Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Are Chinese and Indians merely hedging?

Are Chinese and Indians merely hedging? PDF Print
Tuesday, 22 April 2008 15:39

Come back and talk to us about ending the New Economic Policy and those other things that you are so unhappy with after the parties that represent you either join us in fighting for change or get wiped off the face of this earth and are sent to their graves if they resist change.

The Chinese and Indians are not happy. They have not been happy since Merdeka in 1957. They were also not happy in 1969. The Chinese and Indians would like to see a level playing field. They want the special rights/privileges of the Malays abolished. They resent being called Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians. They want to be just called Malaysians, period. Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy tantamount to Apartheid, argue the Chinese and Indians. They want all this racial discrimination to end.

The Malays have a counter-argument to this. This was what was agreed upon, say the Malays. Before Merdeka, all the races agreed to enter into a ‘Social Contract’. The ‘immigrants’ would be granted citizenship and the original ‘sons of the soil’ would be granted special rights/privileges. To ‘cement’ this ‘Social Contract’, this was stipulated in the Federal Constitution of Malaya.

The ‘Social Contract’ is ‘carved in stone’. Even more than two-thirds of Parliament can’t amend it or remove it from the Federal Constitution. Only the unanimous agreement of the Rulers can do this. Not even a simple majority vote of the Rulers can touch these ‘special provisions’. It must be unanimous. Therefore, to remove it, you must first abolish the Monarchy and turn Malaysia into a Republic. But to suggest that the Monarchy be abolished and Malaysia be turned into a Republic is a crime under the Sedition Act and you will be sent to jail if you do. So, by law, you are not allowed to suggest such a thing.

Prior to Merdeka and the ‘Social Contract’ being agreed upon, the Malays were represented by Umno, the Chinese by MCA and the Indians by MIC. And, as ‘proof’ that all Malayans accepted this ‘Agreement’, Umno, MCA and MIC merged under the banner of the Alliance Party and, together, claimed Merdeka for Malaya.

But did the Malays, Chinese and Indians really agree to this pre-Merdeka ‘Social Contract’? The 1955 Municipal Elections proved they did. In that first election two years before Merdeka, the Alliance Party won 51 of the 52 seats it contested. The opposition won only one seat. So it appears like they did agree and supported the ‘terms of Merdeka’ wholeheartedly.

In the First General Election in 1959, two years after Merdeka, the Alliance Party won 74 of the 104 Parliament seats. The opposition won only 30 seats. Nevertheless, while the Alliance Party won 71.15% of the seats, it garnered only 51.7% of the popular votes. The opposition, which won 28.85% of the seats, garnered 48.3% of the popular votes.

Five years later, in the Second General Election in 1964, the Alliance Party won 89 of the 104 seats while the opposition won only 15 seats. The Alliance Party’s share of the popular votes increased to 58.5% against this 85.58% seat improvement as opposed to the opposition’s 41.5% votes and 14.42% of the seats.

Yes, more than a decade after the ‘Social Contract’ was agreed upon, the many races appeared to be quite happy with the ‘Agreement’ and they continued giving the ruling party a resounding and impressive win. However, in the Third General Election in 1969, this was interrupted.

By 1969, the number of Parliament seats had increased to 144. In this general election, the Alliance Party won only 95 seats, which gave it only 65.97% of the seats in Parliament, slightly short of the psychological 66.67% it needs to control two-thirds of Parliament. The Alliance Party’s share of the popular votes dropped to a miserable 49.3%, the worse it had even done.

Was this a sign that Malaysians had now rejected the so-called ‘Social Contract’ and were no longer prepared to honour the ‘Agreement’? Maybe, or maybe not, because soon after that a new coalition called Barisan Nasional was formed and all the opposition parties, save DAP, joined it to give back the ruling coalition its two-thirds majority in Parliament plus control of all the states that had fallen to the opposition.

Of course, PAS left Barisan Nasional soon after that, but the damage had been done. In the Fourth General Election in 1974, Barisan Nasional won 87.66% of the seats -- and 84.42% in 1978, 85.71% in 1982, 83.62% in 1986 and 70.55% in 1990 (a slight drop because of Semangat 46).

In the 1995 general election, Barisan Nasional’s share of Parliament seats went back up to 84.38%. It dropped to 76.68% in 1999 (because of the birth of the Reformasi Movement) and in 2004 it touched an all-time high of 90.41% (because of the exit of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and the ‘honeymoon’ period for Abdullah Ahmad Badawi).

From 1955 to 2004, except for a short period in 1969, Malaysians did not give one hint that they are not happy with the ‘arrangement’. They gave the ruling party overwhelming support and justified it with the excuse that no one else is capable of running this country other than the ruling party, they have no confidence in the opposition which has not been tested, and so on and so forth. They explained, in all sorts of ways, why they can’t vote for the opposition and must vote for the ruling party (fear of the ‘Taliban’, cutting off hands and legs, etc., included). In short, they gave the ruling party a clear mandate, a resounding vote of confidence, and a ‘without doubt’ indication that they agree with the policies of the government of the day.

Okay, in 1969, the Alliance Party was given a vote of no confidence. However, as soon as Barisan Nasional was formed, all the opposition parties (except DAP) rushed to join the new coalition and all (except for PAS) have remained in the ruling coalition ever since. And they all joined Barisan Nasional AFTER the New Economic Policy was launched -- which means they joined the ruling coalition in full support of the policy.

What is the message here? Simple. The majority of Malays, Indians and Chinese support the ruling coalition. Therefore, they also support the policies of the coalition. The special rights/privileges of the Malays was written into the Constitution BEFORE Merdeka. And in the 1955 and 1959 elections, two years before and two years after Merdeka respectively, Malayans of all races gave the Alliance Party an impressive victory as a mark of this support and confidence.

Even after the May 1969 tragedy, which saw the birth of the New Economic Policy, Malaysians still gave the ruling coalition their support and a vote of confidence. Soon after that, the opposition parties joined the new ruling coalition called Barisan Nasional (which means they support the New Economic Policy) and the people who voted for them did not protest. The voters did not express their displeasure at being ‘betrayed’ by abandoning the parties they supported in 1969. In fact, the opposite was what actually happened.

In the FOUR general elections following the May 13 episode and AFTER Barisan Nasional was formed and AFTER the New Economic Policy was launched, Malaysians gave the ruling coalition 87.66% (1974), 84.42% (1978), 85.71% (1982) and 83.62% (1986) of the seats in Parliament -- until Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and his Semangat 46 reduced that to 70.55% in 1990. But even then it was still more than two-thirds because, while the ‘Malay heartland’ fell to Pas-Semangat 46, the Chinese seats still remained with Barisan Nasional. The swing was only the Malay voters, not the non-Malay voters who remained loyal to the government.

The Chinese and Indians are not happy. They have not been happy since Merdeka in 1957. They were also not happy in 1969. The Chinese and Indians would like to see a level playing field. They want the special rights/privileges of the Malays abolished. They resent being called Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians. They want to be just called Malaysians, period. Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy tantamount to Apartheid, argue the Chinese and Indians. They want all this racial discrimination to end.

Malays find this very hard to believe. The actions of the Chinese and Indians over the last 53 years since 1955 do not seem to reflect this unhappiness. In fact, it is the Malays who are not happy with the Chinese and Indians. The Malays feel that the Chinese and Indians are very stupid for supporting the government, when the Malays want them to support the opposition, and then, after supporting the government, the Chinese and Indians blame the Malays for the problems they face.

Anyway, that is all now water under the bridge. 2008 changed all that. After 53 years, the Chinese and Indians finally joined the Malays in the opposition. A bit late, I would say. Nevertheless, better late than never. After 53 years of swallowing the shit they were dished out, the Chinese and Indians finally said ‘enough is enough’.

But that is still not good enough. MCA and MIC, and all those 1969 opposition parties like Gerakan and PPP, are still in Barisan Nasional. That makes the Malays very suspicious. Maybe some Chinese and Indians did swing to the opposition. But the main parties ‘representing Chinese and Indian interests’ are still sitting comfortably in Barisan Nasional. This does not give the impression that they want change. This just gives the impression they are hedging. The day these parties join Pakatan Rakyat and work with Pakatan Rakyat in bringing about change would be the day the Malays become convinced that the Chinese and Indians really want change and are working towards seeing this change.

No, don’t blame the Malays for your problems. Don’t even blame Umno. Umno would have been nothing then and will be nothing today without MCA and MIC and without those other opposition parties like Gerakan and PPP joining Barisan Nasional soon after 1969. And today, half of you join the opposition while you very cleverly leave your parties in Barisan Nasional so that you can hedge. Smart but not smart enough. Come back and talk to us about ending the New Economic Policy and those other things that you are so unhappy with after the parties that represent you either join us in fighting for change or get wiped off the face of this earth and are sent to their graves if they resist change.

Footnote:

I am extending an open invitation to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP, etc., members to meet Malaysia Today’s readers/members for a brain-storming or roundtable (or anything you want to call it) discussion to explore how to bridge the racial and religious divide and how to bring Malaysians closer to the one-race concept. Time, date and place at your convenience, but let this be a no holds barred, heart-to-heart, sincere ‘rakyat’s summit’ with absolutely no party agenda. We will leave the various parties outside the hall and, inside the hall, wear the common hat of Rakyat Malaysia.

Comments (176)Add Comment
written by anak penang, April 22, 2008 15:58:53
Very academic. How come I never thought of it that way. Enlightening.
Very good suggesstion.
Lets hope they come.
And join PR as well.

agree 222
written by ajip, April 22, 2008 16:00:15
malaysians

please, lets change malaysia for our future

agree 145
written by East Highlander, April 22, 2008 16:00:59
In the last General Elections, Malays, Chinese & Indians voted across racial lines and showed the days of racial politics is coming to a swift and sure end. We are moving forward for a united bangsa Malaysia.

Social contract & NEP are things of the past and those who still harp on these issues will become extinct.
agree 149
written by mezan, April 22, 2008 16:01:01
Good suggestion. Most of us never thought of that way. Let's work together for one Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Trueandfair, April 22, 2008 16:02:57

IMHO, the majority of the non-Malays are not hedging so much as they are scared of the unknown - kind of a cut-loss syndrome. Let me explain: they know that they have "lost" 30% and quotas due to NEP - however, many felt that they can live with this amount of "loss" and fear the bigger "loss" should Opposition takes over - that is what BN keeps tell them. SO being good at calculating (or in this case OVER-CALCULATION), they reckon they can suffer the loss until now ....

The Chinese always quote: "You can chase and beat a dog but when you corner him, be careful and ready for him to spring back and bite you back" - so in 2008, the BN has chased the non-Malays into the proverbial corner - not so much economics per say, but antics, arrogance and idiocity of BN/UMNO "wiras" like Hishamuddim, Nazri, KJ, Khir Toyo, Mat Tyson, etc ....

It would have passed without any backlash by the non-Malays HAD the MCA/MIC/gerakan/PPP etc said, acted or curbed the UMNO arrogance - but their obvious IMPOTENCE and INCOMPETENCE became a BIG ISSUE - thus as far as the non-Malays (esp CHinese) are concerned, they have become IRRELEVANT in "checking" UMNO hegemony - hence the need for OPPOSITION - ANYONE WILL DO !!! - be it PAS, PKR, DAP or like cases in Kedah, even an INDEPENDENT also won.

Right now, the non-Malays are closely watching and monitoring HOW WELL THE PKR-DAP-PAS perform in the respective states - if everything is ok and no more "deterioration" in the economic and rights positions - then they will have their votes .... CLASSIC CASE - Gerakan's wipeout in Penang and DAP take over.

It is not so much of DAP gaining more of Gerakan failing to be clear, decisive and "forceful" in dealings with UMNO on various issues including the next CHief Minister - since Gerakan cannot decide (and has to wait for UMNO's approval), then the people of Penang decides for them - wholesale rejection and elect DAP with a known CM - Lim Guan ENg - the key test now is for DAP and Lim Guan Eng to perform in Penang and if they do, they can RULE for at least another 40 years or more :-P
agree 362
written by grant, April 22, 2008 16:04:21
RPK Sir,
I am still lost at a certain point of stage as to why the opposition back in 1969 joined BN as the ruling coalition?

Need some history lessons btw.
written by Raja Petra, April 22, 2008 16:13:30
Dear Trueandfair, your panjang-lebar explanation can be summed up in one word -- hedging.
disagree 45
written by legaleagle, April 22, 2008 16:14:23
I want to attend the brainstorming! Actually there is no reason why such an event cannot take place. There are so many concerned citizens around now. Everyone is scartaching their heads wondering what to do now, especaiily the MPs who won under the BN banner, but do not subscribe to BN policies by any means.
written by ONGJJJ, April 22, 2008 16:14:50
RPK
I am ad idem with your call. However, a word of caution, MCA & MIC (including Gerakan, PPP etc) who have been living on handouts from UMNO, will come over with a beggar mentality, just like the Israelites when crossing the Red Sea brought along the slave mentality. I think they should take a bold step to dissolve all their race-based parties or agenda first, or alternatively all party members should en mass leave their parties on an exodus proportion and join any parties under PR. Once and for all, let’s Rakyat put an end, i.e. hammer the last nail to the much propagandized “ketuanan melayu” or NEP lie. BTW, point of correction, no such thing as rights or privileges, only special positions of Islam, Malay Language, Agong, and education/ training/ scholarships/ civil service positions. I join in your chorus to everyone in MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP etc even UMNO, put aside all race or communal based politics, and come together to build a better Malaysia, regardless of race, language and religion, for our children, and our children’s children.
written by malsia1206, April 22, 2008 16:15:21
RPK, I have a strong conviction the malaysian rakyat is a very accomodating bunch. Essentially the Chinese and Indians can and do sacrifice a lot for the past 50 years to accept the NEP to bring out the best of the malays into a more level playing field. The problem is when they give, the other side ask and satart demanding for more. Until the whole setup is a totally lopsided game. No longer fair, no longer the system it was initially designed for. And for far too long too. We all realise we have to live side-by-side for the good of all. How much more do they have to yield? How much more time do they want? It's no longer feasible to expect our children to endure what we and our fathers had gone through. Let this new generation play out the system with the same goal posts, albeit a little shift and tweaking here and there. But when the Chinese and the Indians found the Malays' goalposts are 2,3 or more times wider than it should be, then a natural resentment is bound to arise and the game (if you may call it this way) would not be played out the full 90 minutes without flashes of yellow and red cards all over.
agree 149
written by doggone, April 22, 2008 16:17:29
Make damn sure Samy leaves his hairpiece outside the hall since this is going to be a no-holds-barred session. We don't want him to cover up the truth with false pretenses and lies whenever he slap on that fake crowning glory of his.
written by malaysianohope, April 22, 2008 16:19:29
So MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP and what nots put your money where your mouth is. Just join Abang Pete and us to a tea party.

