Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Children without childhood

Children without childhood PDF Print
Thursday, 24 April 2008 15:39
By Stan Yee, Kota Kinabalu

If we can turn our attention away from politics for a moment, there is a lot for us to worry about elsewhere. The state of our education, for instance. Our exam-oriented system is cause for grave concern because it has got the whole nation fixated on a concept of  “academic excellence” as defined by exam results. The students’ scholastic performance is no longer a function of what the school can produce, but rather largely a result of performance enhancing private tuition.

What is intended to benchmark our educational standard relative to comparable countries abroad, and a means of gauging our teachers’ level of competence, the public exams have now become annual inter-school high-jump contests in which doing well is not good enough. The quest is for the highest number of ‘A’ passes.  

To achieve the optimum performance many students go to private tuition classes that cumulatively add up almost as much time as the school hours they spend at school every day. On their part some schools pick and choose their students to make sure that the weak ones will not spoil their percentages. The old idea about going to school to learn to be a well rounded person seems to have been thrown out the window.

Each time our public exams turn out brilliant results the crossbar of the standard of excellence is moved yet another notch higher, never mind that these results have been induced by the tuition steroids that have been pumped into our children.

Some kids attend one tuition class after another after school everyday. As if that is not bad enough, now their time is going to be even more constricted by the new national programme known as the Integrated Time-table for Secondary School (Jadual Bersepadu Sekolah Menengah or JBSM) in which some selected schools operate from 7am to 3pm to integrate the normal curriculum with co-curriculum periods.  

If I understand the situation correctly the proposed integrated school time-table is still at its pilot stage to test the system and the reaction of the school community throughout the country.  As such the programme will only serve its trial purpose if the local directors of education understand its trial nature and provide an honest feed-back to the Education Ministry, and not a glowing report unrelated to the true situation just to please the bosses in KL who conceived the JBSM idea.  

At first glance, two days in the week for such an integrated school schedule should suffice. Anything more will overburden both the students and teachers alike. We should not emulate Japan whose schools finish at 3 every afternoon. They have all manner of facilities and extra-curricular programmes to engage a wide range of interests among the students. Even so the rat race there has driven many a young person to desperation. We do not want that to happen here. Already, we have had an increasing number of suicides in this country. Just recently one child jumped off the 5th floor of his school building here in Kota Kinabalu, which partly prompted this article.

Many fear that if the new schedule is accepted it will intensify an already suffocating daily regime for our children, and will lead to even more stresses and strains and a worsening mental health situation. There is a real fear that for some this may well be the last straw.

Apropos the exams, one wonders what good it will do to our education system when the authorities read more than they should into exam results that have been artificially enhanced by factors with little to do with what our schools are capable of producing.

The escalating pressure on the school population is exacting a heavy price on our children and begs many questions.   

Is getting a good number of ‘As’ so important that we can disregard everything else that children enjoy doing, like being with friends, playing sports, spending time with the family or just ‘stand and stare’ and be children?

Will the exam results that benchmark our educational standard serve the purpose to the extent they are touted to represent? And what glory can our schools honestly derive from the high percentages that their students achieve when they know that without tuition the results may have been very different?

What price do our children have to pay to satisfy this standard of excellence to which their schools do not measure up but which they have to forfeit their short, priceless childhood to win for the glory of the school and perhaps to satisfy their parents’ ego?

How many hours can we expect children to work in a day and how many days a week?  

We bemoan that our young people do not read. How can they when they get stuck all day with those boring textbooks that they lug around in their school bags? How can they not be sick to death of books?

What about character and personality development? Character does not grow out of a massive dose of maths or science or BM or English or loads of textbooks or even religious or moral instruction classes. If anything these can even stifle character development.  

