Globe-trotting VIP wives PDF Print
Monday, 28 April 2008 19:51

R. Nadeswaran and Terence Fernandez, The Sun

PETALING JAYA (April 27, 2008): While their husbands went on “lawatan sambil belajar”, the wives were not to be outdone. Shopping trips, overseas junkets and lavish functions have been the hallmark of activities of Balkis – Association of Wives of State Assemblymen and Members of Parliament in Selangor.

Nothing wrong with the junkets, except that their excesses were paid for by the state government and private donors, who contributed money thinking that it was going to good causes.

Attempts to get an insight into its operations have come to naught -- newly-appointed state execuive councillors Teresa Kok and Elizabeth Wong who had gone to the Balkis secretariat to seek information and collect files were refused entry. Staff had been “instructed” not to allow anyone access to the office.

While Balkis has done its bit for the less fortunate – its most visible contribution being the setting up of Kompleks Wawasan Balkis (KWB) its RM5 million secretariat which doubles as a women’s shelter in Shah Alam – some of its programmes raise the question if Balkis’ philanthropy is a mere façade for a group of VIPs to enjoy themselves at the expense of generous donors who include state government subsidiaries.

In the eight years that Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo has been mentri besar, his wife Datin Seri Zaharah Kechik, who headed Balkis has led delegations on trips to Europe, Hongkong and Australia.

According to sources in the state government, these trips were listed as among the association’s annual activities but had nothing to do with charity.

Balkis' accounts have never been made public and no one is sure if they too had endured the same fate as other documents -- shredded and destroyed after Barisan Nasional (BN)’s rule in Selangor ended on March 8.

But the extravagance of Balkis has been laid bare by the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) which revealed that it gave RM218,719.60 for the opening ceremony of KWB.

It also revealed that 43,560 sq ft of land for the construction of KWB was given to Balkis at an undervalued RM250,000 – an eyebrow-raising contra deal to off-set a loan between PKNS and the state government.

Private donors include the Sunway Group and LBS Bina Sdn Bhd. Apart from PKNS, other state government subsidiaries which have contributed to Balkis included Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Berhad which gave RM268,862.

According to an official at one of the subsidiaries, there are regular requests from Balkis for financial contributions.

Balkis has been in the news since last Friday when theSun front-paged a report that its previous executive committee headed by Zaharah had transferred Balkis’ RM9.9 million to Bakti – the federal Organisation of Wives of Ministers – three days after Selangor fell to the Opposition in the general election. The previous exco also tried to dissolve the association and set up a new body – Balkis-BN.

The newly-elected Pakatan Rakyat state government is demanding the return of the money, saying these actions were illegal. The Registrar of Societies, meanwhile, has yet to approve the dissolution of Balkis and has asked for additional information from Zaharah’s administration.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by hitam had, April 28, 2008 19:58:09
How to give more information if all the documents are either missing or shredded?

Pax.
written by panca, April 28, 2008 20:00:45
I remember saying in one comment that if you are in Paris, there is a "fat" chance of seeing some powerful wives having loads of Louis Vutton. It's shopping mania, it's like 'free-for-all' for them. The whole range of smaller to big and bigger and not to forget these whole baggages are re-filled all other designers' items upon departure. So one can easily guess who pays for these, a 300k and above is no hairan bib!

The way of these wives that won't blink an eye when money is at their easy acquisition and disposal.

Semuanya ok!
written by LKO, April 28, 2008 20:05:12
Hey! Those ex-ladies of Balkis were poor unfortunate souls that deserved "special treatment". Can you imagine how embarassing it will be if they go to functions without original Guccis, etc.?? How can they walk properly without Prada shoes? Or see well without designer glasses? Or swing their arms without Rolex? They are totally disabled without all that stuff.