May the last one (opps, Umno last) please switch off the light!!!

We shall recoin NEP to "NEW EQUITABLE POLICY" and if successful live happily thereafter as bangsa MALAYSIAN!
written by Trueandfair, April 22, 2008 16:21:13
BTW, in case you have not noticed, MCA has now started to "bark" loudly (issuing press statements like there is no tomorrow!!), so does MIC (Samy Vellu pressing self-destruct button by picking fights with UMNO "wiras")and soon Gerakan will do so likewise .... I am led to understand that apart from UMNO, all the other component parties have already concluded their post-mortem and are taking actions to curb/cure their IMPOTENCY and IRRELEVANCE against the UMNO hegemony .... the key issue of their wholesale rejection.

Unfortunately and sad to say, it is a bit too late and more of a SANDIWARA now ... and I fully concur with RPK suggestion that if they really do mean business, they should leave bcos their CREDIBILITY to CHECK UMNO has been permanently tainted and compromised - WE DON'T TRUST YOU ANYMORE TO CHECK UMNO WHILE WITHIN BN - lain cerita if you do so from outside , even if not in Pakatan ... so basically, LEAVE BN for your own future and survival - message to MCA, MIC, Gerakan (esp GERAKAN, the hope of 1969 - true multi-racial party - you are a BIG LETDOWN!!) , PPP ....
written by rayfire, April 22, 2008 16:21:15
Sorry, I was not around when the 'social contract' was established, but then I was told the situation back then was far different than what we have now.
Malaysians were more liberal and they regarded each other as friends and migled freely despite coming from different background and from different race or religion.
So I guess they assumed, the same will be true after independence, that could be the reason why they agreed then.
It was proven wrong when in 1969, the incident happened to prove to the non Malays that not all is rosy as it seems, priorities are changing, people who have experienced power wanted more for themselves, and they disguist it as wanting to fight for their community rights! Thus NEP was born.
But was it REALLY implemented the way it should be, definitely not.
In the meantime, non Malays supported BN still because it is better to deal with known devil than unknown angel.
The opposition then not united as they are now. All with their own extreme agendas. So people were not keen on taking chances.
But now, things have changed , opposition finally came to senses by toning down and accepting the fact that moderate approach to governance is what the people wants. At the same time, the ruling party emphasized on Islamic governance and the communities were growing apart due to differences.
As such the victory as shown in 2008.
They are fed up ,and finally seeing the opposition being united, they are taking the chance with them.
Whether this will remains is still questionable. PR must prove its worth.
BN should realise, but looks like they have not learnt much, still doing cosmetic changes to hoodwink rakyat while quietly invoking racial unrest using issues like pig farming and such.

So let's hope PR delivers. Then we shall be with them.
We gave them an opportunity, we could also withdraw them.

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com

So now we are at cross roads.
written by skc, April 22, 2008 16:23:31
Dear YM RPK.
As seen from your tabling of popular vote, it has been always about 30% to 50% of Malaysian who does not vote for UMNO and their cronies.
As to the composition of these people, it is anyone guess.
There always has been people who is against NEP and all that what not, but who do they side with or what do they actually want is again anyone guess.
written by Raja Petra, April 22, 2008 16:28:01
Dear rayfire, 'better to deal with known devil than unknown angel' is called not taking a stand, playing safe, gutless, etc.
disagree 31
written by teo siew chin, April 22, 2008 16:28:32
postal votes ring a bell?
so what if the 'main parties' still sit around - so do old geezers out on the front porch.

Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra - can you have a looksee at the article Tun Salleh Abas : the Quest for justice. I think there is a comment by you at 10:18:16 which might not be yours.
written by Raja Petra, April 22, 2008 16:30:05
Dear skc, no need to guess. When 50-50 seats stay with BN and 80-90% Malay majority seats fall to opposition you know who voted whom.
written by bikerzon, April 22, 2008 16:31:55
Dear all,

As mentioned in the article above, let not forget about the time line and also the voters/supporters.

As we know, GE12 tsunami are very much related to information that are being stream to new generation of rakyat i.e. Generation I(nformation) without filter and more open mentality. If you talk to my mum about all these corruption and Hindraf, she will definitely go for BN or MCA or Gerakan.

We also know that GE12, most voters get their first hand information thru cyberspace, and seeing the reaction of fellow rakyat thru our infamous blog extinguishes these fear of intimidation if we discuss NEP or special privileges among our friends of different races. Tell you the truth, when most races only "dare" to speak among themselves when mentioning NEP etc etc.

We have to understand that this new age, information reach the people in a more coherent matter, unfiltered to the rakyat. We also know that most of the vote are from this new generation of rakyat. So we can't just sum up that the Chinese and the Indian are supporting NEP directly with majority. Mentality changes with the time.

Tell you the truth, most of the information that I got nowadays are from the cyberspace especially from blogs from fellow Malaysians especially MT. Thanks to few courageous people that fight for the truth on behalf of ALL MALAYSIAN, that we know what goes on with my beloved country.

Salam sejahtera from Beijing
written by Thursday, April 22, 2008 16:33:15
The truth is this: ignorance is bliss and coupled with a very comfortable life-style (for many years) the rakyat accepted things as they were. Hence when mentioned the apparent fickleness of the chinese and indians in the years gone by, is in fact the paramount reason for our current problems. The gulf that exists between the races are greater now and is a direct product of the 'divide and rule' and a growing idea of being non-dependent on the government. This is also the reason why chinese and indians do not feel patriotic to Malaysia. But now things are different, prices are rising, competition is growing and information flowing like the wind everywhere and the rakyat knows, and the more we cant afford, we need to turn to someone, but the government we sought had turned corrupt and obnoxious and many of our brightest have left and found a home in a different country. Yes, the non-bumis are part of the blame, but there is a new generation among chinese and indians, and among the malays that does not want to latch onto the past, and seeks to pave a new path for our future as RAKYAT MALAYSIA.
written by malgal, April 22, 2008 16:35:24
guys, we did well on march 8. time to keep the momentum up and running. there's more to do folks esp the ambivalent chinese and indian rakyat. those who still want to play ball on the uneven playing field due to reasons most silly, time to get down from the fence. its now or back to the dark ages. rpk, place date time and hopefully no need for the silliest of all, the police permit.
written by Ken Liew, April 22, 2008 16:40:08
I think the Poor Malays should be more hedge...... THe policy and system that UMNO has bring out, no longer protect them. NEP is a tool for themselves benifits the most. As for those without connection, what else do you got??

And I advice those Malay youngster who lepak-lepak and Mat Rapit. Please think how do you want to live your lives? Umno will be finish, soon (as we think). So?? What can you do to make Malaysia a better place? If this is to much to ask, What can you do to make your own life easier??
written by rayfire, April 22, 2008 16:47:02
True RPK, They didn't make a clear stand then and left to the so called leaders of the community to decide, to a certain extend , yes we were sleeping then, but when we noticed the PM of the nation was sleeping as well, we all did rise up to the occasion didn't we
written by teo siew chin, April 22, 2008 16:47:39
under Guests Columnists - 5th article.
written by peace lover, April 22, 2008 16:48:06
"Footnote:

I am extending an open invitation to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP, etc., members to meet Malaysia Today’s readers/members for a brain-storming or roundtable (or anything you want to call it) discussion to explore how to bridge the racial and religious divide and how to bring Malaysians closer to the one-race concept. Time, date and place at your convenience, but let this be a no holds barred, heart-to-heart, sincere ‘rakyat’s summit’ with absolutely no party agenda. We will leave the various parties outside the hall and, inside the hall, wear the common hat of Rakyat Malaysia."

Dear RPK
That the way to go... This is what I call MALAYSIAN SPIRIT (SEMANGAT ANAK-ANAK MALAYSIA)!!
written by grant, April 22, 2008 16:49:02
Guys,
I guess we should be providing ideas or thoughts on how to bridge the racial gaps and not about who should be CM/PM, how the PR will fare and etc...

If PR becomes the ruling government one day but nothing is done to bridge the racial gaps that we have been complaining day in day out for the past 50 yrs, then it all comes back to square 1.

Then in the next 50 years our children will start complaining, living on our legacy of complaining day in day out but nothing changed.

Come on guys...
written by East Highlander, April 22, 2008 16:53:01
Yo RPK, How dare you send out invites to the BN component parties via a footnote in your blog. How insolent!

Don't you know those high & mighty fellas(recently brought crashing down to earth) will accept nothing less than a hand delivered scarlet ribboned invitation card. The venue must be nothing less than a 5 plus plus star hotel with red carpet and a kompang procession for a welcome.
written by slash n burn, April 22, 2008 16:55:30
Obviously, that so called social contract di not go well with the ever changing world. Taday's rule is either you change and compete or otherwise being left behind or worse to be wiped out.
Most likely, all the while the government is just wrongly diagnose the real problems and therefore formulate unjust policies. Or maybe to instill fear so that they can hold to their power. The point is, any unfair or slight discriminatory practices is cursely unacceptable.
written by picadilly, April 22, 2008 16:57:31

The Brainwashing of the BN is such that Thousands if Not Millions have accepted by total Faith that Barisan nasional = Malaysia and malaysia is Barisan nasional,
everything is measured by level of commitment towards Barisan Nasional,
even patriotism was How is about who you vote for...

The rest of them are enemies.. How much things have changed!! March 8th had to wait for 53 years to happen.

For Indians to vote En-bloc is most suprising, Thanks to hindraf but now The must be educated with the current political scenario. We have elected members of Pakatan rakyat who are not allowed to give attention to problems like PIBG and schools and Still Losers from MIC are sought after.. Many more confusions as this are happening.

Thanks to Malaysia today for bridging the gap, but since RPK is getting down to work, everyone of us must pass it forward and educate our brothers and sisters who have just opened up their eyes.

Let those who vote opposition feel proud of it, The MSM are attacking and saying deserve you right! to all who voted opposition, Indians, malays or chinese. Its time we go and prove and make this country a better place than to retaliate. Les prove in actions and not words.
written by SHABERY, April 22, 2008 17:00:36
Good suggestion sir! Can't wait to see your suggestion taken up by those concerned.
written by SuperShyteStirrer, April 22, 2008 17:04:32

I do not think that the non-Malay Rakyat are against the NEP as such. Afterall, the two main aims of the NEP were:

1. Eradication of poverty irrespective of race
2. Elimination of economic function identified with race.

I don't think anyone in their right mind can argue against 1. As for 2., I think very few people would argue against providing help especially in education and healthcare for the under privileged Bumiputras (Malays and other indigenous people). I think most people, Bumiputra and non-Bumiputra are dead against the massive abuse of the NEP by UMNO and their lackeys, the so called other ethnic based parties. This abuse has nothing to do with the NEP. The NEP has been hijacked for the benefit of the very few. This is what people are dead against.
written by Tornado, April 22, 2008 17:11:16
I dont think they will accept your invitation. They are too scary, to seek the truth. They will lose their ball when facing Dollah & co.

I wonder when RPK will tour to Sarawak.
written by tcng, April 22, 2008 17:15:06
To All Malay readers..

Never mind what was agreed in the 'Social Contract'.
The important thing is to do what is good for the Malay.
What is good for Malay, being the majority ethnic group, would be good for Malaysia.

Does the majority of Malay elites think that Affirmation Action on education area (such as below) are good for the Malay in the long run?

1) enrollment into Medical faculty in Local U - at least 65% must be Malay regardless of the quality of the students.

2) Promotion of lecturers/professor/dean local U and headmaster/headmistress/department head in primary/secondary/high school : at least 65% must be Malay even when there are more qualified non-Malay candidates.

Malay elites should motivate the Malay masses to change the mindset. The new mindset should be 'MALAY BOLEH'. Convince the Malay masses that ...

1) Malay students can compete on level playing field with not only the ethnic Chinese and Indian in Msia, but the best in the world (the Japanese/Korea/Taiwanese).

2) Malay teachers/lecturers/professors in Uni/School and professionals in private sector can compete with the ethnic Chinese/Indian on level playing field.

Are the Malay leaders/elites going to tell the students that
(a) if they work hard enough, they can get into medical faculty in U.M. ? OR
(b) this is Tanah Melayu where Malay has special right. Even your STPM result not so good, we reserve 65% quota for you in local U?

If the Malay leaders/elites's mindset is that the Malay can not compete with the non-Malay on academic area, the Malay masses would never will.
Self-fulfilling prophecy..

The most stupid NEP program is to set quota (base on race) on headmasters and lecturers/professors.
Don't the Malay elites want their children to be taught by the best teachers available, regardless whether he/she is Malay, White, ethnic Chinese or Indian?

agree 127
written by AlwaysMalaysian, April 22, 2008 17:24:40

I would rather call the people who are the member of some "sub-party" of the ruling party, give up their membership and join PR. If they really wanted a change. If they are not, then do not complain about the policies set by the ruling government.

If they do so, then those "sub-party" will not have enough member to meet the minimum membership to stay alive.
written by turun padang, April 22, 2008 17:27:00
Yeah.. INDEED.. do come back & talk..

More than a generation has pass since 1969. Almost 40 years..similiar to
(in the story of Moses leading the jews to the promise land)

My theory was : for almost 40 years, chinese & indians have no ball, it took them 40 years to grow the balls back.

See... this what happen..

1. those Chinese with (telur), stood up against the japanese.. so left those with 1/2 ball.

2. there 1/2 ball chinese, join PKM to fight for independent of MALAYA... so left with 1/4 ball.

3. In 1969, all those 1/4 ball, thought they can make a different. (And we all know what happen next)

SO.. it took almost 40 years for most of the chinese & indian to re-grow back their balls..

