Next political tsunami could be bigger if… PDF Print
Friday, 25 April 2008 16:22

THE political tsunami that swept Penang, Kedah, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan, drowning and sweeping away the once mighty Barisan Nasional state governments and several MPs, clearly stunned Malaysians who woke up the next morning to see their political landscape changed drastically.

Apa sudah jadi? (What happened?) — many a Malaysian and even politicians on both sides of the divide raced to ask themselves.

The BN was not really infallible as was said many a time but was finally proven to be so as voters overwhelmingly decided to swing to the opposition parties who were no better than the BN.

But why?

BN old-timers and heavyweights were shown the exit in the most ungracious and merciless manner, thus adding salt to injuries and bruises sustained in the electoral battle.

The magnitude of this BN election debacle was neither foreseen nor expected.

People power was evident in our democracy after it had happened elsewhere in the region. BN is now so badly bruised and one wonders if at all the damage inflicted on the coalition is reparable.

Khairy Jamaluddin, the Umno deputy Youth chief declared soon after the results were known that the BN would fight back. But the way I look at it, only two possible scenarios could develop from the stunning political development:

• The opposition parties especially PKR and DAP which now savour power in their hands, could screw up their rules along with PAS, and allow BN to regain and regroup and fight back successfully like what Khairy said, or
  • The powerful presence of the opposition parties of PKR (once written off), DAP and PAS in five states and in the national parliament, could further erode the power base and support of the BN which could eventually deal an even bigger blow in the next round.

Factors that contributed to the massive BN losses were ethnic frustrations, a better organised opposition front, economic difficulties and general dissatisfac-tion with the administration which included the arrogant attitude of BN and Umno politicians.

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was not to be blamed solely. And, what about the Internet’s powerful influence on voters?

It is true the opposition parties were hardly featured in the mainstream media. It is an open secret. There is no need to deny this. Yet, by word of mouth and through the help of the Internet, they managed to get their messages across to the electorate. BN’s opponents had skilfully exploited the Internet.

The outcome of the general election was worse than 1969’s. The blow was even more severe.

What can BN and especially Umno politicians learn from this disaster?

I hope to see an answer in the coming years. Or the political tsunami would be a bigger wave.

By BN Loyalist, Kuching, BORNEO POST

written by shock, April 25, 2008 16:31:20
u don hv to wait for d coming years
u r already seeing what umno is doing
they are either infighting or clamouring for position
you have the PM saying one thing one day and the next day, the DPM contradicts him
you hv muhiyidin who wants to save the party, race, religion n country in that order
so what do u think v as citizens should do?
answer is obvious - u cannot afford to have such people governing us
not esp najib who has threathened to bathe the keris with chinese blood - he said this as umno youth chief in 1987
down with those who play with race politics
written by matt3238, April 25, 2008 16:38:12
Yes, next political tsunami could be bigger that will sweep away all BN monkeys headed by Bodowi & Najis and this will not be very long from now.... coming very soon.
written by middlepath, April 25, 2008 16:40:45
BN and Umno game over ! watch the Pakatan Rakayt doing a good job so far. PR only in power for a few weeks, look at their impressive work for the rakyat, for the people, by the people, from the people :
look at the freehold land for Perak, will go to other states too.
free water for Selangor,
appoint the opposition Lee Kah Choon to the gov agency PDC, InvestPenang, (this is cross cultural, cross party, irregardless of race, or gender or religion),
new paradigm,
the Kedah state gov, allow the market to sell Pork, previously not allow under BN gov,
appointing the NGO to the MPPP, municipal coucillors,
drive the old car left behind from the previous adminstration,
stay in their own house, instead of the expensive house in Pg or in Selangor,
thrift and wise in their spending,

not like the previous BN gov, very wasteful, spend rakyat money like no body business. corruption everywhere, abuse, cheat the people,
Ipoh case, MCA division try to take away the land of the factory,
Selangor BN Umno politician wife try to take away the money for Bakti or charity money, 3 days after election defeat, like prostitute, willing to do anything to get the money,
so many case of abuse on gov land and cheated the people's gov money,
we rakyat have to pay so much taxes, everywhere,
the Mahkota Cheras toll, instead of short distance 1.5km, they put up a toll, 6.7km, and collect toll from Cheras rakyat, BN and Umno gov is very greedy,
enrich the cronies and do not care about the rakyats.

BN and Umno go to hell.
PR will rule and take care of us Rakyat,
written by oster, April 25, 2008 16:43:53
Dear BN Loyalist,

When faced with competition, one adapts and competes.

Usually, in the process of adapting, one makes many mistakes.

And the Opposition has made many mistakes in the past.

However, the results of this election is the culmination of learning from all these mistakes.

That's why the prediction that they'll screw up is less likely, because the current generation have been through the fires of testing times.

If you really love BN, then you could only pray that BN goes through its current tribulations and actually takes a lesson from it, or else it will just wilt away.

written by welldone, April 25, 2008 16:45:54
From what I see and gather on the grassroots are that BN can no longer regain what they've lost in the future. Malaysians from all walks of life are just fed up with them, BN. Being in power (absolute) for far too long had made them arrogant and greedy.

