Umno Youth and the Kris Incident PDF Print
Sunday, 27 April 2008 00:18

Aliran is happy that Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin has finally come down to earth and to his senses. It is good of him to realise his unspoken mistake and to “apologise to the non-Malays if they felt afraid of the symbol.”

It was not only the raising of the kris as a symbol of strength and Malay supremacy that upset many Malaysians but the seditious, threatening, provocative utterances of some Umno delegates that aroused the anger of all thinking Malaysians. What was sickening was the fact that these highly defamatory and inflammatory speeches were allowed and accepted by the Umno Youth general assembly without a word of caution or reprimand.

Not only that. Malaysians - including members from the BN coalition partners – were rebuked for their reaction to the keris-raising incident and the vicious utterances by some extreme elements from the Umno Youth. But people who reacted to this incident were taken to task for living in this country for so many years and not knowing the Malay culture.

But then they forget that the kris-kissing and brandishing of the kris was never a common display of culture in this country. None of the Umno leaders in all our history had acted in this provocative manner until Hishammuuddin and his cohorts very arrogantly introduced this practice in 2005 and very defiantly repeated it in 2006.

After the disastrous performance of the BN in the 12 General Election, even Umno leaders admitted that this raising, kissing and brandishing of the kris had contributed to their dismal performance. It is good that certain Umno leaders are able to see the truth at last.

But Hishammuddin is far removed from reality when he contends that “the issue was not as big as it was made out to be.” He is still in the denial mode and perhaps too proud even to admit the severe damage that he and his cohorts had caused for the BN.

Hishammuddin must admit his mistake committed in 2005 and repeated in 2006 – only then his apology can be meaningful. Otherwise his apology will be misconstrued as a public relations exercise to whitewash Umno Youth.

P Ramakrishnan
President
Aliran

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by uncleleow, April 27, 2008 00:24:39
An closed door apology is never a public apology. It is done for show. We did not hear it form his mouth. We only read it in the media. He is playing Fool You game. If you analyse his apology to the malay properly, his message is only he can fight for the bumi and only if he voted in. Careful of those who hide message in his speech.
agree 110
written by ez24get, April 27, 2008 00:30:52
Hishammmudin's apology tantamount to this:

"I apologise for having slapped you. But I also apologised to my brothers for not slapping you."

"I cannot say I won't slap you next year and I also cannot say my brothers won't slap you in future either."

What apology is that? Might as well don't apologise!
agree 157
written by Windchime, April 27, 2008 00:39:43
An arrogant and bigot person like him would do anything to score political points even by following bad examples from the past, such as this stupid keris waving thing, by leaders of the same racists organization - UMNO. So, by merely apologizing now and at the same time, making it into a Malay and non-Malay thing, we would not be so stupid as to accept his apology just like that without question. To me, it still comes across as a message to divide the races when in fact he should be doing the opposite. His 'apology' is nothing more than a PR exercise which was done without any sincerity on his part. And it will remains as that, a PR exercise, to the thinking folks of Malaysia. 'Kerismuddin' will forever remain his title, as far as I am concern!
written by Mike lawood, April 27, 2008 00:52:53
Hishammudin, please stab yourself with that KRIS.
written by MsiaCTzen, April 27, 2008 00:54:31
Check the general opinion,votes and result of the Ra'ayat about Hishamuddin apology

http://ourtick.********.com/
written by Areka, April 27, 2008 00:58:08
Hey Krismuddin,

You as the Education Minister, can apply permission to you to let my son take a Keris to school and wave at the teachers ? Leadership by example lah !
written by Siti Musliha, April 27, 2008 00:58:11
We dont need arrogant insincere leaders. He cannot be a leader, at best Hishamudin is Malaysia's worst penyangak. So ashamed that he is the Education Minister. AAB should replace this penyangak, otherwise all our future generation will also become penyangak like him.
written by Sabahfan, April 27, 2008 01:07:48
written by power2u, April 27, 2008 | 00:36:57

Hi Power2U,

I WOZ WARNED... by labisman for expressing myself in CAPITALs...

I support your point anyway !!!!

KERISmuddin... would u have apologised if UMNO won 2/3 majority in the last election?

you would have brought in a bigger keris and open your mouth bigger... But stab your own opponent, masih takut..

go on kerismudding, surely you wanna stand for UMNO vice president right?