There is something quite ridiculous about the way moral instruction is made an examination subject. Kids swat up the moral values presented in a cut and dried fashion to pass the tests. They do not necessarily live up to or even believe in the values that they are taught. They swat up whatever they think the examiner wants. Few think things through for themselves and relate them to real life situations where right or wrong does not always present itself in black and white clarity. They memorise words but do not necessarily internalise skills and values.

Children learn to relate to the world from social interactions with other children, from lessons learned in normal conflicts and perhaps a fight or two, from adults around them, from literature and good movies, from sports and some of the foolish things that adults look back on and laugh about. Anything short of these may turn children into insipid introverts with very little imagination, personal initiative or drive and ability to work independently.  

While some children do need tuition to help them catch up on weak subjects, it should not be a substitute for the normal learning at school. They should receive their staple diet of education at school. Tuition is just a supplement to make up for the shortfall at school.  

Unfortunately as the demand for tuition increases so will the likelihood of some teachers’ ethical standard and professionalism going the other way.  

But, all said, the main culprit is our over-emphasis on using exam results as the yardstick for our schools’ scholastic worth. Periodically we should re-calibrate the benchmark to accord with what the system can produce unaided by extraneous factors.

As matters stand, the present one-size-fits-all approach is woefully out of sync with the realities on the ground. It gives the Ministry of Education a bloated idea of the country’s educational standard.

Stan Yee is a retired government officer and a columnist

written by babakl, April 24, 2008 15:50:14
Do u think or edu min. cares about tis? no i am sorry cos theysenttheir children overseas to stuy. That is why what system we have is to make our children suffer and they do not even care about it.
written by red1, April 24, 2008 16:04:12
Alvin Toffler in his new book, Revolutionary Wealth described even ths American education system as backward. What more us here in Malaysia that is very one-way and uncommunicative.

Take even our graduates. Most cannot speak well. If they can, they have nothing much to say. There are exceptions, but they re usually not in our ITPAs.

The brightest brains must have heart, stay back and fight the system dignifyingly. You are only second class in your mind. Stay.

Redhuan D. Oon
http://padi-malaysia.********.com/
written by smeagrooo, April 24, 2008 16:04:42
thanks for writing this on behalf of us all parents. and while we are at this, may i add onto it the BM syllabus. STd 1 n Std 2 learning peribahasa? Are u kidding me? They cant even construct a simple sentence and the edu min. is burdening them with such things? Is this a way to kill of the non-malays' interest in BM?
written by SHABERY, April 24, 2008 16:06:41
Well said Datuk, I totally agree with you! BRAVO!!!

written by FFT, April 24, 2008 16:13:36
Dear Stan Yee,

Forget about it, no progress will come in the near future.

The present Education Minister is too busy trying to dislodge a sharp, pointed object out of his bottom to be of any use getting things straight with education.
written by tikuih, April 24, 2008 16:19:41
see who is our education minister. see who are the heads of our universities. see what sort of lecturers we have and see what graduates we produce. many nep malays still speaking no england, how to maju? our syllabus full of irrelevant islamic contents, trying to out-arab the arabs. laughing stock to the academic world..

in spite of all this, what is bodohwi doing? i'm here, i'm here' i'm here! so?
written by RitchieLow, April 24, 2008 16:31:59
My kids has this to say about what their school does to them.

Once or twice a week, they have to sit on the floor in the school hall and listen to "ceramahs" that has nothing to do with schools subjects being taught.

Most of the time, the teachers were no shows. No reasons given and seldom with replacement teachers. If there are replacements, the students are left to their own antics as long as no noise is made.

