Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The ball is at Gerakan’s foot

The ball is at Gerakan’s foot PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 April 2008 11:56

This is my third post on Lee Kah Choon. For those who have not followed what I wrote the last 2 days, please read these 2 articles : Less politics, more work  and Be big enough to accept this, Gerakan. I also hope the readers will read the numerous comments, some of which comes from former Gerakan supporters and voters and some from well known commentators in the blogosphere.

One of the reasons why MCA, MIC and Gerakan lost so badly in this election is because they are seen to be subservient to UMNO. When some UMNO leaders– not even the top leaders of UMNO but second rung leaders– make certain comments, there is a perception that leaders of these parties are just sycophants. So much so the rakyat can predict what these leaders are going to say after a budget announcement or after a policy statement from UMNO leaders.

Then in 2006, Lee Kuan Yew mentioned that the Chinese Malaysians are marginalised. The Minister Mentor may have his agenda in saying this, but what he said is the true situation, and Malaysians are all aware of this. What happened? Barisan NonUmno leaders tried to outdo each other admonishing Lee. Their action has alienated them from their own voting base. Only one person from MCA, Ong Tee Keat, dared to stand up and said that those who drink water will know whether the water is cold or hot. Not surprisingly, Ong is the only MP from MCA that won a seat in the Klang Valley, winning the Pandan Parliamentary seat (even though it is outside KL it is still within the Klang Valley) while the 3 DUNs under Pandan were all lost to Pakatan.

written by Jan, April 23, 2008 12:05:44
...One of the reasons why MCA, MIC and Gerakan lost so badly in this election is because they are seen to be subservient to UMNO...
---------------------------

The minorities have known this for a long time. It's only when Khairy stepped all over Koh Tsu Khoon in front of Pak Lah in Penang that really made the people angry. They are angry because Koh let this nobody step all over him without any resistance. I believe these sycophant parties are finished politically unless they start reinventing themselves and SPEAK UP for god's sake if they are unfairly treated.
written by panca, April 23, 2008 12:08:39
Remember when the school that was not 'repaired' and presented with a 'clean bill' of RM30k and some kerisguy start brandishing his phallic piece of then so-called allegations Butt Sami confirmed the the cost? This is the way of many umNO leaders of respecting the Rakyat for knowing the wrongs they did!

OTK was taken to task for standing up and was asked to keep of his(keris) turf!
written by panca, April 23, 2008 12:09:35
keep of keep off
written by Jan, April 23, 2008 12:25:59
OTK was taken to task for standing up and was asked to keep off his(keris) turf!
---------------------------
Absolutely correct. By chastising Ong Tee Keat Kerismuddin is seen to be condoning corruption or wrong doing. I can't believe a descendant of Onn Jaafar can come to this. Incredibly arrogant and stupid.

written by Amadas, April 23, 2008 12:26:27
Lee Kah Choon(LKC) should be commended for his decision to "Add Value to Penang's economy" by accepting the position offered by the PR Penang State Government. PR had recognized Lee Kah Choon talents and PR has confidence in LKC being able to add value to grow Penang's state economy.What is the problem with that?

This is the best example of cooperation between PR and BN. However BN had chosen not to cooperate and therefore is intent on punishing PR government which the rakyat had elected. That means BN is bent on punishing the Rakyat.
BN is exhibiting an antagonistic attitude towards the rakyat....instead BN Federal Government should be displaying an "ALL INCLUSIVE MINDSET"

The world is moving into global recession and into unchartered waters ...
Sabah and Sarwak is watching. They will soon decide who is their best partner to improve the economic wellbeing of Malaysia.
written by Jan, April 23, 2008 12:27:58
Ong Tee Keat is one of the few MCA people who dare to speak up, that's why he got voted in again.
written by Remo, April 23, 2008 12:44:40
The PM and BN has never learnt. UNMO is controlling the BN and they were slapped on the face by voters denying two-third majority. They wanting to be thrown out completely. Wait till December 08.

Badawi got no standing. Today he will say this and tomorrow he will say another.
I still remember the day before he desolve the parliament he told in the RTM news that confirmed that he won't desolve the parliament tomorrow. The next day he desolve the parliament, this is what Badawi is. Cannot be trusted.

What more you expect from a person like this. One day he say it is a healthy sign to coperate and run the state with opposition. The nex day he say oh it is against the spirit. Asking Gerakan to take action against Lee Kah Choon.
written by sickofitall, April 23, 2008 12:58:38
to be fair to BN, they r looking at the big picture too...they realise that the kind of inclusive politics being practised by PR will mean their (BN's) demise...Pr is practising a kind of politics where they put the people first, nacam mana BN nak lawan?!
written by chanatak, April 23, 2008 13:20:15
I like PR's open approach. PR is show the way of merit based decisions. If PR has based its decision on Lee Kah Choon as capable, impartial and with integrity, then it is a good basis. As for accuracy of judgment, we will see if Lee Kah Choon lives up to that expectations. But first, the motivation of PR is the correct one.

