Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Kerismuddin “Apologises”

Kerismuddin “Apologises” PDF Print
Sunday, 27 April 2008 16:24

Do you trust this man (picture below) when he says that he regrets the keris incident and now apologies? I know, you will say that this apology is dictated by politics post March 8—and I agree.

The Barisan Nasional, in particular UMNO Malay nationalists like Kerismuddin and Khairy Jamaluddin, was rejected by the Malaysian voters. If not for the postal votes, fancy tricks of the Elections Commission headed by Rashid Rahman and vote buying antics of the cash rich Barisan Nasional, Malaysia would be under the Pakatan Rakyat government today. And Kerismuddin would probably have retired or just be an ordinary Member of Parliament if he were elected.

Laughing when he should be crying

In my opinion, Kerismuddin is making a tactical retreat because it is politically expedient for him to express remorse or swallow the bitter pill, so to speak. Imagine what he would have done if the Barisan Nasional had won resoundingly in 2008, as it did in 2004. My guess is that he would be wearing the keris under his coat with arrogance as he heads to his Ministry every morning. UMNO arrogance will be on display again.

Unfortunately, like the rest in Barisan Nasional including our Prime Minister, Kerismuddin totally ignored the signals which our Special Branch and Military Intelligence had given to them of an impending political tsunami. In stead, he and Khairy Jamaluddin were talking “sifar pembangkang” (zero opposition). As if in defiance, Malaysian voters sent 82 Pakatan Rakyat candidates to the 13th Parliament, which opens on April 28, 2008.

If he is serious about his apology and wants to show remorse, then Kerismuddin should resign as Minister of Education whose portfolio is in mess, Member of Parliament and senior UMNO party member and retire quietly from politics. In addition, he should do at least a week’s community service, wearing a vest with the words “I am sorry” printed on its back. Otherwise, this apology is meaningless.–Din Merican

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by nk1881, April 27, 2008 16:29:21
A bad apology is worse than no apology.
written by Tompios, April 27, 2008 16:33:19
Hisammudin! Once orang lihat Anda, BANG!! orang fikir Anda berketurunan Yahudi berdasarkan bentuk geografi batang hidung Anda. Serius. Mungkin Anda ada darah Yahudi-Arab nenek-moyang Anda.

Well, angkat sejata AK47 ata Bazooka lebih baik daripada menghunus keris ke langit umpama cuba menikam orang yang tinggal di Firdaus. By the way, thanks for say sorry for the keris!! It is really help me as a Malaysian in abroad.
written by Milo, April 27, 2008 16:35:46
From Malaysiakini: In another development, Syed Ali also defended the controversial raising of the keris during the Umno annual general assembly by Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein.

He said this was the "rightful tradition of Malay heritage."

"I don’t think Hishammuddin should apologise for the incident. Why should we? It is our culture and we should have the right to practice our culture," he added.

-----------------------------------

Now you know why the people will continue to root for Pakatan Rakyat to be the government! There are simply too many 'Dead-head' arrogant UMNO leaders who cannot see the point. They still thought it is about an object call the Keris! There goes their chance to win back the people's support.
written by Shyetan, April 27, 2008 16:58:01
Well thanks to him a lot of us are now supporters of PKR - and from the way things are going we have made the right decision - This kerismuddin can just go to h*ll for all we care
written by notsosmart, April 27, 2008 17:09:30
This Kerismuddin is apologizing. Admitting to his crime of racial tension? Why then was he still not held under ISA. GOT IT? The BN gomen is still SUCKED.
written by malsia1206, April 27, 2008 17:16:32
Like what Hitler did to the Jews, he should have his penal number tatooed on his forearm. And the words "I am Sorry" tatooed in bold print on his forehead.
written by KC Chew, April 27, 2008 17:16:51
This apology is to pave way for higher post in UMNO. Main wayang kulit pun begitu low class...

Trust me given a different outcome in 308, he'll raise an even bigger keris and he will probably use it.
written by Negarakuku, April 27, 2008 17:52:54
This is what we call SANDIWARA !
written by tikuih, April 27, 2008 18:01:13
of all people, it is najis mongolia who is telling the rakyat to put the keris episode to rest now that kerismuddin has apologised (star paper today). wait a minute, mr najis mongolia, what about YOU yourself with your 'bathe the keris in chinese blood' episode of 1987 leading to operation lallang? will you own up and apologise? you think people will forget all your evil deeds and blood stained hands? the ghost of altantuya's murder will haunt you to your grave....
written by miwaki, April 27, 2008 18:10:17
Hisap-putin should take up an advertisement in major news papers such as "The Star","NST",Makal Osai"and all chinese news papers to apologize for his stupid gestures and promise not to raise this Soi lek Keris for the rest of his life during official function.

