Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Freedom From An Oppressive Government

Freedom From An Oppressive Government PDF Print
Monday, 28 April 2008 14:13

The greatest legacy the leader of a nation could bequeath would be freedom from an oppressive government. This realization comes to me when I compare Malaysia ’s experience during the 1997 economic crisis to America ’s current struggle with its massive debt mess.

The differences in reactions and consequences are attributable to one salient factor: Unlike Malaysians, Americans do not fear and are not dependent upon their government. Americans have a healthy skepticism towards their leaders and government, an attribute generally lacking among Malaysians.

With Malaysia in 1997 there was a general crisis of confidence, with widespread gloom and doom permeating the skyscrapers in Kuala Lumpur as well as the suraus in Ulu Kelantan, and from the Prime Minister to the village penghulu. It also precipitated a deep and ugly split in the leadership that resulted in riots and ugly street demonstrations. The very symbol of our sovereignty – the ringgit – was devalued.

Like Malaysia then, America is today plagued with a mountain of debt on a scale, a universe beyond what Malaysia suffered. The American dollar is also being debased, not by the government however as with Malaysia , but by the more powerful force of the marketplace.

The American tribulation is even greater, as the leadership – in particular President Bush – is viewed as ineffective and irrelevant. America is additionally burdened with an expensive and bloody war. Yet for all that, there are no riots or widespread doom and gloom. When Americans are disenchanted with their president or government, they throng the voting booths in record numbers to vote for a change.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by tbsbidayuh, April 28, 2008 14:30:06
Pete Said,

"The "Islamic" country, Malaysia is a communist country too." He is right too.
written by Thian, April 28, 2008 14:46:09
What is happening in the World and Malaysia is well described in The Mayan Calendar (look at www.youtube.com, search for the Mayan Calendar. When you can search for jeanjeansl very interesting)
written by joeawk, April 28, 2008 14:46:15
Malaysia as we, malaysians, know is definitely not democratic and not also our own form of democracy butmore communism and authoritarian.
written by Daryl, April 28, 2008 16:18:49
Majority of Malaysian tends to vote based on party loyatly or blind loyalty. Maybe is our culture that is to respect those in power. However, they need to change that at least when selecting leaders for the country. Voting rights is very powerful like the way it is done in US. The president is from Republican, House and Senate are under Democratic since 2006. In 2006 the Americans decide that they cannot have the House and Senate under Republican and they change that without much controversial. Repbulican states doesn't have to remove documents or shred documents. Don't need to setup Republican panel just to receive money to work on Federal projects. All these changes doesn't effect the public much because of good geovernance that was build over the years plus the maturity of the public in choosing their leaders.

One glance at our leaders and you can find all types that normally doesn't qualified as leaders but are there. Rakyat open your eyes and minds and learn to choose wisely. Voting rights is more powerful than you can imagine and grab your own destiny and make them work for you not the other way around. Let them play and obey your rules not theirs.
written by NRR, April 28, 2008 17:05:49
Well said Daryl. The UMNO and BN goons do not understand what Democracy is all about. They want to withold development funds for PR controlled states, the wives want to keep the charity funds they obtained to give out as they please. They do not understand that their actions affect the common citizens, citizens of this country. The funds are not their own to use as they please, but to be used for the good of the citizens. The funds were contributed by the citizens and not by UMNO or BN goons. Very sad indeed. They don't seem to want to learn from others, but want to continue to oppress any and all opposition, using bankrupt politicians who are more of thugs than anything else.
written by Tokyobanker, April 28, 2008 21:51:06

You cannot literally compare USA with Malaysia. USA has more than 200 years of tested and proven democracy and Malaysia has 50 years of perfected cronyism, racism and corruption.

In a mature developed economy, you have professionals mending fort at all fronts. The politicians are there merely to provide a stable transparent platform for all other activities including economic and business activities, to be performed to their fullest potential, irrespective of whichever parties win the election.

The problem we have in Malaysia is with the years of opaque deal making and subsidies, we have a country full of handicapped people. We have handicapped politicians, handicapped businessmen and entrepreneurs, handicapped bankers, handicapped bureaucrates, all looking out and fighting for the next handouts.

For the country to prosper and mature, besides changing the politicians and political system, we need to clean up all these crony businessmen who have been leeching off the system with the only objective of enriching themselves.
written by Eskay Lim, April 29, 2008 21:40:08
The Umno govt. is trying to punish the voters who didn't support the Barisan Nasional during the GE-12 recently, for causing 5 states to fall into the hands of the opposition, the Pakatan Rakyat. In taking revenge for their defeat, the govt. is cancelling all major projects and starving the 5 states of the much needed govt. funds to run the states.
Umno govt. is also still acting arrogant, thinking the federal funds belongs to Umno although citizens pay taxes, direct or indirectly.
But we shall not despair because if the govt. does not change its attitude, we (each & everyone) shall get more voters, friends, comrades, neighours, relatives and family members to vote against BN again in the GE-13 and totally send BN into oblivion. We have 5 long years to do a silent campaign for this purpose.