Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow How Much Is Enough For Taib Mahmud, His Family & Cronies?

How Much Is Enough For Taib Mahmud, His Family & Cronies? PDF Print
Sunday, 27 April 2008 12:36

Extracts from David Brown's doctoral dissertation "Why Governments Fail to Capture Economic Rent: The Unofficial Appropriation of Rain Forest Rent by Rulers in Insular Southeast Asia Between 1970 and 1999" (374 pages) will be posted in Sarawak Headhunter from time to time, but those who want to download, read, keep and distribute the whole dissertation will find it here or if the site is unavailable, just send an email to Sarawak Headhunter .

Taib Mahmud concessions

It is a commonly thought that 1.6 million hectares in timber concessions are held by Chief Minister Taib Mahmud and his relatives and political allies (New Sunday Times 1987). In my own calculations, I found almost one million hectares in Taib family timber holdings, spread across 20 concessions. This degree of direct corporate control by a state leader over a market share of this size is unique among the cases studied in this dissertation. A search of the articles of incorporation of these 20 concessions show directorships and shareholdings awarded to members of the chief minister's family, his proxies, and political supporters including the two largest parties in the Sarawak Alliance, the Chinese SUPP and the chief minister’s own party, the PBB.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by mykantree, April 27, 2008 13:09:35
Great job HeadHunter!.

Please dig up more such stories.Althought such relevations is no more shocking to the public anymore; it nevertheless show the level of corrupt practises that is institutionalized in the ruling goverment's culture.Let such evil corruption be in revealed to all Sarawakians so that when the have an opportunity to elect their represenatatives into power, they are fully concious of what they are doing.
written by zul4kulim, April 27, 2008 13:17:16
For so long, the Sarawak 1st family has been untouchable. The dynasty is going for third generation in power....even the white rajah would cry in his tomb!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...n-uae.html
written by Siti Musliha, April 27, 2008 13:38:39
The whole of Borneo island is also not enough for Taib and his families.Please orang Sarawak bangun and fight the dirty old man and his families before he evict all of you from SArawak.PKR cepat bertindak sebelum Taib mendalamkan lagi cengkamannya ke atas orang Sarawak.
written by omarkhayyam, April 27, 2008 13:50:37
another legacy how cronisme thrives under BN regime

written by almurady, April 27, 2008 13:54:02
The Sarawakians have suffered too much. Where have all the oil money and timber money gone?.
I have driven from Kuching to Bintulu to Miri quite a few times and I feel that the Sarawakians have been robbed their rights!! While in Semenanjung we have good highways (eventhough tolled > that another matter), here the trunk roads are badly in the state of repairs!! The billions of Petro money (5% royalty) have not been spent wisely to upgrade the roads & transport system.

Sarawak should have dual-carridgeway from Kuching to Miri and a good railway system to connect all the main towns.

Granted the terrains of Borneo is quite tricky. But that shouldn't be the problem because we have the technology and money to overcome that.

Come on la..., Malaysians are currently exporting road buildings technology to India, Africa and other 3rd world countries, so why can't we make good roads and railways in Sarawak and Sabah.

The old British built roads which follow the earth contour should be replaced with straight roads cutting through the many hills and rivers.

Whilst the whole of road maintenance contracts trough out Sarawak is given to Cahaya Mata Sarawak (CMS,read Chief Minister & Sons)the state of roads repair and road safety are poor. JKR is pathetic at supervising these roads maintenance works!
written by mypanida, April 27, 2008 13:54:24
baruah bn seperti tm patut di lenyapkan dari bumi ini.

maling besar yang tak tahu berhenti meskipun dah dekat lubang kubur.
written by mijoan, April 27, 2008 14:48:19
Since we are on this topic, would it not be educational to investigate on the timber concessions owned by individuals and the Royalties in Peninsula Malaysia.
written by Malaysiaputra, April 27, 2008 14:54:16
Hmmmmmmmmm , I don't the word "enough" is part of their vocabulary !.
written by malsia1206, April 27, 2008 15:04:38
There's this S Y (Shit Yard) Timber kingpin company presently operating in Sarawak that boast to own the whole of northern Sarawak. Their timber trucks would use the public paved road leading to Bakun as if they own this road privately. Their trucks are real potential hazards to the motoring public and caused extensive damage to the bitumen surface. The other timber kingpin SL (Shit Lout) operates in similar northern region rapes the best hunting grounds of the native Penans and make this small indigenous group as aliens in their own santuaries. Just like the Indians in USA who are now confined mainly to gazetted Reservations, these Penans are finding it difficult to roam freely for their traditional sources of food in the jungles. And the Deputy CM Alfred Jabu claims the Government is doing their best to bring them into the mainstream of development. What more shit is that? Timber is BIG BIG money in Sarawak. The Sabahans know it too. And when big money is involved, you can always see the top politicians and these businessmen working together to rape the forests clean.
written by slash n burn, April 27, 2008 15:09:55
Tai Mamut will die sitting on his CM chair.
Retire now!
written by greenarrow, April 27, 2008 15:35:32
Pak Lah chose..approved..endorsed this " Stinking Figure "..b'coz both are of the same spirit & flow...from the same CLONING !!!!

