Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Let’s cut this racial crap

Let’s cut this racial crap PDF Print
Monday, 21 April 2008 15:29

Hey, let’s cut this racial crap. Let’s get rid of all this bullshit. We will fight for the release of the HINDRAF 5 because they are innocent victims, not because they are Indians.

What’s with this FREE THE HINDRAF 5 campaign? Hey, I too support the HINDRAF 5. I too want them freed. But I do not agree to a FREE THE HINDRAF 5 AND ONLY THE HINDRAF 5 campaign. I want to see a FREE ALL ISA DETAINEES AND ABOLISH THE ISA campaign. Is that too much to ask for? And why should I not want to ask for that?

Since the ISA became law in 1960, an estimated 6,000-10,000 people have been detained under this draconian detention without trial law. No one knows the correct figure because the government does not reveal the actual figures -- so we can only make an educated guesstimation. But we act as if only five Indians were ever detained under the ISA. Hey, hear this, an estimated 6,000-10,000 Malaysians have been detained under the ISA, not just five Indians. And do you know how many still languish in the Kamunting Detention Centre? And how many are there still in Simpang Renggam under Emergency Ordinance detention, all victims of detention without trial because there is no evidence to put them on trial?

I also hear shouts calling for the detention of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad under the ISA. I am against that. If the ISA is wrong then it is wrong. We can’t use a wrong law to do what we think is the right thing and then try to pretend it is right. Rape and murder is wrong. But if we arrest a foreign spy who works against the interest of this nation, can we then rape and murder her and then say it is right because she is an enemy of the state? Wrong is wrong and can never be right, whatever the reason we may have in doing that particular wrong deed.

Okay, today, five Indians have spent the last few months under ISA detention. Yes, five Indians who are alleged to be dangerous people who have links with Sri Lanka Tamil Elam terrorists and who plan to bomb and kill innocent Malaysians. But Malaysians do not believe this allegation. Malaysians do not trust the government’s version of the ‘truth’. Malaysians know that this allegation is false. The only reason these five Indians have been detained is because they oppose the Umno-led Barisan Nasional government.

What about the scores of others who are still under detention in Kamunting, some for more than six or seven years? They too have been accused of having links with international terrorists groups. They too are alleged to have planned to bomb and kill Malaysians. But no one cares about them. If they are Malay-Muslims then the allegations must be true. But if they are Indian-Hindus then the allegation is false. We can believe that the government will detain Malay-Muslims because they are really and truly terrorists and the government is not lying. But when it comes to Indian-Hindus then the government is lying.

Do you know that many Malays have been detained under ISA just because they left Islam to become Christians? Do you know that many Malays have been detained under ISA because they do not follow the Sunni sect of Islam but believe in the Shi’a or some other sect? And these people are not ‘stupid’ kampong people. These people are university lecturers and professors who are well-educated and well-read and, after much research, decided that some other religion or some other sect of Islam is more accurate and correct.

No, not only five Indians are still in Kamunting. Many others are there as well. And you people reading this do not even know how many are still in Kamunting. And you also do not know why they are still in Kamunting. And you do not know because you do not care. But you know about the HINDRAF 5. That is because you only care about the HINDRAF 5. And you do not care about the others because they are not Indians.

Hey, let’s cut this racial crap. Let’s get rid of all this bullshit. We will fight for the release of the HINDRAF 5 because they are innocent victims, not because they are Indians. And we must also fight for the release of all the others because they too are innocent victims, just like the HINDRAF 5.

And what about BSA Tahir? He too has spent many years under ISA detention? What was his crime? None! Is he a threat to national security? No! Is he a danger to Malaysia? No! Did he plan to bomb and kill Malaysians? No! Then why is he under ISA detention? He is under ISA detention because he was the adviser to the Prime Minister’s son’s company and they exported centrifuges to Libya. Why is that considered a crime? It is considered a crime because Libya is not America’s friend. But if Libya were America’s friend then that would not pose a problem and it would not be a crime.

So, BSA Tahir will be under ISA detention until the day Libya kisses and makes up with America. So, until then, we shall fight for the release of the five Indians but not for the release of BSA Tahir or the many Malays who are also under ISA detention just because they wanted freedom of religious beliefs.

No, I will not support the fight for the release of the HINDRAF 5 if the fight is because they are Indians. I will support the fight for the release of the HINDRAF 5 if the fight is because the ISA is cruel and NO ONE should be detained without trial. And that would include everyone still in Kamunting, not just the five Indians.

The government detained six Shi'a Muslims under the ISA between October 2000 and January 2001, three of whom reportedly were still being held in November. Other ISA detentions of Shi'a Muslims in previous years were said by government officials to be necessary to prevent "religious disharmony" that could damage the nation's political and economic development.

On November 5, 2000, police punched and kicked participants at a peaceful demonstration outside the city of Klang, fired tear gas and water cannons, and arrested 126 people demonstrating in support of Anwar Ibrahim. The National Justice Party (Partai Keadilan Nasional or Keadilan), founded by Anwar's wife, Wan Azizah, had applied for but been denied a permit to hold the demonstration.

In January, nine government opponents were arrested and charged with rioting in the run-up to the November 2000 by-election in Kedah. The nine were accused of trying to prevent busloads of supporters of the ruling coalition (Barisan Nasional), whom they believed were traveling to the area to vote illegally, from reaching the polls.

In January, police also forcibly prevented political speeches and stopped cultural displays at a multi-cultural festival organized by the opposition, despite having issued a permit for the festival. Police also stopped a book launch party at a restaurant attended by more than 1,000 former Labour Party members. The book was a historical account of the leftist party disbanded three decades ago.

In February, police arrested four protestors, including Keadilan Vice-President Tian Chua and columnist/filmmaker Hishammuddin Rais, at a demonstration calling for former Attorney General Mohtar Abdullah to be for abuse of power in conducting the prosecution of Anwar. On February 14, police used tear gas and water cannons to disperse 15,000 to 20,000 people at a Keadilan political rally in Kampung Lahar, held on private property. Police had refused to grant a permit for the rally.

On February 9, Marina Yusoff, former vice president of Keadilan, was fined 5,000 ringgit (approximately U.S. $1,315) for asserting in a speech in September 2000 that the ruling coalition had sparked anti-Chinese riots in 1969 following a local election defeat. On March 5, Keadilan youth leader Mohamed Ezam Mohamed Nor was arrested and subsequently charged with sedition for remarks published in Mingguan Malaysia newspaper in which he reportedly stated that he would continue leading street demonstrations until the government was brought down. On March 6, police arrested nine people who held a candlelight vigil for him outside a police station. Ezam was released on bail on March 13, but, as described below, was subsequently rearrested less than a month later under the ISA.

Ethnic violence broke out on March 9 when ethnic Indians and Malays clashed in Kampung Medan, a poor quarter of Kuala Lumpur. Police reported that six people, including five of Indian origin, were killed and over fifty injured. Most of the wounded were also ethnic Indians. Four opposition party leaders jointly challenged the official casualty figures, suggesting the actual figures were higher: in response, the government threatened to charge them with sedition, though no charges were ultimately brought. Indian community representatives continued to demand further investigation.

On April 10-11, just days before public protests planned to mark the second anniversary of the sentencing of former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim, the authorities detained seven opposition leaders under the ISA, then three other people in the following days. Most of the ten, who were all held incommunicado until May 4, were members of Keadilan. The authorities alleged that they were plotting to overthrow the government but produced no evidence to substantiate this. On May 30, in an unusual and courageous ruling Judge Hishamuddin Yunus ordered the release of two ISA detainees on a writ of habeas corpus, and suggested that the parliament should review and either scrap or amend the ISA to reduce its potential for abuse. By mid-November, authorities had released three more detainees, but five had been served with two-year detention orders and were being held at the Kamunting Detention Centre. The five are: Tian Chua, Ezam Mohamed Noor, Hishammuddin Rais, Saari Sungib, and Lokman Nor.

In July, the authorities detained two student activists, Khairul Anuar Ahmad Zainuddin and Mohamad Fuad Mohamad Ikhwan, under the ISA, the former for twenty three days and the latter for ten days.

