Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow So, are the Sabah MPs crossing over or not?

So, are the Sabah MPs crossing over or not? PDF Print
Thursday, 24 April 2008 16:39

There are 60 Sabah State Assemblymen, 32 of them from Umno, and 25 Parliamentarians, 14 of them from Umno. Therefore Umno Sabah calls the shots. But if USNO replaces Umno Sabah, then even those from PBS and the other Barisan Nasional component members will leave and join the new party.

Anwar in Sabah but 'not to woo MPs'

KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who arrived here yesterday, denied that his visit was aimed at wooing Sabah Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat.

The Parti Keadilan Rakyat de facto leader said the question should not arise as those planning to cross over had made up their minds and were waiting for the right time.

"The purpose of my visit is to brief PKR members and supporters on the promises made in our election manifesto, such as the 20 per cent oil royalty pledge for Sabah.

"We are not here to make any sort of deal (with BN MPs)," he said at a hotel here.

He also explained that the press conference was called "to allay the concerns of some and to refute the unfounded allegation of others that we are here for a very unethical and immoral purpose to woo support from BN MPs".

When asked when would be the appropriate time for the alleged crossovers to take place, Anwar said the MPs had yet to be sworn in and that parliament would only begin its session on Monday.

"Why should we rush? We know they will be joining us. It is only a matter of time. If not next month, maybe the following month, July or before the Merdeka Day or Malaysia Day (in September)," he said. - NEW STRAITS TIMES

Anwar Claims Some Sabah BN MPs Have Decided To Defect

KOTA KINABALU -- Parti Keadilan Rakyat's (PKR) de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim today claimed that some Barisan Nasional (BN) Members of Parliament in Sabah have already decided to join `Pakatan Rakyat' and are only waiting for the right time to do so.

"What is holding them is the timing. These MPs are not even sworn in Parliament (yet). We are not in a rush," he told reporters here.

He claimed that if they did not join next month, it could be in the following month, July or even on Merdeka Day (Aug 31).

"But I think we should not exceed beyond that," he said. - BERNAMA

SHABERY: We’re not worried about rumours over Barisan MPs crossing over

Barisan Nasional (BN) is not worried over talk of its members of parliament in Sabah defecting to Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) as claimed by the party’s de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Instead, it was Pakatan Rakyat that should be worried about their MPs crossing over to BN as the people are very angry with the RM100 million hi-tech pig farm project in Selangor, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said today.

“I think it is Anwar who should be worried. Perhaps, there may be Pakatan Rakyat component parties that will opt to join BN. People are very angry with what is happening in Selangor now.

“He should realise that the Malays are very angry. Not that I want to play racial sentiments here, it is not the question of pig rearing which is a racial issue, but is that the priority of the PKR-led Pakatan Rakyat state government in Selangor,” he told reporters at Parliament House after checking on the preparations for the live telecast of the Dewan Rakyat proceedings next week.

Ahmad Shabery said Umno’s position in the 222-seat Dewan Rakyat was still strong, with more than 70 seats in hand, as compared to PKR’s 31.

Anwar claimed yesterday that some BN MPs in Sabah have already decided to join Pakatan Rakyat and were only waiting for the right time to cross over.

“What is holding them is the timing. These MPs are not even sworn in Parliament yet. We are not in a rush,” he had told reporters in Kota Kinabalu. - BERNAMA

Those were today’s news reports by Bernama and the New Straits Times.

No, Anwar Ibrahim is not in Sabah to persuade the Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat. He is in Sabah only to explain to Pakatan Rakyat members the increase of the oil royalty from 5% to 20%.

No, Anwar Ibrahim is not in Sabah to make any deals with Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament. "Why should we rush? We know they will be joining us. It is only a matter of time. If not next month, maybe the following month, July or before the Merdeka Day (August) or Malaysia Day (September)."

Anwar also explained that he is in Sabah "to allay the concerns of some and to refute the unfounded allegation of others that we are here for a very unethical and immoral purpose to woo support from BN MPs". However, explained Anwar, some Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament in Sabah have already decided to join Pakatan Rakyat and they are only waiting for the right time to do so.

Phew, what a load of political doublespeak. Anwar is so confusing I hope he does not end up confusing himself.

But Ahmad Shabery Cheek, the country bumpkin from the Terengganu kampong turned Information Minister, is not worried. Barisan Nasional is not worried over talk of its Members of Parliament in Sabah defecting to Parti Keadilan Rakyat. Instead, it is Pakatan Rakyat that should be worried about their MPs crossing over to BN as the people are very angry with the RM100 million hi-tech pig farm project in Selangor.

“He should realise that the Malays are very angry. Not that I want to play racial sentiments here, it is not the question of pig rearing which is a racial issue, but is that the priority of the PKR-led Pakatan Rakyat state government in Selangor,” said Shabery.

What Shabery failed to mention is that it was Umno that approved the pig-rearing project. He also failed to mention that one full planeload of Umno people flew to Germany to visit a pig farm at the cost of millions of the rakyat’s money.

Anyway, is Anwar in Sabah to negotiate the cross-over of Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament or not -- and are they crossing over? Actually, they are not crossing over to Parti Keadilian Rakyat -- or DAP or PAS. They do not wish to join any of the semenanjung political parties, which, to Sabahans, are a symbol of colonialism. They want they own home-based party, a Sabah party run by Sabahans for Sabahans.

