BMC residents doused and gassed PDF Print
Friday, 09 May 2008 15:40

Andrew Ong @ Malaysiakini

The tranquil suburb of Bandar Mahkota Cheras (BMC) descended into chaos last night when police doused some 500 residents with water cannons and fired dozens of tear gas canisters into the crowd.

During the melee, Segambut member of parliament Lim Lip Eng and BMC Open Road Committee chairperson Tan Boon Hwa were allegedly assaulted by plainclothes police officers.

The incident occurred shortly after Lim arrived at the scene at about 10pm to lend support to the residents who had gathered at the Bandar Tun Hussien Onn intersection of the Kajang-Cheras Highway.

The highway concessionaire Grand Saga Sdn Bhd was in the midst of erecting a concrete barrier - for the third time - aimed .................................

cheras mahkota conflict 080508 lim lip eng arrested

'I was maced, beaten'

Without the welding machines, Grand Saga workers withdrew, prompting residents to surge past riot police cordons and destroying the partly-completed barrier with their bare hands in a matter of minutes.

Suddenly some 50 riot police took up attacking positions and there was a brief stand-off with the residents with only what remains of the barrier separating the authorities and the residents............................READ MORE WITH DETAILED PICTURES @ MALAYSIAKINI 

Beaten in front of reporters

Lim, a trained lawyer, is a well-known figure among the residents as he has been serving as the legal advisor for the BMC Open Road Committee ....................... ..........
.READ MORE WITH DETAILED PICTURES @ MALAYSIAKINI

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by freedom lover, May 09, 2008 15:44:29
This nation of tear gas canisters, run by gangsters, will one day be liberated
by true freedom fighters!

"Ten dogs together can kill a lion but they can not become the king of forest."
Prabhat Bhardwaj
written by YSL, May 09, 2008 15:47:13
I have only one answer:

those who take order from the murderer will not be safe, will not be normal, will not be sleeping well, will not be eating and shiting for long because Allah will punish them for all the misdeeds they committed.

God, Allah Jesus, please give them the punishment they deserve. Show us the real punishment now!!!!!!!!!!
written by freedom lover, May 09, 2008 15:50:01
"There is no crueler tyranny than that which is perpetuated under the shield of law and in the name of justice.”
written by Puchongjoe, May 09, 2008 15:54:37
I wouldn't recommend anybody to work as a police anymore. Terribly political and having no heart and brain. This is legal gansterism, bullying good citizens, just because of profit for the Grand Saga.
written by omarkhayyam, May 09, 2008 15:56:37
Is this the price we have to pay when we are right and the regime is wrong ?

as a malaysian, what kind of treatment are we getting ?

even illegal immigrants dont get gassed or baton whacked like we do

written by alarcarte, May 09, 2008 15:57:00
Disgusting! The profit margin of a few big shot individuals far outweigh the financial loss of the residents. The people in Klang and Shah Alam has been paying toll at Batu Tiga for donkey years, they can build another 50 Federal Highways with the profit collected.

The Police will probably come out with a statement like "We were provoke to take action"
written by Lim Lim, May 09, 2008 15:59:10
polis which adopt that international doctrine as the force to serve n protect is already dead n extint in this country,instead.. they hav long evolved into an animal like,rotten to core n corrupted breed called gestapo-crone which is equivalent to the east wing eunuch of ming dynasty!!!
written by PasarRoad, May 09, 2008 15:59:21
This is really abominable.
Our PDRM who is supposed to protect the public has instead taken the law into their own hands. This is a civil matter between Grand Saga and the residents. The most PDRM could do is to ensure that the crowd disperse peacefully and advise them to take the matter to court. The PDRM may arrest and charge the people who broke the barriers if the PDRM is sure that that property is private or that it is public property.

It is an irony that in civilized society, the police would protect the protesters but here we have the police beating them up including their legal adviser.

There seems to be no rule of law anymore in our nation.

