to rectify and do all what they promised before election?
Yes, don't be shy and don't be brainless.....most of all be FAIR!!!!
How long does it take to repair 50 years of mismanagement and rot???.....be FAIR!!!
Somehow after reading your article I have the feeling of.....FAIRNESS is very remote from your mind!!
So, can you reconsider and FAIR????
written by Mik, May 09, 2008 17:01:26
Mr.Koh,

Mind your own business and please let someone do the job. U can expect a baby born yesterday to get up n run today . Please la. be rational . i tot as we grow old, we will be wiser. want a spotlight? critisize the fed government n see where it lands u. u will be on 1st page of every newspaper and may b spending a few days in sg.buloh cell too.. and dats spotlight. do it like a man.. or keep shut.
written by backs, May 09, 2008 17:02:22
the pakatan rakyat governement need to implement changes to improve the efficiency and the economy of the state before simply reducing assessments by 20%. it takes time as the previous BN government root of corruption is deep. but i trust it won't take till after the next general election.

come on laa....BN couldn't even deliver on their 2004 election promise for the past 4 years whereas they were the governement for decades! even now, their 2004 election promise is still in the 'planning' stage, still all talk and no real action yet! no implementation!
written by Mik, May 09, 2008 17:02:23
my mistake. i mean to say " u can`t expect a baby born yesterday to get up n run today"
written by oknyua, May 09, 2008 17:03:47
I dont buy this.

So Mister Koh, you want Khir Toyo back? You mean changes need not go to ADUN? Of course the people throw them out if they can't perform, but they are not magicians. And finally, sir, if your men had made the studies about wastage, why not make appoointment to see Tan Sri Khalid with your agenda? If for 5 years you can't see Abdullah, I doubt you need to wait for a few days to see Khalid or his men.
written by RitchieLow, May 09, 2008 17:09:11
Dear Koh Swe Yong, Vice President of Parti Rakyat Malaysia

Well said and in detail.

Please continue by listing and analyzing what BN manifesto items that had not been realized or even taken up, this will be very appropriate as they are still running the country. Your effort will be much appreciated.
written by Mr Smith, May 09, 2008 17:10:28
Mr Koh,
Your heading says "Broken Promises" but the contents of your letter points to only ONE.
So you are mad with the government for being unable to fulfil this one promise? Do you mean to say you voted for PR for this 20% discount? Come on we voted out BN for larger things.
Please consider the many other good things the government is trying to do. Can't you see the former government has made a mess of the the entire administration.
Give BR time. Maybe be next year when the accounts are clear they might be able to give you a better discount. Come on, be magnanimous.
written by SeriousLy, May 09, 2008 17:13:52
Stupid idiot commentators that's trying to despise our intelligence! The main reason for voting PR is not for the promises of lower price of this and that! We want to see what did BN did for the last 50 years! STUPID!
written by Puchongjoe, May 09, 2008 17:15:46
I look forward to the next election to vote out BN!! I will be more aggressive in promoting Pakatan Rakyat than ever before.
written by MasterYoda, May 09, 2008 17:18:54
Koh Swe Yong,

In Section 5 pj, got one big field there for flying kites....

fly kites la you... try section 5.... you'll love it!!

written by Knight, May 09, 2008 17:22:27
Mr Koh Swe Yong, are you are YB or were you rejected by the Rakyat by many of the BN candidates??

Please improve your English before you write again, it is embarrassing!

"According to a news report , the Menteri Besar of the Selangor Mr. Khalid had declared that the Selangor economic growth did not meet the target as predicted, thus the governing Pakatan could not fulfil the election undertaking to carry out a 20% cut in the assessment ."

Which news report is this? I don't remember reading it. In any event, what is the big deal about not cutting 20% of assessment? I will have problems using the free first 20 cu metres of water that Tan Sri is giving me every month!

Mr Koh - I suggest that you run for elected office (and win it) and then you would have earned the right to criticise others. In the meantime, please shut up! Who are you to talk on behalf of the electorate?

written by justme bc, May 09, 2008 17:22:29
I don't buy this story, by the way are you related to Tan Sri Koh of Penang?. If you have any good workable proposals, pls feel free to meet up with YAB MB of Selangor and I am very sure he will accomodate your request to meet him. Don't just know how to critc but do not offer solution.

cheers..hidup bangsa malaysia!!!
written by Cheryl, May 09, 2008 17:23:24
Btw, manifesto means :

"a public declaration of intentions, opinions, objectives, or motives, as one issued by a government, sovereign, or organization" and also
"a public usually written announcement of policies and intentions, especially by a political party"

SEE! it's intentions, objectives and NOT "promises", Understand! Mr Koh???

