Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Fixing the oil fix

Fixing the oil fix PDF Print
Tuesday, 29 April 2008 14:31

It is clear that only long-term planning and effective policies to actually raise the real income levels of the rakyat and also to find a cheaper alternative source of fuel is the course of action.

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER 

There was a time when for one ringgit, you could get at least three roti canais. Now you’d be lucky to get one. And the same size as before.

Our money is small. Very, very, very small, to paraphrase Shebby Singh’s favourite quote on ESPN. Notwithstanding the weakening US dollar.

It would be smaller if it wasn’t for the Umno-led Barisan Nasional government's moves to subsidise most of what we consume. But that is not an efficient way to use our natural resources and our reserves.

Inflation will continue to be a burden on the rakyat and the government has the responsibility to contain it. The soaring prices of goods and services will continue to erode their incomes and standard of living.

The RM40 billion oil subsidy a year at US$70 per barrel does help somewhat in cushioning the economic hardship of the rakyat but, unfortunately, the main disincentives for this subsidy are:

• The distribution of the subsidy is inequitable; the rich tend to enjoy this subsidy more as directly they are the ones spending more money on petrol.

• The subsidy is prone to abuse with the smuggling of our fuel to neighbouring countries as arbitrage opportunities exist because of price differences (The 'untouchable' multi-millionaire diesel smuggler).

• The subsidy becomes unaffordable as global oil prices climb higher.

In my professional opinion, subsidies are never a solution for the long term.

By definition it is a form of financial assistance paid to a business or economic sector and usually it can be used to support businesses that might otherwise fail or to encourage activities that would otherwise not take place.

In our case we subsidise oil to make it cheaper for the rakyat to purchase for personal consumption and also industrial consumption.

But as reasons explained earlier our oil subsidy is prone to distribution inequality and abuse.

It is clear that only long-term planning and effective policies to actually raise the real income levels of the rakyat and also to find a cheaper alternative source of fuel is the course of action.

The reality is global oil prices have jumped from US$70 last year to US$116 presently, posing the dilemma that we may have to extend such a subsidy in the short term, and the Barisan Nasional government is willing to listen to proposals (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/4/27/nation/20080427160812&sec=nation).

So it is important to have a proposal that restructures the oil subsidy to make it free from abuse and to ensure a more equitable distribution for the benefit of all, not just a section of the population. This will also ensure that windfall profits earned by the national oil company are returned to the rakyat.

However, to ensure that the extra funds that are now available, we will need a mechanism that is existing, simple and low in administrative cost to implement.

We must also consider that this new mechanism must be easy and cheap to implement and be free from arduous bureaucracy and possible corruption.

I propose that the RM40 billion now spent as subsidy to be transferred directly to the rakyat and the best mechanism for this purpose would be to through the EPF. Of course, one must realise that the RM40 billion is not all cash as it also comprises taxes that the Government forgoes from the oil companies.

There are currently 11 million account holders in the EPF and giving RM200 every month to all account holders will give a more equitable distribution than a direct subsidy of fuel, be it petrol or diesel.

And, of course, let the people be responsible for spending their money, instead of griping about administrators spending it willy-nilly or for mega projects.

Using the EPF as a mechanism enables us to leverage an existing method and with funds going straight into Malaysian pockets, cut the abuse through smuggling and unfair use of the subsidy.

Through the EPF we will also encourage greater savings if the rakyat does not withdraw the money received. It will contribute towards their retirement. It will also encourage more entrepreneurs and others to open up accounts with the EPF.

But I must remind that such a measure must be in the short term as our focus should be towards long-term planning, effective policies, a cheaper alternative source of fuel that will also preserve the environment.

But what is better than to have a short-term solution for the oil subsidy that provides the money straight into the rakyat’s pockets?

Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed is a two-time MP for Pulai and writes an occasional exclusive column for The Malaysian Insider. He blogs at www.jazlan.net

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ralverd, April 29, 2008 14:49:13
Great article. But by taking the subsidy off ,there would probably be a major price shock in oil prices. And especially in Malaysia where public transport is inadequate (with many relying on private transport), this will create immediate chaos and retaliation. Probably more demonstration rallies. Not to mention the possible effects of the price rise on the prices of basic neccessities such as rice, sugar etc. The current Malaysia is already worrying over inflation, the country just can't take it.

Read my new political blog http://ralverd.********.com
written by zul4kulim, April 29, 2008 14:51:39
It makes sense...but savings alone may not be the best option.