Also in July, the government banned all political rallies stating that they would undermine the country's security. When PAS subsequently planned a series of meetings to protest the policy, police refused to grant permits and dispersed those who attempted to attend. On August 2-4, police arrested an additional ten people under the ISA, all of whom were affiliated with or supporters of PAS, including four prominent youth leaders. The authorities said the ten belonged to a group that planned to overthrow the government, sometimes labeling the group the Malaysian Militant Group and sometimes the Malaysian Mojahedin Group. One of those detained, Nik Adli Nik Aziz, was the son of a leading PAS official. The authorities alleged he had received military training in Afghanistan and had learned bomb making from Muslim rebels in the Philippines, but he denied this and PAS leaders emphasized that they used only peaceful, democratic means in their struggle against the ruling coalition. As of mid-November, nine of the ten remained in custody after being served two-year detention orders.

Four days after the September 11 attacks in the United States, Deputy Prime Minister Abdullah Ahman Badawi sought to justify the ISA as providing "an initial preventive measure before threats get beyond control," and on October 10 two other alleged members of the Malaysian Mojahedin Group were detained under the act. PAS leaders, however, dismissed the detentions as a "political ploy" and challenged the government to bring charges and produce the detainees in open court.

Human Rights Watch World Report 2002

Comments (123)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, April 21, 2008 15:41:31
I will support the fight for the release of the HINDRAF 5 if the fight is because the ISA is cruel and NO ONE should be detained without trial. And that would include everyone still in Kamunting, not just the five Indians.

So let's work on it instead of throwing tantrums!
disagree 17
agree 217
written by peacemaker, April 21, 2008 15:42:37
we, RAKYAT Malaysia want the ISA to be abolish and all the ISA detaineess to be released immediately. When is Pakatan Rakyat going to form Federal Government?? We are waiting desperately. Just kick BN out!
agree 212
written by Thian, April 21, 2008 15:46:05
Agreed what is right is right and wrong is wrong. Likewise two wrong does not make a right. ISA is wrong. For that I support what you wrote. Let us know what we can do?
written by fairnessforall, April 21, 2008 15:46:57

I agree with you, we should fight to release all those detained under ISA irrespective of whether they are indian, chinese, malay or others. I do not think its fair to only say release the HINDRAF 5 while the others are left to rot. I am an indian myself but I feel we should not be fighting for our own race only but for everyone who has been wronged irrespecive of their race, and I fully support the fight to release all those detained under ISA and the ISA to be abolished. If someone has really done a crime, then goverment need not worry, all they have to do is let that person go throught the proper cause of justice. Take the necessary action and let the courts decide (hopefully the judges will be independant and will not bow to the goverments side). We want justice and fairness for everyone, we dont care what race or religion they are.
agree 119
written by SeriousLy, April 21, 2008 15:51:48
Somebody sent me this. Maybe it should be modified more. Read this.

The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house and laying up supplies for the winter.
The Grasshopper thinks the Ant's a fool and laughs & dances & plays the summer away.

Come winter, the shivering Grasshopper calls a press conference and demands to know why the Ant should be allowed to be warm and well fed while others are cold and starving.
TV1, TV2 & TV3 show up to provide pictures of the shivering Grasshopper next to a video of the Ant in his comfortable home with a table filled with food.
The majority of the Parliament are stunned by the sharp contrast. How can this poor Grasshopper allowed suffering so?
KJ stages a demonstration in front of the Ant's house .
Naz goes on a fast along with other Grasshoppers demanding that Grasshoppers be relocated to warmer climates during winter.
Most of the related people criticizes the Malaysia Government for not upholding the fundamental rights of the Grasshopper.
The local news paper & the Internet is flooded with online petitions seeking support to the Grasshopper (many promising Heaven and Everlasting Peace for prompt support as against the wrath of God for non-compliance).

Deputy minister immediately passes a law preventing Ants from working hard in the heat so as to bring about equality of poverty among Ants and Grasshoppers.

Hisham holding the keris and makes 'More Special Reservation ' for Grasshoppers in Educational Institutions & in Government Services.

The Ant; fined for failing to comply with 30% sharing and having nothing left to pay his retroactive taxes; its home is confiscated by the Government and handed over to the Grasshopper in a ceremony
covered by maju ---------.

Prime Minister announces to the whole Malaysia that this is part of the NEP and all have to respect, no question ask and have to follow it.

In short period of time...

Many Ants has since migrated to the US and set up multi-billion dollar company.
A number of Ants stayed back to make their money and just waiting to migrate when time comes.
1,000,000,000s of Grasshoppers still die of starvation despite reservation somewhere.
Because of loosing lot of hard working Ants and feeding the Grasshoppers,
Malaysia is still a developing country!!!
All bcos the ANTS are still doing their work!
disagree 28
agree 188
written by malsia1206, April 21, 2008 15:54:14
Racial crap? I thought this is what Malaysia is all about for 50 years since Merdeka. Nothing has changed since then. And it sure looks like we are in for another long 50 years of more racial crap. Are we really going to kid ourselves that 'race' is no longer a defining term in our local dictionary for all things past, present and future in this country?
written by rayfire, April 21, 2008 15:58:30
Agreed. Why exclusively demand for release of five, Go against the whole idea of having ISA in the first place!
Abolish and free ALL ISA detainees!
Perhaps an indefinite close to the law is desired!
Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com
written by Awang Hitam, April 21, 2008 16:00:39
Hi Raja Petra,
Some of the happenings I am aware while some were not reported in certain dailies missed my read and I am sorry!

I concur that ISA should and must go. One BN idiot (no naming who here) stated Bush adopt similar to ISA after Sept 11 for his Home Land Security.
I was so enraged I scolded CuNN (profanity in Hokkien that I learnt well) about 6 to 7 times at that idiot in my toilet!
BN oh BN tolols/morons, do not even glorify an archaic Act/Law when you do not even have a decent meritocratic law for all Malaysian.

The issuance of Police permits for rally should also be looked into. Why is BN gomen can have tents set up for some disguided events which touch on political speeches and not classify a rally?
While PR private gathering in SSC was considered a rally. Can't we have 20,000 Malaysians basked in the nice April showers or dim moonlight and listen to anyone talk and of course celebrate your wedding anniversary? A belated wish and may you have another 50 years of bliss!

It was so touching to see so many Malaysians gather together without segregation of ethnicity and religions.

Long live Raja Petra, we the normal Malaysians need your guidance and insider news to support for change and freedom.
written by temenggong, April 21, 2008 16:02:56
Hindraf has called for the release of not just the Hindraf 5 but all the 87 detainees in Kamunting.

What we need is a separate Prevention of Terrorism Act that allows special judicial sanctioned surveillance, wiretapping and preventive arrests based on rudimentary evidence and information, but still they must be charged in open court within an acceptably longer period of time, and on the admissability of surveillance and circumstantial evidence.
written by Raja Chulan, April 21, 2008 16:05:55
This reply is for tong's comment above and similar minded people.

The Police especially the Special Branch is well resource to monitor and curtail terrorist activist. An efficient Special Branch do not require ISA or any other dragonian legislation the curb terrorist activities. Currently the Special Branch has got a lot of time in its hands and therefore keep undermining law abiding citizen. When dragonian law are abolished, the SB will have its hands full and therefore conduct real intelligence activities as it is supposed to. It will stop behaving as a runner or Ma Chai for the UMNOputras and help maintain the security of Malaysia.
written by mawi, April 21, 2008 16:08:23
Seriously,
you are seriously wrong to paint a picture of one race being superior from the other. Insinuating the Malays as grasshoppers and Chinese as ants and trying to gain sympathy from this twisted tales is really grotesque and irritating.

I, for one, amongst the millions of Malays, have not missed a single day of labour to feed my children and provide them with the skills they need to have in order to survive, Like the millions of Malays , e have not stole a single sen from the Chinese nor do we had ever deny them of their fruits of labour. In fact , it was the chinese( or you would have them referred to as ants) that keeps robbing us of our rights by collaborating with the UMNOPUTRA year in and year out. Remember TengkuWong, Patrict Badawi, Vincent Tan, etc. Poor ants are those that works hard but still lives in poverty not those who sucks people dry and live in luxury.

agree 108
written by ibabonma, April 21, 2008 16:12:40
What about those detained under the Emergency Ordinance prior to the enactment of ISA? Were they forgottened? Hey! kawan, I was without a father for 5 years so that UMNO can enjoy Merdeka and plunder Malaysia the like of PENYAMUN TARBUS.
written by qitaro, April 21, 2008 16:13:40
Agreed. I voted Manoharan hoping PR will abolish ISA.

