An Open Letter to RPK PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 May 2008 16:22

Dear Raja Petra,

You must not languish in custody. We have to get you out on bail.

If on ground of principle, you do not wish to pay it, I will pay it.

It's extremely important that you come back to us to continue your courageous acts. I have been telling my children that if there is a Malaysian role-model we can look to, it is none of the BN goons, certainly not the Prime Minister and his cohorts, absolutely not the so-called spaceman, nor the sailor who fell from grace with the sea and yet got celebrated.

The real Malaysian role-model is you, sir. For courage, for standing up for what you believe in, for defying oppression, for exposing the truth despite the odds.

This is a time for heroes. And we need our heroes to be free, to fight, to stand up for us all. Not spend time in prison. We need the truth to be made known. We need the truth to set our beloved country free.

We need you to be free.

Sincerely,

Kee Thuan Chye

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, May 07, 2008 16:43:35
All this because of "betina". Jantan miang tapi hendak berpolitik. I blame that rascal, like father like son.

Yang satu gilakan S*rimah, yang lagi satu gilakan Zia*a Zain. Hancur Malaysia.

agree 125
written by nk1881, May 07, 2008 16:59:19
Please get him out quickly. Can be dangerous in there. The country cannot afford to loose him.

May be he will listen to his cousin?
agree 167
written by Capt Siva, May 07, 2008 16:59:35
there is sense in the madness of remaining in jail.
remember, raja petra knows what he is doing.
he is nobody's fool.
leave him to do what is best
written by KM Wong, May 07, 2008 17:00:51
Mr Kee
If you are that editor of "Mind our English" in the Star newspaper, you should take the first step by resigning from that MCA controlled paper. Then you will not have that tainted platform beneath you.
I agree with your declaration of RPK as a Malaysia hero and role model.
agree 110
written by sabah tun, May 07, 2008 17:02:21
Don't worry man, RPK is not one to fall easily!! smilies/cool.gif

There's a reason as to why he chose to be imprisoned (could be a symbolic gesture), and only time will tell. All i can say is we must support him in whatever way we can out here...
written by artfulone, May 07, 2008 17:04:06
The seeds of the 8/3 phenomenon was sown by TDM in the persecution of Anwar. That started the movement of more enlightened malays to revolt. Without the support of these malays 8/3 would not have been possible.
It looks like UMNO and BN don't learn. Repeating the same again on RPK will fully entrench those who have defected and now encourage more to follow. RPK knows what he is doing. Of course he knows more than he is saying.
Thinking people who have spent time incarcerated, come out with a different outlook in life. They tend to see their relationship with society differently. Everything that you have is dependent on the social contract we have with each other. Money is no use if you can't spend it. Fame and power is not the same if it does not come with respect. One thing in common with these people is that they do not place importance on the material side of life.
So look to people like Lim Guan Eng, Anwar Ibrahim, Raja Petra ect as they are of the same mould as Nelson Mandela and Ghandi.
Long live RPK!!!
written by ultraman, May 07, 2008 17:05:36
A very good letter. I am sure almost all of us want him to GET OUT OF THAT STUPID JAIL-A PLACE MEANT FOR MURDERERS AND CORRUPT OFFICIALS!
RPK actually put those bastards to shame.
written by sabah tun, May 07, 2008 17:06:03
Then again, i think that had RPK not chosen this path of being imprisoned, then the atlantuya case will not have had such an effect as it did now... and the world will not sit up and take notice had RPK jus simply gone home after the trial! He's sacrificing himself for a greater cause.
written by FFT, May 07, 2008 17:06:15
My only grave worry is this:

Not only that any goons associated with Najib try to rough up RPK , but RPK has also written at great length about allegations about the top police brass being in cahoots with the underworld, revealed the personal misdeeds of Mat Tyson, revealed much about big business interests like SCOMI, Equine, etc.

Even if he persists on refusing bail, and going on a hunger strike, he should at least make it be known to his wife that he is OK and not being tortured or abused.
written by sjeevan, May 07, 2008 17:06:52
Let not our emotion take control of us. It is natural feeling because everyone loves RPK. RPK is fighting for a noble cause.

"Our lives begin to end, the day we become silent about things that matter."
Martin Luther King Jr

There is no end to RPKs journey. He has begun his journey of civil disobedience to free his own people from the tyrants. Dont expect RPK just to kiss the Kris and say he is defending the nation! He is far from it.
written by Old Man Jasin, May 07, 2008 17:07:29
You will be safer outside KL Remand Centre @ Sg Buloh . Pay the bail . Be a free man and well protected within the public eyes .