We voted for PR not because they are giving us this or that (what did BN give us after 50 years!!). We voted for justice and a better future! PR is already showing us that they are able to get things done and working very hard for us. The state governments of PR and all their teams are really 'berkhidmat'.

Tan Sri Khalid, we are proud of you and your whole team and we are happy we are 'orang selangor'

written by hussin1958, May 09, 2008 17:24:54
Mr Koh,
Well said but why stop at 20%? Should ask for 50% or better still ask for free. And while you are at it ask the PR government to improve the service given by the local government. After all the people have been taken for a ride all these years by the previous govts and now that we have decided to change the government we cannot wait to see the benefit. If they do not deliver within 100 days you should start a campaign to change the government again.

Mr. Koh, I'm sure the media will highlight your concerns and I hope this will make your day for being famous. After all, I have no clue that you even existed before this.

written by Arubin, May 09, 2008 17:38:11
All things taken into consideration, I would rather support a party that aims high and fails to hit some of their goals than a party which aims low yet misses the mark most of the time.

Yes, BN, I'm talking about you. Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones. smilies/tongue.gif
written by almier, May 09, 2008 17:38:59
come on PRM how much the BN paid to write this, huh? haven't you looked around and see how BN disturbs PR administration? the rakyat had given BN 50 years fulfill their promises, yet what we see is just an increase of every(bad)thing, corruption, wastage, cronies and so on...PR is just 2 months old, what do you expect from that?....simple equation can answer the question.
written by cruzeiro, May 09, 2008 17:44:13
Mr. Koh,
I understand your bitterness at being whacked in the last elections. I'm certain that you would've made a good "longkang MP", though.
I was rather disappointed that you had chosen to contest against other more viable candidates using your limited resources and support staff, so as to split the votes.
It seems to me that your purpose in the last elections was to be a "trojan horse".
As a matter of fact, I'm surprised that you even managed to garner a couple o' thousand votes at all.
Kudos to you for your "brave" stand!
Last but not least- Next time, please don't send out illiterate ignoramuses, to campaign for you - people tend to judge you by those whom you choose to be represented by.
written by Ben Nordin, May 09, 2008 17:48:24
Wow. He wants Pakatan Rakyat to deliver everything in two months after taking over while the files and records from previous administration still not accounted for and with lukewarm co-operation from the federal government too. Is he a funny guy or what?
written by sungai_kelian, May 09, 2008 18:01:52
Mr. Koh, you're crazy man, evaluating a government after less than 2 months in office. What have you achieved in the same amount of time. Are you suffering from grandiouse delusion?
written by capcomangel, May 09, 2008 18:07:52
now just a beginning rulling the state somemoe limited fund.just be patient and everything will going fine soon when Pakatan Rakyat enough power rulling.
written by YSL, May 09, 2008 18:30:55
Idiot @ Bastard @ Saitan Koh,
Where were you when million of Bangsa Malaysia suffered smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gifWhere were you over the past 22 years when we need someone to speak up against BN/UMNO/MCA/MIC smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gifStay asa bastardand nobody will say anything about you bastard idiot smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Goodbites, May 09, 2008 18:52:29
Umno-BN's have already proven they are unworthy to hold high office. Why continue to mention them when we now have the alternative? Give Pakatan Rakyat the support to prove themselves. It's already time for Umno-BN to retire for good. Those (Umno-BN's) who still have any conscience for the nation, now is the time to jump ship!
written by clarity, May 09, 2008 19:09:33
Hey Koh you *******! I can see that you are the typical chinaman type. What are you getting out of this? I suppose you think you can do better than the present state govt. Go back to your BN if you think they are so honest. Pleae don't bother us in this website. Signed: a chinese.
written by mbhalim, May 09, 2008 19:15:18
The impossible, the PR can and will do. Miracles take a little longer! So, please be patient. If you can wait for more than 50 years, surely another 5 or even less will not kill you!
written by jason, May 09, 2008 19:17:55
I voted PR not becos of the 20 pct discount. My family voted PR becos of the MAD man with the Kris who happens to be the Education Minister. Imagine a whole new generation of school children running amok w kris. Seriously, a people oriented PR govmen wil never fail. Mr. Koh, actually who r u???
written by devilonpois, May 09, 2008 19:41:06
My vote still go to Pakatan Rakyat... cheers...
written by harryo, May 09, 2008 19:59:10
PLEASE don't bring BN into picture. Frankly, we want no more BN, AAB, Najib etc.
written by mamakstail, May 09, 2008 20:17:00
Relax-lah kawan!! BN state governments has over spent our taxes, assessment and quit rent money for their Jamuan here Jamuan there. I'm positive PR will fulfill their promise onces there settle down. No need to hurry..If you PRM buggers need that 20% discount don't pay now after all the second quarter payment are not due until June. Don't play small boy game-lah stupid!!!
written by cartman26, May 09, 2008 20:17:48
Dear Vice President of Parti Rakyat Malaysia Mr. Koh Swe Yong,

