Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Press Statement : Penang Chief Minister YAB Lim Guan Eng

Press Statement : Penang Chief Minister YAB Lim Guan Eng PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Erin   
Thursday, 08 May 2008 17:30

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak Convinces No One By Saying That The Government Is Liberal And That Sedition Charges Against Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin Is Not Politically Motivated When RPK Was Charged After Najib And His Wife Objected Against His Allegations Linking Them To The Altatunya Murder Trial.  

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak convinces no one by saying that the government is liberal and that sedition charges against blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin is not politically motivated when RPK was charged after Najib and his wife objected against his allegations linking them to the Altatunya Shaariibuu murder trial. With RPK being charged so soon after both of them objected to so called slanderous remarks online, the public can not be faulted for thinking that these charges were a directed act of vengeance.

On 2 May 2008 the Deputy Prime Minister’s press secretary Datuk Tengku Sariffuddin Tengku Ahmad wrote in a letter to Malaysia Today that Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak will not hesitate to seek legal redress over unfounded and unfair allegations made against him in the case involving murdered Mongolian woman Altantuya. This follows Najib’s wife statement on 1 May against slanderous remarks against her. Despite such warnings of civil action of defamation, Najib has still not sued RPK who instead faced criminal charges of sedition.

This latest infringement of rights may be the beginning of Barisan Nasional’s crackdown on media freedom. This will also set a frightening precedent against online expression that will further erode media freedom in this country despite promises by the BN government.

DAP condemns the arrest of blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the editor of the internet news portal Malaysia Today, under the Sedition Act, and demands for his immediate release as well as withdrawal of charges. DAP hopes that all journalists and media associations can come out in solidarity and support for RPK by condemning RPK’s sedition charges.

We know that Raja Petra - who is charged with implying in a post on April 25 that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and his wife were involved in the murder of a Mongolian model Altantuya Shaariibuu - has been one of the vocal critics of the BN government and its cronies.

On the same day the posting was made (April 25) Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek told the press that media freedom should not be feared by anyone, including the ruling party, as it could also be the source of strength for the government and the country. Ahmad Shabery even said that the reform announced by Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi recently such as the setting up of a judicial commission and introducing an Anti-Corruption Commission could be implemented more effectively in a free media environment.

Even Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar promised that he would review the country's repressive media laws to boost press freedom. “I have told my officers that I want to have a re-look at the Printing Presses and Publications Act so that we can move with the times,” he said, according to the Star on April 20.

Syed Hamid went further when he said, “We need press freedom in order for us to have a check and balance in government. We are not trying to control you but we want everyone to contribute to the nation-building process. Why should we let ourselves (government) become unpopular by having such regulations?”

The sad truth about this deteriorating situation pertaining to our press and other media is due to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s too many promises which he failed to deliver since he became Prime Minister in late 2003. After the recent political tsunami on 8 March 2008, it is now proven that talk is cheap.

Such empty promises also demonstrate that BN is not capable of reform, that BN can never accept criticisms and will always resort to repressive laws against the interest of the people.

Another anti-freedom attitude displayed by BN leaders is when Najib yesterday (May 7) inferred that the Attorney-General can decide whether action can taken against DAP chairman Karpal Singh for questioning the transfer and reappointment of the Perak Islamic Religious Affairs Department (JAIP) director. Malaysia is facing international condemnation and widespread public anger for charging RPK. Najib is strongly advised not to apply the same tactics of sedition used towards RPK on Karpal who is the National Chair of DAP.

When criticisms are perceived as threatening stability and public order, this means the BN government will never ever learn from the lesson of the March 8 political tsunami. While the voters are giving BN a second chance, its leaders are more interested in bullying the voice of conscience and the voice of the oppressed.

DAP demands that BN government immediately stop harassing bloggers, journalists and federal opposition leaders and supporters who are merely acting as good citizens in exposing wrongdoings of government leaders.

LIM GUAN ENG
Comments (78)Add Comment
written by kent chong, May 08, 2008 17:37:14
Dear Penang folks... pls hold a vigil candle light at Penang...
agree 334
Votes: +330
written by sitiawan, May 08, 2008 17:38:01
The Rakyat CONDEMN the arrest of RPK!

The Charges are MALICIOUS!