WELL... Tunggu apa lagi? All you chinese & indians? You all should have grown Your balls.. USE IT!!!
disagree 18
written by astina, April 22, 2008 17:31:23
Pete ...
MCA, MIC,Gerakan and PPPtui got trashed at the last GE ..
The leaders are hedging as all of them have skeletons in the closet so to speak..however i believe the masses have abandoned them ..
Unless these warlords are vocal against the arrogance of umNO , the remnants will surely move en masse to PR at the next GE ..
Its very honourable of MT to call them for atable talk..but i guess MT will be wasting time as these lots are more familiar with talk cock.. smilies/grin.gif
written by RitchieLow, April 22, 2008 17:34:10
Europe and much of the West had had their "Age of Enlightenment" and "Age of Reason" ages ago. We in the developing world are now only waking up to the general trend for nation building towards a just and civilised populace.

Mohandas Gandhi says it best:

"A 'No' uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a 'Yes' merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble. "

"A nation's culture resides in the hearts and in the soul of its people. "

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history. "

"As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world - that is the myth of the atomic age - as in being able to remake ourselves. "

--Mohandas Gandhi
written by clarity, April 22, 2008 17:40:26
OK RPK. We really got it nicely from you. But what about the supply of water contract to Singapore? 5 sen a 100 gallons. If govt. can understand that it is not fair to continue supply at the agreed price for all the reasons they put forth,they ought to see that those reasons apply here as well.
written by bn haramjadah, April 22, 2008 17:51:10
RPK what you say is true to a point, the non-malays don't mind the 30% but when they start grabbing dead bodies and demolishing temples than that is already terlampau, NEP you want to help the malays, no problem untuk kita, tapi jangan lah help only certain malays to make big palaces, when you have poor malays suffering, I have worked in management in many companies, and my philösophy is mati2 pun jaga your staff, your staff are happy, it will reflect in their work, your productivity increases, They bring you their problems, help them, tomorrow they walk the extra 10 miles for you, it applies to all the races. BUT SIAP JANGAN NAIK ATAS KEPALA ATAU BIADAP. But when you see people who work hard for their money, having 5 children, have to practically cough out blood for their childrens education, than there is something very wrong with the so called MALAY special rights/privileges. I WOULD SAY THE SPECIAL RIGHTS AND PRIVILEGES CHANGE ITS NAME FROM NEP/DEB TO UMNO SPECIAL-rights 5 STAR, I have seen the children of pas supporters not getting scholarships, obstacles put in their way, aren't the malays and muslims. WHAT THE OTHER RACES HATE, NOT DISSATISFIED, HATE WITH A VENGENCE IS BULLSHIT UMNO POLITICS, IN THE NAME OF KETUANAN MELAYU, the abuse of religion in the name of politics. thats what we hate, BY the way I have seen and survived 69, and still voted bn for stability, why because of the propoganda printed in the newspapers and tv. the internet opened up a lot of eyes, basicly you personally opened up a lot of eyes. please understand this personally I have nothing against the malays, lived,cried,schooled,buried,made-love,kena rotan, friends, collegues, etc. we talk straight to each other, KETUK, tekan,laugh and joke get serious, in other words we are family, but sometimes the bullshit politics of umno, is ter-ter-lampau. who the fock tells his people not to demand too much, who's demanding too much, we just ask to be left alone to earn a living, pray, have a family, grow old with a fullfilling life. I 'm not asking for privileges, i create my own privileges through my hard work. so to me its a no brainer, its the stupidity of some of our bodoh politicians which piss me off. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by tzarina, April 22, 2008 17:53:22

You should also consider that the Chinese and Indians who "agreed" to the "Social Contract" were the same Chinese and Indians who were giving the BN their votes for many general elections after Merdeka. Chinese and Indians at this time and age are not the same people. So to lump individuals into one generic entity, static across time and generation is unfair. People have changed. The community now have younger faces, with separate ideals and loyalties. These younger faces are educating their parents and grandparents on the impact of their political lethargy on their own people, and on the nation.

You should also take into consideration where the pioneer Chinese and Indians' loyalties lie; China and India, thus they were not too bothered with the politics of Malaysia. Voting for BN was simply INERTIA (no great thought process were involved). And on top of this, the other alternatives you get is PAS and DAP. The former WAS a Islamic fundamentalist (FACT: religious based organization will always struggle to get support of people from other religions), while the latter is a party with hardly any Malay in it, thus you KNOW that the party will not be able to garner the necessary support. The rest of the parties seem more like variants of BN.

Also, those were the times when one critical factor was missing; The World Wide Web. i.e. INFORMATION.

Things have changed; People have changed. Loyalties have changed. News channels have changed. And UMNO POLITICIANS have changed. They no longer give out any positive vibes to us. We were willing to close one eye at their discriminative policies towards the Chinese and Indians up to a certain extent, for the sake of national stability. Now, UMNO has crossed the line by stomping our religious freedom, and our educational and economic opportunities.

Now, UMNO is truly practicing the principles of APARTEISM.

As a result, there are PEOPLE among the Chinese and Indians who were oppressed, but still were educated. These are the people who are fighting for ONE Malaysia for ALL, and bringing awareness to their communities.

Lets not bicker about the so-called Social Contract anymore. Lets just give equal opportunity for all, as any rational, sane nation would do.

http://orangewaves.********.co...sm-in.html
written by temenggong, April 22, 2008 17:53:59
Although they made some strides, yes, the chinese are hedging.

The Indians have burnt their bridges and have wiped out the MIC. Its unquestionably clear for all to see. Those few MIC PMs and Aduns won on malay and chinese support. Among the malaysian communities at this moment, it is the Indians that a politically undivided and resolute.

The malays are divided. I don't see unity again for the next 50 years.

Whatever the malay stance, given the current political divisions between Pas, PKR and UMNO, as long as the Indians stay resolute with the Pakatan, the MCA and BN is done for, and those still leaning with the BN will sway over in the next few months or years.

The ground political equations are clear; Indians/Hindraf and Pas/PKR/DAP standing together beats Umno and MCA anyday. The mca chinese community have made a grave mistake in hedging, and are on the wrong side of the ascending party.

Unless MCA and Gerakan MPs and Aduns read the writings on the wall, like Lee Kah Choon did, and make remedies, it will be costly to the community. But luckily DAP is there; its their last resort. Everyone knows the chinese have hedged, especially in Johor and Pahang. Raub is a prime example that Ng Yen Yen won at the last minute based on money politics and last minute donations, so much so that OKT pleaded with the community 'don't destroy us'. Same in Temerloh/Mentakab.

For the Indians/Hindraf, the elections is not over yet. Hence 3,000 gathered in Penang last week. The elections will be over once the federal govt falls, a new one is in place and the ISA detainees released, and the marginalisation is rectified.
written by Camillus, April 22, 2008 17:54:06
Interesting comments!

Given Raja Petra's invitation, could we not offer ideas on making such a meeting a reality? Given the geographical disparity, we might want to consider state-wide (as oposide to nationwide) meetings?

Thoughts and sugggestions most welcome.

P.S. Batsman, I look forward to meeting you in person smilies/grin.gif
written by bn haramjadah, April 22, 2008 17:54:21
what kind of people steal from THE TABUNG HAJI savings for umrah.....the UMNO KIND....and these are the people who talk about special rights, the special right to steal, take bribes, kick-backs. these people are not fit to lead anybody.
written by Thian, April 22, 2008 18:00:00
The story reminds me of my great, great grandmother who got her feet bounded in pre 1900’s. Today, we know it was wrong and a shame. It was a travesty for all Chinese women who have untold suffering for having had their feet bounded then.

I am sure some will argue that the women like it or that for some family it is a status symbol of their social class. To explain why and how it came about is history lesson to teach us how human can err. It was not right then and it is not right now.

Today, we are to be the more informed. So to bring back the past, I am sure some of our gullible will use it to justify the ends with their means. During the birth of the nation, that time and situation, then is not the same as today. I am interested is NOW and the right thing to do now.
Do you know what it was like then? I am sure our forefathers will flip in their grave to see the current reality distorted by some which totally destroys the aspiration of the founding father then. What happened today was furthest from their mind I am sure.

If you put a gun on my head, I will most probably accept the distortion but it does not make it right nor will it be the RIGHT aspiration for Good people who wants a Better future.

Immoral act creates more immoral act. That is why we are here where we are today. I am optimistic, from what I read I hope the enlighten Malaysian have reached a critical mass so that we will not go backward and look forward to a better future.
written by justice4all, April 22, 2008 18:08:31
So, when in 2004, the BN won >90%, was it still only the non Malays who voted BN? Come on lah, RPK. When someone tries to explain the stand and mindset of the non Malays to you, you insist that it is still hedging, gutless, etc.

Yes, we have woken up after 50 years and yes we took time to be ready for change. Yes, we still have some non Malays who voted BN as you also have Malays who voted BN. Ok lah, there has been fault on all sides. You win, we lose. You are right, we are wrong. Ok, Agreed. But it is time we all moved on. We want fairness for all and a healthy respect for the rule of law, eradication of poverty and corruption, proper governance and astute management of our economy. Forget the MCA, MIC, PPP and Gerakan. They are irrelevant or will be soon enough. There has been a very significant switch to the Opposition and lets get together and build on this. What good does it serve to harp on these issues? Lets show the light to those who have yet to see the light or don't want to see it. Lets hold hands and move forward.

Andalusia, Please get your facts right. There were more than enough non Malays in the Armed Forces and the Civil Service (up to 40%) before the discriminatory policies of the Government (1970 onwards) discouraged people from joining and encouraged those already serving to leave. What do you expect? Serve the country loyally, only to be told on your face that you cannot be promoted because you are of the wrong race?

This selective recruitment and promotion strategy of the Civil Service which is supposed to be independent of any party politics is what dissuaded many non Malays from joining the Government.

And, just what do you mean by saying that when it comes to defending the country, the non Malays leave it to the Malays? I come from a long line of Police and Army officers. Some of them died fighting for this country and some of their bodies were never recovered. Others were imprisoned and tortured. How dare you say that I am not patriotic!! Please don't generalise and over simplify things. Please go read the history of the Police and Army from old records and you may learn a thing or two. Don't depend on that shit they shoveled down your throat in what is now called history when you were in school.
written by mountainking, April 22, 2008 18:14:43
yes. totally agree to have heart-to-heart talk. let's come out to talk for the sake of the country. we are all malaysians and do not torture/tomment each other just bcos of political parties. is not worth it at all.
written by jivan, April 22, 2008 18:27:48
SAMY VELLU, For once please do something good in your life.
written by bumi non malay, April 22, 2008 18:28:07
Waahh Raja Petra is now doing a bit of Kevin Rudd 2020 submit.....copy cat a bit eh?...its ok...its cool!! as long as for a better Malaysia...smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

However to say Chinese and Indians are hedging, then Malays are over hedge on their special stolen rights from Orang Asli is an under statement.

The issue is about Freedom....religion, press, isa, education....etc Good Governance. The Bumi non malay is used to the Supreme UMNO-BN racist games and barrier to progress. I am not blaming malay for the Crap we have, but UMNO-BN.....as a consequence it gives me great satisfaction to see those crooks and cronies losing BILLIONS in the last few months due to their POOR Hedging in this Financial Chaos.

I am hedging on the hunger and Anger of the rakyat in the months ahead to Pay a visit to all these RICH UMNO-BN leaders home.....God Help them survive that chaos....high food, high petrol, declining wealth, asset value....the WORST disaster for Malaysia!!

At the end of the DAY Malaysian must recognise we are govern by DICTATOR albeit a cunning one. Dictator that curtail Freedom must die....the sooner the better. Ask those from Zimbabwe, Burma, North Korea, Pakistan, Syria!!

We just want to live with DIGNITY & Without Prejudice......is that too much to ask? Malaysia is created by Allah for All, it belong to Allah....to hell to those Malays that dare claim Malaysia for thier own. The First Malaysian was and IS Still an Orang Asli.

That is why I end with Melayu UMNO tak malu lagi tak maruah curi hak istimewah Orang Asli!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by micon02, April 22, 2008 18:46:20
Dear RPK
Excellent analysis

Kalau Malays understand (in depth knowledge) in Islam & what is wisdom, they will never support UMNO. Yes, many of my Malay friends have been supporting PAS
after Tun Salleh Abbas & the other four were sacked by TDM.

All this while, the Chinese & Indians were fooled by MCA, MIC & Gerakan.
It's little bit too late, bcos wang rakyat have been sucked by hypocrites ever since.

written by Motherchell, April 22, 2008 18:47:40
In this plaintive discussion of the "socilictus contracttus" everything i wanted to say is said lucidly in a nutshell by haramjadah and temenggong.

I'm very confident the paths to a New Malaysia wont be the same again --- like they say ----- many hands made the light work!

Pete !- thank you for oiling the resolve to bring about a betterment for a good future as we redo the Nation's landscape.
written by singam, April 22, 2008 19:05:16
MIC was shamefully defeated in GE12. Yet Samy continues to bleat. Ditto for MCA.

What will it take to shut them down? I imagine these fellers are capable of claiming relevance even when their membership has diminished to less than 1000.