If Anwar tries to persuade them to leave Barisan Nasional and cross over into one of the three Pakatan Rakyat parties he will fail miserably. Instead, he will have to tell them, once Pakatan Rakyat forms the federal government, they will approve the re-registration of USNO. Yes, Sabahans are sentimental about USNO and they want to revive the party that was instrumental in gaining Merdeka for Sabah in September 1963.

Pakatan Rakyat is just another Barisan Nasional to Sabahans. And they have not forgotten or forgiven Anwar for bringing Umno into Sabah, which resulted in what Sabahans view as the ‘re-colonisation’ of the state. Anwar will have to redeem himself by proposing that Sabahans revive the now defunct USNO and that when he leads the federal government he will ensure that the registration of the revived party will be approved.

Yes, the 20% oil royalty is certainly an attraction. But the 20-point Agreement is another needling issue. Anwar has to assure Sabahans that the federal government will respect and honour this Agreement. And to guarantee that this will be achieved, ‘federal’ political parties must stay out of Sabah and instead a local party will replace Umno. And that party must be USNO.

The solution is simple and can be easily agreed upon. Revive USNO, legalise it by approving its registration, and throw in the 20-point Agreement and the 20% oil royalty. There are 60 Sabah State Assemblymen, 32 of them from Umno, and 25 Parliamentarians, 14 of them from Umno. Therefore Umno Sabah calls the shots. But if USNO replaces Umno Sabah, then even those from PBS and the other Barisan Nasional component members will leave and join the new party. USNO will then join Pakatan Rakyat as the fourth member -- bringing the Sabah State Government and 15-18 Members of Parliament with them. Then Pakatan Rakyat will not only have one more state under their control but it will need just another dozen or so Parliament seats to form the new federal government. And there are 30 Parliament seats in Sarawak and Sarawakians also want 20% oil royalty and the spirit of the 20-point Agreement restored.

Phew, it’s so simple. If Anwar can’t pull this off then maybe he should step aside and allow someone else to take over the reins of Pakatan Rakyat.

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by malaysianohope, April 24, 2008 16:56:59
Alo Alo Anwar!

Let Abang Pete advise you lol. So simple!

So Sabahan what you waiting for? USNO it is.
agree 142
written by Michael Pg, April 24, 2008 17:08:54
go go go switch, and kick BN out . GOAL. smilies/grin.gif
written by peacemaker, April 24, 2008 17:09:10
We the RAKYAT are waiting desperately for Pakatan Rakyat to take over the federal government.
agree 130
written by Thomas47, April 24, 2008 17:10:52

You never fail to amaze me. Your suggestion may not be too far off the mark. Maybe you'll find the article below an interesting read.

At: http://www.theborneopost.com/?p=34337
written by box, April 24, 2008 17:11:58
YM RPK, you looked more like the kingmaker than anyone else.... smilies/grin.gif
written by orangutan, April 24, 2008 17:12:42
sorry guys
not Usno.
the name brings lots of nasty memories
why not Party Rakyat Sabah
written by joeawk, April 24, 2008 17:13:10
josh must be mad, what is in Bn that is so darn good that you are afraid to lose.
written by teo siew chin, April 24, 2008 17:16:13
"...the suffering of Malaysians under the power of foreigners..."
-----------------------------

is it any worse than suffering under the power of our very own? smilies/wink.gif
written by Cozy, April 24, 2008 17:17:19
Halo abang "Shabery Bibir Tersorong",
Saya anak jati Selangor beragama Islam... As long the pig farm has better sewerage with conplete hi-tech waste treatment unit, we are happy. I do not know where do you get the idea that the Selangorian is angry with Tan Sri Khalid, he is our MB...

Don't try to bull shit around with the Selangorian. Please look at your kampung halaman first how the kerbau is mengamuk tak tentu pasal sampai nak bunuh anak org. Jangan sibuk2 pasal hal di negeri Selangor. If you have any doubt, please refer to our MB Tan Sri Khalid. He is the MAN now and not Si-Penyapu.

Please beware that...!!!!
agree 231
written by Thomas47, April 24, 2008 17:21:37

Forget my earlier comment. You are steps ahead of me. I submit, I bow to the master. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by little dragon, April 24, 2008 17:22:59
pete

cam na ko tau all dat u hv suggested here is not already part of d offer? based on his circumspect responses, it is clear he is playing everything very close to his chest n is also weighing his moves as things develop. as to whether he really has d numbers who want to crossover, i guess nobody will really know except him n his inner circle, but i certainly won't discount d possibility as i do find d elections results in sabah rather odd considering d level of dissatisfaction against umno there.

cut d guy some slack for now until d situation becomes clearer will ya.
written by Nipizan, April 24, 2008 17:23:22
Good!

I will wait with bated breath.
written by aryn, April 24, 2008 17:25:05
Sabahans are actually simple minded people. If you respect us, we will respect your too.

Give us our rights - increased oil royalty and honour the 20-point agreement and get Umno out of Sabah. That's all we want.

You see, ever since Umno spread its wings to Sabah, the party's racist and berat sebelah politics have negatively affected our once multi-racial harmony and corruptions among Sabah Umno leaders are high. We just hate Umno's 'ketuanan Melayu' and 'ketuanan semenanjung' brands of politics which its leaders 'tanamkan' among our local Malay leaders.