This is to teach him a lesson he did not learn in malaysian school.
written by middlepath, April 27, 2008 18:31:35
very clearly, he is still very arrogant, and the head is full of hatred, there is no integrity. The apology is half hearted, and the true test is : this is to path his way back to the politic of becoming PM. how can this type of people with little wisdom climb so high in the ladder of Umno and BN ? that show there is serious problem in the Umno and BN that ultra will get elected, they use the keris to show of force show of arrogant, show of power, instead of wisdom that would use the love, love for mankind, the most powerful is love.
mana mereka baca buku ? U of M ? susah lah
we must have the PR come to power to show the umno and BN how to run the country with humanity and humility
written by Uncorruptible, April 27, 2008 18:47:45
Did it affect the non-malays? Certainly not. How could a perfect IDIOT who does the stupidest, shameless, non-self respecting, family disgracing, spitting at his own parents and ancestors, condemning his children to an eternal shame, wanton action ever hurt anybody. Stop getting charity from the government and go strike out on your own with all the miilions you have ii-gotten. And accept no directorships from Chinese companies. The next mangy dog I see by the roadside will be you hishitmudin
written by shan, April 27, 2008 19:17:38
We the rakyat,made a slight miscalculation on march 8th.We wanted to clean the country of misfits,but a few slipped past.Well,its no an issue now,misfits will always be misfits and its only best that check and control and judge and excecute punishment to this misfits.

We will wait for the PR to take over gomen and see what happens,As for the old BN officials,bark up or be ready to face the music.,

be aware we are not going to tolerate your nonsence on the pretext of going for course and seminar,when you are actually at home or makan angin anymore,.Anyway you working in a inbecile's ministry and definately of you will have his characters.

My children conplain that their teacher don't come to school for weeks at stretches and we the rakyat have to incure additional expenses by getting tuition for the kids.,.My parents never had these problems,.

you get my point? Stupid eduation minister has to go so will his sidekicks,and cronies the non so smart teachers.,.Give the Rakyat a break,.We want to retify a mistake of 50 yrs,.
written by readmylips, April 27, 2008 19:22:14
By raising the Keris as he did, he tried to incite racial sentiments which could have led to racial violence. Why has this man not been detained under ISA? How can such a man hold the post of Minister of Education? Is this the way the Minister of Education behaves? Is this the example he sets?

P.O.S
written by frankcode, April 27, 2008 19:28:12
An apology with done with vested interest and without remorse or sincerity. Hishammudin, you have just added fuel into the fire of anger as what is clearly reflected by the general public opinion. Nothing short of a resignation will be good enough
written by Agahdemo, April 27, 2008 19:38:22
nk1881 says:"A bad apology is worse than no apology."

While I say, an insincere apology equal NO apology at all......

Remember, Hishamuddin on one hand apologised to the non malay for waving the keris, but on the other han, he also apologised to malay for not being able to wave the keris (to defend the malay heritage as if )......... that you call sincere apology...

He made me more furious for apologizing to both........ Double headed cheap polotician......
written by talkingback79, April 27, 2008 19:51:44
Somethings just don't add up......something's not right.
written by Eskay Lim, April 27, 2008 19:51:45
Kerismuddin has owned up and apologised.
When is Rustam's turn?
And next the sleeping PM.

One down...... 2 to go.
written by InEffective, April 27, 2008 19:52:52
Upclose and personal look at the true enemy of malaysia.

Unscrupulous politicians who leverage racist nationalism (and all its misguided fears and hopes for self-gain)

This disease never changes (never did anywhere else in the world - southafrica, germany, bosnia, us...)
written by ukaymelaka, April 27, 2008 19:57:17
Who needs kerimuddin's apology? He meant to threaten the non-Malays and all other explanations he offered were and are pure bull. And Najib offers the same rubbish after Kerismuddin's apology. Mr keris will do the same thing again if it means enhancing his political career...and the sad thing is many people get impressed by this show of strength, when it actually shows a lack of intellectual capacity and rather weak morality.
written by temenggong, April 27, 2008 21:12:17
Just look at the gila babi. No manners!

