Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow GREEN LUNG HAVOC AND SIR, AFTER FEDERAL HILL, DOES BANGSAR GO TOO?

GREEN LUNG HAVOC AND SIR, AFTER FEDERAL HILL, DOES BANGSAR GO TOO? PDF Print
Sunday, 04 May 2008 10:36

THE only remaining green lung in Bangsar is slotted for development. But not if the residents of Jalan Medang Serai, Bukit Bandaraya, have any say in it.

The Malay Mail 

Residents are up in arms against a proposed high-rise luxury condominium project by Bandar Raya Developments Berhad.

The developer has announced it will be putting up eight blocks of 212 luxury condominium units and multi-level car park.

Of the eight blocks, two blocks will be 28-storeys high and the rest 11 and six storeys.

A City Hall notice on the project had stated that the project would increase the density in the area from 30 people per acre to 175 people per acre —an increase of 500 per cent.

This has caused residents in the Medang Serai area, including those living in townhouses, Tivoli Villa and Bangsar Puteri, to see red as they claimed that the proposed development would not only destroy their only patch of green lung but also cause massive congestion in an already congested area.

“The dust and noise will be a health hazard to the residents and there is no logic in increasing the density by 500 per cent,” said Medang Serai Residents Action Committee pro-tem president Tunku Zurie Tunku Izham.

She said residents were also shocked that the project was being promoted and advertised in a newsletter and on its website although City Hall claimed that it had not issued any development order.

“It smacks of arrogance on the developer’s part to promote the project when no approval has been granted,” said another resident, who had been living in the area for more than 20 years.

However, Gunasegaran Naidu, deputy-director of Monitoring and Enforcement (National Housing Development) in an e-mail to a resident representative, who had lodged a complaint with the Housing and Local Government Ministry, said the brochure did not advertise any sale.

“It was an announcement that BRDB will be launching a con- dominium project in the area.

Neither was it an exercise to register prospective buyers,” s a id Na idu .

The residents had also organised a signature campaign and sent a petition to, among others, the mayor, the director-general of City Hall, the Lembah Pantai member of parliament and the Federal Territories Minister.

Residents had also put forward their concerns at a hearing called by City Hall but to date, the anxious residents have not been told of the outcome.

“We urge the authorities not to approve the project. A massive high-rise project such as the one being proposed is not suitable as the Medang Serai area is made up of mostly low-rise houses and apartments.

“With the current flash floods that we have been experiencing in Kuala Lumpur, we should not be cutting down more trees,” said Tunku Zurie.

Environmental experts have also pointed out that sacrificing forests for high-rise buildings negate efforts to promote tree planting in cities.

Many have pointed out that it is a paradox for City Hall to spend millions on tree planting while at the same time, projects were be- ing approved which destroyed the greenery.

Late last year, Datuk Bandar Datuk Ab Hakim Borhan had stated that City Hall was spending an additional RM5 million on tree planting in the city.

Another RM94 million has been allocated in this year’s budget for the building of recreational parks and green a re a s.

In 1980, City Hall had admitted that there was only 0.2ha of green open space available per 1,000 persons —which, even at that time, was considered insufficient.

“If so, why does City Hall con- tinue to approve projects at the expense of the remaining urban forests?” asked a resident, who said that the pressure from urban living requires the community to seek relief and the urban forests are a fine example of providing a soothing atmosphere.

written by IbnAbdHalim, May 04, 2008 10:57:00
Makkal Sakhti! Rise and fight for our rights!
written by Kcc, May 04, 2008 11:50:29
When i first bought my house, it was surrounded by lush greenery. Two years have passed, now....every single inch of the greenery has been stripped bare in preparation for more residential and commercial projects. As a result of this, it's hotter now.

Trees that take years and years to grow, that provide us shade and comfort are now no more. And I'm not talking about in KL City, it's Melaka... and I believe this is happened everywhere in the name of "development".

At the rate development is going, pretty soon, we don't have anymore trees near us. The Ministry of Environment is not too bothered; planting trees along the road is not sufficient.

Our lungs are turning GREY as a result of breathing dust!
written by uncleleow, May 04, 2008 12:03:09
Ai ya, Robbers are at work again. Anyone know if we can bring them to court? Or at least send protest letter to Fund Manger not to buy their shares in KLSE?
written by donplay, May 04, 2008 13:31:33
Many years ago i the early '90's, when a house owner wished to put up a 5-storey condo in a bungalow area in KL, a well-connected neighbourhood lawyer successfully sued the then KL Mayor for exceeding his authority, to abort the project.

So, if this poject will illegally increase density from 30 to 175, Bangsar residents, especially well-connected ones, should take out an injunction & sue KL City Hall and the Mayor, for exceeding their authority.

Besides, they now have a new PKR rep, DSAI's daughter who can fight on their behalf, where previously they would have had no hope under BN's Sharizat.

Use the law to stop these greedy bastard developers from raping the environment and our precious right to maintain green lungs.

donplaypuks
written by mohdarif, May 04, 2008 16:30:18
How many million dollar luxury housing projects do we need. Is the majority of Malaysians millionaires ? How many commercial centers do we need ? Just take a drive around (amongst others) Kelana Jaya and Ara Damansara. There are thousands of commercial lots collecting dust. Drive along Subang Highway towards Subang airport, just pass the Glenmarie intersection you can see unsold, unrented commercial space unoccupied since completion almost 2 years ago.
Drive along SS7 and you see 90% unsold space developed by Glomac. Sad part is they took almost 50% of the lake.