You can contribute much more as a free man than let youself 'rot' in detention . Please accept our advice . We need you to lead us , and continue your role to enlighten us daily .
written by MsLim, May 07, 2008 17:07:57
RPK must get out at all cost. He has to have the strength to go on trial on Oct 6th. Please post bail even if he disagree and bring him out !!
written by slash n burn, May 07, 2008 17:10:42
Kids, listen to the wiseman. But if you want to learn on how coward handling a bom, listen to najib.
written by Littlebird, May 07, 2008 17:14:29
Dear Raja Petra,
Many in your position would love to spend their money and wealth surfing in Hawaii beach but you chose to do what's good for the nation. Going to prison for what you believe in.

You are truly a King (Raja) that all good citizen deserve.

God bless you. Your sacrifice is for us - the rakyat.

Thank you. And may god bless you and give you the courage to face this most trying times.

written by Iskandar11, May 07, 2008 17:18:00
He says he doesn't want to see anyone, not even his wife... very strange.

Hope he is unharmed and okay.

God bless this Hero
written by eeyaw, May 07, 2008 17:18:01
Thanks Kee for the nice words. Need all the supports.....

I don’t think the warden or anybody dare to lay a finger on Raja due to the amount of publicity being focus on him. What he wants is to take a break from all the huha and to show his middle finger at the people behind the power that he is not to be subdued and by staying in jail the spotlight is on the other parties. Truly Raja Petra’s game plan is without compare but I still hope he will come out eventually when he mellows down coz he is much more effective out of jail than in it. That’s my prayer…
written by almier, May 07, 2008 17:27:47
RPK had exposed more than DSAI when the latter was black eyed by the police...
thus the possibility of RPK being inflected with harm while in jail is strong...what more, the Warden had refused even RPK's wife of right to visit... RPK's lawyer should not take these signs forgranted...lets not wait until bad thing happened to RPK before we make a move...
written by ilovepakatan, May 07, 2008 17:29:13
In the 80's, I know only 1 Raja, that is Raja Ema. Now I know another Raja, that is RAJA PETRA because he is my hero. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Free RPK!
written by workaholic, May 07, 2008 17:30:11
I concur with the writer of the letter fully.
We need to take him out of the jail ASAP, please.
We need RPK to be safe.
We must not lose him.
Malaysia needs him !

The nation and the Rakyat aside, he is a great human being who deserves to be free and safe!
Please, take him out of the jail!
written by peaceguy08, May 07, 2008 17:30:34

There is a Chinese saying "Heroes die young". Hence get out from jail - just be a smart hero.
written by Bernard Tan, May 07, 2008 17:31:03
Hollywood should make a movie based on Altantuya's life. Should include the court drama and at the end of the movie the villain & villainess are sent to hell.

written by nanakassim, May 07, 2008 17:31:12
One man who chooses to remain behind bars in his fight for truth and justice for his fellow Malaysians.

And we remain behind the safety of our keyboards to appeal to him to post bail?

He knows what he is doing, but are we doing anything about what he stands for?
written by HHKim, May 07, 2008 17:34:05
The final outcome is that the BN must go no matter what. The longer they stay, the more ruin they are going to bring to the raayat.

We need another bigger Bersih walk to Putrajaya !! we are just fed up of seeing these goons in the government. God should pass the sentence ASAP to AAB, Lajib, Kairi and Hisampudin. Should go include Rostam Ali too.
written by gorshan, May 07, 2008 17:36:08
"All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke.
written by Common Man, May 07, 2008 17:36:14
Feel sorry for RPK family.But RPK has made a decision not to be free on bail. Please respect him. He knows what he is doing.Someone has to make a sacrifice to fight for justice and he has chosen himself. He goes in with his eyes open.
We must not let his sacrifice be in vain.Long live RPK.
written by indianputra, May 07, 2008 17:40:30
RPK cuts contact with outside world..?? Huh??? What?? This cannot be true. RPK is the man who will never do something like this? The statement that he does not EVEN WANT TO SEE HIS DEAR WIFE.. Hello!!! What happened in one night in the jail?? DID SOMETHING HAPPEN?

Anwar, you have the means and contacts to find out the real issue.. Why don't you do that? I am surprised you have not made any statement on RPK's ordeal.. Are you also in cahoot with the strange behavior of RPK??

The Rakyat demand answers!
written by Motherchell, May 07, 2008 17:50:04
Yes , i fully agree with you Thuan Chye, Marina must talk to him about what we need for the hour . These principles do not stick with goons , they don't even know what principles are . Pete , pl understand our cries why you have to be with us. RPK please understand why we want you out , we can do more , for the journey you have started.