Not only must he leave country, but his children too must not be heard of at all. The names of his generations, Onn/Hussein/Hisham, must disappear. We don't want to know them.
written by Shyetan, April 27, 2008 21:16:27
Apology? What apology? He is putting the blame onto the non Malays -he was only trying to defend a Malay symbol and the non-Malays took offence - he is actually putting the blame onto the non Malays - very tricky fella this one
written by Malaysiaku, April 27, 2008 21:44:46
No. we dont trust him....even if he resigns coz there are already others in UMNO after his head. He will have to go sooner or later so I am not giving him the excuse that he voluntarily resigns. He should be booted out. Period.
written by Kingsley, April 27, 2008 21:48:14
Too little, too late. Anyway we can still clearly see UMNO's arrogance everywhere. Don't apologise if you don't mean it.
written by noyawns, April 27, 2008 22:16:14
I believe that the President of UMNO should also apologize - not for the brandishing of the keris - but for failing to stop the members for asking when Hishamuddin would use it and let the keris be be bathed with blood. He did not take any action against the members.
written by volkswagen, April 27, 2008 23:08:52
If Hishamudin or any other UMNO leaders wish to use the keris again (as to display Malay culture) in the UMNO General Assembly in December, let me have the pleasure of lending my keris to them. They can also lick and shove my keris anywhere they like.
written by Mike lawood, April 28, 2008 00:45:40
Should be Hisapkonek,
Keeping on laughing. See how much longer you can laugh???
Next time I want to see you crying.
written by Oyster, April 28, 2008 00:46:55
Keris boy should be booted out of the country not just out of Unmo.
He has reduced our education system to a shambles and insulted Malaysians in a most unforgivable manner.His insincere apology adds insult to injury.
Get rid of keris-waste-of-space-muddin asap.
written by wood, April 28, 2008 01:22:13
Apologising is a good start and hopefully done with sincerity. Only time can tell and of course the rakyat will be watching. We shall know what the rakyat thinks in the next election. The rakyat will be holding the pencil !
written by Equal, April 28, 2008 01:47:12
He is not apologising because he is NOT sincere ! He is playing the racial card again ! He is telling the non-malays, I am sorry for what I did. On the other hands, he is telling the Malays that we can not even practice our own culture ! Wait and see how those umno people will react. They will ask him to raise the keris again ! They will defend him. They will bring in the " ketuanan melayu ", " melayu tidak akan hilang " issue. Just mark my words !
And Hishammuddin will be laughing when he wins the umno election.
written by miwaki, April 28, 2008 02:06:18
This chap with a keris should be sacked,he doesn't have the quality to become a minister.A roadside viagra pedlar may be !
written by alan cheong, April 28, 2008 09:16:30
Psalm 37:14-15 The wicked have drawn out the sword, and have bent their bow, to cast down the poor and needy, and to slay such as be of upright conversation.
Their sword shall enter into their own heart, and their bows shall be broken.
written by hardworking_taxpayer, April 28, 2008 10:03:15
Dear Hisap putin

We, non-malays, also "apologise" if what we say here in MT is offensive to you. It is only our culture to insult a racist useless education minister like you. I hope we can put the "keris" issue and your goodself to rest.