We have to donate to them because they are so pitiful! Now they are mentally retarded because they don't know the concept of money ownership. I'm so sad
agree 183
written by Taikohtai, April 28, 2008 20:14:40
Obviously Balkis no support Syariah laws....
Tudung, any takers, Datins? I am more than happy to contribute for this worthy cause anytime.
written by Lim Lim, April 28, 2008 20:23:38
who know??the hard earned tax payers' money could hav even been used to pay for their 'rodeo show' engaging the cowboys besides globe trotting...
written by malsia1206, April 28, 2008 20:25:57
I am more concerned whether one Datin crossed the line by ordering a lovely Mongolian lady to be murdered in cold blood. There is some suspicion she could even have been raped before her cruel death. Desperate housewife as the expression goes. How real is that for a bloody fact of life in Malaysia?
written by ibabonma, April 28, 2008 20:29:02
UMNO tetap UMNO, jantan atau betina.
written by Lim Lim, April 28, 2008 20:34:25
during our school days,we hear story about "Ali Baba n the forty thieves",but now in selangor,we are having the latest version..that is"Ali Baba n the forty thieves plus their wives",they are on par.. as crooked as their husbands!
written by gctham, April 28, 2008 20:34:56
every time i read articles written by Nades and Terence my heartache. this beautiful land of ours is really unfortunate to have these champion of the poor and unfortunate but end up being the buaya darat, hantu hisap darah. the saddest part was as we read the articles,we are leaving hopeless and helpless time and time again. time and time the same line of story keep coming back. no matter how these guys put it in crystal clear minding, no body care to put a stop. what have the people in this land have done in the past to reserve this kind of punishment. time to change. 5 states are not good enough. it must be the parliament. the ultimate goal!

agree 114
written by rajven72, April 28, 2008 20:44:45
they all sudah pening kepala, sudah jadi nyanuk
suami dah tak ada contact nak cari makan, so shotcut
makan duit rakyat.

YB.MB.Khalid ==>do not let them go off the hook
written by raven1958, April 28, 2008 20:45:25
If it was China...all of them would have been shot in the head.....no chance of this happening in Singapore......Anwar once went to jail for six years for corruption or something.........why is the PR government not bringing the full weight of the law to bear against these crooked females.....are Ronnie, Teresa etc waiting for a Zakaria Deros type of disaster where the rakyat were so pissed with the State government not doing anything to Zakaria....until the people sacked the entire government.......

The PR government must be more serious, make police reports even though our police have no balls....and make the rakyat see that politicians or their evil wives or children who steal public money are punished......otherwise the PR is no different from the BN......
written by apasalahku, April 28, 2008 20:55:40
APASALAHKU predicts:

This issue will be closed in no time; and the People will forget.
Abdul Khalid does not seem to have the guts to make decisive punitive decisions.
written by ibabonma, April 28, 2008 20:58:34
Laki kencing berdiri, bini kencing berlari!!!
written by alienz, April 28, 2008 20:58:44
I won't be surprised if ALL the Menteris' wives came back with a stackful of blue VCDs/movies only found in girlies' stores in London, Paris, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Copenhagen, New York and even from the North Pole. The mufti of Perak should organise a raiding party sometime in the near future...
written by LKO, April 28, 2008 21:01:28
Ah, our late Datuk Zakaria is a saint compared with these ladies. No wonder no one wants to pursue action against him. Others have much more shit... A lot more!
written by timberguy, April 28, 2008 21:07:48
Horrible! And such arrogance to see in this Zaharah-wife-of-Toyol... We are all rubbish to him and her... YAB Tan Sri Khalid, do not let this matter rest! Public opinion is with you! Even if their courts find "no wrongful action" committed... Get rid of the botox man and his thief-wife!
written by lynn, April 28, 2008 21:10:16
Pathetic, sad, shocking, disgusting - after a few days, no further mention, no action, case closed. Are Umno grassroot members reading this ... is this acceptable, ask yourselves? Are you going to keep this gov't in power? Are you sure?
written by malaysia united, April 28, 2008 21:50:04
Today's UMNO sad position is the result of the lack of integrity from Dr M and poor leadership from AAB. We cannot expect much from current UMNO as it is utterly corrupt.They are only a handfull of good UMNO members but toothless to bring any positive change. It is terrible to see how much of this nation wealth is being stolen and yet there is nothing we can do as long as current government is not replaced. PR must bring the change!
written by shan, April 28, 2008 21:51:49
LKO,,,our late Zak,nicked a piece of land in Klang from the state gomen for free and sold it to some Singaporean for 23million.,.Not even the premium for the land was paid,.It was paid by the poor unsuspecting buyer when he could not get the cf for the shops/office block he constructed.,The place is where the old market once stood.,This is one clever long term planning by a crooked BN man.Bro,.,no one in BN is clean.,.have you seen his palace?

back to our ladies, they have suddenly become aristcrates,living a life like they were born with a silver spoon.,You should see them in US or Europe.,.Bill gates also kalah the way they spend.Astoria is their second home when in NY. smilies/sad.gif
written by smeagrooo, April 28, 2008 22:10:46
Private donors include the Sunway Group and LBS Bina Sdn Bhd. Apart from PKNS, other state government subsidiaries which have contributed to Balkis included Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Berhad which gave RM268,862.