If they become gomen, I hope PR will close down Kamunting and turn it into a museum. Let the future generation know ... detention without trial is unethical and such mistake should not be repeated again. Ever.

written by malaysianohope, April 21, 2008 16:15:46
Greetings Pete!

I did not agree with some of your recent postings but this one I back you 100%. ISA is not only draconian but transcend racial description. ISA is only used in fascist and communist countries where the laws are spelt out and dispensed only by the people in power but Malaysia is supposed to be a Democratic country.

Dear All this is the best opportune time to press the Government to abolish ISA once and for all.
written by Thomas47, April 21, 2008 16:17:35
Maybe the government will eventually abolish the ISA. The question is when? In the meantime that does mean those languishing inside the detention centres are to be left just like that and completely forgotten over times.

RPK is right. In our zeal to have those HINDRAF 5 released, the fate of the rest of the detainees were overlooked. At least he banged our heads right and proper in the nick of time, less we are caught with our pants down being labelled just the same of what we are trying so hard to a eradicate. RACISTS!
And I really hate that. Thanks a lot RPK and I'm still smarting.
written by Atheist, April 21, 2008 16:19:51

It is valid what you say but ....

I see the Hindraf 5 not as Indians but 5 BOLD Malaysians that stood and fought for what they and WE believed in. In another words, they fought for a better prospect for Malaysia and all those in it.

Unlike your muslim friends in Kemunting who were only fighting for THEIR way of life. Hence, it is the scope of the idealogy and the numbers that it encompasses and affects. The Malay Muslim issues were precisely that and had nothing Malaysian to reflect. However, it can be and will be argued that 'Am I my brother's keeper' and who is RELATIVELY right and wrong.

Anyway, back to the issue. I saw 5 Malaysians put Samy Vellu in his place (long overdued) when I was afraid to stand beside them no matter how much I wanted to. I also saw the very same 5 initiate a cascading effect that now gives Malaysia a second chance to better itself. So for all this, they must be released.

If not, for the sake of being fair, throw all the crooked MPs, past and present, with them (God knows that the Hindraf 5 don't deserve that ).
disagree 21
written by SocratesI, April 21, 2008 16:26:06

Hear Ye, Hear Ye !! Justice for ALL, not just for one segment of the populace !! What is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander !! Repeal the ISA forthwith !! Free ALL ISA detainees - these are all unjustly detained without trial. Either put them on trial or SET THEM FREE !!

While we are at it, repeal the PPPA as well and do away with licenses for media !! Let the Makkal Osai operate, and all other media.

Repeal the final muzzle of the Rakyat - The Seditions Act. Free speech must be allowed in a democracy, and there are enough laws to ensure responsibility with free speech !!

Malaysia was so much a police state under dictatorial rule esp. during the time of Maha-despot, and we were promised so much in 2004 by Bodohwi, and subsequently let down badly, we must strive consciously to be rid of this "Big Brother is watching you, and can throw you in jail and throw away the keys anytime you don't support the corrupt Govt." baggage!!

Let us rise up and be FREE !! When is the street demo for this?? I want to attend and make a point!!! Makkal Sakhti !!!

written by picadilly, April 21, 2008 16:39:47

the call for Hindraf 5 release is because now only the Indians eye open that there is a place called Kamunting where they can be detained by BN under ISA.

For 50 years Indians , never give a hoot abt ISA because nobody was there mah, They also didnt give a damn about opposition because BN was their apple-of the eye..

Only Now after Uthaya gets kicked into ISA, seems like he is loving the attention and planned it beforehand to ente ISA.. the Indians are Joining the fray to condemn ISA..

At least the Indians made it to this political awareness and not after another 50 years.. Hindraf accelarated the speed of awareness, Now is to all ISA detainess.

The Indians are begining to understand life without BN, let it sink and support GMI- GERAKAN MANSUHKAN ISA!!
written by sampalee, April 21, 2008 16:40:29
RPK,say it all.The root cause of the evil is the ISA itself.Seeking exemption for the five hindraf detainee is not the rakyat's perjuang to exterminate this evil,but trying to cut a deal with the devil.Makkal shakti is not Indian Shakti and is for ALL peace loving malaysian.
RPK,please continue to show the way and not loose sight of our goal.
written by Lim Lim, April 21, 2008 16:45:38
RPK,beg to differ here;hindraf 5 got hold of all the hooha becos of publicity not becos they are indian,for others...the general public are ignorant becos basically malaysian don't even know who they are,n how many of them are still being locked up there n for whatever reason!!so..who to blame???of course,as far as all the right minded malaysian are concerned...it got to be thrown out,that's for sure.
written by backs, April 21, 2008 16:54:14
detention without trial is wrong. but then some people argue about:
1) those suspected of terrorist plot, and
2) those of deviant teachings or religion (specifically relating to Islam)

my answer:
1) well, the downside of such arguement is that it makes the authorities (i.e. the police) lazy to actually do real investigation work, to find proof to try these individuals in court. it can be argued that time is against the authorities and for the sake of national security, they had to be detained. indefinitely? has any investigation work continued after such detention? any follow-up? no wonder our authorities are viewed as inept and incapable of doing their jobs!

2) i guess this arguement is a bit sensitive, when talking about issues of religion (especially islam). but my question is, do we sweep it under the rug and deny their freedom of faith (no matter what interpretation) , or do we confront it through inter-religous (or intra-religous) debate, forum and discussion? do we box our minds and heart, or do we encourage thought and soul-searching? have faith! isn't that what religion is about? no wonder, some (or most) muslims are viewed as xenophobic because they are told to fear that which is wrong, instead of 'enlightening' them to think/decide/judge for themselves as to have the courage to argue on the truths. if such deviant teachings are wrong, then judge them in a court of law. do we simply protect the poeple because they are naive, or do we 'enlighten' the people so that they mature and protect themselves?
written by PR Msia, April 21, 2008 16:54:28
Yes, agreed with you YM Raja Petra. We should include all the detainees.
Sometimes, politicians mind too rigid. They have forgotten the other detainees.
Good job YM.

written by Rock, April 21, 2008 16:55:28
Thats all about perception and situation. When things were bad, even the opponent of ISA asks for its usage. I was in for almost 4 yrs. Who cared? no one. Hypocracy is alive!
written by aryn, April 21, 2008 16:58:18
Right on!

Lately, we have been so busy bashing and scrutinising the PR governments that we forgot there are many more important issues we must demand from the BN govt.

Repealing the ISA, judicial and electoral reforms, barang naik, corruptions, a trustworthy and credible police force, apolitical AG...the lists go on.
written by Commonsenses, April 21, 2008 16:59:01
Agreed, ISA should be abolished and a law should be enacted to replaced ISA with condition that detention without trial be applicable to terrorist only not political opponents
written by omarkhayyam, April 21, 2008 17:00:38
yup ...

abolish ISA once and for all .....

let us do this for the sake of our children so we as parents will not have to endure the same pain that all detainees parents and loved once feel today

written by andalusia, April 21, 2008 17:15:53
There's no indication that the current government will free any of the ISA detainees in the near future. PR must take over the government now, irregardless of katak MPs or not. Cannot tahan lah.
written by rockli, April 21, 2008 17:23:15
Is there a petition to free the ISA detainees and abolish ISA?

BSA Tahir should not be under ISA, but the Prime Minister’s son should be.
Before we end the ISA we should put TDM and gang in for a year and then end it permanently, see how they liks it there.

A great statesman do not hide under repressive laws, as what is evil will be sufficiently judged by the law courts.
No doubt the ISA was enacted by the British, but the was in an Emergency.
Now what the hell are we facing. Commies are no more, the only terrorists are the body snatchers, L. N. Mullahs, berserk muslim fanactics.
written by chanatak, April 21, 2008 17:36:03

With due respect to your wisdom and temperance, I beg to differ in a limited way. ISA is doubtless draconian. You know it, as with those others who have tasted its effects. We are able to only voice our sympathies. We can at best try to empathize. That is the best we can do.

But to those in power, those who authorise and those who sign the orders of detention, do they not continue to steadfastly defend the use of ISA powers? They neither empathize nor sympathize. They continue to argue its usefulness. It is therefore necessary for them to taste the other end of the whip. But use it for the very same reasons they have used against others. They themselves have committed enough and more of the same acts.

That is reality. A hard dose brings reality in fast.
written by DontPlayGod, April 21, 2008 17:42:42
We all know pretty well by now that the ISA was enacted for use during the commuunist emergency. But now UMNO has used this ISA for their own selish political ends to stop any opposition to their hegemony and to put fear on any potential politicians or NGO workers.

