Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow How the Aussies fight corruption

How the Aussies fight corruption PDF Print
Sunday, 27 April 2008 21:00

by Aniza Damis

Fulfilling transparency promises

Last Monday, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced that the Anti-Corruption Agency would be revamped into a Malaysian Commission on Anti-Corruption, granting it greater independence. But how does such a commission work? Can it really be independent?

ANIZA DAMIS speaks to Roy Waldon, the executive director of the legal division in the New South Wales Independent Commission Against Corruption (NSW ICAC), and finds out what made this Australian state's 20-year fight against corruption successful

Q: What is the function of the ICAC?

Read More Here 

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Jilo, April 27, 2008 21:15:26
Raja Petra in RTM1 today reveal all.Better than Hardtalk of BBC.
written by teckchim, April 27, 2008 21:17:58
Malaysia is allow to talk, discuss about Anti Corruption.
But to try it real, fair, true. too many Big guy will kena, maybe the one to talk
now. One word, it won't happen in this term.
Pakatan Rakyat, we hope on U!
written by Malaysiaku, April 27, 2008 21:19:13
It will never be independent as it is appointed/recommended to be appointment/appointed on the advise by the PM. Dare the ACA investigate and charge the PM is there is something amiss? Stop conning the public. WE ain't stupid anymore.
written by Malaysiaku, April 27, 2008 21:29:55
Well, we should also have it as "How Malaysia's New Govt fights corruption" statement. We put them against the wall and shoot these corrupted bastards and then bill their family for the bullets!
written by Commonsenses, April 27, 2008 21:52:46
RPK, I thought the blog program is supposed to be 30 minutes and I think they have shorten it to 15 minutes, if it were to continue for another 15 minutes, the government may stopped the programe altogether. At time the host was left amazed and they way you shoot the answer to his question I think the host just is lost for words. Its real hard talk. The host is just not your match. Bravo RPK.
written by cubi76, April 27, 2008 21:55:27
The success of anti-corruption go line in line with the press freedom.

Please reform the crucial information act as well.

For King and Country.
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 27, 2008 22:02:06
As long as it reports to PM it is not going to work.
written by lynn, April 27, 2008 22:21:00
Let's face it, the new MCAC will report to the PM only; like I say, the ACA put on new 'uniforms', given new name "Malaysian ACA" and hey presto, we are reformed. Don't try to kid us, we Malaysians are not stupid blinking fools. Anyway in line with the above, nothing was mentioned by Bodowi abt new AG. We desperately need a new AG, ok? Why can't AAB call it ICAC? The word Independent is very very important. What's wrong with using the same name as HK & Australia?
Loser.
written by Ben, April 27, 2008 22:24:19
Another good investigative reporting from Aniza. ICAC is feared because it is independant. The I, Independant, before CAC is extremely important. Otherwise, I cannot CAC the crooks, whoever they may be.
written by nowinnofee, April 27, 2008 22:24:30
i missed the interview on rtm 1 as ihad just logged in here, can anyone letme know if i can get in on the internet and where>

thanks
written by Countach, April 27, 2008 22:42:22
Put Mahathir into Jail first.
written by Msian 2, April 27, 2008 22:59:11
RPK should be appointed the head commission of anti-corruption. We need a team of new blood and a strong start to the seriousness of this agency otherwise it would be same old thing, different name only. There are many models from countries where we could get ideas on to successfully combat corruption.
written by budakindia, April 27, 2008 23:01:52
In Malaysia the most important thing is the name! See now we have a commission who is above the law ooops above the ministry! So that's how we solve problems! We have lots of commission which have sophisticated names and ... that's it! Implementation what implementation? No need! We already the commission! and of course as a commission in Malaysia, we have the people who sits in committees and .... do exactly nothing! Just an office with loads of papers, tables and desks! When somebody complain we pretend to make it so important, file it in a nice folder with the commission logo all over it and keep it in the cabinet! That's it! It's like a black hole of all your complains and grouses! And the government could happily robbing all the resources! smilies/cheesy.gif That's how we solved problems in Malaysia! We don't sweep everything under the carpet! We just make or ask somebody to build very big vacuum for us! smilies/grin.gif
written by bexe, April 27, 2008 23:18:21
The aussie model is as good as it comes.

