Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Comments on Article Titled "Are Chinese and Indian Merely Hedging?"

Comments on Article Titled "Are Chinese and Indian Merely Hedging?" PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 April 2008 17:30

Dear Raja Petra,

I would very much like to express my view over the issues of Social Contract and unhappiness among Chinese and Indian over the implementation of New Economic Policy.

I believe most of Chinese and Indian will agree with me that they do resent at all the monarchy system in this nation and in fact, we pledge our loyalty to Yang Dipertuan Agong, being the head and most respected leader of Malaysia. We feel nothing wrong with the Social Contract. And, off course, with aim of eliminating poverty among the rural Malays, we were also supportive of New Economic Policy at the very initial stage, which, according to general opinions, would sustain peaceful environment in this country since it has been widely accepted that poor, helpless and jobless groups would cause social illness.

However, the implementation of New Economic Policy has unhealthily transformed into the following:-

• Chinese and Indian are both exploited from education opportunities at tertiary level at public universities, and, private universities are too few to absorb those intending to study;

• Public sector is almost totally dominated by only Malays, leaving only private sector, and, worse still, Ministry came out with guideline to restrict recruitment of Chinese and Indian at executive level in multinational corporations;

• Whilst, in business sector, there are so many fields that Chinese and Indian entrepreneurs are totally barred from. Not to mention to many, logistic - freight and forwarding service, petrol kiosks etc.;

• In professional fields, foreign medical degrees which are recognized worldwide, particularly British Medical Council, are disrecognized and treated as substandard to local universities' certificates. Holders of law degrees from non-local universities are asked to sit for over-tough CLP exams which carry extremely low passing rate. And, to operate an audit firm, you need a Bumiputra partner, or else, audit license will not be granted;

• There is no transparency in Government awarding infrastructure contracts, resulting in that political cronies without capability and technical background earn mega projects, and, at a later stage, subcontract to Chinese and Indian at much much lower price at very slim margin, and, worse still, these political cronies at most occasions dishonour settlements, leading to backrupcies among the Chinese and Indian.

As a mankind, we admit that there is tendency to safeguard own race's interests. But, should it be to the extent of breaking the rice bowls of others and forcing them to die? We do not resend policies to upbring the Malay community, but we really cannot stand being bullied, exploited, denied of rights to pursue education and career, and, cleansed up!

Yours faithfully,

Singaram, Lawyer

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by Tornado, April 23, 2008 17:38:45
Yes...you were rights.

Not just malaysia so-called themself chinese or indians aren't happy with NEP, most malays and bumis also not happy with NEP.

If Chinese and Indian says Malays and Bumis get benefits from NEP, that totally wrong. Only some portion of Malays, Bumis, Chinese and Indians were benefit from NEP. They are people who manage our beloved country.
agree 126
written by MarchOn, April 23, 2008 17:44:01
Visinic....no need to QA people's letter. QA the message.

AGREE 100% with your letter Mr. Singaram
agree 123
written by RitchieLow, April 23, 2008 17:46:29
All agreed to! except the type do -> don't in the 1st line, 2nd paragraph.

So with such perverted affirmative action, it has left us far behind Singapore and South Korea. We are on even keel with Thailand and up coming Vietnam. This is according to UN statistics up to year 2007.

This must all be undone before we are all thrown back into the dark ages.
written by RitchieLow, April 23, 2008 17:49:16
All agreed to! except the type do -> don't in the 1st line, 2nd paragraph.

So with such perverted] affirmative action, it has left us far behind Singapore and South Korea. We are on even keel with Thailand and up coming Vietnam. This is according to UN statistics up to year 2007.

That is a case in point of abolute power corrupting absolutely. This must all be undone before we are all thrown back into the dark ages.
written by bumi non malay, April 23, 2008 18:04:28
Well Said...Hear Hear....!! Good Whack to Raja Petra.!!....but actually aimed at UMNO-BN!!

Yes, we are all humans and deserve to be treated as God's creation.....Who the Hell gave this Supreme Race the right to discriminate, favour and demand special priveledges?? All Royalty at one time were also Peasant......so do not be too proud. Look at Nepal and countless nations!! Don't hide behind the Royalty of Malaysia to continue your Prejudice and Racism!! Respect and honour works both ways and its not only one race that knows how to protect the Royalty.

