Thumbs up for BTN PDF Print
Monday, 21 April 2008 12:40

(in response to Reflections of a singking Bahtera Merdeka by Dr. Azly Rahman)

Astonishing! From his article, Dr Azly Rahman claims

-         an educator and of an astute stature having given a speech at Harvard University on "ambiguities of freedom" in post-March 8 revolution in Malaysia.

-         "the BTN is the chief institution that disseminates the idea of Malay supremacy, makes Malays docile, wages nDoc germ warfare on Malays, breeds inter-racial hatred, destroys the possibility of inter-race dialogue, makes Malays afraid of themselves and their own shadow, and psyches Malays into believing that only UMNO is their true saviour"

-         "his own personal experience with BTN in1980's that BTM programs turning the Malay participants into leaders to hate especially the Chinese".  

I also did attended and found, unlike Dr Azly, that the BTN course satisfactorily achieved its objectives of inculcating the sense of Ketuanan Melayu , an alien concept to me then.

Backgrounder

Living among the Chinese communities in Ipoh during my entire schooling days, many of trusted friends were non Malays. Somehow after the infamous May 13 incident perhaps out of inherent fear, suspicion and sense of security, I got acquainted with more Malay friends but still never aside my friendship with the non-Malays. Through out my professional career, I believed I have worked well and fairly easy with all races. Living in this blessed country, mutual respect is mighty crucial for business as well as for the peace and harmony to prevail within a multiracial and religious society. My exposure to "Ketuanan Melayu" was practically absent then.

written by oster, April 21, 2008 12:56:21
The "statistics" you chose to believe without due scrutiny are themselves selective and whose methodry is not put up for constant and balanced scrutiny.

These "pressures" or "forces" "threatening" the Malays are often blatant accusations against conspiracies that have no solid foundations. Some of them show the hypocrisy of the Malaysian government, on one hand maintaining cosy relations with Singapore, on the other telling BTN attendees that they were "threats".

You have yourself professed your lack of ability in terms of analyses, yet you eat up the "analyses" given to you by these BTN speakers, much of which are thoughts from the gutsm nere "feelings" of what is the truth instead of properly investigated truths.

And the biggest fallacy of the BTN message is the hasty generalisations they espouse. Speaking as if Malays are universally poor and Chinese universally rich, generalising the stereotypes of each race etc.

The only openness present in BTN camps are ones within the bounds of what agrees with their message. You cannot question Ketuanan Melayu in these camps.

In my experience, we were told that "belum dapat degree dah nak lawan kerajaan!" is a wrong thing to do, but then again, this former military officer was practically saying those without degrees cannot oppose the government. What bigotry!

We were also told about his story of an "anjing liar" being fed by him, after which it remained loyal to him in his army base deep in the jungle and defended it against the Communists. In short, he was saying that sponsored students must be obedient and loyal like dogs to the government, ignoring the fact that it was the taxpayers' money funding us and not BN.

This was my BTN experience. It was peppered with days elbowing the guy beside you when it seems he was gonna say something out of line.

written by menowok, April 21, 2008 12:57:10
While government openly practicing racist policy against citizen, there’s a government machinery which inculcate racism into Malaysian young people. It is called Biro Tata Negara (Nationalism Bureau). I’ve got this from a comment of a person posted in:

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5023/1/

I’ve grabbed his statement and post it below. I’ll translate the content of the camp:

1.Malay will built their own country without non-Malay

2. Non-Malay owe Malay because non-Malay is given citizenship.

3. Non-Malay pay tax and the money collected will be used for public sector and government which has 90% Malay.

4. …………………

written by Loong, March 26, 2008 | 23:00:24
YM RPK,

I know how ****ed up this BTN brainwash campaign is. I am an oversea student and the BN govt made me attend this stupid BTN camp before going overseas. Among the content of the BTN camp (It’s true, I swear. It s written black and white on the manual):
1.Melayu nak membentuk kerajaan sendiri tanpa bantuan orang bukan Melayu.
2.Orang bukan Melayu terhutang budi kepada Melayu kerana Melayu beri kerakyatan kepada bukan Melayu. Hello, kita bayar cukai jugak tau, Mr.
3.Kerajaan mengenakan cukai ke atas orang bukan Melayu dan hasil cukai itu digunakan untuk membangunkan sektor awam dan kerajaan yang terdiri daripada 90% orang Melayu.
4.Punca keganasan dalam negara - mendengar ceramah Nik Aziz dan Hadi Awang and the list goes on….

