To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

Spring Bed
Chambers Translation
 Laser Comb Treatment
UK probe into dead tycoon's business practices PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Saturday, 03 May 2008 09:25

His operation allegedly exported cars to Malaysia using forged British papers

By Leslie Lopez, THE STRAITS TIMES

Kingdom were alerted to a luxury auto distribution operation involving Malaysia's auto czar Tan Sri Nasimuddin Amin which was allegedly exporting cars to Malaysia using forged British vehicle-registration documents.

Now lawyers and auto executives wonder whether the probe will be abandoned following Tan Sri Nasimuddin's death in the US yesterday of cancer.

Sources close to the situation told The Straits Times that the investigation is in its initial stages and stems from a business disagreement between Tan Sri Nasimuddin and his one-time British business partner, Mr Nigel Peter Albon.

According to the lawyers and auto executives, the dispute is over funds Tan Sri Nasimuddin allegedly owed Mr Albon.

In the course of the legal wrangling, the mechanics of Tan Sri Nasimuddin's export operations surfaced.

The Malaysian tycoon was a major recipient of so-called Approved Permits (AP), which are essentially licences to import foreign cars into Malaysia. These APs are granted to a select group of government agencies and ethnic Malay businessmen like Tan Sri Nasimuddin.

Foreign auto industry executives have long argued for the scrapping of the controversial AP system citing concerns that the import licensing system is not well supervised, resulting in the loss of millions of ringgit in foregone tax revenues.

Auto industry executives say that in some instances new cars purchased overseas are passed off at the Customs entry point in Malaysia as second-hand vehicles using forged documents which predate the year of manufacture.

'By backdating the year of manufacture, the importer pays less tax to the government,' says a senior car industry executive familiar with the dispute between Tan Sri Nasimuddin and Mr Albon.

Executives from Tan Sri Nasimuddin's Naza Group were not available for immediate comment.

Disputes between Tan Sri Nasimuddin and his business partners are not new.

Last year, he was embroiled in a fight with his Singapore partners over the distribution of Ferrari models in Malaysia.

Businessman Alfred Tan Chor How and his son, Edward, left Malaysia abruptly last year after they fell out with him over disagreements on how to run their car import business.

The elder Mr Tan is the patriarch of Singapore's Hong Seh Group, a marine equipment supplier which diversified into the distribution of luxury cars in the early 1980s.

The company has been the sole agent for the distribution of Ferraris in Singapore since 1982 and added the Maserati and Bentley franchise to its list in the early 1990s.

The Tans struck a partnership with Tan Sri Nasimuddin in 1996 through a joint-venture company called Next Car Sdn Bhd.

Comments (55)Add Comment
written by michael chick, May 03, 2008 09:33:28
Welcome to Malaysia. We no Commit Crime. We no doing Bad Things. We Vely Good. We Vely innocent

Come to Malaysia. Give us all your Money. You call it Invest, We call it "Thank You for your Kopi-O money"

It doesn't matter if the Project fails. That's Business. If you invest in Malaysia, Surely it will Fail... I Mean Succeed !!! *cough cough*
agree 178
Votes: +173
written by KevinWu, May 03, 2008 09:34:14
Dr M: Naza contoh kejayaan DEB
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/82255

Correct, correct, correct. A fine example of how DEB is successful.

agree 135
Votes: +130
written by michael chick, May 03, 2008 09:36:14
Oh, And I forgot to mention, Our newspapers say that nobody Bombed the Mongolian Girl.
She was a freak of an anomaly called Self-Combustion, just like in the X-Files.....

I'm sure you saw that Episode too right?
Votes: +112
written by malsia1206, May 03, 2008 09:37:32
AP, AP and more AP. This get-rich scheme started with the former PM and former Trade Menteri. Now they are both on longer holding the prime posts in the Cabinet, the furore they had created is still reveberating overseas far from Malaysia. The typical kickbacks, forged papers, evasion of customs duties and all the concorted abuses. Syabas to the Malaysian enterpreneurship. Created by the Barisan.
agree 129
Votes: +129
written by colorsinlife, May 03, 2008 09:39:16
I learn from life...

