Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Thank you Pak Lah. but..

Thank you Pak Lah. but.. PDF Print
Wednesday, 23 April 2008 04:00

By Dr Mohamed Rafick Khan bin Abdul Rahman

I am very please with the PM and cabinet decision that they had “apologize” to Tun Salleh Abas and now have made known publicly of their intention to create an independent BPR. I want to share my views and experience in a parallelism to my own small ways in running a “social organization” where we the office bearers has to put a high standard of integrity and shows an even higher professionalism.

For the record, we are in a voluntary service where many people who do not want to volunteer but  are very critical in making comments. Of course, we welcome the relevant comments but there are many hecklers out there who are not interested in coming forward to help but just like to make noise. Some claims that they are the African bees but, my own perception is that they are no more than a pesky house fly.

Apologize… Don’t apologize… Indirect apology…. Almost an apology

From many articles that I read, many writers insisted that the Government should apologize. Off course, being the Government, they feel they should not apologize. Instead they do a PR exercise where they get Tun Salleh Abas and Pak Lah shaking hands and splash it across the media. They even arrange it  in such a way that both Tun Salleh and Pak Lah were sat at the same table giving an impression that everything is OK between them. It is no secret that the event is done to shut Tun M  mouth.

Read More Here 

written by KotaDamansara73, April 23, 2008 05:09:20
It has been a culture of UMNO to buy their way out. I am also sure, they are buying Tun Salleh Abas out. Seeing how things are going at the moment, I think the MCAC or whatever you want to call it, is not going to be as independent as it wants it to be. It is all cosmetic.
written by EvilWolf, April 23, 2008 06:09:22
Dr Rahman,

Please verify your spelling and grammar before you send in your articles for publication. Your English is simply atrocious.

Since you're very fond of blowing your own horn with your 'titles', which thankfully have now gone, perhaps checking your spelling and grammar with Microsoft Word would add some credibility to your 'Dr' status.

disagree 17
written by apanama, April 23, 2008 06:10:21
yeah. why is RPK talking cocks and bulls these days.
i really cannot tahan why he keeps saying `forget the past, forget what mahathir did.'

IMHO, this country CANNOT move on without exorcising mahathir and his evid deeds since july 1981, the day he tricked hussein onn into giving him the PM-ship. everywhere we turn, there's mahazalim's ghost around the corner. from corruption, to cronies, to mega-waste projects to scandals, to lingam, to vincent tan to MSM to melayu mudah lupa mudah ditipu mamak.

let's finish off the unfinished business with mahafiraun.
once for all. exorcised.
written by coolandy, April 23, 2008 06:15:00
The UMNO & BN houses are rotten to the core, so PM needs to give it a new coat of paint. The current exercises about the judiciary are done half heartedly by half-past six team, sekadar melepas batuk di tangga sahaja. It is a game of political survival and AAB is using what little time left to be seen to be doing good in order to fend off his opponents.

I agree with the writer that PM can say one thing but unless it is gazetted into law, nothing's changed. So under what law is this payment given out? Duit ehsan Terengganu?
written by Tompios, April 23, 2008 07:31:06
ersonally, I'm quite wonder why Malaysian's government can't take any firm action for an apology to Tun Abbas of course to the other judges. It's too sad when politicus people using some kinds of technique trap to boil our respected judges 20 years ago.

This is wrong and totally wrong decision made by Dr. Mahathir as a master mind of all these things. Majority voice is not mean right all the time. Dr. Mahathir managed to gain majority votes to get revenge over Tun Abbas who are try to block dirty politic agenda of Dr. Mahathir Mohammad.

Sure! God will never happy to see righteous people prosecuted by other people who are bear great name of Prophet Mohammad. God is really mad at you Dr. Mahathir Mohammad. I think after all these rubish things over, you Dr. Mahathir will be permitted to get your beautiful rest in peace next year 2010.
written by Michael Pg, April 23, 2008 08:13:57
it is the political leader mistake, they should have pay by their own money not tax payer money. if don't want, then they should take the reponsibility to apologize. leader with no ball.
written by Malaysiaku, April 23, 2008 08:22:22
I am skeptical about the BPR going independent...I mean really independent. Somehow, it gives me the impression that it will be still under the directives of the PM and UMNO. The PM will still be 'recommending' to the Agong who he thinks should head the BPR so there is still that nagging feeling that it is not all that independent.

The BPR has also come out to say that going 'independent' will be a good idea. So, all this while, he meant that it was not? We, the Rakyat can see the actions of the BPR and so far, it is thumbs down for me. I feel this is all a cloud to show that they will be independent but will it ever be?
written by middlepath, April 23, 2008 08:30:24
correct,correct,correct ! Absolutely, this is the way to face off with Dr M, how else ? Siapa cakap Paklah no balls ? This is how Paklah our PM answer to Dr M. Dr M can shout and yell, at the end of the day it's Paklah's show, what can Dr M do ?
1st, Paklah is going to formed a judge appointment system, throw away Dr M's system of abuse.
2nd, PM is going to have a new and totally "ACA" Anti Corruption Agency", before this, ACA for Dr M is "Authorize Corruption Agency". which is for show only, that's the class of Dr M, correct,correct,correct.

