Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Reply to TDM's Criticism on CheDet.com

Reply to TDM's Criticism on CheDet.com PDF Print
Sunday, 04 May 2008 15:03

Dear TDM,

It is unbecoming of you to make sweeping statements based on personal sentiments and presumptions. That too, without really articulating your reasons for these statements.

I tell you most solemnly, Dear Sir - You lie.
You lie to yourself, and the people, when you imply that the Opposition are the "enemy".
Before I go further, allow me to say that I truly appreciate the positive, during your leadership - for that, I humbly thank you. What I wish to address are the negative, though.

The problem here Tun Sir, is that you perceive that the Government and party as your personal political tools despite your verbose DENIALS. Hence, the Opposition is your personal political enemy who can render you relatively powerless to manipulate the state and constitution at your pleasure.

However, you do desire also, one that is toothless, so as to permit an authoritarian Government which can disregard this "strong and toothless opposition" at liberty.
Since you appear to advocate this (strangely) "strong opposition", could you elaborate as to how this “strong opposition” in an authoritarian state should do its job with a “strong Govt” which it is powerless to oppose?

What you have expressed, is not of national interest, dear Sir. It is one of personal nature, as the "opposition" is only a "political enemy" to you, and your party's grip on power!
It is simply, only your perception that they are "enemies", which you impose upon the people who have chosen them.
You have effectively rendered the rakyat who disagree with you, "enemies".
It means you cannot accept any other opinion.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by Chaptokam, May 04, 2008 15:09:28
This word summarises up all I have to say ;

UMNO = UNDER MAHATHIR NO OPPOSITION .
written by TWOG, May 04, 2008 15:20:26
Cruzeiro, saw your entry in CheDet's blog and loved it.

And here's my second entry there, though it hasn't been approved yet, so I have to reconstruct from memory.

Dear Tun,

I agree that a weak government is not ideal for Malaysia, although it may not be that bad if it leads to greater press freedom, greater freedom of expression and less racial politics. Even Hishammudin had to apologize for his keris antics.

On the other hand, a strong but corrupt government with strong leaders is much, much worse. Look at the countries below with strong governments and very strong leaders:

Fidel Castro of Cuba - 32 years [1976 - 2008]

Kim Il Sung of North Korean - 22 years as Premier and another 22 years as President ( 1948 - 1972 -1994)

Suharto of Indonesia - 31 years [1967 - 1998]

Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe - 28 years [1980 - 2008]

Mahathir Mohamad of Malaysia - 22 years (1981 - 2003)

Dear Tun, you will notice that your good friend's reign almost coincided with yours and that his strong leadership is certainly not good for Zimbabwe. I am sure his government is very strong - in fact too strong. Do you think Mugabe or someone like Mugabe will be good for Malaysia?

Please search your soul...
agree 118
written by Lim Lim, May 04, 2008 15:27:16
with this kind of statement,clear cut!mahathir never believe in democracy...he demostrates no great political leadership nor statemanship..he hav been n infact jus a triad leader n jus fit for that!lowlife.
written by donplay, May 04, 2008 15:42:47
Heres' ny posting to Dr.M :-

Dear Chedet

A weak Government is not good for any country. Period.

There are many places such as Finland, Sweden and European countries where proportional representation works. No doubt these are advanced western economies.

So, the right % of majority that a M'sian Govt should have is somthing we are grappling with now. We will get it right, I believe, sooner, rather than later.

But, I am not convinced that a 2/3 majority is an absolute necessity for the convincing performance & functioning of any Govt.

The current situation means that the BN Govt will have to really convince the people that changes to the Constitution are absolutely necessary, and not planned as yet another means of stifling valid and sincere opposition.

For example, was it really necessary to extend the EC Chief's tenure by Constitutional amendmend when surely his assistant of 20 odd years would/should have been more than capable?

As to criticisms of AAB's Govt policies, I would be the first to say your right to do so is inalienable.

But, your open condemnation of AAB's leadership and flip-flopping on the choice of Najib as DPM/PM-in-waiting, reflects poorly on your own uncoerced Management decisions & style.

Better you pay the role of Elderly Statesman than that of Agent Provocateur! Perhaps you should take a leaf out of someone's book, like Jimmy Carter's?

donplaypuks
Ps note the grammatical mistake in Dr M's Preface.

