Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow 5 state govts back call to free ISA detainees, Guan Eng tells Makkal Sakthi crowd

5 state govts back call to free ISA detainees, Guan Eng tells Makkal Sakthi crowd PDF Print
Monday, 21 April 2008 00:25

No letting up: Some 3,000 Makkal Sakthi and Hindraf supporters call for release of ISA detainees

For one moment, it looked as if the general election campaign was not yet over. The orange shirts were back in numbers. A similar crowd had packed the Penang Chinese Town Hall in the run-up to the general election.

Makkal Sakthi is still alive and kicking - and the newfound sense of solidarity has not abated one bit.

But how was Hindraf, the organiser, able to get a permit so easily for this gathering? Well, I suppose it helps if your star speaker is the Penang Chief Minister! Not that permits should be required for such gatherings. A couple of uniformed cops sat in the audience, a couple more outside the hall.

Syed Ibrahim, the coordinator of the Abolish ISA Movement (GMI), gave a run-down on why the ISA had to be abolished. Also on stage was human rights lawyer Latheefa Koya. It has been a long time since I had seen such a huge crowd enthusiastically calling for the release of ISA detainees. In between, cries of Makkal Sakthi! and Valga! (Long live people power!) pierced the air.

Grand reception: ISA detainees' family members enter the hall to a rousing welcome

Grand reception: ISA detainees' family members enter the hall to  a rousing welcome

How times have changed. If we want to look at it from a racial point of view, you had a Malay activist addressing a largely Indian crowd at the Chinese Town Hall!

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by DatoSeri, April 21, 2008 00:41:59
With such a stubbon BN/UMNO folks, we probably need another round of Makkal Sakthi rally with tens of thounsands to march in the 5 state capitals to push for the release of ISA detainees.
written by Remo, April 21, 2008 00:46:52
There is no more malay, chinese or indian speakers. As long as Malaysian we are willing to listen. If it is a fair request to everyone we will sure support.

Badawi you still want to keep quiet. For sure you not going to survive the PR strategy. Soon you will be out of office. Before that release the ISA detainees and abolish ISA. At least you will die peacefully.
written by Mike lawood, April 21, 2008 00:49:53
Dear Pak Lah,
you make the former Putrajaya minister / previous Negeri Sembilan MB
Md. ISA gone, please make this ISA go before you step down. Thanks.
written by malsia1206, April 21, 2008 01:25:27
The alleged link with the Tamil Tigers must surely be cock and bull. National security aside, the ISA detainees must not be penalised for their political conviction. The stroke of the pen by the Internal Secuity Minister must never be abused. There are other adequate legislation in place to cope with all lesser crimes, if at best they can be considered criminal acts. If the Hindraf 5 are held under the ISA, I can say the wanton act of a Menteri with his infamous keris act broadcast live on national telecast should equally deserve detention likewise for invoking fear and stroking tension. The Government should release these detainees not because it is kind nor gracious. It's the only proper available course any decent Government would do.
written by egalitarian, April 21, 2008 01:26:45
Its about time something is done to abolish this draconian law. If we the people can change the govt. in 5 states and most probably the ruling govt. of the country soon, with just unity then i strongly believe we can throw out this law as well. Let's come together once again!

Law and order exist for the purpose of establishing justice and when they fail in this purpose they become the dangerously structured dams that block the flow of social progress.

-Martin Luther King, Jr.
written by johanssm, April 21, 2008 06:40:29
Not just pushes for the HINDRAF 5 release , but to outlaw the usages of the ISA on the soil of Malaysia.
All leaders from PR must demand for that and make it happens.
That is why our votes went over to you , the PR.
written by chanatak, April 21, 2008 08:02:46
Dear mike lawood, even if AAB releases Hindraf 5 it will do no good to his reputation. He is merely correcting a wrong he created. I don't believe that Syed albar signed the arrest form without AAB's knowledge. AAB must take concrete steps to dismantle anything mahathir left behind, put them in jail, and most of all remove ISA before he steps down ( an inevitable event ). Then he will really be doing justice to the nation, and he will be remembered as a hero
written by Atheist, April 21, 2008 08:08:33
Dear BN,

Do one of the following things, either;

i) Let AAB go or

ii) Let the Hindraf 5 go

Take a pick .... quickly and surely !!!!!

written by Amadas, April 21, 2008 08:11:24
YAB AAB,

Why are you still detaining the 5 HINDRAF leaders?
Are they terrorist? Where are the evidence? If you have the evidence then Prove the evidence to the Rakyat. The Rakyat will not accept innuendos as evidence.

