Home arrow The Blogs arrow Berita/Komentar arrow Kah Choon keluar Gerakan

Kah Choon keluar Gerakan PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 April 2008 15:02

(Malaysiakini) Bekas timbalan setiausaha agung Gerakan, Datuk Lee Kah Choon mengambil tindakan keluar dari parti itu ekoran kontroversi yang tercetus selepas beliau menerima jawatan dalam pentadbiran kerajaan Pakatan Rakyat di Pulau Pinang.

"Memandangkan, pucuk pimpinan Gerakan tidak boleh menerima keputusan saya (menerima jawatan tersebut), maka langkah terbaik bagi saya ialah dengan bersara sepenuhnya daripada politik parti," katanya dalam satu kenyataan hari ini.

Ekoran itu, katanya, beliau telah menghantar surat kepada pucuk pimpinan Gerakan untuk keluar dari parti tersebut.

"Dengan ini, saya harap perkara ini akan selesai dan kita boleh meneruskan langkah untuk mengendalikan tugas-tugas penting," tambahnya.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by SeriousLy, April 23, 2008 15:05:53
Now, He's smart!
agree 118
written by TheMessenger, April 23, 2008 15:06:04
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by riboak, April 23, 2008 15:07:09
Hats off for the one who place serving others more than himself!
agree 115
written by rajven72, April 23, 2008 15:07:24
Great Desicion Kah Choon...
Serve the People, is what all Politician Goal should be...
Don't dispoint LGE on appointing you,for such a responsible JOB...
Bring Glory to Penang....

Bravo Bravo Bravo
agree 126
written by myke, April 23, 2008 15:07:51
RIGHT CHOICE.!!!!

You have the public's support..!!!

WELCOME TO THE RIGHT PATH.!
written by Milo, April 23, 2008 15:12:54
Kah Choon has made a people's choice. It is more important to serve the rakyat than to serve the party. The party is only a 'mean', the rakyat is the 'end'. Leaders must learn to serve the 'end' not the 'means'.
written by james5501, April 23, 2008 15:14:56
Good for you....now you can get on with your job with peace of mind....no more BN dictators to bug you.
written by Wakeupmsia, April 23, 2008 15:20:49
That's a wise move, Kah Choon. BN and its component parties are INTROVERTS! They don't care for the rakyat, do they? PR would not offer you this high level position if they think you are unqualified. Well, you were head-hunted and obviously YOU ARE QUALIFIED! Go, man, get things moving. Make Penang robust and make Malaysians Proud!! Congrats, Lee. All the very best to you.
written by binarytan, April 23, 2008 15:21:20
Cheers Kah Choon, join DAP or PR directly without any doubt.

There are a lot of opportunities outside to show your talent and please work hard and do not let us down. Gerakan is almost irrelevant now!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by 1351, April 23, 2008 15:21:34
Idiots of Gerakan, you deserve your fate.

If you had just kept quite, all in name of bipartisanship, the lot of you would come out smelling like roses BUT instead, you sound off(more like bark) like your UMNO masters would and in due course Gerakan as an entity also can also go bye bye just like UMNO.

written by Counterpointer, April 23, 2008 15:23:16
A harbinger of the next political tsunami.

The BN scales shakes and vibrates another Hz.

The screws are coming loose.

Mahathir's balls are shaking.

Anwar IS going to be PM real soon.
written by babakl, April 23, 2008 15:23:50
This is one mature thinking individual which PR can accepr. unm and bn is so childish not worth to mention about serving the country. So only people in bn and umno can serve in the army, police and all agencies in MALAYSIA. What a poor or i say stupid thinking people we have running the country.
written by Michael Pg, April 23, 2008 15:28:05
Yes, you made the right choice of serving the rakyat first, and you should earn our Penangite RESPECT and SALUTE.

I hope that Gerakan supporter should support you in your immediate task and not hinder you.

Wish that those gerakan support realise what is their objective before they joint politics, for the betterment of Penang Rakyat. but not to create bads issue to penang. if the Gerakan could not help Penang Rakyat, then what is the point of staying in GERAKAN? Right? Move to Others party as long as The party could help penang regain previous Glory of PENANG.

Please help penang to attract investor in Manufacturing sector, Financial Sector, Entertainment sector and Tourism Sector.
Thanks.
I am Malaysian so are you.
written by sickofitall, April 23, 2008 15:30:22
Gerakan's loss, Kah Choon, not the other way round. One of the main reasons you lost was KTK, and his ego is not allowing him to wake up to this fact. People think KTK was gracious in how he handled BN's loss of Penang...? you should ask around what really happened that night. I assure you the gracious way in which he conceeded Penang was not his idea. Proof is that now he is avoiding LGE's calls.
written by kent chong, April 23, 2008 15:33:42
Bring more useful/skillful member from GErakan to join PR.
written by Mark C, April 23, 2008 15:34:37
BN and Gerakan brand of politics of "If you are not with us, you are against us.." will no longer work.

Kudos for Lee Kah Choon for his "People's first" mentality.
written by qitaro, April 23, 2008 15:38:05
LKC, if it is confirmed ... then leaving Gerakan is a wise choice.

