Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow RPK the martyr keeps spotlight on Altantuya case

RPK the martyr keeps spotlight on Altantuya case PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 May 2008 23:03

LESLIE LAU, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

MAY 6 — IF Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s aim was to raise the political temperature surrounding the Altantuya murder trial, a case which has fallen off the radar in recent months, he has certainly become a martyr to his cause.

Charged with sedition for an allegedly inflammatory article he wrote on his popular website Malaysia Today about the trial, he refused to post bail.

While the police and the Attorney-General’s Chambers are well within their powers in charging Raja Petra, he has now turned his case into a cause célèbre, taking advantage of the kind positive notoriety which will certainly draw more attention to his already wildly popular and influential website.

Malaysia Today is to Malaysia what the Drudge Report is to the United States.

Like the Drudge Report, Malaysia Today is basically a news aggregation site, in which the owner sometimes writes articles as well to break certain sensational stories before the mainstream press does so.

Raja Petra or RPK, if anything, has been entertaining his readers with tales of political intrigue at the highest levels.

It was on his website that he started publishing the Khairy Chronicles, a series of mostly unsubstantiated articles which accused Khairy Jamaluddin, the son-in-law of the prime minister, of naked ambition in wanting to eventually become PM.

Last week, it appeared Raja Petra had turned his attention on to Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his wife.

There were few people or public institutions which escaped Raja Petra’s scathing attention in his critique of how the authorities had and are handling the ongoing Altantuya murder trial.

Both Najib and his wife were implicated by Raja Petra.

This was classic baiting by Raja Petra. Najib, through his press secretary, responded with a letter to complain about the treatment.

Raja Petra published the letter, and also argued his own points in defending his right to publish the original article.

But in engaging Raja Petra instead of ignoring the allegations, Najib appeared to have silenced, or at least prevented the story from going out of control.

However, by refusing to even post bail, Raja Petra has again brought attention on to the case, and pressure on Najib.

While it was Raja Petra who was handcuffed by police and marched off to the lock-up, it was Najib who had to face growing pressure in Parliament.

He was forced to answer allegations made by Leader of the Opposition Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail that a company controlled by Abdul Razak Baginda, the deputy prime minister's former close aide who has been charged in the Altantuya murder case, had been paid an exorbitant commission in the deal to acquire Sukhoi fighter jets and Scorpene submarines.

Najib expectedly denied any improprieties. But the heat is most certainly still on.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by binarytan, May 06, 2008 23:07:49
Mr. Shit is full of sin.

He is not defending but merely created more anger among Rakyat.

The evil that upset nation will fall, this is history and tradition.

UMNO failed badly in PRU12, this is a lesson that they will still not anticipate.

The murderer also not wake up yet and try to make every attempt to cover??

The justice will prevail and will send the murderer of Altantuya to HELL !!!

Beruk, not only by any god but also by justice!!! Jobless richest ex-oxford shamefull beruk graduate. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 110
written by binarytan, May 06, 2008 23:11:07
RPK, your sacrifice will be remembered forever!!!

Justice & Rakyat will bring you back.