Pakatan Rakyat must make a solemn promise to dismantle the ISA the moment they come into power.
written by vineeth menon, April 21, 2008 17:59:57
written by Atheist, April 21, 2008 | 16:19:51
" they fought for a better prospect for Malaysia and all those in it."
"Unlike your muslim friends in Kemunting who were only fighting for THEIR way of life."
----------
How sure are you Atheist... can i copy for you the conclusion part from the very first Hindraf memo which lead to this? here it goes..
"We fear that this peace loving Indian community of Tamil origin having been pushed to the corner and the persecution getting worse by the day ......."

Can you read the main point.. they where talking about Indians of Tamil origin. - got it.. cut short all those crap..

RPK's message is clear.Release all.. No call for release of just Hindraf5 but call for all ISA detainees.
written by ray111, April 21, 2008 18:28:06
way to go RPK. You really have my support and its such a waste that learned guy like you should run for Parliament. I really can see lights at the end of the tunnel if you are elected into the Parliament. Long live RPK
written by budakindia, April 21, 2008 18:55:06
yes yes we have forgotten BSA Tahir and others who are still in Kemunting!
written by ahmisk, April 21, 2008 19:02:12
Yes lets cut out the racial crap.

This includes the racial crap coming from some chinese and indians who love to call all malays parasites and bums.

written by Sutha, April 21, 2008 19:10:39
The government must release all the ISA detainees, political or otherwise. If the police or AG's office cannot prosecute these detainees for lack of evidence, it is the same as jailing them without evidence. What better reason for not charging them in court?
written by Taiping60, April 21, 2008 19:11:44
Totally agree with you RPK. Let's cut the racial crap.

If we continue to think racial, we are creating disadvantages for us. This country is for all Malaysian regardless of their origin and background. If you do good you should be rewarded and if you do bad, you should be punished. It is as simple as that and it does not matter what colour is your skin.

Any politician who preach on racial line should be rejected.

So lets begin now by putting pressure on the government to release all the ISA detainees. Next,do away with ISA. After that, it is time to pressure politicians to do away with racial parties and religious parties. As long as we have them, racial issues will forever be there and Malaysia will never be safe. There are some extremists among us who will take advantage of situation to build racial tension.

All Malaysian should love Malaysia should work in this direction.

written by LACOBRA, April 21, 2008 19:13:27
The trick is to put Mahathir in for ISA then most definitely the ISA would be abolished! Since he seems to be so vocal even at this stage and has some influence on the existing UMNO members.
written by cruzeiro, April 21, 2008 19:28:20
It was simply becos of their narrow ethnocentric concerns that I never supported Hindraf.
These guys, while complaining about racism, use a racial platform to air their grouses.

What is so wrong about fight for freedom of worship and economic benefits for all downdrodden Malaysians?
What is so difficult about fighting apartheid?

I just don't it ... what's with these guys?
As wrong as it may be, sometimes I feel all racists and religious extremists need to get whacked for "incitement"- not ISA, though.

(I was at one time quite suspicious of religious zealots, that I thot ISA was justified -not anymore, after I realized that it was this fear that the kept tyrants in power).
written by BillyH, April 21, 2008 19:31:48
I think we should organise another rally called "Free the innocent, abolish the ISA"

Bring 20000 citizens to the streets again. We should never stop fighting for what we want. I will stand there this time when they fire the tear gas and smoke bombs, I will not run away.

I'm sick of being afraid anymore. This is my country, I am its patriot and will not live in fear
written by cruzeiro, April 21, 2008 19:56:20
Many Malaysians of Tamil descent, claim to be "Indian" first, despite not knowing jack about India, have never set foot on Indian soil (if they did, possibly never beyond Tamil Nadu - a small state), nor understand its diversity/culture.
Many think that, to be "Indian", one needs to know & practice Tamil culture or use Tamil language!

I'm so sick of these ethnocentric ideals that has given a very ugly face to Malaysia.
Many "Indians" thought that the "Makkal Sakthi" rallying call, indicated "Indian" political might/resurgence.

Many "Indians" were proud of it.
They did not see it as a cry for "People Power".
They did not see it as a battle-cry for justice!

Many of the "Indians" are today coming out against ISA becos they wish to fight for the release of the Hindraf-5 "Indians".
I never agreed with the "Free the Hindraf-5" idea/ campaign, simply becos it is a very selfish campaign.
They don't give two hoots (maybe don't even know) about the rest!
Not becos they disagree about ISA.
In fact I'll bet my last dollar that 99% don't even know what ISA is.

Whack the racists, Pete - Hindraf, Makkal Sakthi, UMNO, MIC, MCA or whatever you call it!

The "free the Hindraf-5" campaign may not be wrong ... but it certainly isn't right!
written by nana tanjung, April 21, 2008 19:59:54
I was made to understand one of the things discussed between Datuk Seri Nizar and the PM when the former met Pak Lah at Putrajaya last week, was the ISA. Of particular interest to Nizar was the fact that the ISA camp is located in kamunting, in the state of Perak.

Can someone enlighten me here - what power does the state government have and can apply, especially with respect to land and premise uses that can, at the very minimum remove the camp from the state of Perak - things like lease agreement, land use etc?
written by Motherchell, April 21, 2008 20:00:01
Pete i agree what you mean , its very important to get rid of this metaphorical evil Law which has no substance what so ever in any Nation .If you ask me , to an Indian, kamunting was never in his mind till Hindraf-- and mo so all the goings on, the awareness of what ISA ia all about is only after Hindraf.

To be truthful,i didnt know all that you say ; all that you tell me now --- is shocking --- im petrified,at the numbers, i did not know the extend to which it had been misused . All those who have gone missing , all those who never saw the light of the day . I go down memory lane when ALLENDE was removed and how the Chilean citizens were massacred . Now i truly get the vivid picture of what went on .

The damage was done by the MSM , if the little lot out there are shouting out for the HINDRAF 5 ---- they only thought they and a few more are there. In fact one has to reminisce that they were classified as the docile lot and BN was everything to them till Hindraf created that truth about BN. They always voted for the BN --- because there was no awareness --- blind votes went to BN .

Its a razors edge -- it cuts both ways ----- what Hindraf brought about was the awakening --- so when they were arrested --- all they saw was them ---- not knowing all that you say here with clarity. Im very confident from this day forward things are going to be totally different for all at Kamunting . In fact its a blessing in disguise you opened kamuntings pandoras box .
I truly feel for each and everyone out there. The awareness about whats going on inside is mind boggling.
The end of the ISA for all out there is very near . I can see it vivid !!!!!!.
written by Camillus, April 21, 2008 20:01:11
Dear Raja Petra,

Indeed, the implememtation of ISA is flawed.

Saying that, there is a case for "pre-emptive" measures. In the UK, the Terrorism Act allows a person to be detained without charge or trial for up to 28 days (I think). There were plans to extend this. There are pre-emptive measures in place in other countries. Of course, there needs to be proper policing of this - in every sense of the phrase.

Given that Malaysians are utterly stupid, I do not expect them to be able to identify the differences between the ISA and proper pre-emptive measures.

Finally, your take on the HIndraf 5 is justification that Malaysia still moves along racial lines. Why? Malaysians are as such!
written by Motherchell, April 21, 2008 20:10:07
Pete your insider articles is very crucial for a new Malaysia, Im very happy we have you and MT-----. keep it flowing Pete amid all dangers you cross . You have my admiration for your tireless efforts to see justice done to be seen. Your GREAT!
written by Bill Gates, April 21, 2008 20:28:55
The 82 Pakatan Rakyat's voice will roar in the coming parliament session to demand for the abolishment of ISA and free all ISA detainees.

http://pakatanrakyat-malaysia.********.com
written by lynn, April 21, 2008 21:02:48
RPK, totally agree with you. Maybe we need another march to demand release of all ISA detainees currently languishing in Kamunting & elsewhere? Let's face it. As long as BN remains in power, ISA remains. There is no other way but to bring down BN for good if ISA is ever to be abolished.

Many of us called for TDM to be charged under ISA because he who abused it, shld be compelled to be subject to the same harsh draconian law himself. (like the man who called a spade a spade shld be compelled to use one,,, ha, ha, not kidding.)

