Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow ACA to be fully independent

ACA to be fully independent PDF Print
Tuesday, 22 April 2008 11:34

Press Statement Issued by the President of MCA, YB Dato Seri Ong Ka Ting

Dato’ Seri Ong Ka Ting as the President of MCA says that the party welcomes the move by the Prime Minister Dato’ Seri Abdullah Badawi to make the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) fully independent and answerable to the Parliament.

“We wish to see the performance of the ACA strengthened and a new political will being forged to ensure the independence of the ACA is truly upheld. We want the rakyat to understand that the BN government is serious about tackling corruption in the country, both in the public and private sectors. Accountability must also be all encompassing to include the integrity of the entire system and respect for the moral  values of our society.”

“It is through the collective responsibility of the Parliament that decisions can be made, without fear or favour over the cases.”

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by astina, April 22, 2008 11:37:15
yeah yeah ong ka til..
and ACA immediately investigate the Port Klang fiasco
written by ultra, April 22, 2008 11:38:22
Now we are getting somewhere..

Next step, change the stupid AG! That guy is too tainted to do anything right! Remove him immediately!
written by shamadz72, April 22, 2008 11:40:29
Tell the ACA to start with the Iraqis Oil for food scandal smilies/smiley.gif
written by qitaro, April 22, 2008 11:40:50
Forever talk only and no action.

Any statement that came out from the mouth of AAB, OKT/OKC, SV are meant for the sewer!

ACA should be made an independent commission. ACA should be given the power to hunt and prosecute even the PM!
written by apa jadi, April 22, 2008 11:44:31
Good start. But I am still skeptical under this present gomen. Walk the talk. We would be watching.
written by Remo, April 22, 2008 11:46:57
Good News.
ACA can catch your brother Ong Ka Chuan for the land deal in Perak.

Badawi, next move is to change the IGP and the AG?
written by Iliyas, April 22, 2008 11:47:49
While Malaysians would surely support that the ACA be fully independent and answerable to Parliament,one wonders the authenticity of this new development.With the newly improved restructuring of the ACA,while still reporting directly to the PM,whats stopping the PM from deciding who should be prosecuted and who should not?
This will continue to be window dressing,unless TRANSPARENCY supersedes independence.
written by BennyG, April 22, 2008 11:48:01
First sack the ACA Director. Then we believe you.
Next sack whoever wants to influence/control ACA. Then we believe you.
But we believe that you are only talking (as usual) and no action.
written by Spear Bing, April 22, 2008 11:54:27
Now OKT is no more in the Cabinet, he can freely express his comments and be more vocal on issues affecting the lives of the citizens and the nation's future direction.

We acknowledge the fact that MCA has learned a bitter lesson from the 12th GE, hence the constant and regular pulic statements from the MCA HQ on the political issues, in contradiction to its previous policy of resolving and tackling such issues within the 4 falls of the UMNO led coalition government.

Looking from a broader perspective,it makes sense for MCA to reform and do away with its ethnic-based political platform. Those post 'baby-boomers' voters are already in their late 30s and 40s of age, and its about time to expose them to multi-racial approach to politics, if the Malaysians ever want to move forward towards the next era with highly skilled and competitive mindsets.
written by alpha100, April 22, 2008 11:54:48
Yes, the current ACA management should be replaced after BN takes a back seat with PR as ruling party. As long as BN is ruling what independent can we talk about! Is the thief going to catch the thief?
written by Puchongjoe, April 22, 2008 11:56:29
Must also investigate our EPF money usage.
written by Mike lawood, April 22, 2008 11:59:14
Of all name MCAC... Good also lah. can be
Malaysian Chinese Association Corrupted.

Why not name after Hong Kong ICAC plus M...ICACM.
written by bushfire, April 22, 2008 12:02:56
I wonder if by 'independent' they mean as 'independent' as the Judiciary as it currently is. If it means total independence, the new ACA Commission will certainly need a sizable beefing up of its manpower. There have been so very many scandalous and corrupt transactions which cannot be handled without the manpower increase. Of course I base my premise on the assumption that the new ACA body will investigate ALL cases without fear or favour and be completely transparent.
written by shan, April 22, 2008 12:13:27
what about the case of the Malaysian Pilot caught with child Phorno. in Australia,ACA should investigate Malaysian Airlines for not taking action against this pilot.,.,(Justice without fear or favour,,.,,,,.,even when own family is involve).,.So Mr.ACA director let's start in your own backyard first.
written by Abot Naros, April 22, 2008 12:23:18
AAB is so used to promises promises, what happened to the IPMC this was promised 4 years ago . AAB is good at making promises but HOPELESS at delivering. Ajak ajak tahi ayam aje !! What has he delivered so far ??? Please do not expect too much. Good intentions only, but lip service is not good enough , in fact it is better not to promise,. What is the delivery plan , time line??
written by yy88, April 22, 2008 12:47:16
Bodohwi may be leaving behind his reform legacy if he is sincerely honest to revamp ACA to be truely independent under the jurisdiction of the Parliament.