What will it take to demonstrate that enough Indians and Chinese are not hedging anymore?

written by Chaptokam, April 22, 2008 19:06:12
RPK , Have it in Three locations , ie Central region : Kuala Lumpur , Northern region : Penang and Southern region : JB
You will find that the thinking of people in these three regions are different
written by khalnayak, April 22, 2008 19:10:55
We the non malays talk alot about Bangsa Malaysia,end to racism,abolish NEP...
and to end all this we have to start at the bottom.Just abolishing NEP and stuff isnt going to guarantee anything.Malaysians have to be racially united as one and this starts with our children.As long as the schools are not joined together there will never be racial harmony.By segregating them racially from a young age how can they join together and be one?Abolish chinese and tamil schools.Just have 1 sekolah kebangsaan system.
Just talking about the problem wont solve anything.You need a solution,a long lasting solution that is.But how many are willing to make this ultimate sacrifice?
You all have a nice day.
written by joejoe, April 22, 2008 19:13:15
There is nothing wrong with affirmative actions as long as they are not abused. MCA and MIC cannot cry foul now because they participated in the system for so long, and lived off this system, many times, for their own benefit. Now that their supporters have deserted them, they cry foul. What is this BS?
written by mei yen, April 22, 2008 19:22:47
I have to seriously disagree that Chinese dislike being called Malaysian Chinese. Why would we? Malaysian is a term used to mean the entire peoples of a country. While individually we are from different racial backgrounds, hence, Malaysian Chinese or Malaysian Indians are very appropriate to define us as individuals belonging to a race with our own special characteristics. What I personally dislike is being called non-Malay for as a person, I am Chinese and to people who do not know where I am from, then to them, I am Malaysian Chinese.
RPK, I think you have forgotten that the time before AAB were fearful times for the rakyat especially during TDM’s period when anyone could be locked up and keys thrown away for speaking out against the government. So please do not take it to be a sign of confidence and support for the ruling party.
Majority of Chinese have for decades traditionally voted for the opposition namely DAP until they got too close to PAS. They also voted Gerakan/opposition and continued to do so for the obvious reason that it was a Chinese party. You forgot to mention it was the mass integration of Malays by the government into predominately Chinese areas that gave BN a lot of their victory votes. And to say that the Malays want the Chinese and Indians to support the Opposition since 1955 is an unjustified remark. Did you mean Malays on the East Coast?
written by Bawal, April 22, 2008 19:27:40
RPK, if comments or complaint to be made on your article/point of view. It's gonna be a lot. One thing is certain this is a fresh point of view to the political scenario. I acknowledge you for that.
written by Milo, April 22, 2008 19:39:03
The past is a very different world altogether. 40-50 years ago, most people knows nuts about the social contract thingy or even what is a constitution. Having a Form 3 qualification would be like having a degree today, meaning, except for few, the masses generally are not educated enough to reasoned the way we can today about what is right or wrong for the country. When they vote, it is more on emotion than reason, hence the many errors in their choice made in the past.

Today, with the internet and people like RPK, the rakyat are increasingly getting more informed, and backed by their level of education, they are in a better position think and choose as never before.

Moving forward, we are now both more ABLE and WILLING to right what was wrong in the past. With guidance from more quality social leaders and thinkers, its right time to push for what is right for the nation. Nothing should be cast in stone in this modern world, especially those rules and laws that are oppressive, unreasoned and anti-progress, as these will benefit no one except the corrupt and power cracy leaders. As such, let's join hands to move the right agenda for Malaysia and Malaysians irrespective of race or religion.
written by coolandy, April 22, 2008 19:40:46
One swallow does not make a summer.

While the opposition made some very credible and encouraging advances in the 12th GE, I think we should not be overconfident is using it as a barometer for future voting trends.
written by RasuahMinister, April 22, 2008 19:47:14
8. All Malaysian must adopt a new revolutionary 'Native Malaysian Name', example: Encik Pahang Kuat Panjang, Cik Selayang Chun Lawar, etc...
written by RasuahMinister, April 22, 2008 19:48:14
9. Ban all the titles Datuk, Tan Sri, Dato Seri, Tun, etc
written by RasuahMinister, April 22, 2008 19:51:07
10. Ban all school exams, it is useless anyway
written by HL Ooi, April 22, 2008 20:05:10
I noticed that you did not state the percentage of the vote that went to Barisan and Opposition after 1969. Maybe that information may shed more light on the overwhelming majority of seats BN won after 1969. There is this practice called gerrymandering....
written by antares, April 22, 2008 20:11:23
Brovo, RPK… I think you hit the jackpot. This is the pressure point for Malaysian society. If one is forever hedging, one fine day the hedgerow will manifest itself as a trip wire for the Malaysian society, and our future generations will be resentful to to one’s guts. One painful lesson isn’t it good enough lesson. The truth is sometimes painful, but then again nobody ever wins all the times. Procrastination means we are only sweeping the issues under the carpet. It doesn’t matter from which camp or ideology allegiance, sooner or later this question will crops up. 51 years a long time to pickup courage and come out to the open. I always say, we Malaysians need to free ourselves of our mental blocks, it’s time to rethink, to reticulate our thoughts, access and position ourselves as the Rakyat of Malaysia. If you are unhappy with what you see around us, no holds barred! Do we have the guts?
written by raverz, April 22, 2008 20:16:54
these so called indian or chinese parties refuse to leave the coalition because they're parasites...their mindset is, if u can't beat em, join em. all those pricks want is money, money and more money. what they don't ****in realise is the fact that they're selling their souls to the friggin devil.
written by raverz, April 22, 2008 20:19:54
there you have it sam and ong.... time for u to buy back what's left of your souls and try to salvage whatever pride may be coming your way.
written by andalusia, April 22, 2008 20:51:31
Dear justice4all,
Thank you straightening some of the facts. Nevertheless I'm a son of policeman and half of my life were spent living in police barracks from late 50' till the early 70's. Living from skudai johor, batu gajah perak, tumpat kelantan and finally klang and I've come across only handful of non-malays in the force. So I'm not that far out in my comments earlier (experience wise).
With everything said and done, new dawn is here, let us all strive together irregardless of race for a better future for our children and generations to come.
Cheers smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by megahyper, April 22, 2008 21:07:34
RPK:
Dear rayfire, 'better to deal with known devil than unknown angel' is called not taking a stand, playing safe, gutless, etc.

Yes RPK, They are gutless one way or another. Since 1969, the politicians has keep reminding about 1969.

There is a precedent. If you are being gutful like 1969, you will get your gut cut out alive….ie: you will be gutless no matter what….literally in this case.

As in the case of in view of our neighboring country, anything bad happen to the country, blame the Chinese, blame the Indian. Well, actually all this is just politics…to divert attention…to shift the anger to an easy target/sitting duck. Among politician who will blame themselves? They just blame everyone else that they can step under their feet.

Also, the initial social contract, if there is such thing, is just a mention of special right in the constitution. And the special right granted in 1957 is totally different with the one we are having now….thanks for the most part from our beloved Tun. He utilize it so nicely to rape the country.

By the time the special right keep added year after year, its no more feasible to sustain it, especially in the current global village. But with the accumulated years, the mentality is now entrenched. So much so, they treat it like their life. Never anywhere else, the minority has to sacrifice so much to support and prop up the majority. Those suffered is NOT the rich, it is the poor. The rich don’t give a damn.

But come a time, enough is enough. The antics, real or perceived, would have to go. If the economy and the running of government is efficient, I think a lot will still bear with the sacrifice. But the problem is the living standards of the mass has been stagnant far too long after constant plunder. Then you see the top is blown off.

One last thing, Malaysia in 2008 is so far different from 1969. Becos now the fat fish is those in the power of corridor, not otherwise.

They have everything to lose if something abrupt happen. If an unrest like 1969 is created, their businesses would suffer the most. FDI would flee faster even as it is fleeing now.

Beside Malaysia cannot suffer an unrest now, it needs all the strength it can get from all…be it malay Chinese Indian or kadazan. If we fail to stand as one, soon we will fail as a state.

Then who do you think gets the blame if that happen? Maybe Chinese and Indian? Aiya they haven’t contributed enough tax and toll for their stay in Malaysia ma.

As far as I know, I have no more relatives in China or India.

So am I Chinese/Indian/campuran? Or am I just second rate Malaysian?
written by justice4all, April 22, 2008 21:10:38
Dear Andalusia,

We served in Kajang, Kuala Pilah, Segamat,Johore Baru, KotaTinggi, Kluang, Seremban, Kl, Batu Gajah, Setiawan and Penang. I have different memories although I must admit that I never stayed in the Barracks except in the late 50's when my Grandfather was in the police in Penang. After that, it was mostly Officers' Quarters but that is not the point. I recall a very large number of Police Officers visiting our house through the years and a healthy percentage were non Malays. Again, most of my Headmasters were non Malays as were most Chief Clerks and I could go on.

Look, the only point I am trying to make is that we, the non Malays, too contributed our fair share before, during and after the birth pangs of our beloved country. That is all. No other inference meant and none taken. I agree, the new dawn is here and lets hold hands and move forward so that no one group exploits us again. A hearty cheers to you too, Abang.
written by little dragon, April 22, 2008 21:15:10
pete

i get ur point. but i wish to digress a little.

d oft used supremacists' argument dat non-malays shud not question d special position of d malays bcoz dis was part of d bargain in exchange for citizenship is nothing but a load of BULL!!! read d following from d Reid Commission Report.

165. We found little opposition in any quarter to the continuance of the present system for a time, but there was great opposition in some quarters to any increase of the present preferences and to their being continued for any prolonged period. We are of opinion that in present circumstances it is necessary to continue these preferences. The Malays would be at a serious and unfair disadvantage compared with other communities if they were suddenly withdrawn. But, with the integration of the various communities into a common nationality which we trust will gradually come about, the need for these preferences will gradually disappear. Our recommendations are made on the footing that the Malays should be assured that the present position will continue for a substantial period, but that in due course the present preferences should be reduced and should ultimately cease so that there should then be no discrimination between races or communities.

d "special" position n thence d special previleges (n NOT rights mind u) were written into our constitution in account of past treaties between d british n d malay rulers. such "previleges" were supposed to b limited to, n NOT expanded beyond, aspects concerning, malay reserved lands, quotas in d public service, license quotas for specific businesses n quotas for scholarships. such quotas were never meant to b exclusive but were intended to provide a guarantee dat a certain percentage wud b reserved for d malays. dat these "previleges" shud not restrict d non-malays from enjoying d same is clearly written in our Constitution.

even back then, d commission had d foresight to predict dat a truly viable nation wud not b possible if these inequalities were held in perpetuity. dis is y they were called PREVILEGES n not RIGHTS!!!

so, where d hell did "ketuanan melayu" come from???
written by cartman26, April 22, 2008 21:18:04
Dear Sir RPK,

It's not that we Chinese don't want to vote for the oppositions it's just that most of us don't have the guts to do it. This is especially true for the older generations folks who have the innate fear of a repeat of 13th May '69. And on top of that, the older folks distrust PAS and any party who tries to associate with them (ask DAP and you'll why). Why? I guess the main reason is that they minds have been fed with too much main stream media. In fact I had so much trouble trying to convert my parents to support PAS and to draw an 'X' beside a Malay name. For me I don't care if Ahmad or Gopal or Ah Chong sits in the cabinet or state assembly, but I do care if they are doing their work and making sure that Malaysia is a better place to live in.

cheers,
Btw I did manage to convert my parents. How? I just ask them to read Malaysia Today... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by NRR, April 22, 2008 21:31:13
Andaluisa said "Just look at number of their participation in the army or the police for that matter. When it comes to defending the country against external forces, they leave to the Malays, while they are busy safeguarding their money. How many of the non-malays had died defending the country. Nothing compared to number of the Malays who gave their heart and soul defending this country".

I think Andalusia must be less than 20 years old to believe in what he has said. I was in Armed Forces for over 30 years from early 60's to early 90's. Any one who was around from this period can remember that the Malaysian Navy was known as the 'chinese navy' and the Air Force was known as the 'Indian Air Force' and the Army as the Malaysian Army. This shows the number of Chinese and Indians who fought for the country. Many Indians and Chinese gave their lives for the country but not much was publicised for uninformed people like 'Andalusia' to konw. Many Indian and Chines pilots flew in jungle areas under heavy enemy fire to rescue army personnel who were surrounded. The police special branch was full of Chinese and Indians and many perished unannounced.

Why less in the Armed Forces now? it is easy. The little napoleans directed by politicians ensured that only 100% malays were rfecruited. The recruiting officers were young and inexperienced malays officers who did what they were told without questions. Promotions were hard to come by for the Indians and Chinese. There was the so called quota and quota included rations in every field, ranks and jobs. So you can see how many Malaysa and Indians can be promoted. Young officers recruited overtook very senior and capable officers due to this elaborate quota. Despite all this many left when their turn for optional retirement came. Some even left early even without pension, and it has nothing to do with loyalty. So many more malays died later, it is because more than 95% were malays in the Armed Forces hence the numbers are more.

So please know what you are talking about before you open your mouth.
written by omarkhayyam, April 22, 2008 21:37:13
timely call indeed,

lets get the bandwagon moving and change for the sake of our nation

written by SocratesI, April 22, 2008 21:40:22

Your article is simplistic and flawed in logic and shows a lack of understanding with regard to human psychology and survival instincts. Here is why I said that.

There was no NEP in 1955 before 1969, only the phrase in the Constitution that said the Malays had a special place without mention of any privileges.

The population then was overall fairly illiterate and new to all this elections and democracy stuff, and there was the Emergency to contend with at that time together with the Communist insurgency. People wanted security and only the Alliance had that organized, so that is why the votes went that way. Silence never should be construed as consent and voting for the Alliance then gave a sense of security and organization against the menaces of the day then.

Which is why 3 elections later in 1969, the people started to awaken from their slumber and decided to vote for the Opposition as the Emergency was over by then and the Communist menace was contained.

Of course we know about the race riots that was organized by Harun Idris in May 1969 and the other races have been cowed by that ever since, and BN esp. UMNO keeps using that to emotionally blackmail the other races into quietly toeing the Govt. line. At that time most of the "have nots" were Malays and Indians and all the rioters did to start the riots were to throw huge rocks at cars on highways below them and almost every car was driven by a Chinese.

And so the races have been cowed into submission by utilizing violence and rule by the sword, into voting for the stinking cess pool called BN.

Finally, come 2008, when the "have not" are "have nots" and the middle class has become the largest segment of the population, when the other races realized that economic wants were not demarcated along racial lines and the economy is doing badly and there is no way the other races can support subsidizing the NEP for the benefit of the Malays, esp. including the rich Malays, this is when the revolution took place. Also simultaneously, massive corruption has peaked and people were fed up of being controlled and muzzled.

I think it has come to the point of "Give us FREEDOM or give us death" and that is where we are today, willing to take a chance on the decency and enlightenment of the present Electorate to start treading on the Path of TRUTH, JUSTICE, FAIRNESS, to ALL.

That is what I have to say, RPK.

written by Commonsenses, April 22, 2008 21:43:29
Ageed with you RPK, but not on hedging, chinese may look chinese but some has gained from their relationship with UMNO, such as Ong Kah chuan family will stay with BN because their family benefitted from the crumbs thrown by UMNO to them. Parties like MCA and MIC are not representative of the majority of chinese for now. They are just like any association where management are dictatorial in nature. That's why the recent election have exposed old ruling parties are redundant and out dated.
written by JaguhKampung, April 22, 2008 21:58:47
Why only single out only the Chinese and Indians? Aren't the Malays and others too are hedging? In fact, all Malaysians are hedging by creating a two party system for Malaysia.