Now just around the corner along LDP you can see a sign board about a future "prestigious" commercial and residential project, just next to the Kelana D' Puteri apartment. Just can't imagine the horrendous grid lock traffic jam this will cause when completed.
Does MBPJ simply approve land developments ?
Very soon there won't be any more trees left, forget about green lungs.
written by lynn, May 04, 2008 16:47:12
BRDB has to be very bold & aggressive to go ahead with this ambitious project - the existing infrastructure in that vicinity of 1km radius does not support such a massive increase in population. As long as this gov't remains in power, don't expect to see anymore green lungs preserved. They just don't give a damn.
I urge residents around the area who are affected to rise boldly & demand that the greedy developer scale down the project drastically otherwise take KL City Hall & Mayor to court. Sue their f**king pants off!

written by jeya, May 05, 2008 06:13:21
smilies/cool.gif!Hey ! Good People of MT ! I have stated it very clearly { posted on my blog :jeyapalantsmahesan.********.com under Local Government Nioted : Federal Hill }, The Town & Country Planning Act is the Act that can be used . Move it & stopn the project!
smilies/wink.gif
written by macakmy, May 05, 2008 09:43:27
Joke of the month.

Mr Naidu said the brochure did not advertise any sale.
“It was an announcement that BRDB will be launching a condominium project in the area. Neither was it an exercise to register prospective buyers,”

Launch condo project but not selling?? Giving away for free ar...?

Well done city hall. Take away all the green lungs and justify giving RM millions to your cronies to plant trees. The more green lungs you destroy, the more trees you can "justify" and the more $$$$ in your coffer!!!! Very smart mah.
written by islandjoe, May 05, 2008 12:11:57
Parks? What do retards in city hall know about parks? Look what they have done to the Lake Gardens!!

Parks should be big open spaces for the public to use. Don't pave it, don't turn parts of it into a hawker centre, ampitheatre, etc. IT'S A PARK!! We as the public also don't need parks to be commercialised (our taxes should be used for public amenities, parks, etc.). What's the point of getting people to go to the park, spend 5 mins there, then spend 45 mins sitting on their lazy buts in the hawker centre.

Also, a park it not just a collection of trees, so destroying a green lung and replanting a bunch of trees on the side of the road just doesn't cut it.

The government sit there and talk about the youth of this country being misled, lazy, indulging in negative anti-social behaviour. What else are they expected to do?? You take away more and more of what defines Malaysia, and leave behind shopping centres and condos. Does the Ministry of Youth and Sports say to DBKL "stop eroding places for people to exercise"???? NO. The governement instead say, "Lets get the Mat Rempit to join UMNO youth. That will help them". If it wasn't so tragic, it would be funny.....Great solution morons!!
written by Angela Ooi, May 05, 2008 13:23:51
The rakyat should inspect the books of City Hall whenever they do landscaping. This can be one of the best way to make money cos the prices of trees & plants can be anything from $5 to $500 to even $5000 per tree/plant.Notice in some places, road dividers are frequently planted and replanted with new plants replaced ever so often? Of course this happens all over Msia.. it's a racket out there
written by nasilemak, May 05, 2008 14:38:25
People methinks you be too late to stop BRDB!

They hv launched and sold nearly 100% of 1st phase (maybe you can still grab the last unit on 1st flr for RM1.9mil or more if you hurry)

Let's be real folks.

EVERYONE wants to live in a green lung.

If I could afford it, I would want to live in one, and not hv the inconvenience of a thousand strangers sharing it either.

I am sceptical of those trying to preserve the green lungs.

Ask yourself - are you are doing this for yr own good or that of Everyone?

What's the % of residents in area vs outsiders signing the petition?

I asked the BRDB rep marketing one menerung (as being in "Bangsar's last green lung")
"where is the green lung"
..after I had a peep at the site & saw NOT a single tree in the building site.

Replanting!

Why? The "green lung" ie trees/'bushes/shrubs in the ex-green lung were secondary forests. Makes no diff to replant with better, lovelier, hardier plants

Despite what I hv pointed out (as a sour grape), I too believe in the green lung concept.

But realistically, there is a permit for BRDB or else they wouldn't hv started the project or marketed it.

Federal Hills?

I AM SORRY BUT Tan & Tan would rather support you in yr endeavour to keep their own project exclusive and fetching skyhigh prices than hv anyone else take their "King of Condo" title in Federal Hill!

Federal Hills - in the 1st place - should NOT even hv the Tan&Tan project!

Nah..I don't live there (I WISH!) but THAT hill is so beautiful, it's worth supporting to preserve. BUT too late after Tan & Tan got in folks!
written by southallman, May 06, 2008 01:06:00
Lets wear some T-shirts, like I agree with and support RPK, I remember Razak's wife,daughter, family all wearing T-shirts at his trial, let's do it for RPK. Buy a T-shirt, x-amount goes to RPK legal fighting fund
written by macanhitam, May 06, 2008 08:19:29
keep your head up sir! you are icon of freedom in malaysia. Jusice will prevail. Daulat tuanku!
written by Rozlan, May 06, 2008 08:32:43
aiya..the colors of money are more beautiful than the greeneries..
written by Ken Liew, May 06, 2008 08:40:15
The ONLY person who get respect from braking The (so called) LAW.

We respect you. To punish those who oppose evil...... surely another evil's doing.