Homework assignments are scarce if at all. Saves work on marking them, I guess.
written by power2u, April 24, 2008 16:57:39
I sympathise with our children as when they go to school:
a)they have incompetent teachers to teach them
b)lousy textbooks written by people who are given contracts by u know who
c)overburdening students withmany,many sujects,ex 10 subjects to study for SPM
d)why load primary with Kajian Tempatan.,Kemahiran Hidup,Moral,Siviks.
I was shocked to discover that they teach the whole history of Malaysia in 2 chapters in Year 6.What ever for???
e)Why can't we just concentrate on reading,writing and talking skills in primary??Whu load them?
f)Why can't we make education fun,exciting and relevant for our children???
I guess the Edu.Ministry just can't.
So DSAI, please do something about this.
For PRU 13,campaign to replace our education system and abolish National Service.U can be sure,BN will be buried.
written by chaiksyn, April 24, 2008 17:29:08
Thank you Stan for writing this! I doubt our Education Ministry will read this, but I do agree with your points!

My wife and I have agreed that we will let our small kids be kids and no tuition for them! Their mother stay at home with them and assist them with their school works! (How many parents can do this? Most need to go out to work to survive!)

The amount of homework given to a Year 1 is ridiculous and if you go to the education ministry website, you will learned that only one workbook is allowed for each subject but you and I know that is not the case. My son has 5 extra workbooks for his BM and he has to learn peribahasa, penjodoh bilangan, karangan and a lot more. Can you imagine a 7 years old learning all that....it is crazy! Worst of all, being chinese; our mode of communications at home are mainly english and chinese (mandarin & other chinese dialects), my kids only learn Bahasa when we are outside! This put my kid at a disadvantage because they stress so much on BM. They even have BM screening test and they will segregate those students who are weak in BM into one class. In that way, they will forever be labelled as 'Bodoh'.

My wife and I wonder what happen to our education system! i hope somebody will do something!
written by Oyster, April 24, 2008 17:36:25
The present Ed. minister has a lot to answer for. If you think things are bad enough in urban schools- Check out what goes on in poorer schools in remote areas -No show teachers,who just clock into school and hang out in the staff room all day playing cards! don't believe me ? go to Tawau or Pulau Perhentian Besar or any school in a rural area in Malaysia. The dregs of teacher training schools end up in these faraway places with no back up, support,or inspection. They themselves have poor morale and low self esteem.
Forget about the syllabus or what's in the curriculum. Half of them couldn't care less, just as long as they get paid their megre salaries.The other half who actually want to put in the effort eventually, get discouraged by the countless brick walls they run into.Admin. apathy, teacher apathy, student apathy, red tape, little support from PTA's.This has gone on until the Ed.system has atropied, shrivelled up into a useless thing.
written by Thomas47, April 24, 2008 18:03:38
Well said Datuk. I have 5 kids and I pity them greatly. I always had fond memories of my childhood and that is why I had to make sure the same goes for my children.
written by Iliyas, April 24, 2008 20:41:13
While I may agree with Stan,the PTA's and Management Board of schools also play an important role.Stan,it understood that you sit on the Management Board of La Salle and Sacred Heart Kota Kinabalu.It is also understood that you are doing an acceptable level of contribution.My question is,Why are your members in the Management Board whose school going children are not in the school that they serve,but instead study at private schools?
written by teo siew chin, April 24, 2008 20:45:55
Dear Parents

It is high time you take assertive action NOW.
Raise hell at the PTA.
Raise hell with your ADUN/MP.
Come up with an action plan.
List out all the issues that must be tackled.
The education system is the one that needs the biggest CHANGE!
You did it on March 8 - do it again for ALL the children of this nation.
written by miwaki, April 24, 2008 20:58:52
Before you talk about the system of our education,our education ministry has to take a hard look at the teaching standard of the teachers.It is a common knowledge that most of our teachers are not qualified to teach eventhough they passed their respective exam.The most serious subject are Mathematics and Science.If our education ministry did not pay attention to quality of these teachers,only mediocre students will be produced yearly.

