Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow "Ketuanan Melayu" is not a dirty word

"Ketuanan Melayu" is not a dirty word PDF Print
Saturday, 26 April 2008 22:31

It only natural for the Malays to aspire for this. I look with apprehension when politicians, especially Malay politicians, question Ketuanan Melayu. They are just playing up to the gallery. They have no pride in their people.

Look at the Chinese, they do it. But their supremacy is via knowledge. Hence Dong Jiong and the likes making all the noise about Chinese education. The Indians (meaning the majority Tamil Hindus) do it. Their's is via culture and religion. Hence the backlash when temples (the center of culture) were destroyed.

The Malays, or at least the Malay politician got it all wrong. In wanting to promote Malay supremacy, they went for economic gain. Wrong move They should have aspired for knowledge gain, economic gain would have followed..

In wanting to achieve economic gain, they spoon fed the Malays. Made them disabled, un-competitive and simply inferior. They were no equipped to gain economic strength, they were just spoon fed economic gain. They are not equipped to make an educated decisions. Never heard of Malays making any impression en-masse overseas, like the Indian do in the software field.

Ketuanan Melayu proponents should change tack. Fight each other to make our Universities world class. Make meritocracy among Malays the highest priority, not cronyism or nepotism. Make culture and knowledge your bulwark. Not money.

Alan, from Ampang

written by binarytan, April 26, 2008 22:42:43
Correct Alan, even my Malay friends say they will not need the culture of Tongkat. They have been too much spoon fed; Ketuanan is just among the top crony of Malay ethnics.

Look at those poor Malay in Trengganu, typically the fishing village. Do they enjoy the Monsoon cup?

We love Malaysia as it is one of the multi racial societies which is harmony and stabile. Compare to many countries, we are a very rich country. Our bigger problem is the wealth is distributed among the top people in UMNO and not to the low class Malay.

I do not see any problem for the Malay is the wealth is distributed fairly, from the government to the poor. Not only that, other poor nation also must be taken care of.

Look at Toyol case for the 10M, how many poor families we are able to feed? I think this amount is enough to feed them for a long period.

written by mykantree, April 26, 2008 22:55:41
To a large extent I do agree that Ketuanan Melayu is not a dirty word.It became one when dirty people utter the word.It became one when it is used to deny, suppress,abuse and bully those that are not Melayu.
written by Fernz, April 26, 2008 22:57:06
What's the difference between ketuanan Melayu, the Nazi ideology and apartheid? There really is no difference. No one in his right mind would say there's a difference.

Ketuanan Melayu, a self-serving ideology of the Umnoputras, is politically unacceptable.

Taking pride in being a Malay has nothing to do with ketuanan Melayu. You must compare apples with apples. Where's the basis for comparison by relating the Tamil Hindu defence of their temples etc to the Malay reluctance to defend ketuanan Melayu.

Ketuanan Melayu indeed! Grow up man and move on.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com

written by asianguy, April 26, 2008 22:58:14
I disagree, Alan - "Ketuanan Melayu" is a racist term. When one aspires to knowledge, one aspires with a view to better oneself for the sake of oneself, and perhaps for one's family; it should not be for the supremacy of one's race, because once someone views it in terms of race, racism creeps in. We are one people - Malaysians.
written by MNor, April 26, 2008 23:20:34
Alan, am 100pct agree with you. But these UBNO dunggus will never learnt, they just want to lead an easy life by way of easy money, easy money means..corruption bla bla bla..yeakhh!!!
written by 1st2stay, April 26, 2008 23:24:23
"I look with apprehension when politicians, especially Malay politicians, question Ketuanan Melayu. They are just playing up to the gallery. They have no pride in their people."

Do you actually know what you are talking about? It doesn't look like.
'Ketuanan' does not mean 'pride'. It rather stands for 'superior'. It implies that Malays will by right of birth govern this country of ours and the PM will be Malay. And so forth.
You know what this is, in my humble opinion? Plain stupid. And racist and whatnot. But relax, this mindset has never made it in history, throughout thousands of years; and it won't in Malaysia. Get over with it, the sooner the less suffering.

written by OrdinaryMan, April 26, 2008 23:35:22
Alan, how come people in Singapore never use the word "Ketuanan Cina"?

