Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The Appointment of Judges

The Appointment of Judges PDF Print
Thursday, 01 May 2008 11:45

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has joined the blogging community with this May Day article

http://www.chedet.com/ 

The Prime Minister has announced that judges would be chosen by a Commission specially set up for this purpose.

2. No details have been made public as to the way the Commission would work.

3. Would the Commission actually appoint the judges or would it only recommend the names for the PM to approve or would the Commission recommend directly to the Agong for him to exercise his prerogative? Or would the Agong require the approval of the Rulers Conference? Or would the Conference of Rulers be merely consulted as is done now? Or would they be able to reject the candidate, and ask for new candidates or name new candidates of their choice?

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by FFT, May 01, 2008 11:51:09
Does he stifle cyber voices like he did with real-life voices?

Is there a cyber ISA that he throws "recalcitrant" commenters into?
written by Debbie, May 01, 2008 11:51:51
I have promised myself not to even read anything written by you.

CAn you just retire like a gentleman and keep your trap shut.
Shalom and God willing you may have peace in the other world.
written by POKKU, May 01, 2008 11:58:30
The opposition supporting the amendment for the betterment of the rakyat may look strange to TDM. But please note that the wakil rakyat was choosen by the rakyat to safeguard their interest.

If the proposed ammendment to the constitution is to improve how the country is run, I strongly believe that PR MP will support. GO ahead AAB, make right what had been made wrong by TDM.

The history will show that TDM had corrupted the judiciary and AAB had reinstall the judiciary integrity.

written by Khan, May 01, 2008 12:01:24
Go and flood your comments at his blogsite. I just posted the following comment and I am not sure he will post my comment in his site!

"Dr. Mahathir

What is wrong with working with opposition if that means we bring justice to this nation? In which way, it shows the Government's weakness. Everyone knows about the Government's weakness. Even a kindergarden student can count that ruling party has so much numbers and opposition has so much.

On the contrary, please admit that you were the main cause of destroying the judiciary. Because of you, now I am afraid to go to court even to claim back something that legally belongs to me because the opponent of me knows the right people at the judiciary."

written by FFT, May 01, 2008 12:02:25
If your computer gets infected with a virus from his blog, would he then turn around and say that you self-inflicted the virus?
written by temenggong, May 01, 2008 12:03:52
He hassome valid points:

6. To make the changes legal, the Constitution has to be changed.

7. As everyone knows changes in the Constitution can only be made if two-thirds of the members of Parliament in session agreed with the proposed changes.

My take is that Badawi will not propose such fundamental revisions. This is just BN's game.
written by FFT, May 01, 2008 12:05:08
written by Khan, May 01, 2008 | 12:01:24
Go and flood your comments at his blogsite. I just posted the following comment and I am not sure he will post my comment in his site!

This is posted on his blog:

"Comment moderation has been enabled. All comments must be approved by the blog author."

Unless you join the chorus of "Heil MahaFuhrer!!!!" your comment will most likely self-inflict its own deletion.
written by keris_mudin, May 01, 2008 12:05:58

This is cool - looks like the only way he'll get a good audience and honest to GOD feedback is if YOU post his blog on your site.

It's funny - he can scream and shout and bark and ISA this and that and nothing he can do to control the internet - what a great equalizer.

Anyway MAMAKTHIR - YOU DESTROYED ALL OUR INSTITUTIONS AND TURNED THEM ALL INTO UMNO_PUPPETS! A NEW GENERATION OF BOLD PUBLIC SERVICE ORIENTED LEADERS NEEDS TO TAKE UP THE TORCH AND DESTROY ALL THAT YOU TOUCHED AND REBUILD FROM THE GROUND FLOOR UP. DONT PROMOTE YOUR NAJIB_THUYA PUPPET TO PRMOTE YUR SON! WE CAN SEE THROUGH THAT! Now go away!
written by OrdinaryMan, May 01, 2008 12:22:19
Watch out guys, there's a new virus in cyberspace. It's name is Mahathir.
written by Milo, May 01, 2008 12:33:23
Dear Tun,

Dear Tun,
The independent commission to appoint judges is asked by the rakyat, not just by the opposition. So why would the opposition oppose the change? And why would it be a weakness and not a strength if the the BN can win the support of the opposition for a bill they tabled?
written by Raja Chulan, May 01, 2008 12:33:36
Dear MM

Working with the opposition does not mean showing ruling party's weakness. On the contrary, it demonstrates the maturity of the ruling party. To work with all elected representative of the rakyat irrespective of the political persuasions for the benefit of the rakyat and the nation is more important than party politics.