Will UMNO die if MCA and MIC desert them? Does Malaysians wants BN to die? Quite far from it. Malaysians are prepared to kick UMNO led BN out of the government to become the opposition if they don't improve but Malaysian may not want them to die.
written by SeriousLy, April 22, 2008 22:00:36
I took cough medicine that make me dizzy but I think I can give a point or two. Now..There is no such thing as lazy race, stupid race or idiot race. Why? My brother-in-law was one of the top Motorola Director that attend to problems relating to machines. He said "Chinese in China is one lazy bunch of people because ......" Not to much detail. ok.... Now, that means humans are basically able to change according to where they live or should I say, depend on what the government has been teaching the people. Malaysians are thought by UMNO. I really wonder if anybody get this. give me some comments please!
written by SeriousLy, April 22, 2008 22:02:14
I'll be back...Good night...hahaahaha I may be detained under ISA for this. Help! RPK!
written by MasterYoda, April 22, 2008 22:28:03

I've emailed an article to labisman but it has not been posted yet. it's called the Essence of Christianity. when will it be posted??

On this article you've written:
1) Nationalism was a raging fire/issue in the early pre Merdeka years. that was
the Focus, NOT corruption, nepotism or inequality, which are current.
2) There was NO other party beside UMNO, MCA & MIC that gave non Malays an
alternative choice. all that was presented to the people then were "social
contract terms" now enshrined in the CONST. Deal or No deal??
3) the people were NOT politically savy save a few. A movement for freedom was
presented in Pre-Merdeka years, so a movement they followed.
4) to prove my point: the Japanese invasion Slogan to 'liberate asia' was a
smokescreen. the 'Merdeka' slogan was the battle cry, NOT the 'Social
Contract'.
5) the non Malays wanted citizenship. the Social contract was the only offer.
the British was not to pleased with the Social contract either.
6) The BN resouding victory was because of the FEAR of 1969 and the PEOPLEs
hope that the OPPOSITION parties who joined the ALLIANCE could change BN
from the inside. the People voted for change wheather it be a force from the
inside or from the outside of BN.
7) the NEP matured the non Malay voters but '69 FEAR kept the leash tight.

what do you say RPK? between the devil and the great blue sea... what better did we have until Pak Lembik came along?
written by MasterYoda, April 22, 2008 22:29:06
I mean the above it my comment to your write up. smilies/kiss.gif
written by MasterYoda, April 22, 2008 22:33:24

I've emailed an article to labisman but it has not been posted yet. it's called the Essence of Christianity. when will it be posted??

On this article you've written, thia is my response:

Contract'. all just followed after the promise of freedom.

6) The BN resounding victory was because of the FEAR of 1969 and the PEOPLEs
INSIDE or from the OUTSIDE of BN.

what do you say RPK? between the devil and the great blue sea... what better OFFER did we have until Pak Lembik came along?
written by Change or Be Changed, April 22, 2008 22:44:51
Rakyat has decided - One race and One Nation ---- Malaysian
Not Malay, Chinese, Indian or etcs.
Stop being racist and leave religion alone.
Religion is personal. Its between you and god.
written by KUMON, April 22, 2008 22:57:18
Don't forget to apply for a Police Permit!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif You'll need it becos the turnout will be humongest!!
written by Change or Be Changed, April 22, 2008 22:57:45
Dear Chinese brothers and sisters,
Its time to lets the race issue settle for the time being.
We chinese are more racist and chauvinist. If Chinese in Malaysia were to be the majority i think other races will face greater discrimination.
Why i say so as being chinese when i mingle with my own kind, sometimes i felt very shameful and just to name a few.

i) I can say most typical chinese will always advise their childrens or friends not to teach other races too much as they will become clever and then cari makan will be difficult for the chinese.
ii) The richer chinese including some the chinese ministers talk a lot on justice and fairness for all races but while talking they are making preparation by applying for PR and tranfering their wealth out of the country just in case they Ketuan issue dont work in their favour.
My dear brothers and sisters, How do you expect the other races whether they are majority or minority to trust us for such kind of act. Until we all can start sharing our wealth and show that we care toward their wellbeing then the Ketuan issues will never have its chance to crop up.
What says you?
disagree 23
written by nowinnofee, April 22, 2008 23:04:53
rpk,

what is your opinion on the statement made by the sultan of selangor on big bill board infront of UITM, Shah Alam, it talks about preserving the bangsa melayu and no others should come in the way...is that not directly discriminating? It makes me want to vomit blood...now you understand why indians and chinese are still doubting toms? Examples like this pops a doubt in our mind

Unfortunately i did not have a camera to take a pic of it..but if you passing UITM using the Padang Jawa exit into Shah Alam..slow down and look at the billboard infront of that part of UITM entrance.

sad really sad to know that remark came from the Sultan
written by JaguhKampung, April 22, 2008 23:35:24
Change or be changed,

Can you tell me what kind chinese are you? Which lubang did you came from?
written by Taiping60, April 22, 2008 23:41:37

Political party championing one race will only split the country rather than unite the country.

MCA, MIC, PP and UMNO will be things of the past if they do not re-invent themselve. All should consider merging and for a single large non racial and non religion party.
written by jolmy, April 22, 2008 23:51:59
One interesting fact I remember about 1990 elections is this.

BN was supposed to contest all 180 parliamentary seats. On nomination day, 180 BN candidates filed their nomination and became candidates, with PBS, allowed to use their own party symbol instead of the dacing.

However, at the 11th hour, PBS pulled out of BN, leaving BN with only 166 seats to contest which they won 127, just 7 seats more than the minimum 120 required for 2/3. Technically, the PBS candidates are not BN candidates, as they used their own party symbol, thus, facilitates them from pulling out of BN!
written by panca, April 22, 2008 23:59:40
Pete, good move.

Those from those clipped wings of bn, "Be as ONE that works in the interest of the People that cares for good governance".
written by padhma, April 23, 2008 00:02:50
Well, the 2008 results showed that MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP were actually rejected. MIC can't claim that it represents the Indians. They have lost that right. Indians do not need MIC. Chinese do not need MCA. Gerakan and PPP, well its a waste of time talking about those prideless parties. As them to either join DAP, PKR , PAS, or the other 2 (still waiting to be registered?)or they can move out of the way. Those BN component parties couldn't perform when they had the chance, so they are not needed now. Just ask them to get lost. Just ask the members to join PR and leave BN leaders dangling.
written by Jetman, April 23, 2008 00:17:51
chinese dun care much when it comes to politics and they used to believe whatever nonsence mca said. it is weird, like what rpk said, chinese supported BN and yet complain about the special rights all the time. and the interesting is that they think MCA can change it, without realising that MCA is nth but a ''subordinate'' of UMNO. ah well....hedging is one word, not realising the actual situation is another, once threat of bloodshed is up, chinese would definitely go back to the old ways.

but not anymore la.... enough is enough like what rpk said, mati mati oso must stop BN from raping this country.
written by megahyper, April 23, 2008 00:18:00
Change or Be Changed:
"My dear brothers and sisters, How do you expect the other races whether they are majority or minority to trust us for such kind of act. Until we all can start sharing our wealth and show that we care toward their wellbeing then the Ketuan issues will never have its chance to crop up.
What says you?"

If its that simple, hindraf would have kiss Pak Lah foot....then the other. What nonsense are you talking about?

Your 1st point is totally insane. I have never heard of that in my entire life. Why they or whatever need to depend on the chinese or indian for guidance? Are you nuts? are those angels sent down from heaven coming to rescue and guide?

Some bumis are now rich beyond imagination. They can have all the expertise money can buy.....arab, european, USA, japan whatever just waiting to come and take a piece. Dont be childish and hide under a chinese skin and try to provoke.

As for your second point. Rich Malay chinese indian kadazan whatever, those that sapu enough also send their money oversea. Someone is even caught in Australian airport with Millions in Cash. And He dont understand english. And that guy is not chinese or indian.

Yeah man. As for your conclusion, why not you get your wealth out (as you have so damn much), and distribute it among MT readers. We will be more than willing to share that with you. You will be the mother theresa.

Such a childish statement. There are filthy rich and downtrodden people across all spectrum of color. And the worrying point is the gap is widening so fast intra color, not inter color. I have seen people surviving hand to mouth from all races. Yeah ...go ahead take out your wealth...

Everyone is waiting for a piece.

written by chuckmoore, April 23, 2008 00:26:59

Good piece but you seem to have ignored the Chinese, Indians and Eurasians who voted opposition (DAP, Keadilan & PAS) and confuse Chinese and Indian with MCA, MIC, Gerakan & PPP.

These political parties can stay in Barisan for all I care and I urge the Pakatan Rakyat to accept defections from BN component parties with great care and vetting -- in the same way as an employer would be wary of hiring someone with a criminal record, however much they believe in giving them a second chance in life -- as THEY could well be opportunists hedging their chances to prosper with the Pakatan -- like rats abandoning the sinking Barisan ship.
written by mikewang, April 23, 2008 00:31:44
Show me that NEP is part of that social contract "engraved in the original constitution" and I'll forever cease to criticise and migrate.
written by tmithomas, April 23, 2008 00:42:26
Dear YM RPK,

Just like not all Malays is UMNO and not all UMNO is Malays (figuratively), Chinese is NOT MCA nor MCA is Chinese (totally). MCA claims to represent the Chinese but it remains at that, "claims" - just like UMNO claims to represent Malays. I doubt any laymen who have no political affiliation or neutral ever claims that MCA or UMNO or MIC represent them, they just get on with their lives with the very MALAYSIAN attitude (applies to ALL races of Malaysia) - TAK APA LAH

But with the advent of internet, with enlightened people like your goodself, slowly but surely, the people are starting to make decisions that matter, thus the major swing this time around. There were many opposition to the policy of the government as evidenced in the ballot boxes but just not enough until this time around.

So, by MCA and MIC not leaving BN, it doesn't mean we are hedging, it just meant that those in there are still hoping and grovelling for some crumbs to line their pockets, not the rakyats, let's be clear on that. Chinese and Indian votes did swing before, as proved by the very existence of Gerakan and PPP but what to do? They turned traitor after they won last time in Penang and Perak (I was not born yet at that time, so am not sure how the story goes)

To me, the post 69'er, I say, we just want unreasonable glass ceiling to be removed and let our people irregardless of race to achieve what they can, be a real towering Malaysians and I always believe, there will be a spillover effects, successful Chinese, Malays and Indians (and lain-lain) will be beneficial to the rest of the Chinese, Malays and Indians too. In other words, successful Malaysians will create more opportunities for other Malaysians to succeed or at the very least improve their livelihood. Not like present state of looting and hoarding that does not trickle down to improve the general livelihood.....
written by karenleehs, April 23, 2008 01:09:14
HI RPK,

Old habits die hard, especially so for people after 50.
It will take a generation of chinese and indians to have a new mindset.
And for the people to change, we have to start from scratch. Forget about asking the 20 yo and above chinese. They are too indoctrined with second class citizen mindset.

In the forum, best to look at how and what we need to cultivate in the new generations, the primary school children, twenty years down the road, if they have been taught to understand that if you work hard, you will be rewarded, we need to best people for the right jobs, you are responsible for your actions, conscious of your neighbours living around you, be civic-minded, Malaysia oh tanahairku, tanah tempat tumpah darahku etc, than only we can look forward to a developed Malaysia for Malaysians.

At the moment now, we are plugging whatever we can, fix the bocor here and there, trouble-shooting etc. While most of the PR MPs are doing this, we need to have a plan for 15-20 years down the road.

To have a change completely implemented in 5 years (maybe even lesser) is not possible. Whatever positive steps PR has taken, must be documented and highlighted to the public coz this will serve as a report card for the public for the next election.

The 15-20 years plan must be steadfastly adhered to: Here are what i would suggest:

1)Abolish vernacular schools. Have one and only one system where all four languages are equally emphasised. All need to have a good command of English and Bahasa Malaysia. Everyone must have at least a third language of either chinese, Indian, Japanese, french, German, Swiss etc. I do not believe in shortages of teachers to teach languages. If you pay well, you will get one. Look at the papers, there are so many language schools in town, why and where do ytou think they managed to get their teachers?

Vernacular schools are a bane to national unity. Chinese Ed students have very narrow mindsets and coz throught their school days they are made to feel that they are 2nd class citizens, that's why has to work harder that everyone else. Also, they do not know how to mix with Indians, Malays and other races as 99% of their friends in school are of the same race.

Ditto too to Kebangsaan and Tamil schools. They just have no opportunity to mix.

2) Select the cream of the crops to teach in our schools. Let teachers have the opportunity to think out of the box. No admin work for teachers, separation of duties must be done to ensure that teachers teach only. Pay teachers high salary. Religion is not a big issue really. Just have separate assemblies for the muslims and the non muslims once a week eg every friday. Mass can also be conducted for those interested. In my former mission school, while we are having mass, the muslims and other non christians are allowed to go to their classes first.

3) Have more schools especially in town areas, this will reduce class sizes from 50 (in most chinese schools) to 30 max. This way everyone will be happy, teachers happy, students happy and parents also happy.

4) Provide quality health care. No Malaysians should be deprived of quality healthcare. For the many billions and trillions we are spending on corridors, why not emulate Cuba style of health care.

5) Change the current school system from 100% exam orientated to 30% exam and 70% classwork and assignments. This is to encourage our students to be independent and be able to conduct research. Emphasise on creativity and communication, public speaking etc. We want our students to grow up to be citizens of the world.

6) Have amnesty for foreign labours. Face it, we need them and they need us. Have a six month Amnesty period where we welcome all foreign labours, legal and illegal to register with us, we collect their database complete with fingerprints, qualifications and skills, give them 3 years working permit, renewable subject to requirement etc. It's like a big job street, only it's government initiated and not private where it can be abused. After this period, we will go on a fullscale hunt for illegals and repartriate them. This is to weed out the bad hats among them...... Also, it's the locals who are abusing the permits and the foreign labours. They do not have to be afraid to come out. No need to resort to crimes. We want to make Malaysia a good country for all, regardless of whether you are a citizen or not.

This will make it more transparent for all levels of foreign labours from higher management to the labourers.