Looks like it was written by one of his nephews or nieces educated at a Sekolah Kebangsaan. There is no English word called 'Feedbacks' and where he means 'Welcome' he says 'Welcomed'. Now we know the true extent of 22 years of over emphasis on Bahasa Malaysia and downgrading of English!! Lol

written by mgeo, May 04, 2008 16:07:37
Folks, please apply Maha Thiruden's own beloved OSA to his writings - ignore them. He will end up on the dung-heap of history unlike Tunku whom he hated and tried so hard to upstage with his Putrajaya.
written by greenarrow, May 04, 2008 17:42:28
Confectionary Products have 'Expiry Date '.... International Passport also carries an 'Expiry Date'

God knows when our Lives 'EXPIRED' !!!

UMNO must go.. ' must close shop '...already ruled too long...
Manifesto & Ideology of UMNO ..no longer appealing to the RAKYAT

Rakyat fed up of your GREEDINESS...& ARROGANCE

Prepare for the "EXPIRY DATE"...

the Biggest TOMBSTONE of Malaysian History made ready for UMNO

-GreenArrow writes
written by FFT, May 04, 2008 17:46:00
donplay said:
Looks like it was written by one of his nephews or nieces educated at a Sekolah Kebangsaan. There is no English word called 'Feedbacks' and where he means 'Welcome' he says 'Welcomed'.

Interesting that you note that. Those two grammatical errors are very consistent with one particular prominent blogger who is a card-carrying member of the Mahathir and Mukhriz cult. Ghostwriting?
written by greenarrow, May 04, 2008 17:52:18
If UMNO falls..BARISAN NASIONAL also falls
written by tuankujuki, May 04, 2008 17:59:59
Aiyya you all, STOP please STOP!!!!! I mean stop teasing this poor old man. He is a political has been and will stay in such a condition for the rest of his life. His time is over. Don't listen to him, its all gibberish.

He did nothing in the past except ruining Malaysia and I do not think he would nbe able to do anything for the betterment of the future. C'mon stop wasting our precious time, just let this old man making peace with himself because that what he is doing now.
written by malsia1206, May 04, 2008 18:08:40
TDM is old, senile and sings the same old tune. We all have other prioities to attend than making rebuttals all day long with his distorted lies. He has had his days and the rakyat is now burdened with his legacy. He has his hands full with the Jews.
written by sampalee, May 04, 2008 18:50:50
If pakatan is with the rakyat[by endorsing the rakyat's declaration,before yhe 12th GE],and is viewed as being an enemy,then DrM is treating the rakyat[his boss] as enemy.
written by bigben, May 04, 2008 19:17:27
Mr.Mahathir,

On one hand you mentioned that "a weak government is not good for Multi-racial Malaysia" and on the other hand you have said that a "weak opposition is not good for the country"

As usual, you are doing your double talk act again. I am amazed how you can say one thing and do something totally the opposite without even batting an eyelid. I suppose when one starts young like you did, one soon masters the act. However it is sad to note that you are passing on this legacy to your children when you should in fact be doing the opposite. (That is teaching them the difference between right and wrong).

As a person who knows you better, I dare say that the dilemma that the country faces today are a direct result of your racist, arrogant and dictatorial policies. I remember you as one of the more influential and effective politicians who gained popularity and power through racism rather than intellectual abilities and political ideologies. In your 22 years of rule, you had destroyed the integrity of the judiciary, institutionalised corruption and racially divided the country. You had brought a lot of harm and suffering to a lot of people and I hope you will review your past actions and repent than continue to involve yourself in this ego trip.

I disagree with your view that "a weak government is not good for multi-racial Malaysia". For your information, every single country on this planet is a multi racial country. The difference is, politicians in any civilised country would be shunned and ostracised if they ever resorted to run for office playing the race card. One good example is the current American presidential race between Obama and Hillary Clinton. These two people are contesting based solely on their policies and ideologies; not like what you and your UMNO brethens do. You people only sell yourselves based on being champions of the race and not on your abilities and policies for the betterment of the country and the people. Ultimately, the Malay population cannot survive on ego and pride alone... and you know that. In fact I feel that it is an insult to the Malays in general to say that they need the NEP to protect them. Protect them from what? I have not come across a single Malay who would admit that he or she is what they are because of the NEP. The right thinking ones would feel insulted and ashamed. If you claim that UMNO had been working towards the betterment of the Malays, why is it that even after 50 years in absolute power, the Malays still dominate the lower echelons of society? Like 50 years ago, they still dominate the positions of office boys, driver, caddy boys, etc. Mat rempits, drug addicts and prison imates are the other areas dominated by the Malay populace. After 50 years of UMNO governance of which close to half of it can be attributed to you, I am sad to say we don't have much to show except for grandiose buildings and projects. Therefore, I am sorry to say that I must differ from your analysis the "a weak government is not good for Multi-racial Malaysia" The only thing that can be good for Malaysia is a good government whether it's from Barisan or Pakatan. The last general elections has totally changed the our political landscape and has made Barisan irrelevant. No more can politicians sell themselves as champions of any particular race. Those who do, have to be shamed and ostracised for good. Every single politician should work for every single Malaysian irrespetive of race. This is the only way forward.
Compared to Singapore, you should be ashamed of your achievements.
Just look at the quality of the english of the postings that show support for you in this blog. You must admit that most of it is shocking and not some thing to be proud of. I hope you don't go down in history for the wrong reasons.

