Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow A lesson for BN leaders - resign if you fail

A lesson for BN leaders - resign if you fail PDF Print
Thursday, 01 May 2008 16:22

Taking responsibility for a failure has never been a Malaysian culture. Can Malaysia-Today readers recollect one instance when a Malaysian leader resigned on account of a failure in his department or ministry?

I can't, because there isn't one. Nay, they will even blame God but never themselves.

But when there is a success like sending a passenger into space, they take all the credit.

I received this piece from a friend and I want to share this with Malaysia-Today readers. I do hope BN leaders will take a leaf from APJ Abdul Kalam's experience.

Mr Smith
http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/
============================================
'A Leader Should Know How to Manage Failure'

When failure occurred, the leader of the organization owned that failure. When success came, he gave it to his team. The best management lesson I have learned did not come to me from reading a book; it came from that experience.

(Former President of India APJ Abdul Kalam at Wharton India Economic forum , Philadelphia , March 22,2008)

Question: Could you give an example, from your own experience, of how leaders should manage failure?

Kalam: Let me tell you about my experience. In 1973 I became the project director of India 's satellite launch vehicle program, commonly called the SLV-3. Our goal was to put India 's "Rohini" satellite into orbit by 1980. I was given funds and human resources -- but was told clearly that by 1980 we had to launch the satellite into space. Thousands of people worked together in scientific and technical teams towards that goal.
By 1979 -- I think the month was August -- we thought we were ready. As the project director, I went to the control center for the launch. At four minutes before the satellite launch, the computer began to go through the checklist of items that needed to be checked. One minute later, the computer program put the launch on hold; the display showed that some control components were not in order. My experts -- I had four or five of them with me -- told me not to worry; they had done their calculations and there was enough reserve fuel. So I bypassed the computer, switched to manual mode, and launched the rocket. In the first stage, everything worked fine. In the second stage, a problem developed. Instead of the satellite going into orbit, the whole rocket system plunged into the Bay of Bengal . It was a big failure.
That day, the chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization, Prof. Satish Dhawan, had called a press conference. The launch was at 7:00 am, and the press conference -- where journalists from around the world were present -- was at 7:45 am at ISRO's satellite launch range in Sriharikota [in Andhra Pradesh in southern India ]. Prof. Dhawan, the leader of the organization, conducted the press conference himself. He took responsibility for the failure -- he said that the team had worked very hard, but that it needed more technological support. He assured the media that in another year, the team would definitely succeed. Now, I was the project director, and it was my failure, but instead, he took responsibility for the failure as chairman of the organization.
The next year, in July 1980, we tried again to launch the satellite -- and this time we succeeded. The whole nation was jubilant. Again, there was a press conference. Prof. Dhawan called me aside and told me, "You conduct the press conference today."
I learned a very important lesson that day. When failure occurred, the leader of the organization owned that failure. When success came, he gave it to his team. The best management lesson I have learned did not come to me from reading a book; it came from that experience.

written by nk1881, May 01, 2008 16:29:50
Here all want to protect pocket only. No malu one. Sigh!
written by harryo, May 01, 2008 16:35:17
In our country whenver failure occur, tak apa bukan kita punya duit atau nyawa, Kerajaan punya. Thick skinned aren't we?
written by malsia1206, May 01, 2008 16:37:15
No such resignation from my recollection. Datuk Chua Soi Lek did it for his sexual romps and not because he really failed as the Health Menteri (oh well, maybe he never did promte safe sex and use the latex to enhance his sensitivity). But it nevertheless speak some volume of his integrity to hand in his resignation (or maybe he would have been forced out anyway). If we follow the unwritten rules and convention practised in some other countries, there shall be no memebers left in the Malaysian Cabinet.
written by miwaki, May 01, 2008 16:39:50
Here in Malaysia,not only the team is not blamed,they blame the opposition and the rakyat.
written by kamal, May 01, 2008 16:44:33
If the BN government change, more so UMNO does not change its attitude and does not care for the other races, BN is on the road of completely losing grounds, come next elections.