It is frightening to know that every civil servant and oversea student will have to go through this BTN module and get brainwashed by the BN government. BTN is no good. From my personal experience, it makes some of my Malay friends feel that it is their right to do whatever they want with the land and some of my non-Malay friends are thinking of migrating and not coming back to Malaysia anymore. Even one of my relative’s friend in MCA told me to get out of the country once I have the chance and never return to Malaysia again….
written by oster, April 21, 2008 12:58:28
Also, not only Malays attend BTN sessions.

The whole flaw of your rebuttal of Dr Azly is that you miss the point about him being in disagreement with Ketuanan Melayu. You instead rebut by saying that the BTN is beneficial to Ketuanan Melayu, when he doesn't even want that concept to begin with.
written by SeriousLy, April 21, 2008 13:00:49
What a developing country needs is free flow of money or resources for anyone that is able to perform. Protectionism will only breed lawlessness, greed and reversing-development. We are not Malaysia Boleh cause we did not make the engine of our proton cars. The metal of tin that holds milk powder or condensed or milo is imported. The machine that make the proton cars are imported.
written by chanatak, April 21, 2008 13:08:08
I was informed that the Chinese preferred to send their kids to Chinese primary schools. I would take it that the Chinese have their individual “indoctrination” programs to sustain their wishes and I have no qualms about it.

For someone who projects himself to be an impartial analyst, I can see how blinkered you are in your indoctrination. Do yourself a favor. Stop this ego masturbation. You are already one-track minded with a coloured vision.

Chinese left government schools because the standards are so bad. School teachers are so ketuanan melayu minded, and lazy to give homework, and to mark homework. English as a language was neglected. A chinese in a malay school loses out eventually when he can speak and write only 1 language. Just like majority of the Malays. Your own command of english leaves much to be desired.

You seem to know "nuts" about Chinese schools. There are no "indoctrinations" of the political kind. But Chinese schools do emphasize these:

1) Learn as many languages as possible. 3 being the minimum. That is something Ketuanan Melayu never gave the Malays.
2) Work doubly hard. The government is not going to be fair to you when it comes to education in colleges and universities. Which is proven true. A malay with Bs can get into Form 6. A non Malay with less than 3 As can hardly hope to have a place. I got 2 A's. I only made form 6 through private school.
3) Forget about government service. Strive for private sector career or business. The government service don't want you even for window dressing. Isn't this proven true?

Look around you. Open your eyes. Stop pretending you are so open minded. Your intellect, quality of analysis and command of language don't measure up to Dr. Azly's little toe.

There you go.
written by temenggong, April 21, 2008 13:09:08
Isn't this program on the basis of race?

Perhaps the writer is not aware of what constitutes racism. Or the fallacies behind malay anthropology and history to start with, not mentioning the govt statistics.

The fact that Dr. Azly and others like him are working successfully outside Malaysia is proof that ketuanan (read mediocrity) is a non starter.

BTN is a well to poison young minds, like the Nazi youth camps. It churns out hate groups.
written by SocratesI, April 21, 2008 13:09:38
This twit doesn't even catch Dr. Azly's drift, and he goes about in his ignoramus' way, off on a tangent, shooting in the dark, and exhibiting his lowly intellect, and poor comprehension for all to see.

Any teachings, BTN or otherwise, which is race-based and racially motivated is against Nature, and natural Justice. Waste of time responding to this idiot's words, which are so badly arranged and his ideas (if any) so poorly expressed. Obviously, his BTN education didn't do him any good here!!