#1 Our sins will always find us out, no matter how much clever we conceal it.....

#2 Never think you can make money out from a rich man .... they are more stingy than you ever thought .... they always think you are trying to get hold of his wallet ..... GOD never gave them the satifaction of having enough (that's is like drinking water, but never quench your thirst ... it is a curse..)

I have no explaination ....
Votes: +69
written by gctham, May 03, 2008 09:41:02
from God we come and from God we shall return.
Votes: +37
written by talkingback79, May 03, 2008 10:00:59
Show me with proof (ok....proof not necessary cos you won't find any, anyway...) that UMNo cronies (from the Mahathir mould) run legitimate biz and i will show you a caterpillar wearing a tie, a donkey singing Dondang Sayang, Mahathir with a halo above his head, and members of the joke of the century 'Malaysian Space Agency' (big joke eh? hahahahahhahahaha) ass holes with a pass (P) in the PMR mathematics exam.

Votes: +64
written by bexe, May 03, 2008 10:07:51
He was touted as the shinning example of how bumi entrepreneurs can succeed. Now we know that not only does he have a preferred position from the AP's issued to him, he bites the hand that feeds him as well by evading import duties. My guess is that this is only the tip of the ice-berg. Other scams could be perpetrated.
Is this what we want to teach our children?
Votes: +85
written by New Frontier, May 03, 2008 10:08:03
Kejayaan DEB- menumbuhkan jutawan segera dari UMNOPUTRA yang tiada sifat keusahawanan tulen. Contoh sebagaimana Halim Saad, Tajudin Ramli yang tidak mampu menahan kegawatan 1998 sepatutnya menjadi iktibar tentang "loophole" dasar tersebut. Ganti dasar ini dengan dasar yang telus. Jadikan EPU sebuah badan bebas dianggotai oleh jawatankuasa pemandu dari pakar yang pelbagai bidang berkaitan, letak dibawah Parlimen supaya bebas dari cengkaman politik.
Votes: +39
written by krising1, May 03, 2008 10:11:41
Karma. All the money and not alive to enjoy it! Karma.
Votes: +78
written by DezMalaysia, May 03, 2008 10:14:01
The government controlled medias painted this Nasimuddin as a modern Malaysian Hero ! DEB groomed, the biggest crony of Baruah Nasional Goverment in 50years Malaysian history...

See how these corrupters & bangsat that scooped rakyat's money & opportunities deserved their payback (death with painful & suffering from illness). He can be bury alongside with that Sultan Zakaria Deros...

BN, die one by one... god is punishing you all !
Votes: +92
written by allmenarebrothers, May 03, 2008 10:14:46
Aaah! This AP biz is a Frankenstein created by Rafidah Aziz for Malaysia. Made her the AP Queen and the other AP Kings very rich at the expense of the Rakyat.
AaaH! It is see no evil, hear no evil and talk no evil in the Corridors of Power of MITI for a very long time
Votes: +61
written by Commonsenses, May 03, 2008 10:18:56
guys, TDM said The late NAZA king is a shining example of the success of NEP, yeah through forgery I think. We also witness the issue of forged AP through the ministry and now also forged document from GREAT BRITAIN. Yeah it was a great success through illegal means!
Votes: +84
written by atsanee, May 03, 2008 10:20:18
Now the Tan Sri with the white burial shroud.
Let the fun begin.
Votes: +23
written by atsanee, May 03, 2008 10:32:33
This guy is dead and his business should be closed down otherwise someone else will step into his shoe and carry on all the bad and illegal practices.
Just look at all the supercars in his showrooms.
How many Malaysians can actually afford to buy one ?
Sounds like an excuse or a front to move money out of the country by big shots.
This guy sure knows every trick in the book how to evade taxes and duties.
And whenever he is caught,or requested to pay up by the IRD,they are directed to drop the demand by Big Boss.
With this sort of deal,how can he fail?