Everyone agrees ISA is totally wrong. It shld have been abolished when the Communist threat was no more. But some of the "gomen" officials found it a useful tool to silence dissent, & to maintain their grip on power to this day.
written by apasalahku, April 21, 2008 21:02:53
what a ****ed up police state we live in. Our taxes are actually used to fund teh Gestapo and the Nazi Party. Who the **** gave BN 50% majority in 2008 anyway?
written by tzarina, April 21, 2008 21:12:09
Well. Think of it this way. Without the recent outcry for the Free Hindraf 5 Campaign, there would not be have been much exposure on ISA, and the conditions of the rest of ISA detainees. When Anwar was detained, the political awareness among the people, especially the Chinese and Indians were not as high as what it is now. Thus BN still held power because the Chinese and Indians were lethargic about the politics of this country.

However, the Indians are standing up for their rights. Finally. And it was the Indian cry for Makkal Sakthi that became ONE of the major push towards creating political awareness in this country. Therefore, the lower income Indians who are more interested in the food on their table are throwing their support behind the Hindraf 5, because these guys were one of the very few who had shown any interest on their situation.

For the rest of us with full stomachs and diplomas hanging on our walls, we should think of the Hindraf 5 as the unifying public figure for gathering support for the case of ALL ISA Detainees. And if the result is the government releasing only 5 detainees, as a way to quiet the anti-ISA campaign, we should shout, stamp our feet and demand much louder for the rest of the detainees!
written by clarity, April 21, 2008 21:51:33
Universal declaration of human rights from United Nations Organisation from Article 1 to 15 of which this country is amenber strongly refutes the Isa, special rights and privileges. So why can't we take this up with them. Surf your net for Universal declaration of human rights UNO.
written by Abajawi, April 21, 2008 21:57:07
"And what about BSA Tahir? He too has spent many years under ISA detention? What was his crime? None! Is he a threat to national security?"

Not a threat to "national security" but a threat to Barisan Nasional security. A small point, yet very important point.
written by EYFF, April 21, 2008 22:03:22
Ever wonder why Malaysia and Singapore are safe from all the bombs and assassinations that are happening all around us in the neighboring countries??

ISA is a tool to fight against terrorism. Like all extreme tools it can be misused in a most drastic/shameful way by unprincipled men. ISA is neither good nor bad in itself if properly applied and with proper procedure followed for its application.

When properly applied we cannot even detain TDM under the ISA! Although many wish that could be so.

If ISA is abolished then will you all scream to the Govt to bring it back when your buses, trains, planes, shopping complexes, markets, mosques, temple, etc started to go pop/bomb? I just wonder? Will it then be too late when your families are mowed down by terrorist bullets?

Sure you will say that it will not happen here in Malaysia. After all Malaysia is such a peaceful country and as safe as New York of the USA! Always be aware that injustice breeds violence.

If there is no injustice in Malaysia, and with no one intending to do us harm, then by all means abolish the ISA! Otherwise if you dare??

The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
written by rantNrave, April 21, 2008 22:05:26
I will be the first to admit that I do not know who are detained under ISA simply because MSM do not cover nor is the information easily available to the lay public.I care but tell me how we Malaysians who believe in justice can play a role to have these detainees release and the repeal of the act? Tell us how so that it is not talk but action from the rakyat who wants to make the difference?
written by joejoe, April 21, 2008 22:07:23

How do you know BSA Tahir is still in Kamunting? Officially, he was arrested under ISA. What makes you think he is still there? Since he represented a VIP's company, perhaps he is somewhere else.

written by nk1881, April 21, 2008 22:20:11
RPK
Agree with you but must take one step at a time. At least get some out first lah! It is harder for fight for the ideal and take longer. Rome was not built in 1 day. Nothing racial here.
written by SBennit, April 21, 2008 22:39:26
Pete, I agree with you totally. I fully agree with you. Yor' da' Man, my man.

What you did here on highlighting the plight about the other detainees are good, but your shooting from the hip with your left hand when you condem the HINDRAF 5 supporters like me, when you say, "....That is because you only care about the HINDRAF 5. And you do not care about the others because they are not Indians......"

The only reason many of us are making a big fuss about HINDRAF is because we know about their plight....the rest of the sorry souls have mostly been forgotten, except by their families and loved ones.

Thanks for reminding us.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by SamYap, April 21, 2008 22:48:10
Hi Raja Petra,

Yes, you are right. I am in total agreement with you, though I must admit that the idea of sending a few of the BN fellas to Kamunting was rather attractive.

Now the question is, what can we do to assist in lobbying for abolishing the ISA?

Most of here have done at least 1 important thing - we voted for Pakatan Rakyat - for change. That's done, now what else?

written by Spear Bing, April 21, 2008 23:12:18
To All MT Bloggers,

Wow......biting, incisive, hard-hitting, smacked right infront of TDM's face, whose voice appeared to be trembling.....shivering, but still his defence mechansim is in full force.... HARD TALK BY BBC.

Check this out and give your comments.

copy and paste this website to your window browser:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/pro...358394.stm
written by notsosmart, April 21, 2008 23:37:18
................These people are university lecturers and professors who are well-educated and well-read and, after much research, decided that some other religion or some other sect of Islam is more accurate and correct........

================================================

Well....the above treatment was applied by Chairman Mao during his revolution.
And........never though that Malaysian gomen also behaved like communist's. Hope in the near future, the rakyat will hold them responsible for this inhumane act.
written by mijoan, April 22, 2008 00:08:02
I appreciate this call to cut the racial crap. Nevertheless, do you YM RPK think that with PAS' continuous call for an Islamic State, all these racial & religious craps will ever cease? I doubt it! We have already too much of Islamisation in Malaysia. What is it that is still missing that the Muslims are finding it difficult to go to heaven?
written by notsosmart, April 22, 2008 00:11:21
Looks like the future PR have a lots of tribunal to execute.
written by James Loh, April 22, 2008 00:36:49
I’m deeply saddened by Raja Petra anger towards Hindraf petition for freeing the 5 Hindraf leaders under ISA detention. Firstly, Raja Petra should understand the Indian are never as organized as the Chinese or Malay. Do you think they’re not concerned about other races? Have you try approaching Hindraf on organizing a petition for freeing all the innocents?

Also, I read several articles stated that the opposition party will demand for the abolition of ISA in the Parliament. I don’t think the leaders, Anwar and Lim Guan Eng, that being through ISA would forget the innocent detainees? Let’s wait and see.

Malaysian will not forget the innocents.
written by mgeo, April 22, 2008 00:37:35
"...an estimated 6,000-10,000 people have been detained under this draconian detention without trial law. ... the government does not reveal the actual figures..."
Maha Thiruden just told BBC that accusing him of arresting hundreds of his opponents was Western propaganda.
written by hakuna, April 22, 2008 00:43:45
RPK - A lot of people and NGOs have been trying for years to get the ISA abolished but the government always remained firm.
I doubt it has any racial undertone in it.
Your article may suit the present because of more publicity being given to HINDRAF but Malaysians for a long while have been against ISA so there is nothing racial about it.
written by Taufique, April 22, 2008 01:00:24
I will be praying for the day that Malaysia abolishes this Guantanamo style detention. And prayers for all those whos been wrongly incarcerated.
written by Adrian, April 22, 2008 01:04:31
MAWI,

to certain extend, I agree with you that there are many any Malay. But, please look around the GLCs and some bumi owned companies they will only pick people of the same race ---- too many grasshopers, even the ants work there become ant that look like grasshopper. At the end who suffer, the tax payers.

As for Patrick and Vincent, please leave them alone because if it is not Vincent or Patrick it will be Ah Tan or Ah Beng. These are handpicked by the people with POWER - it is the system that needs rombakan and there will be no more cronies. Open tender and meritocracy will solve 80% of the problem.

written by bugisman, April 22, 2008 02:20:11
well-said pete!
i'm tired of hearing hindraf 5 all the time. i want to hear free all ISA detainees and give them a well-deserving trial! i would say, chances are govn caught the 'right' terrorists but also caught the wrong ones...so a proper trial is what is needed. hindraf 5 or not, i don't really care, seriously, i hate the name hindraf 5, so indian, so racist.

i have always wonder, do malaysia has CTU, counter terrorist unit?
if we have this special force then ISA is irrelevant.

i knew that Special Force or Tindakan Khas was once used to deal with communists during the insurgence and act as the CIA for malaysia. so what's its role now, except protecting our 'beloved' PM & DPM? oh ya, also except using C4 for mere pleasures....

written by chuckmoore, April 22, 2008 03:36:55
Raja Petra Kamaruddin,

Indeed yes. WE must oppose detention under the ISA and call for the release of all ISA detainees and abolition of the ISA.