Let us sink the EVIL BN forever!!!!
written by nk1881, May 06, 2008 23:12:37
Why hide behind the Sedition Act which the Bar also said is archaic.
written by power2u, May 06, 2008 23:12:37
Wow point to Najis again-ah???Why AG n prosecution cannot n WILL NOT SEE it???
Looks like every one in M'sai and Monggolia n now whole world can SEE except these useless people.
written by malsia1206, May 06, 2008 23:15:38
Najib denies having met Altantuya. Najib denies any impropriety in the arms deal wherby a huge commission was paid. He was not charged at all. RPK denies having having commited any offence under the Sedition Act. And he was charged. Only difference is one makes 2 denial and walks free. The other make 1 denial and goes to prison. That is the BIG DIFFERENCE on how the Malaysia laws work in this country. Let these facts speak for themselves.
written by Kapsiow, May 06, 2008 23:17:00
When you call 100 million euro a commission that was forced on you and you had to take it, you are assuming that the rakyat are f**king idiots. Well, at the next GE , Barisan will be history and I hope the rakyat puts the bunch of you in jail for taking a commission.
written by br_teacher, May 06, 2008 23:17:01
The motive behind RPK arrest is simple: to shut RPK's mouth...
come on rakyat of malaysia, we go all out to support RPK for a change in the government, show them the people's power!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Agahdemo, May 06, 2008 23:18:38
Mr ShitC4, if at all, by any chance, if ever we shall meet up face to face just the two of us, I will wag your face and stampede it like roti canai until it all deform for what you have done to RPK......... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by HamChak, May 06, 2008 23:24:35
Tun Razak infamous May 13 has now come
back to haunt his son.
written by KopiO, May 07, 2008 00:00:39
Some names looks and feels like Najis; yours, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, is a gem.
written by zul4kulim, May 07, 2008 00:04:04
The heat is certainly ON for najib & rosmah, bring the issue to parliament and let najib be answerable...the world is watching!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...queen.html
written by Sribayu, May 07, 2008 00:10:30
JUSTICE WITHOUT A BATTLE IS JUST AN ILLUSION
Dear Our Beloved Freedom fighter,

It’s just a beginning…..
Fight for us for the dignity of Malaysians and the future of our country.
Democratic rights and human rights must be saved from the brink of barbarism….

Hidup Rakyat Malaysia!!
written by sarawakian, May 07, 2008 00:17:17
those in power should have thought out their moves properly. an action like this smells badly of a quick and hasty cover-up which is sure to backfire.. badly!
written by gotsms, May 07, 2008 00:28:00
Thanks, Pak Lah. Thanks for the push. Not surprised if your spider web is behind this.
written by summer, May 07, 2008 00:41:28
if anyone goes up to Pak Lah and ask him to comment about this.. i bet u he will say..

"SAYA TAK TAHU"

Pak Lah's famous "QUOTE OF THE CENTURY"..

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by POKKU, May 07, 2008 00:44:32
I wonder why is it that BN leaders are so incline to play the game they can't win ???

Started with TDM when he sack LP TSA
Then he sack DSAI

The best they can do in this game is to cut loses.

TDM lose Malay support when he sack DSAI
Loose Trengganu.
Cut loses when he resign.

AAB also play this game.
lose 5 states
loose 2/3 majority
still continue playing
TDM even without position, still want to joint and play.

Now they want to play with our RPK

But this game is the game they cannot win!
Why do they want to continue playing?
They should wisen up and stop playing
cut loses and let our RPK go.
for the longer they play, the more they loose

This is a game that they cannot win.
They have lost, the minutes they start playing.

written by Sabahfan, May 07, 2008 00:47:44
Heres the game...

Swear you shall never ever vote BN again even if you are the candidate
written by bigben, May 07, 2008 01:46:32
to my knowledge, sedition is was created by the british colonisers to prevent the people they ruled from turning against them. this sort of law cannot apply in a democratic country where the governments are elected. this sedition law practically disallows anyone from saying anything against the government even if the government has done wrong. this tantamounts to a gag against every citizen from speaking against the government. it's an ideal law to protect dictators.
written by Spear Bing, May 07, 2008 02:00:17
My goodness..... Najis hoisted by his own petard.He blewed his own C4. He has blown away his hope of becoming the next PM.

Just like the Sedition Act, 1948 which is considered archaic and obselete,Najis's mindset still hovers on the Jurassic archetype - He is a pathetic disgrace to his father who eulogized on the passing of RPK's late father.
written by LACOBRA, May 07, 2008 02:03:12
By the overzealousness in prosecuting the innocences. It now amplifies that Najib is truly guilty and has used the entire police force to murder Altantuya!
written by roylim, May 07, 2008 02:06:39
To signifiy Malaysia entering a DARK REALM, I will be turning off the lights of my house :

8th of May 2008
9pm Malaysian Time
Duration of 10 minutes.