-Greenarrow writes
written by uncleleow, April 27, 2008 15:47:18
This is what BN is all about. Enriching themselves. Mouth say fight for malay right, hand grabbing land and grabbing back side. Ptui on BN and all BN supporter.
written by oknyua, April 27, 2008 16:23:16
With the help of PM Abdullah, Taib is grooming Sulaiman to take over his place in Sarawak. PM Abdullah had to do that because o Taib's support. Taib had to support PM Abdullah because Anwar as PM is the end of Taib's family hold into Sarawak's resources.

Headhunter, it's not only timber. It's like in West here, it's a joke among us, whenever money changed hands, "Eh.. what is that? So whose hands do you want to grease now? Or what contract are you aiming at?" Corruption is so ingrained in Sarawak, Sabah and W Malaysia. It's the culture here.

But Taib is slightly special - there is no competitor. I am still waiting for Taib to sue Malaysiakini for exposing the RM32 million kickback from Japanese. As one Sarawakian told me, Malaysiakini was grossly off-target; the figure should be more!!
written by aryn, April 27, 2008 16:47:24
Taib Mahmud's greed is similar to that of the late Tun Mustapha. He thinks Sarawak and its wealth belong to his family.

Question is, how come Sarawakians allowed themselves be bullied for so long? And why did the BN/Fed govt allow this first degree of corruption?

Sarawakians, why don't you people just kick Taib and his BN out? No balls? Come on, this is year 2008!
written by wag the dog, April 27, 2008 16:59:49
Mother Malaysia - Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by Kathy, April 27, 2008 17:53:02
It has been argued in various blogs here that party-hopping is unethical, but I maintain again and again that in this instance ethics does not come into the equation. Taib does not play by the book so to beat him one has to play his game. I repeat, 2 years is too long to wait to oust this man from power. I sincerely hope that when the right time comes certain Sarawak and Sabah MPs will cross over to the Opposition. I would like to think that they will do so not because of financial rewards but out of conscience. I am convinced the people who elected these MPs did not do so out of genuine support for BN but more out of threats and greasing of palms. So the argument that they will betray their voters is not valid. It is said that Taib's son has boasted that his family owns one-third of Sarawak. In two years' time it will be half? Can we afford to wait that long?
written by twg19492008, April 27, 2008 18:09:24
After reading this entry (which I must admit, send shivers down my spine) I just can't fathom or believe that the NATIVES of Sarawak still have so much patience to stomach such blatant acts of daylight robbery under their very eyes. Well..if after this revelation (thx 2 u Sarawak Headhunter), n these same NATIVES STILL allow "misappropriation" to continue...may the Almighty have mercy on ALL of US.
written by ukaymelaka, April 27, 2008 20:22:37
Hey people of Sarawak....you deserve the leaders you get and that goes for Melaka too. If you do not have the courage of conviction and use your vote wisely you deserve leaders who rape and pillage your states to ensure that they,their dependents and future generations live in grand style., And remember, one day when there is nothing more left to loot, they will be living in London, Paris and Las Vegas .
written by chanatak, April 27, 2008 20:26:21
How Much Is Enough For Taib Mahmud, His Family & Cronies

How much? How about 25 years in the slammer?

Greed knows no bounds. The grave is still 6ft by 4ft. That's all he can occupy at the end of it all. But 25 years in the slammer will put a stop to all the greed
written by mgeo, April 27, 2008 20:38:58
Taib for Guiness Book of Records. Malaysia Boleh!
written by SHABERY, April 27, 2008 21:24:22
Taib Mahmud!!! Go to hell!!!
written by ONGJJJ, April 27, 2008 22:19:35
Tsk, tsk, tsk...now you know how cheap you gave away your vote...for a 5-kg pack of rice & one sarong, or maybe RM$100, and look at their payback. Geez, now I know why so many would sell their souls to be YBs. Wake up laaa.
written by Countach, April 27, 2008 22:44:41
Mahathir has few hundred Billions. Daim is worth 80 billion.

Taib at 25 billion has a long way to go.

Can't blame Taib really.

Mahathir has set the benchmark.
written by donplay, April 27, 2008 23:06:19
For greedy bastards masquerading as the 'People's Rep' too much money will never be enough!

So, let the people who really care, blow the whistle whenever and wherever they see this looting going on in our country. In order to catch the top 5 looters, we will probably have to blow the whistle 5,000 times.