Bye bye.
written by slash n burn, April 28, 2008 10:11:07
That snaky Keris knife. Most dumbest killing weapon invented. Kerismudin, stab yourself all the way to hell.
written by Goliverpool, April 28, 2008 10:38:46
I dont think the Kerismuddin is sincere in its public apology on the issue of the raising of the keris. If you guys noted , he apologised to non-malay for thearrogance and constant threatening slogans during the AMNO assembly but then again he did the same to the Malays as according to his statement"Being unable to uphold the Malay sovernity rights !". What is this man ! That guy totally misses the point !The issue of yeilding up the keris should not happen at all. Even in the ceremonies involving the Sultans and the Agong, the way the keris is brought into the palace and presented to the Sultans are of symbolic in nature in which we believe is part of the tradition that has nothing to do with political. Here we have an Moronic education minister who has 3 years consecutively kept on harping the keris during the assembly even when told that he should not have done that and finally relented by apologizing ! It is the way the keris is been used in the assembly that irritates all Malaysian irrespective of race. U dont c chinese yielding the sword or the indians do the same during their annual assembly rite ?. Then we have another idiot statement from the AMNO Cheras head which disgreed that Kerismuddin should apologised stating that the keris was in the logo and flags of AMNO. BUt these AMNO doesnt get it ! U DONT WAVE UR KERIS FOR POLITICAL REASON OK . KERIS IS ONLY USED FOR CEREMONIAL AND SHOULD BE RESPECTED AS A TRADITIONAL and symbolic symbol to the Malay Rulers. They just dont get it.! No matter how many times this is being politised or being brought up , they still dont get it ! WE WANT REFORM IN ALL PARTS OF THE GOVERNMENT FROM A TO Z . EVERYTHING HAS TO BE REFORMED ! The apology is irrelevant whether the Moron is sincere or not. It doesnt matter anymore. The first task he has to undertake as a Moronic Education Minister is to revamp the education system in Malaysia ASAP, if not I can tell u that MALAYSIA WILL BE BRAIN DEAD BY 2012. All races should be given equal opportunities to participate in the education hieraricy esp in Universities. Whats the point we have the most universities but all are quite useless and not even graded in the top 200 of the world. Hoi Kerismuddin , if u look at the syllabus that the local U trashes out, i think we all better pray that Malaysia will still be here in 2012 !
written by TWOG, April 28, 2008 11:37:37
/// “I apologise to the non-Malays and the Malays. To the non-Malays because of the fear to a symbol which was not my intention. And to the Malays for not being able to uphold their symbol of heritage.” - Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussin ///

I think the title of this article says it all by putting "apologises" in quotation marks.

His so-called apologies failed on 3 counts:
1) It came way too late after a few years, and after the massive defeat at the polls and he's being forced to apologise by his UMNO kakis. Some may accept his apologies - better late than never.
2) He qualifed the apology be using "IF" non-malays are offended. This showed his insincerity and ambivalence.
3) In the same breath, he also apologised to the Malays for not being able to uphold their symbol of heritage. This is last straw. He is trying to hedge both ways. It not only neutralised his earlier "apology" to the non-Malays, but made a mockery of himself by speaking out of both sides of his mouth with his forked tongue.

The keris may be a symbol of Malay heritage. But waving it like someone possessed and combined with his racial rhetorics - it can hardly be seen as protecting the symbol of Malay heritage. He was plain and simple trying to play to the gallery, engaging in brinksmanship and trying to score cheap Brownie points.

Look at the picture in the link below -- can anyone honestly believe that this is Malay culture at its best? That he's only protecting the Malay heritage?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketuanan_Melayu

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by jchew, April 28, 2008 14:21:45
(æ„¿ä¸ºä¸¾å‰‘é“æ­‰ã€€å» ä¸­èŽ±èµžå¸Œå±±å‹‡æ•¢! )This MCA youth leader "brown nose" did not even know that he was swiped by Krismuddin's double sword's apologies and he praised Krismuddin for his braveness!Double headed snakes admiring each other!
written by zaiman, April 28, 2008 16:53:48
Funny, just several days before the apology, KJ announced that one of the reasons for BN's lost was due to the "keris". Hishamuddinf had earlier announced that KJ is not the cause for the lost. Is someting really going in UMNO Youth, that make Hishamuddin go down on his knees and declare that he is a "pengecut". Has he agreed to be KJ's fall-guy in return for something. You can even see at the media conference, KJ instructing Hishamuddin what to say.
written by malgal, April 28, 2008 23:06:53
true remorse will result in resignation. otherwise, rings hollow.
written by omarkhayyam, April 29, 2008 14:40:33
was this picture taken after he gave the press release saying he apologizes to the malaysian rakyat .... ? probably he thinks he can hoodwink us again smilies/smiley.gif

written by DatoJohn, April 29, 2008 19:28:34
Kerismuddin Bodo
Biler nak Brenti?
written by RFernandez, April 29, 2008 21:42:07
The rakyat can tell when he is honest about his apology or not. In this case the word "apology" just came out of the mouth of on eof the biggest crocodile in UMNO, so what do you think? I would rather hang him by his entrails if I got the chance. He is a disgrace to this nation. His apology should be followed by complete withdrawal from all political parties or duties. No point just talking about it, Talk is cheap, do it man if you got the guts.
written by JaguhKampung, April 30, 2008 00:15:42
It not about waving the keris that the rakyat is not happy about. It's what you and the animals in the UMNO General Assembly said while holding the keris. Sometime ago, someone higher up said even more fearful things. To bath the keris with Chinese blood. That guy should apologize and he is not fit to be a Malaysian leader.