I humbly ask his cousin , our beloved Sultan to talk to him. Please my dear friend Pete,let us move together . We need you here so bad. Our roads are no more dark and dreary since setting the ball rolling last Monday.

God Blesses you and your family everyday at each second, our prayers are always with you.
written by indianputra, May 07, 2008 17:51:16
WHEN RPK ASKED HIS WIFE TO BRING THE SPECTACLES..... WAS HE SENDING A SUBTLE 'MESSAGE' TO ALL OF US THAT SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT WITH HIS 'EYES'?
written by harmanamri, May 07, 2008 17:56:27
Abdul Razak Baginda is also being remanded in Sungai Boleh. Opportunity for RPK to get to know him better....
written by Everbright, May 07, 2008 17:58:24
KTC, I read your plea but I have to say that we must respect the torturous path taken by RPK. The longer he stays in, the more the authorities will sweat. Believe me. This man is simply not worth jailing. He attracts attention like David Beckham. I hear that RPK has started a fast in protest. We may not like to hear this but do you know prayer and fasting produces the results because divine intervention will happen. If RPK fights for Truth & Justice, he occupies the moral high ground. He is a hero to anyone who reads his piece and if the authorities were to touch him in any harmful way, you can be sure the curse of generations to come will fall upon those prison buggers/gomen. Din Merican is calling for a vigil to start at Sg Buloh. This is a beginning of a very good cause to fight. Damn the bastards!!!!!
written by JulieT, May 07, 2008 17:59:59
Dear RPK
Please come out of Sungei Buloh. We are so worried about you. I have heard that prisoners have to sleep on cement floors and I am so very worried for your health. I am praying that God will protect you in health and in spirit. We still want assurance that you are OK. Please come out. It can't be easy for Marina and your family thinking of you in jail. Its better for you to fight outside than in.
written by budakindia, May 07, 2008 18:31:50
we support you all the way Pete! smilies/grin.gif It's very damaging for the government to charge you and you have elevated the effect now. smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, May 07, 2008 18:44:31
Yes. I read the malaysiakini report of you refusing contact with your wife very frightening.
Hope the Special Branch is not trying to turn you over!
You have made an important point by refusing bail and I can see no further purpose to you languishing in jail.
written by madtrix, May 07, 2008 18:51:01
As many have correctly mentioned - RPK knows what he is doing. And I'm sure he expects his many supporters to support and respect his decision. Remember what he said, everything is political! We must try to ensure however that the decision not to see anyone is actually his, and not another lie told by the police!

Meanwhile, what we can all best do now is to show our appreciation and support to his family. This is the least we can do for someone who's put so much on the line because he cares for his fellow citizens.

Long live, RPK!
written by mikewang, May 07, 2008 19:10:58
YM RPK,

The road is still long and winding...
You've made your point by staying in jail for a night or two and we Malaysians had responded swiftly with the bail money to get you out.

You are more effective outside than inside jail to bring justice to this country.
DSAI is a good example and lesson.

May God bless and protect you !!
written by ChanRaj, May 07, 2008 19:11:58
IF EVER WE NEEDED THE SUPPORT OF THE SABAHANS, IT IS NOW!! CONVINCE YOUR MPS TO SWITCH TO PR. DO IT NOW EN MASSE! NOT NEXT ELECTIONS. WE CANNOT WAIT ANY LONGER. TOPPLE THE GOVERNMENT. THE BN GOVERNMENT WILL FACE THE WRATH OF THE RAKYAT!! I CANT SLEEP KNOWING HE IS IN THERE.
written by mamakstail, May 07, 2008 19:39:45
Jails are not for people like RPK!! Onces the opposition took over the government first thing for the new government is to build more prisons to put all those corrupted bastards in jails. Do not abolish the ISA, OSA, and all the Fu-king Acts yet so that we can put those bastards the way they have been doing to the good people.
written by Saint, May 07, 2008 20:17:41
Please take him out immediately.
written by lynn, May 07, 2008 20:23:07
Am sorry to say, I don't trust this gomen anymore. RPK must get out of Sg Buloh immediately. It's dangerous for him to be inside, gawd knows what the enemies may do!
Mr Kee, any suggestions how? I don't believe RPK refuses to see Marina or any family members. Even his lawyers can demand to see him! Why don't they?
written by dinsmann, May 07, 2008 21:07:33
RPK, please post bail. We all know you are a man of principle. Posting bail does not mean you are admitting anything. We are worried about your health. I was born in the year of the tiger too (1950). You are not that young anymore.
written by Taufique, May 07, 2008 21:23:19
I wouldnt want a single ounce of harm to come our hero's way.
But on the other hand, he himself chose to stay in, and probably has his motives.