Frankly all Bumi Non Malay wants UMNO-BN destroyed/Obliterated. Its the UMNO Malay who continues to play racial/religious games with BN parties. Yet the election machinery of Gerrymander have given UMNO lots of seats than they deserve. We need to think of ways to Clean Up the election Commission and make sure all MP seats have the similar number of voters. the range now is 8000 - 130,000 to win an MP seat....What the crap is this??

Anyway the cost of living is rising rapidly and Keep up the Boycott of ALL UMNO-BN cronies entities. Its triple hurting them and I am SOOOO Happy!!....I know cos...they are Selling to meet interest Payment.!!!
written by looish, April 23, 2008 18:05:23
to josh and marchOn

This Chinese bashing is unnecessary. Don't you think it is normal when a group of people from the same race speak in the same lingo?
written by Ricky O, April 23, 2008 18:13:42
I do not have any bias employing anyone whether he is a Malay, Indian or Chinese as long as the person I employed can perform. What the heck, I have faced problem with Chinese staff and ask them to leave, I have problem with Malay staff and also ask them to leave and I also have problem with Indian staff and he left before I can ask bim to leave. I have give very high increment to my Malay staff because of his performance. I have also give good increment to my Chinese staff because of good performance as well as to my Indian staff. Performance is what I want.

As long as you can perform to my satisfaction, I will continue to employ you regardless of skin color. MERIT & performance NOT RACE is my criteria. I just want my company to run smoothly, tha's all.
written by LACOBRA, April 23, 2008 18:15:55
Hypocritical manner are the golden traits of Malaysia BN Boleh! This is the reason we have to stand united to support each other instead of insulting or offending each other. Malaysians have a choice now. Do we want to remain in this sad state of disunity which is nothing but a petty issue when there are more important issues that affect us in general?

I am Chinese from the Malay/ English medium school who suffer the same prejudice from my fellow Chinese medium educated speaking friends. So what is the big deal? I am proud to fight for a common cause for Malaysians.
written by box, April 23, 2008 18:30:08
Josh said: "Why is there is Chinese language requirement on almost all job vacancies?"

Many Chinese will use the argument that the employing company has mostly Chinese customers. I am a Malaysian Chinese and i don't agree to this. Anybody who understand the national language (Bahasa Malaysia) should meet the language criteria. Malaysians must understand that Chinese language is not the national language nor it is mandatory to learn. It is even more unacceptable now because of the high literacy rate.

The only profession which i can think of can be exempted (from the Chinese language requirement) is tour guide for Chinese tourists from China. Maybe there are others too but definitely not for the job of account clerk and etc, etc....
disagree 20
written by dkkl, April 23, 2008 18:34:07
The chinese used to speak mandarin in school and it has become a habit. So they go everywhere when come across chinese, they will speak to them in mandarin. So Don't have to blame them.

As you can see, chinese has many dialects. From hakka, hokkien, teochew and etc. However the official language and teachable is mandarin. I am a chinese too. But I dont speak/write mandarin. This is becoz I study in english school when I was in primary and malay school after that. So the chinese edu called me a 'Banana Man'. So what if they called me that... I only believe that the 'Banana Man' is entitled for ppl who cant speak even their own mother tongue. For eg, a cantonese who don't speak cantonese but speak mandarin instead.

Mandarin actually a language from a Manchuria state and it belongs to the Manchus. The origin chinese was Han but categorised into many sub groups. So the mandarin was actually become as a Official Language after the last dynasty of Manchus.
But frankly speaking, it will be good if all can learn that language. Sooner or later, china will become the economic power in the world. if you can learn a bit of that language, I believe you will be prosper with wealth...
written by ez24get, April 23, 2008 18:34:29
Well said! Other than the religion issue, this about summarises the deep dissatisfaction of the non-malays.

