Food Crisis on Our Doorstep PDF Print
Tuesday, 29 April 2008 12:23

Recently, number of places around the world are facing the problem of rice shortage. Even our neighbouring countries, Thailand which is known as the kingdom of rice, faces the same dilemma.

Previously, the most common lesson our old folks teach us is: “each grain in your dish is a fruit of hard labour”. Now, it should be changed in to “each grain in your dish is precious”.

In Malaysia, the people have probably been able to feel the pressure of rising rice prices. Living will become more and more bitter, and we need to be more thrifty in the future.

Grains are staple food for half of the world population, but they have gradually become the supporting food on our dining table in the past. “It is alright if you can't finish the rice. Just finish the vegetables and meat”. Such talk is so common in our daily lives. As grains are cheaper than vegetables and fish, they have often been wasted.

"To solve the immediate crisis, we must quickly restore the natural balances, or quickly create a new balance."

The rice prices of this year has risen 150%, and rice will soon become the food only the rich can afford.

In the latest issue of British "Economist" magazine, it has done such investigation: in poor countries, in order to guarantee three meals a day, the middle class don't see doctor or eat meat. For those poor people with an average daily revenue of US$2, they are forced to sacrifice their children's education expenses for rice. They don't even dare to eat vegetables. The people who earn US$1 a day, they can only eat a bowl of rice. Vegetables and fish are simply out of their imagination. It is a doom for those who earn only US$0.50.

How come the prices of rice has suddenly shot up? Ultimately, it is caused by excessive efforts in promoting industrial and commercial development over the past half century and neglected the agriculture industry.

Over the past half-century, as the trade industry is flourishing, agricultural is considered as “no future”. Many farmers have left the rural areas to cities for work. As a result, farm lands are unused. Some countries are committed to promoting urbanisation and massively expropriating agricultural lands. In come backward countries in Africa, some lands are left behind because of frequent wars.

In addition, as the recent oil prices is increasing, many advanced countries encourage farmers to plant crops, such as corns and sugar cane, that can be manufactured into bio-fuel, in a bid to solve the problem of shortage of natural resources. To gain more profits, many farmers abandon traditional crops and go after bio-fuel crops. As a result, we face the rice shortage dilemma.

At the moment, the greenhouse effects are still alarming and the food crisis is worsening. Famine is no longer the matter of the African refugees. It could happen to our neighbouring countries such as the Philippines, Bangladesh and so on. One day, maybe it will happen in our country.

The United Nations World Food Programme warned that the world is facing the “quiet tsunami” of increasing food prices. The population that cannot afford food has increased by 100 million. If the government does not take any action, the ordinary people like us are likely to be “swallowed” by the tsunami.

Of course, our government is prepared to grant RM4 billion to increase food production, in hope to achieve self-sufficiency of rice supply. This is a positive response measures, but it must be careful in the implementation and avoid too much interference.

In fact, there are signs to go by from the global warming issue to the recent food shortages. They are even interrelated. The natural biological chain has maintained the balance between supply and demand over the years. However, when human beings constantly start their development since the last century, imbalances are getting more and more serious. To solve the immediate crisis, we must quickly restore the natural balances, or quickly create a new balance. (By CHUA SZE CHIH/ Translated by LEE MEI NYEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

written by temenggong, April 29, 2008 12:30:43
This is BN's disasterous blunder in ignoring agriculture, food security and the malay rural poor! And the malays don't even realise it but continue to vote for them. Such is our education system and media freedom.

Rice and grains, vegetables, fruits, flowers and aqua culture are the way to go for Malaysia. They better create 50,000 felda-like ten hectare small farms, and spread it around the various communities rather than shackling malays further in agriculture.
written by Mustapha Kamal, April 29, 2008 12:31:12
Simple solution ? As the padi land has been reduced in acreage through BN followers housing projects, it's time to visit Sanusi Junid's solution - plant the damn thing on the roof-tops of these new houses which sit on ex-padi land !!!
written by chin, April 29, 2008 12:49:08
The government must be prepared to changed its ways. Better yet change the government.

Too much of our government's so called development allocations have actually accomplish nothing more than mere publicity. Most of it going to some UMNOputra's pocket, which make one very rich Malay and with the poor still poor, and now they will be hungry as well.

Judging from the numerous land conversions, unoccupied housing developments and large oil palm estates, our government has no idea of what is important but see only opportunities to line their pockets.