The future generation (at least the Penangites) will remember you as among the smarter ones who chose to serve the rakyat first rather than serving umno.

The rest of Gerakan people should seriously start thinking hard and decide whether you want people to remember you as a leader or a crooked politician ... or worse, a dumb umno ball carrier.

The choice is yours.
written by Thomas47, April 23, 2008 15:40:44
The right thing to do.
written by wag the dog, April 23, 2008 15:41:41
Wonderful wish there is more to come. Gerakan should join PR lock stock and barrel. And teach UMNO and BN a lesson.

Agflation - The Our Next Tsunami

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by budakindia, April 23, 2008 16:00:52
It's sad that BN played this type of politics. Capable people is hindered from actively taking part in the nation's development just because he supports the Opposition. smilies/sad.gif So where's the unity where BN claimed it's been doing all this while? smilies/sad.gif
written by rayfire, April 23, 2008 16:06:46
Thanks LKC for putting rakyat ahead of your party.
If they can't accept the fact that you want to serve rakyat, then they don't deserve to have you.
I would say it is a wise decision on your part.
Please concentrate now to serve the rakyat and you will earn our respect.
God Bless You smilies/grin.gif

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com
written by padhma, April 23, 2008 16:25:16
Another sad episode in Malaysia. People just can't understand the principles of governance. It is a loss to GERAKAN. GERAKAN was given an opportunity to reinvent themself in the Malaysian political aerena, but it has been wasted. I hope people in PENENG take this as a lesson. GERAKAN is not there for the people, but only for personal interest. GERAKAN will only serve if they are in power, otherwise they wouldn't care about the people. It clearly shows that GERAKAN has no interest about the people in PENANG. Now that we know, its about time GERAKAN is rejected completely. Let it be the end of GERAKAN. Reject GERAKAN completely. REJECT GERAKAN!!!!REJECT GERAKAN!!!!REJECT GERAKAN!!!!
written by sjeevan, April 23, 2008 16:25:28
Bravos to you Mr.Lee Kah Choon. While you yourself may not really understand on the significance of your move, the truth is you have created an important milestone in Malaysian politics.What is unimportant event to many political watchers/insiders in Malaysia, this event is in fact the beginning of a new reformative maturity in Malaysian politics. I am sure, the manner you did it will be a talking point for some time, but the crux of the matter is I have absolute confident that many would follow your footsteps. Do not be surprised that the party you discarded will learn and adopt this in due course of time once they establish the merit of your actions viz-a-viz the overall objectives and true role of politicians.
written by Lim Lim, April 23, 2008 16:27:09
well,well,this clearly shows that "gerakan" is jus as good as secret societies with this type of mentality;so it is good for u n all the penangites...n no regret LKC,right move!!
written by joeawk, April 23, 2008 16:33:20
KC, u have the support of malaysians except those small minded BN people.
written by bikerzon, April 23, 2008 16:37:27
LET THE BALL ROLL....
written by johanssm, April 23, 2008 16:37:57
Practical and wise move for Lee.
Bn is not interested to develop Penang , as Penang is under the PR administration.This can translate as Bn sabotaging Penang.
Not just Penang , but all the other 4 states plus KL.
Politics is NOT about the sake of politicking.Such narrow politicians we can throws them away.
PR welcomes any person who can bring development to any of the 5 Pakatan states , but will be base on capabilities.
written by grant, April 23, 2008 16:47:46
Dear borneopeteliew,
May I ask, wouldnt u do the same if you were in his position? Who wouldnt when all humans are driven by desire and greed? perhaps LKC is truly doing this for a noble deed. We wouldnt know right?
written by matt3238, April 23, 2008 16:48:07
Great move, you have the RAKYAT supporting you all the way. Good to see you do not bow to the threat from those BN monkeys.

3 Cheers to LKC
written by libau, April 23, 2008 17:07:42
Great desicion from the leader who want to serve the people and not the party...
BN leader must learn from him..Who next?

Bravo LKC...
written by PR Msia, April 23, 2008 17:27:54
Lee Kah Choon, dont ever look back.
Move on! Do a good job for Penangists.
We support you.
written by NickChan, April 23, 2008 17:47:56
what's the fuss? doesn't khalid ibrahim still works for some government's corporations? (or was)
written by RobertS, April 23, 2008 17:51:38
LKC...You are a true politician and a gentleman at that. May God Bless You, Your family,Penang and PKR. The rest of you sore losers, spinless idots get it into your head that PKR wants to make Malaysia a better place for all not only for the selected few who have contacts and money.Bugger off fools.
written by komen66, April 23, 2008 18:55:50
Good luck Kar Choon , your move have shown malaysian what thru spirit of people serving means , you have the balls to get on your own feet , now you don't have to hide under the dictatorship of BN rulling and you can speak up to anyone in penang as long as it brings good for the penangites , you no longer the scapegoat of seat for BN , work hard and show them BN people that critised your action that they are damn wrong , if gerakan don't want you PR wants don't worry we respect the decision by LGE , PR don't need YES MAN! PR need people like you!

