Wives of BN officials caught up in scandal PDF Print
Wednesday, 30 April 2008 10:52

They took title deeds and funds from welfare group after election loss

The murky goings-on at Balkis, which are being replicated in other states such as Penang and Perak which also fell to the opposition in the elections, have since turned into a major scandal over the alleged abuse of public funds by organisations associated with the BN.

By Leslie Lopez, THE STRAITS TIMES

BY THE BOOK: Datin Seri Zahrah holding a two-page statement which says that the transfer of funds out of the Balkis accounts was done in line with the organisation's Constitution. -- PHOTO: THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK

SOON after winning the Selangor state legislature last month, the opposition Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) ordered that the state administration buildings and the offices of key state agencies be sealed and nothing be removed.

But they overlooked the premises of a state-funded welfare organisation, Balkis, operated by the wives of the Barisan Nasional (BN) politicians who lost in last month's general election.

Two days after the March 8 polls, key Balkis officials arrived at its office in the Selangor capital of Shah Alam and carted away documents and title deeds of properties it owned.

Another RM9.9 million (S$4 million) in cash deposits were transferred out of the organisation's bank accounts by Balkis officials led by Datin Seri Zahrah Kecik, the wife of former Selangor chief minister Khir Toyo.

The murky goings-on at Balkis, which are being replicated in other states such as Penang and Perak which also fell to the opposition in the elections, have since turned into a major scandal over the alleged abuse of public funds by organisations associated with the BN.

'The whole situation is very disturbing, and there is certainly the possibility of criminal breach of trust in the entire affair,' said Bar Council vice-president Ragunath Kesavan.

The following account is based on interviews with key Selangor state government officials and documents made available to The Straits Times.

Balkis was set up in May 1985 as a non-political welfare organisation which opened its membership to the wives of the elected representatives of the state.

It was primarily a BN vehicle, although its charter did not discriminate between government and opposition elected representatives.

But opposition politicians saw Balkis as one of many similar groupings that made up a nationwide political patronage network built on public funds to finance the political activities of the ruling coalition led by Umno.

Balkis, as the main welfare organisation in Selangor, received strong financial support.

According to state government documents, Balkis was awarded a choice piece of property from the Selangor State Development Corp at a concessionary price of RM250,000 in 2000.

The documents also showed that between early 2006 and September last year, Balkis received donations amounting to RM600,000 from the Selangor State Development Corp to finance various activities, including its annual dinner, the opening ceremony of its administrative office and political activities of the wives of elected representatives.

The welfare organisation often turned to other state agencies to fund other activities, including overseas trips for its key office bearers, state government officials say.

The halcyon days enjoyed by Balkis came to an abrupt halt in the late hours of March 8, when Selangor, together with four other states, fell into the control of Malaysia's opposition headed by former deputy premier Anwar Ibrahim.

As the Balkis charter stipulated that the organisation must be headed by the wife of the sitting chief minister, Datin Seri Zahrah faced the immediate prospect of having to relinquish her position as head of the organisation in favour of the wife of the incoming chief minister from the PKR-led opposition.

To sidestep any handover, Datin Seri Zahrah and her committee members comprising the wives of other BN candidates moved to dissolve Balkis.

According to state government officials, Datin Seri Zahrah and her colleagues turned up at the Balkis administrative office on March 10 and told employees that they intended to alter the welfare organisation's charter to avoid relinquishing control.

They carted away documents, including title deeds and bank statements, officials say.

A day later, the Balkis committee led by Datin Seri Zahrah held an emergency meeting to dissolve the organisation and withdrew RM9.9 million in cash deposits held by the organisation.

They planned to establish a new organisation that would limit membership to wives of BN leaders.

In the interim, Datin Seri Zahrah and her colleagues sought refuge with Bakti, a welfare organisation headed by the wife of the Prime Minister and senior Cabinet ministers.

According to the minutes of a Bakti meeting obtained by The Straits Times, Balkis and another BN-sponsored welfare society from Penang, called Bunga Tanjung, approached the national-level organisation to help them to 'receive and manage their funds for their welfare activities in the interim period'.