It is most unfortunate that the divide and rule strategy by the Alliance Party and its sucessor, the Barisan Nasional has worked so "well" that it has infected many Malaysians with racial bias and to think in racial terms, whether they be BN or PR supporters and there is a need for us to analyse, evaluate ourselves in a self-critical maner and clear out the poison in us created by the BN which infects us.

Divide and rule according to racial lines was encouraged to difuse opposition to British colonial rule and was continued by the ruling parties which took over to preserve and protect their interests and most unfortunately, there are some Malaysians, in particular non-Malay Malaysians who think that being radical in the the reverse -- namely racist towards the Malays -- is thr right thing but they are merely the flip side of the divide-and-rule coin and thus serve the interests of those responsible for the divide and rule in the first place.

Instead, we need to cleanse our thinking of the influences of the racist divide and rule promoted by those politicians and political groups who benefit from it at the people's expense.
written by chuckmoore, April 22, 2008 03:57:24

In addition, what's needed is a public campaign to demand the release of all ISA detainees, including all the named persons in your post above and all others, with brief descriptions of alleged reasons for their detention.

One reason why the Hindraf 5 are foremost in people's minds is that they are the most recent detainess, while the rest have faded from public memory.
written by alanec, April 22, 2008 07:55:47
Great one Pete....
everything that u mentioned is absolutely right!ISA must be abolished not bcoz of the case of Hindraf 5....it must be abolished bcoz we Malaysian wan a democratic country.....there's no way to detain someone by giving bullshit reason!
written by temenggong, April 22, 2008 07:56:13
Cruzeiro, we had discussed and I explained before that Hindraf by fighting for their rights they are fighting for everyone's rights.

A look at their 18 Demands shows that most of it are universal and egalitarian. I also said that Hindraf cannot achieve their objectives without achieving equal rights for all malaysians. In other words, malaysians struggle is already inbuilt into their struggle which started way in 1997, way before Anwar and Reformasi.
written by Motherchell, April 22, 2008 09:12:08
I fully agree with temenggong, and Atheist,while i don't agree with the substance of what
alanac says."""""""...........absolutely right!ISA must be abolished not bcoz of the case of Hindraf 5..""""""""Tell me which indian today says ISA has done good for others not for hindraf.??? If you ask me --- go take a poll and see if every indian today wants ISA repealed? ----the answer will be YES! because the awareness of the scorn of the ISA has been the latest in todays mindful.

No indian ever knew what kamunting was and what was in there. There never was any political enthusiasm or rancour towards how one were ruled. All they knew was -- semi value was taking care of them. As one MT member put it ----Have been stripped stark naked --" the anus is the only stuff left."

Lets put it this way --- imagine a scenario of ordinary indians from some backwater calling themselves mindraf or hindraf . Nothing would have taken the waves this 5 had gathered. What would the govt have said , or any one for that matter ------ bloody gangsters and terrorists !!!!!!and the indians would have nodded in a timorous way.

Vineet menon!-- as Atheist,put it in erudition. Don't we get it ?----- how lucky we are with the keyboards in front of us. the youtube, the web and all that we can reach to entente cordiale to decipher. More so depends on how we filter when we are the luckier lot to spread the actual truth. We all want a true Nation, not the kind of leader, who is fearful and divides and rules for his own benefits .

There are no winners in this game !!!!!!!!!!!!! to Pete ---- my thanks , cos today is the day we always dreamt 50 years ago-- it was so dark and dreary -- till you lifted us out of this shambles . The truth is -- there is more unity today then in the years before .

Lets get to work to bash ISA out of our system once and for all .
written by nathan, April 22, 2008 09:58:39
The cry for equality in the hearts and minds of the malaysian indians were only brought out by a small movement that started almost 10 years ago....the marginalized indians with little to their credit, though we had contributed to nation building and to create a better malaysia.... we were never treated fairly....much has been said but yet it still falls onto deaf years....our loyalty to this nation should never be questioned....The hindraf 5 have given up their freedom for the minority malaysian indians....and till the end of this generation...their sacrifice will never be forgotten by me and my family and friends and by all malaysian indians....who for years have cried silently....and as for the others who are in detention...for whatever personal reasons or reasons known to those for whom they fought for.... i sincerely hope their hearts and mind are strong enough to withstand their years of ordeal...the people have to come together...and state a common stand... to abolish an unpopular such as the ISA....
written by mijoan, April 22, 2008 11:40:28
Cruzeiro, I am a follower of your blog and I do usually appreciate you. Un- fortunately you are talking about Hindraf not actually aware of their objects and all that they are fighting for. I remember reading their demands (approximately 20 or so) sometime in the recent past. Hindraf has done its homework well though you have not and yet have condemned them. What are you trying to prove? We have far too many UMNOPUTRAS at hand and we do not want to add you to its number!
written by SeriousLy, April 22, 2008 12:01:34
Dear Mawi or who ever,

Who ever thinks that that story ant & grasshopper is racial, Think again! Because I have met Malays in US that work very hard and they tell me they will never come back to Malaysia. One is working in Los Angeles airport just as a Info cum Clerical Officer. He's an American. So are Malaysians Malaysians????? Wonder why he don't want to come back here when Malaysia has "special rights" for him?
written by SeriousLy, April 22, 2008 12:19:24
One more thing .. the story of Ants & Grasshopper, If you think you are the Grasshopper..then you are! I am crossbreed between ants, grasshopper and European Brown Hare. Malay Rights has a noble intention and helped Malays in very small ways in the beginning. Only a handful has developed and prosper. It need to be reform in to "Malaysian Rights". Because I had a dream..hahahaha. Malay rights has also breed a lot of corruption! It's actually the beginning and the seed of corruption! Smart businessman takes opportunity. Smart businessman got no choice anyway. Not all smart businessman are Chinese!!!!! There are smart Malay businessman too. Right!!!!!!!!
written by SUV, April 22, 2008 12:28:42
sy setuju 50% dgn cruz..true,indians regard makkal sakti as something exclusively indian,true,indians think "tamil is indian",but we have to b aware of the fact that,indians,r supporting pas,pkr,n dap...and telah sepak keluar mic,ppp...this is an awakening for indian..let this awakening continue..
written by SUV, April 22, 2008 12:32:44
Cruzeiro, we had discussed and I explained before that Hindraf by fighting for their rights they are fighting for everyone's rights.(temenggong)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
really,where is the evidence to show dat?come on lah macha...we knowlah..stop dis vennivil drama..everything will b ok..no worries.

written by SUV, April 22, 2008 12:57:36
well,mr eyff,one must go thru hell to c heaven..yes..and i want u to think lil bit deep ok...name me the countries targeted by terrorists,n why they r targeted?how come norway,finland,monaco,finland,(examples only) r peacuful,happy,prosperous,and practically no violence?what causes people to revolt,and in many cases take arms?think quietly b4 replying...

whats happening in malaysia is really really unique..silent revolution,no raging marches,everything working just like a swiss clock...n most importantly,its producing results
written by cruzeiro, April 22, 2008 13:38:13
Since three guys have mentioned my name, I thought that I might as well reply.
Firstly thanks for visiting my blog, mijoan - really appreciate it.
By all means do not hesitate to whack me .... a different perspective always helps!
This is also for temenggong .... I hope it will answer you as well.

You said, "Hindraf has done its homework well though you have not and yet have condemned them."

Believe me when I say that, I know that they have done their homework, and that I have studied their demands.
I do not dispute that their struggle for justice is right.
I simply dispute the "morality" of the platform upon which they have built their struggle!
I dispute the argument that their narrow “exclusive”, ethno-centric, isolationist, Tamil-Hindu platform for their "egalitarian" struggle, appeals to all communities (vi-a-vis) of Malaysia.
This self-centred struggle that only appeals to the dispossessed Tamil community would be a curse to the very community that they champion, as it further isolates them from the bigger picture of national integration.
Their supporters (not all, mind you) seem to perceive that all that matters, is the "emancipation of the Tamil-Hindu community"!

If they were sincere about their struggle for all Malaysians, why did they not oppose the racist MIC leadership that subtly preaches Ketuanan Tamil (for what it is worth) from the very beginning?
Why did they hesitate for so long to declare that the MIC leadership is irrelevant?
Why did they not stand walk with BERSIH?
Simply becos they chose to keep their struggle to themselves!
It is as simple as that.