Lots more ideas but would like to hear from others too.........
written by andalusia, April 23, 2008 01:38:56
Waah NRR, you really tarok me left right centre.
Okay lah okay lah.
Your experiences becomes fact and you wrote based on that. And I had my experiences and I wrote based on those facts.
That's why they called it "Point of View". You have yours and I have mine. That's it.
Come and celebrate this new dawn and let us strive and rejoice together for the good of all Malaysians. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by LcLy, April 23, 2008 05:28:51
"They resent being called Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians"
You are so damn wrong RPK!!!
My friends and I...we all want to be called Malaysian Chinese, by all mean!

Is there such term as Malaysian Malay or Malaysian Indonesian?
written by bn haramjadah, April 23, 2008 05:29:59
Andaluisa said "Just look at number of their participation in the army or the police for that matter. When it comes to defending the country against external forces, they leave to the Malays, while they are busy safeguarding their money. How many of the non-malays had died defending the country."
andalusia I harap you are joking or belum matang lagi, go to the tugu kebangsaan, go and read the names of our dead wariors, than come back here and pass comments, another thing the other races who served in the forces, both armed and police were slowly phased out in the name of ketuanan melayu, I recall a lot of job vacancies in the 80s on wards read "BUMIPUTRA ONLY" this was a systymetic racial discrimination policy inplemented by Mahathir, hussein ONN was forced to follow because mahathir had the warlords of umno behind him, WHO WAS THE HIDDEN HAND? he showed his toughness with MEMALI, HA INI YOU TAK BELAJAR KAT SEKOLAH TAPI YOU LIVE THROUGH IT, do you know the present day tugu kebangsaan was blown up by the communists, ha umno does not write this in the school history books, YES TUGU KEBANGSAAN WHICH IS A FEW HUNDRED METRES AWAY FROM BUKIT AMAN. WAS BLOWN UP IN 77 OR 78. SO CHECK YOUR FACTS before making statements stating the other races didn't risk anything, go check up on the darurat/emergency, chinese,indians,sikhs,ibans,kadazans,orang asli all fought and died for this country. so jangan biadap smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by bn haramjadah, April 23, 2008 05:38:24
ANDALUSIA I ask you this question why are there no more GURKHA REGIMENTS IN MALAYSIA, APA PASAL, they are the best fighters in the world, pei tanya orang lama, go ask your bapak. its related to 1969. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by bn haramjadah, April 23, 2008 05:41:33
WHAT HAPPENED TO ALL THE PUNJABI POLICEMEN... big strong and friendly why no more in the police or armed forces?????? check lah first smilies/grin.gif
written by khan3, April 23, 2008 06:32:02
For so long Malaysians have bandied around that Malaysia has a multi-racial society with diverse cultures and traditions, because of the fact that Malaysia has so many different races. Because of the diversity, all of us enjoy everything that other races have got to offer. We have kongsi Raya and open house traditions and wayang kulit and temples and mosques and traditional dances and Gawai etc that we ask foreigners to come and experience. All of us are proud to belong to one particular race and safeguard our identity.

Now we hear certain quarters are asking us to create a ‘bangsa malaysia’. What is this ‘bangsa malaysia’? Are we asked to let go of everything that is within our race, including the cultural practices and traditions? Or are we still to continue with belonging to a race but call ourselves ‘bangsa malaysia’ only. Those people who propagate this idea should explain explicitly to everyone so that we all understand what it is and then we can decide whether it is really a good idea.

The same goes for politics devoid of race. I understand that the PR calls for political parties to be detached from racial inclination that has so far been in the blood of Malaysian politics for so long. It needs to be explained in detail what the plan is, how to remove something that has been a practice for so long so that we, the mass, could evaluate the feasibility of the plan, the objectives and how it could and would be carried out. In short, tell us in plain language so that people like me understand what is going on and what needs to be done by all malaysians.

Tell us also what is the plan to change the mindset of the people to enable them to elect a representative of a different race because it is clear that not everyone is comfortable when they are ‘forced’ to elect someone who is not from his race, be it because of ‘racism’ or because of religion. Since not everyone is comfortable with the idea that he will ‘lose’ his racial identity, please also explain how one is assured that it will not be a case. Or if there is a plan for such a cause, explain why.

IF race is so important to so many Malaysians, why not make some changes in the election process? Every party or coalition that wants to be elected as representative of any seat should have a representative from all the races in that particular area. For example, if PR or BN are competing, they must have one representative for the Malays, Chinese and Indians (or any other race within the constituency). The candidate with the most votes will be the MP for a particular race. We will then have three MPs who will represent all the three races from that electorate. The party or coalition with the most combined votes from all its candidates would win the constituency. So what if Malaysia needs to have a bigger Parliament House to accommodate so many MPs. It could be another mega-project that is good for the economy. It will solve the problem of a particular race complaining that it is being forced to elect someone from another race. It will also ensure that all races are represented and there will also be check and balance before any major decisions are made. smilies/tongue.gif
written by talk2stop, April 23, 2008 08:06:09
Are you trying to unite Malaysians? Uniting the people of Malaysia is like trying to mix oil with water.
Malaysians can't even resolve a simple task on racial issue let alone doing something that beyond comprehend.
The mentality of Malaysians are generally below acceptable standard from a developed country.
To reverse that it takes twice as long to where is started. Not many Malaysians will bother to wait and may not happen. Most of them (the smarties) rather hop on the next flight to US, Canada or Australia.
RPK at this stage is just a wishful thinking. However prove me wrong boys and girls. Make me eat my words.
written by Atheist, April 23, 2008 08:23:11
For the non-technical ....

hedging

in commerce, method by which traders use two counterbalancing investment strategies so as to minimize any losses caused by price fluctuations. It is generally used by traders on the commodities market. Typically, hedging involves a trader contracting to buy or sell one particular good at the time of the contract and also to buy or sell the same (or similar) commodity at a later date. In a simple example, a miller may buy wheat that is to be converted into flour. At the same time, the miller will contract to sell an equal amount of wheat, which the miller does not presently own, to another trader. The miller agrees to deliver the second lot of wheat at the time the flour is ready for market and at the price current at the time of the agreement. If the price of wheat declines during the period between the miller's purchase of the grain and the flour's entrance onto the market, there will also be a resulting drop in the price of flour. That loss must be sustained by the miller. However, since the miller has a contract to sell wheat at the older, higher price, the miller makes up for this loss on the flour sale by the gain on the wheat sale. Hedging is also employed by stock and bond traders, export-import traders, and some manufacturers.

Based on the above article and definition, I believe that the Chinese are the wheat and the Indian are the flour. So, it is the Malays that are hedging the Indians and Chinese against one another !!!!! That is why they need the NEP etc to stay ahead in the game !!!
written by batsman, April 23, 2008 09:01:39
Camillus - will you be bringing your paymaster Azalina along? Is she still Wanita... ? Is pontianak sundal having a good time with her in between postings? So many things to say and not enough time (and money) to say it with ... sigh!
written by Malaysiaku, April 23, 2008 09:53:05
Would you believe it that elections can be rigged? Would you believe that while some parties may win in elections their party are not representative of the rest of the race they represent? Would you believe that many can be manipulated by a few unscrupulous politicians by deceit and by trickery? Do you believe that some leaders of the people can sell the people out for their own gains? Do you believe that elections can be gerry-mandered to work for the ruling party to ensure that the Opposition has very little hope of winning unless through perhaps divine intervention?

Malaysia Boleh!
written by mykantree, April 23, 2008 10:38:32
My view is that everybody - Malays,Chinese and Indians are hedging, and all the time.It is natural and human nature to do so.It is just how each and every one may want to interpret the word hedging.It is to ensure your survival.And who do not wish to survive?

The majority of the Malaysian rakyat of Chinese and Indians ancestry supported the Alliance/BN parties for the simple reason that they believe that at that stage and times, only the Alliance/BN would be able to govern to country.The Opposition then were not viewed to have that capability for a variety of reasons. Anyway the Alliance/BN did make promises to the electorate on many of their expectations, and its not surprising that most of them buy into it.That "hope" is again much ingrained and natural in most humans.

But then, and especially over the last decade or so, the ruling goverment failed to keep their promises.Much has been said about all those failures, so there's no need to elaborate further here.

When they failed to see any real or any prospect for progress in their expectations by the BN goverment, but that things has actually regressed; coupled with what they believed is a viable alternative, presented by the present Opposition; they, and as I would, take their chances with the Opposition.As the saying goes... You can't go on doing the same things again and again and again....... but expecting different results. So there goes the latest development.
written by shatis, April 23, 2008 10:49:22
Recently done survey among university students show that 85% of malay students feel that Malaysia THE country where their future is secured. but almost 50% of chines and indians said they are unsure of their future in malaysia. Well why Malays feel happy with present situation??
1. Free education all the way upto Masters or PHD(biasiswa)
2. Easy entrance to higher education despite poor quality
3. Secured goverment job with promised promotion despite being less productive
4. 10% discount on housing though they are millionares
5. Favouritism in sports
6. A lot more favouritisms.....
For malays to get all this Indians and chinese have to suffer discrimination from the day we are born. Malays will never know how it feels to be an indian or chinese in malaysia until they are reborn as non malays in Malaysia.
How many more historical evidence malays need to realize that this is not their native land?? They are pendatang as well. We are ready for table talk but are malays ready for a just and fair malaysia???
Will malays will ever give up all the privileges just to see a Free and Fair Malaysia??
written by Bigjoe99, April 23, 2008 11:05:58
This piece convenient bypass certains trends and idea.

I will accept that the Chinese and Indians cannot solely blame the Malays for what happened in last 30 years. BUT to say they agreed to so called special rights and even privilleges is a simplication. The Chinese and Indians got outmanouvered leading to 1969 period and had to live with the consequence for the last 30 years.

But the point is the Chinese and Indians think that that they have paid enough for their mistakes and entitled to correct those mistakes now.

No they don't blame the Malays for everything but they do think they have the right to correct their mistakes..
written by Amadas, April 23, 2008 11:09:05
The Chinese and Indians are not hedging now. They had already said"Enough is Enough" as we don't want UMNO policies that only suboptimized the country and deliberately marginalized the Chinese and Indians communities.

The Chinese and Indians now demand a proactive role is shaping policies , implementing policies and making sure that Malaysia is compared with the best nations and not be compared to a pariah country like Zimbabwe.

WE WANT OPTIMAL BENEFITS FOR ALL MALAYSIANS....NO MORE MARGINALIZATION OF ANY COMMUNITY
written by liayeo, April 23, 2008 11:22:54

WHat is the meaning of Ketuanan Melayu, Malay(NOT Bumiputra) Priviledges, Special Rights (also for Malays only) and NEP (For Bumiputras).

Does it mean The ruler (Agung and Sultans) must be Malay?
Does it mean Prime Minister must be Malay?
Does it mean Mentri Besar must be Malay?
Does it mean Head of GLCs must be Malay?
Does it mean Chancellor and Deans must be Malay?
Does it mean 70% of university students must be Malay?
Does it mean government contracts must be given to Malay/Malay(NOT just Bumiputra) company?
Does it mean Employee in Givernment offcies must be Malay?
Does it mean all school must be Malay school?

The answers to the above is surely not all YES. But for a few, It is definitely yes even though it may not be written in the constitution.

What is legally written, declared and strongly carved into the brains should always hold true? WHat is kept in the dark can at most be grey. SO let's open open and openly declare all those terms.
If the answer is yes to all the above questions ( and many more) then it is the responsibilities of the legislative to educate each and every malaysian that they are born into this world segregated by race. Those who are of non-Malay decendants should be made known that they are 3rd class citizens, should not question the rights accorded to their superior master of the country. As a born 3rd class citizen, I will try my best to work my way out and migrate.

I am born after the independence and NEP. Could you kindly educate those of us who are in my shoes, that does not know much about the rights, social contracts etc?
written by lennonist, April 23, 2008 12:46:33
Your one race concept is very interesting but it is already doomed to failure from the beginning. While I am proud of my country (especially after being in Beijing for a few months, let me tell you that), I do not believe in a Malaysian race chiefly because there is NO SUCH THING.

CELEBRATE DIVERSITY.

By erasing diversity, in an obviously diverse country like Malaysia, you're only going against the flow.

I don't know a solution of course, and can only comment but I would think education would have something to do with a better integrated society. More intercommunity get togethers. Whatever. But I sincerely believe a Malaysian race is folly especially since the Chinese and the Indians still strongly identify themselves as such.
written by Highway Man, April 23, 2008 13:08:05
Previously Chinese and Indians did not complained because we still can sustain and live comfortably. But not now, we are very tight now, (I don't know how the Malays nowadays fare? Are they as hard as the Chinese and Indians?)
written by dmh1871, April 23, 2008 13:46:30
a) dont talk about bangsa malaysia when certain bangsa couldnt even speak the offcial language and/or prefer to speak english even how broken it may be;
b) the right of the malays is enshrined in the constitution unless and until it is repeal it is the law at this material time. If others start to query this right gurantee under the law then the malays will also start to query the rights of other races and when this happen then all would realised the wisdom for the social contract existence.
c) level playing field is a myth even in singapore and it does not guarantee equality, fair is very subjective ex RM100 devided by 5 races equally each get RM20. The indian, kadazan, portuguse etc may say its fair coz their population is small, the malay will say its not fair coz their population the largest and the chinese will say it not fair also coz they control the economy.
d)all malaysian regardless of race is suffering due to the world food crisis but at least we dont hear anyone from malaysia died due to starvation in fact a large numbers died due to the opposite.
written by cruzeiro, April 23, 2008 13:48:17
Although I understand the "big picture", I somehow cannot bring myself to agree with the unhealthy "racial suspicion" slant to the bove observation.
With this so-called "political awakening" that has gone on of late, one would be hard pressed to find anybody who had made their decisions to vote with absolutely no misgivings - even among the Malay community.

The beauty about it all, is the fact that this awakening is led by a Malay leadership - and rightfully so. Anything other than that would've led to disaster for the "opposition". This "unlikely alliance", being at its embryonic stage is very much viewed with some element of insecurity.
As such it would be unfair to get too judgemental with regard to those who may be "insecure" and lack the faith.

Just as the "other communities" may be "guilty of hedging" (as you may perceive it), so are the Malays, and just as much if not more so - or else UMNO Baru would be history by now!
So let us quit pointing fingers, please ......

