Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Abdullah Risks Party's Grip on Malaysia by Staying On

Abdullah Risks Party's Grip on Malaysia by Staying On PDF Print
Tuesday, 29 April 2008 14:24

(Bloomberg) -- If Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is politically doomed, he isn't acting like it.

Abdullah has come under pressure to step down since he last month led the United Malays National Organisation and its coalition partners to the smallest electoral victory since independence in 1957.

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim is seeking to court enough lawmakers to topple the government; Mahathir Mohamad, who hand-picked Abdullah as his successor after serving 22 years as prime minister, is leading calls for his ouster to protect UMNO's half-century grip on power.

Abdullah says he plans to stay put at least until party elections in December, fighting his detractors with policies to bolster popular support including larger gasoline subsidies for the poor and a new anti-corruption commission.

``What Abdullah is trying to do is buy a little bit more time,'' said Mohamed Mustafa Ishak, professor of politics at Universiti Utara Malaysia. ``At best, he can delay his downfall.''

The coalition lost its two-thirds majority in the March 8 election for the first time since 1969, after which the government passed laws giving the ethnic Malay majority preferential treatment for college places, jobs and housing. Anwar, 60, focused his campaign on scrapping that system, which he says encourages corruption.

The race-based rules were introduced to help Malays catch up with ethnic Chinese business owners. Abdullah, 68, said last month the government will continue policies to close the gap.

Anwar's Candidacy

``I can't see how UMNO can save itself,'' said Abdul Aziz Bari, a professor at the International Islamic University Malaysia. Abdullah ``can't afford to delay'' his resignation, he said. ``The writing's on the wall.''

Anwar, a former deputy prime minister who was jailed on corruption charges he denied, led a three-party alliance to victory in five of Malaysia's 13 states. He plans to run for a seat in parliament, which convened today, now that a ban resulting from his jail sentence has expired.

``There's no turning back,'' Anwar told reporters after attending parliament, as a visitor, for the first time in a decade. ``Now that I'm here, I'll stay.'' He said it's too early to say which seat he'll contest.

Anwar's People's Alliance already scrapped racial quotas for tenders in states it controls. Under the current system, public universities give Malays easier entry than Chinese and Indians. Companies must also sell 30 percent of their shares to Malays and disclose how many they employ if they list on the stock market.

Najib Razak

Najib Razak, Abdullah's deputy, has stood by his boss and worked with him on the policy response. Najib, 54, said this month he has seen no signs that Anwar can tempt lawmakers to switch camps.

Abdullah's policy pledges ``should have been carried out four years ago when he received the people's mandate to fight corruption,'' Anwar's People's Justice Party said in an April 22 statement. Abdullah won a landslide election victory in 2004.

His multiparty National Front coalition already faces declining support from Chinese and Indian minorities upset by the preference system.

Investment projects and business confidence in Malaysia have stalled since the election. The key stock index slumped the most in a decade on the first trading day after the result, and is down 15 percent from a January record.

In Penang, a west Malaysian state that fell to the opposition, the construction of a second bridge to the island has been delayed by nine months, state-run contractor UEM Builders Bhd. said this month.

Train Delay

The government also dropped a proposed 8 billion-ringgit ($2.5 billion) high-speed rail link to Singapore, state news service Bernama said April 23. Abdullah said last week that many projects are under review.

``Investors are cautious because it appears power is draining away from Abdullah by the day,'' said Song Seng-Wun, an economist at CIMB-GK Research in Singapore.

Mahathir started trying to remove Abdullah in 2006, accusing him of achieving nothing since taking office three years earlier. Trade and Industry Minister Muhyiddin Yassin said Abdullah should step down as UMNO head for the good of the party, Bernama reported April 13.

Party rules that Mahathir introduced require 30 percent of UMNO's 191 regional party offices to back a leadership change. That's a hurdle Abdullah's only public challenger to date, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, may struggle to clear, Aziz said.

Hard to Oust

In an April 4 speech, Razaleigh, a former finance minister, urged UMNO members to hold a special meeting to address what he called an ``emergency'' in the party. ``What we lack is leadership,'' Razaleigh said.

Abdullah's most immediate challenge is the prospect of a no- confidence vote in the new parliament.

``We opposition parties on our own won't have a big enough voice,'' said Lim Kit Siang, a lawmaker for the Democratic Action Party, part of Anwar's alliance. ``We can move a motion, anyone can do so, but to get that vote on our own will be a problem.''

A more likely scenario is for disgruntled coalition lawmakers to abstain from voting on a minor bill, allowing the government to be defeated, said Andrew Aeria, a political analyst for Enterprise LSE, the commercial arm of the London School of Economics.

``If this happens, Abdullah's position would be untenable,'' Aeria said. The opposition could then bide its time before offering to ``save the country,'' he said.

written by ralverd, April 29, 2008 14:39:25
`Investors are cautious because it appears power is draining away from Abdullah by the day,'

Mr.PM is barely holding on now. Someone give him a good push and he'll fall over. Its time to go. You've had your time and your money. Now f*ck off for the better.