I am very disappointed that you being an elder stateman of the nation still think along party line rather than putting the interest of all Malaysians first.

Note: I have posted this on Che Det website, let's see if it gets published
written by keris_mudin, May 01, 2008 13:05:41

Dear TDM,

We are very disappointed in you as you no doubt already heard loud and clear but refuse to accept - even your own UMNO_PONDANS don't care f0r you anymore.

Think of it another way - in Singapore they have Senior Minister who is well respected by their Rakyat, in Malaysia we have a Senile Minister judging from all the institutions you destroyed and the theatrics thereafter. There is no salvaging your legacy whatever little that was good about it - its too late and your support of Najib a highly probable accessory to you know what, completely destroyed whatever little goodwill there is left towards you.

You are better off spending whatever time you have left with your grand children etc rather than fight a battle that was long lost because of your stupidity - power comes only from being at the top of UMNO.
written by little dragon, May 01, 2008 13:34:15
his willingness to blog is indeed most refreshing n demonstrates his recognition of d independent media as a new n powerful force to be reckoned wit.

while his readiness to respond to hard questions is yet to b seen, d visible deletion of comments is not a very good sign. i can understand if these contain profanity or lacks d decorum due his stature, it wud certainly smell of censorship if these were only dissenting views.

now dat v r all on level playing ground, our keyboards as weapons, let's c if u can make d cut as a blogger. fire away.
written by FFT, May 01, 2008 15:33:33
Foreign Policy interviews Anwar Ibrahim:

Seven Questions: Anwar Ibrahim
http://www.foreignpolicy.com/s...ry_id=4300

FP: Do you think that Mahathir inadvertently made you a tougher opponent?

AI: Mahathir probably underestimated me. He always believed that people crack under torture or detention. He used to tell me in those days, when we were on friendlier terms, that what he dreaded most was to be detained without knowing when he would be released. So that is what he did to me. He underestimated me. He thought that I would break.

I think the time is ripe for Mahathir to be given a lesson on the Golden Rule.
written by sedan, May 01, 2008 15:46:53
What a dumb twat! Let's see if he allows "free speech" in his blog!
written by sedan, May 01, 2008 15:50:47
I suspect the Perdana "Peace" interns are filling up all fawning comments, the same way another dumb twat called A. Kadir Jasin faked letters to the editors in praise of Mahathir. Same with that ape...now, what's his name, Ahmad Talib or Talip?
written by Sabahfan, May 01, 2008 16:53:44
smilies/angry.gifMAHAFIRAUN MAHAZALIM MAHATAIK smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

ALL the above members of MT has screwed you from all directions... still tak malu....

In fact, even when I am gasping for breath and dying, I will still refuse a PANADOL from this Firaun.... I, a victime of NEP umnoputra policy rather die painfully than even give this firaun any credit for this country... probably the third most corrupt in the world.

Yes, he muzzled the press, he tried to muzzle the cyberspace but failed.
He can muzzle anyone in bolehland when he was in power but he cant muzzelled the rest of the world. GO TO HELL MAHATAIK... Before U die, you will be punished by god in the most vicious way and no tears will ever come from me

TO THE rest of the forummer here, I will go to his site, flood it with mahafiraun virus until he or asssistant freezes his blog site.. give him a taste of his own lousy panadol....
written by Sabahfan, May 01, 2008 17:16:55
yeah, i posted this in his junkyard blog, see if this is deleted by the pharaoh... ho ho ho

DEAR FIRAUN

1. If u cant beat the bloggers join them..

Alll UMNO leaders condemned bloggers and looked down on blogs. Well, after losing election or erections... he he join them right?
No apologies? typical Umno putras.

2. Wasnt it U mahafiraun who destroyed the judiciary and now wanna play hero in cleaning it up?

still denying you listened to the correct correct correct and all their corrupted hencement in appointing mediocre malay judges so long as they kiss your ass?

Still denying that under mahafiraun, all judges appointed are malays and umnoputra suckers?

3. Still denying that when PBS withdrew from BN your umnoputras played a very hurting racial insult to sabahans by saying the KDM presented you KU LI with a Siga with a cross on it??
Denying that are you? then go to hell and get fukkked up.