There is no MERIT!
agree 409
Votes: +404
written by Ben, May 08, 2008 17:39:53
Please put this motion to vote in Parliament. Let's see how many are real MPs and how many are seat warmers. For the august house to dispense justice effectively, we need to prune it regularly.
agree 228
Votes: +225
written by kuccat88, May 08, 2008 17:41:46
Our Honourable and most distinguish YB We demand on you to put pressure on the BN Keep up the Good Works
God Bless You
agree 209
Votes: +207
written by hardworking_taxpayer, May 08, 2008 17:41:57
Long live RPK and Pakatan Rakyat!
agree 189
Votes: +185
written by mgeo, May 08, 2008 17:43:15
(a) Is the BN system of racial parties and divide-and-rule not seditious?
(b) Were Tun Abdul Razak and Dato Harun Idris not seditious in 1969 (I know RPK disagrees on this)? Did Maha Thiruden give them seditious advice?
(c) Is the labelling of some citizens as "pendatang" and the theft of aborigine lands not seditious?
(d) Was the thwarting of the PBS victory in Sabah not seditious?
(e) Was the failure to hand over official state files by those in the outgoing BN state govetnments (jeopardising the incoming goverments' ability to rule and meet the people's aspirations) not seditious?
(f) Was the attempt to thwart the appointment of the new MB in Perlis not seditious?

While we have many unjust laws, enforced by govt bodies answerable only to their master, it is our elected MPs in Parliament more than the Executive who allowed this to happen and are therefore responsible.
agree 244
Votes: +242
written by westduke, May 08, 2008 17:44:07
hope all the PR parlimen members will boycott parlimen to show disgust over RPK arrest!!
Votes: +42
written by KKchan, May 08, 2008 17:44:25
Of course the public cannot be faulted that the charges were politically motivated. Can anyone remember the Police moving with such supersonic speed? Investigations completed and charges readied all in just about one week! Enter this in the Malaysian Book of records. Maybe it is a good thing if the Police were to charge Karpal over his Perak comments. Then we can all pressure the police to charge AAb over his Terengganu comments. Both claimed the respective Sultans acted unconstituitionally. Why the different treatment? No BN MPs say AAB was disloyal.
agree 171
Votes: +169
written by whoisthis, May 08, 2008 17:46:12
Read the following Bernama report, after PRU 12 , and see for yourselves whether the AG should be charged with sedition.

KUALA LUMPUR, March 18 (Bernama) — Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail today stressed that there was no tussle between the Regent of Terengganu and the Regency Advisory Council with the state government pertaining to the appointment of the Menteri Besar of the state.

He said this was because the process of appointing the Menteri Besar for the state was spelled out under Article 14 (2) of the state constitution.

“As such, the candidate appointed as the Menteri Besar is not the nominee of the Regent or the Regency Advisory Council but a person who is appointed according to the laws of the state,” he said in a statement here.

He said the person must be a member of the state legislative assembly who in the opinion of the Regent and Regency Advisory Council commanded majority support in the assembly.

He said the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was fully aware of the provision and that His Majesty cannot interfere in the appointing of the Menteri Besar.

“This is because under Article 34(1) of the Federal Constitution, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong cannot function as a ruler of a state except as the head of the Islamic religion.

“In connection with this, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong does not have his own candidate for the post (Menteri Besar of Terengganu),” stressed Abdul Gani.

He said that His Majesty was aware of the fact that appointing of the Menteri Besar lied fully with the Regent and the Regency Advisory Council, and that His Majesty had no role whatsoever under the law concerning it.

Gani’s explanation comes in the wake of speculation about the position.
Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh whose appointment as the Menteri Besar of Terengganu has been delayed since the 12th general election ended on March 8.
agree 182
Votes: +179
written by nk1881, May 08, 2008 17:48:34
Well said! Bravo!
PR pls continue to put the pressure on. One press stmt is not enough.
Next from PKR, PAS better still from PR as one.
Bring it to parliament.
Votes: +76
written by jayjay, May 08, 2008 17:52:58
Well said, Guan Eng. We were right in voting for Pakatan Rakyat and we will continue to vote for you. Pls keep the heat up. The Rakyat have suffered enough.
Thank you
agree 216
Votes: +213
written by justme bc, May 08, 2008 17:59:38
Whoisthis, from the above, this is sedition by the AG! Should make a police report and charge him! The only course of action we have is to sent this guy to the internaional court of justice not even a royal commision of inqury which we have lost confidence in.

hidup LGE! hidup PR! hidup RPK! hidup bangsa malaysia!!! hidup rakyat malaysia!!
Cheers...
Votes: +104
written by grant, May 08, 2008 18:00:52
This AAB and his donkey administrations are all flip flops... AAB says 1 thing, the next day somebody says another thing, the 3rd day another top gun says another thing.. In the end all those things said sum up to nuts! Apa pun elek! Cakap saja pandai...

Bloody stupid leader cant even control his horses... his horses will nigh whenever they like... the more they nigh the more stupid the adminstration looks.
Votes: +93
written by clting08, May 08, 2008 18:01:09
Dear LGE

You are better than our PM. He gas spoke a word till now. Maybe he feels
guilty for arresting RPK..ha ha.
Keep It up.