Last sentence But what is better than to have a short-term solution for the oil subsidy that provides the money straight into the rakyat’s pockets? could be straight to UMNO's pockets....it can be abused as EPF is not prone to such abuses!

http://1426.********.com/2008/...n-uae.html
written by backs, April 29, 2008 15:01:37
there is still the question of people who don't have epf accounts, like the goreng pisang/nasi lemak seller for example....
written by astina, April 29, 2008 15:02:40
It would be smaller if it wasn’t for the Umno-led Barisan Nasional government's moves ..

This one sentence confirms that all the BN component parties are umNO lap dogs ..
written by MarchOn, April 29, 2008 15:03:06
May I add to this suggestion...

Rather giving RM200 for every EPF contributor, the money should divided into percentage... with the less income group gaining more and the higher income group gaining less.

This should be exercise in most level, for intance saman.... RM300 is very small amount for a jutawan.... so using percentage .... say 5% of the yearly income might make them watch their speed while driving.
written by My2Sens, April 29, 2008 15:23:58
I agree, raise the income level so that subsidies are not needed. However currently the income level is not enough to support fuel and food prices without subsidies.

Interesting idea for EPF but it leaves out sections of society that would be more vulnerable to inflation, senior citizens who upon retirement have had thier EPF accts closed.
written by donplay, April 29, 2008 15:26:44
The Singapore Govt has done something like this, when in the past they distributed free Singtel shares, as well as periodic special bonuses to the account of CPF holders.

When companies go for listing on the KLSE, 5% -10% is reserved for PNB & other institutions at discounted prices. So, another way to re-distribute income would be to credit these discounted shares to EPF & registered (and approved by Treasury)public pension funds members, with weightage given in favour of lower income earners.

The EPF holders can then hold or sell these shares, but proceeds kept in their accounts till retirement.

Something to think about, especially since it would be a long-term investment startegy, which is bound to benefit lower and middle income groups.

written by mountainking, April 29, 2008 15:31:03
what this writer wrote is true in professional opinion. somethings, you just can't mix it up with emotions and sentiments. subsidies will cripple the economy and earnings. lift the subsidies, set min wage, improve public transport/system, use the oil money for building more uni/hospitals/, r&d for new products and invest the rest of the money in overseas. it will help to avoid build up bubble in local assets.

if we never lift subsidies, eventually we will go through sharper pain when the oil dries up and we are forced to pay market price.

you may condemn my statement of making life difficult, inflation blah blah blah, but please look at things in economics/finance angle. reduce import car tax, bury GLCs that are draining money and that will help to revive/restore back the economy. should emulate hong kong, japan and singapore.

we should grow up and don't live in a subsidy environment. if we MT readers want to be progressive in politics, we should be progressive in economics too.
written by alan cheong, April 29, 2008 15:52:50
fine !
or is this another attempt to siphon off OUR money via the EPF?

enough damage has been done by the criminally inept / incompetent / inclined within the EPF ...
written by ez24get, April 29, 2008 15:53:47
Transferring the money to EPF is not going to address the root problem facing by our country. It is just band-aid remedy addressing one of the myopic problems faced by Malaysia. Actually, our country is very sick and it requires a more than a normal doctor; it has to be more thoroughly examined by an independent specialist!

Fix the Finance Minister’s post.
In the earlier independence period, we saw the Finance Minister post assumed by MCA. However, for the past two decades, the Finance Minister post has always been assumed by UMNO. Since the time starting with Daim as the Finance Minister, the management of our country’s finance has been on the downward spiral; we saw tremendous amount of wastages, bailouts, questionable policies, corruptions, cronyisms and wrong priorities in spending. Today, we have a Finance Minister who has a degree in Islamic studies but failed in statistics as a Minister managing the country’s most important finance post. On top of that, we have a second Finance Minister who was implicated in foreign currency manipulation. In well managed economies of the world, this scenario is unthinkable and stupid.

It should not be patronised solely by UMNO or by people who is of a certain colour of the skin. It doesn’t matter who runs the Ministry as long as he is capable, responsible and honest. If Alan Greenspan can manage the Malaysian economy better, he should be appointed to the Finance Minister post.

If we do not change the UMNO Finance Minister, we will always have the same old, worn-out ideas about managing the finances of the country; we will have more of the same - wastages, bailouts, questionable policies, corruptions, cronyisms and wrong priorities in spending. It’s time that we break out from this mould.