As for Usno, sorry RPK. You are out of touch about this party. It is dead and buried with Tun Mustapha. Anybody who wants to revive it must have the Tun's charisma but not his power crazy and dictator hands.

Furthermore, Usno is only remembered by the older generation not the current ones. They can try to 'revive' Usno but not with Musa Aman, brother Anifah, Lajim or Yahya Hussin (these men are bad news).

My bet, some Sabah Umno MPs or adun may end up joining PBS, SAPP, or Dompok's party.
written by slash n burn, April 24, 2008 17:25:42
The only MP that I can swear to heaven 100% will crossover is Jeffry Kitingan if he still with BN. DSAI, you better keep your eye on this fella. Heard this romours he is going to join Republican!
written by dieselngan, April 24, 2008 17:47:37
USNO in Sabah.

What about Sarawak?
written by JamesJoyce, April 24, 2008 17:49:15
Anwar still cannot enter the political arena yet as the law requires him another 6 months before he is allowed to stand as a candidate for Parliament. That’s where the Sept 16 , 2008 picture comes in. The Malaysia Day is actually a digression from the main objective. Another one of Anwar’s Art of War.

As to whether he has the baggage from East Malaysia, that is a totally different picture. During his trial he said he had files to defend himself but in the end the files seems to drift away and he went to prison. Now he is playing the political poker game again – same as the trial- of keeping this subject of ascending to the throne alive. I wonder it’s just a miserable PAIR or indeed a FULL HOUSE.

We will see come September 2008
written by Hope4all, April 24, 2008 17:49:30
Now let's make it happen...

Sabahans and Sarawakians can show the Semenanjung folks how racial harmony and integration are all about instead of having Semenanjung people bully them, rule them and only treat them as "fixed deposits" during elections.
written by puakang, April 24, 2008 18:03:01
"If Anwar can’t pull this off then maybe he should step aside and allow someone else to take over the reins of Pakatan Rakyat."

He has come this far..and my bet his he will finish his journey..and most likely the way you have put it.. Lets wait and see
written by turun padang, April 24, 2008 18:06:05
written by josh, April 24, 2008 | 16:54:54

Dear Raja Petra,
I will deem you responsible when Anwar Ibrahim takes over and sell our nation to the Red Dot on the South, and whoever else.
--------------------------------------------------

Josh,
you nak main dgn konspirasi teori? mari sini.. saya bagi u satu...

memandangkan keadaan ekonomi dunia sekarang dan perkembangan politik semasa didalam negara dan didunia. Jangan kata Anwar nak jual negara la..

Kot kot... takala, dalam masa 20 tahun dari sekarang apabila brunei dah kehabisan minyak & singapore dah tak ada tempat utk dibangunkan lagi...
Mereka (singapore & brunei) akan join balik MALAYSIA dan dalam masa tu la.. Kita akan Balik kepada the ORIGINAL MALAYSIA dan dalam masa kurang 50 tahun dari sekarang.. ORIGINAL MALAYSIA akan menjadi super power yang baru di DUNIA..

Kita dah tunggu 50 tahun utk melihat perubahan politik di tanah air ni.. 50 tahun lagi utk JADI SUPER POWER.. posible? of course posible
written by PR Msia, April 24, 2008 18:07:45
Moral or immoral? For DSAI to woo BN MPs?

Depends on which angles we see things.

Moral - It is correct in the sense that BN expenditure is exceed the limits set to woo voters. SPR also being bias. Phantom voters and post voters. 51% popular votes should represent the RAKYAT aspiration.

Immoral - Only if perfect, fair, transparent in running of PRU12.

Conclusion - I feel it is morally correct to woo BN MPs to cross over as SPR didnt carry out a fair election.
written by SamYap, April 24, 2008 18:12:02
written by PR Msia, April 24, 2008 | 18:07:45

Moral or immoral? For DSAI to woo BN MPs?

Its definitely Moral, if we go by the measure of popular votes.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 24, 2008 18:15:56
The situation is like a new entertainment outlet where everyone will flock there to try out, and soon find it a more comfortable place, and continue to patronise the new out-let ... PR is definitely much more appealing than BN.
written by Whichdoktor, April 24, 2008 18:19:15
Well, I am glad Mustapha didn't succeed in his bid to get the 30% oil royalty. If he did he would probably have lavished more on himself and his cronies. He would most certainly buy the best jet on offer at that time (he already had two bought with state money and operated with state money) and would probably rival the US President's Air Force One. That man was bad news for Sabah through and through. The least we talk about the USNO led Alliance the better. And RPK please don't ever talk about reviving USNO again. That party died with Mustapha who plundered Sabah from his casino hideouts in the UK. Known as Mr. Brown and "The Prince" he lavished on his orang putih friends in the UK while leaving Sabah's administration in the hands of his cronies and henchmen. At regular intervals he would visit Sabah to replenish his funds from some nominee companies to which he had given large timber concessions. If Sabah got the 30% oil royalty at that time much of the money would only go the way Sabah's timber wealth had gone - into his own high-style living which knew no bounds. Even today., some ex-USNO people in UMNO have learned all the bad habits from Mustapha. If PR can come and clean up the place it will be most welcome. If those guys in UMNO Sabah are coy about crossing over to PKR or as independents, they can always form their own party, but not USNO please. Sabahans have too many bad memories about USNO to accept it, even in its metamorphosed form.
written by RitchieLow, April 24, 2008 18:28:39
Dear josh,