If all these benefits actually filtered down to the ordinary malays, the non-malays would not be sore as the original intention was to close the income gap among the races and this would benefit all the races in the long term. But to the dismay of the non-malays, it became increasing clear that despite all the help, the ordinary malays in fact became poorer. It was like a pit-less sinkhole; no matter how much money was sunk into the sinkhole, it was never enough. And we see more and more arrogant UMNOputras driving big cars, living in big mansions, indulging in crazy luxuries and throwing their weight around every where and any how!

To add salt to the injury, for the first time it was accidentally spilled out by UMNO that the 30% bumiputra NEP yardstick was calculated based on the par value of shares. Even a schoolboy knows that a $2 company will still be a $2 company 50 years down the road, or for that matter for all eternity, if the company does not want to increase the par value of the shares of the company. So how can the 30 bumi equity ever be reached?

This is like taking the non-malays for a ride and it is downright cheating! And to top it all, UMNO pushed the blame to the non-malays implying that they have taken the share of the economic pie belonging to the ordinary malays!

Come on, UMNO, need not go to such an extent of blatant cheating; does it think the non-malays are stupid? Remember, these people are no push-overs in maths, finance and numbers! They make better Finance Ministers than the present crop of UMNO nincompoops occupying the post of Finance and Deputy Finance Ministers starting from the era of Daim! These are the people who have managed our economy to the stage of having to send high-powered ministers and personnels to the market, coffee shops, beach, etc each day to check on the prices of roti canai, a cuppa of milo, diesel prices, etc while people are stealing them right under their noses! Their management style is at best described as the tail waging the dog. Now it is very difficult to untie the mismanagement as lopsided agreements have been signed and long term prices already fixed with toll concessionaires, water authorities, Astro, Bernas, Tenaga, Power suppliers, etc, etc.

No, the non-malays just kept quite and grit their teeth in anger and went on to show these UMNO bastards in the 12GE. If UMNO wants to extend the 30% NEP bumi equity, just explain it to the non-malays why it needs to be extended. Also explain it to the ordinary malays that it was not the non-malays who have deprive them of the share of the economic cake and how the monies were not filtered down.

After explaining to the rakyat, I’m sure they will understand; but don’t cheat the rakyat and take them for a fool!
written by SuperShyteStirrer, April 23, 2008 18:45:16
Dear All,

I think that RPK was being provocative and it appears that he has suceeded in a way. Look at some of the comments. What happend to all that was said in the past few weeks when most comments were about Bangsa Malaysia and that the 12th GE had broken the mould as many (or even the majority) of the Rakyat had voted across racial lines.

Please note that RPK bashes everybody - Malays, Chinese, Indians, Muslims, Martians etc. He is eliciting reactions from you. Please do not get emotional.

Like I said before, the twin aims of the NEP were:

A. To reduce poverty irrespective of race
B. To eliminate economic function with race.

As for A., I am sure all Malaysians would agree to it. As for B., I am sure that the majority would also support it if it means helping the less fortunate Bumiputras through education, decent healthcare and providing opportunities. However, I am sure ALL Malaysians irrespective of race are dead against the massive abuse that has taken place under the guise of the NEP (exceptions being UMNOputras and their lackeys in MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc). Please note that this massive abuse is not the NEP. As a result, only a small minority of UMNOputeras, MCA, MIC, Gerakan ect lackeys have benefited from the NEP.Ask the majority of Malays and see if they have benefited in any way from the NEP and I am very sure most of them would respond "NO" resoundingly.

UMNO wants to keep their version of NEP because it is easy money for them and we all know that to be an UMNO politician you need BIG BUCKS. I repeat this is not the NEP is about.

So the best way to restore things back to order is to remove UMNO and their lackeys from power once and for all and also to ensure that PR keeps its promises of good governance, working for the Rakyat, transparency in all its dealing etc.

Thats my 5 cents worth. Salam and I am not going to say whether I am Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Dayak or anything. I am a MALAYSIAN and proud of it.
written by NickChan, April 23, 2008 18:50:30
Regarding employment :

in work place, it is good to encourage the use of bahasa malaysia. we should be proud of being malaysian (or at least try to be)

we cannot deny that many employers require certain race to be employees, many times not for apparent reasons. We also see "Room to let : Chinese only" or "Malay only".