bigben
written by CVL, May 04, 2008 19:41:58
To Che Det,
There is one burning question that i would like for you sincerely share with the public at large to:

Did your father come from India, from which state was it, and when he came to Malaysia then, did he have a passport?

On one of the blog in M2day there is an article about the illegal immigrant and alien asking now for equal right.

Should the case be that your father came to Malaya without a passport, would you think this blogger of the preceding para worth your while to response to?
written by shissun, May 04, 2008 20:01:34
Sure that old man worry. If PR really can sweep into power at Federal Level, he won't game over so easily. Korek korek korek,
written by shissun, May 04, 2008 20:06:31
Big Ben,
U don't get the old man intention? Initially, he want a strong opposition because ABB was taking all his pride by winning 90% parliament seats. Ego has gone mah, people say ABB's win is because people reject him - TDM. Now, opposition already strong, but see who is leading the PR? His nemesis, DSAI, DSAI's korek korek korek activity makes TDM cannot sleep well at night, worrying about the old ghost will come back haunting him. Normal for people with such amount of sins.
written by lynn, May 04, 2008 20:22:46
"Politically, the opposition is the enemy. Being forced to work with the opposition is not undemocratic but it shows up the weakness of the Government.
A weak government is not good for multi-racial Malaysia. It leads to unwarranted challenges against its authority. Governments cannot please everybody." - Tun Dr. Mahathir (CheDet.com)

Unwarranted challenges against its authority, please everybody???

Aren't you people glad he is no longer the pm? Scary. He will never be able to see or accept other's viewpoints. All challenges we posed so far are legitimate; all we are asking for, as anyone in the right frame of mind would, is a clean & efficient government, who is accountable, transparent in its dealings, we are only asking for honesty, integrity, sincerity, fairness, hard work, professionalism, meritocracy, all the good that would eventually benefit the rakyat.

The gov't doesn't have to please everyone, just his cronies! Dats what he meant!
written by miwaki, May 04, 2008 21:07:55
This old man doesn't know what he is talking about.The more you read his articles,the more you will become like him,very confusing and irritating !How old is he anyway ? Time to rest-lah.
written by TWOG, May 04, 2008 21:11:01
written by sonofman0, May 04, 2008 | 18:23:05
Dear TWOG,

I was never aware that the government of Fidel Castro was ever corrupt. I do know that he overthrew a very corrupt regime.

Forgive my ignorance. Perhaps you could enlighten us on some of the corrupt practices of the Castro government.

sonofman0,

You got a small point there, although my intention is to point out the "strong" part, as TDM's point is that a "weak" government is no good for Malaysia. Be that as it may, I can also make out a case for corruption in Cuba. Making your brother President after you is also corruption. There are many forms of corruption - check up the meaning of corruption.

If you notice, all the "strong" and long-lasting governments are mostly basket case. I rest my case. I have left out one long lasting and strong leader as obviously he doesn't belong to this august company of "great" and beloved leaders.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by mikewang, May 04, 2008 22:13:02
We don't need a 2/3 majority government.
What we need is a moral government of impeccable integrity.

If anyone thinks a less than 2/3 government is weak, go ask the Israelis.
written by bn haramjadah, May 04, 2008 23:33:18
TWOG YOU MADE A MISTAKE HERE
Fidel Castro of Cuba-32 years [1976-2008]SHOULD ACTUALLY READ 1959- 2008= 49 YRS
ONE OF THE LONGEST SERVING DICTATORS OF A BANKRUPT COUNTRY.
Fidel Alejandro Castro Ruz (born August 13, 1926) is a Cuban revolutionary leader who served as the country's 22nd president and led the country from January 1959 until his retirement in February 2008.
written by TWOG, May 04, 2008 23:45:45
written by bn haramjadah, May 04, 2008 | 23:33:18
TWOG YOU MADE A MISTAKE HERE
Fidel Castro of Cuba-32 years [1976-2008]SHOULD ACTUALLY READ 1959- 2008= 49 YRS
ONE OF THE LONGEST SERVING DICTATORS OF A BANKRUPT COUNTRY.
Fidel Alejandro Castro Ruz (born August 13, 1926) is a Cuban revolutionary leader who served as the country's 22nd president and led the country from January 1959 until his retirement in February 2008.