written by komen66, April 23, 2008 19:04:01
Moreover Gerakan should be proud that there is still lifeline given by PR , who cares what party work under what party ? as long as you are the right one we dont mind , not for BN/MCA/Gerakan/MIC way,they lose now they wanan drag you down also, dont care about them anymore , if you need to leave Gerakan then just leave then you can join PR and we would support you al lthe way till GE13 and you will our MP at GE13
written by Lim Lim, April 23, 2008 19:29:07
only this word deem appropriate for gerakan,n that's 'sempit'!!perpetualting on this type of mindset n doctrine is sending nowhere except to the temple of the doomed.
written by Lim Lim, April 23, 2008 19:31:46
missed the word 'them'.
written by coolandy, April 23, 2008 19:32:15
You are a man. Hope this is the first of many to come to their senses.

Gerakan today has strayed far from the vision of their founding fathers.
written by anniyan, April 23, 2008 19:57:16
Good Decission !!

Kar Choon U Have given another form of "Slap" to AAB !
Waiting for the good news of joining to PR !
Kudos and Congratulations to Dato Kar Choon.. Smart ! waa respect sama u..
written by Ujang, April 23, 2008 19:58:21
Syabas kepada Datuk Lee. Jangan kita ikut budaya UMNO. Kita perlu berkhidmat untuk rakyat bukan untuk parti.
written by glojokumar, April 23, 2008 21:32:51
I wonder, would BN done the same to offer such positions to opposition members,
i guess LGE& Pakatan looked into the capability and qualification of a person instead of political lineage, aiyo wonder when BN is ever going learn, the Pakatan leaders are showing much intelligence day by day, sincerity and transparency.Well done Dato LKC, serve without fear or favour. The people are behind you.
written by CM Lam, April 23, 2008 21:42:57
Well done Datuk ! You have my support !
written by ientao, April 23, 2008 21:56:09
he is wise with this decision . He initially resigned from all party posts and only keep his ordinary membership . Remember it is now seen as if Gerakan who force him to go rather than he abandon the party . To me it is simple , nothing wrong for the sake of serving the people by taking up the 2 posts ,one should be seen as having public interest more than party or personal . well done Kah Choon ..you are a capable and smart person i believe . bring glory to penang .
written by JaguhKampung, April 23, 2008 22:16:59
This is the second big blow to Gerakan! Gerakan is floored. Can they get up in the ring before the count of three? They may not survive the third blow even they can get up.

What a match!
written by cancan, April 23, 2008 22:34:58
Business versus Politics

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by miwaki, April 23, 2008 22:49:44
Gerakan dah tak ada kuasa langsung di BN,buat apa nak jadi ahli Gerakan ? Tsu Koon kalau bijak,dia pun boleh keluar dari Gerakan.Bagi Kheng Yaik jadi Raja di Gerakan pun cukup.
written by bumiku, April 23, 2008 22:55:26
written by borneopeteliew, April 23, 2008 | 15:46:35
Kah Choon is just an opportunist and a person who takes advantage of any circumstance which will help him personally. He will do the same to Parkatan if it losses the election the next round by jumping back to BN as though nothing happen.. Kah Choon cannot be trusted one bit.

You to see him during the thick of Gerakan's rule and he was such a snob. Wonder why Keng Yaik was all for him to take over from Ksu Koon?
vote down
vote up
Votes: 0

With no disrespect, i strongly believe there is a flaw in your hypothesis on Mr Lee. If he is a person who is 'gila kuasa' and an opportunist, he would have held on to his post as Sec. Gen. of Gerakan and then went on to accept the current post. His heart is to serve the rakyat, that is what all other politicians should emulate. Not serve own pocket.

LGE sees him as a capable man, thus. offering him a post (even when he is no longer a Sec. Gen. of the opposing party, thus there is no 'fishing' on DAP part).

Mr. Lee, accepting the post as an ordinary member, had actually given Gerakan a chance to leave BN and stand up for the rakyat. Call it an acid test, if you want to. However, Gerakan chooses to heed the orders of their big brother (or should I say Master, here) instead of using their own head to think what is right and best for the party. Thus, I would believe, this would mark an end of Gerakan as a political party.

Why should the members not leave and abandon ship now that their party, which was given a 2nd chance, fumbled in making the right decision? and if one were to ask, 'What is the right decision?' The answer is obviously, 'To serve the rakyat'. Enough said... May Gerakan now rest in peace.
written by thatallmaybe1, April 23, 2008 23:43:59
Great move, Kah Choon. Leave all those old baggages out and just move forward to do what you have been called for. Stay focused. Good luck!
written by MRDaniel LOOI, April 24, 2008 00:28:30
Hi! Kar Choon, a very good decision made, Penang must be your birth place,as a patriot you want to contribute for the good of Penang state.
written by Tornado, April 24, 2008 14:31:30
wise,

people come first, party come last.
written by kedahan63, April 25, 2008 09:49:13
Well done Kar Choon, you're thinking n acting like a True Malaysian. Perhaps you should make the Musketeers' motto "One for All n All for One" yours as well?

Good luck n all the best. For or against, we work n fight for Malaysia!