Your continued silence showed that you have no evidence.
So do the hourable thing.
Admit that you had made a big mistake , Release them immediately.

Your detention of the 5 HINDRAF leaders have cost you dearly during the last GE
You are no different from TDM but learn from your mistake.
Don't abuse your power of authority.

Free them. Their family needs them now.
written by technoboy, April 21, 2008 08:29:59
Pak Lah, you will undo what you have announced for the judiciary last week if you remain stubborn and not release the Hidraf 5, the rakyat is watching to see if it is again empty slogan like 2004.
written by bumi non malay, April 21, 2008 08:40:39
Not only 5 but ALL ISA detainees.....including suspect of terrorism.....That is what Principle stands for. One LAW FOR ALL!!

Lets get the BullDOZER ready to flatten Kemunting.......ISA must be OBLITERATED Forever........
written by anniyan, April 21, 2008 08:54:20
Pak Lah still didnt realize the after math of Hindraf wave of Makkal Sakthi.. His mindset is still like before election where give a 1 public holiday for thaipusam and Indians in malaysia will fall in his trap..

He still thinks Makkal Sakthi (Peoples Power) which was unleashed by Hindraf is small as if its only 2 or 3 ppl.. I hope he didnt sleep with this like how he usually did in any of his party assembly.. smilies/smiley.gif

Or he is waiting for instructions from his son-in-law (Y.A.B Tan Sri Datuk Seri Khairy "kera") for decision ?
written by peacemaker, April 21, 2008 08:57:57
Just push for Pakatan Rakyat to be the ruling government, then ISA detainess can be release. Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, we are waiting for you desperately.
written by asguard, April 21, 2008 08:58:46
Let these people put the pressure on the federal government to release them..hindraf 5...
written by Angela Ooi, April 21, 2008 09:07:03
The law of 'karma' will return to hit these evil, dishonourable leaders's nearest and dearest families ten fold for generations to come! These godless, wicked leaders who have had a hand canonly expect to reap what they have sown.
written by bexe, April 21, 2008 09:15:44
well done you guys. Once again you have stolen the march on BN as they implode or gone to sleep, or don't care. Continue to show compassion. Be mindful of the needs of the people and you will be rewarded.
Keep it up!
written by anak penang, April 21, 2008 09:37:32
the BN gomen has not changed at all.
They are still the same old jerks in umno, mic, and mca.
they lose face if they release the hindraf guys
its acknowledging the people were right all the time

It will only change when the jerks are all kicked out
maybe in next general election, maybe sooner

Maybe PR can apply pressure once in parliment
give the arrogant monkeys and *******s a run for their money
highlight each corrupted Mps activity with proof
the majority of them are corrupted
their death is near

Go for it PR
kill them once and for all

they are trying to incite racial hatred between the malays and non -malays
it is their strategy to take back the states they lost to PR
they can declare emergency rule after inciting racial clash
they are working on it but somehow not been successful yet

DEATH TO THE BASTARDS
written by K W Waran, April 21, 2008 09:54:39

Hello Folks,

Deep inside all of us, lies a sleeping animal. Whether it is a lion, dragon, tiger or whatever, it all depends on that person's "constitution". This animal will continue in its blissful deep slumber until it is kicked into a very rude
awakening. Now, that would become irreversble no matter what lullaby you may sing after that.

Now, that is the exact scenario here in our nation when the MAKKAL SAKTHI'S FURY spilt on to the streets. The Government thought that by reacting like they did during the REFORMASI SPILL in 1998, they could curb the situation thinking that that would make the MAKKAL SAKTHI run into oblivion with tails between legs since it is an indian issue. When in fact, by then, Malays, Chinese and others were rudely awakened too and they too realised that they have ALL been taking for a ride all these while by the BN. It has now become a COMMON issue of the RAKYAT.

THE BN would NEVER regain the confidence of the RAKYAT as long as it continues to do what it has been doing all this while which led to its first mega defeat in all the 50 years that it has been governing, in the first instance. But, was it done with GOVERNANCE? BN should do some real damage limitation exercise and start by doing away the THAT BLOODY ISA for a start.
written by little dragon, April 21, 2008 10:08:34
But M and S said they would first like Mahathir to experience what it felt like to be unjustly detained and cut off from loved ones in Kamunting. “Just for six months and then we can abolish the ISA!” said S.