To all supporters of RPK and basic human rights, lets show our support in unison.
Spread the event. Blog it. Sms it.
Join me.

Lets show the so called super powers that they just cant do as they wish.

RPK you are the hero of modern Malaysia.

REST WELL.
written by bugisman, May 07, 2008 02:51:05
i've never been so angry in my life!
go to hell you BN, umno!
let's send the altantuya's murderers to hell!
let's send the rpk's saboteurs to hell!
written by bn haramjadah, May 07, 2008 03:41:14
Any prudent and intelligent government in the world, buys arms and related defence procurements, directly from the manufacturer, not through so called 3rd parties, unless the government is facing international sanctions by the un or the USA. the statement by najis they needed the expertise of this private Malaysian co. does not hold water, whatever more the companies are indirectly proxies of najib, pure and simple these companies are kick back vehicles of the defense minister, this clearly shows that the level of corruption by umno cronies knows no bounds. look at these scum, telling the rakyat to change our lifestyle when the price of fuel increased the first time, did you mean we the rakyat eat grass while fat cats like you najis eats steaks with his puffed up hairstyle and ego wife. this is blatant corruption and treason against the country, how this pigs sleep at night god knows but one day they will meet their maker and they will answer for their actions, look at nasimuddin another fat cat who gained through the corrupt umno, look how he died, suffering and pain, ALLAH HAS EYES, and I bet you your fall will be right through the floor with a rope around your neck, explain C4, can any ali and ahmad get their hands on it, who gave the orders to sign it out, our ag's chambers seem to be bloody incompetant, all those in the chain of command should be hauled up to answer, why was this not done, why has there been no investigation on the release of the C4, WHO ERASED THE IMMIGRATION FILES, THE DG OF IMMIGRATION HAS TO ANSWER BUT THIS WAS NOT DONE, so whichever way you want to play this, whichever way you want to berputar belit the murder of altantuya, you can't hide the facts, too much is known.
I notice the apple has not fallen far from the tree, LIKE FATHER, LIKE SON. KILLERS OF INOCENTS, FATHER WITH MAY 13, SON WITH C4, wife with the deaths of NS TRAINEES, HOW, WHO BENEFITS FROM THE NS PROGRAMME, UNIFORMS,TRANSPORT,TRAINING CAMPS, CATERING AND ALL THE BRICKBRATS... IF YOU DIG DEEP ENOUGH YOU WILL FIND ROSMAH. SO YOU DOG AND BITCH CHARGE ME WITH ISA OR WHATEVER, GOT THE BALLS. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif may you and your family rot in hell *******s
written by steve, May 07, 2008 04:31:17
I concur with haramjadah - why the need to go through private contractors when buying arms for a country. It is naked corruption. Najib - you are without doubt extremely corrupt. I strongly urge that the public dig into the dealings of this corrupt a**h**e. I am sure that there are plenty of dirty secrets to see the light of day. Najib -rest assured you are going to go under the microscope and the rest of soceity will know what sort of cockroach you are. If you have a problem with Pete, sue him. You have no f*****g balls. Go on - show the whole world how ball-less you are. Hide behind the sedition act when you can claim slander. OBVIOUSLY THERE IS TRUTH IN THE ALLEGATIONS. They are obviously hitting close to home.
Enjoy freedom while you can Najib -'cos you are surely going down as the sun sets. You wife Rosmah- nothing more than a social climber of the worst sort.
written by Kaneeneh, May 07, 2008 04:57:04
Habislah kau, riwayat Sang Jahanam, Umno , Najib dan hulubalangnya. Tamatlah riwayat mu, sang kelebai bin celaka, Najib/s.
written by mikewang, May 07, 2008 06:32:27
It is stupid of Najib to use or agree to use government apparatus to bring this case to court.
It will keep the abuses of Najib and UMNO continually mentioned and exposed in the eyes of the public.

By choosing to go to jail instead of posting bail, RPK had raised the ante. What was supposed to be a harassment had turned into a challenged by the harassed.
That will guarantee the attention of the international media and the blogging world.