Stop corruption and abuse of power, and all will be well. In others words, kick BN out from the seat of government. Then we will have a better chance of surviving the coming global economic turmoil.

written by little dragon, April 29, 2008 13:00:06
At the moment, the greenhouse effects are still alarming and the food crisis is worsening.

yes, d earth is warming n yes, it is causing crop yields to decline. but it is NOT, n i repeat NOT, due to any greenhouse effect as v hv all been led to believe for so long. d present warming of d earth is caused by our sun's increased activity since d 80's. there is no telling how long it will last n research is still ongoing.

forget d polemics about fossil fuels etc n let's concentrate on resolving d food problem by recognizing d real causes. yes, urban migration is one. yes, increased factor costs is one thanks to george bush. n yes, global warming is one but this is well within our capacity to resolve given our present level of genetic technology. wat v strongly lack now is d will to resolve them.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 29, 2008 13:08:28
Learn from China and India
written by Fernz, April 29, 2008 13:16:04
Take this as a blessing in disguise. Malaysians should cut down on rice helpings. Even children are getting obese and coming down with diabetes. Adults should have rice only once a day, or better still, only once a week. Rice sends the blood glucose level up like no other food. If only more people checked their blood glucose level two hours after a meal, they would be shocked. Diabetes means heart problems and kidney problems and eventually complications.
After all that suffering, it’s goodbye in a very painful way. Life only happens once, unless you are Hindu or Buddhist, so don’t fritter it away because of gorging on mountains of rice everyday.

http://www.fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by tuanlokong, April 29, 2008 13:51:22
My suggest is BERNAS should go back to its original Policy.

In Sarawak we have more than enough garin but we could not SELL it because we need Licence from BERNAS!. This licence is stopped as they said due to too much issuance already. They issued them to a sleeping non producers or sleeping in the kampong. smilies/tongue.gif
written by middlepath, April 29, 2008 14:28:36
Correct,Correct,Correct ! Not only food crisis is on our door step, it's a world problem. World hunger problem is always there, only Malaysian are too lucky to take notice, as we are a blessed country. However, believe me, we the rakyat and all conscious good hearted people, must take note and move on with new dimension, new frontier, there are too many obese or fat people around in Malaysia, (this is a world trend too, especailly USA, etc). We are moving towards USA society where lots of people are taking junk foods and taking too much food as a habit, that they dont even know, and worse still, many work very hard in the office and no exercise, no time for exercise, but they have time to go somewhere else, spa, pub, etc. As such, 43% of malaysian are obese, per the health minister, 12 % of malaysian are diabetic, and more and more people are having kidney failure, heart problem, high blood pressure,
Big stomach (other than the pregnant woman) is not normal, please take care of your health !
Do you know when you are having kidney failure, unless you can get a replacement, you need to do bllod transfusion for 3x per week, at rm$150 each time, and that is about rm$1800 per month, and then, (that is at cost), you need to take vitamin pills, and not to mention the process take 3 to 4 hrs for each of the blood transfusion, so, chances, if you have a kidney failure, you are very difficult to work. it's no fun believe me, take health seriously now, before its too late.
are you smoking ? eating too much (80% of malaysia took too much rich) eat 2 plates of rice, drinking ? chances are if you are 40 years old, you should have something with you, high blood pressure, high cholestrol, heart problem, diabetes, etc.
did you do medical check up ?
please visit some of the charity organization or go visit the old folks home, or visit the hospital, then you will pick up the message along the way.....
seeing is believing, sitting in the office aircon chair will not make us realize how lucky we are.
please eat lesser and lesser rice as you can, you need need so much, unless you work as labourer.
Please, for god sake, please eat less rice, and eat more vegetable, so that you dont get too much meat choke up your stomach. We tend to eat too much,
and we overload our machine hence, our health is deteriorating, many people are eating about rm$500 medicine per month, as a habit,
they are just like paying toll in KL/PJ, it's becoming a habit, they will pay.
wake up malaysian,
Please eat less rice ! less food , you will be healthier, much more healthy than what you have today.
written by rayfire, April 29, 2008 15:05:49
I wonder, will rationing help? I mean can we establish a system whereby each family is allocated adequate amount for self sustainance?
Of course, we need reliable agents to take care of rationing if it is viable.
And of course some restrain should be done on food outlets as well, they tend to stock up unnecessarily.
A lot of work to be done, but worth it if at all we need to survive.
At least we could justify the bancian of penduduk statistics being taken.

Of course, all those middleman , please bertaubat!

