RM10m gone in 3 days PDF Print
Friday, 25 April 2008 22:37

R. Nadeswaran and Terence Fernandez, The Sun

PETALING JAYA (April 24, 2008): Three days after their husbands lost power to rule Selangor, the wives got into the act – plotting to dissolve a welfare body and remove almost RM10 million from its bank accounts.

But their attempts have been thwarted by Mentri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim who wrote to the Registrar of Societies (ROS) to question the validity of the decision to dissolve the Association of Wives of State Assemblymen and Members of Parliament in Selangor (Balkis).

It is learnt that Abdul Khalid has ordered a thorough investigation and audit into the affairs of the association which was set up in 1985 to undertake welfare work.

According to documents sighted by theSun, Datin Seri Zaharah Kechik, the wife of former mentri besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo had on March 11 convened an extraordinary general meeting of the committee to dissolve Balkis and close its bank accounts. The following day, the accounts were closed, with the money transferred to another account and then to Bakti – the federal Organisation of Wives of Ministers which Balkis is affiliated to.

On March 13, the former exco members of Balkis issued a notice of dissolution to the ROS, which included amending the constitution of Balkis and establishing a new organisation – Balkis-BN, is among the names suggested.

“This was to prevent the Balkis premises (Kompleks Wawasan Balksi - KWB) and the association itself from being taken over by the new state government,” said an insider.

“Once this was done, then the money will be transferred back to the new organisation,” the insider added.

However, the ROS in a letter stated that Balkis' application for dissolution was incomplete and gave it 30 days to furnish additional information.

The constitution of Balkis states that the mentri besar's wife should be the president. Sources in the state government argue that since Mohamad Khir is no longer MB, Zaharah is no longer the president and has no power whatsoever to dissolve the association or liquidate its funds. Incidentally, the constitution also states that the organisation must remain apolitical.

Legal experts say by right, following the events of March 8, the exco headed by Zaharah should have convened an emergency meeting to discuss the handing over of Balkis to a new exco – with the new president being Abdul Khalid’s wife Puan Sri Salbiah Tunut.

Bakti, meanwhile, according to minutes of a recent meeting it held, had under advice of a sitting judge received the RM9.9 million from Balkis, which it has placed in a fixed deposit. The money would then be transferred back to the new organisation set up by the former Balkis members.

Bakti would also take over a Special Education Project involving millions of ringgit until the “new” Balkis is formed.

This is clearly goes against Balkis’ constitution which states that in the event of a dissolution, all monies must be transferred to the government or a similar fund, with the approval of the Inland Revenue Board director-general.

Meanwhile, it is learnt that Abdul Khalid had in his letter to the ROS on Wednesday (April 23) said of the amount in Balkis’ accounts, about RM850,000 was donated by state government companies – Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Bhd which gave RM268,862 last year and Perbadanan Kemajuan Negri Selangor (PKNS) which contributed RM590,379.50 between 2006 and 2007.

It is understood that Abdul Khalid is also investigating the transfer of 43,560sq ft of land in Section 7, Shah Alam, which the state government had in 2002 offered to Balkis at a nominal cost of RM250,000 (RM5.74/sq ft) for the setting up of a shelter home for women that cost RM5 million.

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by HJ Angus, April 25, 2008 22:45:15
If it is ultra vires their constitution, the state authority should sue the ROS if the monies were allowed to be taken out just like that.

Another example of BN being a poor loser.
agree 118
written by Mike lawood, April 25, 2008 22:51:05
Easy MONEY... Itu tak masuk harta benda lagi. Tak tahu berape ada.
Itu Toyol jika CABUT GIGI aje sampai mati pun dia tak akan ada 10million.
ACA or MCAC, can start work now.
written by jammary88, April 25, 2008 22:54:12
Good work Khalid and PR. Next time do the withdrawal before election...stupid women.
written by Experienced, April 25, 2008 22:55:07
Isn't history repeating itself. When UMNO became UMNO Baru, now new Balkis. But the dictator could still call UMNO Baru, 'UMNO'after several years. An outlawed party came back, "procedures were followed". It's the assets that matter. Not the human values. 'I'm a material girl'. Aren't they going to transfer Kumpulan Darul Ehsan and PKNS too?
written by ChanRaj, April 25, 2008 23:19:17
Dont we have a watchdog to check the management of funds in charitable organisations? The new Selangor Government should not let this go and should bring them to court.
written by shamadz72, April 25, 2008 23:24:25
I hope the Selangor government will pursue this matter thoroughly. If needed, do not hesitate to take any legal action.