Anyway,welcome back to reality Tan Sri.
Now you are like the rest of us answering to your maker.
Votes: +72
written by Navigator, May 03, 2008 10:36:31
The fact is that it is impossible to find an honest UMNOputra businessman. Not a single one made his money by hard work. People join UMNO to get patronage. Now many of them are jobless and with their high style of living, may be facing bankruptcy courts soon.
Votes: +55
written by uncleleow, May 03, 2008 10:37:47
Here they treat him like king. Honor him Tan Sri. Out side except Korea they called him a crook. Isn't that funny? Mathader sure damn happy now. Maybe his son will take over Naza empire. As least for now no one is fighting to take away his son Prosche Distributionship.
Votes: +54
written by Goostee, May 03, 2008 10:40:24
How nice if we could witness whether he's now in the midst of enjoying his luxury car ride to heaven ? ALLAH itu Maha ADIL.
Votes: +20
written by noyawns, May 03, 2008 10:47:47
Hahaha! Predictably today's NST calls him "A Towering Malaysian" and "one of the finest examples of a New Economic Policy Bumiputera success stories".

I'm sure he is receiving his Award from God right now!
Votes: +51
written by charli88, May 03, 2008 10:58:37
Don't play play. How can you fool God laaaah ? MPs etc etc that have cheated the Rakyat for years, repent in front of your ancesters. Believe it or not, after GE12 tsunami, karma lah, one by one is disappearing into the thin air . May God has mercy and bless this land of abundance.
Votes: +29
written by eeyaw, May 03, 2008 11:26:56
His company is the only one in Malaysia that is allowed to import cars into the showrooms without paying custom duties until the cars are sold.

Tell me how not to get rich!
Votes: +76
written by Everbright, May 03, 2008 11:28:50
It is such a shame that people with low eductaion always think that integrity and morals can be sacrificed as they journey towards the altar of "rich gods". The NEP has been abused and despite his reputation as a brilliant entrepreneur, this story will sullied all his good achievments. Teach our young good values, not corrupted values and practices. Shame! shame!
Votes: +34
written by sampalee, May 03, 2008 11:34:46
Now he only have to answer to Allah.This will be difficult if one is not allowed to lie.
Votes: +22
written by KKchan, May 03, 2008 12:06:45
I supposed TDM felt he had to say something good about the dead. Scrap the AP nonsense but if we must have it, tender it out to all Malaysians. Government, earn some revenue. A receipient gets an AP for free and he sells it for RM30k, the importer declares a false date of manufacture to pay lower tax, Customs accepts declaration, Government (i.i we the People) loses revenue!
written by smeagrooo, May 03, 2008 12:40:18
These British fellas dont know what they are talking about. Tan Sri is our contoh of TOWERING MSIAN la. So many ppl got trampled so that one can rise above the rest.
Votes: +19
written by Mr Smith, May 03, 2008 13:11:15
One has to study the "rags to riches" stories of non-Bumiputra businessmen (eg Lim Goh Tong/ Arumugam Pillai etc)and compare them with the NEP to riches stories of Bumiputras.
Some of them can become millionaires almost overnight, like getting cheap shares at IPOs and then selling them on listing. No capital needed. Shares are placed in banks as collateral. Or getting APs and selling them.
Votes: +32
written by FFT, May 03, 2008 13:16:34
Ah yes, another Towering UMNOputera and a sterling product of Mahathir's corrupt era.
written by apanama, May 03, 2008 13:40:57
mohtar, naza, *****. another one rotting in hell.
the devil is starting to claim his belonings.
Votes: +20
written by apanama, May 03, 2008 13:41:44
mohtar, raja zakaria deros, naza, *****. another one rotting in hell.
the devil is starting to claim his belongings.
Votes: +14
written by power2u, May 03, 2008 14:03:07
And to think that MAHAZALIM said this Naza guy was a shinning example of success of NEP!!!Now we can see why.
And can you people understand why MAHAZALIM hates the west???Bcos they EXPOSE all his dirty deeds n his cronies unlike the Msian AG,jiduciary n polis n media.
written by andywongkch, May 03, 2008 14:08:56
This is open knowledge for average car-buyers in malaysia. We know it, the govt know it and the authority has NOt done a darn thing. This is truly malaysia folks

Auto industry executives say that in some instances new cars purchased overseas are passed off at the Customs entry point in Malaysia as second-hand vehicles using forged documents which predate the year of manufacture.