Most of my friends who are teachers laugh at the stupidity of Education Ministry for churning out mediocre teachers of Mathematics,Chemistry,Biology and Physics teachers.These teachers can't even pass the subjects they teach if asked tio sit for the exam with the students.
written by sarawakian, April 24, 2008 21:57:11
the education ministry has been under UMNO influence for too long. they can't figure out how to run schools and come out with a system that works so they need to spend a lot of rakyat's money to employ consultants to write syllabus, do research etc etc.. ie. more kickbacks for those in authority.

want to know how to provide a good education? go look at all the local private schools! how come many of them are much better? how come all the MPs and big guns send their kids to private schools?
written by karenleehs, April 24, 2008 22:06:45
Rather than finger pointing, i believe we should look at how we want to change it.... like teo said,

written by teo siew chin, April 24, 2008 | 20:45:55

Dear Parents

It is high time you take assertive action NOW.
Raise hell at the PTA.
Raise hell with your ADUN/MP.
Come up with an action plan.
List out all the issues that must be tackled.
The education system is the one that needs the biggest CHANGE!
You did it on March 8 - do it again for ALL the children of this nation. [

I know of a handful of parents who wanted change, to focus on moulding children who have characters, communication skills, creative, street smart, resourceful, respectful, innovative etc...... basically the skills needed to be citizens of the world. I believe the momentum is slowing building but the pace can be faster if most if not all parents of school going children start a petition requesting for a complete overhaul of our system.

But we need more detailed action plan. An action plan which has to be executed by forces outside the education system. PTA empowerment is equally important.

Parents, in our race to make our children to be the best they can be, we tend to push them to do greater things beyond their youg mind could reason out.

Perhaps, it's us who need to stop and smell at the flowers.

Wish i could do that.
written by crozz, April 24, 2008 22:07:11
Indeed, I agree with miwaki. Our present education system is in shambles and deteorating faster over time. While it was administered by the british educated students of the LCE era, it had still had some shine but with the latest batch of new teachers it is just a plain farce. Sure we have a soaring number of A's a student may reach these days and I'm not in doubt of their committment to reach there without their teacher's help. But what does it matter when the standard to achieve the A's are constantly lowered till it matters not which subject you scored an A in but how many A's regardless how 'questionable' the subject mix may be? How many kids these days come from their schools as confident communicators with critical thinking and analyzing skills to assess matters rather than just great memorizing 'spoon feed me and I vomit it all with minimal disgestive juice damaging it' skill? My take is that we live in an age of educational farce. Education is too expensive and too many students get an 'A' without truly deserving it. Why? Economics dear Watson. Get a good bunch of smart students who can make it in any environment with or without education and 'pay' them with an amazing scholarship to put your College name in the top 100 list then squeeze that money from the less brilliant rich students. Oh by the way, do make sure they pass with 'A's or they will start evaluating the professor poorly and eventually evaluate the College poorly hence making us lose all our 'customers' um I mean students. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Change or Be Changed, April 25, 2008 00:11:35
Sorry folk we ourself are the one's creating robots instead. We malaysian aren't creative at all, our education are all in a enclosed environment. Parent nowaday aren't caring for their childrens. All they wants the good grade for their own ego only - to be hang around their necks. In the name of better job position they want their childrens to have straight A's and depriving the childrens of their childhoods. Do you know how many of graduates are only book wise and not streetwise. When they come to the real world the are as dead as a duck. Know nothing else except for past dated facts they studied from expired books.
Thats why you notice today children are cold blooded and have no feeling to one another as this is the creation or Grades hungried nerd parents.
Children like this will never bring harmony and stabilitiy to the society and in the end they will becomes the pest to mankind.
Parents please wake up and allow some freedom to your childrens for time for their childhood and being the best in one own world wouldnt work. No matter how many A's you get.
Change or be Changed.
written by bluefire, April 25, 2008 02:20:30
The Egyptian scholar [Sir. Bid Tith] (1801-1873)Rifa'ah Rafi' al-Tahtawi said that education was the cornerstone of civilization*. Guess we all know where we are heading if eudcation policy is not changed! Have the people who make education policies actually been schooled or they simply went to school? What manner of men and women do we have that do not offer any respect to the greatness of education. It's as if the men and women are totally lost and are groping in the dark. We must rise above this and evolve towards greatness and I am guessing we've got to get rid of illiterates in the system first!
Parents, talk to your children and listen to them speak. The skill of listening is somehow lost and is covered up with the tactfulness of better performance in exams. This is not what civilization is all about.
We have kids in school today who are unable to think and place their thoughts on paper. Unless this is what the BN govt wants? A set of dumb people who just follow orders or a set of thinkers who will challenge the system? It's pretty sickening.
written by AsamLaksa, April 25, 2008 03:40:54
I agree with the sentiments of this article in general. However this article lack any solution to the problems.