Round 2 on!!!! from tomorow....
Votes: +96
written by clting08, May 08, 2008 18:02:29
sorry typo error

I mean Pm has not spoke a word till now
Votes: +19
written by grant, May 08, 2008 18:03:25
maybe the weaponsmith can help to print this onto the heads of the BN donkeys..

"BN government immediately stop harassing bloggers, journalists and federal opposition leaders and supporters who are merely acting as good citizens in exposing wrongdoings of government leaders"
Votes: +28
written by cocomomo, May 08, 2008 18:03:45
written by westduke, May 08, 2008 | 17:44:07

hope all the PR parlimen members will boycott parlimen to show disgust over RPK arrest!!

May not be a wise move to boycott Parliament sittings. If I am not not mistaken, the two thirds majority to amend the constitution is based on the MPs present and voting. (Could any legal expert reading this correct me if I am wrong? I hope I am wrong)
If the PR MPs boycott the Parliament sittings, the bn maybe able to still pass bills that require two thirds majority.
Votes: +22
written by Cikgu Bedah, May 08, 2008 18:04:33
Brilliant, YAB Lim!
Hope I will have the privilege to sit next to you in economy class flight and have a good chat, wahai Pemimpin Rakyat! smilies/smiley.gif
Votes: +103
written by DatoSeri, May 08, 2008 18:05:58
Who the bloody dpm kid with?
Every single action taken by UMNO is politically motivated.
Rakyat has been fooled for 50 years, but will not tolerate further.

This sedition charge is clearly aimed to silent RPK and all bloggers.

I believe bloggers with conscience to uphold justice will not submit to such a threat! Do you agree?
Votes: +69
written by Cikgu Bedah, May 08, 2008 18:06:44
Wahai Pemimpin PAS dan PKR
Please strengthen PR's stand in this issue. YAB Lim has paved the way.
Buktikan Pakatan Rakyat bersatu dengan rakyat.
Votes: +53
written by chanatak, May 08, 2008 18:07:13
Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak convinces no one by saying that the government is liberal and that sedition charges against blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin is not politically motivated

True. Absolutely True. Only a fool or an kaki bodek will believe Najib.

On the contrary through, this chinese saying comes into mind "The 300 taels of silver is not buried under this spot" . Mesti ada sesuatu disebalik batu.

This event is going to be the last nail in the coffin of BN's demise in Malaysia.
Votes: +51
written by BennyG, May 08, 2008 18:14:43
So many BN promises. So many BN actions showed the opposite of what they claim to want to do.

Then again, who is surprised by BN false promises?
Votes: +33
written by Lim Lim, May 08, 2008 18:16:27
semua kaki umno ini sama sahjalah,cakap tak serupa bikin,bikin tak serupa cakap...they are all craps jus can't walk straight!!
Votes: +24
written by BennyG, May 08, 2008 18:17:43
Did anyone notice that very few BN MPs made any statement and the first one which did was the stupid Najis statement?

BN MPs fear that whoever speak out will be target. The fear in them is enough to keep their stupid mouths from opening.

Bravo RPK! They could not avoid being afraid anymore.
Votes: +41
written by kent chong, May 08, 2008 18:21:11
**posted by Malaysia Today Admin****
http://www.malaysia-today.net/.../7132/84/

written by erin, May 08, 2008 | 18:12:03

dear wonderful readers and supporters of RPK and MT,
no matter where you are - at 8pm tonite just light up your candles, take pictures and send to our editorial's email or RPK's mailbox.

we will try to up your photo asap on MT. thank you very much.
Votes: +29
written by mumonthecase, May 08, 2008 18:23:21
When a government is elected by the rakyat it is the governments responsibility to work for the people - not the people for the government.

It is really important for the people to remember that and they can hire and fire when it is necessary. When a worker is not doing a good job do you keep employing him? No, you get rid of him. The government is no different from an errant worker.

People like Najib and his wife who think they can use their connections to incarcerate an apponent just because he said something Najib didnt like then we have not progressed at all. It reminds me of the days of Mahathirs government days when people feared talking in public about corruption in political circles....come on it wasnt that long ago. Now we have a voice...let's use it.
Votes: +31
written by Taikohtai, May 08, 2008 18:26:17
DPM is painting himself into a corner, that's one thing for sure.
All the BN machinery will not be able to get him out of this most outrageous betrayal of the rakyat's faith in the gomen.
BYE BYE Najis. C4 might just be your only way out!
Votes: +24
written by power2u, May 08, 2008 18:34:33
Well said LGE.And I must say, your wife Betty was really good when she gave an intellectual n logical reply on PBT.She is really distinguished n got class unlike the other group of desperados
Votes: +52
written by densemy, May 08, 2008 18:43:40
Score: Malaysia 1, UMNO 0
Votes: +34
written by JustinCH, May 08, 2008 19:01:34
Mr. Najib,

I hope you realise the predicament you have put yourself in. Also, I hope for the sake of the whole country that you do not charge Karpal Singh under the sedition act. The Malaysian government already looks like the bad guy on CNN and BBC by throwing RPK behind bars. A second arrest would only get more attention and make your unpopularity more pronounced.