I think the problem is there's no real malaysian identity. (besides blaming UMNO). The usage of Bahasa Malaysia should be widened.

if u ask me, I'd blame Malaysian education
written by Msiasky, April 23, 2008 18:55:05
Anyone can learn and understand the Chinese language.

So if a Malay or Indian understands Chinese language, he/she can apply for the job. But if a Chinese doesn’t understand Chinese language, same like other that’s don’t know he/she can not apply for the job.

Don't read the ads wearing coloring glasses.

There are many Chinese in Malaysia don’t know Chinese language end up losing many opportunity; sometime even to non-Chinese (like Malay or Indian) that know mandarin.

Two points for you to consider

a) Not customer but supplier that might drive why Chinese Language is required.

Most of our suppliers are from China now. As a customer, yes I can demand the China supplier’s customer service know English but for better and effective, I also can employ worker how know mandarin for effective communication too.

b) If the business is deal with China Government, China required the head know Chinese language. I hear a case where the assistance became his boss’s boss because his boss doesn’t know mandarin and he does. So he got the promotion become his boss’s boss.

It is simple and clear, it is the candidate language skill that matter.

You think the advertiser wants to find trouble with the government or extremist by putting the Chinese Language requirement black and white publicly?

The advertiser can save the problem by filtering through the resume and call those know Chinese language for interview.

We are now in a globalization competition age. Please open your eye widely and see clearly.

FYI, Mak Saleh like Present Australia Prime Minister Mr. Kevin Rudd knows mandarin too.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHUD10tVgFg
written by shan, April 23, 2008 19:18:21
Language requirement is bussiness tactics,.,You want the job learn the language.To sell you play on the buyers turf,and no vice versa.This is internationally proven,We still have alot of old folks with no basic education,(gua taktahu cakap melayu)but with good flare for bussiness.You point me one guy who doesn't like to talk in his mother's tongue once he meets his kinfolk or kampung homie,I dare walk naked in KL.Why do you learn Japanese,mandarin,spanish,french and german,.For FUN ANHH.,.
Don't take language as an issue,.,we have a bigger fish to fry here.Lawyer Singaram,I, 100% SUPPORT YOUR STATEMENT.Statement like bad english & typos remarks are uttered by INFERIOIR Complexed individual.BRAVA
written by red1, April 23, 2008 19:24:27
I am pragmatic. I and many people i know send all our children to SRJK (Cina) schools.

A child can learn up to 7 languages. Take advantage of that and send some of your kids to chinese, and if got more, send also Tamil schools.

(check.. check... ok.. no typo.. clear!)

Redhuan D. Oon
http://padi-malaysia.********.com/
written by KotaDamansara73, April 23, 2008 19:35:41
Chinese and Indian are outward looking people.

Malays are inward looking people.

Chinese and Indian speaks Mandarin, Cantonese, english, Malay and Tamil. With so many language mastered, the non-malays are at better advantage for employement. This is globalization.

Malays can only speak Malay and can't speak english very well. So they can't compete in a global world.

But I have seen Thai and Vietnamese who don't master English, but they do their jobs very well. Is it because Malays don't care much about excelence and commitment in their work?
written by KotaDamansara73, April 23, 2008 19:37:48
Look at Khir Toyo, Muhiyiddin Yasin, Mohd mohd, Rustam Ali, Abdul Ghani and these are the top UMNO people and they don't speak good English let alone having the sophistication mindset to participate meaningfully in international forum. They will be a disgrace to the Malays and to all Malaysians.
written by omarkhayyam, April 23, 2008 20:16:17
dear singaram,

u do make sense and able to speak out ur mind .... lets cheers to that

written by teo siew chin, April 23, 2008 20:24:33
hmmm I thought RPK's article was about chinese not kicking out MCA even though these chinese are voting opposition (kinda like still keeping MCA on standby in case PR dont work out).
I thought it was about chinese not having complained about the social contract those years back by voting in bn all the time.
I thought it was about chinese having no right to complain about unfairness unless they totally reject MCA and demand MCA shift over to PR and make that change! (no more fraternising with the 'enemy')

I thot YM RPK's point was get rid of MIC, MCA, PPP...., then only we have a right to talk otherwise shut the f*** up! smilies/grin.gif
written by khalnayak, April 23, 2008 20:32:12
written by looish, April 23, 2008 | 18:05:23
to josh and marchOn

This Chinese bashing is unnecessary. Don't you think it is normal when a group of people from the same race speak in the same lingo?