Read MY NEW POLITICAL BLOG : http://ralverd.********.com

written by middlepath, April 29, 2008 14:48:20
ini takdir, the irony is that, DSAI is the new PM, it will happen, the Allah will help make it happen. why ?
Paklah did not deliver his promise.
Dr M will try to get Paklah out of the way.
Najisb is not helping himself, he go fool around with the lady, and then ask his body guard to use the bomb to make the girl disappear ? then he took bridge, 500M
of the weapon money, most of the rumours are true.
Umno and BN are just too old, too arrogant, too greedy, too corrupt to govern the people of malaysia, they will go down to the hell.
only the PR, the clean gov, the DSAI, lets move the MP to PR team, let s change for the better, vote for change, make our MP go to PR...please, help the MP to go to PR
written by omarkhayyam, April 29, 2008 14:48:47
a frog being an odd amfibian is able to change its body temperature to its surrounding ..... likewise

if u put a frog in a glass bicker filled with water and turn on a slow fire .. it can stay there till the water reaches boiling state .... basically it dies without knowing "why"

so i guess this is wat that is predictably gonna happen to Dollah

written by artfulone, April 29, 2008 15:16:59
Reading between the lines it seems that the frogs will jump if AAB is ousted. No one coming after is acceptable especially Najib because the Mongolian affair is the albatross around his neck. AAB can bury him with it which is why he has to support AAB. This is probably why Anwar does not have a firm date for takeover. Still for changes to take place it must be and is more easily carried out by AAB. PR even in govt at this stage will have great difficulty. Most important for Pr is to prove they can govern well and expose the rot and all the pigs eating at the BN trough until even the Malays are disgusted at how they have been used and abused and taken for granted. Only then can there be a stable two party system.
written by Negarakuku, April 29, 2008 15:22:00
I was told that many tourist choose other Asia destination because of mismanagement in Tourism Malaysia.

Taximan overcharging and so on!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Foreigners does not want to invest in Malaysia because of the bad attitude of politicians and corrupt judiciary system.

(Govt don´t reply letters) Hahahaaa.......

Some problem were from bad management in the govt and private sectors!!!!!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by michael chick, April 29, 2008 15:28:00
Dear Mr. Prime Minister. We LOVE you. It's only because of you that the PR have become what they are today. It was only because of you that Corruption was not stamped out. It was because of you, that ex-Selangor MB insisted on Destroying Temples despite Semi Value being on his knees and kissing your hands (and ass). It was because of you that "Ketuanan Melayu" meant something "beautiful" to you and only you alone. It was because of you, that Alkitabs were confiscated, dead bodies were repossed, and RELA members got their free BLOW-JOBS.

It was because of all of these, that Corruption in Korea by TDC is not even considered Corruption at all. It was because of you, that 140% voters turned out in PutraJaya. Much more than expected, and simply setting a good example for the rest of the nation.

And these, and many more gave the reasons for the Rakyat to vote for the other side.
On behalf of PR, I, Michael Chick wish to coordially Thank the (soon-to-be-ex) Prime Minister of Malaysia, AAB, for allowing the PR to become what they are tdoay, without your overwhelming assistance, this would not have been achieved. From the bottom of our hearts, we wuld like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the balance of your tenure in PutraJaya.

(I can recommend some office movers for you, but after seeing your teams in the Selangor and Penang, offices, I think you have excellent movers and cleaners already.)

I bid thee Adieu.

Truly Asia, Thanks Badawi
written by tikuih, April 29, 2008 15:39:27
whether aab falls or not, we do not want the original keris wielding fool NAJIS MONGOLIA to take over. he's got too much shit in his scumbag.. whatever he says carries no weight and has zero integrity.
written by kc respect, April 29, 2008 15:52:28
From the heart of my bottom, I bid him & cronies, ADIEU.. smilies/grin.gif
written by rayfire, April 29, 2008 16:36:04
I think let him be there for as long as it takes before PR is ready.
No need to have interim PM while waiting.
Of course this is provided they are really prepared!

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com and read "New Government - New Hope?"
Take poll "When should PR form New Government?" smilies/cheesy.gif
written by joeawk, April 29, 2008 17:16:33
He goes, who replace him? najib? If najob had been PM opn March 8, BN would be in the opoosition now.

Let us hope tht pak Lah can out thru' the judicial reform to return the judiciary to the time when the malaysian judiciary was well respected.

May Pak lah also free the Anti Corruption Agency to report to parliament, whether or not there be amnesty is another matter. Malaysia need to get back on its good feet.

Lastly, how do malaysians strip the old demion ultra racist of his TUN title.
written by bodohland_citizen, April 29, 2008 17:21:51
Badawi or not, the wealth of the country still under the belt of UMNO and we are fated to live this life thereon. PR needs to formulate new strategy to take control or perish.
written by Fernz, April 29, 2008 18:14:04
If Badawi is going to lose the Umno presidency at the mid-Dec General Assembly, it's better for him to split the party by leaving with about half the MPs including those from Umno Sabah, all must be clean, and get the support of the Opposition Alliance to stay on as Prime Minister. Umno is too rotten to reform and the BN is finished anyway, except for Sabah and Sarawak.

If the Opposition Alliance disagree, then his bloc of MPs should support a minority Opposition Alliance Federal Government headed by Wan Azizah as Prime Minister.

He should never agree to Anwar Ibrahim, her husband, being Prime Minister.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com

written by cancan, April 29, 2008 19:10:41
What if the Barisan Nasional had won the election with a landslide victory?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Countach, April 30, 2008 00:20:30
Joeawk, Mahathir must be put on trial for his 22 years reign of terror.

Mahathir is the cause of everything wrong in Malaysia.