One area that I would love the new PR government to take action is to clear off BN parties squatting illegally at the children play ground in housing area. The new local council under PR should take any legal move to evict them from public land not meant for them.
written by KKchan, April 25, 2008 23:27:09
The MB should take legal advice and pursue the matter further. I wonder how a sitting judge could give advice to the wives! Plain thievery to me.
written by binarytan, April 25, 2008 23:37:41
ACA is sleephead like the PM, will do nothing and will investigate nothing and will punish nobody
written by Areka, April 25, 2008 23:57:49
I love u, YAB MB Selangor, Tan Sri Abdul Khalid !

And if you keep up the good work you are doing now for the next five years, I'll not only vote for you in the next GE, I'll also campaign for you and your comrades in PR.

If not, sorrylah Tan Sri.

May God bless you.
written by middlepath, April 25, 2008 23:59:06
BN and Umno politician and the wife all proven very good at corruption, even the charity fund and money they also want to take. They BN and Umno are so greedy bunch. Susah lah, we rakyat, mana ada duit left
written by zonefinder, April 26, 2008 00:01:43
These are the kind of people we have ruling the country for the last 50 years...
written by bumiku, April 26, 2008 00:05:48
husband feed on state coffer. so, naturally wife feeds on welfare coffer.. both crinimals and should be put away from society for a long long time!
written by middlepath, April 26, 2008 00:10:45
Umno and BN politician pandai corruption, the wives also very good in sapu money, they are like low class prostitute, got money anything also can. what ? why take the trouble to sapu clean up the charity money ? just give to the next group of pakatan rakyat wife lah ? susah lah ini macam pun boleh.
written by marcusg, April 26, 2008 00:19:46
This wife of Indon TOYOL is has been well trained by her blood-sucking husband.

Why are we not suprised? Not surprisingly too is why TV3, or Utusan not reporting this juicy news either... Not in Star or NST..

Maybe the "new" Malay Mail will report this kinda things under their new column : "Corruption of BN leaders" -- Their probably take a few years to list down everything...
written by omarkhayyam, April 26, 2008 00:31:01
ahh the prostituting act seems to go get into action

written by POPEYE, April 26, 2008 00:35:35
All this corruption is disheartening BUT nothing can be or will be done unless the PR gets control of the government apparatus. An independent ACA or judiciary is a figment of Bodowi's imagination which inturn the Rakyat's wishful thinking. It is not going to happen unless the government changes which inturn would resurrect some honest men in the Police or the Judiciary.
written by temenggong, April 26, 2008 00:36:52
So the datins are going to be screwed big time huh? smilies/grin.gif

Now you boys carry on. Don't call me!
written by wishuponastar, April 26, 2008 00:37:32
Toyo didn't touch any coffers only coffins.

May be he should get some English Tuition from Mike Tyson.
written by Jack Hui, April 26, 2008 00:46:36
Nampak more rasuah....lakukan BN...si azalina kes baru mahu start...sekarang tambah satu lagi....hooorey....
written by Batangkali, April 26, 2008 00:49:21
lol,
The lady thieves of UMNO women at work. Descendants of 50 years of UMNO monkeys, the last being, TDM Mamakthir the chief corruptor and Number Satu Thief of Malaysia.
written by miwaki, April 26, 2008 02:42:17
Husband and wife,both thieves !
written by watchdogg, April 26, 2008 04:58:35
This is the new Holiwood Movie release with the title call 'GONE IN 3DAYS', Which the first episode is called 'GINE IN 60SECONDS'..... smilies/cool.gif

Director ; United Malay Non Original (UMNO)
Main Actor ; Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Ko#gk*k Toyol
Main Actress; Datin Seri ZakarLah Kechil
written by partiotic, April 26, 2008 07:19:13
Aioooo! women do you know this is cheating, and you all can go to jail. If you go to jail, your husband has no problem getting another wife.As they are very rich now.Just the brink of their eyes to any girl they will fall for them.
written by gctham, April 26, 2008 08:19:56
Is BAKTI SAME AS BALKIS? Money can transfer either way?

WHY APPLY TO RESOLVE BALKIS IN A HURRY?