What chinese bashing?When you state a fact against the chinese its considered chinese 'bashing' but if something is said against the malays then it becomes freedom of speech and expression.
looish,by saying this so you have also justified the acts of UMNO who only encourage malays to join the public sector.As you say,quite normal for people from a same race speak in the same lingo.So what to argue some more?
Chinese,Malay everyone same only lah.
written by teo siew chin, April 23, 2008 20:47:57
i wonder why so many lawyers fail the CLP.
why the identification of the writer as a lawyer?
written by gctham, April 23, 2008 21:08:25
As a licensed auditor myself, i wish to correct that there is no need to have a bumi- partner in order to get an audit license. Not at the moment. But it was not easy to get an audit license.
written by k loon, April 23, 2008 21:15:40
A worm is a worm, colour doesn't matter.

I know two friends. One working in the government sector and another working for private.

The one working for government sector is a lazy worm, well known lazy worm. However, till now he still manage to cling on his job because the executive didn't fire him (mind you, he don't have any connection with the executive and just a regular guy).

The one working for private sector is a hard-working worm, his salary is equal to his senior and his manager heard of him get interview in other company. His company increase his salary.

I don't think this have anything to do with race. It's all depends on your attitude.
written by padhma, April 23, 2008 21:17:15
I don't think the writer of this comment actually understood RPK's article on that matter. It is a comment which does not get to the crux of the point intended by RPK Anyway the comment is worth a read although the points made were nothing new
written by Change or Be Changed, April 23, 2008 21:40:22
Well it seem the hot trend now everyone trying to find fault at one another.
Please remember there is no perfect race. Every race has it weakness. There is always a wise man saying "Its not shameful to be weak but its is shameful not taking steps to eradicate it"
You can name it all from one race to the other and you will definitely find weakness in each and everyone of them.
Do we here all have a choice? Yes i think we do have. Put aside our differences and start working toward a single race - Malaysian and please leave religion alone as its between oneself and god. Dont preach what you believe into others.
I been to many countries and each time when the plane landed in KLIA i thank god for letting me be born a Malaysian.

written by Arubin, April 23, 2008 22:07:34
written by khalnayak, April 23, 2008 | 20:32:12

Josh you are right.Even on this site we can see hypocrisy.When someone says something that is a fact it gets lowly rated.
I myself dont understand why some jobs that have got nothing to do with mandarin but they put it as a requirement.
Come on,the people who voted down josh's comment explain to me why is this so?
The truth always prevails even if you try to hide it lah.

Sigh...hasn't it already been explained already? Or do you practice selective reading?

Here's news for you. I'm Chinese and I can't speak Mandarin. I can only speak Cantonese, yet I do not complain about the language requirement.

Haven't you ever wondered why its specifically Mandarin and not some other dialect?

I want you to imagine a world where Malaysia became one of the most developed countries in the world with the largest market and an economy that's growing rapidly. Naturally, our country will become a major target for corporations around the world who will be looking to do business here. When that happens, Malay will also become a very desirable language to learn and some companies might actually make it a requirement that you know the language before they will hire you.

Now, snap yourself out of that dream and get back to reality. Which country out in the real world actually has the largest market and an explosive economy? That's right, its CHINA. And what language do they speak there? MANDARIN. Not Cantonese, Hokkien, or Hakka. The common dialect there is Mandarin. Likewise in Taiwan which is also a strong market by itself.

How are you supposed to do business with China is you can't speak the language? How can you be an effective Software Engineer to Chinese firms if you cannot speak to the customers to gather requirements? How can you be an effective Marketing Executive if you cannot communicate with your clients?