Can you give us more details on how your envisaged state of Bolehland will play out ? You've lost me there with the ends without the means.
written by NickChan, April 24, 2008 18:31:27
i have always envied the multiculturalism of sabah&sarawak
written by legaleagle, April 24, 2008 18:41:19
Speaking from Sabahans' perspective, with due respect, USNO to represent all Sabah MPs and Assemblymen, with PBS members etc joining USNO, is not workable.

orangutan is right, USNO under the Mustapha time was similar to UMNO now - ruthless, corrupt, arrogant, bullying! Heck, even the name was deliberately made to look and sound as close to UMNO as possible, when it was formed. It was meant to be a reflection of UMNO.

It would be better if UMNO YBs join the revived USNO, and the other Sabah-based BN component Parties join the Pakatan Rakyat with USNO. PBS & UPKO can represent the KDM (Kadazan-Dusun-Murut) while SAPP and LDP represent the Chinese Community, even though SAPP is a non-racila Party.

If this racial representation is not favourable, a non-racial new Party based in Sabah, conprising of the above 5 Parties, would be another aorkable alternative.
written by benny loh, April 24, 2008 18:44:54
What Shabery failed to mention is that it was Umno that approved the pig-rearing project. He also failed to mention that one full planeload of Umno people flew to Germany to visit a pig farm at the cost of millions of the rakyat’s money.
Rusty Shabery will become a frog himself when he sees all around him hopping about
written by andalusia, April 24, 2008 18:49:20
YM RPK,
Pening lah. Jadi ke, tak jadi? Will there be any cross over or not? Does he really have the numbers or not? Meanwhile our PM is already drawing up his exit plan. Exit Malaysialah (Australia maybe?)Do we really want Najib to take over???
The numbers from Sabah is possible, in fact highly probable considering the political history there (PBS??).
Tapi Sarawak, susah sikit lah. That Mat Taib fella, has the Sarawakian by their throats. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by sikembangcina, April 24, 2008 19:18:05
Helo Saudara Josh,

Meh akak nak tanya satu soalan saja.

"Does your soul or nyawa belongs to you?" No, right, you belongs to Allah swt. So, how can you claim that this bumi bertuah, Malaysia belongs to only the Malays? Stupid!!

Everything, everyone, including your good self belongs to Allah the Almighty, get it? And when you die, you will only take your kain kapan to your grave. You will not take the whole land with you. And your kids? If they are good themselves, why worry about this bumi akan tergadai? Surely your kids can survive no matter what. Unless your kids are those spoilt brats, then what can I say.. Like father like kids..

Last but not least, you are an Arrogant Malay!!! Should be sent on a one-way-ticket to Mars together with all the UMNO idiots. Don't ever come back here again. We don't want people like you here in Malaysia!!!
written by ismhakim, April 24, 2008 19:34:43
Raja Petra

Great analysis.

Anwar should take heed.

My views:

Anwar should be a powerbroker that he is today and remain so until the PR is strong enough to withstand the media onslaught against it. UMNO is already using the PIG issue as a proxy for its racist politics... Malays vs Chinese and the PIG is put in the middle.

Then UMNO and UMNO YOuth use the ultra-Malay NGOs as a proxy to indulge in extremist Malay politics of the racist ketuanan melayu.

It is obvious UMNO is driving a RACIAL wedge between PR and BN.

And we three idiots ( 2 in PAS, Tok Guru Nik Aziz and Dzulkifley who took UMNO's bait on the Islamic State) and another idiot in PR (Karpal Singh) who launched the war of words in the media (exploited by UMNO's NST and the malay press and Star of MCA).

The surprise fool is Dzulkifley for entering into the fray. We would excuse the other two political dinosaurs (Nik Aziz and Karpal). Its a good thing that Lim Kit Siang has decided to sew his mouth up in public after that disaster he almost created in Perak.

A few things Anwar need to keep reminding PAS, PKR and DAP:

a) If PKR turns out to be seen as a Malay party, it will die a natural death like Semangat 46, because then it is just another version of UMNO. PKR's strength is its MULTIRACIAL character and a colour-blind policy mandate.

b) PAS's Islamic State objective should be only seen but NOT heard. Firstly, it is a fact that PAS can NEVER form an Islamic due to the constitutional framework of the country and it can NEVER win the Federal Govt as a major party with this push. PAS's attractiveness should be its honesty, religious moral values it brings into politics and its fair-shake to non Muslims and non Malays as it has done so in Kelantan. All PAS need to do is to replicate those softened policies to other parts of the country. Shouting about its Islamic State will get PAS no where, will not win more votes and in fact it will be its downfall in politics as UMNO will capitalise on it to win Malay votes and non Muslims will walkaway and vote UMNO/PKR against PAS. So it is best to shutup on this issue and do the governing instead.

c) DAP should now realise that its chineseness is its disadvantage. Without the Malay vote, DAP will be an eternal Opposition Party. Perak and Selangor are good lessons for DAP. If you want to have a DAP candidate to be an MB, you need to have a good Malay Muslim candidate with attributes to be an MB acceptable to the palace. So DAP will have to move out of its stupid and silly Chinese or even Indian-mentality, if it wants to continue to be a party of Government and to win government. So people like Karpal and Kit Siang should either retire and become a Senior Advisor without Portfolio for DAP, or quit politics so that they can each get a Tan Sriship from the Agung for their services to the country.

