Bunga Tanjong's Dissolution, Donation To Bakti Deemed Ultra Vires PDF Print
Monday, 05 May 2008 08:56

(Bernama) PENANG, May 4 -- The Penang government regards the action of the Pertubuhan Bunga Tanjong (PBT) office-bearers to dissolve the association and to donate its funds to Bakti (Association of Wives of Ministers and Deputy Ministers) as ultra vires to its constitution and against the law.

Political secretary of the Chief Minister, Ng Wei Aik, said it was unethical for the PBT (Association of Wives of Penang Elected Representatives) management to dissolve the association or make decisions on it as they no longer qualified to lead it or be its ordinary members.

In his letter to PBT president, Puan Sri Chui Kah Peng, and faxed to the press here, he demanded that Chui clarify whether three-fifths of its 45 members had, on March 9, the right to make the decision to dissolve PBT and to hand over RM350,000 of its funds amounting to RM590,665, to Bakti as they had lost the right to be PBT members under its constitution.

According to the PBT constitution, membership is restricted to the wives of Penang assemblymen and parliamentarians, except from the opposition.

"There is no mention of wives of BN assemblymen and MPs and the association's registered address is the Chief Minister's Office, 28th Floor, Komtar," Ng pointed out.

"Therefore, accordingly, PBT should be led by and comprise the wives of the elected representatives of the new state government."

Ng also questioned why PBT had donated only RM240,665 to Penang charitable bodies and the rest to Bakti as the state government had also donated RM10,000 yearly to the association.

He said to resolve the issue, the money donated to Bakti should be returned to the state government and for Chui to address the legal and ethical issues before challenging the state government to a debate.

Ng said the Chief Minister was prepared to listen to PBT's clarification on the matters raised and asked Chui to contact him for a meeting with Lim Guan Eng.

Meanwhile, in a statement released here Sunday, Chui said she was disappointed that Lim refused to accept her challenge for an open debate to defend PBT and also to let him justify his allegations.

"After he has made baseless allegations against us in public, it is no longer proper and acceptable for us to discuss this behind closed doors," she said.

Chui also stressed that PBT was a registered society, not a government body to be handed over when a new government took over (the state).

"We were under the jurisdiction of the ROS and not the state government as Lim himself had admitted (Kwong Wah on May 1). We have acted in good faith and have done everything in accordance with the PBT constitution, and it's all above board.

"In view of Lim's rejection for an open public debate and Ooi's (Jelutong MP and blogger Jeff Ooi) failure to respond (to allegations against PBT) by the deadline, we will continue to take appropriate measures to defend our integrity and dignity," she said.

Also read:
Bunga Tanjung dissolved, funds donated
written by michael chick, May 05, 2008 08:59:50
You defend you dignity, by first asking your husband for his letter of approval for you flying to Paris for shopping as deemed fit by your BN brain-dead people. The rest of us DO NOT CONCUR to this "approval thing"....

Now just shut up, and watch PR roll into Power

Truly Asia, Kindergarten Minded......
written by temenggong, May 05, 2008 09:08:21
And was the EGM held at the registered office in Komtar, on Sunday 9th March? How let them in, and who gave permission?

Give them a week to make restitution, if not, make a police report.
written by campuras, May 05, 2008 09:10:57

Does that mean donation are not tax deductible.

Donors beware. The tax man commeth
written by campuras, May 05, 2008 09:18:27
"unethical" is least of their worries.

Call them whatever you want unless there is a breach of law, call them fanciful names or swear at them, nothing will bring the money back.

PR needs to go through all the legislations and drop the whole lock, stock and barrel on them and you will get action.

As I suggested look at the tax implication, If donor can't get any deduction, the shady characters will lose all credibilities and will not be able to raise a single cent. This will strike more fatal body blow than just calling them names.

Talk to the experts.

written by MsiaCTzen, May 05, 2008 09:30:52
"ETHIC" MDM Chui does not know the meaning of the word.

Fund allocated to Bakti is reason only know to her.

This only indicate that PBT have no interest in helping Penang Charitable organisation. If PBT is truly dedicate to Penangnite, Mdm Chui should request back all the fund from Bakti and distributed it all to Penang Charitable Organisation.

Boycott MDM CHUI do not provide her service anymore in public. (in shop/restaurant/complexes.) Show her no respite for she do not reserve it

Dissolving PBT is no big deal but PBT transfering of fund to Bakti is.

All Penang charity association should gather and ask "WHY park the fund in Bakti" and "Why not donate to Poor and Needy Penang People"

Citizen of Penang (rich or Poor) stand up and be counted !!!

Garakan and BN are trying to suck you dry.Even you are poor.

People of Penang, your were strong b4 March 08 you must be stronger now.

Organise and be heard.
written by krising1, May 05, 2008 09:31:25
What appropriate mesaures? Make police reports? Ask the ACA to investiate? Or take civil action for ;iable/defamation?

You seem to think that by shouting loud, you will be be proclaimed to be right. Wrong. That CBT has ben committed is very glaring.