But, it will be worth every cent of the taxpayers' money to put these crooks away behind bars. They are the true enemy of all Malaysians.
written by Msian 2, April 27, 2008 23:12:55
Talk to Sarawakians and all knows about Taib's grip on the economic pie & his billions. Yet what have the ACA or the govt. done about it. Even appointing his son to the cabinet. The must 'have attidude' mentality of the existing Federal Govt of these crooks in the govt. is tantamount to traitorship. I bet this NEW ACA the Bodowi talks about would not dare to touch the likes of Taib & his immediate family.
written by wood, April 28, 2008 02:00:50
This is certainly depressing news.
written by Lis LQ, April 28, 2008 07:33:21
Very depressing indeed,esp when i think of Sabah.The only different with Sarawak is that they dont have all the "PALARIANS".
The "PALARIANS" are the caused of most Sabahans to suffer Depressions.
When are we going to see the good old Sabah,free from all the aliens....
End it soon PR!!!!
written by Bluechip, April 28, 2008 12:26:34
"World is enough to an ordinary people but no to the greedy one"

Mahatma Ghandi said.....
written by Tornado, April 28, 2008 17:08:36
suppot PR & me, get rid the thief monster of sarawak, family & cronies...

written by Thamil79, April 29, 2008 09:00:08
Since i been living in plantation area with Lun Bawang comunity where they stil refer me as Keling smilies/smiley.gifits not a issue now.As CMS control the roads and kuching control the state,many bumiputras here dont seems to knows their rights even im not a bumis.Im doing my part to help them as i work with them.Hope to see a new Sarawak bumi kenyalang soon.
written by Limang, April 29, 2008 20:49:02
The unique equation in Sarawak is this:

(1) the majority of the Chinese (second largest group in Sarawak)there are doing ok, they only want to make more money and therefore, most would still vote for the old parties to retain the statu quo. However, due to growing UMNO's Malay/Muslim supremist and racist policy and dislike of Taib's rule, they are seeing their pie getting smaller, so more are now voting against the state BN, like the last state election where 8 Dap members won. But a tsunammi can be created if PA shows it can rule better. By far, politically, Chinese are the most important group to reach, as they are influential.

2. the majority Ibans, are unfortunately too politically immature and divided into no less than 5 different parties to be of any real influence. They follow their leaders. They are very simple, hospitable and friendly people, easy to please, contented with little and when therefore given some extras, such as monetary assistance, scholarship, fertilisers, etc., they are happy to follow. So other races take advantage of their simple-heartedness. Also because of their simple-heartedness, they are perceived to be "fickle-minded, i.e. easily change their mind. Their many political leaders are a big disappointment, as they were all bought over by the BN by being given high goman post. Once they start enjoying the new position and privilege, they become forgetful of their greater cause. If they can be awakened to the fact they can be the ruler of own destiny, they will be the next most important group to be contacted. The younger, more educated group are starting to wake up and possibly through them, change can be made to occur in the mindset of the older-age Ibans.

3. the Malays - the third largest group in Sarawak. Though many are dissatisfied with Taib's rule, they are generally happy because they get the same rights and privileges as their West Malaysian counterparts, and are well look after. Many wanted UMNO to spread its wing to Sarawak but unable to because of the nature of Sarawak's political situation and the resistance of other communities.

4. The orang ulus - the Bidayuhs, Kelabits, Kenyahs, Kayans, etc. They are all too small to be of any politicaL significance but no less needed for the overall change. Of the group, the most educated and enterprising and politically-minded are the Bidayuhs, but due to the overwhelming machinery of the BN propaganda, money and threats of no development, they are easily brought under controlled.

5. Melanaus - the current ruler of Sarawak, though they are just a mere 5% or less of the population. Starting with Abdu'l-Rahman and now Taib, they have smartly manupilated Malay sentiments and the Muslim faith and even identify their tribe as "Malay", though there are more Christians among them. There is now a general dissatisfaction and dislike for Taib.

6. However, a different situation in Sarawak is the presence of racial/religious harmony, unlike in West. So it would be suicidal to pit one race against another in Sarawak. So PA must tread its path carefully if it wants to win over the hearts of the Sarawakians.

7. Last but not the last, Anwer. He does not have a good reputation in Sarawak. Many fear and dislike him for his chauvinistic past and ultra Malays/Muslim views. They still do not trust that he has changed. In any case, he is a West Malaysian, not "one of us". He has to do a lot more to win the hearts of the Sarawakians.

8. Apathy for federal matters. Sarawakians, in general, are not really interested at what's happening in West Malaysia. To them, this is West Malaysian problem, not "ours". So in the 12th election, only one opposition MP is elected in Sarawak, the rest is a whitewashed by BN. In fact, there is a growing anti-federal feeling due to the pressures and authoritative directives from the West. Bear this in mind, PA!

So over to you guys and PA, you know Sarawak better now. It's time to plan to win their hearts for PA!

written by apa jadi, April 30, 2008 00:51:36
We had White Rajas who ruled Sarawak. Gone are the White Rajas but replaced with a White Haired Raja.

But this white haired raja looks more like the incarnation of one of the beasts in Buddhist believes, that has a small mouth, an abysmal stomach with no rectum (can some buddhist friends tell us the name).