Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Press Statement : Civil Society Groups Express Solidarity With RPK

Press Statement : Civil Society Groups Express Solidarity With RPK PDF Print
Wednesday, 07 May 2008 15:40

It is with great concern that we, representing several Civil Society Action Groups, note that Raja Petra Kamarudin, Editor of news portal and blog, “Malaysia Today”, has been charged in the Petaling Jaya Sessions court with sedition in connection with an article he wrote and posted up at www.malaysia-today.net on April 25, 2008.

We call on all Malaysians concerned with the freedom of information and speech to stand up in support of a fellow Malaysian who has been writing “without fear or favour” on issues of public and national concern.

The charge against Raja Petra is in connection with a Post entitled “Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell” in which he raised pertinent questions on various facts of the case that are already within the domain of public knowledge. In our view the sedition charge is malicious and without merit. It is also politically motivated and aimed at silencing one of the most eloquent, dedicated and uncompromising voices speaking in defense of the rights of Malaysians and against the abuse of power stemming from the highest level of government and authority.

We urge the Government to re-consider its action in pursuing what is being perceived in the country and internationally as blatantly selective and repressive persecution. The action not only runs counter to the Government’s expressed promotion of a democratic, informed and participatory society. It also smacks of a renewal of the tactics of fear and intimidation which were recently resoundingly rejected by the Malaysian electorate.

We are disappointed that, despite the Government’s rhetoric of learning from its past mistakes, it continues to rely on heavy handed authoritarian means to instill fear and to discourage its citizens from freely engaging in public discourse.

This action of the Government coming just a few days after World Press Freedom Day (which fell on May 3) especially makes a mockery of the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s expression of commitment to democratic and social reforms to promote a more open and transparent government.

We stress that a draconian law such as the Sedition Act has no place in a democratic society. Unlike the law on defamation, one cannot defend him/herself from a charge of sedition on the ground of truthfulness. In other words, messengers may be shot for simply uttering the truth. That the State is willing to use its instruments to charge Raja Petra for sedition instead of the aggrieved party resorting to civil defamation points to the need for thorough reform of our media laws.  This is not a new demand but one which has been consistently raised by civil society.

As civil society action groups, we call upon all political parties, non-government organizations and individuals to express their concern and to show solidarity with Raja Petra. All freedom loving Malaysians must impress on the Government the need to withdraw this obnoxious action against a conscientious writer and true Malaysian.

Finally, we urge fellow Malaysians to respond positively to a coordinated initiative now being planned to raise funds (a token amount of RM1 per person) in defence of Raja Petra and to show our solidarity for a national cause aimed at protecting and promoting our freedom of speech.

Press Statement issued jointly by:

Dr Lim Teck Ghee,

Director,

Centre for Policy Initiatives (CPI)

Bernard Khoo,

For Ahirudin Attan

President, Interim Council

National Alliance of Bloggers

Wong Chin Huat

Chairperson,

Writer Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI)

Gayathry V.

Executive Director

Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ)

Ser Choon Ing

Chairman of Civil Rights Committee

KL and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall

May 7, 2008

written by sjeevan, May 07, 2008 15:44:26
"The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy."

Martin Luther King Jr.

RPK is a one man army!
written by Tompios, May 07, 2008 15:45:30
I prefer RM1.00 for speech and information freedom than blood and presecution offers from UMNO. Hate to admit this but, RPK give us thousands alternative why we should follow the corupt leaders in Malaysia.
written by Tompios, May 07, 2008 15:46:50
RPK gives us thousands alternative ways, why we should not follow the corupt leaders in Malaysia.
written by Don Corleone, May 07, 2008 15:49:16
I think we should also remember Syed Akbar Ali, the "forgotten" author and blogger who was also charged with sedition. Syed Akbar wrote books critical of Muslim mindsets and of the dangers of crutches given by the UMNO-dominated government, and was as much a political prosecution as was RPK's.

Press freedom ? I spit on those who talk about it but who practice gestapo tactics on the rakyat.
written by joeawk, May 07, 2008 15:53:56
Hell awaits those crooks. It surely won't be long before the tsunami sweeps our shore. Let's hang on for a while, it is gathering strength, soon it will strike.

Long LIVE Malaysians.
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 07, 2008 15:58:40
It's great to see all these eminent people giving their support to RPK. Question is, will these BN barbarians give a damn ? I think not ! Even if they have doctorates from reputable universities, as long as it impinges on their rice bowls, all ethics go out the window. So let's not kid ourselves, gangsters only understand the language of gangsters. So let us kick them out at the next general election. If we are still alive, that is !
written by ibabonma, May 07, 2008 16:15:24
RPK is not an ordinary 'gambler', he knew how to take risks and come out the winner. I am not particularly concerned over his well being. He knew how to play at their game. I am expecting another tsunami that may rock the BN government.
written by wag the dog, May 07, 2008 16:21:13
I sometimes think about Mahatma Gandhi: when he was arrested...the movement continued. That is what I think I'm seeing now. And I believe that the reform movement is in the hearts of the people.