Important points
Independently constituted and managed. In our situation perhaps an act by the Royalty with recommendations by the Parliament or State Assembly.
Answerable to Parliament. Not to any politician. Not to the PM.
Open, and transparent
Another vital point. Get results as close to the time of the offense as possible.
We do that and I think we will restore some of our dignity.
Najis: That is dignity. Ethics, Morality. Not knowledge, not egos, not chauvinism. But ETHICS.

written by 1eyecls, April 27, 2008 23:35:10
RPK was fantastic on the show,he rily hits right to the target,but before he managed to elaborate,the RTM guy (ashamed of him calling himself a blogger too!)asked another question!(i wonder who will surf into his blog,he was so dumb!)

RPK condemns the UMNO,and ISLAM countries too!WOW, most probably he will be criticised by ISLAMIC ppl for his remarks too!

wat did he say?ok,tis is not a correct topic here,it's talking about ICAC,i will comment more when the relevant topic comes in!sorry! smilies/cool.gif
written by power2u, April 28, 2008 00:12:26
RPK you were absolutely FANTASTIC in RTM talk show today.You have my vote for PM anytime.I love the way you shot down all the answers to the MC's questions.It left the MC extremely uncomfortable and looking like an utter idiot(for uttering standard BN answers).
When Pakatan Rakyat takes over ,pls have a talk show about politics in M'sia and I am sure it will surpass even Oprah talk show.
Bravo!!!You are naturally passionate and inteliigent and that is why they are in awe of you.
written by BennyG, April 28, 2008 00:18:35
Thank you to all the blogs which highlight RPK's RTM1 interview. Made me curious to search for youtube links and special thanks to hanief.

http://hanief.********.com/2008/04/raja-petra-kamaruddin-blog-rtm1-hasim.html

RPK, u were awesome!
written by pwcheng, April 28, 2008 01:43:42
I missed the interview of RPK in RTM1. Can any kind soul upload it to uyoutube. Thanks
written by pwcheng, April 28, 2008 01:46:56
Sorry I missed it!!
written by doggone, April 28, 2008 03:13:09
I got the feeling that the host, Hasim Abu Haniffa really wanted to end the interview as fast as possible and maybe go light-up a cigie to calm his nerves. He most probably didn't expect RPK to elaborate so extensively on the questions and issues at hand.
'Every time the views touches on the shortfalls of ourgovernment, he immediately interrupts the flow of the interview with another question from the note in his hands.

Hasim gives the idea that he is under a gag order to evoke 'coitus interruptus' when the respondent's reply reached a state of heightened physiological stimulation. To the viewers, it shows the lack of courtesy compounded with the inability to handle harsh political analysis.

RPK handled himself pretty well for a first timer on Live TV with only the slightest pause to a fresh question. He might be trying to find the best way to field his reply.

Maybe it was my imagination. At one point when Pete was cut short by the host, he still had half a lung full of breath that he might have wanted to unload onto Hasim's face. Believe me, it really was just my imagination, or maybe my subconscious wanting Pete to do that.

My apologies for a comment on an unrelated article here.
written by Lis LQ, April 28, 2008 07:10:16
Bravo RPK,you were really GREAT.You should be the PM of Malaysia,aman lah Rakyat.I forced myself to watch the RTM1 news,so as not to miss RPK on RTM Blog.
Kasian the blog guy,hehehe makan biji bulat bulat!!!
written by joeawk, April 28, 2008 14:47:57
W have better build a jail just for UMNO people alone. We shall call it Penjara UMNO.
written by densemy, April 28, 2008 22:10:02
For a organisation like the ICAC to work you need to have a society which is innately honest and trustworthy ... Plus you have to have a situation where corruption is the exception rather than the rule

Think again Malaysia
written by carlitos, April 29, 2008 15:51:40
In Malaysia I think anti-corruption department is the number one corruptor