Daughter of Hindraf leader presents letter to palace PDF Print
Friday, 25 April 2008 17:02

(The Star) - A group of Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) supporters gathered at Istana Negara here Friday in solidarity for the abolishment of the Internal Security Act (ISA) and the release of its five members detained under the Act.

The group's intent was penned in a letter purportedly written by Hindraf chairman P. Waythamoorthy's five-year-old daughter Vwaishhnnari, who was accompanied by her aunt during the event.

The three-page letter, childishly written on yellow paper with stickers of comic character Garfield wearing a royal crown and wielding a scepter requested for the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong to urge Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to abolish the "draconian ISA".

It read: "It is my humble request that you urge the Prime Minister to abolish the draconian ISA in your opening Royal Address in Parliament on April 29th and advise the Prime Minister to treat all Malaysians, especially the minority communities equally.

"Thank you Your Highness and I would eagerly wait for your speech before the TV," it further read.

Among other points raised in the letter included that "five of my uncles have been kept in jail without trial" and "many others are also held for very long, as the government claims they are JI members without proof".

Vwaishhnnari remained shy and rarely spoke throughout the event as she was carried by her aunt M. Philomena, 48, a housewife.

"I passed this letter to the Chief Minister of Penang yesterday, noting him of the matter.

"I deeply feel my father's absence and miss him dearly," she said when approached by reporters.

Her father is currently in London in self-imposed exile.

The five-year-old later presented the letter to the palace. The letter was received by the senior private secretary of the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong.

She was accompanied by Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam, Teluk Intan MP M. Manogaran, Hindraf coordinator S. Jayathas and lawyer N. Surendran.

A squad of policemen closely monitored the 30-minute gathering which ended at noon.

written by Nick Chong, April 25, 2008 17:08:43
Very touching, but too bad the letter will not reach the King, it will go to tong sampar, hopefully the Lim Guan Eng will do something......
written by temenggong, April 25, 2008 17:27:35
"It is my humble request that you urge the Prime Minister to abolish the draconian ISA in your opening Royal Address in Parliament on April 29th..

There you are on the Free Hindraf 5! How much more universal you want?

"Thank you Your Highness and I would eagerly wait for your speech before the TV."

[comment deleted for inappropriate address of YDP Agong]
written by Debbie, April 25, 2008 18:19:23
Just for god sake ..release everybody thats been in there..not only the hindraf guys..everybody.
Daulat Tuanku.
I beg of you .
written by InEffective, April 25, 2008 19:01:35
Wonder if the need for status and self-preservation supercedes the need to do right for the peoples ?

Clearly the peoples cannot hope for fair justice from the ruling politicians - they care more for ensuring their self-interests and self-preservation.

Malaysian rakyat - got hope ?
written by binarytan, April 25, 2008 19:32:52
Malaysia is a democratic country, is it?

Definitely we are not truely democratic country, despite we have democratic system.

The justice is ruined by BN, typically UMNO.

Go to hell UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan & all BN parties!!! Justice will prevail one day, very soon.
written by harryo, April 25, 2008 20:00:27
How can the demi God Government is going to release them? They think they are almighty. So if they relaese they will ashamed now that the people know they are weaklings after miserable failure in GE2008.
written by Motherchell, April 25, 2008 20:02:50
Dont quite understand our Agong's decisions -----The 5 have to complete the full term ..................................

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indians_Abroad/Hindraf_leaders_ordered_to_complete_jail_term/articleshow/2981382.cms
written by Sabahfan, April 25, 2008 20:05:30
If they dont charge all the ISA detainee in court, neither released, then Put Mahafiraun, his sons, Bodowi and khairy in ISA too.

If not, then I urge Malaysians to totally change the govt in next election, which can be held anytime.
written by sampalee, April 25, 2008 21:40:24
The palace is not umno.Please show some respect.We want to appeal to our Agong and yet show such regards on the functioning of the palace.
written by roy, April 25, 2008 23:03:30
What was SO VERY WRONG that the 5 did?
I really can't understand, and I believe no one can except those who can gain out of it such as keep in power, get more bribe and can do whatrvrt he likes, plus what his family like...

disgusting creatures, still there tho' not wanted...
written by temenggong, April 26, 2008 00:43:14
My post has been edited by the moderators! Thank you. I really appreciate that.

What I wanted to say was that we, the rakyat, hopes that DYMM Sultan Mizan accedes to the wishes of the people.
written by TheArtiste, April 26, 2008 00:56:48
Among other points raised in the letter included that "five of my uncles have been kept in jail without trial" and "many others are also held for very long, as the government claims they are JI members without proof".

Well at least now Hindraf have appealed for the rest of the non-hindraf detainees too
written by RitchieLow, April 26, 2008 01:17:23
Take heart, this is another DSAI in the making that will unite all Indians in Bolehland and the Wind of Change will blow doubly strong come GE13.
written by RitchieLow, April 26, 2008 01:35:19
Dear Moderator,

This "
[comment deleted for inappropriate address of YDP Agong]"
needs explanation, so if you please.

Malaysia as a constitutional monarchical democracy as I've been lead to believe had placed too much emphasis on UMNO, PM, and monkey ministers at the exclusion of the monarchy and constitution in our much maligned MSM as an instrument for public "education". The average citizen doesn't know that the MSM had been a propaganda and brain washing tool of BN all these years.

As you've edited the post my temenggong, please tell us how it should be done properly apart from the songkok inclusive dress code. As "adat" is to being cultured and civilised, I am all for it.
written by bumi non malay, April 26, 2008 05:58:25
You are all Dunggu if you think the Agong did it......he was asked to sign it but it was UMNO-BN Minister who did it to detain those ISA people.

You are all so gullible to have listen to Raja Petra!! So many things the Agong has his signature on it to approve.....but have no Freedom not to sign as the people elected the UMNO-BN.

Technically the Agong has a lot of power.....but the power is Actually in the people......Go and March and protest at UMNO-BN leaders home better....simultaneously all over Malaysia!!

The Agong actually don't give a Damn about wearing a songkok...but those orang suruhan UMNO inside the palace that wants this prejudice protocol to continue. Hold on to your dignity and principle as the coalition state begin replacing these "Jeanne Danker" with more Open minded coaliaiton orang suruhan......more Freedom-Choice thinking type!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by joeawk, April 26, 2008 09:59:11
Lady, we feel for you and wish that the 5 Hindraf detainees can be released and we also want the isA to be repealed or to used it properly in the way it was meant to be.

At the same time,there are others who are also detained under the draconian ISA and they should also be charged in court.

ISA can be used as a deterrent but there must be finality and thus they must be charged or released within a predetermined period of detention.

Indefinite detention is a cock story.
written by Baronshah, April 26, 2008 12:13:13
People Hear This

PAKATAN RAKYAT - THE SAVIOR OF MALAYSIA AND HER PEOPLE...GOD WILLING.

god bless