YM RPK sir, I salute you for your dedication to righteousness and to a better Malaysia.
Your personal sacrifice for the country at this moment of time will forever be remembered.
written by daliman, May 07, 2008 07:42:24
What i can see is that, this "ONE mighty nyamuk" really stings denggi virus. Those stung and has a very strong anti-body will silently shy away and knew the danger the virus could cause. Those who have heard of this fiery nyamuk's stinging kelam-kabut-ly rush and got themselves prepared with insecticide spray to protect themselves.

The nyamuk may die, but the denggi remains a LEGEND.
written by Tompios, May 07, 2008 07:50:54
I love you RPK. You know where to step on! If Bung Karno powerful in his speech, you very powerfull in read's information through this nation. New generations' warriors will come out from the womb of Malaysia's land. We are not stupid and ignorant anymore Mr. Satan's agent-UMNO.
written by Jan, May 07, 2008 09:43:19
Frankly I no longer have any confidence in Najib as Defence Minister.
Only a stupid minister would buy arms through a 3rd party and pay hefty commissions(read: our hard earned tax money) On top of that this 3rd party hardly had any experience in submarines and happen to be a close associate of this minister. Something seriously improper is going on.
How can this country have someone like this for Prime Minister?
written by Jan, May 07, 2008 09:48:18
Dear Prime Minister,
Something really fishy is going on in the ministry of defence. How can the country pay hundreds of millions in commissions for something we could have easily done ourselves. Please stop being in your elegant silent mode, say something, do anything to stop this shenanigan.
written by Baronshah, May 07, 2008 10:12:49
I quote RPK...
“Is it seditious to influence people against corrupt leaders? There is nothing seditious,” he said. “Do you think I do not have evidence?”

You don't screw around with a man of RPK's stature. Do you think that RPK would have written that infamous article if he DID NOT have any evidence/proof. RPK is a very meticulate person. He is a man of honour.

May god bless RPK and his family.
written by cancan, May 07, 2008 10:30:53
Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political mind game?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by blacknight220, May 07, 2008 10:36:59
Najib is really full of Najis (shit). What a DPM to have.... why Malaysia? Why Malaysia should hv to many lousy politician? Under BN (Banyak Najis) punya pasal laaa....
written by ordinary citizen, May 07, 2008 10:53:12
Najib has just shot himself on his foot by affirming that the government feels it fair to pay exorbitant commission to a malaysian company.

Imagine this happens to the corporate world where the staff reported to the boss that it is fair to pay hefty commission to another party. If the boss is smart enough, I am sure the boss will ask why he cannot go directly to negotiate the contracts with the seller and cut off the commission agent and save alot of money for the Company. In this case, it is the government that can save millions.

Najib's explanation on the News sounds so meek and lame or is he protecting some crony?
written by Mik, May 07, 2008 11:15:26
After this, they will start investigate najib since they have to establish whether rpk's article is the truth or not. Hm, looks like everything leads to the downfall of najib. this cant be be his doin. this must be team A's doin. to bring down najib.juz speculation.
written by panca, May 07, 2008 11:35:03
YES THE RAKYAT SHOULD NEVER EVER VOTE AGAIN FOR umno and barisan nasional (UMNO AND BARISAN). Democracy is DEAD when they RULE!

DEMOCRACY MUST RULE NOT THEM(UMNO&BN)
written by panca, May 07, 2008 12:01:08
written by ordinary citizen, May 07, 2008 | 10:53:12
In this case, it is the government that can save millions.