So win easy... just stab all your opponents, and u be the future PM.
written by alarcarte, April 27, 2008 01:12:29
The Christians do believe in forgiveness of Sins, apology is the first step and it must be sincere, compare to your grand father you still have a long long way to go, if I am not mistaken, your grand father also employed Chinese maid in his home in Larkin, he lives in a modest house and treated the Chinese maid fairly.
written by middlepath, April 27, 2008 01:18:25
Umno and BN leaders are in general give people the impression of : arrogant, corrupt, lots of emotion, no wisdom. susah lah, kita punya leader begitu punya. better change this type of leaders, or else, Malaysia future very susah..
please vote for change, give Pakatan Rakyat a chance to show us what is good governance, what is caring for the rakyat !!!
democracy, no need the keris, no need weapon, the loving kindness, caring for rakyat is the weapon !! universal value system ! stupid, it's the economy
written by k loon, April 27, 2008 01:23:09
This remind me of last year bocor's apology

The two YB didn't actually apology. Is more like "it's our job to humiliate the opposition"
written by borneopeteliew, April 27, 2008 01:23:21
Hisamudin must be charged for sedition. Will Pak Lah dare?
written by RitchieLow, April 27, 2008 01:29:27
“It angers me when after hundreds of years of importing aspects of other people’s culture some politician in a 4,000-ringgit Italian suit complains about Western values and such-and-such a thing is not from our culture.
Our culture is everybody else’s culture. We’ve never had our own. Deal with it and grow up."
- Huzir Sulaiman, Notes on Life & Love & Painting (1999)

If our youth members (they look kinda old) would to grow up in their views on Malaysian culture and not be delusional about it, we would be rightly be on our way to becoming a civilised nation. Like the adage, "can grow old but cannot grow up"
written by Equal, April 27, 2008 01:34:21
Why now ? because he is going for a higher position in umno ! Wait till he reach the top then he will show his true colours again. Mark my words.
Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu did you ever protested when he raised the keris ? If the answer is no, please shut your big mouth, period. Building schools is NOT Hishammuddin's money.
It is the rakyat's money! It is the duties of the government to build more schools when the rakyat need them and NOT the roles of MCA and MIC to back, merayu, memohon jasa baik menteri pelajaran. Who is he? He is just a government servant. If he has lost in the election, he is nobody, period.
written by DatoSeri, April 27, 2008 01:40:42
I am confident that the kris itself is not a problem to the Non-Malays, the problem is UMNO always touting Ketuanan Melayu and the administration of segregation through classification of bumiputra privileges. While all these are happening, raising the kris plus what's being said by some UMNO dumb ministers such as "soaking it with Chinese blood" is then worked up the Non-Malays.

Imagine if our Chinese friends do the same, raising their swords and asking for equal treatment from government, any of the Malays will not be fighting back and condemning?

This is unforgivable in multiracial community, especially committed by leaders of a country.
written by bogeyman, April 27, 2008 01:44:01
Damage control a little too late, and tinged with double-speak. Read Kee Thuan Chye's article. I saw the news on TV this evening. Even LGE ans DSAI didn't see thru it.
written by rakyat101, April 27, 2008 01:51:48
he is simply not sincere in any respect !!!
written by Ibnukhuzaimah, April 27, 2008 02:13:55
Reminds me of P. Ramlee's , Antara Dua Darjat : Jika kemaafan itu bisa menghapuskan segala kesilapan, maka tuhan tidak mencipta syrga dan neraka.
written by FFT, April 27, 2008 04:01:02
Not to worry folks. For this year's upcoming AGM, UMNO Youth has decided to change the prop to keep in line with the true spirit of UMNO.

written by roadbarra, April 27, 2008 05:17:05
I wonder why we have a moron to be an education minister...hmmm
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 27, 2008 05:29:12
In order to forgive and to forget,
1. Full-page newspaper apology
2. Resign
3. Perform hara-kiri
written by Negarakuku, April 27, 2008 06:25:09
Hisappudin has apologised but not sincere !

Najis C4 aka lipstick man also did the Keris kissing and brandishing. Why he didn´t apologised ?
written by oct, April 27, 2008 07:05:50
What hypocrisy is this? His act/message during the incident is acceptable whereas Hindraf message for equality is unacceptable. Imagine if this is done by DAP, all the DAP top guns will be charged under ISA. Double standard from the Govt. Looks like whatever is done by BN is right whereas when the same is done by the minority is considered a threat to the nation and should be charged under ISA
written by mmrokay, April 27, 2008 07:46:10
Damn it! What was so happy about this 'hypocrite' apology? humiliating!!
If it were the other way around and a non-malay intimidately abused a Malay the whole world would have been down the throats of the UMNO team.
written by president, April 27, 2008 08:37:39
This fellow is a useless fool. Why wasting time commenting on this idiot. Afraid? What is that? Do you think we rakyat will be afraid of your keris? Just keep your keris to SUNAT the 10 year old school boys.
written by Jefus, April 27, 2008 09:12:53
this man is a liability. how many ppl voted in the last elections have a picture of him threatening with a kris? makes voting of the PR a lot easier.