Right now, it is reporting to the PM who can exercise selectively censoring, premature closing of file, not enough evidences, etc.

The commission is as good as Indepedently Unindependent.
Bodohwi will be able to redeem himself only if he remove all the deadwoods heading the ACA,PDRM, PMO, etc
written by shamadz72, April 22, 2008 12:58:41
While Malaysians would surely support that the ACA be fully independent and answerable to Parliament,one wonders the authenticity of this new development.With the newly improved restructuring of the ACA,while still reporting directly to the PM,whats stopping the PM from deciding who should be prosecuted and who should not?

I got to agree with this writer. Furthermore, everyone seems unable to spot that the changes is expected to take place by end of this year. Why does it need to be end of this year and not say in 1-2 months time? I don't think it is that difficult to implement when Badawi has been very efficient in changing our constitution, just to ensure Rashid can continue be our EC Chairman for the 12 GE.

I believed the reason why Badawi is postponing it to end of this year is because of UMNO party election is also in December. So should Badawi managed to cling on to his power, he can conveniently say that he has change of heart and decided not to implement what he has said earlier. Remember, this is the same guy who has managed to dupe us with his promises back in 2004, so why should it be different for him now?

I say, a PM who can lie with a straight face live on TV (the day when he announce no election but change it tomorrow) is not fit to continue ruling us. So leave NOW!
written by technoboy, April 22, 2008 13:08:31
Yeah, with 82 Pakatan comrades now in Parliament, don't miss this golden opportunity, BUT with the tainted buayas forming majority in the last Parliament, memang tak boleh lah, otherwise 50% have to go to court and jail!
written by jingoza, April 22, 2008 13:24:23
IF THIS IS REALLY TRUE THEN MAMAK MADEY SON OF ISKANDER KUTTY WILL SHUDDER smilies/grin.gif
written by PakPandir, April 22, 2008 13:37:21
We have heard the promise four years ago l this be another "promise " ????
Let the rakyat see the reality in prosecutung those who plundered the country including the big wig. See action than words.

Let ACA investtigate complaints on the assets declaration by Minsiters.

If BN cvannot do theabove, then it is another "wayang kulit".
written by chin, April 22, 2008 13:37:43
As long as the ACA continues to be a 100% Malay agency, it will continue to answer only to UMNO and continues to be a UMNO tool.

It is there to punish the people that opposes UMNO than actual criminals. Its the non-violent version of the UTK, a bodyguard and assasin for UMNO.
written by advocatusdiaboli, April 22, 2008 13:38:00
ACA to be fully independent? My answer to that is ahhhaaaahahahahahaaa smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif. Trust the sleepy fella to actually do it. OKT as usual carrying balls lah.
written by RCChia, April 22, 2008 13:39:44
Aah.. finally they admit the ACA has never been independent !! I'll only believe that is possible when I see some prominent cases being jailed and/or fined heavily
written by joeawk, April 22, 2008 13:40:10
Free to investigate but not free to charge the culprit and with the Atty General that malaysia has, freeing the ACA is just talk cock.

Why the need of the safeguard to allow the AG the prerogative to decide whether to charge or not. Why can't the ACA be allowed to do so? Come on, let's not do things half way, don't waste time and money unless we want to do it right.
written by PASOK, April 22, 2008 14:04:38

I N V E S T I G A T E M U S A A M A N - Chief Minister of Sabah

written by Racheljansz, April 22, 2008 14:17:56
Guys I am as skeptical as you are.
But since ABB has initiated it, it is now up to the Rakyat to 'help' him along and GET it Right!
As most of us as net savvy, it is not too difficult to look at the keys elements of the fame Hong Kong's ICAC.
You will be pleasantly surprise what the keys elements are.

Now is the time to highlight the keys elements to your MPs, NGOs and other pressure groups on ensuring they are in place for this Bolehland's ICAC.

Do also remember ABB is also fighting for the Premiership and his days are numbered.
and that there are many people, as some of you have mention that would pay dearly to see Independent Judiciary and ACA never happens!

At the end of it, how these 2 bodies becomes independent and effective depends VERY much the Rakyat willness to go through to achieve it!

