Altantuya's father loses composure in emotional press conference PDF Print
Friday, 25 April 2008 16:02

(New Straits Times) - He is normally calm and composed, but having waited so long and still not having seen justice done, Dr Setev Shaariibuu simply lost it today.

The father of murdered Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu slammed his fist on the table during a press conference yesterday and threatened diplomatic consequences should the trial of his daughter’s accused murderers not be fair, free and speedy.

Setev had fought hard the whole press conference to hold back the tears. That his eyes watered up several times was clear to all, but he still put on a brave front.

Up until his outburst, that is.

Setev claimed two letters were sent by the Mongolian prime minister to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi late last year.
He claimed the letters did not receive any response from Abdullah.

“If this case is not solved, Mongolia will sever diplomatic ties with Malaysia. The people of Mongolia take this case very seriously,” he said, through interpreter and lawyer Mijidorj Munkhsaruul.

Setev then stormed off, leaving Parti Keadilan Rakyat leaders, including president Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail and her deputy Prof Dr Syed Husin Ali in the lurch.

The party had organised the press conference at its headquarters in Section 16, here. All Dr Wan Azizah could do was make a plea for a speedy and fair trial.

Setev’s behaviour was unlike what pressmen and others who have met him are used to.

He normally has a composed air about him, masking the pain that everybody knows he surely feels having had his eldest daughter brutally murdered.

Setev has complained about how long the trial is taking, but never so passionately or so furiously.

Earlier yesterday, he conveyed his disappointment and regret over the postponement of the trial again, having met deputy public prosecutor Tun Abd Majid Tun Hamzah just two days before.

Setev has travelled many times to Malaysia to see justice served, but time and again has returned home disappointed.

He also explained that he filed a suit against the government over the affair as he needed “humanitarian aid” for Altantuya’s youngest son, who is ill.

He claimed the 4-year-old had peripheral nerve paralysis and cannot walk, and his wife had just had a heart attack.

Special Action Squad members Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, 32, and Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar, 37, are being tried for murdering Altantuya in Bukit Raja between 10pm on Oct 19 and 11am the following day, two years ago.

Political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda was charged with abetting the two.

written by DezMalaysia, April 25, 2008 16:15:15
Najib, Matilah Pak Lah ! AG Guni Petai, IGP Musang dan baruah !
written by RitchieLow, April 25, 2008 16:22:15
Put yourself in Dr Shaariibuu's shoes and see how you feel.
written by Thian, April 25, 2008 16:23:04
Any decent human would feel the pain that Dr.Shaariibuu felt...

The core basis of a country is the judicial system. The last bastion for the people should be the judicial.

In Malaysia one basic consistency and conclusion; its judicial, enforcement, media reporting, the government, and all the entire human social system is in need of a good reform.

Reformasi...
written by InEffective, April 25, 2008 16:25:49
Truly disgusting justice, law-order, and governing culture.

And we hope to create a good lifestyle and living environment for our children? Must be joking with the ethics and integrity of our glorious politicians and law-oder enforment officials - comprehensively dysfunctional.
written by doggone, April 25, 2008 16:37:55
The death of his daughter is not enough.
The Malaysian Government now wants to slowly kill the father by delaying the trail with the final verdict should it come, that the accuse are found NOT GUILTY for lack of clear and convincing evidence.

Those perpetrators in power don't give two hoots if ties with Mongolia is severed as long as their neck is not. 'Boleh' in Malaysia is not having the necessary means or skill or know-how to do something but the ability to stifle anything and everything with authority to one's favor.

The PM will have to be in his usual state of self-denial regarding this high profile case as he too is dying in his politicial portfolio though if demise it must be, he would retain wholeness physically and not in fragments.
written by harryo, April 25, 2008 16:38:36
There is a hundred days' theory. The longer it takes, the more people will forget. Politicians use this theory for their benefit.
written by alpha100, April 25, 2008 16:45:59
Many certainly curious why the court case take so long? is there efficiency in handling of the case by various party? Are we to set another "Malaysia Boleh!" record for longest hearing in history!
written by SeriousLy, April 25, 2008 16:51:30
Setev claimed two letters were sent by the Mongolian prime minister to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi late last year.
He claimed the letters did not receive any response from Abdullah

That's how efficient our PM and PM Department is! If There is no change in leadership, do you think our country will proper? All the GDP and super good economy reports are false. All middle income and below are crying. We need the BLR decreased!!! RPK, this issue will ignite some fire!
written by SeriousLy, April 25, 2008 16:52:56
That's how efficient our PM and PM Department is! If There is no change in leadership, do you think our country will prosper? All the GDP and super good economy reports are false. All middle income and below are crying. We need the BLR decreased!!! Money being rob to be returned to the rakyat.
written by Shyetan, April 25, 2008 17:02:21
Aha Be careful!! This is UMNO's Ketuanan Melayu in action!! Everyone involved in this case adalah member member - from the very bottom up to the top - mana ada problems?
written by Counterpointer, April 25, 2008 17:23:54
Hey
when are the judicial reforms coming?

when this case is over ????
written by shan, April 25, 2008 18:27:47
Our heart is with you, Mr.Setev.,.We pray that your daughter's soul will rest in peace.

As far as murderers are concerned, plse be assured that justice will be done.We the Rakyat have awoken,we are not taking shit anymore from the EVIL BARISAN NATIONAL GOMEN.We too are waiting to see the verdict says.

