Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Dewan Rakyat: RM1.14m spent on 3 annually

Dewan Rakyat: RM1.14m spent on 3 annually PDF Print
Friday, 09 May 2008 14:05
(NSTOnline) THE government is spending RM1.14 million annually on three people. Zulkifli Nordin (PKR-Kulim Bandar Baru) said former women and community development minister Datuk Seri Shahrizat Jalil and Tan Sri Hamid Othman, received RM404,726.40 and RM549,675 a year respectively for being advisers to the prime minister.

He said a written reply from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi showed that former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed received a total of RM180,000 annually after retirement.

Zulkifli said the RM1.14 million could have been used instead on building at least 36 houses for the poor.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by binarytan, May 09, 2008 14:09:17
No wonder the advisors are not advising the PM, look at the candidate of no qualification. How about the "richest unemployed OXFORD shamefull graduate"?

I thought he got multi-billion being good advisor?

Any ACA to look after him & the gang??? smilies/angry.gif
written by sabah tun, May 09, 2008 14:10:52
Datuk Seri Shahrizat Jalil and Tan Sri Hamid Othman, received RM404,726.40 and RM549,675 a year respectively for being advisers to the prime minister.

Some ppl dont even make that much in a lifetime and they make so much for doing almost nothing? smilies/angry.gif
written by Raja Chulan, May 09, 2008 14:10:55
Well done Zul4kulim

If they were serving the rakyat well, why would they be out of office.

UMNOputras and UMNOputris BLUDGERS
written by simply_say, May 09, 2008 14:11:36
"The one thing that money can not buy is poverty."

What a waste!!!

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by peacemaker, May 09, 2008 14:12:52
All this shit only from BN government. We want CHANGE immediately! we want PR
written by ilovepakatan, May 09, 2008 14:13:53
This is ridiculous! That means Chedet receives RM15000 every month even after retirement. That is such a rich retirement scheme! smilies/angry.gif
written by KuchiRat, May 09, 2008 14:20:18
What is that RM15k to DrM every month? It's chump change - prob what he pays his bodyguard or one of his many assistants?
Why pay these rich pensioners a monthly stipend when thousands of unemployed graduates are trying to get by with RM1000 to RM2000, trying to support their aged parents and young siblings at home????
written by alan cheong, May 09, 2008 14:21:52
wotever on earth for ?!?!?!?!!?

let's see the details ..... !
written by The Krull, May 09, 2008 14:22:26
That amount is too much for Sharizat's hair.. Are we paying for the brain or for her hair ? and i have never heard any good piece from hamid othman either. Good job Zul.. Korek more, please.
written by foresight, May 09, 2008 14:23:55
Did I miss something ? The PM had to pay his minister for advice ? Must be the only one in the world doing it.
written by wag the dog, May 09, 2008 14:25:43
Compilation of Quotes on RPK - Bapa Bangsa Malaysia

Over the last three days most of us have gone through a rollercoaster ride over RPK’s case and have posted comments on blogs. To honour This Towering Malaysian I have compiled some of the quotes in my blog so that these last three historic days are etched in our history.

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by shamadz72, May 09, 2008 14:39:33
Waah.. not bad for Sharizat for being unemployed. I shudder to think off how much she has been getting while been "employed" all this year smilies/smiley.gif
written by sydput, May 09, 2008 14:46:18
Tun Hamid and shahrizat are lawyers. Advising the PM means charging lawyers fees. This govenrment have no money for minimum pay and MTUC demand for salary increase, but have tons of money for legal advisors and consultants.
I was told Malaysia airport hldings paid RM50-60milion to turn old subang airport into an exhibition centre. How? their executives burt it out in the nespapers that they have spent RM100-120million demolishing the old airport terminal and half of it was paid to consultants.
written by SeriousLy, May 09, 2008 14:59:54
If politicians are not paid well, then who want to become politician? smilies/grin.gif BUT ...... A politician must be evaluated and paid accordingly! we are only a small developing nation so why are they paid so much? We can't even take care of such a small country!
written by malsia1206, May 09, 2008 15:01:59
And do not forget they get Lembaga Hasil to do all their dirty work to squeeze this money from us to pay their allowances.
written by Al Ambia, May 09, 2008 15:10:05
Nak cari advisor,cari lah yang cerdik pandai.With that money U can hire dozen PH D holder.Furthermore these minister sudah di bayar gaji and allowances.Their job is to advise u free of charge
written by Mark C, May 09, 2008 15:13:41
and to think our constables start with less then 1 k a month and put his/her life on the line of duty for that "scrap" of money,.
written by educationist, May 09, 2008 15:14:32
I know it will not make a difference.
But I wish to state my objection to such misuse of public funds.
Think of what a difference that amount will make to how many poor and needy families.
written by krepot, May 09, 2008 15:16:55
Datuk Seri Shahrizat Jalil received RM404,726.40 RM33,727 per month

and Tan Sri Hamid Othman, received RM549,675 RM45,806 per month

Please tell me, how much PM earns a month? How much our ministers earn a month?
How many high-flying CEOs in Malaysia earns more then 30,000 a month?
Pray tell!
written by gctham, May 09, 2008 15:19:07
It this is how our tax payers being spent? Advisers? No it was just way to keep the loser get a job, what ever name you wish to term it.
written by Biztrack, May 09, 2008 15:23:41

krepot: I dont know what the other two do, but paying sharizat is like paying "protection money" to keep Wanita UMNO's support after he dropped Rafidah.