The deep rooted Racism that has been so firmly carved into the heart of many Malaysians, have created an insecure community with a deep-seated sense of "inferiority complex" that can only be satisfied by casting "others" in bad light.

Racism exists in various forms, which at one time other has served to feed our egos - at thus appeared to be appealing.
Let us not make a pretense of hating it, and yet behave as though we subscribe to it.
Let us not dwell on these insecurities, so as to be able to move on.

=======================
Racism, Makkal Sakthi, HINDRAF and ISA
http://cruzinthots.********.co...d-isa.html
written by eisham, April 23, 2008 13:56:55

You wrote,"The Chinese and Indians are not happy. They have not been happy since Merdeka in 1957. They were also not happy in 1969. The Chinese and Indians would like to see a level playing field. They want the special rights/privileges of the Malays abolished. They resent being called Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians. They want to be just called Malaysians, period. Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy tantamount to Apartheid, argue the Chinese and Indians. They want all this racial discrimination to end".

I have sent few comments regarding the issue. Chinese and Indians are not happy because all these things are not to their advantage. It is easy to understand. Nobody like racial discrimination especially if you're minority or when you are weak.

But put the blame only to NEP or to previous and present government is not a good idea. While many of us looking merely into these issues, why not you also look at other areas, such as:
- why mostly chinese do not want to have one school for all the races. why still needs chinese schools and indians schools. why we need to separate our kids? am I wrong to say that we teach our kids to be racist when they do not even know what racism is all about.
- why racial issue in private sector is as bad as in government, if not worst. you want government to be free from racial sentiment, can you ask private sector owner to also be freed from such practices?
- while chinese and indians are always very protective about what they have, you want malays to open. at the end, who get more.

there are more to write. i'm not against the idea of no racial discrimination. we should not have a dot of racist thinking in our heart. but, we all must have sincerity. I always believed, equal does not means fair. If we want to be fair, do not necessary to be equalled. nothing wrong with current system as it was proven good but there were great problem with the people. they abused the system and because of them, we blamed the system. change the people not the system but of course we can continue improvise the system.

as father, we have kids. in many circumstances, we tried to be fair to all of them. but sometimes, we can't. do not get carried away with racial sentiment because it's depending on many variables. as long as we are sincere, we'll fine.
written by amor patriae, April 23, 2008 14:10:31
Your present argument falls in the same structural trap that you wish to dismantle, and that created by the racist among UMNO. I quote here something I wrote on kelantan crown princes statement recently,:
This is a shocking moment and came as setback to the new emerging nascent Malaysian consciousness.

A correction, need to be in place. The idea of "non -Malay citizenship in exchange of special treatment of the Malays" is not based on historical fact but more of UMNO propaganda. It has not been stated in any serious historical work of Malaysia. It is more of a Biro Tatanegara Module which finds entrance in government institutions, Universities included.

Our historians are well aware of it but chose to be quiet about it. When we ask them, they say no point responding to political statements.

The ruling government has been successful thus far to deter any challenge to its UMNO hegemony. The challenge is not only from non-Malays, but also from the Malays. When the series on real struggle for Malaysian independence was published by Prof Rahman Embong of UKM, that makes UMNO looks pale in comparison to the young Malays and Chinese who fought with their life against the British, the series was immediately stopped and the head of the publishing unit transferred.

As some of our historians (Prof Khoo Kay Kim and alike), will not say anything that UMNO will not be pleased to hear, we have to urge those who are more independent and value integrity to come forward.

The best will be Prof Cheah Boon Kheng who has already published on pre and post independent period. He studied the leftist/communist and maybe now he should focus on the ruling elite of the time and their British counterpart in negotiating independence. The existing published materials are clear on the issue, no such thing exist. The most are said, are on areas that consensus are not reached (for instance the nature of special privilege for Malays, how long it will last)between the Malay leaders and the than UMNO leaders. New researches are impossible to be conducted from Malaysia as most the primary materials are classified by the National Archives. The other option is the Public Record Office, London. It should be undertaken by credible historian or else will be a kind of hype as what produced by Dr Kua Kia Soong on 13th May incident.

So, by repeating the myth time and again, it has becomes some sort of truth and even entered our school syllabus (even University syllabus, remember the UPM ethnic module or the subsequent one produced by UKM). It should be deconstructed for the sake of our young Malaysians regardless of race. I also urge serious Malay historian (such as Prof Ramlah Adam) should come forward to clear the distortion and pave way for better Malaysia.

This is the time to act with conscience and they Malaysian will always remember them for this. Speak up, historian.
written by megahyper, April 23, 2008 14:34:20
Amor,

Yeah I agree with you 100%.

Politics and UMNO hegemony has entered every facet of Malaysian life. And changed and even history itself.

Politics is now the pivotal role in Economy, Judiciary, Media, Enforcement, Eduction, History, Social, Prosecution, Environment, Halal defination, Khalwat defination, Religion, livelihood, Illegal Immigrants and of cos those made legal in whatever means......just tell me which area hasnt been intruded?

And we really have to thank one man for all this. Tun Maha-thir-sty.
written by Sagaladoola, April 23, 2008 14:48:01
I will be there if there is a talk .... Will mention this in my blog later ...

Can we make sure Samy Vellu and Ong Ka Ting will be there ?
written by SUV, April 23, 2008 14:49:01
smilies/smiley.gif @ cruz
written by angkasawan bocor, April 23, 2008 14:57:26
The pre-independence Chinese and Indians were too naive and ignorant that they were cheated into believing the pioneers of MCA and MIC. These politicians had betrayed their races and had condemned the descendants of their races to discrimination and marginalization on this land forever. Continuing with the work of their predecessors, the MCA and MIC politicians of today reap their own benefits by sacrificing their races' interests.

Of all the parties, only DAP worths a salute. DAP has been indeed a party with integrity and principles. Its leaders have resisted the temptations of good life offered by Umno and have endured hardships in defending their principles. On the other hand, Gerakan (which was an Opposition party before 1969)should be condemned to hell for betraying democracy's cause and for opting to join the luxuries of being in the BN Club.

written by puakang, April 23, 2008 14:58:36
Great idea. One race,one dream,and one great country
written by manila, April 23, 2008 15:40:45

I would like to suggest that you should refrain yourself from commenting or responding at all. You have presented your opinion and ideology perfectly in your article and let the rest of the visitor to comment or argue smartly. I don’t see how your participation in the argument either to confirm or object any comments is will lead us anywhere.

I support the idea we should impose certain protection to Malay, Sabahan and Sarawakian as much as protection Malaysian ask against foreigner Businessman. For example, the peninsular base businessmen have far more advantage in the form of capital and experience compare to local Sabahan and Sarawakian. So certain “control” or checking system should be impose to ensure any land application or land take over is not done blatantly without safeguarding the interest of Sabahan or Sarawakian.

For example, due to Loan Sharking and price control by Semenanjung base companies … 70% of Kundasang Vegetable plantation land is already taken over by them. The price offered by these companies on fertilizer is too expensive …. Well above the normal price. This is not healthy business practice but since they can “contribute” kopi O budget to everyone (police, land office staff and even DO) no one is fighting for these poor people right! That type of checking or protection that I support to ensure only healthy and legitimate business practice is done. Not to spoon feed anyone.
written by shan, April 23, 2008 16:36:28
Patroitism does not mean taking up arms and fighting the enemy,like andalusia claims.It takes all kind of people to make this world and malaysia is no different.The army which defends our frointier is paid by the people who "save guard their money"Taxes maaa.Your neighbour is not gonna give you bullets for your songs.Anyway these bussiness that landed us the sukhois and submarines and also sent a joker to space to conduct what ever mumbo jumbo.Now who is more patriotic,the solder or the polititian who claims to love the country but lives outside the country with the amassed wealth begotten tru deals in for the so called safty of the nation or the bussinessman work slogg out day and night and religiously pays his taxes so that the corrupt politician can make more illegal duit in the name of the patriotic solder.,.Any way brother there are more orang asli and other natives in the armed forces then then the so call benefactor of NEP.Please cut this Patriotic crap,.,In times of need even the prostitute will be a patroit.History of the world has proven it..Read about The Great Kalinga Empire. smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by wongnoball, April 23, 2008 17:11:43
The analysis is too simple and also quite subjective.
Still not many Malays had changed their mind during the last election, otherwise howcome UMNO can still control the government.
I think RPK's information are still derived from the local mainstream media lah.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by RickK, April 23, 2008 17:55:51
Andalusia,
1.When you say non-Malays,do you include the non-Malay bumiputeras of Sabah & Sarawak? If not,you do them great injustice because they also make up a sizeable portion of our defence forces.

2.Even if you are referring to the Chinese and Indians in particular you dishonour the memory of 'non-Malay' defence personnel who fought the communists and Japanese and more lately the Al-Mauna (surely you must have read the NST reports of the Indian Sergeant who was tortured with durians being thrown at him and ultimately summarily despatched with bullets to his head). My father was in the police force in the good old days and retired having served his country after fighting the communist threat in his days.

3.Which history book did you read that excluded the contributions of these men and women?Those re-written by 'nationalists' with an agenda and so conveniently downplay or ignore other Malaysians' efforts to defend the country?

4.Is dying fighting for your country the only arbiter of your patriotism and loyalty?What about defending your country's good name and even enhancing it in world standing?Indeed,whatever you might say about TDM,at least I can say that every Malaysian could hold their head high as a Malaysian during his rule.
What about "mengharumkan nama negara"? Think of Jimmy Choo,Zang Toi,Michelle Yeoh,Nicol David,the badminton doubles players. By their very excellence have they not brought the name of our country to the fore in their areas of enterprise?
Think, more of the ordinary "Nons"people who actually pay taxes to run this country instead of those,because of their skin colour can throw away their Form J and boast they are exempt .

5.What about the so-called patriots who made our universities take such an embarassing tumble in world rankings by not discharging their duties effectively and efficiently,mired in bureacracy ?
6.What about those so-called 'patriots' who,by clinging tenaciously to policies that make us not competitive in a globalised world cause us to lose out to China and India and Vietnam?

7.What about the 'patriots' who,because of religious sympathies let in foreigners indiscriminately at the gateways of Sabah,according citizen status to people who may pose a security threat?
8.What about the so-called "angkasawan" program, patriotic only to who make Malaysia the brunt of jokes from our neighbours but elsewhere regarded as vain & self-deceptively foolish squandering of public funds?

Your understanding of patriotism is far,far too narrow.
written by tzarina, April 23, 2008 18:44:44
To sum it up:

NO, RPK, the Indians and the Chinese are NOT hedging. PERIOD.
written by Apek SK, April 23, 2008 20:06:28
Dear YM RPK,

Good analysis.

Something maybe YM can comment further:

Yes, YM said they are not happy since merdeka. In 1969 riots broke out become a lesson for non-Malay rakyat not to protest against the Malay(UMNO) who has been in power together in the Rulers' name, etc. What the non-Malay can do but to join in a team (BN) for the sake of the
country and stability. These were the older generation's mind set.
MCA decided to pull out 1969. Where else can MCA go? Join DAP? Join PAS? Join PSM? They would be seen as going against the UMNO giant=against the Malays. The Malays at that time is to be blamed. If they join PAS also will not get majority of Malays support.
And now, before 2008 UMNO remains same party with keris wavers. Where can the non malay BN parties can go? There is no alternative of a better/ fairer Malay based party. Keadilan and PAS also cannot get majority support from Malays at this time.

If the majority of Malay have voted other parties beside UMNO, I am sure the other BN components will consider leaving Or BN have a big change internally - even without pressure from strong opposition.
I still believe only Malays decide the future of Malaysia because of their majority numbers.

Your statistics in previous GE proved that even if MCA/MIC/GERAKAN/PPP joins opposition, it still will not bring down UMNO in power by number of seats. Agree?

YM, do we have a statistic showing how many percents of Malay voted UMNO in GE 2008?

Thanks.

written by kamwy, April 23, 2008 20:10:23
Dear RPK & readers,

While we have to understand RPK's rhetoric aimed towards the Chinese & indian based parties who are still in the BN coalition, we have to remind ourselves that RPK often "exagerated" facts & certainly, in this case, repeats the propanganda that have been fed to us through our formal educations etc.

Amor patriae rightfully stated the discrepancies between what's being agreed upon in 1951-1957 and what we are led to believe in. Yes, there's a social contract - where discriminatory laws are meant to be REVIEWED 10 years after independence. It was written in the faith that as our nation progresses, we shall not need such discriminatory constitution.

RPK also failed to recognise that DAP, has always maintained its stand of "malaysia for Malaysians", and meritocracy supremacy. Let's not fail to recognise that DAP has always been a multi-racial party too, albeit having too many Chinese ethnicity members.

Lastly, I am a Malaysian Chinese, who is all in for the one-race concept. What else you want (us) to prove? Cut our hands & bleed for loyalty?

Your rhetoric, while awe the public, hurts commoners Malaysians like myself.
written by MasterYoda, April 23, 2008 21:14:42

On this article you've written, thia is my response:

Contract'. all just followed after the promise of freedom.

6) The BN resounding victory was because of the FEAR of 1969 and the PEOPLEs
INSIDE or from the OUTSIDE of BN.

what do you say RPK? between the devil and the great blue sea... what better OFFER did we have until Pak Lembik came
written by mgeo, April 23, 2008 21:40:05
(a) The West Malaysian view of the races of East Malaysian and the original natives of West Malaysia as nonentities dominates this discussion.
(b) The dog-eat-dog spirit of hegemony that led to the riots of 1969 is alive and well; see the comments on the Olympic torch protests at
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/6403/1/
written by fandi, April 23, 2008 21:44:49
Racial Bias

Before Malaysian can be called Malaysian we have to get rid of our racial stigma .Then only can we really be called Malaysians.This have to start with the schools and nowhere else.We cannot have racial schools, Chinese ,Indians and other schools have to be Sek Kebangsaan only and have all races and no discrimination.What ever racial schools language should be taught as extra Koko in classes or in the after school or tuition.In this way then I can truly say that this is Malaysia.Because teaching the young to mix is the best way to be Malaysian and then segregate them into racial schools.Do you have any university for races, no, why do the government then not start with these primary schools. If the parents of all races can think this way then one day we can call ourself Malaysians.
and not before.That is why we have to get rid of MCA and MIC and stop demanding for anything base on race.Language base on race. and dialect is never good for integration.Since there is the national language and English it is suffiecient for integration. Language on racial tones and dialect should only be taught for family and kin.I am not banning any race but we have to be honest with ourselves,The Malays have sekolah Igama, so can the other races have their religious schools if they want to establish them. But no schools base on race for any examination, as this will in the end be marginalized by society and then become politics.
UMNO has already suggested to open their membership to non Malays, and also to change their name to United Malaysian National Organization., if this come about then , Bye Bye, to MCA and MIC, see who changes their constitutions first if they want to survive.
written by LACOBRA, April 23, 2008 21:56:42
Its complicated!!!