Fix the Cronies.
A huge chunk of our income goes to house loan payments or rental, purchase of high price/low quality cars, contribution to EPF, unreasonable maze of tolls and payments to monopolistic/ oligopolistic organisations supplying water, electricity, rice, Astro, internet access, telephone, etc.

A big chunk of our income goes to these cronies as we have no choice but to get the inferior quality of services and products from them. Abolish OSA! Open up the competition, tenders, etc, to more capable suppliers. Only with competition and open tenders can we get better services and cheaper prices.

But admittedly, it is very difficult to untie the years of mismanagement and the subsidy culture as lopsided agreements have been signed and long term prices already fixed with these crony companies. In another words, we have tied our own selves unnecessarily!

And these were caused by the follies of our incompetent, greedy and UMNO and BN ministers!

Plug the leakages.
Malaysia is blessed with so much natural resources. For the past 50 years and with the current high prices of petroleum, natural resources such as palm oil, rubber, tin, aquaculture, forestry products, etc Malaysia’s coffer should be brimming with money. The money should have been used to build highways, schools for every race, reduce tariffs on cars including national cars, reduce prices of utilities, road taxes, personal income taxes, food, school fees, etc.

If our country’s finance had been well managed, we should have seen increases in the disposal and real incomes across all spectrums of the rakyat and in the appreciation of our Ringgit to at least RM 1 = Sing $1 due to the swell in our reserves. Under this well managed economic situation, say, each rakyat were to have a house, nice car, good schooling, adequate health care and RM10,000 balance in his pocket each month with an exchange rate RM1 = Sing $1, which rakyat would grouse with 20 cents increase in flour or 80 cent increase in petrol if subsidy is done away with and the prices were to float to market value?

What is the point of having all these windfalls and god-given resources if it is going to leaked out through corruption, wastages and direct transfer of illicit money out of the country to fixed deposit accounts and assets in foreign countries?
written by alan cheong, April 29, 2008 15:54:07
deep six the GLCs, that'll certainly go a long way.
GLCs include (crony) banks used to bail out lamebrain schemes.
written by KKchan, April 29, 2008 16:17:42
We could start by being more efficient in our use of fossil fuels. Re-look at the policy of not allowing taxis to pick up passengers to and from major airports. Is it politics at play? I think allowing taxis to ply both ways will also reduce fares. Consider a fuel levy against high capacity vehicles. Wean companies off subsidies. In return, allow more tax allowances and reduce the tax rate. At the end of the day it could be just a "left hand to right hand" exercise.
written by CM Lam, April 29, 2008 16:37:09
What about this idea?
1. Reduce fuel subsidy but channel fund for basic ammenities for poor area projects.
2. Increase the deductable income for income tax.
3. Increase the maximum tax by 2% for high income group.
This way , the lower income group ( maybe earning up to 3500 pm ) need not pay tax and those earning above 120,000pm should pay more tax. Fuel subsidy wise rich towkays with big cc cars will have to pay more for fuel while lower income group can shoulder the fuel increase from tax savings. This would definately benefit the lower income group.If govt is under PR, I am sure those who earn more are willing to give more in taxes.
written by CM Lam, April 29, 2008 16:39:33
OOOPS should read ' those earning 10,000 pm instead of 120000 for above.
written by hardworking_taxpayer, April 29, 2008 18:12:36
I do not believe in the distribution through EPF.
Firstly, these NGOs are run by corrupted UMNO cronies. As long as they are there, these companies will not grow fundamentally. Which means less dividend/distribution.
Secondly, the Gomen has never had rakyat in mind first but their own pockets. So I don't think Gomen will fairly distribute to rakyat without putting labels like bumi/non-bumi.
My proposal to Malaysians: modernise, work hard and have less kids. That way economy will improve and less people means less cars means less fuel means better environment. There's no free meal. You want a better life, you have to work for it.
written by TURTLEMAN, April 29, 2008 18:26:12
idea yang kurang bijak,

harga minyak utk 1500 liter pertama ada subsidi.1500 liter keatas kurang subsidi atau mansuhkan subsidi.jadi rakyat akan betul-betul jaga pengunaan minyak.
written by merlin2001, April 29, 2008 20:03:45
A number of years ago PORIM came out with it own bio diesel. If I am not wrong the late YB Gaffar Baba bought the first merc with this new engine. Soon after that the director of PORIM was replaced with someone else by you know who.
From then on PORIM went downhill just like MARDI and RRI. These 3 outfits were the most foremost in agricultural research recognized by ASEAN then.
Bio diesel maybe one other way out or this oil curse.
written by fandi, April 29, 2008 20:10:53
Get Rid of Oil Subsidies and All Subsidies