Now I know why TDM is so unhappy with AAB. He is getting peanuts compared to the other leeches.
written by East Highlander, May 09, 2008 15:24:49
what a bloody waste of money. what advice could anyone possibly give to 'big ears and nothing in between".
written by The dragonheart, May 09, 2008 15:48:37
WHY NEED SPECIALLY PAID ADVISERS?

AS A PM, THW WHOLE GOVERNMENT IS HIS ADVISERS...

MEANING THESE PUBLIC SERVANT ARE NOT GOO ENOUGH?

IF THEY ARE PERSONAL POLITICAL ADVISERS, THEN USE PERSONAL OR PARTY MONEY LAH...
written by aryn, May 09, 2008 15:50:57
Mak datuk!

May I ask what the intan belian services that Sharizat and Hamid Othman been giving to the PM? How come we hear nothing about this diamond services?

At a time when BN govt shot down Cuepacs' request for minimum salary of RM900 for private and public sector, it didn't even blink to pay a whopping half a million ringgit to these undeserving duo and RMl80,000 for Tun M?

Maybe, Badawi expects the rakyat to eat grass.

Do the right thing BN. Surrender the government to PR before you destroy the country!

written by netaddict1, May 09, 2008 15:54:47
POLY=many, TICK=blood sucking parasite

POLITICS = ?

go figure it out
written by Mr Bean, May 09, 2008 16:08:51
Bodowi and cabinet of morons,

These 3 people highlighted are already millionaire, if not billionaire.

Such political appointments had long overdue and expired, and bring no benefits!

Why should the BN government need to fund them and not the needy citizens?
written by ciknoni, May 09, 2008 16:24:11
aiyaa you people ah...tak faham-faham lagi ke....the money that both received will probably be PakLah's....the two goons will keep 10% saje...sendiri mesti fikir la....gaji menteri pun tak sebanyak tu
written by kaames, May 09, 2008 16:32:22
wot the f*ck. RPK indirectly advices BN everyday, heck where's our million??
written by partiotic, May 09, 2008 16:49:17
Dear fellow citizen this is what what BN government is doing. Out hard earn tax money, they don't border.The rich are getting richer.
written by Taufique, May 09, 2008 16:56:17
sheesh, thats how easy money comes to them. And we the normal folks are having a tough time getting by.

What advising? Which of their advice has been good for the country? 400 , 500 grand for whispering into a sleepy man's ears. How easy.

All these minister buggers dont feel the pressure of price increases, petrol allowances, food allowances, children's education n what nots (im not simply picking this up out of the air, my friend's dad is a recent loser in the elections, and I damn well know how rich he has become all of a sudden).

Bollocks la.
written by activepro, May 09, 2008 18:52:44
ministers when they retire from "service",each of them will hv enough to fill a pool so that they can swim in it.That's why they have to defend their gravy train till death do them apart.We need our new PR people to plug the bleed asap,act now or never.

KETUALAN
written by activepro, May 09, 2008 18:53:39
It's sick to the bones! How on earth can the PM run this country with this type of stinking economic sense?People from Penang are well known for their thriftiness when it comes to money,but these bozos secretly hoard massive amount of money for pratically doing nothing.It is not surprising that all ministers when they retire from "service",each of them will hv enough to fill a pool so that they can swim in it.That's why they have to defend their gravy train till death do them apart.We need our new PR people to plug the bleed asap,act now or never.

KETUALAN
written by shamadz72, May 09, 2008 20:10:06
written by Biztrack, May 09, 2008 | 15:23:41

krepot: I dont know what the other two do, but paying sharizat is like paying "protection money" to keep Wanita UMNO's support after he dropped Rafidah.

------

Hehehe... AAB paying protection money to get Wanita UMNO's support. That is another good way of looking at it from different angle smilies/smiley.gif
written by seek justice, May 09, 2008 20:44:21
Now, how would these people ever be able to understand how the common rakyat are suffering with the prices of essential goods sky rocketing?

The private sector have not increased wages, government servants are luckier because there's the bonus and the pay hikes. The politicians are smoking cigars at 5 star hotels for leisure, among other things.

Disgusting revelation. God have mercy on Malaysia.
written by Uncorruptible, May 09, 2008 20:46:31
To the Malays: If you ever wonder what others are talking about when they say ketuanan melayu, bumiputraism, NEP etc is a farce, read the above and you will know what is happenig to your money, and your children and grandchildren's money. And this is only the tip of the ice berg.
written by TB Tan, May 09, 2008 22:33:16
If an adviser earns that much, I wonder how much a minister earns. I would very much like to know what constructive advice have these two advisers given thus far,afterall it's our taxed money that's paying them and I have every right to know what my money is being paid for. The ordinary folks are struggling to balance their budget with a meagre salary with the rising cost of living and here we have the government appointing advisers with astronomical pay and erecting blockades so that highway concessonaires beef up their profits. Is this what our PM means by a government for the people or should I say a government for 'certain people'???
written by nk1881, May 09, 2008 23:40:35
What a waste of money esp when we alerady have a Minister looking after women's affairs!
One would think it is charity from the rakyat's money!