The readers of Malaysia Today.net who voted or supported the BN, I have this to say to you: YOU HAVE SOLD OUR NATION DOWN THE DRAIN.
written by smeagrooo, May 09, 2008 15:59:52
this is a cash cow for the corrupted and they will do whatever it takes to protect this cow. What's a few tear gas canisters? Rakyat sponsored. And dont forget we are paying these dudes via taxes so that they can rough us up. MANA CARI woooiii!
written by gctham, May 09, 2008 15:59:53
What logic was this< close the access road, force the resident to pay and endure the pain of the traffic jam> juts to make sure the Grand Saga make the profit guaranteed. If not, pay compensation. This is rule of jungle. IF Grand Saga was to being guaranteed with the traffic volume and therefore its profit, it this call BUSINESS VENTURE? It there any business venture ON THIS EARTH can be GUARANTEED WITH PROFIT? Why then the GOVMEN TAKE ON IT SINCE IT WAS GUARANTEED WITH PROFIT.

PLEASE TELL ME DO THE BMC HAVE NOT RIGHT TO BE ANGRY? WHERE IS THE IDIOT WHO SAY HE HAS TWO EARS. WHO SAY WHO LISTEN WHAT PEOPLE HAVE TO SAY? WHERE IS THE IDIOTS NOW? THE IDIOTS IS HIDING FLYING OVER THE WORLD AND THE BMC residents are GASES AND CHEMICALED?
written by FFT, May 09, 2008 16:01:46
So, the police who are on the payroll of the public, are whacking the public to protect a corporation?

The circle is now complete. Malaysia is officially a modern day Fascist State.
written by smeagrooo, May 09, 2008 16:02:51
what will happen if the police are politically aligned faces the possibility of a change in govt in the near future? will they resign and throw our country into a lawless one? We hv seen how the local councillors are making life difficult for the new state govt.
written by MasterYoda, May 09, 2008 16:02:51
the police were acting on whose orders???

Who? i want to who was responsible for instructing the FRU to come out in force??

Which ******* gave the instruction to attck un-armed civillians???
WHICH *******??? may you suffer piles in you ass till your dying days!

Malaysia's human rights level has dropped!

Oi Pak la la... you still in la la land...
you end is neigh....

RESIGN NOW! Mangkuk!!!

written by peacemaker, May 09, 2008 16:04:11
TOL = Tahan Orang Lalu

leehoongmun.********.com
written by PasarRoad, May 09, 2008 16:04:12
CORRECTION

The readers of Malaysia Today.net who voted or supported the BN, I have this to say to you: YOU HAVE SOLD OUR NATION DOWN THE DRAIN.

Is supposed to read as:

Those readers of Malaysia Today .net..........etc etc

Its not directed at ALL readers, only the ones who supported BN.
written by beijing, May 09, 2008 16:04:33
salah ker kalo buka jalan bagi orang lalu. ini kan satu kebaikan untuk semua... Hai...tetapi malaysia agak lain daripada yang lain...
written by ilovepakatan, May 09, 2008 16:11:41
This is really sickening. When will they ever learn? They are the Government because of the people. Without the people, there is no Government. smilies/angry.gif
written by AngryTaxpayer, May 09, 2008 16:17:47
All these taking place while the ordinary man on the road continues to be robbed and assulted in broad daylight...and to think the rakyat just had their tax-payers money spent to buy these dogs new uniforms and equipments....I want my money back!!!
written by Mr Bean, May 09, 2008 16:21:42
Another example of oppressive BN government and its crony milking residents for selfish gain of few BNputras!

Cheras residents should set up a fund via donation and contribution from rakyat to sue Grand Saga for damages and costs all these years.
written by nk1881, May 09, 2008 16:26:12
I find the news on BMC very shocking, police beating up and hurting innocent civilians. Nothing can justify beating up innocent peaceful civilians. In view of the recent events, the prospect for this country is dark. I don't think the authority has learn any lessons from the 8 March tsunami. It doesn't seem like they are serious and commited to any reform. All they are good at is paying lip service to reform, they are good at announcing reform only, with no real determination to see that reform is done. Nothing more than empty reform announcement.