In future, pls back up your statements with data. You are just pulling facts out of thin air. Moreover the PR government inherited a tainted state government; what do you expect, when the BN government fared so badly even after 50 years in control. In fact I am more disappointed with the federal government's attempts at bullying the PR state government. If you don't know what I mean, pls read this article http://limlipeng.********.com/...eras.html.
written by sarawakian, May 09, 2008 20:19:49
how about the moron who filed a police report of unfulfilled election promises by Pakatan Rakyat during the GE12 campaign? i dare him to make another report against BN for unfulfilled promises made in the last 50 years.

this is the type of brains produced by UITM hah?

written by ChanRaj, May 09, 2008 20:21:43
Alo Koh Swe Yong, yearning for some spotlight? Nope, MT is not the place to do it. Try MSM. They'll pay you a fat sum for bodeks like you to write such stuffs. For the past 50 years BN and the UMNOputras have been brainwashing and cheating the Rakyat and now just 2 mths after the elections you are trigger happy and ready to shoot down the PR government? I tell you what, the PR Government is DOING A FINE JOB, BETTER THAN EXPECTED! So why don't you crawl back to wherever that you came from. We are not interested in your opinion. Good riddence to bad rubbish and I am referring to you.
written by Uncorruptible, May 09, 2008 20:27:52
dei ! Isn't it too soon to pass any judgement on PR's performance? Don't you know that the PR is not the federal government and has its hands tied in many matters? The promises have been made if the PR wins the federal goverment, did the PR win
the federal government or can the prm guarantee this? C'mon, prm is not a player at all,so can you stop your crazed utterances to try to confuse issues. May the PR never accept your application to join it.
written by Uncorruptible, May 09, 2008 20:29:39
Encik Koh Swe Yong is an arsehole.
written by ez24get, May 09, 2008 20:54:16
Consequently, to meet the appetite of the cronies for more money, the assessment rate keeps rising. A case is the Selayang Municipal Council, the service the taxpayers get is not commensurate with the tax paid and is far from it, despite strong objections by the residents, the Council bulldozes its way to raise the assessment `.

Koh Swe Yong,

For a position of Vice President of Parti Rakyat Malaysia you are incredibly naive and shallow in your arguments.

For instance you mentioned that the previous arrogant BN government bulldozes their way and increases the assessment wantonly without regard to the citizens.

The fact that the new PR government, although it did not reduce the assessment by 20%, did not increase the assessment is already an improvement over the previous government. And so far everybody can see that this new PR is humble and values the citizen's opinion which is also another big improvement over the previous arrogant government.

You must realise that the PR government inherited "0" money from the previous regime but on the contrary a lot of garbages, red tapes and ill-will. Not only inheritance of garbages, it also faced sabotages and withholding of funds from the previous regime.

You mentioned yourself that the previous BN government sufferred from corruption, cronyism and wanton wastages. These losses may run to hundreds of millions if not billions of dollars. You have already read the Port Klang scandal, the putrajaya government quarters scandal, the balkis fiasco, etc which are only the tip of the iceberg.

Even if the present PR government does nothing as long as they are not corrupt, they are already hundreds of millions or billions of dollars ahead of the previous corrupt regime.

You surmised that just because PR did not fulfill some of its promises, you will vote back the previous corrupt and arrogant government?