Thumbs up to Lee Kah Choon for having the right spirit to accept the offer. It shows his professional non-partisan mindset. Whatever doubts as to his personal and self motives should be put aside. Watch for the results. Lee Kah Choon should just ignore the small minded leaders and ex-leaders of Gerakan. They have big mouths but small minds. Same like the UMNO guys.

Carry on. Do a good job and surely you earn everybody's respect.
written by hckit, April 23, 2008 13:20:24
To all Gerakan members,
Join la BR sekali gus, term ini boleh dapat kerja pegawai Kerajaan BR. Next term boleh jadi MPs dan ADUNs semula.

written by SocratesI, April 23, 2008 13:48:10

Thumbs Up to Pakatan Rakyat for looking at the bigger picture and who is more concerned about the welfare of the Rakyat in Penang than party politics !!

Thumbs Up for Kah Choon for going with his commitment to serve the Rakyat in Penang across party lines !!

These 2 parties have exhibited maturity in politics, and they obviously have the welfare of the Rakyat at the centre of whatever they do - these are the people we need to lead and serve Malaysia & Malaysians !!

Thumbs Down to BN in general, and Gerakan in particular for still adhering to party politics and placing party politics ABOVE the Rakyat's interest and welfare !! This is EXACTLY the reason why BN and Gerakan lost Penang !!! Myopic leadership by Lim Keng Yaik of the Flying Saliva Clan, and Pengecut Koh Tsu Koon of the UMNO HAS MY BALLS CLAN !! We are fortunate indeed to have done away with these petrified fossils !!

Already, I have not forgiven Gerakan from selling out the Rakyat by joining BN, and now, they are on the verge of penalizing such a useful, dedicated member of their party who holds dear the welfare of the Rakyat in his heart. Actions, indeed, speak far louder than words !!

I Salute you Pakatan Rakyat for getting the best person for the job, and going beyond myopic party politics to do it, and I Salute you, Kah Choon, for having the balls to cross party lines to serve the Rakyat !!

All you moronic, idiotic, imbeciles in the BN, please do me and the Rakyat a BIG FAVOUR, and go straight to HELL !!

written by budakindia, April 23, 2008 14:01:44
BN, Gerakan and whatever in your coalition please grow up! DAP, PAS, PKR are not your enemies or communists! smilies/grin.gif Please take off your visor and face the real world! You don't live in a world where the bad guys are labelled as "BAD GUYS" or look like penguins! That's Hollywood! smilies/grin.gif
written by Milo, April 23, 2008 14:07:55
Pakatan Rakyat Penang should be praised for their 'out of the box' approach to serving the rakyat. They blurred the line that divides who is "government" and who is "opposition" - and placed the Rakyat as the real No. 1 by choosing candidates that are qualified, even when they are from the opposition camp!

There is real shortage of talents everywhere. Politics should be placed a distance second when come to serving the rakyat, or else, the rakyat will be denied talented leaders who are able to serve them.

Brovo Pakatan - that's the way to go!
written by SeriousLy, April 23, 2008 14:57:55
"2006, Lee Kuan Yew mentioned that the Chinese Malaysians are marginalised"
In that issue, Lee Kuan Yew did not apologize.
written by kc respect, April 23, 2008 14:58:17
CORRECTion!! CORRECTion!!! CORRECTion!!!!

Gerakan does not have the ball at its foot. Gerakan has no balls.
Too timid to stand against UMNO-ultras, too stupid to serve the public.

Still do not know why they lost everything.
written by Angela Ooi, April 23, 2008 15:32:52
Aiyah Lee Kah Choon, just join PR and let the BN puny minds rant all they want.They are just plain jealous you got called up for duty and not them. If the BN Govt really listens to the rakyat, they will know the rakyat applauds this move.
written by joeawk, April 23, 2008 15:46:48
The way the BN parties are conducting themselves, I cannot see them redeeming themselves. What is happening today will be replayed for all to see comes the next election.

We all must make it a point to get more and more people to register as voters and as most of these unregistred voters are young, they are our future and their say would be all important.

The young should not allow old sick dogs to determine their future because these old sick dogs simply are inept and do not have the wisdom to carry the young now or into the future.

To the young and unregistered, you must come forward and get yourself registered as voters.
written by AYKC, April 23, 2008 17:16:42
The truth is UMNO/BN is wetting in their pants as Lee Kah Choon represent the beginning of the imminent cross-over by the MPs from UMNO/BN and, hence, the apparent futile attempt by DPM to check his move and also not forgetting the sudden change of stand by PM on this issue.
written by my2cents, April 23, 2008 20:15:33
Everyday BN puts another nail in it's coffin. Everytime PR does something like this, land titles, open tender, for each isuue they gain thousands of supporters. Vice versa, for each issue opposed, BN loses thousands of supporters. These guys just ain't smart enough. When they rule, they are in a position to hoodwink the public on how smart they are using MSM and other forms machinery. When they are not quite there, they dont know any other way to react. I hope they keep up this sort of policy so I could observe their slow demise. Whats better than a slow demise?
written by chin, April 23, 2008 22:00:07
For once, a ruling state government has done the right thing. PK did not win the contest to decide who owns the state but who has the privilege of serving the state.