Infact all forms of subsidies should be got rid off, because in life nothing is free, so pay for it what ever you want in this way there will be no wastage on spending, the government in this way can give back to the rakyat in payment through their income tax, because every citizen should be registered with the tax dept until they die.Not EPF as there is a age limit to be a member and there are a lot of non members like those who are not working and the employers.Whatever amount calculated on the subsidies should be credited into the tax accounts of Malaysians only.At the moment subsidies are enjoyed by non Malaysians and as well as smugglers.Even tax returns has to be submitted eventhough you are not taxable, so now onwards the income tax department has to refund to the tax payers, as now it is easy with e-filing and the refunds promised by the tax department within a month.So those who are rich with the big cars have to think twice in paying the high petrol price,more so in eating out so often.In this way even the those so very poor when registered with the tax department will be getting refund from them like a social security.In this way there will be less people who are not so dependable on hand outs.
All this can really happen provided there is no middleman to siphon whatever subsidies due to the rakyat only and no foreigners to enjoy this, as all foreigners have to pay the price without subsidies.There will be less Singaporeans buying back to Singapore, like at the moment every Singapore 100 is worth around RM220 , just imagine the RM220 can even get further with the subsidized items they buy back to Singapore
written by mikewang, April 29, 2008 20:34:26
Actually those who could afford a car paid subsidies to the government through extremely high excise/import duties or the payment of higher vehicle prices to keep Proton afloat.

The subsidies paid by them could very well pay for all petrol subsidies borne by the government throughout the operating life of the vehicle.

So BN government please don't give us the crap about the rich enjoying the subsidies more.
Remember ! everyone, from the very rich to the common wage earner, have been subsidising your failed experiment !!!!
written by clarity, April 29, 2008 20:55:41
The idea is good but only for countries which don't have to worry about corruption. Better not talk about distributing the subsidy into EPF lest it falls into the wrong hands. Axtually we ca come up with great and noble ideas e.g. the PM proposing a 4 billion ringgit subsidy to farmers to increase production of rice etc. You wait for the same old story. Somewhere along the line, a big chunk of it will go into the pocket of the guy who is handling. Otherwise prices for machinery, fertilisers will render the project a failure.
written by Countach, April 30, 2008 00:40:46
Malaysians need the subsidy.
The real income of MALAYSIANS is low.
Reason - Corruption.
Who is responsible? MAHATHIR.
written by SotPlug, April 30, 2008 02:05:48
What about those who doesn't have EPF? I'm not talking about the bosses. I'm talking about the local hawkers, peddlers, car washers, etc...
written by pkler, April 30, 2008 07:50:58
The govt needs to separate the short from long term planning. In the long term, when policies of poverty alleviation, integrated public transport, increased use of non-fossil fuels and a general rise in living standards are attained, it is perfectly sane to eliminate fuel subsidies. In the short term, given political considerations, it is political suicide-it is also, IMO, not the right course of action, given the immediate pain it will cause to the people and economy, particularly transport costs.

Until concrete steps are undertaken subsidies must continue; what must change is the distribution mechanism, coupled with credibility in govt action. The former can occur in a number of ways, to which I have no answer but I'd suggest looking at how other countries carry it out and see which system can teach us best. The idea of taking money from PETRONAS is not one I agree with, as that money can best be siphoned off to more productive purposes, but perhaps there is something to be said if it occurs at a transparent formula for a fixed amount of time. Again, credibility is the key, and with that concrete action on the longer term need to not only be undertaken but be seen to be undertaken. The EPF suggestion I feel is not right-let us not use the EPF for anything else but a savings scheme for retirement, none of this computer nonsense or as a replacement for fuel subsidies; again, does everyone have an EFP account? Should we give money to someone who might not now be using the subsidy anyway? In the immediate term, tighter enforcement of diesel subsidies to deter smuggling is clearly necessary, but the situation with private vehicles is far more difficult, especially given the paucity of public transport.

I have no answers to this complex problem, but clearly maintaining the status quo is not the answer.
written by campuras, April 30, 2008 07:57:09
There is no such thing as “simple and low in administrative cost to implement” Our modern society is so complex and anyone who suggest that there is a simple solution to our ills is naïve, ignorant and peddling snake oil. Fuel subsidy affects not only the rich but across the whole society. Yes the rich benefits, but to say they benefit the most is naïve. The major benefactors of fuel subsidy are industries and transport. If the input cost goes up, so will food and day to day living requirements. Will this allocation to EPF account sufficient to match the increase in cost of living? Will it be index in line with the increase in cost of living?