For an experienced politician, you must have your head examined. Your article is too superficial without any numerical analysis to back your claim. On the other hand, you could be part of the old corrupt regime hoping the downfall of the present PR government for your own selfish agenda.
written by sarawakian, May 09, 2008 21:05:03
aiyah.. actually ah.. i just wanted some cheap publicity mah.. i donno how to write very well.. sorry my tail show itself..

written by uncleleow, May 09, 2008 21:40:35
Mr.Koh, Please dont ever say PR fails to fulfilling their election promise. If you want to pass judgement please do it on the onset of next election. We the people have chose them to represent us. We know what is their strength and weakness and they are not david copperfield. If PRM doesnt like the current PR gomen. Then let contest in GE13. or else keep your bloody mouth shut and FCUK OFF
written by KARMANNGHIA, May 09, 2008 22:09:33
Mr Koh,

Refering to you - for 50 odd years, noone has heard of you, and now all of a sudden just 2 months after erection, you're shouting your head off.

A loyal like you should move out of that area, your master says one.

written by apasalahku, May 09, 2008 23:01:17
can't believe how farkin stupid some Malaysians are. Just bcoz its a new government they're bowing down to worship as if it can do no wrong. No wonder BN can wreck so much chaos in the first place...governing this bunch of peasants.

Keep it up PRM..watch the shepherd for us; no matter who it is.
written by Fire_walk_with_me, May 10, 2008 02:40:10
Fifty years since Independence, there had been many more unfulfilled, broken promises and shattered hopes. And why aren't those goons and geeks picking the bones on those empty talks of eradicating corruption, improved public service delivery and efficiency, transparency, accountability and what-nots that came with the landslide electorate victory in 2004? For crying out loud, this is not a time to score political brownie points by picking on the PR government! The new PK governments in Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor inherited a rotten barrel of apples, have we forgotten that? Give them time to clean up the mess passed down by the predecessors.
Is it too much to hope for and work together on a better future for our children and theirs to come in this country?? So you may have your discount in everything, but would it change your life for the better if things remains as they are? We cast our votes, and we are in this together - ALL OF US, mind 'ya. Fankly and honestly, if I could forfeit the 20L of free water and discount assessment in exchange for a better tomorrow for all, I would and I WILL. See what's happening to RPK, and those good MPs at the Bandar Mahkota fracas?? I didn't vote because of promises. I voted because I share a dream of a better place that I call home.
written by Fire_walk_with_me, May 10, 2008 02:51:13
Oh, sorry... Mr. Vice President Koh Swe Yong of Parti Rakyat Malaysia, I got so carried away with my previous posting that I forgot to address this to you. As you are the VP of a party that's supposed to look after the benefits of the rakyat, and possibly this country, do you think the 20% discount in assessment is worth fighting whining for when the whole country might go down the tube if we fail to look farther into the generations to come? I am so ashame of you!!!

written by AT2008, May 10, 2008 03:54:58
We have let BN-led government to skin us for 50 years, and now we asked for Pakatan Rakyat to make something happen just in a few months after GE12? PRM, if you can make it, you would have done it previously right? Why dont you question yourself?

You have the nerves to post something like that. Thick face. And I am ashamed of being a Chinese because of you Koh Swe Yong. You made us Chinese disgraceful! So please focus on serving the Rakyat, instead of continuing this denial syndrome! And as a piece of advice, next time you want to post something or make any statement, look at the mirror first, ask yourself the same question you asked others about.
written by Al Ambia, May 10, 2008 10:23:12
Idiot Koh,listen carefully!U expect the present government to do what the BN
gomen fail to do overnight ka??IF u want miracle,call David Copperfield la
written by firefly1949, May 10, 2008 12:04:11
Hello Mr Koh! I strongly suggest that you stop writing herelah.. So close minded and so shallow thoughts. Buang masa orang membaca saja...
written by johanssm, May 10, 2008 13:30:34
Do NOT expect the changes to be so fast.
PR is doing the best they can .
Show to us who will be able to solves problems left over by bn junkies?
Even the pc and laptops all missing from the state office when PR takes over.What we have in the office is just , a chair ,a table , some cabinets and a phone line.
please do bears with PR .
Hell , even money for old folks homes bn sapu clean .
Some of the civil servants which we have in Pakatan States are working against PR ! cant people understand ? We even have the state' polis chief against us !
written by fikri9205, May 10, 2008 16:34:27
We'll have to agree to that statement.If the Pakatan Rakyat do not perform,we have no choice but to rationally vote PR out of the office.

But i do hope that the PR would outperform BN and I think they will.But you never know .We have to remind PR to perform well because we do not want PR out of office but if we have to we will not hesitate.