The state should have already reported you to the police/ACA instead wasting time talking to you.
written by sungai_kelian, May 05, 2008 09:34:44
Chui, if it is an NGO, there is no need to dissolve and transfer the money. You can still continue to run the NGO. The problem is your constitution states that it is a for the ruling government wifes. After March 8, you were neither the ruling or opposition. How could you still make decision on it?
written by omarkhayyam, May 05, 2008 09:36:49
and they have the cheek to call for a debate ?

written by fishhook, May 05, 2008 09:41:34
And why in the first place are BALKIS and PBT keeping so much money in their accounts instead of dispensing them to the needy and keeping only enough for operations cost?

The new state gov seems to be giving the ex-gov a lot of chances to explain themselves privately but these opportunities seems to be rejected and met with more arrogance. I see it as wasting the new gov's time. I propose giving them ONE chance to explain and if not taken then go the legal way.
written by sickofitall, May 05, 2008 09:53:51
What about second wivesw? Are they members also or just first wives?? smilies/grin.gif
written by chanatak, May 05, 2008 10:29:28
The wives of BN's elected representatives play their part to bring down the BN party. Rejoice!
written by temenggong, May 05, 2008 10:35:43
The EGM was called after the state assembly was dissolved. No court will accept that the directors have carried out their fiduciary duties justly and equitably.

Tsu Koon, tell your girls to get back the money, then can kau tim, cos this is a small matter and the Pakatan don't want to argue with girls! If not they get screwed! Then, you long face maa! Get me or not?
written by chanatak, May 05, 2008 10:41:26
Waaaa! Koh Tsu Koon's wife also pick up the UMNO wives' habit ahhhh? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ultraman, May 05, 2008 10:47:35
Chui Ka Peng,
Before you throw a challenge to LGE or JEff Ooi, you better analyse this statement:
According to the PBT constitution, membership is restricted to the wives of Penang assemblymen and parliamentarians, except from the opposition

After 8th March you and fellow friends were already disqualified as members of the association altogether by virtue of not only being even the wife of an opposition, let alone being one! Whether it is a private orgabisation or not, you are simply disqualified by virtue of the constitution! You simply do not have the prereqisite to be one!
I hope you understand by the word pre-requisite. Long ago the pre-requisite to scor Grade one in School Certificate was a credit in English. No matter how many distinctiuons you score,but simply pass in English, you could only qualify for Grade 2. There is no point telling the world that I have a grade 1. The rules disqualified me totally from Grade 1. Thus the same rules apply here.
Wives of opposition are excluded from being a member!!! In penang GERAKAN IS THE OPPOSITION !!!
written by Aiseiman, May 05, 2008 14:27:15
As a Penangite and a contributor to Bunga Tanjong, I want to protest their breach of fiduciary duty!

Since it's in the first place, Ultra Vires, they have to make good all the damage deemed due to their act!

ALL Penang People Must Stand Up To This Collectively!
written by Ninja, May 05, 2008 17:38:20
Why are they in such a hurry to transfer the funds and to disolve PBT?

Fear of misappropriation of funds by opposition? Why should one have such fear unless one had committed such sins and forsee the same sins been committed by others.

If one had committed his or her duties without fear or favour, there is no necessity to clear the trail. There must be some hidden agenda.

written by sarawakian, May 05, 2008 21:28:21
I see it as wasting the new gov's time. I propose giving them ONE chance to explain and if not taken then go the legal way.

as in go to court?? the same courts listening to the Altantuya case??? HAHAHHAHAHAHA!
written by temanmu, May 05, 2008 22:04:31
Haha!... BN thought they would rule Penang forever!

NOW they are the Opposition... so the wives of Pakatan MPs & DUNs should take custody of the money!

BN glory days are gone!

Now they are grabbing the scraps after years of plundering the nation!

written by fairnesstoall, May 06, 2008 00:40:04
While this topic is really interesting, I will like to share with the readers some differing views.

1) The article written by a writter to the SUN on May 5 2008, page 21 indicating that Mdm Chui has said demeaning words to insult the women. The wordings used in the article - We are not housewives, we are professionals...

Did she actually said this ? Check out this link - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dz7B5EPAW_8

To ease the readers, she actually said - We are not JUST housewives, a lot of us are professionals...

See, the missing word just can cause so much misleading information to the readers.

2) The blog http://minorityview.*********.com has provide some argument from a different standpoint. Quite interesting. Check it out.
written by Wakeupmsia, May 06, 2008 02:13:10
Hey! Hello!! Chui or Khui(devil in Hokkien/Hainanese dialect). Please have some decency or moral values.........if you have any! Transferring monies out for the benefits of others and not for the benefits of Penangites needdies is ABSURD AND TERRIBLY WRONG!! Yet, you and your scumbags seek to challenge LGE/JO to an open debate! Where's your INTEGRITY AND DIGNITY! Give it a serious thought tonight and perhaps you should let KSK or whoever that maybe beside you know, even if he/they ON HEAT-"DON'T DISTURB ME, I AM THINKING!"

Don't insult our intelligence, khui!!!!!!!!!!!! Good Night, Maam.
written by ultraman, May 06, 2008 20:31:24
Maybe Chui does not understand the English used in the constitution la!
Her committee members pun tak faham Inglish le! Jadi apa boleh buat. Transfer saja la duit yang ada ke mana punikut suka la!!
written by fairnesstoall, May 07, 2008 08:06:13
Ultraman, check this site over the next few days. Heard from some sources that the information will be shared about the "duit". http://minorityview.*********.com