Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Let us get one thing very clear

Let us get one thing very clear PDF Print
Sunday, 20 April 2008 17:26

Barisan Nasional did not lose these five states. Pakatan Rakyat did not win these five states. It was the people who decided that they wanted to get back control of these fives states.

When the opposition went around campaigning in the run-up to the recent general election, the message that was sent to the voters was:

Let the people kick out Barisan Nasional and take back this country. Let the people sack the government and claim back this country. Let the people show Barisan Nasional the potency of People’s Power, Makhal Sakhti, Kuasa Rakyat. Let the people grab control of this country and send Barisan Nasional into retirement. It is time the people show the government who owns this country. The people are the boss, the government works for the people. The people should not be afraid of the government, the government should be afraid of the people.

Yes, that and more was the message the people wanted to send to Barisan Nasional. And the people did send Barisan Nasional this message. Today, Barisan Nasional has lost control of five states. It has also, in theory, lost control of Kuala Lumpur if not for the fact that Kuala Lumpur comes directly under the control of the Federal Government through the Federal Territory Minister. And, of course, Barisan Nasional has also lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament.

Now that new governments have been formed in these five states, Pakatan Rakyat appears to be overlooking one fundamental issue. Barisan Nasional did not lose these five states. Pakatan Rakyat did not win these five states. It was the people who decided that they wanted to get back control of these fives states. And the people did this by appointing Pakatan Rakyat as their trustee to run these fives states.

That’s right. Pakatan Rakyat is not the government in these five states. The people are. But the people can’t all be running these five states so they entrusted these states to the care of Pakatan Rakyat. So Pakatan Rakyat, the trustee, has to go back to the people to find out how they would like these states run.

Pakatan Rakyat must perish the thought that the people gave them a mandate on 8 March 2008 and now that they have that mandate they can do what they like. Pakatan Rakyat must erase from their mind that now that they are in power they need no longer talk to the people until the next election five years or so from now. Pakatan Rakyat must not harbour the fallacy that now that they are in charge they can decide how they would like to run the five states.

No, do not accuse the people of interfering in how the states are being run. Do not think that you are the government so it is your job to run the states the way you would like them run. Do not imagine that the people have done their job on 8 March 2008 so now the people should just sit back and allow Pakatan Rakyat to take over and get down to the business of running the states. The people are the stakeholders and Pakatan Rakyat is merely the manager, paid to do a job from money that comes out of the pockets of the people.

Malaysia is owned the people, the stakeholders. The five states are also owned by these stakeholders. The stakeholders sacked the old managers and employed new managers to replace them. And the stakeholders will decide how these new managers will conduct themselves.

The stakeholders have spoken. The stakeholders have made their decision. The stakeholders were not happy with the old management. The stakeholders have changed the management. The stakeholders want the new management to do better and to do things differently. But has the new management asked the stakeholders what it is about the old management that they were not happy with? Has the new management called the stakeholders for a meeting to ask the stakeholders what it is that they want?

There are thousands of people waiting; Malays, Chinese, Indians and ‘lain-lain’. They are waiting to be called to come forward to serve their country. They are waiting to be summoned for national service. They are ready to fulfil their national duty. All they need is for the word to be given. Then thousands of people, the Rakyat, the voters, the stakeholders, will come forward to provide the best brains to help run the states they grabbed back from Barisan Nasional.

Comments (75)Add Comment
written by oster, April 20, 2008 17:38:40
Indeed, as much as we bash BN loyalists, we shouldn't allow PR loyalists to take the reins either. Blind loyalty destroys checks and balances.

We must be as vigilant as we are in watching the PR as we were in watching the BN. The PR, on their part, must return the mechanisms of checks and balances to the people, such as municipal elections and the freedom of assembly.

Some responses to complaints about the Penang councilors have shown hints of a worrying phenomenon of hardcore unquestioning loyalty to the PR.