The last thing every and any Malaysian wants is for other countries to question the sanity of our government, which includes you too, opposition.
Votes: +30
written by Saint, May 08, 2008 19:09:19
Way to go YAB Lim Guan Eng.
You voice is equivalent to all votes received by PR.
UMNo still cannot register why it lost so may seats.

Votes: +48
written by panca, May 08, 2008 19:10:17
On the same day the posting was made (April 25) Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek told the press that media freedom should not be feared by anyone, including the ruling party, as it could also be the source of strength for the government and the country. .

These are really Goons, they can mince their words swallow them.

Perhaps with najis and nasi kangkang. Oops! with nasi dan kangkong
Votes: +22
written by SamYap, May 08, 2008 19:32:28
Dear YB Lim Guan Eng,

The road to freedom of speech/expression, whatever one wishes to call it, was never won in one day and neither would it be won without sacrifices. History bears this truth. We have supported DAP and PAS over the years and now we have also thrown our support behind PKR.

But it looks like this support through the ballot box is insufficient.

It also looks increasingly ominous that the BN is willing to gamble away our country's future through ill-thought actions.

It also appears that our fellow rakyat across the South China Sea, Sabah and Sarawak are not very concerned about our country's future. If they say that they are, then we shold challenge them to leave Barisan and remain as quasi-autonomous states while PR gets the chance to clean house at federal level.

It never more urgent than now to restore the dignity, rule of law, good governance, peace and racial harmony, than this period of our nation's history.

The posturing game and name calling games are over. We are tired and we are bruised by the bullies in BN.

Please send this message to brother Anwar too. Make his move asap!
Votes: +30
written by whoisthis, May 08, 2008 19:41:48
So far 29 have voted positive on my posting above on the statement by the AG being seditious.

What can we now do about it?

I would suggest when RPK is back home , after tomorrow, and rested, he should go and make a Police Report with his lawyer/s and get the AG arrested and/or investigated.

He should also write to his cousin and old friend, Sultan Mizan of Terengganu, who is also the Agong, to initiate a Royal Commission of Enquiry on that Statement.

Only my 2 cents worth.
Votes: +43
written by Eskay Lim, May 08, 2008 19:41:52
If what bakal Perdana Menteri has done to Raja Petra in having him charged under the Sedition Act, isn't an ABUSE & MISUSE OF POWER, then we don't know what is.
Raja Petra isn't trying to incite hatred & disharmony among the races in Malaysia. This can be considered a personal matter and bakal PM should have sued Raja Petra in the civil court. NO B**Ls, hiding behind the repressive acts.
Votes: +21
written by A MI, May 08, 2008 19:45:05
Just had to share this:
The following is the 2007 winning entry from an annual contest at Texas A&M University calling for the most appropriate definition of a contemporary term.
This year’s term: "Political Correctness"
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical, liberal minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."
Votes: +10
written by penangite, May 08, 2008 19:54:26
If the DPM and his wife thinks that RPK’s article is defaming them, they should initiate a civil action against Petra. Why use the government machinery and Attorney General’s Chambers to charge him under the Sedition Act? In what way is the article seditious? This is clearly targeting a political personality. Come on, Najib, sue Raja in court if you think he is tarnishing your image. Why just deny? Tun Dr Mahathir also once said that to deny is to lie. He referred this to Pak Lah. With Dr M saying that PM disallowed Dr M’s meeting with Najib and also PM’s denial of ‘tak halang, tak halang’, who is talking the truth and who is lying now? To quote Marina Lee, it is indeed really a circus. I hope that with the admission of Tun M about Pakatan Rakyat forming the next federal government, Anwar Ibrahim would hopefully clear all this shit and flush them out from our system. Seriously, the crossovers need to be done as soon as possible. Although Anwar says we need more time to consolidate and rule the 5 states, I believe PR can form the federal government now, PR has the capabilities to run Malaysia. There is no time to waste. BN sudah semakin tenat and the country is heading nowhere like a headless chicken
Votes: +32
written by *****stail, May 08, 2008 19:57:20
Talking Cock government! You buggers are more seditious than anything by robbing our tax money, paying extra load-on house installment amount to subsidy UMNOputras’ discounted units, corruption from the top to bottom. You people are good for nothing except in mastering the arts of corruption. So sad there are still so many stupid people out there to vote these fools in return for bread scum. Wake up!! Let’s send these hypocrites to hell!!!
BN MPs is very cunning in replying in Parliament by hiding the facts by pusing sini pusing sana. Something is wrong the way debates are conducted; it is like reading prepared questions and answers in school. We want written justification with Facts and Figures to support their replies in Parliament not merely giving figures how much spent here, what action has been taken, etc and call it a day. Don’t tell us the success stories we want to hear the problematic and shortcomings issues! Let the opposition give suggestions and good ideas to solve the country problems. Not fighting up there for show. What I saw was most of the MPs are dreaming away!
Votes: +29
written by marfugis, May 08, 2008 20:06:02
can any of the lawyers out there tell what was the motive for the two cops to kill alantuya????????? was there one....hmmmm i didnt know abt it lah.....u know meh......? was it crime of passion ....or crime of sedition ....or perhaps crime of corruption....
Votes: +14
written by marfugis, May 08, 2008 20:09:04
thank you my chief minister ...for the statement........you are a good person....may ALLAH bless you .....
Votes: +31
written by sungai_kelian, May 08, 2008 20:12:37
What can we expect from a flip-flop government? They are a bunch of goons who collectively shame Malaysia. We need a new government.
Votes: +20
written by toolan, May 08, 2008 20:20:55
Reform? AAB , Najib and their goons doesnt even know how to change their underwears - let alone reform their screwed up minds.