Can anyone tell me if such donations doesnt smell like an act of "u scratch my back i garu ur arse" shiat?

End of the day whatever charity these scums have done or so they thot all came from these donors. They are merely using their "jalan" to solicit becos some donors have no choice but to donate if they wanna continue to ride the gravy train. Probably a legal channel to pay out some "commission".
written by 1eyecls, April 28, 2008 22:17:40
toyo dared not touch zek bcos he himself is full of shits!

ministers' wives huh?so all the MCA,MIC,PPP,BERSATU MPs' wives also enjoy the BALKIS free trips,no wonder the BN was so upset,up set untill the desperate wives keep-on asking:bang,bang tahun ni kita nak pegi ke mana?dah janji NEW YORK kan?boleh jadi tak?
written by 1eyecls, April 28, 2008 22:24:38
we scolding ppl's son:son of a bitch!

you know where do these bitches came from?majority from UMNO!correct?
written by LKO, April 28, 2008 22:33:13
shan, are you sure the ladies did not wallop more than the late Datuk??

I have suspicions that collectively they are better off. RM9.9m may just be small change.
written by Rohani Hitam, April 28, 2008 22:52:51
I am surprised on the disclosure. I thought "The Sun" is BN controlled. Oh yes, they are looking for a scape goat. Khir Toyo is powerless now and shall be the slaughter lamb.

Expose, expose, expose!! Now Sharir you know how ugly is BN/UMNO. Their wives are not spared either. It's all in the game. Wayang, wang, wayand, wang, wang, wang, wang........................
written by temenggong, April 28, 2008 23:00:37
Do Sg.Buloh inmates read the Sun?

Damn! Those dudes are looking forward to a gang bang already!

Thank you toyol! You're the man!!
written by krepot, April 28, 2008 23:06:08
This moronic women was a nurse when The Indon married her, she was so kampungan, she could not even speak English! I remember this sorry face sitting at her husband's dental clinic - she was the receptionist cum nurse there - little did I expect her to move up (good for her) and behave like every other UMNO women, the joys of new found power and wealth.

I would die, to see that humble tudung clad women, sitting at the entrance of that dental clinic just once more.....
written by middlepath, April 28, 2008 23:53:08
this also prove to the world that Umno and BN MP, StateAssemblyman are corrupt, arrogant, greedy people, and also, their MP and Adun wife also same, same, the Umno and BN wife also very corrupt, greedy, arrogant, they use the Charity money for personal gain, go for shopping in the foreign country. How can they go overseas so shopping and using charity money from the public. They need to be hang, so that they will not do the same thing again. I am very disappointed with the Umno and BN MPs and the ADUN and their wife, so screw up.
time to change, vote for PR and ask the MP from BN go over to PR> so we have new gov.
written by Spear Bing, April 28, 2008 23:54:38
Khir Toyo and his wife can argue convincingly that their actions to dissolve BALKIS and transfer the funds were above board in full compliance to the constitution of the Association. They can proved that their laywers said so.

No matter how virtuous, how justified, how law-abiding, and how logical their actions are, they need only to search deep into their conscience, that ethically, morally and spiritually it's not the correct thing to do.

Only their Creator will one day hand down the judgment whether they are guilty or innocent. Meantime let them suffer from this pangs.

Man can propose but God disposes.
written by messrs_stieh, April 28, 2008 23:56:24
globe trotting vip wives-do you actually need them to be around? what are they good for?
written by temenggong, April 29, 2008 00:14:07
I would die, to see that humble tudung clad women, sitting at the entrance of that dental clinic just once more...

No need! Just get in the queue in Sg. Buloh Prison.