written by Oyster, April 21, 2008 13:20:38
What freaks me out about this is that years ago i saw grafitti sprayed on a wall somewhwere on Jalan Raja Chulan.It was of a Nazi swastika with the words "Brown Power"(very ironic indeed, but unsettling none the less).I pointed this out to several people who dismissed it as only the work of some silly idiot, denying that there was never any such movement in this fair land. Now it seems that there is and has been a " malaysian hitler youth" programme running for a very long time.
I heard that one reason the programme has not become fully manifest is because a lot of these little hitlers can't read or spell properly and have been 'supporting' Brown Powder instead. Serves them right.
written by MaddieC, April 21, 2008 13:28:29
During the recent convocation ceremony, the ex chief of BTN and present Vice Chancellor of UUM, Nordin Kardi the intellectual! had a video shown to the audience a keris waving person. It is so distasteful and smack of racism. Frightening to think that a university, with all the young minds, headed by a BTN chief.
written by Loong, April 21, 2008 13:30:53
Thanks menowok for paying attention to my comments. In fact, I have already emailed the MP in my area to bring this issue up in Parliament but I do not know whether he is going to do anything with it or not. If he does, you will know which town I come from. Haha!
Come on lah, brother! BTN sucks! No non-Malays will love BTN. And liberal Malays like Dr Azly will hate it.In fact, when the Malays are not around (praying), we, the non-Malays, gather and complain about the content of the BTN camp and moan about all discriminations we face in the country, from matriculation, uni application, scholarship, politics, etc. BTN camp has proven that the government treat us like a second-class citizen. You cant help but to feel that the government is making use of us non-Malays to benefit Malays, specifically UMNOputras. Anyway, we went back and faced our Malay friends with a smiling face as if nothing had happened but only God knows what is actually "brewing" in our hearts. My friend, EKB actually asked one of our Malay friends, H****r, this question: Do you think it is fair for the government to divide us according to bumiputera and non-bumiputera? Being a liberal Malay, H****r said that he yearned for the day that we will all be called Malaysians. That should be the spirit. BN's divide and rule system is already outdated and UMNO is nothing but a piece of fossil trying to stay "alive" when it is already dead for a long time. We must all work together to topple BN and bring a new dawn to Malaysia. Just like Japan's transition from Shogun era to the new modernized Meiji period. While I want to do something to change the country, I cant do much since I am now overseas.....so sad. Come on guys, let's screw UMNO's ass and throw them into a trashcan full of shit. We should embrace a new slogan for PM: "Anyone but UMNOputra".
written by ibabonma, April 21, 2008 14:01:12
BTN: Kilang pengeluaran yang menghasilkan Melayu bodoh.
Penceramah BTN mempunyai otak askar recruit!
written by Loong, April 21, 2008 14:10:12
Not related to the article but just to share some stories and want to hear some opinions. I know that such things (mentioned below) are not supposed to happen but it did and I think it will happen again in the future unless we move past racial politics.
The racial tension that one felt began at high school when we apply for scholarships. I was told that non-Malays cannot apply for Petronas scholarships to go overseas and MARA scholarships. They are reserved for bumiputera only. Ok, I was cool but some of my friends got really mad. The second bang came when JPA results were announced. Almost all of my clever non-Malay friends got nothing while almost all of my Malay friends got either MARA or JPA. Some of my non-Malay friends start to hate Malays at this point. Bang, that infuriated me a bit and I started to question the government's racist policy. Anyway, things went on quite smoothly and I later continue my study in I***C. Another form of discrimination occured. I applied for a college bus for Buddhist activities and even proposed the formation of a Buddhist club. But bang, it was not allowed but the same college allowed the usage of bus to Masjid Negara and they even have an Islamic society there. Well, what to do, we Buddhist people had to lick our wounds in the corner and most of our activities came from personal funding, aka, mostly my own money. When I was given the responsibility as the head of non-Muslim bureau during orientation, I disseminated information about Christianity, Hinduism, Catholic and Buddhism among the juniors. Then, I was called up by HEP and then I was asked, "You Buddhist kan, kenapa jadi agen untuk agama lain juga?" Ridiculous! It is this kind of mindset that inhibits Muslim people from progressing and developing rapport with people from other faiths. But I am not that "Buddhist" myself anyway. Haha!! Then, I had to attend BTN before going overseas which was the bang, bang, bang. It was mental discrimination and indoctrination. Thanks to the BN government's effective divide and rule policy. Bravo!! Even during Malaysian students' gathering in US , people FLOCK ACCORDING TO THEIR RACE. Indian students were SERIOUSLY under-represented. And some of my friends refuse to stay with roommates from other races and they deliberately choose friends of their own race to stay together. Malaysian politics are even brought overseas when some administrators label themselves as UMNO Chicago, UMNO Apanama, etc. Why dont just label MSD (Malaysian Student Department)-Chicago branch???? UMNO Morons!!! This is reality and this is a solid proof to show how brittle is race relations in Malaysia. I am from a daily school and I am very sure the situation will be worse for people who came from Chinese school, Tamil school and Agama school where they only get to mingle with their own race. I can send emails after emails requesting Kerismuddin, Tung Kau Chung, JAKIM, etc to drop racial and religious based school but it will not work because even the older generations seem to think in a racial mindset. Chinese and Indian parents think that their children must be sent to vernacular schools and Malay parents think that their children must be sent to religious schools to make them more religious and fluent in Arabic. So sad but this is the situation of our country.....liberal people like me will be facing a whole nation who has already been turned into "racial zombies" by BN government.
written by Commonsenses, April 21, 2008 14:39:52
Guys, racism is institutionalised by UMNO in the government to develop a country where public servants are told to be suspicious of non malays. This has been going on for years. MCA and MIC have been sleeping with the devil and allowing the devil to sodomised the chinese and indians.
written by cruzeiro, April 21, 2008 14:46:48
Confession from the author called "whackthembugger"

"I am just a simple minded Melayu (like a lazy big fat berok) who stay up on the tree top and from that vantage point, I dreamily watch the many opportunities slip way. I see no reason to compare with the Spartans or Athenians for examples,......"