Probably have to wear pampers over their heads to dispose all the shit thats spewing out form the top.

Votes: +20
written by YSL, May 08, 2008 20:22:59
Najis@tahi, what a stupid statement from shit!!!!
With all the tpms, tahi is the worst of all!!!
What has gone intonajis head!? shit nothing but shits!!!!!!
Votes: +18
written by sarawakian, May 08, 2008 20:30:13
what a shameful Parliament sitting thus far. too much time has been spent playing up issues of sedition/treason and other party politics while the dangers of food shortages is right at the doorstep and knocking hard.

Votes: +4
written by alarcarte, May 08, 2008 20:53:32
Seditious Act only apply selectively-lah, advantage to the ruler of the day! Thats why its important for PKR/DAP/dan lain-lain must seize control of the Gomen the next election and only the Seditious act can then be applied to the members odf the fallen political party
Votes: +6
written by ckfoohope, May 08, 2008 21:09:33
i am PROUD to have Lim Guan Eng to be my CM!!!

BN is NATO (No Action Talk Only)
written by whoisthis, May 08, 2008 21:24:01
Sarawakian,

Whilst food shortage is a major issue and must be addressed. So is the issue of sedition. What good would it be if there was plenty of food but all of us are getting free food, courtesy of the government, in prison for sedition.

Problem with Malaysians is that - "When my stomach is full, I do not want to stand up and fight." So all you want is for government to make your stomachs full, then you will shut up.

I would welcome food shortage. Revolutions are always started on an empty stomach.
Votes: +16
written by whoisthis, May 08, 2008 21:41:00
Letter to RPK from YAB MB Kelantan.

Berikut disiarkan teks penuh surat Tuan Guru Nik Aziz:-

8hb Mei 2008/ 2 Jamadil Awwal 1429

YM. Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin

Warkah Simpati dan Pengiktirafan

Saya menerima berita mengenai nasib tuan yang dituduh dibawah Akta Hasutan 1948 dan kini ditahan reman dalam penjara Sg. Buloh sehingga kes disebut di mahkamah pada 6 Oktober 2008 dengan penuh kesedihan.

Bagaimanapun, jauh di hati saya, saya masih terasa kagum kerana di sana masih ada seorang sehebat tuan yang cekal mempertahankan apa yang difikirkan benar.

Prinsip ini cukup selaras dengan dasar anutan Agama Islam kita yang sentiasa bertunjangkan amar makruf nahi mungkar.

Ia kebetulan disebut juga oleh demokrasi dan turut diperuntukkan di dalam perlembagaan kita di bawah perkara kebebasan bersuara dan menyatakan pendapat.

Soal bersalah atau sebaliknya; maka terlanjur tuan telah dituduh di bawah Akta Hasutan, maka ia terpulanglah kepada proses keadilan di mahkamah yang selanjutnya.

Sewaktu Nabi Allah Yusuf 'alaihissalam dikurung oleh pihak berkuasa di zamannya kerana fitnah, Yusuf berkata, "wahai Tuhanku, penjara lebih aku sukai daripada memenuhi ajakan mereka kepadaku. Dan jika tidak Engkau hindarkan daripadaku tipu daya mereka, tentu aku akan cenderung untuk (memenuhi keinginan mereka) dan tentulah aku termasuk orang-orang yang bodoh."

Lantaran istiqomah Nabi Yusuf itu, Allah maqbulkan doa baginda lalu "menghindar Yusuf dari tipu daya mereka. Sesungguhnya, Dialah Yang Maha Mendengar lagi Maha Mengetahui." (Petikan dari Surah Yusuf Ayat 33 dan 34).