The integrated time table has it's merits. One important aim is to encourage co-curiculum participation to develop non-academic skills among the students such as personal skills, social skills, team working, communication, personal responsibility, etc.. The real issue here is that the such non-academic developments can be done without using the integrated time table in the first place but currently many students and their parents would not bother with co-curicular activities. School clubs are declining. Even in my high school days there were no more school trips or visits and even school festivals as interest dissipated. Gone are the days when students organise events. Why is that? I was disappointed when teachers defended the downgrade of activities because they said it takes up too much study time.

So, what is really wrong here? It's the mentality of the education system, the educators, the parents and the students. Their priorities are the As. Has everyone forgotten that not every student can do well academically and that success in later life is not so much based on the As but the self-motivation of the student? So, what can be done?

The Education Ministry's attempt to introduce the integrated time table can be seen as an attempt to address the educational imbalance. Most developed countries would not have a problem with this because they would have invested in more educational facilities to accomodate the student activities such as club rooms and equipments. Most parents in developed countries have no problems with longer school hours as many families have both parents at work and that the students are given more responsibilities to take care of themselves. The problem with implementing such a system in Malaysia is that there's not enough investment in facilities and that it would lessen tuition time for the students going for As.

What the Education Ministry could do is invest more in facilities, even build up more schools. Forget sending another cosmonaut into space or hosting all sorts of international sporting events, give the ministry money to build things up. Then the ministry should encourage schools that follow their aspirations with incentives such as give incentives to schools based on reduction of failing rates rather than on number of A students. Also set a fund and an overseer for school societies that the students can directly apply to to finance activities. At the tertiary level, expand the number of higher education places in universities to cut down on the competition level.

What can teachers do? Encourage club activities and be enthusiastic about it. Teacher training should be improved and the job have to be made more attractive with higher pay. Schools and the ministry should also be open to complaints of teacher ineptness and deal with it not so much as a hunt but to address the weaknesses of the teachers.

What of parents? It's about time parents take more responsibilities of their children's development. Don't pass off the responsibilities to schools or tuition centres. Spend more time with the kids. Throw away the kiasu A hunting mentality. Refrain from sending kids who do well enough to tuition centres. Only send the kids to tuition if they are really weak in the subjects. Take up family activities like sports and outings so that you can get a grasp of how the children are feeling. This will help parents prevent suicides or identify emotional problems earlier. There's other parental issues and what's important is what priority they put on the wellbeing of their children.

As for the students, they need to be encouraged to take up club activities. Academic competition among students is fine but let it be on their own rules, not others imposing standards on them. Teach the students personal responsibility and you won't have much worry about them not wanting to study.

Concerning subjects, Malaysian education neglects the arts (music, film, drama, sketch, handicraft, painting, etc.). The arts encourage creativity and fun. It should be taught as a skills and appreciation subject and not necessarily examinable. Dump Moral Studies as it's a pointless subject. The main reason why Moral Studies is there in the first place is because the Muslim kids go to Agama class and the non-Muslims have to do something for the meantime.