No one is infallible, and that is why we have checks and balances.

agree 197
written by lakshy, April 20, 2008 17:42:07

It's in essence the same thing I told YB Kula of DAP at a function in Ipoh today. But I really wonder if DAP/PKR/PAS got the message. Does not seem to be the case!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 20, 2008 17:44:56
AAB made a big mistake to think he is God, after winning big in the 2004 GE.
His downfall started soon after he was sworn. He thought the whole world will listen to him ... "Don't do this, and don't do that" ... Indian temples, Mazu statue in Kudat ... SIL ... executive jet ... holidays ... sleep.
written by oknyua, April 20, 2008 17:45:48
On the same note, PR has to shake off its opposition mentality.

The mandate of the people is for PR to govern. Rhetoric and complaints must be followed with alternatives. To forget to submit papers to parliament should not have happened because that is the very reason why the people mandated you. The recent meeting between KL MPs and the ruling MPs is not what I expected (given fair paper reporting). You can grumble about Bandaraya, but you have to be courageous enough to give your solutions.

The people had kicked BN out in 5 states. The people can do the same to PR in future.
written by PR Msia, April 20, 2008 17:48:34
Agreed. I heard elected politicians are now looking how to fight their own benefits, own fame, own survivals. I hope the elected MP and ADUN will start serving the RAKYAT now.

By the ways, I have not seen my elected MP and ADUN yet.
I voted them. I donated for their campaign.
I rejoice for their wins.

But no where to have seen their presence. Anyway, just a month plus. I just view my points, let us hope these elected MP and ADUN are different.
written by Naha, April 20, 2008 17:56:52
YM RPK, expect a barrage of hate comments soon, as I expect my and the first two comments to be voted into oblivion. Your blog, which I have always read for a more accurate picture of 'the ground', has lately become an unbearable haunt of PR zealots who have very quickly demonstrated that they are nothing but a mirror image of that which they hate, BN. Please keep up your good work, but I ask you one thing: please, do not give in to the mood of the mob - you have done so on at least one occasion. You, above anybody else in Malaysia, is an example of 'opposition without blind loyalty'. To oppose the darkness of human nature whilst remaining impartial, is the essence of justice in every religion. The democratic principle is not about 'belonging' but about freedom to choose, but idiots will scream and shout you f*@*ing UMNO cybertrooper, or you have gone senile, as soon as you give an impartial critique of the political gods they so worship.

After exercising freedom in choosing what we think benefits us, we then imprison ourselves in loyalty, and idiotic notions of debt and filial piety.
written by tom73my, April 20, 2008 17:56:56
Any world top company will publish their performance on a quarterly basis based on agreed KPIs. Then they will engage ther stakeholders e.g. shareholders, talk to fund managers, investment analysts etc. Why 50 days after 8 March, and there is still no perfromance measurement? How and when are you going to let us know your perfromance against your election manifesto? How do we know how you spend our hard earned tax money (that reminds me of e-filing, damn)? Come clean, be transparent, be accountable, talk to us, listen to us.
written by ChiangKT, April 20, 2008 17:57:44
I agree that Pakatan Rakyat should run the states in the best interest of the people, and always stay in touch with the people. What's the way of doing it now? As they can't be monitoring feedbacks from the people all the time. And we have to realise that there are some people who are more vocal than others when it comes to giving opinions.

The best I can think of is to have proper public consultation process when the state want to make major decisions. It may be a long process, as there will be oppositions for whatever reasons, but it's hard to see how else the people can provide more input to the state government.
written by akieras, April 20, 2008 18:00:32
YM RPK,

Very true enough, since the rakyat are the one who paid the government salary via all forms of tax, so that makes the rakyat the stakeholders.
written by rockli, April 20, 2008 18:03:48
Now let the people claim back the whole of Malaysia from BN.
NO MORE bn which do not serve the interests of the people but serve only the few.
BN/Umno is going to be a by-word, bye, bye.
Years of being in power has bred an arrogant, pompous lot - Dagger-prancing idiots, corrupt-to-the core 1st family, religious extremists, land grabbers, body snatchers, temple destroyers, corrupt VIPs, etc....
written by omarkhayyam, April 20, 2008 18:06:46
A timely reminder "less they forgot" ....

written by densemy, April 20, 2008 18:09:04
These are the most sensible words I have seen written since Mch 8
written by box, April 20, 2008 18:16:54
YM RPK, the people needs to be constantly reminded that we don't owe the government anything. It is the government who owe us for giving them the opportunity to govern.