Selaras dengan perkembangan ini, izinkan saya turut bersama mendoakan tuan agar sentiasa dipelihara kesihatan dan keselamatan oleh Allah SWT.

Semoga yang benar itu akan terserlah jua walaupun harganya adalah pengorbanan. Selagi tuan benar dan kita semua benar di sisi Allah SWT, tuan dan kita pada amnya tidak perlu merasa khuatir.

Mari kita terus tabah, bersama dengan perjuangan demi menegakkan yang hak dan menolak kebatilan.

Salam perjuangan. Wassalam.

NIK ABDUL AZIZ BIN NIK MAT
Menteri Besar Kelantan
Merangkap Mursyidul Am PAS - mr
written by Mr Smith, May 08, 2008 22:00:15
I remember vividly the day some 20 years ago when Najib held out the keris to threaten the Chinese. Now what action committed by Raja Petra or Karpal Singh can be more seditious than his action.
He should be the most eligible candidate to be charged under this stupid act.
Nature has a way of punishing the wicked and Najib is wicked.
Votes: +26
written by Aiseiman, May 08, 2008 22:03:54
Thank you, Mr.Lim Guan Eng.

I think most Penangites will always be behind you no matter what the situation will (ever) be! We are dead convinced you are what we have been searching for after Dr.Lim Chong Eu. Oh, after umpteen 18 long years!

It's naive on the BN govt's part now as it still can't differentiate between what is "personal" and what is "NATIONAL" (interests)! What actually amounts to the so-called "sedition" ? Or it is only referring to "our untouchable, almighty UMNO leaders"? (Don't you ever say wrong about ME? That is INCITEMENT!!)

Don't woarry, we all simply know...ah, just how to think! That's for sure!!!
Votes: +28
written by howiseveryone, May 08, 2008 22:17:41
will BN ever learn their lesson? do they still think that we, the people, do not know what is right & wrong?. do they think that we don't know how to think and make sense and bring out the logic on every one of these issues. do they think that we will buy into their reasoning so easily anymore?. we are no longer living in the 60's or 70's where we just accept what we are told. even 5 years old kids, these days, will ask all sorts of questions to be satisfied than to just blindly believe everything that everyone says.
all these will only add on to the people's anger/discontent against the government.
Votes: +13
written by tikuih, May 08, 2008 23:15:47
way to go, guan eng! i'm proud that my cm dares to make a strong stand in prompt response to another round of bn & najis scum. but i'm very disappointed that anwar ibrahim has not been supportive enough to even raise a whimper. whatever he is thinking, it smells like political manouvering for his own advantage. not a good sign...

long live raja petra
Votes: +15
written by Windchime, May 08, 2008 23:42:15
They tried with the racial riot threats and it was rejected on March 8. They tried to protest against the PR government - but backfired such as the "kandang pig" issue where they were humbled and had to eat their own shit. They then tried to be super nice by pressing all the right buttons like reforming the judiciary, independant ACA, etc. It was looking pretty good for a while, for a short while anyway....

Well, all these 'feel good' gestures came to a complete nought when your super-stud and his 'quite overweight' wife started to unleash their power by setting the mindless PDRM onto YM RPK for speaking out. And yet our Hadhari-man is keeping very quiet about his initiatives which he announced not too long ago - No Action Talk Only - NATO lah - what else?

Well, us rakyat are no fools. You can carry on acting innocent and hide behind all your stupid draconian acts and laws but you will never convince us about what is really going on in our beloved country. And for your information, the country belongs to all of us - Malaysians; not some high flying VIP from UMNO/BN.

After March 8, we would have thought you would have at least become a little bit wiser. Yet again, you have underestimated the powers of the people in Malaysia. I guess we were just being naive!

FYI, we, the people of Malaysia, have been woken up from our 50 years of slumber by the likes of YM RPK and many others who had shown us that us ordinary rakyat how much we were ripped off by such 'honest and noble' people like you in BN gomen. We have been shown that we have been taken for a long ride. Well, NO MORE!!!!

So, do expect the worse from us when we get to show our might again through the ballot papers. This time, you, BN, will be toppled!
Votes: +15
written by DanDan, May 09, 2008 00:35:30
All PR's MPs and Lawyers. Isn't anyone out there have the guts to make polis reports on AAB or Najis or the AG. Let them taste their own shit. You have all the weapons you need as per the above writeups, fight them in court.
DSAI - what are you waiting for?
Votes: +8
written by DatoSeri, May 09, 2008 01:00:39
Hi Windchime,

Well said.

UMNO is employing fear strategy to silence the blogger community for just thinking.

The judicial reform and independent ACA, now looks so stupid and insincere.
And refusing to protect wistle blower strike clearly how serious the BN/UMNO intends to go after corruption.