Makkal Sakti?
written by TWOG, April 22, 2008 15:04:41
Fully independent??? What does that mean? You mean the ACA was never independent, a little bit independent, or dependent on who was under probe?

Either you are pregnant or you are not. You can fool around and hope to be a little bit pregnant...
written by LTn, April 22, 2008 15:06:57
WAAH!! YA KAH!! GOOD OHH!! SO NOW WE CAN WACK MUSA AMAN LARR.... IF MUSA AMAN ALSO THE ACA CANNOT WACK THEN I THINK ITS ANOTHER BUUULLSHIT OF badawi bn umno...
written by Paramjothy, April 22, 2008 15:12:47
I welcome the move by the government to have ACA independent and report to parliament. But before all these we have to change the working mentality of all those officers who have been working with the BN government for the last 50 years. If they were doing what they were hired for this country would have been much better. But they were taking instruction from their BN bosses so how can they do a good job except what the BN government wants them to do. There must a total revamp of ACA if they need to function as a body which will protect the interest of the country. Many heads have to roll and more professional approach to the style of management. If all this is done then they will gain the confidence of the public. The must be proactive instead of waiting for someone to call the shorts.
written by Paramjothy, April 22, 2008 15:16:59
First assignment for ACA to investigate all the current and past BN leaders & ministers. From their results and finding then we will know what they are capable. We are not asking for witch hunting of anyone in particular.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 22, 2008 15:33:29
Investigate where PETRONAS money gone?
written by power2u, April 22, 2008 15:41:02
ACA CAN NEVER BE INDEPENDENT AS LONG AS BN IS GOV.
WE HAV TO WAIT FOR PAKATAN RAKYAT TO FORM GOV,THEN ONLY WE CAN GET INDEPENDENT JUDICIARY,INDEPENDENT ACA AND POLICE FORCE WHICH HAS INTEGRITY.
SO PEOPLE,DON'T BE HOODWINKED BY ALL THESE SO CALLED PROMISES BY PRESENT SINKING BN GOV.
written by mgeo, April 22, 2008 15:55:49
More hot air, the main product of politicians. We have heard over time that all these are independent or unbiased: Judiciary, Police, Election Commission, ACA, BNM, Public Accounts Committee, Auditor General, Attorney General, the entire civil service, the Executive.
we have also had these miraculous Malaysian inventions:
(a) Govt. indirect financing of business capital.
(b) Govt. arranging soft loans to big new entepreuners.
(c) Govt. guaranteeing of profits.
(d) Govt. pepurchasing of failed privatised enterprises.
(e) Govt. closed (direct) tenders.
(f) Govt. secret (OSA) agreements with businesses.
(g) Shortcircuiting Finance Ministry using EPU and EAEC.
(e) "Zero inflation".
Bottom line: the big fish are not behind bars.
We also have various other promises like "caring society" (no begging for food and medicine, curtailing of abuse their wives and children, action on missing children), environmental protection, food security, public safety.
"The people want only two things: bread and circuses." -- Juvenal
written by Krazee, April 22, 2008 18:36:45
ACA totally independent and will investigate high profile cases without fear or favour ??? If you beleive that with BN in power, then I believe the cow Jumped over the moon !!!
written by RobertS, April 22, 2008 18:59:29
ACA Please employ a team of proctologist to investigate and dig from the rear end of DocM,Sam,and the lot.... right until his eyeballs to reveal all the shit that they and they only know where they have hidden inside of them and where and how the Billions of the rakyats' hard earned RM that was wasted down the drain.
written by Vincent, April 22, 2008 19:02:53
Aiya....guys, just like previous time la. Talk only la no no action. If you believe this bn crap, pig aslo can climb tree loh.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by lynn, April 22, 2008 20:55:38
ACA, AG, IGP, all current heads must be chopped!
I sincerely hope AAB is not merely talking... what the hell, if no action after 5 yrs, he will tell you, I need more time!
OK, assuming his 'reformed ACA' goes after some "corrupt cases" - watch this, ACA will go after the ikan bilis. Listen, the rakyat wants blood, we are definitely not interested in the 100 ringgit cop or few thousand here & there, we are talking abt tens, 100s of millions, billions.
Frankly, if he had no intention of addressing these issues when he first came into power, will he do so now? It's so unnatural! Wait 4 or 5 yrs, then PR will be swung into power. A matter of sooner or later.
written by FFT, April 23, 2008 03:01:40
And the first act of an independent ACA is to investigate Mahathir's alleged crimes, including giving away prime timber to his evil comrade Mugabe, and allegations that he bailed out his children's businesses during the 1997 economic crisis.