Time for Change is here and if BN and UMNO does not use it, BN will split and it will be the story of the past.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by power2u, May 01, 2008 16:53:44
How can they resign?They have to cling on to position n post in BN to continue gasak rakyat's money.
Whether MP/Minister molest,rasuah,commit crimes,in Msia it is OK if you are in BN...AG,ACA,Polis all will close two eyes.
But if you are opposition,God help you if you dare to expose their crime...you will end up in ISA
written by Motherchell, May 01, 2008 16:55:00
Well here the leaders prefer things to fail so that they could go for the killing .Take for example the decision to purchase submarines . France is not bothered if you're going to use it to defend the Nation or use it as a water tank -- as long as they sell they have employment.

Mindef makes a decision because we have Petronas money . How better way to rob it . well !the rest is history!!!!!!None have the balls to step down because , of the greed for the money making preludes. In Malaysia banks fail like a it was some back-office of a 2 dollar company; yet we see the so called Datuks given fantastic jobs due to the Club mentality. They are all above the law, and you can see them come out to say things like we are a Cosmopolitan nation so we cannot remove the ISA. ------Oh my !----This winter in Malaysia is too long !
written by benjo, May 01, 2008 16:59:08
In Malaysia, Denial first, then find scapegoats and then apologize without meaning it, and then 'why should I resign' attitude and then stay on till i die or retire. Nobody up there knows the meaning of responsibility or accountability - look at Khir Toyo how he jumped and aligned himself with TDM & group, asking AAB to resign, now pointing at Samy Velu - classic example of 'disaccountability'. well we go on naming.an endless list.
written by krising1, May 01, 2008 17:03:33
In the mid-60s, there was a minister known as Rahman Talib who sued one of the Sreenevasam brothers for defamation. He lost. He resigned his cabinet post and was never heard of again. No one had to ask him to resign. It was just the norm in those days when it was thought to be the honourable thing to do.

Then came May 13, 1969. Things changed. UMNOputraism came into being. Ministers lied. They cheated the Rakyat. The did dishonourable things like siphoning off rakyat's mnoney here and there. Hussien Onn was probably the last honourable man in BN politics. Then it was dishonourable starting from the NO 1 man!
written by doggone, May 01, 2008 17:08:05
"I have failed or I am sorry" is haram if spoken by those in power.

We need more time, it was not me, we were sabotaged, threatening other races because of one's failure, blaming component parties for one's failure, batons, tear gas and a sprinkling of chemical laced water, ISA and Ops Lalangs are just some of the many 'manly' options to stifle unrest because of one's shortcomings.

They are so addicted to the 'gravy train' that if you try to drag them off with a horse, you'll still find an arm or their snout still stuck to the locomotive while you get their remaining torso.

written by CM Lam, May 01, 2008 17:17:43
"What failed ? Who failed ? I am still in power and was given mandate to lead..." Some poeple still dreaming..holding his bulu thinking it is a rod !Probably will only quietly step down after gasak all the country's duit.
written by laksa maner, May 01, 2008 17:49:06
That's U and I attitudes.
written by DontPlayGod, May 01, 2008 19:31:07
Here, if any of the Ministers did anything wrong, they will ask the authorities to close one eye, and if that is not enough, then close both eyes.

At the 12th G.E. where UMNO/BN lost a lot of ground, and even its 2/3rd's majority, something unheard of in the past few decades, the head of BN insists on staying put, and did not take any responsibility for this setback. In fact, he even asked, "Why should I resign?"