======================

Who needs opinions coming from one who claims to be "like a lazy big fat berok".
They just need to live up on trees.
The mindless, shameless & bigotted simpletons they are ..... would sell their souls for some mi-goreng & karipap from BTN!
written by temenggong, April 21, 2008 14:59:30
This twit doesn't even catch Dr. Azly's drift,

But thats because of the way the good doctor writes. It will help though if whackthembugger gets down from the trees. The view from the ground is different, let me assure.
written by andalusia, April 21, 2008 15:24:17
Dear Loong,
Its very true what you have stated above. They say nik aziz, hadi, anwar etc... are root of all evils in malaysia. sickening smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by cruzeiro, April 21, 2008 16:22:59
written by temenggong, April 21, 2008 | 14:59:30

This twit doesn't even catch Dr. Azly's drift,

But thats because of the way the good doctor writes. It will help though if whackthembugger gets down from the trees.
===================

Temenggong,

Maybe he does - which may be why he ended the article describing "himself" as such!
Thought about that?
written by Dominic Kok, April 21, 2008 16:41:33
Dear Loong,
Thank you for your experience, I feel for your banged up frustrations. BTN was not on during my time and such programs sounds very divisive. So sad.

When I left M'sia 9 yrs ago, I thought to myself that once I've gotten the relevant experience in my career field, I would return. Sadly, I have since experienced the green grass on the other side and suffice to say I've now gotten a PR here and would only return 'home' as a retiree, provided I'm not forced to leave before then.
Why?
Having tasted a meritocratic plus capitalistic based lifestyle, I would say that the challenge has been satisfying. Personally it was not easy to adapt to the new lifestyle as I came as an expat's spouse. No orientation course to assist me in my search for work, so I had to be innovative to convince my prospective employer to invest in resources to get me a work visa. And the local job market here did not exactly weigh my previous work experience in Malaysia with relevance, so it was a very difficult time for me. After 2 yrs of waiting tables while I re-orientated myself looking out for breaks, I finally got a professional job, and another 2 years before I can put my MSc. qualification to work. Though there are good and bad situations in the current system of administration here, they’re mostly due to personnel ignorance if nothing else. Bottom line is that there are opportunities to be had, and rewards for the hardwork are tangible.
I do miss home and the whole nine yards but definitely not the segregated politics. I can say the same about ALL the Malaysians currently here at my locale, that they are somewhat homesick but if they’re to return for good, it is either by force (due to contract of sorts or visa expiry) or simply just to retire.
Programs like BTN will continue to provide the fuel to motivate non-malays to strive their very best to stay on overseas rather than to return to the immature and short-sighted mentality of the current government. At every opportunity for a Malaysian expat to stay on, they will do so. Consider the amount of professional brain-drain out of the country every year, it may not be a whole lot but that is the loss nevertheless.
No offense to the rest of the non-malays in malaysia because this mail is not to belittle anyone but mainly to share my experience of the change of heart and mind. I am still a true blue malaysian at heart, proud at the negaraku and my state anthem, I sing it to my kids whenever I can and I tell them about the land their parents grew up in, but the my goal of returning has changed just because of politics. How sad can that be?
written by doggone, April 21, 2008 16:45:30
You mentioned that participants are matured enough to make up their mind on what is good or bad and they would filter out those ideologies that are illogical. Maybe you have heard of the fine art of brainwashing or indoctrination if you like that makes zombies out of us. Try rereading RPK's article on 'The brain sees what it is told to see' and then go update your write up.

My take is this. Much as you try to camouflage your racialism and try to contradict Dr.Azly's view with an attempt at balancing your supremacist orientation, you really should polish up on the fine art of literal rebuttal to hoodwink your readers. Written as it is, you have removed all doubts your stance as a moderate Muslim and only reaffirm your position in our society as a racist we so abhor.
written by Bill Gates, April 21, 2008 20:31:03
The whole BTN's programme is seditious. I hope Pakatan Rakyat will charge the founder of BTN and condemn him to the core.

http://pakatanrakyat-malaysia.********.com
written by JaguhKampung, April 21, 2008 21:52:46
I only knew about BTN by the name in the past until went to see the official BTN website for myself after reading Dr Azly's and this fella's post.