You need to stop thinking of this along racial lines and start thinking of the Mandarin language as a useful business skill. I have in fact been giving myself a good kicking for never having picked it up despite being Chinese and it has cost me no few opportunities. Unlike you, however, I do not go around blaming others. I know its my own damned fault.

Take a look in the Chinese Schools these days. You'll find that there are actually a fair number of Indian and Malay students there. How come? Is it because that Chinese schools (some, not all) tend to have better discipline and have a stronger focus on Math? Maybe, but its likely because the parents are forward thinking. They know that the Mandarin language skill is now an asset on anyone's CV, regardless of the job.

To put it simply, China is the biggest pie out there right now. If you do not wish to carve a slice out for yourself, than do not blame others for your own lack of initiative.

The new MB of Perak can speak Mandarin fluently despite being Malay. He took the trouble to learn the language. Why can't you?
written by bradwell_estate, April 23, 2008 22:11:01
when i was in the primary school, i was also always rank in th middle during school exam. when i go to secondary school, i usually get top 5 because my malay schollmate knew they can very esily enter local university (especially those bright one). when I was at local university, i was enjoy all 4 yrs because the course is so simple and tailor to the weaker Malay. so there you go. I think both chinese & malay are born equally smart. the only thing hold them back is the NEP! just human nature, with extra help fr NEP, one tend to get complacent. It does not applies to all, but it applies to many.
written by taxi90, April 23, 2008 22:22:09
Having a problem with Chinese language? Simple - don't bitch about it, just learn it! Most Chinese can speak and write Malay, English and Chinese, so if you want to compete with them, buck up! After all, isn't a 'mandarin required' condition much easier to fulfill than 'bumiputera required" condition?
written by micon02, April 23, 2008 23:06:39
Be aware of when you are judging others. Try to let go of those judgments, because they are walls between people. Judgments create hostility, while letting go of them allows you to embrace and love others. If you lead with love, others will respond with love.

Each of us can make a difference
When we put an end to indifference and
When we let go of our selfish desires
Each of us makes a difference
When we awaken each day
By showing each other the way.
Each of us makes a difference
When we commit ourselves to have a heart
That beats only with compassion,
Where caring for one another becomes
Our only passion.
written by wannabepatriotic, April 23, 2008 23:18:27
I once had to reject an application for a job from a 'smart malay boy' who is a top MLM sales person with many many down lines, earning around 20k p/m...

why? Because, he can't utter basic simple English (which is required in my line of work) racist...?

written by k loon, April 24, 2008 01:29:44
I came from a Sek. Kebangsaan. Honestly, I'm proud of it. Even though, it's true that if I my parents send me to Sek. "Jenis" Kebangsaan, I might fare better than in Sek. Kebangsaan. At least, I know I can get more A's for my SPM and STPM results and known extra language in my CV (Mandarin).

However, there's one thing that Sek. "Jenis" Kebangsaan don't have in Sek. Kebangsaan. That is, promote unity and more tolerance to other. In Sek. Kebangsaan, Malaysian boys studies in the same class. Malaysian boys played in the same school field. We eat, play and even get whacked by the same cane.There's no such thing as race superiority in school.

Now, back to Mandarin requirement in job interview.

I agree with Arubin. Come on, I'm chinese and I can't write or speak Mandarin and thanks to "utamakan Bahasa Malaysia policy", my english is half-boil egg or known as "separuh tong tahi" in hokkien.

So, for those who think that mandarin is the reason you don't get the job interview. We the banana are even worst. We don't have "grand-father" privilege , unable to get hire for a job in government sector and still have to compete with mandarin speaking job-hunter.
written by Power5492, April 24, 2008 02:28:13
Malaysian are a passionate lots hahahahhaaha
Guys " Be able to agree on disagreement"
Atleast the kids should get a level playing feild in thier education.
Bash all you want, who ever you want if you are an adult but give the kids an equal chance.
Malay, Chinese , Indian, Dayak dan lain lain would surely share the common idea that atleast our kids need a level playing feild.
I salute everyone in this Comment Coloum for your passion towards Malaysia.
We all do agree that everyone here are passioante about Malaysia?