Any one buy this>> There was some worry after PR won the state that the new goverment might remove some of the students from the list
written by temenggong, April 26, 2008 08:28:04
It seems to me that Bakti is also in trouble for breach of trust. Bakti is now an accomplice for fraudulently retaining the funds.
written by Bigjoe99, April 26, 2008 08:32:36
The case depends on whether Balkis has a franchise/regulatory from the state government i.e. how did it qualify as a non-profit/welfare organization? If it has a franchise to act from the state government, then her actions are illegal. Throw her in jail....

Otherwise the b**** got a way with it...
written by MsiaCTzen, April 26, 2008 08:54:34
What about ‘WE’ the Ra’ayat really thinks of Datuk Hishamuddin Hussien Apology

Can we accept his apology done in close door?
Was he sincere?
What about the Ra’ayat that was “HURT” (Domestically & Overseas)?

http://ourtick.********.com/20...keris.html
written by JUST, April 26, 2008 09:40:20
It was RM27M used in 2 months before GE?
Now RM10M vanished in 3 days after GE?
What else?
written by technoboy, April 26, 2008 11:03:03
Toyo, the master of master in Curi Duit, sudah banyak berlaja dari MMT, the former master caught with millions in cash in Australia.
written by alarcarte, April 26, 2008 11:59:09
The constitution mentioned only the wife of Mentri Besar can become the housewives's president, they were so confidant of the Mentri Besar will come from UMNO, how wrong they were! Now they are scrambling to change the constitution, "padan muka lu"! If our Prime minister and ACA want to restore back some credibility, they should start investigating this case immediately and throw these women to jail but I bet he won't do it.

written by justice4all, April 26, 2008 13:14:17
Well done Nades and Terence. You guys are the only real journalists we have who fight for the common man and for common decency which is glaringly missing from UMNO. This is the Rakyat's money and you UMNO bastards play around with it. People, lets take our country back from these thieves and robbers.
written by krepot, April 26, 2008 13:39:27
Who is this Zakar Kecil character? smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, April 26, 2008 14:07:34
Yeap time to haul them up in jail! smilies/wink.gif No matter datin or not!
written by alpha100, April 26, 2008 15:59:45
Any BN members reading this? If you sincerely and really care for rakyat, this is another reasons for you to consider leaving BN and joining any component party of PR! Leave the party of which their master is "SELF" & "MONEY"!. Let BN die off! Its leaders is too stained with all sorts of wickeness to be saved! Don't wait any longer!
written by lawa88, April 26, 2008 16:46:22
puki mak isteri toyol. aku banting tulang di askar, penyamun songlap RM10juta dalam 3 hari. sial isteri toyol. patut puki kau pun reput...
written by lawa88, April 26, 2008 16:48:16
bloody hell, i slogged in the Army like hell get pittance. these wives just robbed our country...next time when PR win, all these bastards will take their money out too. phui
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 26, 2008 21:17:23
Day-light robbery, why no action by Polis?
written by MobyDick, April 26, 2008 23:23:07
This is just 'peanut-monies' which can be move around by some 'ladies' who are amatuers in money-politics; it's only a small tip of the icebergs, imagine what their husbands can do or already done.
written by power2u, April 27, 2008 00:22:55
HOIII....WHERE IS MUSA????WHEN OPPOSITION HAV DINNER N CELEBRATION,U SENT UR MEN AT WAN AZIZAH'S HOUSE AT 6 AM TO TRY TO INTIMIDATE HER.
NOW WITH THIS KHIR N WIFE CASE,WHY NO ACTION????
DSAI,PLS SACK THIS MUSA N ALL HIS CRONY WHEN U TAKE OVER GOV.
CAN'T WAIT FOR THAT DAY TO COME...HA.HA HA...WE WILL HAV THE LAST LAUGH...
written by khongja, April 27, 2008 01:41:08
DONT LET THIS BIG TIME CHEATS GET AWAY WITH IT! Those bitches should be strung up for this crime of siphoning money meant for charities.Perhaps Khalid is too kind and its best he make a police report on this theft.
Then we can see how efficient they are and also the AG.
written by roadbarra, April 27, 2008 05:19:16
this is so much easier than planning and robbing a bank.
written by JohnQ, April 28, 2008 14:03:24
She could be judge cum prosecutor at the same time. Taking 'law' on her own pariah hands.

Damn PARIAHS of Sore GE12 loser!

Nades and Terence, the saliva are aiming at the pariah wives, not Ying Poh. Absolutely sharp.
written by bikerzon, April 28, 2008 18:13:37
Guys,

Learn from experience - the NKF saga in Singapore!

Setup a monitoring commision to check on welfare agencies!!!