This country is going down the drain becoming more and more like a police state and looks like democracy is dying. Looks like the only way to stop the rot is to support Pakatan Rakyat.
written by timberguy, May 09, 2008 16:29:03
This is outrageous and disgusting! PDRM is a police force? You got to be kidding me! More like private militia of BN goons and corrupt bastards! Rubbish!
written by mystally, May 09, 2008 16:55:30
This is the result BN govt ruling.
BMC suffering.
We tasted the water and the gas.
You will be next.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiAd-oLObgc
written by miracle, May 09, 2008 17:14:14
look ... when you took away your piece of meat in the dog mouth for sure it will bite you .... what we are doing now .. when the "dogs" have been stealing your meats and you took that away , those "dogs" sure go "amok".
Please be fast PR .. make sure that BN no longer in our country ... vanished for good... how i wish David Copperfield could do us a favour - use his magic and make BN and the cronies dissapper now and forever ...
written by scottthong, May 09, 2008 17:32:45

Poster #6 from http://scottthong.*********.co...l-posters/
written by budakindia, May 09, 2008 18:49:32
I wish Abdullah, Khairy, Najib, Rosmah and all the ministers in the cabinet including the IGP will die a terrible death and burn in Hell! smilies/angry.gif
written by Democrats, May 09, 2008 18:53:07
To all you in PDRM and FRU,

A time will come when we all shall pass on to the next world, and you shall be judge upon your actions by GOD or ALLAH, or whatever name you call it.

And standing infront of your GOD of your wrongdoings on your judgement day, you shall not say I was merely following orders, or virtue was not convenient at that time", for it will not suffice.....

Remember PDRM & FRU....
written by miracle, May 09, 2008 19:05:49

http://youtube.com/watch?v=AtSRluxGBIk

real bloody shit ... after watching what happened .. really feel very very angry ... what had the residents done that's so wrong untill to be treated like that !!!! cant take it no more ... this bloody uniformed ... smilies/cry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by UnkerM, May 09, 2008 19:59:46
So Grand Saga, forcing the folks of BMC to pay toll is not enough..now you want to punish them for speaking up. As usual, your goons aka PDRM, is there to do your bidding, just as they would to protect any UMNOputra business.

We shall remember you, Grand Saga. Yours will be a saga with an unhappy ending...for you.
written by shamadz72, May 09, 2008 20:04:17
I believed the right thing for those parties involved is to address this dispute in court. While at the mean time, the road should be re-open, since Grand Saga shouldn't been getting any profit out of it while the case is still pending in court.
written by UnkerM, May 09, 2008 20:10:37
After watching the video of these bullies in action, I can only say one thing...

WE NEED A NEW GOVERNMENT!!!
written by sarawakian, May 09, 2008 20:40:25
God, Allah Jesus, please give them the punishment they deserve. Show us the real punishment now!!!!!!!!!!

as in the P Ramlee movies, this is just "cobaan..."

written by Uncorruptible, May 09, 2008 20:51:58
BLOODY CAPITALISTS AND BLOODY GOVERNMENT COMPRADORE CAPITALISTS !!!!!!
written by micon02, May 09, 2008 21:02:29
Ini bukan Polis namanya
Ini adalah tyrant

Manusia yang telah bersekongkol dengan puak yang zalim mana ada hati perut
Orang yang zalim hati mereka gelap
Hawa nafsu mereka telah menewaskan akal mereka sehingga tidak dapat membezakan antara kaca dan permata

Perangai orang yang zalim lebih dahshat drpd perangai "natang"
Natang seperti serigala tiada akal sebab itu mereka ganas
Tapi manusia yang zalim akal mereka terlampau tinggi kelangit, tiada tolok bandingan, apa yang mereka cakap dan buat adalah betul
Mereka pakai undang2 hawa nafsu belasah orang dengan sesuka hati

Ya Allah jangan lah jadikan aku seperti mereka
written by turun padang, May 09, 2008 22:25:28
I wonder who's the DUN & MP for bandar mahkota?

How come MP for segambut is helping them?
written by spliff_roller, May 10, 2008 00:15:51
I wanted to suggest starting an initiative to launch a Police Report against this very clear case of police brutality caught on video. And also assaulted a member of parliament, But im expecting it to come to no avail. It is sad that the BN is mobilising the entire government machinery to protect their $$$$.