What else is PM going to do ? this way, he can have the Dr M legacy kill off, those are the suck's legacy of Dr M. Absolutely corrupt, arrogant and greedy way of zero governance. The evil mamak way, he Dr M has no heart, he has no moral standard, he is bastard, where got integrity !!! Taking so many people money and yet make Umno the way it is money politic, and corrupt culture.

All the crying on stage are for show, he make use of the Malay to enrich himself, at the end of the day, he still take care of himself and now he want to bring up his son to be PM.

Umno and BN if no change, if follow Dr M way, will die of obsolete !
Pakatan Rakyat of DSAI is the right way, if you go to jail, you will understand the Dr M way, the evil way !

Let's boycott the Dr M's way, dont read his news ! say shit to Dr M !
ask Dr M to go to Hell !
those dont behave, corrupt, ask them to go to hell, burn in hell by Allah !

PR please come rule the country, save the counrty from gov of evil.

No Najisb, he is evil too .
written by Remo, April 23, 2008 08:40:47
Najib said earlier Compensation means no Apology , PM will say one thing DPM will say another thing, real fools.

Independent ACA bullshit. Why now after loosing the election talking about all these. Badawi trying to put up a show to stay in the position. Don't waste time.

If really given freedom to ACA to perform, the first one to go behind bar will be Badawi & Khairy. Will follow by Najib. They dare to let BPR work independently? No way.

They say but they will control the media (close makkal osai), control the IGP (the yes man), control the judiciary system, they control all the mega projects (Khairy & Patric Badawi), money politic, with all this kind of corruption, how to let ACA to work independently?

Changing the government will be the only choice.

Say No To UMNO,NO MIC, NO MCA

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Countach, April 23, 2008 08:51:47
apanama, you are right.

Mahathir has stolen hundreds of Billions from the countty.

Mahathir should be in jail and made to repay all the money he stole.

We can only solve the problems in Malaysiaonly if those people responsible like Mahathir are put in jail.

So you are right, we must remember the past to solve the present problems.
written by chaiksyn, April 23, 2008 09:27:03
Well said, Dr.!
written by deemah, April 23, 2008 10:04:21
common lah everyone - one comment and suggestion from a newly elected minister, zaid ibrahim, justice seems to be in order. Apologise, compensate or what wheter - by all means, do so. But we are talking about public interest and money. Shouldn't a "relook into the case" necessary insteady of making hasty decision? Tak fikir ke - nak sack hakim-hakim senior tu bukannya mudah.
written by panca, April 23, 2008 10:29:15
This is what they are good at and what Idiot can do with the msm, a potent(impotent) tool to 'splash' all over that everything is alright now and cool too. The public gets to play to his gallery?!

WOW....he just have to do better than this, fortunately there are many who are still having thinking minds.

written by chanatak, April 23, 2008 13:42:54
Malaysiaku is absolute correct. Can BPR be independent in practice if the people involved are appointed by the powers in place? Will there be any mechanism to ensure that none of those appointees have any political affiliation?

As it is, the public is already aware that the so called Royal Commissions are less than impartial. Look at the way they have handled witnesses and potential witnesses. Consider their effort to hide information from the public by hearing in camera. Why the secrecy unless it is an attempt to protect someone who should not be protected? Shame, shame, shame.

Really, can BPR be truly independent?
written by joeawk, April 23, 2008 15:49:35
Please do not take malaysians for fools. No more. Whole change will buy you a change to redeem yourself, otherwise BN parties will perish. That Malaysians can assure BN.
written by power2u, April 23, 2008 16:44:17
PAK LAH ,TO GET EVEN WITH MAHATHIR U SHOULD ALSO ORGANISE MAJLIS
1)TO PAY EX GRATIA TO POLITICAL DETAINEES OF OPERASI LALANG UNDER DR. M.
2)TO APOLOGIZE TO DSAI FOR UNLAWFUL ARREST.
written by EvilWolf, April 23, 2008 19:09:49
Dr M must be made to answer for all that he has done in his 22 years of power. There should be no escape for him. He must be made accountable for all the cruelty and injustice that he prescribed to while he was in power. He is certainly no saint, although these days, he seems comfortable in thinking of himself as one!

While it is acknowledged that he was primarily instrumental in bringing Malaysia to the world, he still has a lot to answer for.

As it is unlikely that he will be brought to justice under the present government, I await the day when he will be brought before Anwar when he becomes PM.
written by creative minds, April 23, 2008 20:34:17
Apanama, i believe that RPK is giving an avenue to all to express an opinion calling Mahathir a mahafiraun is not really my cup of tea, dont insult do, then we talk, what have you done for your country bro, at least RPK showed us some resemblance of reality