I can only Think of this phrase " What lies behind you and what lies before you pale in significance when compared to what lies within you" - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Malaysia Power
Power smilies/grin.gif
written by Mal4Mal, April 24, 2008 02:58:22
Say what you like "MARA Technological Institute" has Chinese Classes for her students.. Don't be surprise! I saw the classroom in ITM Arau in 1988 I was surprise they taught Hanyu-Pinyin there. If MARA has the foresight of teaching Mandarin to her bumiputera students, then what is the Problem about Jobs that requires knowledge of Mandarin ?
written by batsman, April 24, 2008 08:42:32
Dear Singaram, - 2 points. 1st, your comments to do touch on the jist of the article "Are the Chinese and Indians merely hedging?" It would be good if they did.

2nd, you draw attention to the fact that UMNO rule merely concentrates on race issues rather than good governance of the whole people. Good work!
written by alarcarte, April 24, 2008 08:56:07
Resentment towards NEP is understandable, I worked for MNC for many years to see that my bumi colleagues being promoted to managers in order to fill in the quota or else the UMNO gorvernment will not give the company any contracts, the end result is many unqualified persons (Ahmads) being promoted and these Ahmads now begin to enjoy life by playing Golf while their work is being delegated to employees of other races, the side effect is the company became inefficient, what to do? "Government punya contract mest mau-lah" otherweise the company have to close shop.
written by MarchOn, April 24, 2008 10:36:27
For those who commented that speaking chinese (or even in your own native language) and voted me down.... you must be speaking in chinese (who gives the heck whether it's mandarin, hokkien, cantones)... the point is be considerate...if there even one person in that group who does not understand the language .. then speak in the language that the everyone understands. I don't understand why we go on bashing the malays saying this is given to them and that is given to them... BUT THEY ARE VERY CULTURED and CONSIDERATE bunch of people (I'm not malay.. mind you) except for those umno gangs....

Imagine.... if there's no NEP .... the chinese would have just employed their own kind (so that they could be talking away in their own language).... and they would have a segragated group of people ... segregated from other races....

But sad to say the NEP has been hijack by umno and lost is original idea.
written by grant, April 24, 2008 12:32:38
Dear Josh,
I saw ur comments about the Chinese language .....

May I just share some light.. As much as I agree with you that Chinese are all hyprocrites, but the prerequisite of being able to converse in Chinese is mainly because the company might be dealing with China on a large scale. You need to look at the bigger picture.

China has just come out to the open world, not many can really speak good English. Yes, they can write as well as you and I but writing isnt speaking. AS China improves on mastering English, the only medium to converse is Chinese which is Mandarin.

The Chinese folks in China will really give u a hard time when they speak in English added on with an American accent. You basically catch no clue what they are trying to say.

I am not supporting the Chinese language or the Chinese folks because I am an English educated myself. But this is reality. Life has to go on. Like the saying goes, "When you are in Rome, do what the Romans do"
written by grant, April 24, 2008 12:43:23
Dear Khalnayak,
India is growing and I agree but at what rate and competitive edge compared to China? Secondly India is not a prefered choice due to its geographical location.

I can share an example with you. Many years back, a MNC wanted to invest a mfg plant in India but the India government turn it down, favoring more RND, ICT companies instead. The India government stated that the mfg plant was not a target of choice in India due to the fact that the people of India are not willing to be treated like cheap labor.

About companies stating Mandarin as a prerequisite for hiring though they are not dealing with China or Chinese folks is totally uncalled for. I would be mad at it as well.

We wont know if the jobs have anything to do with China or not. For example, will you think that knowing Mandarin is important if you were to apply for a job with the biggest CPU manufacturer in Msia? Yes it does. From the outside, it is an American company, English is definitely a must but so is Mandarin though they do not state the requirement literally during the hiring process.

Hope this helps.
written by RCChia, April 24, 2008 19:27:18
I suppose this has been said many times over. Malaysians - be it any race, religion or creed - has no issue with national policies or constituitions that have a positive objective. But, it is the implementation, the interpretation and the subsequent add-ons or substraction of these original policies that are giving many a bad taste