If we were highly educated and were born during the tenure of Tun Tan Siew Sin who sold the rights of all races especially the Chinese in the drafting of the Constitution, this Hedging or Social Contract probably wouldn't exist.

Speaking of Chinese contribution in opposing this Social Contract. If the majority of PAP, DAP & the then opposition Gerakan parties are Chinese reflects that the Chinese did indeed oppose.
written by R020998, April 23, 2008 22:36:25
written by mikewang, April 23, 2008 | 00:31:44

Show me that NEP is part of that social contract "engraved in the original constitution" and I'll forever cease to criticise and migrate.

If you need further explanation on this and expect us to waste our time explaining panjang lebar how NEP came about....shooooooo.. go play some where else.. not here.... may i suggest http://forums.toonzone.net/for...forumid=51 ?
written by harrbm, April 23, 2008 23:14:55

>

THE CONTRACT.

Dear all,

With due respect, i dont believe in this ONE RACE concept or this MULTIRACIAL PARTY. Its all pretentious and like going against nature. i dont even believe in this Malaysia for Malaysians concept. It's not genuine.

Its all political gimmicks. Do you believe in singapore for singaporeans?

Contracts or no contracts, then or now, race issues will always be an issue. openly or secretly but it will always be an issue. why?

it's because chinese will always remain chinese
indians will always remain indians
malays will always remain a malay
they are all different in some ways
and these wont change. not in a million years or so.

the different of races will stay and racial divide is crucial and necessary for a country like malaysia. Malaysia need a supreme race. a strong race that will lead.

the supreme race will become leaders and rule. the weaker ones becomes good followers. a good followers indeed like those who agreed to the contract. this contract will stay until such time the weaker ones becomes strong and takes over. there will be a little chaos but then life goes on and soon the once supreme race becomes the followers. a good followers until such time when they will regain their supremacy.

What went wrong was not about race.

It's about abuses, corruptions, cronyism, nepotism, injustice, discriminations, insensitivity, prejudice and suspicions, governance and most all power struggles.

forgive me... it's just my ramblings.

>
written by batsman, April 24, 2008 08:58:35
Dear harrbm - Don't whack yourself - your comments make sense. The only question is - now that race is not an issue but corruption, nepotism and power struggles are, how does one handle the racial issue since as you say and as I agree, Chinese will always be Chinese and Malays will always be Malays,... etc? My answer is - live and let live.

Unfortunately, when one comes up with the likes of Camillus and gang, who go around picking fights and quarrels, is it possible to live and let live? How do the races protect themselves against Chinese thugs and Malay Mat Rempits who try to stir up racial quarrels?
written by batsman, April 24, 2008 09:10:19
In the movie "Taipan" the Chinese mandarin who saved the Taipan asked only one thing in return - for one of his sons to be educated in England. If this is not hedging, what is? Even Hollywood has observed the Chinese penchant for hedging.
written by VIPER, April 24, 2008 12:28:18
MCA n MIC do not represent the chinese n indians. They just represent themselves which makes them irrelevant. So lets forget them.
written by gctham, April 24, 2008 13:34:41
Wearing songkok is the Malay culture and traditional formal dress code. If chinese can accept wearing western coat why not baju malay and sonngkok? Time to change the mid set.
written by Eskay Lim, April 24, 2008 13:40:19
I can still remember my late Grardma used to advice my parents not to threaten her grandchildren too very often less they get immune and may become rebellious in the later part of life.
Although my Grandma did not live long enough, all her grandchildren grew up to become God-fearing & law-abiding citizens and live decent & happy lives.
But Malaysians did not have a person like my Grandma to give good advice and instead politicians used threats; like the keris incidents, threats to withdraw their citizenships, threats of another May 13 etc..etc.. too very often on the non-Malays over the years to frighten them into submission.
So to stop the repeat of more threats, a change of government is the only option. Chinese , Indians & others are not definitely hedging. Period.
written by Rhan, April 24, 2008 15:59:29
batsman, don't watch too much Hollywood makes junk, most of the time, they talk nothing but folklore like ghostlike moster, the blood sucker or that mix blood desert beast. It will kill your brain. Wise up.
written by JFR, April 24, 2008 17:52:14
Agreed with gctham. I think the baju Melayu with the sampin is pretty cool. My brother agrees.So much so he wore one (and his wife wore an elegant Kebaya & selendang)for their wedding photo shoot.Some very kind Malay friends loaned them the items-so significant nowadays when some people would be afraid their personal effects would be defiled by the borrower.

The Songkok,however belonged to dad.His(my brother's) Malay colleagues-and the couple-got a real kick from it!
Time to embrace each other more fully,warts & all.We're all we've got.
written by KullaNari, April 24, 2008 18:06:05
I agree with the hedging theory RPK.

But it's more of a Malaysian epidemic, infecting all races and creed rather than just MIC or MCA. We, Malaysians tend to be always on the safe side or "politically correct" according to situations and scenarios to fit our needs. For instance; I'm sure there are quite a number of Umnoputra's sitting on the fence between Umno and PKR or PAS just waiting for "right time" as DSAI put it.

If PKR is to take power in the coming months then we will see the other side of these Umnoputras as we have seen with KC in Penang. IT runs in our blood...smilies/wink.gif

On another note.. I have to politely disagree with some of your statements.

Being a 2nd generation indian/chinese mix, born in Malaysia and having been raised in the estates and in the city, I feel I can comment on some aspects of the indian community. (btw, does that make me truly 'Malaysian' smilies/tongue.gif )

Points I'd like to disagree or contend:-

MIC does not, never did and never will (I'm fairly sure) represent the Indian's. Thats what they want everyone to think, as far as I can remember, none of my friends, family, extended family are members of the MIC nor involved in MIC in any way nor has MIC changed or touched any of our lives directly. Unlike the Malays in the rural kampungs and Felda schemes whom are in some manner touched or linked to the Umno or PAS branches, in no way are the majority of Indians in the rural areas are linked or involved in MIC. Most of them shy away at the very mention of MIC.

Most MIC branches are run by thugs and con men for their own interests and automatically all decent "normal" Indians will keep away from them. I grew up in small town in a southern state, you know, the district where the MIC leader was shot dead was from and has a MIC youth leader with scars and missing fingers(no, no, not from any accident no, no, no...). I grew up with them.

And during my 3 year full time stint with and Indian NGO during my younger days, I have travelled to various states organizing activities for the indian community and have yet to see a particular town or locality with Indians fully supporting the MIC. At most they were hedging... (See.. its a trendsmilies/smiley.gif )

The last 53 years of so called support by voting for the Alliance does not mean that the Indians or Chinese we're supportive of the "social contract". It was news to me until I was in my teens, even then only during my stint in the Indian NGO did I hear of the contract.

I have amusing conversations with my parents on the issue. And I'm quite sure my grand parents, grand uncles and all my relatives toiling in the estates at the time did not know at what price they were "sold", signed and sealed by the MIC stalwarts of Sambanthan and likes. None of them could help identify the previous MIC leader of that time for my homework then.

The Majority of the Indians in the estates were illiterates and the working Indian community in the estates like them never had any time for politics. They were more worried if it rains in the night, which means no rubber tapping hence no salary hence no samsu and maybe food...

I feel the Indians and Chinese have been voting for the alliance all this while was because of stability or rather their instability, out of Fear of the unknown, fear that whatever privileges the have now, however minute, would be taken away, ignorant of what was happening to them, ignorant of their rights being sold by their so called leaders of the community.

Coupled with the veiled treats by the Alliance, via constant graphic reminders of the riots and problems of neighbouring countries and warnings that the country would go into disarray like the May 13 if the Alliance lost. These were real fears carried y the previous generations of Chinese and Indians.

It’s wrong to say that the Indians and Chinese have been agreeing to the Social Contact when the majority of them we're ignorant of the fact during the inception and were led by the so called leaders by their nose ring like a buffalo.

Or maybe they were hedging......
written by jeya, April 24, 2008 18:49:22
smilies/cool.gifRPK!
Since the seizing of power by TDM, there are 2 Classes of People/citizens/Rakayaat in Malaysia :
The BN - El Supremo - Class Khas, Istemewa
The Rest of Us, including the Rulers!
All of us have had to beg,stand in line for these BN Monkeys all these years!
UMNO[Palsu},MIC,MCA,Gerakan,PPP,ETC! - They were all Royalty!
Now! The Tsumani has hit! Bocor Rahsia! Semua Turun Padang,Padam Muka - But still trying!My only Hope is that PR does not fall into the trap.
So lets call the ROUND TABLE : The Rakayaat vs The BN The Rakayaat's High Court of Malaya @ Kuala Lumpur{Special Powers Division} No: 00001/2008! smilies/tongue.gif
jeyapalantsmahesan.********.com
written by Camillus, April 25, 2008 01:02:19
stupid foreign bastards.

Sure beats being one of those typically stupid Malaysian!
written by bananachinese, April 25, 2008 12:23:52
Dear Raja Petra,

We have been talking about Rakyat Malaysia for a long time and always thinking of how we can live together in celebration of unity in diversity.

I have spoken with MCA Bangsar members, they are waiting to participate in your event as Rakyat Malaysia.

P/S: MCA has documented their stand on Rakyat Malaysia - OKT has been pushing it at higher levels since 2005, I'm told.

Hope this will be useful to help as input for our discussion on that day, here's the link to the document: http://www.mca.org.my/English/...fault.aspx

written by bogeyman, April 26, 2008 16:07:26
Rhan,
I was wrong about you. Now I know you're an idiot like Batsman. Calling a perceived foreigner a bastard doesn't hide from the fact that there are stupid malaysians. If you are not one of these stupid malaysians, then why do you take it personally? The truth hurts izzit?
written by KuntaTobey, April 30, 2008 10:43:21
Banana chinese is saying on Bangsa Malaysia.
Can he agree to have one school system, that is sekolah kebangsaan. Similiar to Indonesia where they cannot use chinese name and don't have chinse schools.

In the first place, majority of chinse won't agree to chinse schools and yet talking on one bangsa, bangsa malaysia. Can they change. They can't accept Bahasa Melayu, That's why comes Bahasa Malaysia. It should be bahasa Tamil, Bahasa Hokkien, Bahasa urdu, Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Indonesia.

Even this small issue also the chinese cannot accept. Talk on Bangsa Malaysia.
Cakap tak serupa bikin. RPK can talk because he is not chinese.
written by KuntaTobey, April 30, 2008 10:45:20
Sorry, typing mistakes.
In the first place, majority of chinse won't agree to one school system and yet talking on one bangsa, bangsa malaysia @Rakyat Malaysia. Can they change. They even can't accept Bahasa Melayu, That's why comes Bahasa Malaysia. It should be bahasa Tamil, Bahasa Hokkien, Bahasa urdu, Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Indonesia.
written by INSTINCT, May 02, 2008 21:54:12
Bravo RPK. Monarchy shall remain comes what may. Strive for equality of all Malaysians but we have to work it out within the framework of the monarchy system. Republic is a no-no situation. The Malays will not want it. It’s their ADAT - "Biar Mati Anak Jangan Mati Adat". Kunta Tobey is absolutely right. I concur with him. For a One Bangsa aspiration - logically whose identity should we follow? ... It has to be One… submission to the only One.
written by Change or Be Changed, May 04, 2008 00:18:46
Dear Jaguh Kampung,

Sorry if the truth about chinese hurt you unless you are one of them.
I am a chinese and and i came out from a chinese lubang but i not one of those chinese chauvinist pig who always talk and do something else behind.
I do study the chinese histories and even do i have great admiration for the history of chinese and by the same token i also have felt the shame for the what chinese have done to the chinese themselves too.
By knowing what we are wrong in then we can only take the necessary step to correct ourself. We are now living in the new world since the day the introduction of the internet where thing that happens around the world are made known to us within seconds.
Race is a culture to me and not to be use as a tools for racial supremacy as it can only brings disaster. You can see that happening to Iraq now where the Arabs are killing one another. There is no perfect race.
Its goods to share one strength with one another for a peacefull and united world as this world are kinda of small.
Tell me if what i say isnt true as this is what i hear when mingling around with my own kind. This is not a betrayer of my own kind but such statement made by my own kind sometime doesnt make sense especially in this new world.
Only typical selfish and chauvinist chinese will disagree with me as they are the one i am talking about.
This are the kind of chinese who will even turn to destroy their own kind for wealth and that what happen in older china.
So are you still piss off.
written by riversnail, May 04, 2008 23:17:23
i believe the real merdeka will be when all the people are called as Malaysians, regardless of their race...Malays/Indians/Chinese and other races.
all to be considered as bumiputera....
the weaker race to be supported by the govts...it can be the Malays/Chinese or Indians etc etc.bottomline there shouldnt be any single race that is neglected.
any govt employees...it can also be the ministers,to be sacked if they are racist.they must represent the malaysian people and not as a Malay/Chinese/Indian race leaders.all the race based political parties should be abolished....UMNO/MCA/MIC etc...
will this happen????
written by Jit Dharma, May 05, 2008 23:14:46
Ai-yo yo, so many clever people talking about politications. RPK Annan you
are very right one.Come, we all making one big Party call the Malaysia Party.
When you join first you must promise to help all the poor people. And then
we make the Menteri's Live in a simple village call the Menteri Village.No need
big cars.Must use either basikal or kap cai.House something like single storey
terrace. Ai-say RPK Annan I got so many ideas exactly or something like this.
One day we can talk.Now I have to watch Astro drama. Good luck.
written by malaysia devil, May 21, 2008 19:45:46
Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore's Authoritarian Regime
watch video exclusively at: http://malaysianindian1.********.com/
please pass this message to all Malaysians, singapore needs freedom and they need malaysians assistance