In fact, I recollect quite their "strong support" for the leadership of BN, UMNO Baru & MIC, despite the fact that temples were being demolished by these very people!
This simply means that they did not wish their struggle to be part of the greater "MALAYSIAN" agenda, but a selfish, isolationist, Tamilian-centric one.
How different are they from the racist elements of the BN/ Alliance?
How different are they from those who fight for Ketuanan Melayu?
How different are they from those who fight for the utopian “Islamic State”?
I even recollect a regular commenter (and a former MIC supporter) here saying that they (HINDRAF) support the current government/leadership, but only dispute the implementation/delivery of the benefits!!
It was only when they were behind bars that they chose to reexamine the premises for their struggle!
It took them a long time to actually support the Barisan Rakyat informal alliance (now, the Pakatan Rakyat), despite the fact that it was only the “Opposition” that gave them any moral support!
It was only when they realized the futility and folly in supporting the racist government that they lent BR their support!

Don't get me wrong – I do not challenge the “universal & egalitarian” ideals that they represent, but only the ethno-centric nature of their struggle.
It is not that I support ISA or their detention, but that I do not support a “Free Hindraf-5” campaign!

As Raja Petra says, we need to “Free all ISA detainees & Abolish ISA”.
Period.

written by cruzeiro, April 22, 2008 13:46:55
BTW, thanks for your 50% support, SUV! smilies/wink.gif
written by Paramjothy, April 22, 2008 14:22:08
I totally agree with PRK that we should fight for the release of all ISA detainees. I also want to stress that if there is any group still thinking on a racial line of thought then it is time we boycott those group and not support them. All thinking in line of race should be forgotten and we must now think as Malaysians.
written by Paramjothy, April 22, 2008 14:43:16
I hope the opposition will look into ways of having racial harmony in this country very seriously. I know even now in university students are placed in rooms with their own race instead of mixing them up so there will be much understanding between various races. We must break this ethnic culture as the university is a place of learning not only for education but also society in general.
written by peace, April 22, 2008 14:49:08
Yes! We should cut the racial crap immediately. Wake up my country Malaysia.

The illegal immigrants (PTI) from southern pilipin and Indonesia come to Malaysia can easily obtained MYCARD with instant bumiputra status. This is FACT and happened everyday since Tun Mustapha time. A lot of reports filed and complains made but our gomen keep quiet only. Is that because this pilipino, java, bugis and now the pakistanese are the same religion with the malay that's why they got better priviledge than the pure local non muslim Malaysians eventhough our country has been independent for 45 years in Sabah?

Most of the country want to attract foreigner based on their expertise in certain field but our country are absorbing this bunch of parasite into our country with the expense of our tax payer money. Public facilities like hospital more than 50% are occupied by PTI (you guys can come to to see it yourselve in any hospitals in sabah). More than 80% crimes rate in Sabah are contributed by PTI. Syabu is bringing in to Sabah by the pilipino easily and eventhough our YB BUNG MOKTAR ever says the SYABU selling like Goreng Pisang in his area.

I am the 3rd generation of chinese from Sabah but it is totally UNFAIR for us and our generations to come since the PTI got better priviledge than us. No wonder lot of Sabah Chinese (most of them are professional) migrated to Australia. We non malay pay tax to feed the PTI? We don't get neither any discount from buying house nor any job vacancy in any GLCs (because they pick their own race and not based on meritrocracy)

PM, are you hearing the rakyat voice? or still sleeping? Walk the talk PM!
written by Paramjothy, April 22, 2008 14:52:09
More programs or policies must be done to bring about racial interaction between the various races. Then we can have one race BANGSA MALAYSIA
written by teo siew chin, April 22, 2008 14:55:39
"...what causes people to revolt,and in many cases take arms..."
---------------------------

yo SUV-san, somtimes u r so deep, u r dark smilies/grin.gif
yup silent revolution is the way to go!
so, why need to take arms?

to me, only SUV can give it to us straight without the astro drama smilies/wink.gif
written by batsman, April 22, 2008 15:13:14
Hi Camillus - Do YOU know the difference between ISA and proper preventive measures? Stop making claims - you are getting boring.
written by SeriousLy, April 22, 2008 15:24:54
The first motto of Malaysian National Service, or Program Latihan Khidmat Negara (PLKN) is to create "Racial Harmony". Let me point out that its created with a noble intention but of course with pocket money for everyone involved. "RACIAL HARMONY" that is trying to create is useless. Of course when you interview them....oh..it's good! But when any "group of people" has been gazetted to be special, its not harmony, its "TOLERANCE".
written by jivan, April 22, 2008 18:49:04
Dear RPK, From day one I have been supporting the release of the 5 Indian ISA detainees not because there are Indians, but because they are innocent. And I will continue to support the release of all ISA detainees. And the abolishment of ISA.
written by FFT, April 23, 2008 02:57:14
RPK said:
I also hear shouts calling for the detention of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad under the ISA. I am against that. If the ISA is wrong then it is wrong.

Well and good. When PR comes into power, they can move a motion in Parliament to have the ISA, the Emergency Ordinance, and all sorts of other repressive laws aboloished.

In the meantime, the ISA is still on the books, and the book should be thrown at Mahathir.

Mahathir, along with a select few of his minions, put into cold storage at Kamunting will allow for some stability until PR can take control......or does anyone actually want to see more violence that Mahathir's supporters are capable of, apart from their bashing of that young chap at the PJ hotel?
written by nathan, April 23, 2008 09:00:39
Most of you only can comment behind the comfort zone that you sit behind... all this talk about one race ,one nation is only a dream...DID 5 chinese malaysians or or 5 malay malaysians go in behind bars to highlight the plight of the marginalized indians...coz if they did... then they too will be my heroes....all crap... at the end of the day... everyman just exhibits his own personal selfish agenda.....
written by nathan, April 23, 2008 09:10:30
For years every ,one of you just stood... hands tied..mouth taped...fearing...of this corupted govt.. run racialistic umno.. playing the race game.. separating the multiracial population...marginalizing groups of citizens... enhancing themselves with richness.. they and their cronies just became richer... and all we did was stand and watch........until a small group of lawyers.... with no hidden agenda stood their ground... wanting just equality and fairness....highlighting the truthful grieviences of the small indian community....are we at fault wanting them out.....the draconian law is absolete... but pls dont telll us that our plea for the release of hindraf stuggle is unjust..... coz u dont have the RIGHT....
written by sonofman0, April 23, 2008 12:25:47
The ISA is there because the majority of the voters still want it there.
That is why they still voted for the BN to be in power in March 08.
Only the voters can change the situation.

I am afraid we will have to wait for the next election to see if there is a change in the attitude of the voters.

In the meantime those who oppose the ISA can only try to persuade those who want the ISA to change their minds. I believe that Raja Petra is trying to do just that.
written by lennonist, April 23, 2008 12:40:00
Raja Petra, with all due respect, your message of cutting this racial crap shouldn't be delivered here, much less in English. I believe your readers already have the intelligence to recognize the fact that racism has no place in any society.

Rather, your article should be also delivered to Malay-centric blogs, in the Malay language as the ball is in the Malay's court to take steps to unite the country. Non-Malays are after all only 30% of the population and have no real political power.

It would be nice if I saw this in the Malay language in a Malay blog.

Again, with all due respect, you're only preaching to the converted with a post over here in the English language.

written by cruzeiro, April 23, 2008 13:26:46
Racism, Makkal Sakthi, HINDRAF and ISA
http://cruzinthots.********.co...d-isa.html
written by MasterYoda, April 23, 2008 19:42:12
These are some Ahbeng jokes i just recieved...
anyone got Ahmad jokes or Muniandy jokes... please post

Lets cut this racial crap by laughing at ourselves.... anyone else care to join?

JOKE:
1.A man asked Ah Beng why Ahmad Badawi goes walking in the Evening and
not in the morning Ah Beng replied Ahmad Badawi is PM not AM.

2.Teacher: "I killed a person" convert this sentence into future tense
Ah Beng : The future tense is "u will go to jail"

3.Ah Beng : If I die, will u remarry?
Wife: No! I'll stay with my sister. But if I die will u remarry?
Ah Beng : No, I'll also stay with your sister

4.Ah Beng : Doctor, in my dreams, I play football every night.
DR: Take this tablet, you will be ok.
Ah Beng : Can I take tomorrow, tonight is final game.