One of my relatives who work in KL and bought a house at BMC, couldn't even stay there except weekends due to the traffic situation. They are sucking the blood of the sufferers.

I feel so insulted that they can just use the police force to protect their own intrests. It is the whole damn opressive system which is wrong. We really need a change.

written by spliff_roller, May 10, 2008 00:21:59
Babylon System - Bob Marley (Babylon to mean all oppresive regimes)

We refuse to be
What you wanted us to be;
We are what we are:
That's the way it's going to be. If you don't know!
You can't educate I
For no equal opportunity:
Talkin' 'bout my freedom,
People freedom and liberty!
Yeah, we've been trodding on the winepress much too long:
Rebel, rebel!
Yes, we've been trodding on the winepress much too long:
Rebel, rebel!

Babylon system is the vampire, yea!
Suckin' the children day by day, yeah!
Me say: de Babylon system is the vampire, falling empire,
Suckin' the blood of the sufferers, yea-ea-ea-ea-e-ah!
Building church and university, wo-o-ooh, yeah! -
Deceiving the people continually, yea-ea!
Me say them graduatin' thieves and murderers;
Look out now: they suckin' the blood of the sufferers.
Yea-ea-ea!

Tell the children the truth;
Tell the children the truth right now!
Come on and tell the children the truth;
Come on and tell the children the truth.

written by Taufique, May 10, 2008 00:32:57
hey, its so easy to blow up a girl with C4, why not blow up those barriers with C4 as well? woohoo, thats some mad science fun!
written by Taufique, May 10, 2008 00:46:11
oh, i didnt mean that in a seditious way, i was being sarcastic! incase some Oxford BN goons misinterprete what I commented.

Anyways, how can a private tol company block a road which is owned and paved by the developer for the home purchasers, ie, public?
written by comicality, May 10, 2008 01:08:31
Goodness .. tear gas and chemical water on residents?? OMG don't the goverment know how shameful their actions are on a global scale??
written by keithqn, May 10, 2008 01:59:27
Please log on this Youtube video and see with our OWN EYES on how the Tear Gas and Water Cannon used on OUR OWN RAKYAT!!!! What have they (rakyat) done wrong ? If its burdenning to the rakyat isn't it suppose to be done without ? If the toll is a must and will benefit them, EXPLAIN it to the public. We will understand and not just a contract and all the Bull Shit!!!!

My heart ache for all the people that are doused and spray with the TAX payer money! Damn It ! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtSRluxGBIk
written by yipck, May 10, 2008 12:07:09
This is really a shame.
1. Grand Saga doesn't own the state land and road.
2. Police is receiving instruction from Grand Saga? why? base on what law? or is it base on Underpocket money indirect law?

3. Police use water cannon and tear gas on Citizen? Citizen are the taxpayer for police. Maybe Citizen should pay extra underground coffee money to Police so that they can do their job to protect the citizen instead of Grand Saga?
Federal police under Federal Government. Then use Selangor state police to counter the Federal police!!

4. Khalid, what is the point of discussion? Grand Saga already broke the state law, just drag them to court. Discussion for what? for undertable money from Grand Saga?

Malaysia has turn into Ugly country. I really ashame of being called Malaysian!!!

Either now PR must change government, or in 2 years time (grace period from singapore government), I will dump my Citizenship and become Singapore Citizen
written by Wisdom above, May 11, 2008 09:09:18
To, YB Lim Lip Eng
Mr. Tan Boon Hwa,

Since both of you were physically assaulted by plain clothes police officers ,& the incidents were evidential proof, photographed & video recorded.

Best evident rule & logical way was to take 'civil suit' against the PDRM as 1st defendants & the Government as 2nd defendants & Grand Saga as 3rd defendants.

Only civil suit for RM 50 millions damages for assaults for each of you will wake up the Police commission to take action against their own staff. RM50 millions X 3 x 2 = RM 300 millions.

Awards can be used to fund more Pakatan Rakyat activities.

I believed both of you will win these 3 civil actions against PDRM, BN Govt & Grand Saga.

I believe all BMC residents will support these 3 civil cases against PDRM & Govt & Grand Saga.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.