And PR serves by appointing the best person for the job. A Gerakan member is still a Malaysian and has the same responsible to serve if he has dedicated his life to public office.
written by defendermalaysia, April 24, 2008 00:24:39
As I have already predicted before the election that after election Gerakan will no longer be revellent and will end up like PPP. They have to change this "Bitter loose gown "president as he is even no bola than the PM. He allow himself to be hantam by budah mentah KJ as well as Krissamuddin and remain silence as until today. He surrender his choice of chief minister to UMNO for discision. How can you always try to bodeh UMNO. By bodeh UMNO, you are taking Gerakan to Holland. The people in Penang do not like this type of surrender of Gerakan right away. Since you are surrending away your chinese rights away, so it is better that we take back this right and gave this to DAP. At least DAP will not surrender their party rights to UMNO and will not bodeh UMNO.
written by Victory or Death, April 24, 2008 00:27:04

Dear All,

Below are some my postings crossing swords/tongue (or exchanging opinions?) with a 2 bloggers namely Apek and Bananachinese.I have copied the postings over here as it is related to Datuk Lee Kah Choon under the article "Running Dogs Running Scared":

written by Victory or Death, April 22, 2008 | 01:07:58

Dear bananachinese, MCA members and Running Dogs,

Datuk Lee Kah Choon of Gerakan has accepted the offer from the Penang state government to be the director of a state agency.

What say you all?

I say he has seen the big picture!
report abusevote downvote upVotes: -5
written by Apek SK, April 23, 2008 | 12:58:17

Dear victory of death,

Now you can call him(Lee Kah Choon) as a running dog for DAP.
What you say....?
To improve the image of a running dog, he should resign and joint DAP.

That is not a good picture ..agree?

report abusevote downvote upVotes: 4
written by Victory or Death, April 23, 2008 | 20:05:27

Dear bananachinese,

I did not call MCA running dogs.Who did?Read the article above.Answer obvious?

Why should I call Datuk Lee a running dog?

Apparently, from what I read, he was a good politician serving the people well.Well respected too!If DAP has such high respect for him, surely he cannot be that bad!

It seems BN cannot see the big picture.If one can serve the public well, even if the invitation/or appointment was from a party with different ideology, why can't he be allowed to do good for society or the state of Penang for that matter.

Do you wish to call him a running dog? If you do,I won't stop you - go ahead.It will only be counter- productive to your objectives.

You see,if you wish to call someone a running dog,it will only be effective if there is some element of truth in it.If not, it reflects back on the accuser.

Who are the judges? Obviously the Rakyat and those who express their judgement ,and in this case, the bloggers.

You wanna call Datuk Lee a running dog? What say you?

report abusevote downvote upVotes: -1
written by Victory or Death, April 23, 2008 | 20:16:16

Again dear bananachinese,

If BN and Gerakan wants to take disciplinary action against Datuk Lee,they do not see the big picture from a multitude of angles.

For one,they are not looking out for the good of the people of Penang.So how to win back Penang in next GE????

Further, any disciplinary action taken against him will incur the displeasure of the Penang Rakyat.You will probably be able to gauge the reaction of the Rakyat from this blog when it happens.

If Gerakan takes disciplinary action ,it will be like forcing him to leave the party , leaving him without without any option but to join the PR parties.

By the way,did you say you are an MCA member?

report abusevote downvote upVotes: -1

written by Apek SK, April 23, 2008 | 21:23:30

Dear victory of death,

You have answered to yourself, whoever wish to serve which ever side should
not be called as running dog, unless he betray the people and the party wishes.
Lee Kah Choon cannot wear a Gerakan uniform and serving at DAP camp. Just like
MU player wearing MU jersey and scoring for Liverpool.

Moreover LKC has problem with the party, he should leave, nothing to do with PR.

By the way, i am Apek not BananaChinese , Not MCA members.
report abusevote downvote upVotes: 1
................................................................................
written by Victory or Death, April 24, 2008 00:47:28
written by Victory or Death, April 24, 2008 | 00:38:49

Dear Apek,
Oops, I made a mistake!Yes I should be replying to you and not Bananachinese as you were the one who addressed the posting to me.

You said he has a problem with the party(Gerakan).Was he not reselected toby his party to stand in the just concluded GE? Why was he selected if he has a problem with the party?

By the way ,I just read that he has resigned from Gerakan.

I believe he is the forerunner of an exodus to come or shall I call it an exodus-in-waiting?

Like any breach against a sea-wall,it always starts with a trickle and will grow untill it becomes unstoppable.
report abusevote downvote upVotes: 0
written by kedahan63, April 24, 2008 09:10:56
LKC probably has learnt his lesson for ignoring the voters n walking in step with Keris-muddin n gang. I'd say he'd realize he should be working as a Malaysian rather than a Gerakan/BN-ian. Good of Penang YB to offer him the job even though they are oppositions to each other. Reminds me of how the US Democrats n Republicans work together (sometimes) in the Senate to "Bush"-whack Bush n their past Presidents' idiotic or self-serving Bills