4. still denying that under you, Sabah started a rotation of CMs each cms holding post for less than 2 years. but onces your corrupted UMNO leaders turn to lead, you cancelled the rotation so your corrupted OSU SUKAM gets the full protection despite gambling 8 million tax money and now you MUSA pushtuni wants to be CM for life? all corrupted umnoputras?

5. Your Operasi Lalang was just to keep you in power not to protect the security of the nation?

Big proof is this Dr Max Ongkili whom you also arrested under ISA.

yet he gets appointed Minister of national unity...

So before uniting the malaysians, how was he a security threat to the nation? Until today no one has given any explanation, even Dr Max himself dont want to talk cos he is maybe afraid to lose his ministerial position...

sheeessss, mahafiraun, if i go on, even the space of cyber space wont be enough...
Maybe you bullshit also too much, we need to creat another cyberspace junk yard to keep all your bulllshit writing...

Sabahan
written by myke, May 01, 2008 17:46:57
Those who comments were mostly apple polisher( not sure if planted by the man himself or shiok sendiri).
1 or two were allowed to question in moderation. But in comparison with the real thing, this site is another BN type self gratifying blog which does not allow unanswerable or embarassing questions to be posted.

Sooner or later public will know if this site is for real, which is which.
written by humanist, May 01, 2008 18:08:46
I am very doubtful if he can keep up. Probably outsourced to someone to write on his behalf.

Blog needs to be personal to be considered having quality.

Al
written by Lim Lim, May 01, 2008 18:20:27
mahathir believes umno/BN must operate in triad manner!what's wrong with coperating with the PR if the issue concerned is about good for the nation n the rakyat??evil n wicked toon.
written by Lim Lim, May 01, 2008 18:22:57
besides,dare him to open up his blog site as a free for all...like others!!
written by cble, May 01, 2008 20:43:02
Kepada Bloggers sekelian. Apa yang menyababkan TDM suka membuat komen dalam akhbar2 adalah disebabkan kita selalunya memberi respon kepadanya. Itu sebabnya beliau selalu saja membuat press statement yang provokatif. Oleh itu jangan layan apa saja yang datang dari Tun. Saya pasti beliau akan rasa resah.
written by Sagaladoola, May 01, 2008 20:49:27
Hahaha, who's next to join the blogging circle? Can someone invite Samy Vellu, Nazri and Rafidah Aziz ?

I can't wait to write comments on their blog.. Yes, can't wait... smilies/grin.gif

written by SBennit, May 01, 2008 22:13:47
He wouldnt even publish an innocent comment from me. This is what i tried :

_______________________________________________________ _________________________

Dear Tun Dr Dada

You started from No 2.

Where is No 1 ??

Yor' da' Man!

Yours truly
Stephen Bennit
Non PhD Scholar
Brisbane 4000
Australia

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by myke, May 01, 2008 22:16:08
Guys, did u'll realise lately there are some lapdogs in MT doing praises for mamak same like what he gets in his blog too. i think it's since mamak started his blog and he wants to make it looks nice for him.

written by Wiracina, May 01, 2008 23:43:49
Tun Dr.Mahatir, the rakyat is already fed up with you and your antics. Why are you pointing fingers when you are the one that started this cancer? You were the bapa of the " 3 Cs ", namely; Corruption, Cronynism and Coercion just to mention a few of your outstanding contributions. Dear fellow Malaysians, we now have a first. A first standard for measurement of the 3 Cs. It is the " MS ", not Malaysian Standard but Mahatir's Shit.Don't blame Pak Lah for UMNO's failure for he merely inherited your shit. Shove your fingers up your u know where and disappear quietly.We don't need you. 22 tahun dah cukup.
written by FFT, May 02, 2008 05:09:57
The comments section in Mahathir's blog is indicative of how it would have been if Stalin had his own blog.

I think somebody is "self-inflicting" all the comments of praise and admiration.
written by Proarte, May 02, 2008 05:24:19
I think it is laudable that Mahathir has taken to the blogshere to engage head on with his admirers and detractors.

I must say I admire chutzpah in facing Stephen Sackur of Hardtalk defending his not so admirable record when he was PM of Malaysia.
written by Counterpointer, May 02, 2008 08:44:37
Just checked his blog and he's got 382 comments posted thus far. Only just about more than a couple comments were just mildly dissenting while the rest are just plain Mahadiehards licking his balls.

He runs his blog like he ran the gomen, just allow a few dissenting views to show that there are some people who disagree with him while the majority absolutely adores him.

His car-toondog tricks sure can't fool me.