Bunga Tanjung transferred RM350,000 to Bakti, while Balkis placed RM9.9 million for safekeeping, the minutes showed.

The Bakti minutes showed that Datuk Heliliah Yusof, its legal adviser who is also a judge in Malaysia's Court of Appeal, endorsed the plan.

In the meantime, the PKR-led Selangor state government has asked the National Registration Department to reject the dissolution of Balkis and is demanding that the transferred funds be returned to the organisation.

But Balkis and its former patron, Datuk Seri Khir, maintained that they did nothing wrong, and that all actions by the committee led by his wife were legal.

'Don't talk rubbish and refer to our lawyer,' the former chief minister told reporters this week.

Comments (69)Add Comment
written by colorsinlife, April 30, 2008 10:57:13
Corruption kills the spirit and body
You can never get away.
You can escape the law of man, BUT not the law of GOD

Your life from corruption have a bad smelling aura ... it stinks
it can be smelt and felt from a distance....

You thought you have the last laugh, you just did not realise the rotteness that iw grwoing from within like Cancer .... death awiats you...
agree 170
written by LKO, April 30, 2008 10:59:06
I can only believe that the wifes learnt from their husbands. And these has been going on for years.
agree 170
written by colorsinlife, April 30, 2008 11:01:39
the most cynical smile i ever seen.

the smile stinks like BERAK KUCING !!!!

Husbands corrupted, wives corrupted,
Son corrupted, Son in law corrupted,
anyhting that is new?

BUDAYA KORUPSI BUDAYA BARISAN NASIONAL ?

DEATH TO CORRUPTION !
agree 175
written by alienz, April 30, 2008 11:05:38
Ketuanan Melayu mentality
written by kc respect, April 30, 2008 11:06:52
There will be another milions, if not billions, that is going to vanish before PR takes over completely. Meanwhile, who do we call NOW??? The police??? The ACA?? Answe : Nobody. where is JUSTICE???
written by Mark C, April 30, 2008 11:08:58
they are so poor until they needed welfare.
written by jammary88, April 30, 2008 11:09:03
Her cheek is just like her hubby. More money needed for botox and tempe.
written by KUMON, April 30, 2008 11:11:49
We are slowly but surely unearthing the vast BN cancer.

All these cahrity is a veil so that these wives can also suck the rakyat's money in the pretext of being charitable. Nothing else! While their spouses plunder the coffers in 'bigger' projects, these wives must also have some pocket money ma.

It makes them look good doing charity. That's what they think..anyway.

The more we dig, the more nails are hammered into the BN coffin...

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by KUMON, April 30, 2008 11:16:29
kc respect, looks like we have to call 'GHOST BUSTERS' Lets spook them no end! No point making them feel guilty, they are already hardcore corrupters.
written by gctham, April 30, 2008 11:20:56
take aside the legality of the transfer if fund and the application for resolution of BALKIS, leave this to the court. Just look at the unjustifiable spending as highlighted in the article above and more so by Citizen Nades in the Sun paper. If ABB and gang still want to preach accountability, if they really want to win back our votes, just act on this. The evidence of corrupt practice is all there. What ACA has been doing. Go to Nades he will the guy most willing to assist.

At the end of the day ABB and gangs is digging their own political grave. Do blame any body but you.
written by future, April 30, 2008 11:21:01
I heard nothing from the ACA and AG office or perhaps
the stinks never reached their corridors yet.Since the
money had been transfered to Bakti the PM and his wife should
also clear the air.
PM,jangan buat bodoh......
written by aiyomanaboleh, April 30, 2008 11:24:27
I cannot attribute any functional reason other that they transferred out the funds for their own selfish well being.

written by IbnAbdHalim, April 30, 2008 11:34:31
To colorsinlife,

You can escape the law of man, BUT not the law of GOD
...But UMNO does not believe that. Mahathir once said that there's no Hereafter.
written by smeagrooo, April 30, 2008 11:36:20
i cud hv forgotten who said this (maybe TDM) "spouses, pls cek on ur other half if they started to live an extravagant lifestyle beyond their means: It could most liekly be that they are involved in some sort of corrupted activities. Well guess what? How could the wives chide thier hubbies not when they themselves are equally corrupted.

written by chanatak, April 30, 2008 11:37:07
Bapak itu perompak, betinanya pun perompak Anak pun jadi perompak. Satu keluarga. Satu Darah. Satu Budaya.
written by ibabonma, April 30, 2008 11:39:29
'Don't talk rubbish and refer to our lawyer,' the former chief minister (Toyol)told reporters this week.