5.Ah Beng : People consider me as a "GOD"
Wife: How do you know??
Ah Beng : When I went to the Park today, everybody said,
Oh GOD! U have come again.

6.Ah Beng : I am a Proud, coz my son is in MedicalCollege.
Friend: Really, what is he studying.
Ah Beng: No, he is not studying, they are Studying him.

7.Ah Beng comes back 2 his car & find a note saying "Parking Fine"
He Writes a note and sticks it to a pole "Thanks for complement."

Vote up if for those who are TOLERANT
VOTE down for those who NOT TOLERANT

For Indian jokes, Type: Russel Peter (YouTube)

written by teo siew chin, April 23, 2008 20:37:52
Laugh, and the world laughs with you
Weep, and you weep alone
For this sad old world
Must borrow its mirth
But has trouble enough of its own.

MasterYoda - you are an Ah Beng who is sharing the mirth, keep it up smilies/grin.gif
written by MasterYoda, April 23, 2008 21:09:40
teo siew chin,

Not only am i an Ahbeng... I am an Ahmad and a Muniandy too

any race you want me to be...

Because we all a come from the CREATOR.

Currently... I am all the Colours of Malaysia.

Cheers smilies/wink.gif
written by VIPER, April 24, 2008 15:22:27
get to the root of the problem,,,,,,abolish ISA
written by andywongkch, April 25, 2008 07:15:53
I was about to say something but I couldnt have said it better than what u have already said. And I will leave it as that!

written by lennonist, April 23, 2008 | 12:40:00
Raja Petra, with all due respect, your message of cutting this racial crap shouldn't be delivered here, much less in English. I believe your readers already have the intelligence to recognize the fact that racism has no place in any society.

Rather, your article should be also delivered to Malay-centric blogs, in the Malay language as the ball is in the Malay's court to take steps to unite the country. Non-Malays are after all only 30% of the population and have no real political power.

It would be nice if I saw this in the Malay language in a Malay blog.

Again, with all due respect, you're only preaching to the converted with a post over here in the English language.
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 10:54:23
the commentator above is zzzzzzz frm 1987 till 2day..yes,indian makkals played a very crucial role,its they,more then the hindraf leaders who r trully revolutionary...
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 10:58:38
the leceh part is,indians dont like to betray..they know,some hindraf talvar's actions,decisons,langsung tak masuk akai,and wrong,but the indian makkal dont want to branded as 'pembelot hindraf"
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 12:33:32
aaiyaah,wrong word..not betray,oppose..

anyway,wats d name of d leader who has chosen london as his comfort zone?what his name aah?he didnt participate in 25hb nov,lepaih tu lekaih lekaih cabut...pd bulan disember 2007 ,owang yg serupa tu ciakap,70% of malaysian indian r uneducated,cannot articulate well...apa dia bikin sekarang?oh ya pigi jumpa advani,dia suruh advani taroh economic sanction on malaysia(fooh,very pandai di ni..dia tak taukah,economic pressure on malaysia akan menyusahkan orang india jugak? ..and sekarang pigi geneva suruh some mat salleh jaDI SPECEL rapper2ar (why aah,dis fellas like 2 ampu bodek mat salleh?dis fella fogotah,who brot in migrant indians 2 dis country?he fogot ah,the country he has chosen as his safe haven ruled,raped n plunderd for over 200 years his mother land called bharat mata?)
http://www.hindraf4you.********.com/
http://hindraf4you.********.com/2008/04/meeting-with-rthon-mr-lkadvani.html

written by SUV, April 25, 2008 12:39:21
oh,ya..red rose for pak lah(now for the king),yellow roza for hindraf leaders,but no roses for 100's of thousnads of brave indians who gave $$$(4 hindraf ),who kena gas n terjang frm fru(as result 2 gol on nov 25th,and 2 more on roses day..did the hindraf leader vist the family yg dah kehilangan...tadak!!!!!)
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 12:40:12
Meeting with Officials
Hi all,

There will be a letter submission to our King.
Below are the details.

Date : 25th April 2008 ( Friday)
Time : 11.30 am
Venue : Istana Negara, KL
Activity : Rose and Letter to the King by W.Vwaishnavi ( 5 years old) to our beloved King.
She is representing Malaysian Indians future generation and will be there to present Roses and make a special request to His Royal Highness The Yang Dipertuan Agong on His Highness Royal Address at the opening ceremony of the First session of the 12th Parliament which is due on the 29th April 2008.

Supporters are welcome to join in the submission and we will hope that our King will accept the letter and address our issue in the Parliament.
Any concern pls do Mr Thanethiran, Hindraf National Coordinator.

Daulat Tuanku
Long live our King.

Nandri,
Vaalge Hindraf
written by SUV, April 25, 2008 12:41:38
Nationwide Convoy to Abolish ISA on 27th April 08
Hi all,

Hindraf is planning to organise a special prayers in Kamunting Mariamman Temple, Taiping for the speedy recovery of P. Uthayakumar and release of all detainee under ISA.

We are planning to create awareness and show sign of protest against this draconian law, ISA as well through Nationwide Motorcade Convoy leading to Kamunting Mariamman Temple.

Below are details :-

Date : 27th April 2008 ( Sunday)

There are few gathering spots for all the motorcar and superbike before we proceed to Kamunting. Below are the details of start off.

For Klang Valley and southern region :- PLUS Plaza R&R Rawang
Time : 8.30 am

For Ipoh : Ipoh Kallumalai Temple, Perak
Time : 11 am

For Northern region : PLUS Plaza R&R Juru
Time : 10.30 am

There will be special prayers and speech from HINDRAF Coordination team on the current HINDRAF struggle.

Pls do call te above number to confirm. Some stickers and posters will be given to all cars.
Let us all join together to show our support to our heroes and protest to repeal ISA.

Nandri.
Vaalge HINDRAF
Vaalge Makkal Sakthi

Kannan R
Hindraf National Event Coordinator
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by bogeyman, April 27, 2008 00:11:01
Dr Cruz, you hit the spot on the HINDRAF 5 issue.
Racism comes in all forms. Even the Opposition uses the racial card to their political advantage, simply bcoz we Malaysians are still shackled by this racist mentality.
BTW, I read your blog. You've got a new fan. smilies/wink.gif
written by RitchieLow, April 30, 2008 02:02:03
We all have to support Suaram in whatever means possible in their struggle which is what this article calls for. http://youtube.com/watch?v=eqn...re=related. They've been at it for donkey years without any success. Check out also Aliran's website for the list of detainees.
written by Fart Fart Wah, April 30, 2008 14:18:27
AGREED....WE CANNOT SEE RACE ANYMORE..THE ISA IS WRONG...EVEN IF THE MAMAK IS PUT UNDER THIS ACT IT IS WRONG...THE MAMAK SHOULD BE GIVEN A FAIR TRIAL....
ANYONE WHO SEES RACE IN MALAYSIA NOW FOR POLITICS OR RELIGION IS A BIGOT...
written by navascope, April 30, 2008 14:45:25
down with the ISA...goodness sake if they do not put a stop to this nonsense called ISA or rather Insane Security Agency if u ask me, then people who actually do blogs and those who who speak up will also be hauled up and kicked in....i pity for the hindraf guys especially for the man who did not even get the right medicine for diabetes....that is something we know...i just cringe for those who had been detained longer and wonder what they had gone through....for god's sake....wonder what is really is running in the mind of those in power and why they just cannot think like humans and abolish this Hitler-esque stupid dumb act...LONG LIVE JUSTICE and HUMAN RIGHTS....if there was ever a time it really did prevail.
written by bebas2lawat, May 01, 2008 13:38:31
While I support the fact that real threats to the country should be dealt with severely We believe in a just and fair system so those who are deemed a "threat to the nation"should be given the oppurtunity to defend themselves. The ISA is an oppresive and unjust peice of legislation.Sometime its used as a cover for sloppy investigative work or investigators are too lazy to do a proper investigation. I also agree that while we work fo the release of the HIndraf 5 we should also work towards the eventual release of everyone detained under this oppresive law
MANSUHKAN ISA!!!
written by comicality, May 13, 2008 04:28:35
Isn't there someway of getting international assistance or interference on the ISA issue? World Rights or something??
written by malaysia devil, May 21, 2008 19:46:27
Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore's Authoritarian Regime
watch video exclusively at: http://malaysianindian1.********.com/
please pass this message to all Malaysians, singapore needs freedom and they need malaysians assistance