Subsidy in any form and structure is never efficient in a free market system. It distorts the allocation of scare resources. The effect is the same as market intervention by the government, good example is Proton, the continuous injection of funds into an industry that is not sustainable in the long run. Petrol is getting more expensive and new technology – hybrid cars, electric cars is coming into the market. In the next few years countries will introduce tighter control on vehicle emission. How is Proton going to handle this. More money and it will means less money for other public projects. Without government intervention Proton would have fallen off the branch long time ago.

Your suggestion to distribute funds through EPF is unworkable. There are so many issues you have not address.

Basis of calculation to distribute the funds.

What formula do you use to calculate the allocation, Equal to all Malaysian (I will come back to this later). A high earner will disagree to this, that person will argue that “I pay more income tax. I travel more to bring in new business - higher fuel cost, meet more client in other state – higher accommodation and food cost. If I cannot get any tax deduction or 100% re imbursement from my company. I will be out of pocket. There is no incentive for me to earn that much” Government revenue go down. For the company, I cannot compete against cheaper imports, my input cost is going up. There are 2 choices for this company – relocate or close its door.

A lower income earner spends a higher proportion of his (most of the time is a man) on non food item – accommodation and transport. Removing the fuel subsidy means the food bill will up, the fuel bill will go up, accommodation assuming the same (interest rate the same), electricity bill will go up, household essentials will also go up. If the allocation is based on his wages, this person and his family will be thrown out of his house in a flash. Where is the equity?

All Malaysian
You identified 11 million, what about the rest, are they not entitle to this money? Why are they being discriminated. The lower income earner, whose wife stayed at home to look after the children, does not work, no EPF, needs more financial assistance that than the higher earner’s who stays at home with a maid, no income and no EPF account but punt the stock market.. What about the graduate looking for their first job, no income, no EFP, no allocation but pays through the nose to get for interview. What about those self employed, sole traders, income is based on their business or trade, no constant income, I doubt they have an EPF account. Why are they being penalised. Of greater concern are the Malaysian who lived overseas but still maintain an EPF account, they do not contribute to the country’s income tax but are entitle to this money. I can go on and on.

In conclusion Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed, your suggestion, simple but totally unworkable in our complex society. The economic activity in our country is very driven by government spending, take that away, the economy is in trouble.

Maintaining the status quo is not the answer, neither is this EPF suggestion. The question how bitter is the pill are we willing to take to overcome the inefficient so inherent in this country. By the way corruption may brease the wheels of government but it is also a misallocation of resources.

written by chiongguo, May 04, 2008 08:33:23
Your thesis "sounded" credible but it is flawed on 2 fundamental points.

By definition it is a form of financial assistance paid to a business or economic sector and usually it can be used to support businesses that might otherwise fail or to encourage activities that would otherwise not take place.

If this is the definition then the current oil price in Malaysia is NOT a subsidy. The government do not pay a single cent to "support businesses that might otherwise fail or to encourage activities that would otherwise not take place." If we want to split hair then the "subsidy" that the citizens are enjoying now is a "paper subsidy." It is basically earning lost by Petronas.

This brings us to the second fundamental flaw of your thesis.

The distribution of the subsidy is inequitable; the rich tend to enjoy this subsidy more as directly they are the ones spending more money on petrol.

Would the extra money earned by Petronas be used more efficiently by the government in benefitting the citizens if there is no paper subsidy ? In the current situation, oil being such a basic commodity, every citizen benefits and they benefit where it counts most i.e. in the day to day price of things needed for living. The greatest distortion to the country's economy and income distribution is the NEP not the petrol paper subsidy. It had become a gravy train for a few rich and infamous.

In a capitalistic society distribution will always be inequitable. However in this instance the rich will not be very much affected by an increase fuel cost but the poor will.

In many oil-producing nation the citizens benefit from not only having cheap petrol but other benefits such as free education, no income tax etc. Only in Malaysia do we see cronies obscenely benefitting from the country's rich resource while many of her citizens are still languishing in quiet despair.

It is interesting to note also that many other countries in the region have encouraged the use of natural gas in cars, lorries, buses and taxis. Natural gas is cleaner and cheaper and we have abundant supply ; a lot more than oil. Why aren't we considering this solution,which seems so natural, to the rising fuel cost ?