Datuk Heliliah Yusof, a judge in Malaysia's Court of Appeal. Is she your legal adviser and lawyer?
written by shamadz72, April 30, 2008 11:41:29
The Bakti minutes showed that Datuk Heliliah Yusof, its legal adviser who is also a judge in Malaysia's Court of Appeal, endorsed the plan.

----

Now you know why we must be very careful with the plan to introduce a commission to fill up the CJ post. Coz we never know whether the person which is going to be selected "with the advice of PM" is someone who is not bias.
written by macakmy, April 30, 2008 11:45:17
"The Bakti minutes showed that Datuk Heliliah Yusof, its legal adviser who is also a judge in Malaysia's Court of Appeal, endorsed the plan."

With judges like this clown, no wonder BN dares to defy all and do as they please. Even if they are taken to court, can we be sure of a just ruling. Can VK Lingam please assure us....
written by 1351, April 30, 2008 11:46:34
Each passing day, first time/marginal voters would come to realise their decision to deny BN was the right decision.

This Balkis incident is a clear cut case of CBT, and UMNO being UMNO, made out of 'HANTU'S', not surprisingly the influence rubs off to the spouse's. In Penang Gerakan wives with their Pertubuhan Seri Tanjung(PBT) at least gave it away as a means to close the books - tip my hats off to the wives of Gerakan dogs.

All in we can conclude - the witches are worse than the bitches. Gerakan wives' are in the clear BUT not Mrs. Toyol and her band of merry witches.

What next Mr.AG, Mr. IGP ?

Regards all
written by Juliejustinng, April 30, 2008 11:47:34
Imagine under the BN rule, we the rakyat have been in the dark and do not know what is really happening . Now slowly ,all these scandal is slowly surfacing after the opposition rules! What a shame! Good work PR, pls keep up yr good work!
written by ibabonma, April 30, 2008 11:51:43
Bakti ....a conspirator within the definition of Sec 107 (Persubahatan)Kanun Keseksaan. Police report please.
written by ibabonma, April 30, 2008 11:52:57
P.S. Tengok muka-muka lanun!
written by tmf, April 30, 2008 12:01:40
Despite our utmost disgust, the consolation for us is that if the Selangor state assembly is desolved today and a fresh election is called tommorrow, PR is sure to win all the seats by just campaigning on this single issue alone.

In fact, as Bakti is also implicated by receiving the fund, all conscionable BN MPs, cant justify in staying put and they must immediately align with PR or at least get out of BN and stay independent. Not responding to this shameful episode will definitely destroy any future hope for all those BN component parties, not that we care that much about their imminent downfall, considering the extent of crimes committed by them.

written by Nick Chong, April 30, 2008 12:03:18
To Selangor MB, pls do what you can to purnish the cuprit, dont give them chances to fight back. purnish them hard so other will follow. This is sickerning story to read. The man are taking Rakyat money and the wife .................. I think the MACA must come in fast to stop all this.
written by temenggong, April 30, 2008 12:06:19
All these politicians devious wifes needs to be screwed real good! smilies/grin.gif
written by oster, April 30, 2008 12:08:49
Everytime BN tries to weaken the state governments with the excuse that they might be abused, they've saying

"I know you Selangor/Perak/Penang/Kedah/Kelantan people ELECTED PR governments, but I think your judgments are WRONG, because I know the PR will misuse this money."

They're slowly signing away all these 5 states for more PR terms.

written by 1351, April 30, 2008 12:09:23
Rascals all 'em witches, all hiding beneath the 'tudung' in accordance with their modus operandi that uses Islam as a shield for their misdeeds. Down right unpalatable in my books when they potray themselves as next to godly.

Each passing day, the wives' come out with irrational excuses to justify their criminal action. What is the ROS doing ? As it is, BALKIS has already run foul of the law when the auditor came out to say the books were not audited year end !

Me, taking money from petty cash from my own company accounts, have to keep proper records but these UMNO scums and their wives are truly a special breed having no regards as to what constitutes right from wrong action.

PM Dollah - it is about time you rein in all these impropriety. All this little criminal acts put together have cause you to lose the majority. It's payback time Dollah Badawi and don't spare the rod - let 'em hantu's rot in jail.

written by FFT, April 30, 2008 12:15:22
All these bitches need to be prosecuted and then sent to be strung up the gallows to ensure that they have no more opportunity to breed and add to the population of thieving mongrels.
written by Jan, April 30, 2008 12:25:28
FFT said ....prosecuted and then sent to be strung up the gallows.
-----------------
If only this country was run by people like you we wouldn't have so many crooks running around.
written by Bosan, April 30, 2008 12:28:39
Daylight robbery. 'Tamak' 'Tamak' 'Tamak'............
written by peace lover, April 30, 2008 12:32:03
Made a laughing stock of themselves to all!! Wonder if they are brainless or with pea brain.
written by teo siew chin, April 30, 2008 12:32:16
FFT said ....prosecuted and then sent to be strung up the gallows.
-----------------
If only this country was run by people like you we wouldn't have so many crooks running around.
-----------------------------------

Dear Jan - you can say that again! and at the rate FFT is going, 99% of the cabinet and some could be left hanging in due time
written by yy88, April 30, 2008 12:56:25
Day in,DAY out, they heard from their husbands about corruptions. Eventually, monkeys see, monkeys do, they became experts in the Science of Blatant Corruption. Though most wives were under the tutelage of their husbands, except for our DPM Najis, who find his wife who had a PHD in Blatant Corruption does a better job. Datuk2 and Datin2 are all couples in crime.
written by Jan, April 30, 2008 13:09:40
This particular lady looks so innocent and sweet. Would be a pity to string her up the gallows. Better to string her botox husband.
written by JFR, April 30, 2008 13:22:49
They form all these so-called charitable organizations and go to companies and clinics,produce an "invitation" card (with the name of some 'Datuk'on it) to some facade of a function said to benefit poor orphans and try to extort money from these companies.In all probability,the so-called donations are not willing ones at all,more of 'squeezing' from their 'lembu's.
written by cheekhiaw, April 30, 2008 13:37:49
BY THE BOOK: Datin Seri Zahrah holding a two-page statement which says that the transfer of funds out of the Balkis accounts was done in line with the organisation's Constitution

---

Caught trying to steal by the book?

written by cheekhiaw, April 30, 2008 13:38:45
BY THE BOOK: Datin Seri Zahrah holding a two-page statement which says that the transfer of funds out of the Balkis accounts was done in line with the organisation's Constitution

---

Caught trying to steal by the book written by thieves?

written by Daryl, April 30, 2008 13:39:40
Not sure to laugh or cry anymore. So sad that we have so many greedy politicians and also STUPID at the same time. What make them think they are invisible and can get away with robbery. Oh never we are still in BN control.

DSAI please save us from this corrupt people and let this madness come to a permanent end.
written by panca, April 30, 2008 13:44:07
Perhaps a thorough investigation should be called including into the personal wealth of these VVIPs, most likely there will be oil-wells. Just have to come down hard on these goons, running those govt. agencies like their family's inherited wealth.
written by Rozlan, April 30, 2008 13:52:57
Even their womenfolk joined in with the money mismagements>> smilies/sad.gif
written by Raja Gasper, April 30, 2008 14:10:47
Does it means that if Anwar Pakatan Rakyat takes over the BN adminstration,then
BN will withdraw all the money and leaves Malaysia in dire state of affairs.

Will they say it BN money and not Pakatan Money ? Maybe these things will about
to happen soon and better watchout Pakatan Rakyat in waiting for take over.
written by delCapo, April 30, 2008 14:29:57
I think RM9.9 Million is just what can be found...
Over the years... how many millions went missing in the form of inflated commisions and fees whenever they hold events in the name of charity???

PUI!!!!
written by atanck, April 30, 2008 14:55:30
is this Helilah the one mentioned in the infamous lingam tape?
written by Msian 2, April 30, 2008 15:05:24
Looks like even the wives are BODOH's & ACCOMPLICES of corruptions. These guys have live lives of little emperors for too long. The UNTOUCHABLES. Also, how come so much money when the purpose of the organisation is suppose to help the less fortunate or involved in social work. Seems compassion in this Baktis organisation is simply 'self help' first & pittances to gain some air time for propaganda.
written by joeawk, April 30, 2008 15:21:27
Don't know if they went to Istanbul, Turkey. Heard that in Istanbul, the young men are handsome and has got big dick and are available on the cheap.
written by Su Dhanoa, April 30, 2008 15:25:14
The world is a room filled with black soot; the blind will fall into its trap.
This body shall perish, save it if you can. Even those who have tens of thousands and millions must depart bare-footed in the end.
It is so difficult to obtain this human body; it does not just come over and over again. It is like the ripe fruit on the tree; when it falls to the ground, it cannot be reattached to the branch.
The boat is old and it has thousands of holes. Those who are light get across, while those who carry the weight of their sins on the heads are drowned.
Do not be so proud of your bones wrapped up in the skin; Eventually you'd be burried under the ground.
Do not be so proud of your tall mansions, for today or tomorrow you shall lie beneath the ground and the grass shall grow above you.
Do not be so proud and do not laugh at the poor for your boad is still out at sea. Who knows what will happen.
Do not be so proud, looking at your beautiful body; Today or tomorrow you will have to leave it behind like the snake shedding its skin.
If you must rob and plunder, then plunder then plunder the plunder of the Lord’s Name; Otherwise in the world hereafter, you will regret and repent when the breath of the life leaves your body.
Let me remind you of this; Do not be skeptical or cynical.
Those pleasure which you enjoyed so much in the past – now you must eat their fruits (when god calls upon you).
The Faithless cynic is like a piece of garlic; Even if you eat it (duit haram) sitting in a corner, it become obvious to everyone!!

Quotes from: Kabeer
written by chaiksyn, April 30, 2008 16:26:48
Husband pencuri; wife pun pencuri! Inilah corporate culture BN!
written by Nurani Itrah, April 30, 2008 16:51:14
I feel very sad and pity thinking of their children.
They survive on duit haram, while having corrupted, money-stealing, rotten parents. Whom can they turn to seek guidance, moral advices, and who will be their role model??

Their children are doomed to lead a life of sins only because their parents had failed to put moral and ethics before lusts.

Look what happened to the descendants of one particular ulama from Penang (you know who). Unfortunately, the father is corrupted, hence, the daughter who is a big supporter of Sister in Islam. She is rewarded with such a conniving, manipulative, opportunist husband. I bet their great grandfather, if he is stil alive, he will be very disappointed.

May God protect us from them and their descendants.

written by asguard, April 30, 2008 16:55:22
They must be held responsible over these mess ...the wives of barang naik...
written by mypanida, April 30, 2008 17:05:11
tak usah pakai tudung bila jadi maling, pakai topeng kan lagi baik ?????
written by rockli, April 30, 2008 21:32:27
Looks like the better halfs are actually Bitter halfs.
Like husband like wife
written by medicalman, April 30, 2008 21:55:45
SHAMELESS!!!
written by cancan, April 30, 2008 22:10:23
Crooks will always have crooked ideas.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by omarkhayyam, April 30, 2008 22:28:06
if need to lie ..... might as well take off scarve and lie ..... dun shame the religion after shaming the race

written by Lipanbara, April 30, 2008 23:34:41
At least now we know that our tax money has been put in good use...Thank you so much Mr Khir Toyo.
written by Awaken64, May 01, 2008 01:02:30
PHD - PHAIL HASRAT DENGKI.. ma

bertaubat sebelum jadi bahan bakar di neraka nun.
written by joeyhuang, May 01, 2008 02:43:24
The very thoughts and ACTIONS of these 2 so called WELFARE service oriented organizations reflects the MENTALITY of their GREED. Another Senior Judge shows her TRUE color and rots. God Saves Malaysia
written by shan, May 01, 2008 03:05:24
Its no sin to export these wives to europe and middle east as prostitutes to earn the money so as to pay back the Rakyat and Donors.,I can solicit clients for stupid wife of toyol..Sufiah can also help to train them the finer are of being a super sharp blade,.,.
written by temanmu, May 01, 2008 03:43:10
Like husband, like wife ... two peas in a pot!

Tak malu, Singapore newspaper reporting this!

Internasional "kemaluan" !!!

written by roadbarra, May 01, 2008 05:41:37
Yeah real shame. Now the whole world's looking at this big news. Rich and powerful get richer and richer. It's a pity these people don't know their limits and when to stop their greed. BN should be dismantled and flushed down the toilet bowls forever.
written by Catharsis, May 01, 2008 07:41:12
Khir Toyo said...........'Don't talk rubbish and refer to our lawyer,' the former chief minister told reporters this week..................................

MAY THIS BE AN ACADEMIC CASE- BAR COUNCIL OVER TO YOU (STOP BEING A "TALK SHOP" ORGANISATION AND START DEFENDING THE RULE OF LAW IN THE COUNTRY)
written by Vasily, May 01, 2008 14:43:15
written by joeawk, April 30, 2008 | 15:21:27

Don't know if they went to Istanbul, Turkey. Heard that in Istanbul, the young men are handsome and has got big dick and are available on the cheap.

hei joewk, for sure they went...you know aaa...Hussainy Hussein the ****ing setiausaha kerja UMNO used to be Milatary attache in Turkey back to 90's....that why his wife Untie Faridah will introduced all this bitches to this Turkish blokes...tight ass beb!!
written by LACOBRA, May 01, 2008 16:44:50
Speaking of Balkis! Wonder about our SOCSO money. I am sure there would be a lot of discrepancies to be uncovered. Who is going to ensure our SOCSO money is used for the correct reasons. Once a contributor remains a contributor for life. So there are a lot of money there and multiplies with contributors who have climbed the ladder.
written by The Hammer, May 01, 2008 21:52:52
Ha, a Malaysian Robin Hood and Mariam in reverse, steal from the poor and feed the rich. (especially those filled with Botox (from their buttocks) in their head.) Ex CM and wife a Bonnie and Clyde in the making!
written by watchdogg, May 02, 2008 03:58:32
HUH...
They really have SHIT all over their family!
From husband to wife, if investigate further more, son and daugther also involve.
But for our PM, it event more further down until 'son-in-law' and also 'daugther-in-laws uncle' involve in this SHIT.

Hei BN people,
Remember one thing, Malaysia is a country not company of SDN. BHD. you know??? which you give everything to your family members..!!!

damn disappointed with you guys!
written by khongja, May 02, 2008 09:29:19
what to do ? The whole dammed rot started 22 years ago by one super PM.He condoned this wrongs to keep his patronage.Its already cancerous and this umnoputeras and wives are spoilt rotten.
written by allmenarebrothers, May 02, 2008 10:47:16
At least in America which is a very big country they have only one theiving and robbing couple, ie Bonnie & Clyde. In Malaysia we have many similar couples, ie Toyo & Zaharah Kechik, Koh Tsu Koon & Chui Kah Peng, Abd Rashid Abdullah Abdullah & Rabaayah Md Naim etc etc.
We are the World Champions
written by Vivarium, May 02, 2008 19:06:51
Charity starts at home, but when a charity is managed by a thief and a thief's wife, corruption will start at the bedroom !!!