May i add...in this case it is the govt that save millions of the taxpayers money from going into personal pockets. As we are at this point of discussion, there should also legislation that allow the Rakyat the rights to review with public opinions upon the ministry's final decision to purchase arms. This arms may be deem necessary to the defence of the country, however, we are many times "shocked" over alleged of malpractices albeit there are strong indication that there much more important and deserving economical projects for the Rakyat than mere need to purchase arms yet exorbitantly procured. Transparency are best practiced with legislation(s) such as mentioned above. This acts as dragnets to scourge for leakage and prevent unhealthy or even corrupted practices. The Rakyat must have the power to vet - TRANSPARENCY for GOOD GOVERNANCE.
written by Saint, May 07, 2008 14:31:17
"Any prudent and intelligent government in the world, buys arms and related defence procurements, directly from the manufacturer, not through so called 3rd parties"

Even then, 3rd parties must be experts in war machinery, war tactics and know their stuff well (ie. about air fighters & submarines). What qualifications did this consultant / his company and the track record the company had?

This was nothing but a scam.
written by dkkl, May 07, 2008 15:51:49
what more can I say... RPK is the next Nelson Mandela who sit in prison to fight for justice in Altantuya case.
written by roadbarra, May 07, 2008 17:23:48
My eyes were filled tears of rage when I saw RPK in handcuffs. Truth cannot be silenced forever..... smilies/angry.gif
written by malaysia devil, May 07, 2008 18:33:02
RPK - The Gutsy Blogger
I admire your courage and the commitment you've made to help others, often at risk of own your life. But the government that serves us has passed too many laws. And that same government is systematically destroying the rights which our Constitution says may not be infringed - very specifically.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...ogger.html
written by Motherchell, May 07, 2008 20:38:16
Im with each and everyone here buddies -- haramjadah --- bro.i admire you !!

Sems like Paklah has no balls to stop Najib --- any way he never had one !!!!!!!!!

My Bp is so high that i could send an ICBM to these PutraJayans!!!!!

The Palace of Justice at PutraJaya should be turned into a sewage treatment plant, with Gani Patel as the CEO and sole franchise holder!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!What a wiff!
written by johntyc, May 08, 2008 05:03:05
Yo Najib, just prosecute the goddamned ARB, and RPK might let you off this time. Please think of Altantuya smilies/cry.gif
written by Angela Ooi, May 08, 2008 11:40:50
Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.. ya Najis how do you sleep nightly using the power of your position in the govt to mow down the righteous men.
Then again, the fruit doesnt't fall very far from the tree cos we are sure our beloved Tunku Abdul Rahman rued the day he chose your dad as his heir apparent.
History tells us dishonourable Razak played a hand in the events of May 13 to hasten his own promotion. DISHONOURABLE, SHAMEFUL, UNHOLY, UNFAIR AND THE SIN OF ALL THE INNOCENT DEATHS WILL RETURN TO HAUNT THIS FAMILY FOR GENERATIONS TO COME!!
written by chanatak, May 08, 2008 21:32:25
Both Najib and his wife were implicated by Raja Petra.

This is a FALSE statement. Najib and his wife were implicated long before Raja Petra made any posting on the matter. STOP making this statement.

It is a fact that the public has got wind of who is implicated as soon as Razak and the 2 bodyguards were arrested. Don't put the blame on RPK
written by Dominic, May 09, 2008 00:00:49
Guess when RPK brought forth the theory about Najis involment in Althantuyah murder case, the latter must be very jumpy everytime he sees his own shadow ! Wonder what gonna happen next if Baginda couldnt hold on but to reveal the final truth ? Sure,the longer they delay the case, poor Baginda gonna have more nightmare ! Poor soul languished in jail for helping out what thought to be a sure clean case ! Sleep well!
written by Fart Fart Wah, May 09, 2008 14:56:37
TOYOL DENIES, MAT TAIB DENIES, THE MAMAK WOLF IN BAJU MELAYU DENIES, THAMBY CIK DENIES, SABARRUDIN CHIK DENIES, MEGAT JUNID DENIES, LINGAM DENIES, FAIRUS DENIES, YUSOFF CHINK DENIES, MAT ISA( sacked only 1 fish)......IN FACT HALF OF THE BARISAN ESPECIALLY UMNO LEBIH DIRAJA MAHARAJALELA ..DENY when caught with their pants down..najibc4 has been caught many times with his PANTS down...CAN HE DENY HOW THE C4 LEFT THE CAMP???????????????