Only the person born to the prostitute's son of Satan will commit such a heneous crime.We will pray for your daughter's soul and curse the whole bunch of murders,May they ROT IN HELL without redemntion.Please be brave in this trying times. smilies/angry.gif
written by johanssm, April 25, 2008 19:02:29
There is NO way we can assure that his late daughter will have a fair trial in this country.As long as babiputras are in the corridors of power, as long as our polis are corrupted, as long as ACA are toothless, as long as SUHAKAM is nothing but a piece of toilet paper .
***Good example of Malaysian justice was when thamby chik happily rapes a minor and guess who went to prison for that crime***

written by binarytan, April 25, 2008 19:41:04
We all have family, try to imagine if you were to lose your family member..

Only the cold blood killer does not care!!! smilies/angry.gif

May be should put him in the international war criminal court by using C4 on innocent human!!!
written by Msian 2, April 25, 2008 19:54:39
The long delay of the trial suggest the govt is up to no good -- cover up. COLD BLOODED KILLERS & CRIMINALS to the highest level.
written by Sabahfan, April 25, 2008 20:25:27
But I dont like the part of him storming out, which is disrespectful of the very people that are trying to help him, Namely.. Wan Assizah...

And I repeat my public message to Mr Seribu...

He should have search all of his daughters properties at home for clues, open every bag, every pics, every pieces of papers... surely Altantuya will have left behind lots of clues....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 25, 2008 21:08:30
The intention is to cover up everything. They are still covering up the faces of the two accused.
written by coolandy, April 25, 2008 21:32:40
If you can't win, minimise your potential losses by delaying it as long as possible. Who cares about justice? It's my ass that's on the line. I die or you die, better you die-lah!

The above I think sums up the true scenario. So sorry for Alantuya's family. Is there a way that I can contribute? Please let the readers know.
written by mohdarif, April 25, 2008 21:42:46
i wonder how these people sleep at night and najib continues business as usual smugly. the lesson learnt here is that if you mess with the powers that be you'll end up the loser. nothing much the judicial reform minister can do when the same dogs are his masters plus i'm sure millions of dollars earned by his law firm come from government clients. so all this is for show lah, how can you bite the hand that feeds you.
i hope pakatan rakyat does form the government before september. this is the only solution
written by jeya, April 25, 2008 22:08:35
smilies/cool.gifHey ,Good People of MT!
I read some hwere on the blog that my childhood friend bought his wife from her husband for.......! smilies/angry.gif Is this for godsake true.I am of Srilankan Descent & I despised the dowry system! As my ol'man said 2 : what's wrong with u that u need dowry!!!{I married a Keralite,so there! smilies/grin.gif}
Now why the dickens do I need to buy my 4 x...wife from her husband!
Is that marriage is all about.Pleeese,spare me! There is only one time u make an Oath- for better or worse! Hey Guys!, Laedies ! if U can be bought & sold like cattle in the market, please do not
bluff us. Get Out before it becomes public knowledge! Sheesh even after 15 years of marriage, me wife is still my wife & if anyone messes with her,aside from her giving u the kick up yr parts where the sun dont shine ,I will break all yr bones! smilies/cool.gifBut I am not BN person so....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 25, 2008 22:16:18
Na-shit is her second or third hubby?
written by Aack, April 25, 2008 22:44:02
Just plain disgusting, the state of our judiciary.
2 years and almost 3 now. the case is still not solved.

The top $%^&*( who gave the orders to kill her must be nabbed!
Where is the results? We Malaysians want to see results, not just delays and delays. Poor guy, jz imagine who would do such a thing! If it was one of the top politician's daughter who had been killed, i m sure they can find the culprit fast!
written by roy, April 25, 2008 23:13:33
Gosh, perhaps justice will only serve Altantuya after doomsday.
written by fireduck, April 26, 2008 00:50:42
Each time we read about Altantunya's case, we feel for the poor family. And especially for the father who has to fly in and out from Mongolia. For god's sake, Malaysians getting screwed in the local judiciary system is bad enough, but to subject this man and his family to such is plain inhuman! How can we EVER call ourselves a civilized nation of the world, if we cannot even give due respect to simple goodness like justice, human values and decency.

I may not sound patriotic, but I think Mongolia should take the Malaysian Govt to International Court or something like that, since it is obvious that Selev is not getting due justice here. But in fact, I am damn patriotic, as I do not want my country to be dragged down the drain by a bunch of incompetents. This case is getting too high profile for our own good. If that poor girl is an American, You bet your little tush that the US State Dept will put pressure to bear on the Malaysian Govt for a quick and speedy conclusion.

Justice delayed is just as good as justice denied.
written by Angela Ooi, April 26, 2008 01:05:17
My heart aches for this Dr and his family. However, I have faith that those who were involved in this dastardly act will get their just desserts. Remember what goes around, comes around with accumulated interest too. The whole sordid truth will surely come out someday and I only hope the guilty ones will answerable for their actions asap. Malaysians want the Govt to be fair and bring justice to this bereaved family.
written by miwaki, April 26, 2008 03:38:28
Badawi couldn't reply in English so he asked Foreign Minister who is also English illiterate to reply so this chap see stars.Finally letters are not replied !
written by orangair, April 26, 2008 05:38:42
What can you expect from Dollah Badawi he lame duck?? Forerever sleepy and silly. This is disaster for Malaysia. But does Dollah care? IT's not his daughter...