It is the government's obligation to pay retired policemen their pensions. It is the government's obligation to approve taxi permits to applicants who are qualified. It is the government's obligation build more schools/universities if there are not enough. It is the government's obligation to create more employment opportunities. It is the government's obligation to provide a safer environment for all Malaysians. Etc, etc.....

There are too many Malaysians who do not know their rights.
written by Thomas47, April 20, 2008 18:17:59
Brave words. It's time to repay the peoples trust and seriously get down to work.
written by teo siew chin, April 20, 2008 18:18:25
"...thousands of people waiting ...to be called to come forward ...to serve their country."
-------------------------------

this is a very strange article. are we at war?
should not those who can contribute offer themselves to PR rather than wait to be called?
after all, PR's doors are always open, no?
you walk in, you're not heard - that's when the daggers should fly.
BTW, the 100 days are not over yet!
written by educationist, April 20, 2008 18:19:16
Very well said indeed! I hope the PR leaders in the states involved are informed of this perspective of how the states are to be managed.
Let them not claim that they have not been forewarned if thay are booted out in 5 years time for non-performance of obligatory duties to the rakyat.
written by Malaysian Abroad, April 20, 2008 18:37:44
Power Corrupts, Absolute Power Corrupts Absolutely

I couldn't have said it any better. Bravo to you RPK! A timely eye opener and reminder. The irony is, in our effort to distance and differentiate ourselves from the 'insanely fanatical' supporters of BN, what some of us had become was exactly the spitting image of what we try to diassociate from in the first place.

We must not let it be forgotten that no matter who is given the 'charge' of administrating the country, be it the BN or PR, we the rakyat are the true government. No political party can have the absolute 'power' to do anything they wish. It must only be done with the consent of the rakyat. As the old saying goes, "Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely".
written by malaysianohope, April 20, 2008 18:44:10
Abang Pete,

I think you should give them a break, afterall it's only hardly 2 months since they won power through the people. They have been given a mandate as stakeholders to rule the states for the next 5 years and if they don't perform then they will be called to account at the end of the term through the democratic process. The things we can do is to point out their mistakes if they deviate and to encourage them, along the way.
written by Remo, April 20, 2008 19:28:20
Well said Raja Petra, BN was kicked out because of the poor performance. Corruption, arrogant and yes man to UMNO. We don't want to see anymore of these character. We appoint the new manger. We want to see positive changes which will benefit the people.

Perak MB and some of the state excos got their titles from Sultan of Perak. Congratulations! Don't get carried and show your power. Don't misuse of your power which was given to you by the voters. We vote you in to serve the rakyat. Not to make fortune for yourself or warm the seat. Remember we can also vote you out.

For the opposition MP's who forgot to send your questions within the stipulated time, I really don't know what to say. You should not say that you forgot. You are selected to represent the Rakyat in the Parliament, that is your job. Be prepared man. Don't give excuse.
written by Harbinger, April 20, 2008 19:33:33
I think they need reminders every now and then - ranging from gentle to rude.Most of all,they need encouragement.It's only been 2 months with lots of stumbling blocks from BN.I'm willing to give them a little more time.After all," Rome was not built in a day "
written by 1st2stay, April 20, 2008 19:35:38
Come on, be reasonable. After 50 years and poisoned minds of more than 2 generations, we cannot expect the world to have changed after 50 days. 50 days in an office where many candidates had no previous experience.
And we already hear complaints that the BR MP has yet to knock on your door and introduce himself.
And we already read of some keen to vote BR out for accidentally not filing a question for the first sitting of parliament.
And we already come to know that an Ex-Gerakan has been appointed 'wrongly', in order to help BR people to enrich themselves.