'By backdating the year of manufacture, the importer pays less tax to the government,' says a senior car industry executive familiar with the dispute between Tan Sri Nasimuddin and Mr Albon.
Votes: +24
written by mikewang, May 03, 2008 14:24:31
I cannot understand why Dr M credited him as an example of NEP success as Dr M had criticised Rafidah before and had demanded for the reason why a CKD Korean car assembled by Naza drew less duties than a Malaysian Proton.

Basically I believe this guy got himself elevated to the ranks of the super rich because of AP and his ability to get himself in the good books of UMNO, especially with the fat lady.
Votes: +37
written by johanssm, May 03, 2008 14:37:02
Another NEP crook bites the dust.
Fine example of the NEP crook created by umno and bn.
The British must NOT stop the investigations, as the crooks normally operates their businesses with other umno crooks.
written by aryn, May 03, 2008 15:04:40
Dr Mahathir, you were saying?

Indeed, contoh NEP yang baik. Spells - crooked!.
Votes: +24
written by temenggong, May 03, 2008 15:38:28
He did a Zakaria Deros number on us!

Damn!!
Votes: +26
written by LACOBRA, May 03, 2008 15:54:23
Is it cursed? All the Tycoon's of the Automobile industry who had it easy died of a miserable life...Remember the ill fated helicopter crash of Yahya?
Votes: +19
written by netmiser88, May 03, 2008 16:04:19
People, people......listen up!!!
It seems its time for our Unscrupulous VIPs to drop dead!!!!
Guess god is fedup with this type of LOWLIFE!!........watch out whoever you are!!!!
Votes: +16
written by AJM, May 03, 2008 19:05:43
Hoi orang semua, to all those people dissing that Naza fellow, SHAME on YOU! SHAME on YOU to talk about someone who can't reply back. What, so you guys are sinless, is it? So sure about going to heaven, is it? Sudahlah, draw the line at those who have met their makers. They are in a different world, show some respect for the dead.

The guy is a goner, get over it! I'm more concerned about those alive, so let's question them first.
disagree 27
Votes: -13
written by LACOBRA, May 03, 2008 21:50:04
Respect the alive or dead only if whoever truly deserves this honor. Robbing the masses is as good as a massacre!

He is lucky to go early then to be living his retirement in jail which we know will never ever happen with the protectism laws practiced here. So keep questioning those alive now and see the outcome, perhaps Altantuya would be pleased to enlighten (haunt) you.
Votes: +10
written by partiotic, May 03, 2008 23:13:25
Those who buy car from Naza Motor do you know that if duty are not paid in full the purchaser will have to bare it.So better go to JPJ check it out lah.
Votes: +7
written by Msian 2, May 04, 2008 05:02:36
Another joker the govt potrayed as a successful corrupter. How stupid can our govt be. One step forward and 3 steps back.
Votes: +11
written by tipletoe, May 04, 2008 09:09:04
Nasimudin is ***** Mahathir example of a successful entrepreneur that took off as a result of the NEP. Well, the wheeling and double dealing, the swindles and the money laundering seems to be the basic characteristics of these successful NEP entrepreneurs. All these vile deeds took place with the active connivance and encouragement of the government. It goes to show beyond any doubt how corrupt and immoral UMNO and its leaders are. He may have escaped the justice of man but the court of God Almighty will try him. The ***** and the overweight AP Queen should also prepare to meet God - that is if they believe in HIM. The Malaysian kangaroo courts will never try these criminals.
Votes: +10
written by Taikohtai, May 04, 2008 09:46:17
Guys, the FAT LADY's about to sing?
I am all ears!
Votes: +1
written by atsanee, May 04, 2008 10:10:50
This is an example of the BAD Malaysian.