I think any of the words Melayu, Cina, Indian, Iban, Kadazan, or whateverm, is perfectly clean until you attach a "Ketuanan" to it to the exclusion of others.
written by kavidibaku, April 26, 2008 23:43:11
Now ketuanan melayu is being shouted in sabah and sarawak as well. funny.
written by slash n burn, April 27, 2008 00:04:26
Paper Tiger mentality.
Show to us your ahievements. Jaguh kampung, you tuan are nothing outside Malaysia.
written by donplay, April 27, 2008 00:09:32
It order to make sense, the 'Ketuanan' must be over somebody. But, over who? The Indians & Chinses? But then, that would be Unconstitutional, Illegal, Racist, and universally unacceptable.

So, Ketuanan Melayu is wishful thinking and nonsensical. We would be kicked out of the United Nations if we claimed this was a national policy, as that would be tantamount to apartheid.

So, Ketuanan Melayu has to be dropped, just as White Supremacy!!
written by Lim Lim, April 27, 2008 00:24:15
it becomes dirty when the goons in umno are hiding behind that 'racial curtain' to rip,rape n rob the nation n rakyat big time!!
written by kenny, April 27, 2008 00:27:14
Alan, I don't mean to be offensive. But I'd like to know if this bright idea of yours "Ketuanan Melayu is not a dirty word" suddenly struck you.

You've put in some valid points in your write-up, but they do not in any way gel with that crazy title.

Well, to put it simply : Don't you know what White, Yellow, Brown or Black Supremacy mean? --- Fascism! And it bring wars, get it?
written by InEffective, April 27, 2008 00:30:31
Ketuanan concept is a self-esteem enhancer.
(this is what appeal to followers on this concept).

But its a skillful political strategy to acquire coalitional power.
(lots of people of self-esteem issues).
written by slash n burn, April 27, 2008 01:03:31
Ketuanan Melayu = Aryan Supremacy = KKK = VIAGRA.
written by samarlin, April 27, 2008 03:18:14
Transformer,just because you say so,does it mean you are right?Silly cow,you don't even know what the topic is here.Please refrain yourself if you do not know how to engage yourself.
written by AsamLaksa, April 27, 2008 04:58:53
You shout Ketuanan Melayu, Cina, India, Hitam, Putih, Coklat and everything under the sun, it's fine. After all, it's just propaganda talk to motivate your own people. It becomes a problem when ketuanan acts comes at the expense of others and incite mistrust and hatred. It's even a bigger problem if it's institutionalised leading to discrimination and suppression.

I'm not afraid of the label but I fear what those under the label would cause problems for others in the name of ketuanan. Leave the ketuanan talk as just talk and practice universal values towards all.
written by msiaman, April 27, 2008 08:32:54
Ketuanan means they want to be tuan to people. But who are the people that allow them to be their tuan? Like now we are complaining about our lame duck PM, It is easy to assume the post but can you live up to it?
People like Perak, Selangor and Terengganu Royalties are the tuans that people would respect. You do not need to go around thelling people you are the 'tuan'. For those 'small mind', it is easy for the government to lure them into a state of mind. But sadly this state of mind is also the 'Achilles Heel' for they are showing abuses rather than honorable and respectable actions. As most said, respect is earned and not imposed. Same goes for 'Ketuanan', it should be earned. That's why other races or country don't give much attention to this concept of 'Ketuanan' in today's internet age.
written by carlitos, April 27, 2008 09:30:05
Ketuanan melayu is the same as the war cry of white pride by the KKK (Racists white caucasians)

We in Sabah do not have any Malays, we have lots of Muslim bumiputeras and the race is not Malay but Kadazan, Dusun, Murut, Bajau, Bisaya, Sungei, Lundayuh, Suluk etc.

However with the project IC lots of indon bugis were given mykad to increase the so called Malay wannabe population in Sabah. They claim to be Malay and drab their whole body with UMNO flag so that their illegally gotten Mykad won't be taken away. You can tell their kampung by looking at whether they have UMNO flags on their houses. Sabahan UMNO do not care about UMNO, it is just a vehicle to retain power not to propagate racial supremacy. I know because half of my relatives are UMNO.