Come on, don't go overboard. Especially if you are not well-versed in politics. I am sure there are good reasons behind what most of BR MPs do, whom they appoint. You guys have allowed BN to cheat and plunder you for 50 years, and now, once woken up, you'd rather have them back than giving BR 1/365 of time to rectify everything. (50 years to 50 days)
The people are only at the beginning of the change; not only policies need to change, we all need to change. That can't be achieved by the stroke of a pen.
written by densemy, April 20, 2008 19:37:51
Box says: "There are too many Malaysians who do not know their rights."

...nor do they know their responsibilities
written by ALittleSpace, April 20, 2008 19:50:55
written by shamadz72, April 20, 2008 | 18:09:14
To be frank, I am also quite disappointed with the way PR is managing their states. In Penang, they have just appointed ex-Gerakan Deputy Secretary General to head Penang Development Corporation (a Penang state GLC) and a few other prominent in BN past administration.

On the contrary, I am quite pleased. Not all in the BN are bad apples. Some of them have lots of experiences that can be put to use under the right direction to speed up what needs to be done to get the 5 PR states moving ahead. Right now, the PR states need to get their economies full steam ahead - and they need all the help they can get!

I would say "Well Done!" to the Penang PR government!

written by Bosan, April 20, 2008 20:19:40
I think Pakatan Rakyat should create a new blog specially for the rakyat to post comments, complains, report abuse of powers and giving great ideas for development and management because sometimes if we go to the councillor for complains, mostly the answer we get is, we will look into it, or worst they will say this is not under our department.
written by Sidq, April 20, 2008 20:24:38
saya juga rasa kechewa dengan beberapa orang YB daripada PR teruntamanya daripad PKR & DAP. Saya telah memberi maklumaat yang merupakan soalan soalan di parlimen nanti. Tetapi satu jawapan pun tak ada. Sikap ini sangat saya kesali dan mengechewakan.
written by Eskay Lim, April 20, 2008 20:27:15
Each of the 5 states in West Malaysia is now being run by a new CEO & the Board of Directors. So when the annual reports show that the states have been run successfully, then more states will jump onto the bandwagon and BN with the communal-race parties wil be history.
written by PakPandir, April 20, 2008 21:06:02
Wer have learned this from the past.

There is no place for the liars,
there is no place for the arrogant,
there is no place for the Corrupt,
there is no place for those who looks good on the surface but not the inside,
there is no place for the incompletent,
there is no place for the stone heart,
there is no place for the selfish,
there is no place for personal agenda.

The Elected politicians have to put Rakyat above self, and get the best brains and talent to run the state and country.
That will guarantee the progress of Malaysia.

written by johanssm, April 20, 2008 21:08:40
As a matter of fact, if PR dont have the time to talk to the people , they ( PR ) dont have to hire expensive companies to do surveys.
They ( PR ) just need to refers to MT and the comments available in here for FREE .
Some of the comments are of high quality and with good suggestion.
Of course there will be some comments full with the 4 letter words, it just shows people are too angry.Too angry till they cant comes up with ideas and solutions.
But no doubt, we are angry with something.
We are angry with the polis, imigresen, bandaraya,rela, bribery,traffic conditions,road tolls,schools ,killer express buses,the not so SMART tunnel,AirAsia with cronies, judges , vk Lingam and ministers who are not smart but trying to act smart.The list goes on.
Not forgetting to tone down the always highlighted and overselling of a certain religion .