The survival of Pakatan Rakyat will be dependent on those factors and they predicate the fure of Pakatan Rakyat as a viable and sustainable political force.

UMNO will not lose sitting down. Once they get this internal mess they have out of their system, Pakatan Rakyat better watch out!!
written by Eskay Lim, April 24, 2008 19:50:46
Ahmad Shabery, kau Menteri Info tetapi langsung tak dapat apa-apa information yang benar. Betulnya macam kampung boy di bandaraya KL buat kali pertama.
Tidakkah member Khir Toyo beritahu bahawa Ex-Co-nya yang meluluskan projek "Peliharaan Babi" di Ladang Tumbuk, Sepang sebelum GE-12, atas persetujuan krony-krony Umno?
Menteri Besar Selangor sekarang hanya akan melaksanakan projek yang telah diluluskan itu.
Siapakah yang beritahu bahawa orang-orang Selangor protes projek babi itu?
Hanya beberapa orang krony Umno yang protes kerana melihat untungnya beratus-ratus juta ringgit melayang selepas March-8.
written by ismhakim, April 24, 2008 19:57:30
UMNO is now licking its wounds. Even then, it has not shed its arrogance despite the humiliation at the election. The reason is that it is still a major force in Govt and UMNO leaders know that. With that comes the power to exploit public resources to taint and frustrate the Pakatan Rakyat state governments and the PR Federal MPs. It has 50 years of dirty politics in its sleeve.

So there is little need to show sympathy for UMNO or even rejoice while they lick their wounds.

What DAP, PKR and PAS leaders should be doing is launching a sustained media campaing strategy to make UMNO a "pariah" political party by reminding Malaysians what it had done for the last 50 years of systemic corruption and cronyisim and systematic abuse of the rights of citizens.

Pakatan Rakyat and civil society can put into the minds of voters that until such time in the far future that UMNO can cleanse itself (as Muslims do when they touch something that is haram), UMNO should be seen as an "untouchable" for voters. They should not only be made a pariah in 2008 election, but voters should be reminded of little anecdotes of what BN ministers had been doing. There are plenty of examples.
- the bocor statement
- the"keling" statement in parliament
-the keris
- indian vendors
- teargas at the bersih rally
- mongolian woman murder and the sale of figher jets
- the public funds for the one astroanaut
- UMNOputra status
- etc etc

These should be edged into the minds of voters daily.. not just in the weeks before an election.

As for MCA and MIC, the effort is to enhance their extinction as quickly as possible.

Penang CM Guan Eng's move to make Kah Choon to work for the DAP Govt is a stroke of genius.

Its time to remove in the minds of the marginalised Indians that MIC has never and can never be a party to truly represent marginalised Indians, just like UMNO was never and can never be a party for the POOR Malays.

As for the Chinese, most have already written off MCA as a ass-licking running dog of UMNO. The trouble with the chinese voters is they have short memories when you put a dollar sign in front of their noses.
-
written by josh, April 24, 2008 20:19:34
Dear sikembangcina,

You are not tolerant of my existence as a Malaysian citizen. Hence, you are asking me to 'balik' because my views does not conform to yours.

Is there any difference between you and those BN MPs.... whether you like it or not, you are turning into one of them....
disagree 16
written by maverick, April 24, 2008 20:25:16
"Phew, it’s so simple. If Anwar can’t pull this off then maybe he should step aside and allow someone else to take over the reins of Pakatan Rakyat."

i love this statement smilies/grin.gif
written by Ujang, April 24, 2008 21:09:12
Ya, undi RPK sebagai our new PM smilies/grin.gif
written by Taiping60, April 24, 2008 21:29:27
Ahmad Shabery Minister of Disinformation. I think that is more appropriate. Almost the entire country know UMNO approved the pig farm except the Minister of Disinformation.

Another example of disinformatin is he seem to be living be pre GE12 era. Still thinking that he can bullshit through. Where did this Minister of disinformation get the information that the Malay are angry. Is he referring to those Umnoputra in Selangor who been to Germany?

Anyway to our Minister of Disinformation, maybe you should keep in touch with Malaysian Today and Malaysiakini to keep yourself update. Secondly, don't play up racial issue again. Malaysian will be very angry.

To Pete, you logic although realistic seem to simple. Anyway, although I would love to see Anwar to be the PM again but I do not wish him to get those power through crossing. If they cross voluntarily without any butter trades, I believe we can live with that. Any other way, is bad.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 24, 2008 21:38:49
Ahmad Shit-berry and his pig-brain will end up like Zam
written by Daryl, April 24, 2008 21:57:39
Actually PR need to become one party and I hope that is everyone's unltimate goal. It is hard to achieve that now because after 50 years of division the wounds and misunderstanding is still visible. Maybe 10 years from now when we said PR it means qualified politicians that will lead Malaysia to greatness. Also, hopefully at that time majority of us will look at that person and said is he qualified leader to lead us or he is just a lousy leader and we need to choose someone else withot taking into consideration into his race or religion.
written by wiltda13, April 24, 2008 22:00:44
Oii jaws.. eh josh..