That is Malaysia-Boleh attitude.
written by cancan, May 01, 2008 19:52:25
Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political game?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Commonsenses, May 01, 2008 21:42:43
hey guys, samy valu says "tadak kepala mana ada badan". So he won't resign as MIC headlah. So for u all out there go suck eggs.
written by shan, May 01, 2008 21:56:21
In BOLEHLAND wwwhhhere got failures? It's only god's will that we fail.,DAI SAMY you still around anh ,.,even after reading this article you don't get out,we would conclude that you must be senile and will even sell your wife and children to sit on the chairman's seat.,.,
written by qwerty, May 01, 2008 22:04:59

Blame Game Malaysian Style

The following excuses had been used, one time or another by our politicians:-

1) Act of God.
2) Opposition.
2) The weather. It's too hot.
3) The weather. Too much rain.
4) Illegal immigrant.
5) Bloggers.
6) Singaporeans.
7) Americans.
smilies/cool.gif Jews.
9) Chinese.
10)Heavy Metal.
11)Wearing sexy clothes.
12)Bersih protesters.
13)Hindraf demonstrators.

and the best excuse of all time....

14) Crooked river.(guess who said this?)
written by beijing, May 01, 2008 23:02:52
Sorry brother, this is MALAYSIA. Nothing is impossible one.
written by mykantree, May 01, 2008 23:55:20
If taking responsibility for failure has not been the Malaysian culture so far, then perhaps it is time that it be so.Malaysian is actually quite sick and tired of irresponsible Malaysian politicians and goverment servants blaming everybody else except themselves for things that go wrong. Very often it makes one wonder why they are there in the first place; if not to take responsibilities for things.

It is high time Malaysian citizens take the necessary actions to change this poor and bad culture.Politicians or goverment officials should be hounded out of office for their failures, especially when they refuse to accept responsibility.Citizens should use all ways and means to voice their discontent, be it via the blogs, letters to the media, letters to the authorities concerned and so on.Lets do it.
written by Arubin, May 02, 2008 00:38:43
Well, it ain't only Malaysia.

Look at President Bush. He failed in Afghanistan and he failed in Iraq. Some might say he even failed the environment and the economy. Looks like he'll serve out his full second term.

If they won't resigh, we'll just have to fire them. Was a good effort last GE. Let's make sure we succeed in the next. smilies/grin.gif
written by Milo, May 02, 2008 00:43:50
Vultures will not resign for it is not their job to lead or be responsible for failure; they are only there to devour!
written by bexe, May 02, 2008 01:08:55
How can we make AAB read this?
written by donplay, May 02, 2008 17:22:13
50 years ingrained culture of corruption will not encourage any BN Leader, Minister, MP or Rep to 'do the honourable thing' since:-

1. No amount (illions/billions) of corrupt money is never enough
2. Fear that the next person might expose the deep culture of corruption

donplaypuks
written by 1eyecls, May 02, 2008 22:26:06
where is malaysia's LOOK EAST POLICY's result?we spent billion of dollars sending some monkeys(99% malays!) there to study,didnt they learn anything from japan?japanese 's cultures are very professional and responsible,whenever they fail,they take full responsibility by resigning and sometimes,committing hara-kiri!i thought samy and paktidur were once tour leaders? smilies/grin.gif
written by 1eyecls, May 02, 2008 22:36:20
that's how we felt,everytime when touching on sensitive issues,the UMNO and MCA or MIC will 'quarrel',end of the day,they will say:we will talk behind closed-doors!
who the hell knows what were they talking?now,MCA and MIC say that they couldnt deliver their promises to their supporters bcos UMNO was the culprit!they are blaming other party,ofcourse UMNO will say:if we give everything you asked,Malays will be angry,waitlah,wait and seelah!
written by michaelT, May 02, 2008 23:55:26
Sad to say that Malaysian Leaders envisage that they are very dispensable. Not only that they proclaim that only the people can vote them out. In the past there are so many scandals like corruption or sexual yet they have the reputation to stay on line. They have no self respect. Leaders in other Asian countries immediately resign out of shame once there is a scandal. Our BN leaders are very thick skin indeed. Somehow that AG will be on their side not to procecute and xclear their name. Most of them have been awarded with title and they also put the royalty to shame. Wait till PR take over then the actual scene will come in. Only PR can discipline the BN leaders.
written by omarkhayyam, May 04, 2008 09:27:42
we had tengku abdul rahman who stepped down after 1969 but since then all greedy power crazy politicians had shown their real worth to us

written by sitiawan, May 04, 2008 20:52:54