haramjadah - you are right. I had it as 49 years previously, but decided to change it to the period he was holding the presidency. I should have included the 17 years he spent as Prime Minister before promoting himself to President. So to be consistent, he should be the world's strongest leader with 49 years of absolute control, beating his North Korean strong man Kim Il Sung, who also had 24 years (not 22 years stated above) as Prime Minister before promoting himself to President for another 22 years.
written by sonofman0, May 05, 2008 00:07:33
Thank you, TWOG,

I shall definitely look up the meaning of corruption.

Happy blogging!
written by Countach, May 05, 2008 00:35:01
To Mahathir , a strong Government without opposition means unlimited access to the country's coffers.

To do mega projects without regards to viability.

A strong government to Mahathir also means to be able to sapu all the money for himself.
written by Countach, May 05, 2008 00:36:58
bigben, Mamak are famous for double talk.

Talking Tamil!
written by pwcheng, May 05, 2008 00:37:32

I totally share the same sentiment as Super Admin. His article under "“Return to the true national struggle” in the Star on 30/04/08 is totally unfair to the Rakyat and the Country. To most if not all the citizens of any country, the party that can do the best for its citizens is the party that we will elect, not otherwise. I had submitted the below article for the Star to be published.

Referring to Tun Dr Mahathir’s “Return to the true national struggle” published in The Star on wed. 30/04/08, his expressions reflect on his style of governance for 22 years as he will knows best how the mechanism in BN ticks. His statement that “maybe loyalty to the Barisan is now based on personal gains or fear of punishment” is never a maybe but true to its form. He also mentioned that they are “all fighting to get a piece of the cake when the party wins” was a hallmark of UMNO’s practice when he was at the helm and it is not going to go off with any changes of the top leadership, at least not in the near future.
Interestingly his closing statement of “Continue supporting a person under whom the Barisan and its component parties were defeated or stop being self serving and return to the true national struggle. You may gain something for yourself personally today but your children and grand children will pay a terrible price” sounds frightening but whose children and grand children is he referring to.
Obviously we can read between the lines for his message and that message is not new to any of us. However his message that “your children and grand children will pay a terrible price” is not only unfair and frightening but totally uncalled for. Of course he is entitled to his thinking. To me “true national struggle” is for the benefit of the people and not for any political parties. Any political party that can form a government with accountability, transparency, sincerity, fairness, uncorrupt practices, good governance and has the peoples’ welfare at heart is true national struggle, not otherwise.

written by joeyhuang, May 05, 2008 04:50:03
This MAN had with his own "GREED" in the name of National Interest and "Ketuanan Melayu" destroyed the very Foundations that can make MALAYSIA a GREAT COUNTRY in ASIA this 21st Century.
NOW we had Malaysian running all over other countries working as illegal ALIENS, HOOKERS and graduates unable to communicate in any international languages even English!
WORST STILL the so-called RACE awareness (Malay, Chinese, Indians) is worst than the neighbouring countries like Indonesia or Thailand when they called themselves Thais or Indonesians.
YOU carry these sins to your death bed and after death!
written by Countach, May 05, 2008 08:56:38
True national struggle means no corruption on part of a Pm.

Mahathir certainly does not qualify.
written by myke, May 05, 2008 11:11:06
AMUbaidahS

"Your ideas are also not backed by experience unlike Tun Dr M's, so I dare say that I would like to take this idea that the opposition can work with BN in amending laws when needed with a pinch of salt lah - prove first la, then we can talk."

In the history of malaysian parliament sittings, there were oppositions praising and supporting BN government policy but the same cannot be said about BN. Moreover, oppositions do not have policy of toeing the party line but BN has.

written by ctm999, May 05, 2008 12:07:19
I wonder if CheDet is a word play on the word Cerdik or Cetek. I rest my case.
written by TWOG, May 05, 2008 12:43:30
More like cetek. He used to be known as Mahadet.
written by SUV, May 05, 2008 12:56:09
waah..fantastik piece frm cruz...habihlah punde mron chedet....
written by apanama, May 05, 2008 17:58:25
CHEDET
PUNDEK
KOTEK
CETEK
KOREK
CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT