The true JIHAD PDF Print
Tuesday, 29 April 2008 16:15

IKIM must stress that jihad is your personal war. It is a war against your own heart. It is a war to resist all forms of temptation. It is a war to evict ego, lust, greed, envy, jealousy, vanity and all forms of diseases of the heart. It is a war very few win.

NO HOLD BARRED

This is what IKIM wrote in The Star today in its article called Peace or war, it is our choice:

Jihad with its multitude of branches has very strict rules, especially when it relates to confrontation with an enemy.

ONE cannot find words strong enough to condemn the Sept 11, 2001 tragedy. It is not human if one does not share the pain and suffering that the affected families are going through and will endure for a long, long time to come.

Those who choose to define this violent act as jihad or “holy war” need to know that Islam is such a structured and comprehensive guidance that even the procedure to attend to the call of nature is explicitly taught to us by the Messenger of Allah. If one follows those rules while going to the bathroom, it becomes an act of worship.

Islam had nothing to do with this action (Sept 11), even if, after a thorough investigation, those that perpetrated it turned out to have Muslim names or had come from Muslim lands.

Islam does not permit violence. Unfortunately many ignorant Muslims and non-Muslims are not fully aware of this fact, or choose not to acknowledge it.

Jihad with its multitude of branches has very strict rules, especially when it relates to confrontation with an enemy. Indiscriminate killing or harming of women, children, old men, people who take refuge in their houses, animals and even plants, especially those of economic value, is forbidden at all cost.

War is permitted in Islam, just as it is permitted in many other religions, provided it is a pure act of defending the religion, life and state.

(READ MORE HERE: http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/6803/84/ )

While I am very careful about disputing or debating the opinions of religious scholars (because many view me as a ‘deviant’ Muslim not worthy of commenting on matters related to Islam), I cannot allow the above piece to pass without some form of ‘engagement’.

If you were to carefully note the gist of the article, it is apparent that the term ‘jihad’ has been taken only in the context of war, in particular a holy war in defence of Islam. No doubt IKIM has taken pains to mention that war is allowed by Islam, a necessary evil of sorts, but it must be waged only in defence of one’s life, limb, property and religion and not as an act of aggression. This can be interpreted as war is not only allowed, but becomes necessary, when one is the victim.

There is nothing Islamic about this at all. Whether one is a Muslim or not, this same concept would apply. You have a right to defend your property and your territory, your life and that of your family, your country and the freedom of your nation, your religion plus the freedom to practice your religion, and so on. Oppression and persecution must be opposed and it is the duty of mankind, Muslims not excluded, to come to the aid of others, even if they are not Muslims, who suffer oppression and persecution. This means, if a Muslim nation is acting unjustly towards non-Muslims, then Muslims must oppose their Muslim ‘brothers’ in defence of the oppressed non-Muslims.

Opposition to oppression and persecution must cut across religious lines. The oppressors must be opposed at all costs. It does not matter who is the oppressor and who is the oppressed. Muslims must fight the oppressing Muslims even if those oppressed are not of the Islamic faith. This is something the IKIM article did not mention.

Most importantly though, what the IKIM article did not mention is that jihad has nothing to do with war. There are many renowned Muslim scholars who disagree that jihad means war. Others would argue that there are two forms of jihad, one being war. Then, of course, there are those who equate jihad to war. Which of the three schools of thought is correct is up to one’s interpretation of Islam. The jury is still out on which is the correct interpretation. And rest assured that there are many interpretations of Islam and everyone believes that his or her interpretation is correct while the others are all wrong.

This not only holds true for Islam. All religions suffer from this and that is why we have many sects in most religions. And the different sects of the same religion would solve their differences by going to war and by killing each other. And, until today, the wars are still going on and millions die just because they have interpreted their holy book differently.

Anyway, the jihad that I am talking about -- which many scholars view as the correct interpretation and which IKIM did not elaborate -- is the ‘war’ against oneself. “Get thee behind me Satan,” some would say. The three ‘religions of the book’ believe that when Satan was evicted from Heaven, he made a  ‘deal’ with God that he would mislead mankind to prove that humans, who are made from clay, are weak compared to Satan, who is made from fire. God agreed and challenged Satan to do his worst.

Since that day on, Satan has been attempting to inflict mankind with the ‘disease’ of greed, lust, vanity, jealousy, and much more. And this is the greatest penyakit (sickness) facing mankind. And God wants mankind to fight all forms of temptation that lurk in our heart.

Bearing arms in defence of God, King and Country is easy. Defending your life, family and property is also not that difficult when push comes to shove. But fighting against oneself is the true test of the pudding. We all have egos. We all feel lust. We all suffer from greed. Everyone is vain to a certain extent. And who does not get jealous? In some countries, crimes of passion are not a crime since it is very difficult to fight emotions, in particular jealousy.

So the greatest jihad is the war against your own heart. Some say that this is the only ‘war’ while others says that this is the greater jihad and armed conflict the smaller jihad. Nevertheless, this is the most difficult jihad and many lose this war, miserably.

Just look at what is going on in Malaysia. Just look at all those mosque-going, church-going and temple-going Malaysians. Many ‘religious’ people are the most corrupt. Rape, murder, corruption, abuse of power, oppression, persecution, etc., are committed by not only those who profess a religion but also by those who practice their religion to a fault (in particular leaders in government cum heads of religion). But some of these people are the worst people on the face of this earth. And the perfect gentleman appears to be those atheists and agnostics who are good because they are good at heart and not because they want to go to Heaven -- in fact they do not even believe that there is a Heaven and Hell.

IKIM must stress that jihad is your personal war. It is a war against your own heart. It is a war to resist all forms of temptation. It is a war to evict ego, lust, greed, envy, jealousy, vanity and all forms of diseases of the heart. It is a war very few win. It is a war that even the most religious Muslim, Christian, Jew, Hindu, Buddhist, etc. fall victim to in the battle against Satan.

The new de facto Minister of Law has many enemies, especially in Umno. His critics call him a drunk and an apostate (at least they don’t call him a womeniser, as what most Umno people are). But then I too have been accused by Umno people of the same ‘crime’; so it is no surprise. When Malays want to discredit you, they use these arguments against you. But Zaid is more Islamic than most Malays. At least Zaid opposes ‘un-Islamic’ laws, which most Malays support and defend as necessary.

Syeds are supposed to be descendants of the Prophet -- at least this is what Malays believe. But Syed Hamid Albar says that the ISA shall stay while the ‘drunkard apostate’ Minister is opposed to it. Who is more Islamic? Who is the better follower of Islamic teachings? Give me a ‘dunk apostate’ over the ‘Prophet’s descendant’ anytime. They are certainly better people.

This was what The Sun reported yesterday:

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim says he finds the Internal Security Act (ISA), which has been regarded as draconian by the Opposition and the legal fraternity, unacceptable.

"I am against any unjust and harsh law, and ISA and OSA (Official Secrets Act) are unacceptable to me," the de facto law minister said of his stand on the two Acts during an interview with Nanyang Siang Pau.

"In fact, I have stated my stand (on these laws) in my books," he said.

Comments (101)Add Comment
written by mountainking, April 29, 2008 16:24:51
i am no expert in islamic teachings neither can intepret jihad. what i know is one thing, love others more than yourself. we should strive for this as we are no angels. don't you think when one holds on this "love your neighbors more than yourself" principle will no longer need jihad? when you love, you don't really need to fight anymore.

back to reality, if the BN MPs have not tortured the rakyat, then there won't be "jihad" on BN MPs.
written by mykantree, April 29, 2008 16:26:48
"I am against any unjust and harsh law, and ISA and OSA (Official Secrets Act) are unacceptable to me," the de facto law minister said of his stand on the two Acts" So said Datuk Zaid Ibrahim.

Now that you are the de facto law minister, let us see what you are going to do about its existence.Pray not that it is just a good sounding and populist political statement, as so often we hear.
written by Milo, April 29, 2008 16:30:44
YB RPK is spot on! Issues like justice should cut across racial lines. This sort of Jihad, we believe...and not surprisingly, this concept is already found in many religions other than Islam.
written by sjeevan, April 29, 2008 16:33:46
It is of no use RPK if you chose to define Jihad in the way religious scholars believe them. The differences are minimal and symbolic. But the true misconception of Jihad amongst the Moslem masses all over the world is the most pressing issue that need to be tackled urgently. Moslems all over the world believe that Jihad is uprising against the infidels by use of force. There is no way this misconception can be corrected overnight, for this extremist view had been imparted by fanatical religious scholars/teachers for many generations.
written by cillipepper, April 29, 2008 16:44:39
Dear Pet,

Syed Hamid who decided to retain ISA might be a descendant of Abu Lahab, the enemy of Islam number Wahid in his time.

Otherwise he should live up to the quality of the Ahli Ba'it and the Prophet pbuh who loved his ummah so much so that his(pbuh) last utterence on his(pbuh) deathbead was "ummati, ummati, ummati".My ummah, my ummah, my ummah.

ISA is dzalim. Dzalim yakni, meletakkan sesuatu tidak kena pada tempatnya.

I hope I have answered you.
written by RitchieLow, April 29, 2008 16:44:50
The golden Rule, relevant eons ago, still relevant and true to spirit now. "Do unto others as you would them do unto you" or "Do not do unto others what you would not they do unto you". Can someone quote the malay, chinese, indian, kadasan, bajau, dusun and what have you version ?

This is the mother of all rules. One RULE to rule them all.
written by megahyper, April 29, 2008 17:00:52
In fact, Zaid is more suited to be a pakatan rakyat minister!

Remember, He was even dropped from BN line up of MP candidate.

Only when tsunami came, they have to romp him in....to save some face.

YB Zaid, pakatan rakyat is a better bet for the vision.
written by malsia1206, April 29, 2008 17:01:38
All world religions have their tenets and teachings. Essentially they are all based on basic universal human decent values. When politics and religious extremism go beyond these values, the confrontational differences arise to complicate the issues. Surprisingly, what men perceive as evil and good can be so much different between daylight and darkness. Therein lies the problem.
written by slash n burn, April 29, 2008 17:01:48
Finally, this is the most eye opening and sensible article. For a long time the government controlled media publishing frightening articles from religious scholars in the subject of kafir, munafik, haram, jihad, war, syurga neraka, murtad,Islam, nasrani, yahudi etc., Its like reading fiction horror book.

Bravo RPK.
written by TWOG, April 29, 2008 17:05:32
Opposition to oppression and persecution must cut across religious lines. The oppressors must be opposed at all costs. It does not matter who is the oppressor and who is the oppressed. Muslims must fight the oppressing Muslims even if those oppressed are not of the Islamic faith. This is something the IKIM article did not mention.

Malaysia is a Muslim majority country, yet the oppression of non-Muslims have been going on for so long. The NEP in its current form is discriminatory and oppressive, yet there is no jihad to get rid of it. The ISA is highly oppresive, yet the Muslim government officials and officers are using it, instead of abolishing it.
written by grant, April 29, 2008 17:13:43
Dear Alan Cheong,
Kindly elongate the revelations as well as the book of genesis in lay man terms per your understanding? Thanks.

written by grant, April 29, 2008 17:17:21
Dear Alan,
Also kindly elaborate what you hv stated down from the bible per ur understanding... Many might not understand them.
written by picadilly, April 29, 2008 17:20:01
I thought YMRPK was too busy for the past few days as no article seemed to be coming out and here is a fresh one from latest news.

its beautiful when RPK mentiones all religions and also all people when he says,
It is a war very few win. It is a war that even the most religious Muslim, Christian, Jew, Hindu, Buddhist, etc. fall victim to in the battle against Satan.

I can Parallel gandhi who surmised the Mahabarath war as an internal war that rages on in our daily life and not some holy war that happened in a far away country.

Another scholar put it as a game between the evil forces within us and the good playing football, sometimes the bad side scores a goal,another day its our good side which scores a hatrick. This war/game is a personal battle for everyone.

Now coming to Zaid, I think UMNO would have been embarrased already for appointing him as a senator, but this guy has to be worthy for he has alreayd left his legal firm to be a cabinet minister. You can see he stands on principles rather than toeing the line policies..

Lets have him coming- nazri can fly kites
written by Baronshah, April 29, 2008 17:21:57
YM RPK thank you for a wonderful and thought provoking article which many Muslims should read.

regards
written by 98PercentPrimate, April 29, 2008 17:24:33
I understand your point of Jihad as 'war within oneself' as it is the central core in many other religions.

However we must understand the root causes of prevailing violence from the muslim community and human nature.

Followers in any religion comprised of all kinds of human beings from the most evil to the most angelic.
There will be a % which need not be taught what Jihad is really about as they are spiritually inclined by nature. There will be a % which need guidance as to what Jihad is really about.

There will be one lot of thick skull hardcores who can never ever understand what true spiritual Jihad is about. Jihad as 'war within oneself' is alien and just incomprehensible to them. Unfortunately it is this group of muslims who are the ones who create the most violence by interpretating certain verses to satiate their own violent tendencies. Non-muslims who do not understand the psychology of this deviant lot will blame islam.

On the other hand, no one can blame Buddhism per_se if buddhist monks create violence (nb. recent Tibetian riots) as there are no verses in Buddhist texts that the buddhist monks can used to justify their violence. btw, i am not a buddhist.

Thus while IKIM should emphasize the spiritual element of Jihad as 'war within oneself', they must understand the reality behind the actual violence that is going on within the muslim community. One site had listed 11,000 violent acts committed by muslim terrorists since 911.
written by frankcode, April 29, 2008 17:25:54
RPK it has amazes me why some of the most religious Muslim countries has very rampant corruption till I decide to do some fact finding myself. What I eventually discovered as one of the 'possible' reason is as flws: In the mindset of some religious Muslim, it is no doubt a sin to ask for money or bribe but if someone else offers them money or bribe then it can be interpreted as 'Rezeki' .And we all know that many succumb to the saying that " Rezeki Jangan Di Tolak ". Perhaps some Malay readers could offer more insight if this finding has any bearing at all...
written by seek justice, April 29, 2008 17:27:14
It is articles like this that would make the `un-initiated' Muslims a.k.a most Malays in Malaysia up and leave to be a mujahidin i.e. to fight in a war, literally.

There is no war in Malaysia, has never been one since the Japs left so long ago. So, does that mean that Muslim Malaysians have not had the chance to serve a jihad?

So ngonggg!! IKIM is probably practicing the government's infamous `selective information dissemination' style BUT, it is not helping, at least not in this case.

RPK is very right about jihad i.e. fighting the holy war against oneself to be a worthy human being and God's servant. We know UMNO fails miserably at this. The only war they are fighting is how to make more money and be more powerful and richer than the other person.

I think one of these days I will really migrate to a non-Muslim country where I can practice my religion freely and not feeling bad all the time for `subahat' living in this Muslim country of ours. Only God knows all! Wallahu'alam.
written by zul4kulim, April 29, 2008 17:32:57
Jihad is an abused word with a lot of misinterpretations as well as misunderstood. As rightly said by RPK it is apparent that the term ‘jihad’ has been taken only in the context of war, in particular a holy war in defence of Islam and IKIM brains are still bawah tempurung!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...n-uae.html
written by cwy, April 29, 2008 17:37:05
Let's just concentrate on Religion.
I totally agree with RPK that Jihad, in its true sense is to fight and overcome one's evil ( whether it is Satanic or not ).
I have seen many religious leaders in various religions are just HYPOCRITES!
written by marcusg, April 29, 2008 17:38:53
Dear RPK, in another world or alternate universe, I think you could be a great Muslim scholar! smilies/grin.gif

Very thought-provoking piece...
written by pkrgom, April 29, 2008 17:39:33
Also stanindg up to tyrants, dictators and evil leaders is the best Jihad.
written by nafis, April 29, 2008 17:40:03
how true....

it's the jihad with oneself the most difficult to do, how to keep oneself with all the mahmudah intact and not to slink into mazmumah

written by temenggong, April 29, 2008 17:56:23
If this is IKIM's views, then muslims are in trouble, having such mediocre thinkers. Matriculation lah, thats why!

In the old camel days, tribes were traveling merchant clans, who sometimes had to defend themselves from bandits. There was no police station you see. Nor an army. Every tribal clan chief was a chieftain - that is, chief plus captain.

Today, security has been outsourced to the armed forces, and the police. No citizen can bear arms nor wage war, not take matters into his own hands. All injustices are settled in the courts.

So all this physical jihad is inapplicable. War or violence is not permitted by anyone! Do try it though for a free stay in Sg. Buloh or Kamunting. But don't forget your camel and the good book.
written by kingelvis, April 29, 2008 18:10:27
Agree with my man Pete. The middle road is the safe road smilies/wink.gif
written by humanist, April 29, 2008 18:10:27
Raja Petra,

Side tracked a bit..from Jihad.

You were being labeled "deviant", haha, you are a victim of "Character Impeachment" by the scholars, obviously.

Actually, many scholars (not all) ,in my opinion, do not have any decent mind to debate the meaning rationally . Many of them based off what they read from various sources of text book, trying to force it down people's throat. Those that disagree are labeled "deviant". They do not tolerate dissenting voice.

Many do not put effort to debate the actual meaning, but they impeached the opponent's credibility to even start a debate.

One example that, being a non-Muslim, I read Quran before,the translated English version, of course . As usual, when I said to a few Muslim friends about certain verses and its meaning, they asked me , where did I learned my source of knowledge in Quran ? "The English version I got from Internet ?" I said , The response was, "You do not even understand Arab, you do not even understand the language, how can you understand any pure form of meaning from Quran ?" pooooooosh... I was kicked out of window in no time, I did not even get to put forward any point of arguement. You see the analogy ...

But later, I crossed checked many versions with the verses and meaning, it was never that far off each other, in fact, the meaning were as pure as it intended to be even in translated version from different sources.

That is the difference between science and religion .You can do physics in German,English,Chinese, Japanese,, you will still arrive at the same solution at the end of the day, religion, is not.

Once a devout Buddhist told me I have no way of fully understand the scriptures in Buddhism, because original text comes in sanskrit. See, sounded familiar ?

The trouble is, many religion follower/clergyman tends to idolize its prophet to be someone with superhuman like perfection. Many kept saying ,we human, are never worthy to be like him .The fact is, if it is forever so far up. Let it be, maybe is never meant for normal human like you and me anyway !!!

Opinion, just like an a*****, everybody has one.

Al.
written by TURTLEMAN, April 29, 2008 18:11:37
in my humble opinion, ISLAM is a good religion but the scenario had changed when some of its followers do a lot of bad things.Islam cant be changed since its already perfect by itself but the mind of people which need to be changed that ( all humans are brothers without conditions)remember human emerge first followed by religion.
written by humanist, April 29, 2008 18:19:57
Read this..
http://www.kuna.net.kw/NewsAge...nguage=en

Half of Islamic countries impoverished -- KCCI Chairman

KUWAIT, April 28 (KUNA) -- Although Islamic countries have a lot of resources, half of them are considered impoverished, Kuwait Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI) Chairman Ali Al-Ghanim said Monday.
Speaking at the Meeting of Chairmen and Presidents of Islamic Chamber of Commerce with Business Leaders, held under the auspices of the Islamic Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ICCI), Al-Ghanim said that the number of Muslims was over 1.3 billion, 22 percent of the world's population.
Islamic countries have about 60 percent of the world's oil reserves and and contribute more than 40 percent of the world's exports, he added.
However, the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of those countries accounted for only five percent of the wrold's total GDP, he pointed out.
Al-Ghanim said that Muslim countries faced many challenges that could not be faced by governments alone, but required cooperation and the unity of efforts.
The WEIF will be inaugurated Tuesday by His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah. (end) asa.amf.ris KUNA 281314 Apr 08NNNN

written by freedom to speak, April 29, 2008 18:22:29
In the name of religion, atrocities are committed.
Religion was never the cause of it per se.
The "people" who read it, misunderstood and manipulated it to their advantage.
In the name of religion the "people" are herded like animals for it's cause.
In the end we are all lambs for the slaughter house.
written by glock17, April 29, 2008 18:27:42
Dear friends....

I am not the right person to talked about this topic but I need to share my views about today world conflicts.

War is cruel and inhumane. Yes, if you are facing hollywood type cruel and inhumane monster from hell or outer space, you will need to fight back and protect your love one till the last drop of your blood.

But in today reality, war must be avoided at all cost. Once it is started, it will definately spiral out of control where untold horror of human miseries will consumed all humanity that is known to men since he beagan to walk on this earth.

Self sacrifice (i mean not kamikaze actions) and forgiveness may sounds sissy and cowardly...but this is the only known remedies to prevent or reduce human massive un-ending sufferings.

Peace, love, compassion and humanity is indeed the last bastion of the human race once all hell breaks loose.

God Have Mercy On Us.

Glock17
written by panca, April 29, 2008 18:35:26
Pete, well narrated!

Send the Goons back to school, get them some moral teaching, injected into their expensive brains.
written by sampalee, April 29, 2008 18:39:32
RPK,your opening sentences say it ALL.If you triumph in the Jihad of your heart,physical war will just be IMPOSSIBLE to manifest.Every man's action have its root in our heart[mind] and it is there all thought of war must be dissolved and overcome with Jihad.RPK,a true mukmin.The majority of our muslim are only muslim by name.Their view is so divergent from the holy scriptures and tend to be political in nature.
written by Negarakuku, April 29, 2008 18:46:53

In my honest opinion, violence is totally wrong in the first place.

War is Wrong!!!!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

Make love more ...lol...
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by panca, April 29, 2008 18:53:42
Once a devout Buddhist told me I have no way of fully understand the scriptures in Buddhism, because original text comes in sanskrit. See, sounded familiar ?

If that was the case, then I can stand by what I have to say, he is not only dumb, he is blind! Buddhism is one that spread across asia in many of its languages and practise according to one's own mother tongues, though there may exist a certain depth in meaning from ancient sanskrit but still fathomable and expressible in other languages. Because it is a scripture meant to be understood and not act holy with obeisance and blind faith but with true grasp of its meaning. There is nothing mythical and it is plain philosophical and the transforming from ordinary state of mind to a wisdom mind. A mind of compassion and wisdom.
written by Motherchell, April 29, 2008 18:55:28
Pete, its comforting to hear you again, im always forced to think of your wonderful upbringing--- even as i listened to your RTM Blog interview-- i could feel the halo of perserverance to see justice to mankind.God bless you and your future generations always.
Some of your lines reverberate such truths, that we dont see our selves as we see the lateral inversions , first thing in the mornings. The start of a new day , a new life in a living being.

"""""But some of these people are the worst people on the face of this earth. And the perfect gentleman appears to be those atheists and agnostics who are good because they are good at heart and not because they want to go to Heaven -- in fact they do not even believe that there is a Heaven and Hell.

The guilty cannot hide , because they are still made of the same flesh and blood God made us of . Its the vaulting greed that will make them fall from grace very soon. Definetly their lives are not the same day to day. their heart beats and pumps more then their arteries can take. !!!!!!!!! Hope all can see who their leaders are , and where they are destined to!!!!!!!!!!!!
I have to admire Zaid for being a rough diamond. Not many are made of his class.
Hishamuddin wants to sacrifice for the sake of the party . No one will sacrifice oneself when we are on the death bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! To late a hero.
written by mikewang, April 29, 2008 20:20:54
Please include too, the freedom to change one's mind about one's faith ! smilies/smiley.gif

ie. Everyone should have an exclusive RIGHT TO HIS OWN MIND.
written by Mike lawood, April 29, 2008 20:39:13
grant,

What you know about JIHAD???
Why you complaint so much???
Are you one of them??? MCA or MIC??? Which one???
Maybe another BN goons.
written by hamid, April 29, 2008 20:57:10
Jihad with its multitude of branches has very strict rules, especially when it relates to confrontation with an enemy.

ENEMY Where in Quran stated that war is the confrontation with an enemy??? Quran strictly stated that every war is the confrontation with an nonbelievers(KAFIR).

The writer of the above quote is HYPOCRITE !! smilies/angry.gif
written by looish, April 29, 2008 21:01:02
RPK, your interpretation of JIHAD is exactly what the Buddha taught 2500 years ago. The battle to control one's 'heart(it read MIND here) is the biggest battle won. Once you have control, you are your own master and incapable of doing harm to others and oneself. So, I beleive that is what JIHAD is suppose to mean.
written by mrgoh, April 29, 2008 21:03:51
I do agree with 80% of what you say RPK but the 20% I heavily disagree!

I think you are suffering from the same problem of over generalization or over-simplification. You say that religious people are bad while atheistic non-believers are good. Show me some evidence, studies, statistics or research that backs this argument. There is no LINK at all from religiousness to behavior, religiousness to attitude, religiousness to moral, religiousness to etc etc etc. Just because one is religious does not means one is good and just because one is not religious does not mean one is bad - this you agree. BUT just because one is atheistic does not mean one is good either and religous does not mean one is bad either. I hear arguments like I rather take this than that any day many times - just to make a point but it is hiding the fact that the argument is with no evidence. You cannot MAKE this kind of claim at all. Because you are going to be very wrong just like your enemies you try to discredit.

The more accurate argument is that good people are good and bad people are bad PERIOD. And religious inclination be it a devout Islam or not IS NOT A FACTOR in whether one is good or bad.

I am a buddhist and I learn the teachings stepwise as I age wiser. But I think about what I believe in and if the arguments in the teachings contradicts my logic then I will take it with a small grain of salt. I am a buddhist but I believe that once I am dead there is a larger possibility that there is not going to be a rebirth like buddhist believe but just nothingness. Note that I said LARGE POSSIBILITY. I do not discredit the teachings I just have an intellectual speculation of what might happen. I am a buddhist with a brain and mind and that whats sets me apart from those josstick shakers but believed indignantly that by praying your problems all dissappears. Not that I am criticising anyone who shakes jossticks but only those who believe in the religion with no intellectual consciousness be it them Islam, Buddhist, Christian, etc. Those with no intellectual consciousness are just that - plain stupid.
written by teo siew chin, April 29, 2008 21:04:05
I am very moved by this article.
In a world full of aggression and harshness
It is not easy to let our hearts rule.
The 7 deadly sins have ruled man for far too long
To forsake, probably have to be a saint.
Or be dead.
written by ultra, April 29, 2008 21:08:51
I feel there is another angle that needs to be explored to this argument about jihad. Can man be trusted to do the correct things? If man acts on his own free will, will he, on all occasions, do things that will benefit humanity or will benefit himself? If jihad is a personal 'war', would one do the correct things only when he is compelled to do it, or when he is free to determine what is best to be done?

I believe in an age where the fear of God and the hereafter was still fashionable, a person can be trusted to do things to benefit the community. After all, when God created humanity, he created them to be the 'Khalifah' or administrator of this world, and he laid down the rules and guidance. Unfortunately, over time, mankind forgotten the basics, and without capital punishment meted in front of their own two eyes, they became arrogant and ultimately greedy. Therefore rules were made by mankind to mete out punishmnets for transgressions in this world. Unfortunately, man made rules does not have the capacity to last and are bound to have loopholes. Therefore, in this day and age, there is a need to go back to basics, and that is as 'Administrators' in this world, we are to do things to benefit the community instead of oneself...
written by micon02, April 29, 2008 21:11:41
Like I said in my previous post, most of us, Umno putras, Malay Muslims non-Muslims are ignorance of Islam. This notorious image is mainly due to the ignorance and misunderstanding of the media and public. A word which is often heard and associated with the acts of certain individuals, claiming to act in the name of Islam.

Jihad has a great significance in the lives of Muslims (Submitters in English). Like any language, Arabic has unique words which have a particular meaning which cannot be translated precisely. The best translation known for such a word is the following: a sincere and noticeable effort (for good); an all true and unselfish striving for spiritual good.
Jihad as presented in the Quran and any of the other scriptures implies the striving of spiritual good. This Jihad particularly involves change in one's self and mentality. It may concern the sacrifice of material property, social class and even emotional comfort solely for the salvation and worship of God ALONE. As a result, one who practises Jihad will gain tremendously in the Hereafter*.

"The Hereafter is far better for you than this first (life.)"(93:4)
"Say, "O my people, do your best, and so will I. You will surely find out who the ultimate victors are." Certainly, the wicked will never succeed."(6:135).

The Jihad involves noticeable effort for righteousness. This means that the effort concentrated in the Jihad is a step in the true and ultimate path of Islam (submission); the effort imposed on one's self. Thus Jihad is solely individual, self-centered and self-interested. This effort is only the doing of good for salvation and pardon of God. The Quran points this out in the following verse:

"The day will come when every soul will serve as its own advocate, and every soul will be paid fully for whatever it had done, without the least injustice." (16:111).
" The day will come when each soul will find all the good works it had done brought forth. As for the evil works, it will wish that they were far, far removed. GOD alerts you that you shall reverence Him alone. GOD is Compassionate towards the people. " (3:30).

In respect to the above Quranic verses, God tells the believers that all acts will reflect the soul of their authors. Examples of this Jihad would be to exceed in the sincere act of good deeds (to frequent the mosques that worship God alone more often; to study the scripture in detail, to help the poor and the orphans, to stand for people's right for freedom, be equitable, never bear witness false testimony, frequent and stay in good terms with friends and neighbors, etc.) and the restraining of the doing of sins (to commit adultery, to steel, to lie, to cheat, to insult people, to gossip, etc.)

Wallahu 'alam
written by kupas, April 29, 2008 21:18:35
According to Syed Hamid, even the Americans have similar version of ISA. This justify why ISA in Malaysia should not be abolished.

Poor thing! After all these years as Foreign Minister I thought he would be sane enough not to ape the Americans despite them being the police of the world.

As for Zaid Ibrahim - he had made all his monies by virtue of his political links to UMNO, all these years. His fees are also exhorbitant.

Those having dealt with this firm will vouch that his tactics are also not something all of us want to emulate.

Both Syed Hamid and Zaid Ibrahim are from the same kuali.

written by Huador, April 29, 2008 21:24:10
IKIM must stress that jihad is your personal war. It is a war against your own heart. It is a war to resist all forms of temptation. It is a war to evict ego, lust, greed, envy, jealousy, vanity and all forms of diseases of the heart. It is a war very few win. It is a war that even the most religious Muslim, Christian, Jew, Hindu, Buddhist, etc. fall victim to in the battle against Satan"

I fully agreed with RPk statement that The war against their own heart is suppose to be the business of all religious people. I know one living man that won the battle and still alive today. He fought the battle in his heart for 16 years until desire etc etc..no longer exist in his heart. He no longer have any feeling like lust anger greed. You can pull his next and kill him but he will surely never angry at you.( If you do that the bottom of the hell is your destiny after this life.) That is why people donated more than 11 tons of gold to him and many billion charity for him. He use non of those money but only living in a simple hut and eat single meal everyday. Visit him at www.luangta.com if you interested to know more of this living buddha.
written by SUV, April 29, 2008 21:24:43
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHFFJYuSB1k
written by teo siew chin, April 29, 2008 21:50:10
SUV - your link is very touching.
Too bad it dont work for terrorists.
What exactly do work to calm down a terrorist?
written by Spear Bing, April 29, 2008 23:55:14
Mrgoh wrote,

"Those with no intellectual consciousness are just that - plain stupid."

Being a Buddhist, you sounded a bit vain by these remarks. Surely you could have chosen better descriptive words to express your level of your' intellectual consciousness'

No offence intended, but your diction, one can gauge where you are coming from.

written by castrol, April 30, 2008 00:24:24
I am not a Muslim, so I cannot really tell what jihad is all about although I was to believe it is fighting for a religious cause. And whether that cause is justified or not, that I do not know.

However, it is in my opinion that whatever jihad is, or even however one interpret it, the fundamental consideration must be given to the basic rule that all mankind must adhere to.

Regardless of one’s faith, the rule that supersedes all religion is the act of DECENCY. Why? It is because the human brain, unlike animals, works on logic. Is it right to kill? Is incest acceptable? Can I go to heaven if I steal? If you ladies and gentlemen answers yes, then you better be walking on four legs!

And to quote RPK, “And the perfect gentleman appears to be those atheists and agnostics who are good because they are good at heart and not because they want to go to Heaven -- in fact they do not even believe that there is a Heaven and Hell.”

If that is the case then, and I do believe it is, then, I have come to a conclusion that religion and defending a religion has became so obsessive that to act decently as a human has taken a back seat. If only these people were only passionate about religion instead of obsessive. But then again, obsession stems from passions!
written by pillars, April 30, 2008 00:29:31
Many ‘religious’ people are the most corrupt. Rape, murder, corruption, abuse of power, oppression, persecution, etc., are committed by not only those who profess a religion but also by those who practice their religion to a fault (in particular leaders in government cum heads of religion).

I completely agree with RPK regarding above. I think the source of human probs are because of above. Jihad is just one of it (done by those who practice their religion to a fault). THe 'religous' people use 'jihad' as an excuse only. The main reason for war / jihad are just purely for arm business.

written by R020998, April 30, 2008 00:46:12
Let me just quote Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) again.. "Isn't he a human?"
written by Nice n Simple, April 30, 2008 00:53:53
It's All a State of The Mind; a top-of-mind Recall, a Posititioning, a Brand. And it all depends on where and how you were brought up.

When you say: JIHAD
Globalians say: BIN LADEN
Malaysians say: HISHAMMUDDIN

When you say: MUSLIM
Globalians say: TERRORIST
Malaysians say: MELAYU

When you say: ISLAM
Globalians say: TERRORISTS' EDUCATION SYSTEM
Malaysians say: PAS

When you say: BUDDHIST
Globalians say: FREE TIBET
Malaysians say: CINA

When you say: HINDU
Globalians say: OLDEST RELIGION
Malaysians say: HINDRAF

When you say: CHRISTIAN
Globalians say: THE POPE
Malaysians say: DONT USE ALLAH

When you say: ECONOMY
Globalians say: THE BUBBLE IS GOING TO BURST
Malaysians say: MAKAN DUIT LAGI

When you say: SCIENCE
Globalians say: DISCOVERY CHANNEL
Malaysians say: HE'S CHEF ISMAIL'S 'GOOD FRIEND'

When you say: MONEY
Globalians say: WORLD BANK
Malaysians say: YOU PAY FIRST, MY SALARY NOT OUT YET LAH..

When you say: EDUCATION
Globalians say: UNICEF
Malaysians say: MUST SEND MY CHILDREN OVERSEAS

When you say: HEALTHCARE
Globalians say: WORLD HEALH ORGANIZATION
Malaysians say: TIGER CHUA

When you say: DISASTER (OR TSUNAMI)
Globalians say: RED CROSS
Malaysians say: UMNO

When you say: USA
Globalians say: GEORGE BUSH
Malaysians say: ER.. JESSICA ALBA?

When you say: ENGLAND
Globalians say: THE QUEEN
Malaysians say: MAN U

When you say: CHINA
Globalians say: SLEEPING DRAGON, OLYMPICS, TIBET
Malaysians say: BALIK LAH NEGERI CINA

When you say: MALAYSIA
Globalians say: WHO??
Malaysians say: BOLEH!

Like RPK said, 'Botol' got meaning, 'Hidup', just like 'Boleh!' - what meaning does it really hold for Malaysians? Especially since the REAL BOLEH! like NICOLE DAVID receive nothing close to significant from Malaysians.

And the list goes on. Sadly, it's not really a joke. When will Malaysians (if ever) look wider, look deeper, look further?
written by AsamLaksa, April 30, 2008 00:56:19
Good article. Thumbs up.

However I would like to remind everyone that the gist of this article is not new. It's been spoken by every faith. Even the ancient Egyptians believed the dead's heart is weighed after death, not the hearts of those they killed or the weight of those they ruled over. It's even preached by people who profess no faith. Sports teach you the same message. Heck, even works of fiction carry the same message from cheesy late 70s kung-fu flicks to contemporary stuff like the latest mangas.

Why is this message of a personal battle is the most important not taken up by many? That is the real question and if you can find it and fix it, then you can make loads giving management courses all over the world. Instead we have people who can't even sort themselves out trying to sort others out. We have people who believes a ticket to heaven can be bought with the lives of their enemies. Wow.
written by Motherchell, April 30, 2008 01:00:09
""'...........are committed by not only those who profess a religion but also by those who practice their religion to a fault (in particular leaders in government cum heads of religion). But some of these people are the worst people on the face of this earth..........""""""

To add , wonder if there is any holiness in breeding assassination squads!!! While Albar is talking about justice and security --- are they there to protect individual strengths to stay in power , or rent out these scoundrels for hit jobs for syndicates on dry days .

Can we imagine how one gets up to see God -- and does the opposite daily. Jihad on its own beings ????? Ones who can proudly shout out that they have killed their own beings in numbers !!!!!!!!!!
written by RitchieLow, April 30, 2008 03:13:26
Dear cillipepper,

All I got from abang ****** was
"None of you [truly] believes until he wishes for his brother what he wishes for himself." [Number 13 of Imam "Al-Nawawi's Forty Hadiths."]

But of course brother here refers to a muslim brethren, not just anybody. So maybe Islam has 1/2 a Golden Rule.
written by hafidzmalik, April 30, 2008 04:36:20
Hi RPK,
I still believe that what IKIM wrote is true. And YES, Jihad as mention by you and some of the commenter is not strict to war. Most arabic word have to be carefully translated. I'm not an Ustaz but maybe some of my question and answer below could help to solve some mystery for some of you.

Allah selected Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) a normal human being born from Arab tribe. He can't even read and write. He lived in a time where buried a baby girl alive was normal by the Quraish tribe. If this tribe rule Malaysia now with 2/3 of the parliament. Surely they will also oppose Hudud and ask you guys to kill the baby girl.. hehehe.

Human. Why?
All of his actions will be guideline for other human. He eats, drinks, talks or whatever. Like us. Easy to follow and to be accepted by human. Imagine if Gabriel, or some ant, trees or mountain do the job.

Can't read and write. Why?
Then people won't say he created Quran.

Born as Arab. Why?
Arab grammar is one of the toughest in the world. "You" in arab has to be specific as "you(for he)","you(for she)","you(for men)", you(for women). This is why, those who want to elaborate Islamic teaching, required to study Arabic.

Muhammad involved in war. Why?
Yes, he did involve but he never started the war. Read all of his war history please. 100 of muslims against thousands of Quraisy troops. Come on. Who is stupid enough to start a war with 100 people? They don't even have a push of a button of Nuke.

Last thing.
Born as a muslim and having an IC indicate Islam is not a ticket to Heaven.
Everything that we do will be judge even to the smallest detail possible.
Example: Ali is born muslim. He has Islam name in the ic. But he rape, rob, disbelieve Allah. He might end up in Hell. I say 'might' because based on the action we can see he abandon Islam but who knows a minute before he died, he did asked Allah forgiveness. Then he might have some opportunity to go to Heaven. In Islam, some wrong doing (bad action) has to be punish. Faith (akidah). Only Allah knows.

My comment is to note that some blindly address wrong doing by a certain people and labeled it as a group of people. When 'Hamas' kill people then all muslim is terrorist. When BN misused Islam, then PAS or other muslim also the same. This may not only apply to Muslim. Same goes to Christian, Jews, Buddhism, Hinduism or Dayak. Respect others.

I'm not an Ustaz. Lots to learn.
written by hafidzmalik, April 30, 2008 04:47:30
I like this comment from "written by micon02, April 29, 2008 | 21:11:41" in this topic.
written by mrgoh, April 30, 2008 08:34:23
Spear Bing quote:

Mrgoh wrote,

"Those with no intellectual consciousness are just that - plain stupid."

Being a Buddhist, you sounded a bit vain by these remarks. Surely you could have chosen better descriptive words to express your level of your' intellectual consciousness'

No offence intended, but your diction, one can gauge where you are coming from.

------------------------------------

Here I present to you another example of over-generalization.

commenter said: "Being a Buddhist, you sounded a bit vain by these remarks. Surely you could have chosen better descriptive words to express your level of your' intellectual consciousness"

Being a Buddhist has nothing to do about whether my words sound vain or not. Religion is a set of teachings that I believe to be the most accurately suitable for me. But just because I am a Buddhist does not mean that I am a diehard follower of the religion. It just means that I believed it ENOUGH to call it my own. I pick Buddhism because it caters to my own philosophy well.

What words I use has nothing to do to being a Buddhist.
written by grant, April 30, 2008 09:17:43
dear mrgoh,

first of all, there is no such thing as light disagreement or heavy disagreement.. a disagreement is a disagreement. whether u disagree lightly or heavily it is immaterial coz the fact is u disagreed. so dont bother to show ur "indepth feelings" of disagreement. We are here to agree and disagree... having said that, which leads me to my point.

what is good and what is bad? i believed u didnt read my comments many wks back about the two brothers separated and brought up in the different lands, different culture and totally different believes.. If I am bred and born in Afghan today I will say suicide bombing is holy, and what not... therefore it is good as my Islam teachings say that I need to defend my land - jihad! But the west will curse it saying it is bad. But on the other hand, the mideast countries will curse US for what they have done on Iraq as bad while US will claim otherwise.. So "what is bad" and "what is good"? It is a really subjective..

RPK mentioned that "some people appear to be" ... you are to tight up with the entire statement. pls read it again. appear to be doesnt necessary mean they are actually what they are. For instance, you appear to be a devil but are u actually a devil?

When we touch base on religion, a lot of ppl will come out being too over sensitive with the words of choosing and everything.. So what if I said religion was for the weak? Well, I am saying it now after all.. I said once before in MT and I am saying it again, now in MT that religion is for the weak..
written by teo siew chin, April 30, 2008 10:34:48
Religion is for the weak?
Can it not be for the strong?
Does it not take strength to forsake the 7 deadly sins?
Strength a mere human does not have but need to rely on God?
And most times it seems God also cannot help the mere human bent on self-destruction.
Then so be it. A culling of the specie.
It can happen to the gigantic dinosaur - why not the puny human.
written by Hades, April 30, 2008 10:41:37
This is simply beautiful, the truth as it is.

"So the greatest jihad is the war against your own heart. Some say that this is the only ‘war’ while others says that this is the greater jihad and armed conflict the smaller jihad. Nevertheless, this is the most difficult jihad and many lose this war, miserably."

I'm not a Muslim, however I agree with the above statement, because it applies to everyone regardless of religion, race etc.
written by chilten, April 30, 2008 10:55:50
There is nothing Islamic about this at all. Whether one is a Muslim or not, this same concept would apply. You have a right to defend your property and your territory, your life and that of your family, your country and the freedom of your nation, your religion plus the freedom to practice your religion, and so on. Oppression and persecution must be opposed and it is the duty of mankind, Muslims not excluded, to come to the aid of others, even if they are not Muslims, who suffer oppression and persecution. This means, if a Muslim nation is acting unjustly towards non-Muslims, then Muslims must oppose their Muslim ‘brothers’ in defence of the oppressed non-Muslims.

Dear RPK, I really respect you, your blog, your opinion, etc but I don't know what is your problem with Islam. I know there are a lot of Muslims out there who become killer, liar and robber but definitely not all of them are bad. Not all Jews are bad, not all Christians are bad and not all Muslims are bad but why would you really have to try to find even the smallest flaw in Muslims, post an article it so hundreds of people would start flaming the religion in this blog?

There nothing too wrong about the IKIM's article but like I said, you will always find even a micro-sized mistake made by any Muslim who try to be good in the name of Islam. The purpose of the article is just to tell people that Islam never permit violence and cruelty so non-Muslims and ****ed up Muslims should not accuse that the attack was done because Islam encourage it.

In simpler words, the writer is trying to say "Don't say that Islam permit violence and Allah bless the September 11 attack. Even we Muslims don't like the so-called jihadists and Allah will never bless them. Let me show you some quotes from Quran to prove that Islam strongly forbids its followers to be violent and cruel..blah blah blah"

So what is so wrong about the article that you have to say that NOTHING is Islamic about it? Even though the same concept in Quran would apply whether one is Muslim or not, the purpose of Quran is to motivate and clarify to any Muslim that seeks for guidance about the right and wrong thing to do. As an example, if the concept of 'kindness' in Islam is similar with the concept of 'kindness' in humanity, that still doesn't mean that the concept is not Islamic at all. The concept is not copyrighted by any religion so Islam can use it too.

About the true meaning of Jihad, the IKIM writer certainly know it's not just about war but he/she didn't want to write a 10-page-long article so the emphasis is just on 'Jihad and War'. If you want to know more about the true Jihad, which is Jihad against freewill, go get multiple references and learn, not just trying to find the smallest flaw you could ever see in a Muslim to prove that Muslims are so ****ed up.

This is just a little advice from me. I expect rage in the heart of some people who read this. That's just because some people oppose UMNO for being intolerate, but their act shows that they are just another 'UMNO' smilies/wink.gif
written by chilten, April 30, 2008 10:58:51

Let me show you some quotes from Quran to prove that Islam strongly forbids its followers from being violent and cruel..blah blah blah"

Correction smilies/tongue.gif
written by teo siew chin, April 30, 2008 11:35:18
Grant - the word 'understanding' sometimes is the biggest cop-out for inexcusable acts!

"...for all u know i might be rpk myself... duh" - as for this statement of yours, funny though it may be, there is a possiblity to that cos many an occasion, YM RPK do not think we are the sharpest pencils in the box.
written by KullaNari, April 30, 2008 11:54:26
No offence and not condemning anyone or ANY religion or race.

Just a general and simplistic observation of my agnostic mind.

Throughout history and all my life I have yet to see or witness a "peaceful" period in the Middle East.

From the factional wars in the Arab lands to the Iran-Iraq war and the invasion of Kuwait to the ever ongoing war in Palestine and Israel not to mention the crusade and, I guess the list can go on.

What I humble observation is that the 3 religions of the "book" has shed more blood and created more conflicts, time immemorial.

Not denying that all other regions and religions have had their own share of conflicts and spilt blood but the “issues” related to the interpretation of the “book” (putting it simply) has been by far, affected the entire world throughout history and I think will still affect us for next century at least.

Simply put, there must be something wrong somewhere if there seems to be a problem ALL the time.

“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth?”
written by johnnie, April 30, 2008 12:41:03
I have been following MT and this is the first time I am writting.
Thank you for this post on Jihad,which as given me some understanding on the meaning of Jihad .I believe most people have the wrong ideas and from the comments here some even totally disagreed with your view. opine most of the people who use Jihad as an excuse to do what they do are politically in nature rather than religion. Most of the time people do not check out what they are been fed and take what have been taught or preached as the truth and allow emotion to take over.
written by vineeth menon, April 30, 2008 13:16:18
"And the perfect gentleman appears to be those atheists and agnostics who are good because they are good at heart and not because they want to go to Heaven"

That was nice one..smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Must Watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdVucvo-kDU
written by cheekhiaw, April 30, 2008 13:32:29
RELIGION IS EXTENSION OF POLITICS

Anyone that thinks he had understood religion and that it has nothing to do with politics is silly.

War is the continuation of politics by other means, said von Clausewitz.

von Clausewitz was only telling the partial truth about politics.

Religion is also the extension of politics by other means, especially convenient for the mean wanting to make it sound more meaningful.

written by cheekhiaw, April 30, 2008 13:34:30
That also explains why you find vile 'syeds' so easily in Malaysia.

written by Fart Fart Wah, April 30, 2008 14:14:09
there is no comparison with the prophet Jesus..with Islam..even when he was about to be killed he recommended non violence...it is those who took after him were cause of this violence..partly due to other religions..even today true christianiity ask to forgive his eneemy....but not in Islam...

in every ERA afer the founder there are crazy powered people who will want to kill to reamain in power...look at Mamakutty's BBC interview..he is directly recommending violence against the Jews...

It is time Islam look at itself ....and get rid of violence as an answer to solve its problem...Jihad and murder are not the answer....
ALLAH IS NOT A MUSLIM OR CHRISTIAN A BUDDHIST OR HINDU...NO ONE HAS SEEN HIM NO ONE WILL AND FOR HE IS ABOVE ALL HUMAN REASONING,THINKING AND TOTAL MAKE...
written by shan, April 30, 2008 14:48:59
Religion is a tool created by man for his own ulterior motive.,.

"Thou shall not covert thy neighbours wife"

Do you need a nincompoop sitting under a tree and living on alm to tell you this.Any fool who touches my wife will know whats coming to him and vice versa.

All holy books were care fully concorted sa as to give you and me only the good news and human being like to congregate "kumpul kumpul" .As thus,religion crepes in under the cloak of the Almight that you and I have not seen.

The lust for power slowly exceeds the compassion for another human being,thus religious laws are created, and the creater is the leader of the congregation.,

Did you know that the bible originally had 20 chapters,comprising of good and bad stories.The leaders of christianity decided to remove the bad stories and have only good ones and thus you have the new testatment,..,. only four chapters.

So because of one bunch of nincompoop who decided to play GOD we the people of this earth are still fighting for a believe which I bet 70% of us not understand.

The holy land of Jerusalem has only seen war the last 1000 years,and YOU CALL THIS GODS CHOOSEN LAND?.What do you have there? Yes Christ wa crusified there but apart from that you find bloodshed and misery.

My friends, Heaven and Hell is on earth now, live a live with compassion to your neighbour,Before you are born,and when you die,you have no religion,Its only when you are working on earth we recognise one another as Muslim,Christian.buddhist and Hindu.

If in future,if science has advanced to a level where we can bring back the death to his body and then we can have an open discussion with the reborn man to fullfill our hunger over the quest to know if he has seen Muslim god,or a christian god,or a hindu god,.,.

My Grandfather told me this one day :Hinduism is not a religion,Its a way of life,a scientific way of life,a cosmic way of life,And do not do onto others what you do not want others to do to you.Live a peacefull life with lots of compassion and let there be no vengeance in your heart,And you will feel GOD,hear GOD and see GOD.

I for one will not let Religion destroy the peace and fellowship of mankind.
I have visited numerous Temples and churches and mosques around the world.I have partaken in the respective believes and rituals and experience the bliss of cosmic harmony.,.""LAILATULQADAR""Yes it happens only once and you have to be with love,full of harmony to EXPERIENCE IT,.

I am a Hindu by birth,living a hindu live and die a hindu death,.,and ""LAITATULQADAR"" can be experience by anyone and everyone,if only you throw that ego into the dungeons of hell,.

Now thats Jihad,and I hope that by exposing such thoughts of mine,my body doesn't get snatched by some half bake nincompoop BN Super holier then thou religious fanatic in the name of JIHAD.I appologise if I that treaded on sensitive grounds but fact are fact and Extensive research and knowledge is fundamental for the betterment of human understanding of religion.,.,It The PAS guys are better Muslim then the BN so called muslim.Thank you for your understanding and again my appologies for touching Religion.
God bless Malaysia

written by miwaki, April 30, 2008 17:40:02
All religion can be wrong but definitely they cannot be bad.RPK understands religion much better than most Malaysians and we respect RPK's interpretation of islamic teaching."Jihad" is war against our own hearts to rid off Greed,Hatred and Ignorance.Period.
written by alhadee, April 30, 2008 18:34:07
Please don't believe much what most Muslims tell you about Jihad. What they do when they are sober and when they are drunk with the call of Jihad differs so much that you have no idea if they are the same person.

Jihad to many Malaysian Muslims are the call to have more 'Islam-as I say-tion version of Nahi Munkar'. This type of Nahi Munkar consists of the ability to inflict pain, suffering, humiliation to the fullest. If they can see some blood spill, that will be so much fun.

So it comes as a no surprise when IKIM and Jabatan Kehakiman Syariah insists that non Muslims must be persecuted for Khalwat. 10 years from now,don't be surprise if we have Ah Chong or Ramasamy who are publicly whipped for the offense of Khalwat.

If you think this is impossible, let me me tell you this. Go and do your own research on present and past Islamic countries who have used and still have Syariah as its basis of law. Then come back and tell me if there is one single country out of so many Islamic dynasties, caliphates and republics that have different law to cater for Muslims and non Muslims respectively.

We will have an Islamic State soon in Malaysia. By then expect call for Jihad to be a frequent thing in Malaysia.

How will it be? Let me give you a little scenario.

Like I said, the Malays definition of Jihad is very simple, the ability to inflict pain, suffering and humiliation to whomsoever who committed any sin in Islam. More pain, the better it is. More suffering is certainly best. And if total humiliation can be achieved, then so be it.

Any Muslims will tell you that it is God's prerogative to give iman or faith to whomsoever he pleases. Not even the Prophet can make you stay in Islam. No teacher or Guru can bestow faith in your heart. Abu Talib, the Prophet's uncle is an example of that. Abu Talib love his nephew more than himself and he knew his nephew is no liar, and yet he refused to embrace Islam.

Sure they acknowledge that. But like I said, what they preached and what they really do can confuse you. You won't know if you are talking to the same person.

Take Lina Joy as an example. Emails flew around, calling for Jihad against Jews, Christians, or some secretive organization whose sole intention is to bring Malays out of Islam. One Mufti wanted so much to be a hero. He claimed that there are hundred of thousands of Malays wanted to Murtad. Later this turns be a hearsay.

Is this how you issue your fatwa dear Mufti? By referring to something that someone said in which you don't even bother to do your own investigation? And in Islamic State, the word of Mufti is law. His decree is law. And that law will not apply to Muslims only. If he say his decree apply to all, then it shall be.

So Malays went berserk. They want blood spilled. The editor of Harakahdaily warn of possibility of another 13th May. Emails calling for Jihad circulates among the Muslims community. "There are organizations that are trying to convert Malays to other religion!" "We must now allow Lina Joy to change her IC!" "If we change there are going to millions of Malays following suit!"

Confusing isn't it? First Malays acknowledge that it is Allah's prerogative whether one will be among the people of faith. So logically it should be Allah who deals with them later on in different life. So logically no Jews or Christians or any super secret organization from hell can convert Muslims is Allah does not wish it, right?

But NO! We shall not allow anyone to leave Islam. We shall throw them in jail. We shall use our Syariah court and religious departments for that purpose- to inflict pain, humiliation and suffering to those who attempt to do so.

Never mind if the Syariah Court will look more like a kangaroo court. This is Jihad and in jihad, everything is permissible. We shall hunt those who propagates freedom of religion because they are being financed by some super secret organization from hell. We shall use our court to sentence people like Kamariah Ali on made up charges. Muslims, listen to this well! Don't ever attempt to leave Islam or we'll make KGB looks like child's play!

Later when the call for Jihad subsides, Muslims will tell you again that it is Allah's prerogative to bestow faith on whomsoever he wishes to and no one has that right. Of course they forget that includes the Jews, Christians and any super secret organization from hell.

When they are sober, they will tell you that freedom of religion is guaranteed in Islam. What about Kamariah and Lina Joy? Errr, that is different issue. Other Muslims will tell you that Jihad is against tyranny and it is obligatory on every Muslims. Where were they when Kamariah was systematically bullied around, God knows.

That is Jihad, the Malay Muslims version.
written by gorshan, April 30, 2008 20:48:21
4 years from now,according to all the prophets,the mayan calendar, Jesus and Nostradamus included,a huge meteorite the size of Pluto is hurtling our way from the constellation between Saggitarius and Scorpio (the Thirteen zodiac sign) from the centre of the milky way and will strike mother earth 22 Dec 2012 and wipe off most life forms on Earth and you guys are still on the subject of "my God versus your God "? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by novrising, April 30, 2008 23:41:38
GOD IS HOLY, BECAUSE HE IS "ONE"
JIHAD IS HOLY WAR, THEREFORE IT SHOULD BE A WAR OF "ONE"
WHEN THERE IS "TWO", IT IS NOT HOLY/SACRED, IT IS CONTAMINATED.
THUS, HOLY WAS IS A ONENESS WAR. YOU DECLARE WAR ON YOURSELF. YOU DECLARE WAR ON YOURSELF TO MAKE YOURSELF A BETTER PERSON, TO BE HARD WORKING, TO BE SINCERE, TO REMOVE ALL OBSTACLES THAT YOU HAVE IN YOU TO BE CLOSER TO GOD.
ONLY THEN THE WAR BECOMES JIHAD, HOLY WAR!!!!!!!!!!!

I AM A TERRORIST TO MYSELF,
NOVRISING
written by richardwong, May 01, 2008 19:52:43
TURTLEMAN wrote: "in my humble opinion, ISLAM is a good religion but the scenario had changed when some of its followers do a lot of bad things. Islam cant be changed since its already perfect by itself but the mind of people which need to be changed that ( all humans are brothers without conditions)remember human emerge first followed by religion"

Perhaps God decreed with creation the worshipping of God Alone. From well known religions to obscure creeds of quaint communities what ever is good ensues from God. Whatsoever is evil is due to man. When the individual holds truth in his heart and God blesses him for some sincere charitable actions he sees the majesty of God through his own unyielding conviction in God’s grand scheme of things, including the day for reckoning and everlasting peace in the hereafter.

God touches him with light of wisdom such that he is bewildered by the Almighty’s handiwork of creation. Simple running water rejuvenates the land, even sanitizing polluted water when working in coherent with microbes, sand and rocks. In the form of rain, water is made pure. Scientists explain it as the process of evaporation and condensation. Water can be analyzed as H2O. Man can build water distillation plants, but creation of the grand scheme of things is beyond human imagination. It did not come about through evolution or experimenting with infinite configurations. God merely wills it: “Be” - and it becomes and all beings and objects and the universal laws exist.

For harmony to prevail all creation must bow down to the will of the creator. Lest we frown on the mystical “peace”; which ultimately frees us from discontentment of ever falling short of possessing excessive things of this world, let’s cherish the fundamental liberty of “To each his own personal belief in God and his own search for God’s light to be bestowed upon him.” The majority of religious bigots and sectarians might be right in specific tenets and more correct in their elucidation of human thoughts but each individual still need to experience for himself the light from his creator and that can only happen between him and God. Jihad might be the correct label. If so, so be it!
written by Rhan, May 02, 2008 08:05:27
how could i dun miss u, grant my fren, u fight like a man.

unlike others who were given a summon on breaking offence, cry to mama why the fellow next to him not enjoying the same privilege. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Anti Jihadist, May 04, 2008 10:26:45
According to Muslim scholar Bassam Tibi, "Muslims are religiously obliged to disseminate the Islamic faith throughout the world.... If non-Muslims submit to conversion or subjugation, this call can be pursued peacefully. If they do not, Muslims are obliged to wage war against them. … Those who resist Islam cause wars and are responsible for them" "We have sent you forth to all mankind" (Quran 34:2smilies/cool.gif. If non-Muslims submit to conversion or subjugation, this call (da’wa) can be pursued peacefully. If they do not, Muslims are obliged to wage war against them." Majid Khadduri of Johns Hopkins University wrote that jihad is "an instrument for both the universalization of (Islamic) religion and the establishment of an imperial world state."
written by The dragonheart, May 04, 2008 23:51:19
Who is more Islamic and Who is NOT?
To me either your a Muslim or your not... no 50-50 or even 99-1...
Either your a pious Muslim or a sinful Muslim...
A shandy is no more a lemonade nor it is a beer...

On Jihad, I think literally simply it means "to do one upmost best in the cause"

As in the Syariah context I think it means "To sacrifice oneself to defend Allah's rights to the maximum of one abilities either by using physical, or using words, or by the heart to either positively support Allah's wills and commands or negatively reject the what Allah forbids"

Yeah, YM RPK, your right Too many muslims caimed to be muslims but go against the Islamic principles..

similarly many malaysian claimed to be malaysian but does not portray like a good one...
written by malaysia devil, May 21, 2008 19:42:24
Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore's Authoritarian Regime
watch video exclusively at: http://malaysianindian1.********.com/
please pass this message to all Malaysians, singapore needs freedom and they need malaysians assistance