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com and read "New Government - New Hope?"
Take poll "When should PR form New Government?"
written by bn haramjadah, April 29, 2008 18:47:42
The logic of taking away land from farmers who are willing to farm and giving the land to vested interests and cronies like what happened in perak recently is going to lead malaysia to dissastrous results. instead of giving subsidies and increasing the food production they that is the bn govt are stealing the land to for development, cement factories and oil palm production, without realising the affect this will have.that is why ALL FOOD EXPORTS OF MALAYSIAN FOODS SHOULD BE STOPPED, LOCAL CONSUMPTION MUST BE A PRIORTY, ONLY THE EXCESS TO BE EXPORTED. local farm products should be used for the local markets not FOR THE SINGAPORE AND THAI MARKETS. THE REASON THE ESSENTIAL FOOD PRICES ARE GOING UP IS FARMERS ARE EXPORTING TO SINGAPORE DAILY, BECAUSE OF BETTER EXCHANGE AND HARD CURRENCY AND BETTER PRICES. because food is flowing out there is a shortage in the local markets..prices go up, all this is also artifically created by hoarding. its is a economics of scale effect. this has to stop.local consumption first before feeding singaporeans.
written by Tokyobanker, April 29, 2008 19:12:49
Despite being one of the most industrialized and developed nation in the world, Japan is self sufficient in rice production. In fact, they have some surplus to supply to developing countries as part of the development aid.

By the way, the average price of one kilogram of rice in the supermarket is approximately 12 Ringgit, that is more than 5 times the price of rice in Malaysia.

As a matter of national security, Japan maintains a minimum self sufficiency policy in staple foods.

In order to encourage farmers to plant rice and not abandoning the rice fields, the government guarantees a high purchase price from the farmers through the agricultural cooperatives. The purchase price is indeed higher than the market price. Such a mechanism guarantees a stable livelihood and income for the farmers.

However, the subsidy is becoming such a big burden for the government that the moment the ruling party decides to cut the subsidy, they lose the regional electorate to the opposition parties.

Does Malaysia need to maintain such a self sufficient policy?

If we maintain good foreign and trade relationship with our neighbours policies and maintain a free trade policy, it is still cheaper to import each of the commodities from the cheapest production location. There is no need to be so insecure as Japan vis-a-vis its neighbours.
written by Bunda, April 29, 2008 19:13:54
I have a friend who is familiar with our rice growing policies, especially in the rice bowl of Kedah. Do you know what happens to the subsidized fertilizer most farmers are entitled to? The same thing that happens to the subsidized diesel that our fishermen get... it is smuggled out of the country for a better profit.

That's why rice yields in our country cannot match those of Vietnam or Thailand. Of course, Thailand also has better technology and techniques, mostly from Taiwan, but the rice farmers there do not have the benefit of subsidized fertilizer. They do get interest-free and easy loans, but they still have to pay full price for their seeds, fertilizer, and farming equipment.

Our farmers are a microcosm of the wrong policies being implemented by our government. We, the rakyat and taxpayer, are paying for these wrong policies. And, our neighbouring countries and our smugglers are the ones who benefit.

smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by talk2stop, April 29, 2008 19:33:43
Do nothing. Let nature take its course. The world is over populated we reached to equalibrium stage. The weak and poor got to be the 1st to go. Can't help bad luck. But I don't support that.
I hope human will come together for we now have a common enemy. I hope we put away all our differences to solve this unsolveable problem and never have time for fight among ourselves. Only a common enemy can unite the world.
written by wood, April 29, 2008 19:58:40
Imagine if we do not have enough rice we will be at the mercy of others and we have plenty of land! No use complaining that our cost of producing rice is high!
It will remain high if nothing is being done about it and we continue doing the same thing year in year out.! The same thing will happen if all our highly labour intensive industries in Malaysia are doing nothing to improve productivity! Malaysia will be in big big trouble in the not too distant future.
Perhaps we already are!

If we do not have the expertise to do something about increasing rice production at competitive prices, I suggest we should not kid ourselves anymore and start looking high and low for the "real experts" to assist us. If the existing system can work, we would have done it long ago.!

Time waits for no man !
written by cubi76, April 29, 2008 20:48:12
I still remember the sky turned black because of the burning of the padi.

I spent my younger days in padi field in Kedah. It used to be many rice mills in Kedah, most of them operated by hardworking Chinese enterprenuers. Then there came the nationalisation of the rice producing industry, of course in the name to help the Malay farmers, under the spirit of NEP.