Look at the Naza showrooms.

While kids go "Wow" and "I want one" and so on, I can only see the display of supercars as grotesque. A symbol of what only the super rich and well connected can have and what the ordinary people can only envy.

And the ego of the man knows no limits.

Nowhere else in the world does a man sell his imported range of lousy French cars(Peugeot) and assemble a cheapie from Korea(Kia) and sell them bearing his name.
I dont understand how the government can allow cars to bear his name on the number plates either.
But this is Malaysia,so anything can, I suppose.

Understand Peugeot got their balls caught by this egocentric thug because they will not get import license if they do not agree to rebrand their cars to NAZA.

Anyway,serve him right,he chose the wrong brand to bring in.
I have a Pergeot and so much problem and the spare parts and repairs cost a damn fortune.
Worst mistake I ever did to buy a Peugeot.
Abit like owning a sexy French lady having an onset of AIDS.
Votes: +6
written by Palmdoc, May 04, 2008 12:03:11
I Googled for an image of a "Towering Malay" and this was the first pic:

smilies/cool.gif
written by tuankujuki, May 04, 2008 14:45:30
In Malaysia if you got the right and the best connection, anything is possible. But then the man has deceased. Soon there will be another man taking up his place and becoming the pet to the new MITI minister. The cycle will start all over again but this time around it starts in full cycle because the path has been brightly laid out. Malaisia BOLEH BLAH!!!!!!!!!!
Votes: +3
written by bananachinese, May 04, 2008 17:48:48
AJM

Even though orang sudah meninggal, we have the duty to give justice to those victims/victimised living people if the victims have suffered through the doings of the sudah meninggal. If evidences come up the law must pursue its course. Remember Hitler? The world will continue to vilify him even though he's dead because of his unlawful wrong doings that hurt other people. The law is blind, remember? Don't let your emotions cloud your sense of justice.

On another matter, AP Queen seems to have become Diamond Queen:
http://mylivingwall.com/v3/ind...&Itemid=78

Votes: +3
written by temanmu, May 05, 2008 02:41:51
Make a police report in UK so the case won't be closed.

All car buyers should protest for paying inflated car prices!

The Fat Lady Has not sung yet!

Tho she may be strung!
written by Su Dhanoa, May 05, 2008 14:01:14
Pay back time!! One by one all will be called to answer their sins..

Even the dog of a devotee is good, while the mother of the faithless cynic is bad. The dog hears the praises of the Lord's Name, while the other is engaged in sin - just like our so called Towering Malaysian and all the cronies.
Votes: +0
written by medicalman, May 05, 2008 14:10:10
As much as I would like to do some NAZA bashing, I think its unfair for this article to come out now as he is unable to defend himself. As a muslim, I believe whatever we do in this life we will be rewarded/punsihed in the next. God is just.
Votes: -5
written by sydput, May 05, 2008 19:23:57
badawi have no interest defending the many citizens who are at the mercy of the few monopolistic businesses.
written by Countach, May 05, 2008 23:24:31
of course Mahathir said naza is a shining example lah.

got profit sharing?
Votes: +0
written by Countach, May 05, 2008 23:27:52
Towering Corruption is more like it.

A shining example of corruption, another legacy from Mahathir.
written by johntyc, May 06, 2008 05:15:19
He pay less to them, yet they call him 'friend'.
So, I pay less to them, and they tell me to 'jaga baik baik'. smilies/angry.gif
written by inspiron, May 06, 2008 11:55:30
Anyone know where I can find the original post on the internet? I can only find this article about the poor S'porean businessman got conned from the dead prick and Msian gov dirty tactic to protect their own so-called towering malay with ISA.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_162949.html
Votes: +2

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.