WTF are you talking about? Did Azalina still give you money? Are you still in bloody UK? I don't know that UMNO cybertrooper still active even though they lose.. err win with 'simple majority' in the last election. Is it still under Azalina the ex-menteri sukan paling gemuk dalam sejarah Malaysia.

Malu lah sikit Josh.. Nak kene hack ke cakap merapu dalam MT ni? hahHAHahHAHAhHAHAhAH.. bung hole. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by carlitos, April 24, 2008 22:06:08
its all got to do with timing, need everyone to jump at once. Best time to jump is when there will be lots of police and army on the ground to prevent Barisan Najis rempit gangs causing problems.

2 Barisan Najis parties will jump when the time is right. One MP from one of the party claimed that they will definitely win at least 17 seats out of 60 seats in state and 8 parliamentary seats when they jump in the next election. Which parties? Wait and see lah, better don't spoil the surprise smilies/grin.gif
written by taxi90, April 24, 2008 22:49:57
This is telling. From reading between the lines in this article, no one has any reliable information on the defectors. Since RPK - the king of rumors doesn't know who the kataks are, doesn't it stand to reason there are no kataks? And futhermore, is RPK is becoming disaffected with DSAI? From his tone, it looks like RPK has doubts and is now calling Anwar's bluff. Based on his statements these few days, I think DSAI better not blow up his new found credibiity.
written by harmanamri, April 25, 2008 00:20:34
I am certain that Anwar, being a seasoned politician, has more than one scenario, a number of different options and game plans to choose from. The "simple" solution described by RPK could well be ONE of many, and he is keeping it very close to his chest. But I don't understand why we are discussing Shabery Cheek's comments in the same breath: they are nothing but pure rubbish, bullshit, nay, pig shit.

But back to Anwar's plans: Man proposes, God disposes. Or as he (Anwar) is so fond of quoting " Wa makaruu wa makara Allahu wa Allahu khairul maakiriin."
written by harrbm, April 25, 2008 00:29:00

<

Well, i dont know about you guys but come to think of it deeply, it will be disastrous and chaos for all rakyat if Anwar depends on crossover MPs to form a government. why? It's simple. How many crossovers between Barisan and Pakatan will there be over time? These MPs are people too. Nothing short of emotions or greed to stop crossovers between Pakatan and Barisan.

I'll dread the day these crossover MPs helps to form a weak Pakatan government against a strong BN as oppositions.

I say, Pakatan to focus on governing the 5 states. Win the people confidence and mind. Especially the Malays. Then win the next GE with intentions to win 2/3 majority and to form a brand new government. Then form a strong government.

The losers will self-destruct if their internal quarrels continues.

Please remember the GE is not about Anwar only. Its about people, social justice and to right the wrongs.

I also dread the day if PM Anwar decides PKR to form a new coalition with a "whomyouknow" party to form a new BN.

Well, anyway I hope i am wrong.

>
<

written by POKKU, April 25, 2008 00:57:28
Talking about petrolium royaly, please do not forget our brother in Terengganu. If Sabah and Sarawak can get 20%, they will also want the same.

So Mad Said, if you want the royalty money, you know who you should talk to. you are waisting your time asking from AAB
written by cartman26, April 25, 2008 00:59:49
Ahmad Shabery says: -

"Instead, it was Pakatan Rakyat that should be worried about their MPs crossing over to BN as the people are very angry with the RM100 million hi-tech pig farm project in Selangor,"

“He should realise that the Malays are very angry. Not that I want to play racial sentiments here, it is not the question of pig rearing which is a racial issue, but is that the priority of the PKR-led Pakatan Rakyat state government in Selangor,”

What the hell is he trying to say...What a hypocrite...first he says "people are very angry with the RM100 million hi-tech pig farm project in Selangor" and then tries to save his arse by uttering "Not that I want to play racial sentiments here" only after saying that "the Malays are very angry"...

Encik Ahmad Shabery...You should step down as the Minister of Information la..if you continue to talk like that I think we'll have to change you department name to Ministry of Disinformation...
written by messrs_stieh, April 25, 2008 01:26:42
shabery cheek...you ni mengapa ah? you ni macam budak kecik lah...macam...macam mana nak kata itu...ada orang cakap ini. you kena cakap itu..apa itu...macam tak pandai cakap lah...sini PR kata BN kena bimbang...BN jadi pembangkang...you pula kata PR kena bimbang. kata mungkin orang PR yang berpaling tadah...macam mana ini...macam satu budak cakap sama yang satu lagi, "saya ada bola besar". you pula cakap, "saya punya bola lagi besar"..ini bukan permainan kanak-kanak lah. ini dunia realiti. grow up lah sikit. you kena ingat, you ni minister. of information pulak. kena pandai cakap sikit lah!
written by FuLinYu, April 25, 2008 02:37:12
I post here a comment (received today) from a close friend who'd previously worked (as PA) for one senior political chief in Sabah:

You are always welcome here....surprisingly Kuching prospered more fast than KK...3 years back it was the other way round!

Yes, we hope BN keeps her word and that more fairness to our people and what are supposed to be ours (20 points).