The one size fits all policies of the ministry is just about what they could do. It's down to the schools, individual educators, parents and the students to find the system that works best for the individual students. Parents especially need to take more responsibility and not just scream at the ministry.
written by PHUA KL, April 25, 2008 09:02:16
We can learn a lot from the education system of
Finland (and that of the other Nordic countries).
Finnish students consistently do very well
on international standardised tests of academic
achievement.
And, by the way, it is a non-elitist system (unlike
that of a "nearby country").
written by jctan, April 25, 2008 12:35:55
I agree with the author on the importance of education for children in Malaysia.

Let me share a problem that most parents face when registering their kids to school. If you do not have a kid/sibling that you struggled to send to school for education, please rationalize with this comment for one day you might have kids and face the same problem if it is not solved NOW.

Problems faced applying for government schools
In NOVEMBER 2006, we applied to the Education Department to enrol my brother in a few chosen government schools in Penang for Form 4. Prior to this he was studying in a private school in Brunei. The letter of approval only came in MID FEBRUARY... Now February is the second month into the calendar which means he missed out on 1 months of classes which we had to send him to private tuition so that he could keep up with his studies when the department finally allocated him a place to study.

The department finally allocated him a place in a government school not-of-choice which apparently houses 15students per class of which has a very high-failure rate. We went to the department to appeal for change of school. Their response: "Write letter to appeal". Letter was written and sent, one month later (March) the response was "Tidak diluluskan"

Went back to ask why. They said, "Not happy? Appeal to head of Department."
How to appeal? "You just come, cannot make appointment, you see all those people waiting outside here everyday they are waiting too, you just wait like them till he comes."

After returning and waiting many times.. Finally able to meet up with the HOD and his response? "You just have to write a letter of appeal and wait till May for the response..." Since the education department was of not much help, we decided to go to see "the leading political party in that area" at that time, who helped us submit a letter of appeal to the department and they mentioned there is "nothing else we can do to help you". GREAT RESPONSE! So we resorted to see an old friend Datuk of another political party.

His response? I can make sure he enters "--- Chinese school" The best chinese school in Penang since I always donate to them. But my brother can barely pass his Chinese so... Chinese school was out of the picture. We thanked him and left. In the end we decided to send him to a private school albeit the high prices that "good education" private schools cost.

Questions to ponder:
- Does it really take 4months response time to allocate a child to a school?
- Wonderful attitude of the department staff?
- Do we really have to wait month after month of waiting and waiting and waiting when our CHILDREN JUST WANT AN EDUCATION?
- Will the appropriate "people/department/management/whatever" improve the status,education and failure rate of the 15students per classroom school that some parents have no choice to send to?
- For those that cannot afford private schools, is it right to deprive the education of their kids for 2 months and ask why they cannot catch up on their studies? Please NOTE FORM 4 is not a honeymoon year. It is the beginning of mainstream SCIENCE, ACCOUNTS and ARTS subjects.
- How come the "LEADING political party in the area at that time" was so helpful... I'm sorry there's nothing we can do... and the other politician could offer us an alternative on the spot? Does the state party care for its states children education? Or are we all just pariahs that don't matter to them?
- If the "department" cannot help us? If the state party cannot stand up/help us? WHO CAN HELP US?
written by sumandakk, April 25, 2008 14:27:09
ah my pet topic!!
Its all inter-related, this mess we're in.

We get the kind of citizenry our education system provides us.
Malaysia for too long has pushed the science stream we need to push the arts stream. We need to push critical thought. We need to emphasize well rounded strong confident characters that can formulate an opinion on their own without a text book at their side with a formulaic answer. Knowledge IS power yes indeed...

We also need to address university entrance. It is DISGUSTING that Sabahans cannot get entry to our only state university: University Malaysia Sabah because 70% of the placement goes to bumiputra Orang Semenanjung.

Ah yes our education system needs to get educated.

Datuk, on a personal note please tell your wife she was my favourite teacher EVER!
written by chaiksyn, April 29, 2008 09:42:29
Our education system is a mockery! It is like fantasy island!