A lots of Sabahan including my relatives are in UMNO and they cringe when they were in UMNO assembly and see hisapputing joker in Malaya start stabbing his long keris in the air uttering racist remarks. At least that is what my uncles told us when we had our end of year family gatherings at our grandfather home.

Most Sabahan Muslim have relatives of all races including chinese and many found the concept of ketuanan Melayu as a foreign concept.

Should we in Sabah start shouting Ketuanan Bajau? Ketuanan Kadazan? Ketuanan Suluk? Then we will have like 40-50 ketuanan then. We have 40-50 bumiputera races here in Sabah. If every bumiputera races in Sabah learn to be racists as UMNOputra from Malaya I think we will have non-stop wars here in Sabah between our 40-50 bumiputera races each of whom have their own languages, own cultures.

It is rare to have families in Sabah that do not have members from other race or religion. To us whether you are Bajau, Kadazan, Murut, Suluk, etc, muslim, christian, buddists, atheist or whatever, it is secondary. You are family period.

So please keep your racists concept of ketuanan whatever in Malaya only and not spread them in Sabah and Sarawak. It might not be dirty to some in Malaya but to us in Sabah & Sarawak it is simply not applicable.
written by Malaysiaputra, April 27, 2008 09:42:12
In wanting to achieve economic gain, they spoon fed the Malays. Made them disabled, un-competitive and simply inferior. They were no equipped to gain economic strength, they were just spoon fed economic gain.

======

When Tun Razak, started the NEP , it was with a noble intent but due to his untimely death, the project was hijacked by TDM to further his hold over the Malays and for his political purposes.

NEP's agenda was to teach the Malays to "fish" but TDM hijacked it and gave the Malays the fish. This keeps the Malays "happy" and at the same time NEP becomes its opiat. Also it like the "ring" that was put through the cow's nose. With his hujacked NEP. TDM was able to drag the Malays in which ever direction he fancies, just like dragging a cow with a string.

If the Malays know how to "fish" TDM knows that he becomes irrelevant then.

So one has to realise how important it is for the Malay elites in Umno to ensure that the Malays remain addicted to NEP. Otherwise how is Umno to control them ?.
written by PR Msia, April 27, 2008 10:41:11
What the use of the title "Ketuanan"?
If a person is rich and successful, he can employ many servants and he is the master of the group.

To rob people's dignity by claiming a mastership is not right.
I respect successful person with his/her "ketuanan".
written by wildman of borneo, April 27, 2008 12:35:07
Ketuanan Melayu = NAZI
Ketuanan Melayu = Ku Klux Klan
Ketuanan Melayu = Apartheid in south africa
Ketuanan Melayu = Serbian's ethnic cleansing in former Yugoslavia
Ketuanan Melayu = Edi Amin in Uganda
Ketuanan Melayu = Tootsie and Hutu in Rwanda
Ketuanan Melayu = TianAnMen Square
Ketuanan Melayu = Catholics against the Protestants

Yes, Ketuanan Melayu it is racist direct or indirect!
written by billyong, April 27, 2008 14:06:21
KETUANAN MELAYU = Hitler's propagation of the Aryan race.
written by PR Msia, April 27, 2008 15:38:20
Ketuanan? There is no such a thing in any country of this world.
It only in Zaman Abraham Lincoln, Nelson Mandela.
Malaysia cant go back to the zaman dahulu.

written by batsman, April 28, 2008 09:46:08
Ketuanan Melayu is just a cover and disguise for Ketuanan UMNO. For the longest time, every one was fooled including the DAP. The DAP played the role of the opposition to Ketuanan Melayu and thus helped embed it in the minds of the whole rakyat. It should just have fought Ketuanan UMNO and exposed the deception.... Then again, how could it when the DAP itself was fooled or worse - played along.
written by daniel, April 29, 2008 11:15:58
So much crap from the cheaters. Now it is Balkis. Keep it up and it will be one-third of votes in next TSUNAMI!
written by LACOBRA, April 30, 2008 23:19:33
Not a dirty word, it is a disgusting word!