Ignore at your peril - BN
PR - get the message?
written by orangutan, April 25, 2008 08:12:24
In Sabah , the original multiracial party ( present not past ) is PBS.
Sapp,Upko,PBRS broke away from PBS to join BN
LPD is the longest surviving BN party ( Not UMNO Sabah )
UMNO leaders are from USNO,Berjaya and PBS.( Muslum )
The relationship among these parties is described below :
SAPP was formed by PBS politicians who were to be dropped from contesting during
PBS time. Therefore there is very very bad blood between PBS & SAPP.
UPKO (formerly Party Democratic Sabah ) comprise of ex PBS leaders also.
Upko and SAPP leaders get along very well.
Kurup ( PBRS ) nobody likes except UMNO Sabah.
And the person who enabled BN to topple PBS government is Lajim now a deputy
federal minister. He and Rubin Balang katak from PBS to UMNO.
ok guys put on your collective thinking hats and come up with a solution.
My solution : Forget about North,South,East,West.Join PKR,PAS or DAP.After all PR looks after Malaysians.
Right????

written by orangutan, April 25, 2008 08:13:42
Sorry forgot one party.
LDP hates SAPP and vice versa.
written by asguard, April 25, 2008 09:02:59
Only matter of time will tell.... if the MPs will cross over it no use now to said anything for now... people may change suddenly... like the winds...
written by talk2stop, April 25, 2008 10:08:13
Sabah & Sarawak are set and ready to split from Malaysia. It is important the federal goverment treat them well.
In USA those who are born there are proud to call themselves Yankee because the Nation will not discriminate them maybe the people do. There have law to protect the minority to stop that.
In Malaysia the goverment calling all in Malaysia, Malaysians. There have law to protect the majority and discriminate the monority. The minority in Malaysia not only discriminated by the people but by country too.
Malaysia is having problems trying to hold on together 13 tiny states with a population of 25 millions.
Malaysia should learn from USA how the federal goverment can unite a country that has 52 states with a population of 420 millions.
But then again there is nothing to learn from the infidels. No matter how much you learn from an infidel you still know nothing.
Anwar you got one hell a job ahead of you if you are a PM. Best of luck.
written by pkler, April 25, 2008 10:14:02
I agree with those who say it should not be USNO. For many USNO=Tun Mustapha, besides which he died a PBS supporter! I don't pretend to have an answer but I believe the days of Sabah based parties may well be over-like it or not, UMNO's not going to disappear in the east and it may well be time to stop the parochial thinking and embrace national-based opposition parties-let's not forget DAP used to win seats when there was no PBS.

Pairin's move into BN under the UMNO aegis was a mistake. He was too pessimistic. Now his time is up-where is our next true leader?
written by Alonso, April 25, 2008 11:57:51
NKU PETE, I certainly think that DSAI went to East M'sia to have a DRY RUN of the real picture of those MPs who had gave an aye to cross over. Consequently, he will tight up those lose ends before the GO.
written by panca, April 25, 2008 12:28:31
Pete, u r d 'man'.

yes, agree with legaleagle about usno being what they had been, an umno-style party.
written by JJFoo, April 25, 2008 13:37:19
I view “cross-over” in the same light as yours on “arresting Mahatir under ISA”. It is unethical, mustn’t be used under any circumstances just because it is WRONG. A both ends pointed needle is a useless needle.

Sabah PBS collapsed just because of “cross-over” condoned and encouraged while under Matahir’s ruling coalition, when it serves him the advantage. Not this time around. The question here is whether “cross-over” should be used by PR to wrest power.

So, Anwar get to be the PM with the help of “katak / frogs”, this “katak” could easily hop in the opposite direction if offers or rewards are attractive enough. This will eventually lead to big time “money politic”. Highest bidder takes all.

“Cross-over” should be ban. Any “cross-over” should be done through a by-election, in the same token when a MP or YB departed. The peoples should ultimately be the one to decide who and which political party should serve them. Those candidates whom the peoples voted for, must not be in the position to sell out the people’s trust in them by being “katak”. “Cross-over” can only be legitimised with a by-election.

PR, just serve the peoples well with the present mandate, they will acknowledge your good deeds and reward you with another term. “Don’t do onto others what you wouldn’t others do onto you”. So far, the oppositions have achived the "near impossible", what the hurry, why consider indulging in unscrupulous conducts.

The above is my personal view, maybe I am missing a bigger picture but the cost of using “cross-over” illegitimately could be very costly.
written by tbsbidayuh, April 25, 2008 13:38:34
Hi Pete,
You brain is No.1 lah. Memang otak nombor satu. For the Sarawakian, PBDS must be restored and join the PR lah. For the Aborigines, STAR is alway ready for repair. It is still in the Dockyard. Ready to sail again soon.
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 13:56:35
Sabah & Sarawak are set and ready to split from Malaysia.
---------------------------------------------------------
if dat happens,filipinas,n indon will keep quiet aah?will it not turn in2 a 2nd east timor?
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 14:01:13
wilt,
josh is azlina's blow doll ke? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Chimera, April 25, 2008 14:18:58
Checkmate!! by malaysia-today smilies/wink.gif
written by Anti Relon, April 25, 2008 16:00:59
Anybody thinking the MPs from sabah and Sarawak are stupid, think again. Why should one or two of them become Cabinet ministers after the cross-over (Defection) to PR when they can become Prime Ministers of their own countries. Instead of joining PR and becoming ministers, there definitely will be talk among Sabah and Sarawak MPs that they secede and become independent nations. Instead of becoming cabinet ministers they can become prime Ministers.
The risk factor is there. If the MPs from Sabah and Sarawak can defect at their whims they can also decide to secede.
written by orangutan, April 25, 2008 16:01:41
dear jjfoo and gorshan,
Re: Katak - best description for a politian crossing over.
But the bigger picture is by kataking PR can form the government
which will repeal ISA and other draconian laws for the good of Malaysians,
I say - why not.
In Sabah all the kataks have never done double frog jumping.
Whether he/she will be picked as candidates for the next election tells
the story.Meaning did the frog use his/her new position to look after
his/her constituent.
Retain or lost seat.