I am truly appalled by this sick indoctrination by BTN. No wonder the Malays forever see the other communities in the countries as outsiders or enemies. MCA, MIC people should know what has been going on in BTN, why are they not doing anything about it.

This BTN should be closed down. This is institutionalized racism. Tax payers should not pay their tax to fund this kind of sick indoctrination. Those to set this BTN up is doing a great disservice to the racial harmony of this country.
written by JaguhKampung, April 21, 2008 21:57:31
Pardon my grammar

.... the other communities in the country.....
written by bn haramjadah, April 21, 2008 22:32:40
I read this clowns whole article and came to the conclusion, if you want to beleive in something, if the BTN HAD TO TEACH YOU ABOUT YOUR OWN CULTURE AND ANSTILL IN YOU the values of ketuanan melayu for you to feel superior, well and good sir, shabas, your parents were either fools or alcoholics, because the way you rant, in other words your parents didn't teach you anything about your culture and what not, you went to a umno sponsored propoganda and brainwashing symposium where i assume they also told you that the INDIANS WERE RICHER THAN THE MALAYS, RIGHT!!! and you being a typical lalang who can't think for yourself just followed the herd, I ASSUME WHEN THEY INSTILLED THESE KETUANAN VALUES they also told you that the other non-malays were a pariah race and should be shot down like rabid dogs at every opportunity, and I would also assume that they reassured all the attendees that in the name of ketuanaan melayu that it was ok to become corrupt in the processes, asking, sorry demanding commissions and kickback was your god given right, which fell under the ambit of ketuanan, RIGHT. GOOD FOR YOU SIR YOU JUST MADE MY DAY. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cancan, April 21, 2008 22:34:08
The Spoilt Child
The Power Of Marketing

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by bn haramjadah, April 21, 2008 22:54:09
I didn't realise until a minute ago that by reading this article the has answered many unanswered questions.
That there has been a silent agenda by UMNO to marginalise all the non-malay races in Malaysia, by lying to their component parties of the bn and others and the non malay rakyat. this unfolding saga has seen the advent of more islamisation plans being implemented, it is not been a case of little Napoleans, it has been planned and is being practised, and than the excuse is always been someboby has over stepped the boundries, just a slap on the wrist and after a short while shit returns to normal. That is why no action taken by the PM and umno politicians when body snatching was starting to become a recurring incidence, school heads marginalising students, is these where all the GOVT STAFF ARE WHEN THEY GO FOR KURSUS, BEING INDOCTRAINED IN NEW METHODS OF SIDELINING THE OTHER RACES. First it was bumi staff, than came bumiputra 30% shareholdings, than body snatching, meanwhile OUR children are being marginalised in their exams, with the matriculations or whatnot, no education opportunities here so their parents send them overseas, than their degrees are not recognised, others forced to serve indenture to the govt, but in appalling conditions, so much so that many opt out of their profession of choice, all this has been systemiticly planned, making things so difficult for us non-malays that we will migrate, whats the next ten year plan, 50% bumi ownerships,
temples have started being demolished, property snatching???? smart arseholes smart. but like all things the lament has always been the implementation, just too many dungus in the kitchen contradicting each other.
written by RitchieLow, April 22, 2008 05:35:00
“Few are those who see with their own eyes, feel with their own hearts and think with their own minds.”
--Albert Einstein

“The value of a man should be seen in what he gives and not in what he is able to receive.”
--Albert Einstein
written by SocratesI, April 22, 2008 10:34:27

Going for a course like the BTN must be akin to masturbating themselves - to make themselves feel good about themselves. BTN is nothing more than mental masturbation for the Malays who still want to believe that just because they are Malays, they are superior to all other people ... strange ... wasn't this called Nazism and Fascism in Hitler's Germany and Mussolini's Italy??

These pitiful misguided souls have nothing else they can shout about in a positive manner, and are non-achievers, only lazy beroks who want to feel good about themselves and since they are teruk in all endeavours they have undertaken, they can only use "Kulification" as a justification for "Ketuanan Melayu" as the lazy buggers don't have to do anything or to achieve anything to be a "Tuan". So sad!!! What a bunch of losers!!

written by NRR, April 23, 2008 19:23:10
We can pant and rant and the BN govt would do nothing to stop this BTN indoctrination. Just see what happened to the head of BTN. He has been made a Vice Chancellor so that he can carry on the indoctrination in an institution of higher learning. What a sad state of affairs. I don't see any light at the end of the tunnel.