The way they did was simple. The government subsidies were given to the farmers through this particular rice mill, by buying the padi at higher price. So what happened was as everyone expected, all the farmers sold their padi to this particular rice mill. Lorries after lorries of padi queued up in front of the mill waiting to unload their padi, at some days there were about hundred of lorries lining up beside the road to the mill.

As the mill capacity is limited, the padi that was already unloaded from the lorries was put aside at the vacant land. Day after day, the padi accumulated and get higher and higher, and I remember it looked really like as high as a hill.

Everyone knows that the padi cant wait too long to be processed, coz it's a plant, it turns bad, or it grows! So after some time, when the mill really couldnt process the padi anymore, they did what they did. They burnt the padi. And the sky turned dark.

There was of course corruption when distributing the subsidies to the farmers, and how the farmers manipulated the subsidy system. Everyone over there knew how it worked out. But that's another story.

The point that I wanna stress is that, the way the government carried out the subsidy and NEP policy is flawed. Many Chinese operated rice mills had closed down ever since, cause of subsidy and distribution license. The rice market is basically monopoly nowadays.

But what's the point of the NEP? Chinese businessmen lose out, the padi was burnt, farmers didnt work or earn much.

The only ones who benefit... the cronies.

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by bn haramjadah, April 30, 2008 04:32:29
This is not an anti malay comment, I do not have any intention to insult anyone except a certain species of parasites normally found in faeces, this species of parasite is called UMNO....so here I go, when the chinese were running the mills and paying the malays the market value and every one was satisfied, why was these policies changed,do you notice evetime something that is running smothly UMNO THE PARASITE GOES IN AND FOCKS IT UP, why did bernas come into the show. now the time is 2008, bernas imports rice, what happened who focked up, who killed the farmers, UMNO CAN YOU ANSWER. WITH ALL THE CORRUPTION SCANDALS GOING ON AND WHAT EVERY DONKEY ON THE STREET KNOWS, HOW CAN YOU HOLD YOUR HEAD UP HIGH. MANA MARUAH, MANA ISATIADAT MELAYU. BANGSA MELAYU ADALAH SATU BANGSA YANG BERADAT BIAR TETAMU MAKAN SAYA BIAR LAPAR. NOT THAT I AM SAYING YOU STARVE or anything to that effect, but the malay culture was never like this, what happened, the umnoputras with their alcoholics and pseudo islamic values, have put the malays to shame, have the MALAYS-PARASITE-UMNOCUNNILINGUS FORGOTEN ABOUT SHAME, MALU BILA ORANG PANGIL KITA CURI, TAPI ADAT UMNO LAIN, YANG LEBIH,CURI, LEBIH MEMBER UMNO BERTEPUK TANGAN JADI WIRA, BIAR ORANG MISKIN MATI, TAK PA, JADI I DAPAT PAKAI JAM ROLEX RM40,000. KASUT RM1,500. TAK-PE BANGSA SENDIRI MATI, KONON NYA SAYA ADA 5 MERCEDES KAT RUMAH. MALU LAH. MANA MARUAH UMNO PERGI...KAT SPA KOT... MINUM ARAK DAN KACAU BINI ORANG. ADAKAH INI AKHLAK ORANG MELAYU-UMNO BENAR-BENAR. TO ME I DON'T THINK SO, THE Malays on the street are not and never this. it is that shaitan shithole called UMNO WHICH HAS FOCKED THINGS UP.
written by aryn, May 01, 2008 16:06:38
Itu lah. Dulu banyak tanah sawak ingat mau tanak bangunan saja. Alasan development for the people.

Nah, rasakan sekarang. That buildings cannot be eaten.

Begitu banyak tanak Malaysia yang terbiar nak buat apa? Come on govt, start planting our own food and don't stressed on development projects for your BN cronies.
written by Eskay Lim, May 02, 2008 15:27:24
The shortage of basic food products would definitely be the "after effects" of the March-8, political tsunami.
With change of world weather patters, scarcity & food shortage would cause a steep increase in the prices of basic foods. This will affect thepeople of the whole world, but to the poor people this would be a tragedy. And Malaysia has a fair number of these poor who would not forgive the government for having caused our resource-rich country like Malaysia to be in this dire situation, all due to the serious mismanagement and corrupt practices by their leaders the last many years.
Coupled with these, the increase in oil & energy prices would cause further food shortages because many of these basic foods have been diverted for the production of bio-fuels.
Despite the govt.'s claim of a strong economy the leaders must sow & prove to the citizens that all these problems will not affect seriousy affect them, especially the many poor Malaysians.