It'll take a while though.
written by pillars, April 29, 2008 00:22:04
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation

anybody notice the shiny pearls and the LV handbag on the table smilies/smiley.gif
written by mikewang, April 29, 2008 00:53:57
Aiyooo.... Balkis annual accounts for 2007 was never audited lah.
Apparently Mohd Toyo lied.
Go read Malaysiakini report.

Like what Dato Harun revealed during that infamous trial of the '70s when he was asked to account for those money in the Muhammad Ali-Joe Bugner fight,
"What is UMNO's is mine and what is mine is UMNO's."
written by BennyG, April 29, 2008 00:55:39
There is one more thing that ROS requires i.e. an annual audited account. Without the audited account, ROS will begin de-registering the association. Since Balkis had survived 8 years, then there is at least 7 years of audited account to carefully vet through.

From there, the donors will be revealed and the expenses exposed!
written by Lim Lim, April 29, 2008 01:13:24
now,u should know why that deceased thief zakaria mat dickdos was untouchable;becos this bunch of jantan n betina thieves are also carrying heavy luggages containing more shits!!
written by shan, April 29, 2008 02:19:14
LKO,The late datuk was an old bull at the game.,.He is one of the reason for the slow development of Klang.,.The stupid indo maid of a wife of Toyol is stupid,can only blow money,thinking that her husband's position is guaranted.

This old man top a US$105 million tourist hospital project in Klang becos,the foreign investor refused to give him US$5 million undertable.He stopped the project in cohort with the Toyol.

In the end the investor took his money and off to thailand where he was welcomed.The land the investor bought for the project is now for sale,.,any takers?.,.,Bull or Cows they are all of the same mentality.,.,.Easy money,public money,or they legally extord the money from you.,

The old man paid about 20 people to protest against the hospital project saying that the construction of the hospital will devalue the properties around it,.That's fantastic economics!!!What about the state dentist who went about wantonly raping the forest around shah alam and created a glut in the property market by over suppling the houses.,.,.,.
So you see by having a gatekeeper and a dentist and a stupid nurse who seduces the dentist to be his wife,.,we get screwed royally,.,Hindu karma curse ,.,.Hope the next reincarnation the will be mr & mrs WORM no teeth. smilies/grin.gif
written by shan, April 29, 2008 02:24:23
Lebar Daun Something s/b belongs to TOYOL
written by NickChan, April 29, 2008 10:29:02
using charity money to lavish, they will rot in hell
written by TWOG, April 29, 2008 11:00:54

How to give more information if all the documents are either missing or shredded?

Well, many some hard copies or duplicates exist somewhere - hopefully some insiders will come out and blow whistles. Most of the info should have soft copies. Even if they are deleted from the hard disk, the marvels of computer forensics will be able to retrieve most of them. And some staffer may hard copies in their CDs or thumb drives.
written by ultraman, April 29, 2008 17:02:56
NEVER VOTE FOR BN NOW AND EVER!!! THEY ARE A BUNCH OF HIPOCRYTES. PRETENDING TO BE ALIM AND THEN F*** OFF WITH OUR HARD EARNED MONEY. OH YES, GATAL AGASIN. FONDLE WOMEN WHILE DRUNK! DOUBLE DOSA TAHU?
written by kingelvis, April 29, 2008 18:25:30
Enjoy on public funds!
written by RFernandez, April 29, 2008 21:35:05
The BN Government including their wives are definitely a bunch of Pirates. I wonder if the AG can be requested by Selangor State governement to investigate these corrupt allegations or will this one be swept under the carpet too. Just imagine over the years of BN rule if the Ministers & their wives had all served with Honor do you think Malaysia would be so far behind Singapore? Definitely not. Think again when you vote Barisan Nasional or UMNO, MIC or MCA, they are all bunch of Pirates.
written by Vasily, May 01, 2008 14:51:43
why they not just donate all the money to some kids or people that really need the fund?? that why everyday in nespapers and news.....poor/ordinary people bagging for fund for medication fees...may God reams each of them *******s...amin!!
written by Oyster, May 02, 2008 10:31:31
All the speeches and talks about TRANSPARENCY were pointless or simply just that- 'talk'. These desparate houswives and their equally desparate husbands couldn't even spell the word if their lives depended on it.Do they give a f**k? hell no! For them it's,"Screw the rakyat. Just go on shopping holidays abroad using the rakyats cash.
For the rest of us, it's another shitty day in paradise.