Votes: +3
written by Daryl, May 09, 2008 01:37:06
The laws are thre to protects the innocent and prosecutes the gulity. However, it is currenlty being used to presecute whoever that threaten their political career. Look at the three officials in Taiwan they resigned after they were caught stealing. What Malaysian politicians do when caught hide behind the law and the so call PDRM. Worst use the law to their advantage.
written by Gargamel, May 09, 2008 01:39:18
Wah... Thank you, LGE! Hantam, hantam, jangan tak hantam! The more Najis tries to deny, the worse he makes himself look. The more they try to repress, the louder we will shout. Bring it on!!!!
written by stchin, May 09, 2008 03:32:28

LONG LIVE YANG MULIA RPK !
Votes: +2
written by Paikiah, May 09, 2008 03:34:42
TO Penang CM YAB LIM and MB Kelatan, not forget too those MBs in Perak, Kedah and Selangor,

I really hope that you people as a state chief has certain authority and rights to uphold justice for the people against the Federal Tyranny.
Call for big scale of assembly. Wake up those rakyat which still asleep, tell those who were not aware, deliver the message thru' out our land.

"UpHold Justice Is Not A Crime Nor A Sin"

"Only Those lies and even dare to swear to his god that he did not did it is a SIN. Send him to HELL" smilies/wink.gif
Votes: +5
written by pulaiman, May 09, 2008 03:40:00
SYABAS SAUDARA LIM GUAN ENG IT IS THOU WHO SHOULD RECEIVE A DATUK OR EVEN A TAN SRI AWARD. YOU ARE A TRUTH FULL AND SINCERE LEADER.THANKS FOR DEFENDING KARPAL, HE WAS MERELY STATING THE LAW AS IT IS. NO OFFENCE TO SULTAN AZLAN SHAH. BN IS PICKING ON OPPOSITION MPS.WHEN DSAI TAKES OVER COUNTRY YOU SHOULD BE DEPUTY PM. POLICE REPORTS SHOULD BE MADE AGAINST AAB, AG ETC FOR GOING AGAINST PERLIS AND TRENGGANU MENTRI BESAR APPOINTMENTS.
written by Areyaar, May 09, 2008 03:59:23
What is wrong with BN? Have they learnt nothing at all from their disgraceful defeat at the polls?

After having suffered such a shocking thrashing, they should have atleast realized that it was their shameful mentality and arrogance that had brought them to their knees. But, instead of having learnt something from that debacle, they seem to continue to behave as they have done in the past.

One can only think that they are permanently on self-destruct mode and want to go on testing the patience of the people. If they have not yet accepted the fact that RPK is a national hero to so many, then they are more blind than we imagine. It really boggles the mind.

Thank god, THANK GOD, that they lost as much as they did at the polls. Although they did not lose enough. They deserved to lose it all. Well, by the next election, they will.
written by Areyaar, May 09, 2008 04:03:48
Penang Chief Minister YAB Lim Guan Eng has spoken with sincerity and without fear on this issue. Are we going to hear from the other opposition leaders/MB's etc? Are they going to speak out publicly against this grave injustice? It is time they take a clear stand on what they truly believe in. Let the people know what they will fight for.
Votes: +7
written by Naha, May 09, 2008 05:46:41
YB Lim,

You and RPK are such gentlemen. He supports you when you are on track, he mauls you when you stray, yet like gentlemen, you both respect one another. Criticism is just that: criticism. Inilah contoh-contoh yang baik untuk kita semua, unlike some politicians and their supporters from both sides who take criticism personally, like retards. Thank you for the support for our beloved watchdog YM RPK, thank you for your efforts in Penang, and when you kena tegur please respond by meditating on your mistakes, to become a better public servant, YB.

Kind regards.
Votes: +11
written by mei yen, May 09, 2008 05:48:51

WHERE THE HELL IS ANWAR IBRAHIM, THE PM-IN-WAITING??

After all that RPK has done for PR, why has he been so silent on RPK's arrest??

Votes: +10
written by michael chick, May 09, 2008 07:39:44
written by Kawan MT, May 09, 2008 08:44:03
What a strange!!!! The ex-minister who molested the hotel waitress case is still pending for the decision of our dearest AG whether to be charge or not whereas our RPK is now already behind bar.

Where is the justice???????
Votes: +12
written by Bigjoe99, May 09, 2008 08:48:25
What is important to note is Najib pattern of behaviour - he does not even bat an eye to say a complete and obvious untruth. This is a legacy of Dr. M's way and Najib has learned it well. The master would be proud..