J and I, however, felt that this would be wrong. No one deserves to be detained without trial, not even Mahathir or whoever else has used this harsh and evil law. Everyone has the right to a fair trial.

dis is wat maturity is all about. do not do unto others wat u do not want others to do upon u. even mahathir himself himself wud not be able to see it dis way. yet he wants to be remembered as a great leader. poorah!!! d hindraf ppl hv more honour than u.
written by Kcc, April 21, 2008 10:34:25
The issue of releasing the ISA detainees have been brought up lots of times in this blog but absolutely NOTHING has been done by our govt. to indicate their interest in this issue.

ALL detainees need to be freed from ISA; those who are a real threat (if any) should be trialled and sent to prison, instead. Those who are merely "visitors at the convenience of the govt." should be released and returned to their families.

It is really surprising that our Human Rights commissioners are not saying anything, too. smilies/angry.gif
written by cheekhiaw, April 21, 2008 12:09:35
They may be able to lock up good men and stop them from coming out but they will never be able to lock up the goodness of men from coming through.

Same with idiocy except that idiots will not appreciate this.

written by SeriousLy, April 21, 2008 12:42:16
PR must take over soon or else the newly elected MP will die. His health got worsen due to lack of medication that is considered to be premeditated murder.
written by Nick Chong, April 21, 2008 14:10:18
Be Patience ISA detainee, Once the PM change hand, you be freeman soon. Keep your finger cross for the day to come.
written by Ben, April 21, 2008 14:34:33
Makkal Sakti and other freedom fighters will not mean a thing if the draconian USA is continued indefinitely. I, for one, refuse to believe that the PR leaders we voted in is going to allow this to continue until the next PM is elected. The august is certainly a suitable platform for the lawmakers of this land to debate and decide if ISA is required. Come one, come all, let's encourage our lawmakers to seize the day and make a change.
written by omarkhayyam, April 21, 2008 14:52:32
while the 5 Hindaf detainee's languish in prison ..... Dollah and that albar fella are busy "cutting ribbons" and making themselves busy attending functions

malaysians .... this is what u and me are gonna get if they detain us ...

so support and ensure we bring enough voices to force this idiots to give priority to what is a national concern and agenda

written by farah, April 21, 2008 16:03:52
The day come for PR to take over, immediately ISA all UMNO BN expecially, Pak Lah, Khairy, Nazri and Najib,...... let them taste their 'own blood'.

d't give up HINDRAF SUPPORTERS! carry on and on..give them the 'slaps' your demand for release the HINDRAF 5, till the above MORONS run amok.
written by Dominic, April 21, 2008 20:23:07
I thought in the case of Aung San Suu Kyi , Malaysian govt pleaded for her release on numerous occassion . She and our 5 Hindraf bros are bascially no different. They fight for basic human rights . So ,if theres the need to get someone else release , why put your very own people under ISA ? Wheres the logic ? We must put more pressure if appeal to UN human rights group yield no results. Hear this BN govt, rakyat will hold you responsible on all count ! HYPROCITE OF THE HIGHEST ORDER !!!!!
written by mumonthecase, April 21, 2008 20:35:50
HELLO! What happened to people power? I have watched what has been happening in Malaysia from a distance and I am upset that the Hindraf five are still not free. What happened to people power? Get out onto the streets and peacefully demonstrate - especially in the oppostion states and get your points across.

FREE THE HINDRAF FIVE - BRING PEACE TO THE NATION!
written by OrdinaryMan, April 22, 2008 00:56:38
Kamunting is in Perak, now under PR governance, right. Why don't Perak just close down the Kamunting Detention Center? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SUV, April 22, 2008 10:38:22
bro labis,
gadis melayu tu dri suaram..pandai english woh.. smilies/grin.gif..99.999% of the crowd were indians..sb's were ther,but they were cool,no prob..the main speakers cakap pasai release of everyone dibawah tahanan isa..si restoran owner tu la bikin drama..mau publisiti maah,mau bikin lui maah..
written by SUV, April 22, 2008 10:43:56
the moorthy brother's mother was alos there..she gave a speech.
written by SUV, April 22, 2008 10:55:36
http://lookattrue.*********.co...-daughter/