written by Alonso, April 25, 2008 21:20:15
Dear goishan - you shud have taken into consideration that the recent GE was full of hanky-panky be it phantom voters, postal voters, double triple vote casters, voters that were deprived of casting their vote when suddenly their name went missing from SPR electoral listing and many others.

By right the PKR shud have won easily by 60-65% which cud have work out to 130 Parliament seats. Thus, what is there to be ashamed of those who intend to cross over to PKR. Moreover these MPs knew that sooner or later the 2nd TSUNAMI is coming.
written by Alonso, April 25, 2008 21:26:55
My dear JJFoo - Don't dream of PKR taking over the reign of Malaysia in the 13th GE. I'll bet the next time around BN will be well 'organised'. You know what I mean, i.e. there cud be 20-30% foreigners casting their votes for BN then.
written by malaysia united, April 25, 2008 23:50:12
Look into BN and you see utter corruptions. Look into BN deeply and you see these "VIP"s are legally protected and no one can touch them. Are we enjoying living in such nation? I am not. After 12th GE, the scenario changed. We have the opportunity to witness the reverse of such decay. Do we want the corruptions to continue just because of our concerns that the "katak"s may not be sincere? I would rather choose PR to be the government now than worry about minority kataks. PR is strong and will influence them to change. Form the government and rid this corruptions now! Down with BN!!
written by James, April 27, 2008 00:41:51
That is what people call REDEMPTION. Those oil producing states had been cheated of their rights as enshrined in the 20 points upon joining the federation, but some crooked leader cheated them outright with the collusion of their certain state leaders. Now giving them back their 20% is the honourable thing to do. Those Sabah and Sarawak MPs had better take action before their electorates show them the door.
written by tuanlokong, April 27, 2008 14:45:58
DSAI - Jangan tunggu lama2 nanti di kebas orang smilies/grin.gif cheers RPK very good article.
written by carlitos, April 29, 2008 15:44:12
Katak katak sekalian. Lompat lah tinggi tinggi seperti yang diajar oleh BN dulu.

The people I heard last time talking about jumping is still strongly for jumping.

Both political parties from BN that talked about jumping together still believe in jumping. One of them sent a signal recently to DSAI.

The signal is putting up BN flags as agreed by the "secret meeting" between their messengers in China recently smilies/grin.gif

They were laughing about the irony that they use the flag of BN as a sign to tell DSAI in Sabah.

written by SUV, May 05, 2008 14:32:29
fooh waah...dulu saya tenggok "all the presiden's men" gambar,itu deep thooat suruh bob woodard put up flag..n new york times... smilies/grin.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 13, 2008 11:34:26
I don't care what they say, but I DO NOT TRUST that Ex DPM Anwar..You can dress him up in whatever goodie-goodies under the sun, but he is STILL VERY MUCH what he is AND WILL ALWAYS be. I personally hold him responsible for f**king up almost two generations of Malaysian students education. He toe a very2 thin line along the extremist side and that is one major cause for concern. If he becomes the next PM, we will indeed need the help of the God Almighty.
written by akcc81, May 13, 2008 14:46:39
King Peter,

I think you should take over the reins of Pakatan Rakyat suppose Anwar fail to pull off this stunt... what say you?

All hail King Peter..
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 16, 2008 15:41:05
Dear ismhakim: Very good and well thought out points. I would add that this is the best chance for the opposition parties to prove their sincerity and efficiencies in the five states held by them. I am even beginning to hear something good about PAS lead Kelantan from my Chinese brethrens. So, even though the acceptance of an Islamic state is eons away, PAS will have to tone down their vision if they want to govern more Malaysian states. Basically the opposition government should not be dragged or tricked into any issues which are not only time consuming and distractive, but which they cannot win anywhere. Concentrate on good governance, take care of the rakyat’s needs, and most importantly, listen to what the rakyat has to say. Remember UMNO goons going around making statements like: “They should be grateful to the government, you know!” and other equally arrogant and patronizing remarks?. And then they (UMNO) wonder why the rakyat rejected them???
written by legaleagle, May 16, 2008 16:05:56
rainbowseahorse said: "UMNO goons going around making statements like: “They should be grateful to the government, you know!” and other equally arrogant and patronizing remarks?. And then they (UMNO) wonder why the rakyat rejected them?"

- and even their adopted slogan forced down our throat - Keranamu - has that connonatation that we should be grateful to the BN government.
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 16, 2008 16:33:32
...hehehe.. legaleagle, I forgot about that lah! Maybe we should complie a list of "Famous UMNO sayings".