But what about those other funky characters in prison? These other dudes may harm him, or may be even coerced to harm him (with promises of reduced sentence, money, etcc...). That is the thing that I fear.

Regardless, my prayers are for RPK and family. May Allah bless you and keep you safe in your tumultuous journey of seeking truth and justice for all of us.
written by EvilWolf, May 07, 2008 21:36:43
RPK - While I totally respect your actions in wanting to prove a point, I believe you languishing in prison for the next few months serves very little purpose, productively speaking.

While you are in, the powers-that-be will glee with joy. If you're out, then it's a different story.

We donated generously towards your cause because we want you OUT, not IN. If you had decided to stay in prison, then what was the point of the fund-raising?

You asked for RM1.00 per person to bail you out. We have far surpassed that, so why are you still being indignant and stubborn?

Why are you even refusing to see your wife? She needs your go-ahead as to the next course of action as far as your indictment is concerned.

Unless you have a specific strategy in mind in accomplishing what you want, then it's a different story.
written by Change or Be Changed, May 08, 2008 00:27:47
Next Nelson Mandela in the making. Our Salutation to you RPK. Silence speak louder than word at this point of time as the time bom is actually the rakyat anger seeing the victimization of their hero.
RPK is definitely be in the history book of Malaysia as one of the leaders in the Making of the New Malaysia. Sorry with today powerful internet it should be Hail as the new leader in this region.
All the rakyat is with you. Let all tied a yellow ribbon around our arm as our support to RPK until his release.
Let us make the changes.
What say you rakyat?
written by Paikiah, May 08, 2008 01:06:25
Dearest RPK,

Your Suffers we endured.
Your passion we respect.
Your believe we follow.
Your words we embalmed.
Your faith we believe.
Your persistent we support.
But having thought of losing YOU, WE can't take it.
Let us bail you out.
There is not need for hunger strike at this stage.
When you need to do that, together the Mankind will.

written by InspectorSahab, May 08, 2008 02:41:28
To become a real bad guy, you must be in a BAD places. If anyone have ever been in a situation like Lim Guan Eng, DSAI and Raja Petra has ever been before, we'll understand how fun it'll be.

A real ANAK JANTAN won't be afraid at all of any 'wrongdoings" or so-called "seditious" that he doesn't really commit. I've been in the same shoe before and to learn about mind-mapping, enemies counter attack, or any similar kinds of dirty tricks strategies and crook things bad guys did, the flwg 3 places is just right for us to be;

1.Jails
2.Lockups
3.Detention centres

Feeling so ashamed to be a Malay in this lovely Malaysia when the most of the Be eNd malay supremos and leaders keeping mum and denying the facts, which anyway really proud to have a former minister such as Chua Soi Lek which dares to claims responsibility on his own wrongdoings.

Even BANGKAI TIKUS PUN WALAU DICUCI TETAP BERBAU BANGKAI!
INI KAN PULA SI BANGKAI GAJAH ???????

Sooner or later the truth will unveiled. I do think we no longer need any march or require any street protests, BECAUSE WE NEVER HAD ANY FREEDOM EVEN IN OUR OWN HOUSE. The current federal government of Malaysia is worst than Nazis and Serbians. They're no difference from the BARBARIANS and UMNOputras as likely MERCENARIES in their own KINGDOM.

Think smart, and don't think hard. Sleeps well, and do wake up in the morning as usual. I do strongly believed that no one will dare to lay a finger onto our beloved RPK. He is indeed brilliant enough in whatsoever planning he is thinking of....... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Angela Ooi, May 08, 2008 10:47:08
Our Raja Petra did NOT ask for the $1 to get the bail money. We did it ourselves to actually make a point. RPK is a maestro, brilliant.. never fails to amaze me. However, I really wish he is set FREE asap. I doubt anything bad will happen to him cos though this Govt is stupid, I don't think they are that stupid to harm him.
Dear MARINA RAJA PETRA, I pray God gives you the strength to carry on for your family and for all your husband's fans. We all appreciate the sacrifices that your family and you have made and will make in the future. You only have to say but the word and we will come running to do what we can. Msians.. semua sokong????
written by TanWK, May 08, 2008 15:27:40
Thanks god, YM RPK finally been bailed out