Prior to the GE on 8 March, I've only met 1 who is voting for BN. The rest (although it's not in the thousands) are openly saying the they will vote for the opposition, regardless of the which party.

Honestly, even though we all know that the "postal votes" are there but there are no proof of it. But one thing that has proof is that all Civil servants, though as much as they want to, that is to vote for the opposition, they can't, fearing backlash from the government. I've met quite a number of civil servants supporting opposition but when I asked them what is their choice come GE day, all of them says this "as much as we want to vote for the opposition but we can't cause we are the civil servants, once the government finds out then our future are as good as gone"

written by YSL, April 25, 2008 16:51:56
I wish that more Malay brothers and sisters will come to think of more serious problems face by all Malaysian either one is from DAP, KeaDiLan, PAS or BN.
The world is going for a bigger recession not because of USA is having one because of rising Energy Costs and Food shortage.
Please tell me, if China refuses to export RICE to Malaysia what will happen???
Can UMNO handle this problems? Can BN handle this problems?
There is no time for racial issue and why we lost and why he won! Get on with the real issue!
written by freedom to speak, April 25, 2008 16:55:32
Bigger waves,
bigger tsunami.
It all depends on the Pakatan Rakyat.
How they perform will decide their future.

BN on the other hand,
not at all concern about their future.
Still in denial.
Still unable to shake off stone-age mentality.
They may even do the deed of putting UMNO out of its misery themselves!
written by krising1, April 25, 2008 17:00:56
If not for 13 May 1969, this tsunami would have hit the cuntry decades ago and we would have a 22-year Tun rule!
written by Kathy, April 25, 2008 17:09:34
The next tsunami will involve Sarawak and Sabah, if what I've been reading today about Anwar's visits to these two states comes to fruition. I just hope the people of Sarawak and Sabah have the guts to embrace this change and not be "bought" back by BN. My message the leaders of these two states: do the right thing and give something back to the people you represent. They've been screwed for far too long.
written by dkkl, April 25, 2008 17:55:38
BN is shrinking like a turtle head got hit with a stick!
written by KotaDamansara73, April 25, 2008 21:43:14
To heal this nation wounds, we have to right the wrongs of this nation. We have to put Mahathir, Najib and all UMNO goons on trial. They are the biggest criminal of hummanity.
written by Rozlan, April 25, 2008 21:50:15
no matter what happen nobody want to go back to previous era of BN absolute corrupt power..
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 25, 2008 21:50:51
It will not be a tsunami, but a civil-unrest, state of emergency, military-rule, and the end of Bolehland.
written by Ah Chong, April 25, 2008 21:57:40
By BN Loyalist, Kuching, BORNEO POST
Another Loyalist who help BN to covered their SINS!
written by Rozlan, April 25, 2008 22:17:10
Ok guys,let say Razak Baginda were found guilty and sentence to life sentence and those two will go to gallow..Razak baginda will serve a short improsonment and after that will be pardoned.The others will be sent to gallow..What if they conduct sham hanging.The two murderers will be smuggle overseas.Given lots of money.Change their identities and forgotten by the public..
written by FFT, April 26, 2008 00:57:04
What can BN and especially Umno politicians learn from this disaster?

Harakiri with Hishamuddin's keris.
written by miwaki, April 26, 2008 03:32:17
It is very fortunate that BN consists of not so smart people.If BN people are intelligent and righteous,Malaysia should be very prosperous and the rakyat are living in harmony among different races.

Based on their intelligence,it is impossible for BN to revive and topple PR in the 5 states which are currently under PR-controlled.What we have in the barisan line-up is a bunch of kangarooes and smashed potatoes.
written by roadbarra, April 26, 2008 03:38:00
BN is dying and racing to go dead I hope. They have been ruling for 50 years and taking citizens for morons. Well that is over now, people get instant info and more educated. We don't live in the 60s anymore. So long BN, go jump off a cliff or blow up with a C.....
written by bumi non malay, April 26, 2008 05:47:38
Tsunami or no Tsunami......Sabah/Sarawak enjoys no development and being rape daily by UMNO-BN cronies......we cannot wait for Sabah/Sarawak to come to their senses. You need a Revolution there to kick those Dictator out......

Election is pointless when those Phantom votes and Election Commission have worked the boundaries proper like Mugabe of Zimbabwe......Yet you still ponder.

Hurry up lor leave and Join Coalition DAP, PAS, PKR....for a better Malaysia!!
written by Bigjoe99, April 26, 2008 08:44:32
This Tsunami description is really getting people to think wildly. The truth is this is more like a 'perfect storm' and its likely the wave will recede before another storm comes again. The weather pattern have changed and another storm can come but not before it recedes.

The way Anwar is going about things, its more likely the opposition will NOT make further gains for a while given how much they have to tackle in the next four years with the government and within Pakatan Rakyat...