I can guarantee you that the day Najib gets to be PM, application to migrate will shoot up.....
written by murthy3372, May 09, 2008 09:32:26
MALAYSIANS

WHEN LGE TOOK UP THE CASE OF A GIRL RAPED BY A CM - SEDITION - MASUK JAIL
WHEN THE H5 TOOK UP THE CASE OF TEMPLE DEMOLITION - SEDITION - ISA / MASUK JAIL
WHEN umno BASTARDS PROTESTED IN PERLIS RGDG MB APPOINTMENT - TAK PE !!! - NO ACTION
WHEN umno BASTARDS PROTESTED IN TRENGGANU RGDG MB APPOINTMENT - TAK PE !!! - NO ACTION
WHEN umno BASTARDS PROTESTED IN PENANG RGDG NEP - KETUANAN / HAK ISTIMEWA - NO ACTION
WHEN YM RPK FIGHTS FOR JUSTICE IN THE NAME OF THE LATE AS - SEDITION - MASUK JAIL
WHEN KS EXPLAINED THE CONSTITUTION RGDG PERAK MUFTI / SULTANS AUTHORITY - SEDITION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WHAT THE F**K IS WRONG WITH THIS GOVERNMENT ?
ALL ONE WAY TRAFIC ONLY !!!
IS THIS UGANDA ?
IS OUR PRIME MINISTER IDI AMIN ?????????
DSAI...
TOLONGLAH...TOLONGLAH OVERTHROW THIS REGIME.
TIME IS RUNNING OUT.
WE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS LAW OF THE JUNGLE !!!!!!!!
Votes: +14
written by murthy3372, May 09, 2008 09:36:59
AND TO OUR BELOVED AGONG HIS MAJESTY TUANKU MIZAN,

TUANKU,
PLS...PLS...PLS DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS LEST THIS umno REGIME TURNS THIS COUNTRY TO THE LIKES OF SOMALIA,RWANDA,MYANMAR,BOSNIA-HERZEGOVINA / YUGOSLAVIA....THE LIST GOES ON AND ON......

AMPUN TUANKU.

DAULAT TUANKU X 3
written by bukitkuda, May 09, 2008 09:50:45
Dear Penang Folk please Boikot Petronas product.......they purpose screw up the GAS supply to the GERMAN company that pull out from Penang.....
Votes: +1
written by murthy3372, May 09, 2008 09:55:45
I FORGOT TO MENTION...
kerismudin - TAYANG2 KERIS - KETUANAN / WARISAN - NO ACTION
F**KING BULLSHIT
written by murthy3372, May 09, 2008 10:14:05
AND THEN THERE IS ANOTHER AS...YOU ALL KNOW KAH ?
WHO ELSE IF NOT THE DATUK AMBIGA SREENIVASAN
ITU HARI...PANGGIL SEMUA LOYAR BURUK PERGI MARCHING KE PUTRAJAYA
KONONNYA MAU PUSH FOR JUDICIAL REFORM
KEMUDIAN ITU bodohwi BUATLAH DINNER DGN BAR COUNCIL
KONONNYA JUDICIAL REFORMS JUGAKLAH
LEPAS TU AS NI PUN JADILAH DATUK
JADI SKRG NI latuk ambiga NI PUN JADI BISULAH TENTANG KEKEJAMAN UNDANG2 DI NEGARA INI
YM RPK MASUK JAIL
DIA BUAT SATU STATEMENT DLM PAPER
LEPAS TU SENYAP SAMA SKRG
SAYA CUMA MAU TANYA ?
APA L*NC#U JUDICIAL REFORM YANG U LAUNG2KAN SELAMA INI latuk ?
Votes: +4
written by murthy3372, May 09, 2008 10:15:09
SORRY TYPO
LEPAS TU SENYAP SAMPAI SKRG....
written by ladasiber, May 09, 2008 10:28:11
"DAP hopes that all journalists and media associations can come out in solidarity and support for RPK by condemning RPK’s sedition charges."

Seriously speaking, can we expect those from Media Prima Group, NST, Utusan, Bernama (dan kawasan2 yang sewaktu dengannya) would risk their rice bowl to show support for YMRPK (as it is the price of rice has already gone up). They are the one who should be charged of being slanderous and seditious at the first place.

written by peng, May 09, 2008 12:20:06
There is no press freedom in Malaysia. How can there be when people are not allowed to express themselves. The BN government will continue to rot with this mentality. They have not learned anything from the recent general elections results. Help yourself BN - self-destruct by hara-kiri. Spare Malaysians the agony and pain.
written by rozinorazali, May 09, 2008 15:39:38
should one day the nations falls, do the last stand should be with us?
written by mhwang, May 09, 2008 20:08:12
The more u anger the ppl the more u will be gone in the next election. Be careful BN...being the government is not automatic anymore.
Votes: +0
written by omarkhayyam, May 10, 2008 20:56:09
YB Lim,

we love ya man .......

No Holds Barred