Quote: When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible but in the end, they always fall -- think of it, ALWAYS.
Gandhi, Mahatma

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com
written by panca, May 07, 2008 16:59:23
The above article is correctly said!

Hail RPK! Hail Justice! Hail RPK!

HELL To The Murderers, HELL to The Corruptors! HELL to The Accomplices!

Yes The Rakyat is of utmost concern and showing thier solidarity to YM RPK!
The ABUSE of Law by The Leadership(by example) to silence Justice is Murdering the Nation. The Rakyat Must Rise to Justice.

All The Goons are Hypocrites and Shame to their Ancestors' graves. They(Goons) should from now should stop uttering words, that represent CEKAP, BERSIH DAN AMANAH!

Perhaps crudely it should be anointed with a new theme, BUTA, BODOH dan TIDAK BERTAMADDUN!

While they(goons) are being whacked, they will go home and pray for forgiveness and will continue behaving the same, if not worst!

Justice must be served. The Nation will rise only when the Rakyat Rise!
written by Birdbrain, May 07, 2008 17:11:10
Sack the AG, this spineless fool who continues to be prostituted by the people in the empty corridors of power!

Many cases could have stopped at his door!

FREE RPK! FREE MALAYSIA!
written by Badaksumbu, May 07, 2008 17:21:49
Seeing around the blogs, I'm touched We are in your side Raja, many thousands-bloggers all around from Perlis to Sabah-Sabah though distance we feel the same,except may be bloggers of UMNO but as for other components BN they begin to see we have the number and it increases by minutes- let us together pursue what we want through people's power this time round.

written by fireduck, May 07, 2008 17:33:47
Can't believe that there is NOT A SINGLE good soul among the authorities such as the police, the judiciary, the Cabinet, who has the balls to stand up and say, "ENOUGH !" Why are these people so afraid to stand on the side of righteousness, when the rakyat are more than willing to do so? How can anyone with an iota of goodness, watch all these happening and yet not do a single thing about it when they are in a position to do so?

Can this Cancer (arrogance of power, abuse of human dignity, fettering or our rights to justice) of our society ever be stopped? If not even one good soul, especially among the police, or the judiciary, or the Cabinet can stand up against further deterioration of the nation, then we are doomed as a nation, as a civil society. Don't even talk about further or future progress, looking at the way things are going.
smilies/sad.gif
written by doggone, May 07, 2008 17:48:32
I believe that the spirit of Altantuya is watching over Raja Petra. He who right the wrongs of others will forever be freed from incarceration.

I have noticed many new members here in the last few days. Many of those who have been following this site as 'inconspicuous patrons' have got rather furious after RPK got hauled in and are now throwing caution to the wind by making their existence felt by registering and posting on this most popular blog. Kudos to all. We will stand by him in his hour of need and that is a promise !!!
written by malaysia devil, May 07, 2008 18:31:59
RPK - The Gutsy Blogger
I admire your courage and the commitment you've made to help others, often at risk of own your life. But the government that serves us has passed too many laws. And that same government is systematically destroying the rights which our Constitution says may not be infringed - very specifically.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...ogger.html
written by alarcarte, May 07, 2008 20:06:19
BN has learn their lesson? The lesson they learn is they forget to cover their body with sheep skin so to look like innocent lamb, they will try to do so from now on. The problem is their pubs (UMNO youth) hasn't learn the art of wearing sheep skin yet.
written by kc respect, May 07, 2008 20:48:17
LESS TALK !!!! MORE ACTION!!!!!!
written by cancan, May 07, 2008 22:23:51
United We Will Fight

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by middlepath, May 07, 2008 22:39:53
Hidup RPK, you are the father of Bangsa Malaysia, you are the father of free press, you are the father of all justice. We love you and we all will support you all the way. we are the makkal sakthi, we are the peoples power.
the Umno,BN will continue to be ignorant, they are mindless self serving, no integrity lot. they dont have the human dignity, they do everything to gain power and abuse.
written by MalaysianIAm, May 08, 2008 01:50:31
im not worried about RPK. He said he would be out for Christmas. I'm glad to hear that from the man himself.

While... for BN... Look what happened to zakaria and nasimuddin. God is watching. I totally have faith in Him, Whoever He is that you believe in.

By the way, how does sedition play into this? Even if Altantuya wasn't murdered by who RPK said it was, it was at best libel. How does sedition relate to this case at all?

but obviously if you have no balls, u will have to trump up charges and put RPK into jail. it just goes to show that someone is disaplying guilty conscience.

Stupid step by UMNO. They're trapped.
written by Jeffrey, May 08, 2008 10:14:45
friends, this is no more tsunami, it will be a meteor hit!!!!! Zero in to UMNO!