The free feedbacks are always available in here for busy MPs who dont have the time.
They just need to choose the topic.
All political parties have MT and RPK to thanks for.
written by harryo, April 20, 2008 21:11:33
Well said RPK. BR should never take the people for granted and I think BR only has 5 years to prove and not 50 years as in the case of BN. These five years BR has to work very hard to earn the rakyat's confidence. BR you wanted people's power, you got it, now prove you are worth the salt.
written by borneopeteliew, April 20, 2008 21:18:10
The DAP fellow who won the Bukit Bendera seat in Penang still hasn't till today visited his constituents his electorate since March 8th.

Rifle Range where DAP got 90% support is waiting for the new DAP YB to come shake hands and say some nice words...is this so difficult kah? Very disappointing lah for failing to meet expectations.
written by johanssm, April 20, 2008 21:20:43
written by Bosan, April 20, 2008 | 20:19:40
I think Pakatan Rakyat should create a new blog specially for the rakyat to post comments, complains, report abuse of powers etc..etc.

Good idea there, a kinda of bureau for PR for the public to complain and feedback.
Not every PR member of parliament have a blog, or at least a blog in English or Malay. Some do have blog but in Mandarin.
Best to have feedbacks in various language and this is where the bureau play a part. A part to connect and communicates.
Once complains are in the net , it is very transparent.And serves as a FAQ to others in the same or similar dilemma.
Of course one can always runs to the MP office to do so, but not fun lah.For people like myself who have multiple complains.MP might thinks i am crazy.
written by onnyap, April 20, 2008 21:48:15
A timely reminder for all PR elected people's representatives.
Till today I've not heard or seen both the DAP Assemblyman for Balakong and
MP for Seri Kembangan. What a let down!!
written by Amadas, April 20, 2008 21:56:07
Let us get one thing very clear..

Stop the Politicking and Get on with the serious work of facing the escalating economic threats such as:
- Food and commodity price inflation eating into the purchasing power of Malaysians
- Locate spare capacity to invest in farming/agriculture/commodities to feed the hungry Malaysians and ensure the nation does not go hungry
- Charity begins at home and we got to do what it takes to be self sufficient in feeding our own people
- The commodity price inflation is anticipated to go up until 2015 or 2020 at the latest as this phenomenon is mainly structural and consequently draws in the speculative money. It is strucrural where demand exceed the supply and it takes time to bring in additional supplies.

Key point is BN and PR have to work together now to manage this escalating economic threat that will erode the purchasing power of the people and the nation as a whole.
written by sarawakian, April 20, 2008 22:07:01
some suggestions:

1. maybe set-up a one-stop counter in every major town to submit questions/complaints/comments?

2. an online portal to do the same functions as Item 1?

3. organise a bi-monthly meet-the-people session?

while it is understood an elected MP/ADUN may not be able to meet each and every person in his constituency, he should at least meet the "Ketua Kampung" to get feedback. a system should be devised for this.

written by MasterYoda, April 20, 2008 22:30:23
Here! here!

Totally agree and Firmly stand behind it.
written by cartman26, April 20, 2008 22:31:04
Well put pete...

We, the people voted you (PR) in and we are the boss. Do not piss the "directors" of this company called Malaysia...In fact I am quite disappointed that they (PR) were not able to hold the elections for the local council members.
written by Taiping60, April 20, 2008 22:58:16
To Pakatan Rakyat,

I am not interested in you cancelling parking fines.
I am not interested in you spending all your time finding faults with the previous government. Look at major and get on with your work.

This country has real issues that need serious people to solve. I want you to get down solving those issues.
I know there are more but allow me to list some which I feel need to be addressed urgently.

1) Security.
I believe the security is getting from bad to worse. Do something about it. Meet with the state police head to get them to do something about it. Same apply to KL.

2) Education.
Do tell us it is no within your power to do something about it. We wants quality and not quantity. What is the point for our student scoring 20 A1s when he or she cannot compete in global arena. What about the majority?

3) Poverty
Regardless of the races, we want you to help the poor. Do something to ease their burden of price increases.

4) Flood & Traffic Jam
We do not need weather dept to tell us that Malaysia will have plenty of rain. Our monsoon drains are too small. Rivers have too much rubbish thrown in to them.