no second thoughts
written by Gerald, April 27, 2008 09:26:44
Would he apologise if BN won by 2/3 majority. Definitely no and not. Its ashamed to have an Education Minister brandishing the kris, and Najib misusing the C4 explosive on Altantuya. Time for these two related idiots to be thrown out from the govt as they belong to the same mother with the same DNA. Vote these two out...
written by SeriousLy, April 27, 2008 09:32:10
Let's talk of the dark side! From what I been taught is any "sword" has a spirit in the weapon. It can start a "war" once it is being adored or uplifted in a ceremonial way. Certain people can be influence by this spirit if they have certain hatred in their hearts............................................
written by Malaysiaku, April 27, 2008 10:10:00
I remembered vividly how Kerismuddin was defiant when there were complaints about his keris waving antics. He did it a again in the second UMNO assembly last year despite knowing the feelings of the non-Malays. The non-Malays are not against the waving of the keris but the entire context and reason of why the keris was unshealth and waved was the issue.

I do not think that Kerismuddin is anywhere near remorseful for his keris waving action. Look carefully at the report in Star. He also apologises to the Malays for not defending their culture to wave the keris. This is naughty and his statement was to taunt the Malays that he was indeed doing it for them and is now 'pressured' by the non Malays to withdraw on any keris waving antics. He is to me not one bit sincere about his apology but wants people to look at how accommodating he is and to sympathise and support him.

Once a racist, always a racist. People who are like this should never be trusted and given a chance to come up. There will be more carnage if we were to have a racist leader.
written by Mark C, April 27, 2008 10:11:35
what a joke. Half hearted semi apology. Whoever buy this "apology" must be a loon to believe such pretentious excuse.

written by devious17, April 27, 2008 10:26:01
only one thing comes to mind by weilding a crooked kitchen knife in an assembly is violence, hisham idiot is potraying all umnoputras as a bunch of violent umno nincompoops who will burn down structures at a moments notice and has a penchant for groping bottoms at nightclubs

hisahmmudin, you shove that crappy apology up your stinking wide mouth!
written by PR Msia, April 27, 2008 10:33:18
DO it for the survival of his political career.
Cheap gimmick!
written by seek justice, April 27, 2008 11:07:58
It had to happen and it did. I'm really glad that the stupid UMNO guys wielded the keris -- sekarang keris dah makan tuan!

Symbol of Malay Supremacy, it seems! I'll tell you what is the symbol of Malay supremacy -- the C4 explosives that was used to blow Altantuya's body to pieces.
written by JustVincent, April 27, 2008 11:37:56
Kerismorondin, we will forgive you if you eat shit and drink urine in public.
written by Jan, April 27, 2008 11:53:40
No where in the world we'll find leaders waving knives and threatening violence on the country's minority races. This is only found in MALAYSIA where there are just too many immature people.
written by FFT, April 27, 2008 11:59:37
written by Jan, April 27, 2008 | 11:53:40
No where in the world we'll find leaders waving knives and threatening violence on the country's minority races. This is only found in MALAYSIA where there are just too many immature people.

Now you're really insulting immature people all over the world.

This behavior is 100% pure Nazism. They should all be interned, prosecuted, and sentenced to hang at the gallows like their predecessors before them.
written by wildman of borneo, April 27, 2008 12:25:27
We the guys from land of head hunters never wave the sword without blood being spilt, the non-malays never afraid of sissy dagger like the keris, according to discovery channel; the keris is the most ineffective weapon and good for close counter only. In other word, weapon for ladies to stab their husband on bed for being 'naughty'.
Hang Tuah (if he exist); never protect the KeSultanan with the Keris, he used his ****ING BRAIN....!
Tunku Abdul Rahman didn't used the Keris either, again, he used his diplomacy.

The UMNO sissy boys please go back to school to read history, how empire rise and how did they fall.

I bet his main agenda to wave the Keris is to show he is a macho man.....but he got small dick like the Keris.
written by coolandy, April 27, 2008 12:27:42
Najid also got use keris for his political capital many years ago. Was it around 1988 before Operasi Lalang?

Looks like many have to apologise.
written by NRR, April 27, 2008 12:31:27
Aliran still doesn't get it. It is not the Kris, but the seditious threat that raised the shackles of the non-malay populace. Get it...
written by Ah Jiau, April 27, 2008 13:30:10
“apologise to the non-Malays if they felt afraid of the symbol.”

Hisham u stupid mother****er. The non-Malays are not afraid of the keris as a symbol ok? The Chinese have had thousands of year of warfare, ok, you stupid ****. The Chinese have got countless types of classical weapons. U really thk that they are "afraid" of ur, stumpy, short keris? The chinese have got weapons that u stupid ****ing ape shit for brains cannot even BEGIN to fathom.