Do that to the five states you rule. KL where you have majority. And put pressure for the government to do something about it for the rest of the states and federal.

written by mei yen, April 20, 2008 23:18:02
No matter what the feelings are, MPs from PR must realize by now that they must work closely with the Federal Government to bring progress to their states. We’re not expecting the two governments to start holding hands and sing praises to each other but we do expect them to just use some common sense in their dealings with each other, for the benefit of the States and its’ people.

Most people would feel that their own side may be compromising too much or that the other side is always winning but this perception of working for just one group or party must be erased. We must remember that state governments do not work solely for the party but for all of the people in their states, no matter the race or party affiliations.

It may also seem unusual to have councilors from BN working in state offices, but given the experience and knowledge of the councilors, this approach will not only benefit the state but also a logical step of getting things done in a quicker fashion. Bottom line is, we are all Malaysians and our interests and welfare rest squarely on the shoulders of the State and Federal governments.
written by andalusia, April 20, 2008 23:35:33
Can someone please enlighten me how PR should carry out their job. We want them to fulfill their manifestos but at the same time you want them to consult the rakyat before getting on with the job. Blurrrr lah sikit. smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by RitchieLow, April 20, 2008 23:45:48
Would have thought DAP is doing just that, a dailog and consultation get together rather than a ceramah. PAS had also had a get ogether with the people of Perak recently. PKR I don't know.

20.04.08 Seremban Public Ceramah/ Dialog; Grace Assembly Hall, Temiang, Seremban; 8pm; Inquiry: 016-668 6165
26.04.08 Jalong, Ipoh Dinner; SMJK Shing Chung; 7pm; Inquiry: 016-561 9215
14.06.08 Kepong Garden Dinner; Lot 491, Jln Bangau, Kepong Baru; 7.30pm; Inquiry: 012-629 6459; 016-236 2233
written by daliman, April 21, 2008 00:37:26
RPK, hole in one that is. and a sterned reminder to them reps.

the bickering is all about power and to show whos the boss. the 5 years term is like a golden time to explore whats at stake. the political culture is like whoever sits on the chair, yo, its my time now. you can wait when the time comes to you, until then duduk diam-diam-lah. pedih? TAK, mata kena habuk je.

So pening when sekali air bah, sekali tepian berubah. Why not improvise from where it was left before?

a "republic ber-perlembagaan" in the making? its a guess.

- a neighbour has the so-called Peoples Representatives(PR), PR then gets elected to represents the Peoples Council(PC), PC elects the country's Premier (President or PM) and the President or PM selects his cabinet members.

- PC holds the authority to deal with the Premier or cabinet members. Thus no by-elections or what so ever that wasted the peoples fund.

i just wonder...?
written by FuLinYu, April 21, 2008 00:41:04
Pakatan Rakyat did not win these five states. It was the people who decided that they wanted to get back control of these fives states. And the people did this by appointing Pakatan Rakyat as their trustee to run these fives states.

That’s right. Pakatan Rakyat is not the government in these five states. The people are. But the people can’t all be running these five states so they entrusted these states to the care of Pakatan Rakyat. So Pakatan Rakyat, the trustee, has to go back to the people to find out how they would like these states run.

Not only did PR forget. We, the rakyat, forgot too. Our mind were "well-tuned" - zombied by BN without our realizing it. Do, keep us reminded.
written by RitchieLow, April 21, 2008 00:43:14
Hmm and we can't fault MB Perak, Nizar when he says thus " He said a government given the powers to rule a state and the people was a big mandate from God.

"Fully aware of this mandate, the state government will discharge its duties and responsibilities in line with God's wish, upholding the truth, refraining from sinful acts and being a caring state," he said."
written by flyer168, April 21, 2008 07:13:48

Good piece of advise/reminder.

Just who is governing this nation, its rayaat, its economy & security which is on a Autopilot "Self-destruct" mode !

AS they say "Talk is cheap, so is Rethorics !"

BN in denial mode & not providing the jigsaw puzzle missing pieces !
PR is trying hard to make ends meet to solve the jigsaw puzzles with missing pieces !
Blogsites - full of comments.....

About time we all walk our talk & find sensible solutions on any impasse and move on....

Please try to work together with your new representatives (BN/PR/NGOs) & MOVE FORWARD TO PROVE YOUR WORTH TO THE NATION & RAYAAT !

written by Catharsis, April 21, 2008 07:27:37
YES....YOU ARE SAYING IT RIGHT!!!! THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSSES

PAKATAN RAKYAT SHOULD HAVE A MECHANISM IN PLACE TO RECIVE THE FEEDBACK FROM THE PEOPLE

AND ONE GOOD WAY TO DO IT IS TO HAVE A NATIONAL SEMINAR WHEREBY ALL NGOs, INTELLECTUALS AND OTHERS COULD COME TOGETHER TO OFFER AND BRAINSTORM ON IDEAS HOW THE COUNTRY'S VISION SHOULD BE AND HOW THE COUNTRY SHOULD MOVE AHEAD.

THE RUDD GOVERNMENT IS CONDUCTING THIS SORT OF SEMINAR AT THE MOMENT AND THE RESPONSE WAS OVERWHELMING..........
written by talk2stop, April 21, 2008 08:10:38
Malaysians got to learn to understand that the goverment is just as good as the people. If you to look and observe the place in most part of Malaysia we see a "can't care less attitude" about Malaysia.
It takes 2 to tango.
It easy to put the blame on the goverment of the day that you people vote them to office. Who then not doing a good job?
The manager or the stakeholders?
They both not doing the job.
written by chaiksyn, April 21, 2008 08:59:27
Kudos RPK, well said indeed!

Once in a while, we have to box their ears to remind them that we the rakyat are their boss and they work for us! PEOPLE POWERS!
written by Ken Liew, April 21, 2008 09:06:41
As I always say: We human/friends, are always using each other. I really mean USING EACH OTHER

Friends use each other in an equal way. And used each other respectively, and feel happy about it.

But when one used like a slave, that's another story. The gather of hat rate and anger, will go kaboom one day. EVEN the best of friends, will turn enemy if anyone felt enough is enough.

So umnos, you have used us too far... it's pay back time......
written by Naseer Ahmad, April 21, 2008 09:27:35
I think it is far, far too early to give PR such a reminder. They have inherited a mess and will need time to sort things out. If we start pulling them up for each and every action of theirs it is not going to work. My guess is that for the first year to eighteen months they should be allowed to get on with it. Then the "stakeholders" will have a good idea of where we are headed.
written by shan, April 21, 2008 09:43:05
This is the people's gomen in action.Bravo guys,keep the good work up and soon the rest of the country fill follow. smilies/kiss.gif
written by wongnoball, April 21, 2008 10:35:02
'I am an extraordinary figure in the party, so I must be one of the EXCO mrmbers .........', that was one of the newly elected Selangor DAP figure who claimed that just immediately few days after the GE.
Now the soul of Istana Zakaria had also migrated to Penang when they selected the members to form the local council.
These are the news disclosed by Malaysiakini.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by alan cheong, April 21, 2008 10:48:53
umno/bn LOST because WE, the PEOPLE, wanted it so. The People's Alliance WON because WE, the PEOPLE wanted it so.

WE, the PEOPLE have not yet truly WON until WE remove the deadwood and driftwood from local councils, the police, the armed forces and other usch related agencies or arms of government. Until WE get justice consistently.
written by Tampinboy, April 21, 2008 11:00:21
Requisition of Interim Report Submission on Selangor Development.

Dear Sir/Madam,

Pertaining to above mentioned subject, on behalf of Selangor citizen, we would like to have the proper report of your planning for Selangor for the next half year for our perusal and action.