It is not fear you stupid ape ****. It is ANGER. You try to "apologize" but word it in a way that you actually insult the non-Malay by essentially calling them cowars. What the ****ing ****? The non-Malay have no prob with u waving the ****ing keris around. The issue we have is the SPEECH accompanying the waving, u stupid ****. Apologize for the speech u pig ****er. Same goes for u Najib u son of a bitch. We've not forgotten 1987.

Only in Malaysia can two imbred pig ****ers like Najib and Hisham be education minsiters and DPMs. ****.

Hisham, Najis, in the words of Sultan Mahmud which i picked up thanks to your Bahasa Baku Edu system:"Dapatkan Si Jebat yang derhaka and SULAKAN di tepi sungai." except in this case, Si Jebat is replaced with Si Hisham Pondan and Si Najis.

**For those who do not understand the word "sulakan", it is, as i understand, a form death penalty in practiced in Melaka in the older days where a keris is shoved up the ass of the executed. I shit you not.
written by mykantree, April 27, 2008 14:43:19
The bigger crime committed in the whole incident is actually by UMNO as a political entity.The fact that Mr Apology were not reprimanded at all, but in fact supported and justified by some elements in UMNO, is telling.
written by shan, April 27, 2008 15:42:44
I didn't hear the golden word.!! Pinjam it kris,mahu potong sayur smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by wag the dog, April 27, 2008 17:03:13
Mother Malaysia - Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by futureman, April 27, 2008 18:03:18
poor UMNO kids , they will be lost without their Toy. They call it a symbol of malay manhood. I guess they are now pondans and now UMNO Youth is to be call UMNO Yoyh Pondans Whey are these idoits still using the english version to describe their party. i think they have lost their culture and language plot. Hope their libido is still intact
written by noyawns, April 27, 2008 23:13:47
Agree Ah Jiau - we not afraid of the Keris! We were angry at the insensitivity and insults of amuk, bathe with Chinese blood, etc - and more so that the racists were allowed to have their verbal diarrhoae without any rebuke or disciplinary action taken. This is all of UMNO's shame.
So don't pretend to 'apologize' by saying 'o sorry u become afraid', and then telling Malays 'sorry because they don't like your heritage symbol, I can't uphold our heritage' and ' oi, you all afraid kah - see la, maybe I'll do it again'
WTF Or as RPK says, new curse is What-The-U-M-N-O!!!
written by Equal, April 28, 2008 01:57:17
He is not apologising because he is NOT sincere ! He is playing the racial card again ! He is telling the non-malays, I am sorry for what I did. On the other hands, he is telling the Malays that we can not even practice our own culture ! Wait and see how those umno people will react. They will ask him to raise the keris again ! They will defend him. They will bring in the " ketuanan melayu ", " melayu tidak akan hilang " issue. Just mark my words !
And Hishammuddin will be laughing when he wins the umno election.
written by harrbm, April 28, 2008 11:18:21
>
<

To whom did hisham apologized to?
Why did he apologized?
Who is/are to accept or to refuse the apology?

>
written by Limang, April 28, 2008 16:49:20
The Kerismuddin is a shame to all teachers and students in this country as their Education Minister - what do you think the foreign students will think! Have all the UMNO leaders no shame? Didn't your mother teach you to respect others? Didn't your religion teach you to be compassionate, fair,do no evil, etc? The way I see is there is no cure for all of you guys - the only cure is to get rid of your plateform for saying and doing eveil - UMNO! Thank God, people have woke up and will get rid of this stinking evil plateform that have for 50 bloddy years, stained the country with its shit, abuses, excesses, immorality, greed and arrogance! Then you can go and wave all teh kerises that you want!
written by mhwang, April 28, 2008 19:30:57
Hishamuddin's motives, I fear, is to enrage the Malays. The second part of his apology for not being able to uphold the Malay heritage blah blah is the real agenda. See what happens to the Malays when u don't vote UMNO? Now a Malay leader has to kow tow to the Chinese because u sold ur souls to PR. Quite obvious isn't it? Did he fool you?

Comeonlah friend, the Chinese don't give a shit if u wield the Keris or even do a Hang Tuah/Jebat reenactment on stage. The Chinese r not as sensitive as u think. What pisses off a lot of Chinese is the words that followed the wielding of the Keris. The threats both expressed and implied of using the Keris and dipping it in Chinese blood etc. That's what anger or probably flabbergasted a lot Chinese who saw the incidents on national TV!!! Words that were uttered by the future leaders of UMNO...graduates of Maha foreign Universities some more! From a party that forms the backbone of our Executive that was supposed to protect us Malaysians from harm and lead the way. That's what disappointed a lot of Chinese. They feel alien suddenly like some Martians suddenly appeared on TV and annexed Earth.

Everytime the media talks about the keris wielding thingy I want to scream out and shout "wield the Keris if u want to just don't use words that can hurt other people's feelings!!"