We the people of Selangor would liker to participate actively in developing transparent and clean goverment in Selangor. These planning also will be a propper reppelent subject to protect us in misleading of information in the future.

We aware that you are struggling to clean up the left over but as citizen we would like to lend hand to speed up the processes and carry on state development.

Your attention and cooperation are highly appreciated.

On behalf of Selangor Citizen.

smilies/grin.gif first step of check and balance....
written by Everbright, April 21, 2008 11:01:06
Pete, your article struck a chord. But how do we tap our best brains? In Australia, 1000 of the best brains gathered for a 2020 summit and were divided into 10 groups. They were asked for 1 bright idea from each Group for the Nation. Instead of 10, they came up with 100 ideas. Read on: http://www.smh.com.au/news/nat...1239.html. Someone suggested that students be allowed to pay off their student loan debt by contributing to community services. Malaysis is endowed with many bright brains from all communities. It takes a smart Government to tap these resources.
written by Windchime, April 21, 2008 12:15:04
RPK, Thanks ...

As much as your aricle have reminded the 'new managers' about their obligations, it has also have to reminded us that as 'stakeholders' we have much to lose if we do not look after our 'portfolio'!
written by SocratesI, April 21, 2008 12:15:42

After 50 long years in the political wilderness as the Opposition and being abused by the BN Govt. by the ISA and the PPPA and Seditions Act and all the tools the BN used to muzzle the people and dissenting voices, we the Rakyat can understand the euphoria amongst the Opposition members for the vicyory on March 8th.

This article is timely, as it is time the euphoria must stop, and hard work take its place. Constant communications with the Rakyat who voted you in (and those who did not) must be up and running. This is a crucial factor where the PR reps must keep their fingers on the pulse of the Rakyat and their ears on thr ground.

PR must consciously combat against looking internally amongst party members for every role that needs to be played. They must offer those roles to the best in that field or industry, and not just use this to "pay back" or "reward" party stalwarts who have supported them. That would be counterproductive. Rewards for party stalwarts, yes, but come up with realistic incentives, and not "make do" with limited talent for issues that affect Malaysia and its Rakyat!

Pakatan must successfully tap this talent in Malaysia (maybe even talent amongst Malaysians who are not in Malaysia)!

written by grant, April 21, 2008 12:16:54
Msia is endowed with many intelligent people... Our government is smart no doubt. Smart in manipulating and exploiting this intelligent people for their own benefits...
written by Birdbrain, April 21, 2008 13:15:49
Has anyone noticed that Elizabeth Wong , ADUN of Bukit Lanjan is putting on weight lately? I can still remeber her speech @ BU3.......AHHHHHhhhh it was so sweet then!

Cuckoo!
written by Birdbrain, April 21, 2008 13:17:56
Hi Liz!..............where are youuuuu.............?
written by pengembara, April 21, 2008 15:45:12
Pete

Oldie but goodie ...

The government of the people, by the people, for the people .. that's Makhal Sakhti

peace
written by aryn, April 21, 2008 16:51:49
Let the PR govt settle down first, give them time to clear the mess and then put things in order.

They are not running a persatuan here but a government.
written by mgeo, April 21, 2008 20:35:18
Is it the point of this article that a special standard must be applied to PR states that is not applicable to BN?

By the way, why is PR soft-pedalling the issue of missing official documents in 3 states?
written by bugisman, April 22, 2008 02:00:23

i do have reservation how PR would run the states but i'm keeping a hopeful mind.

when we kicked BN out is not because PR is convincing but because we're tired of BN's weaknesses. we're giving PR a chance to run the states and perhaps the country one day. BUT...it will only materialized should they perform duty well.

for those that missed out the submission of the questions for the parliament is absolutely inexcuseable. "forgot", "i don't know", "i was not told" are what primary students would say to teachers, a very naive & ignorant lots. this is the last chance you would get from us, we expect nothing less but commitment.

and lastly, i hope DSAI would stop talking about being the next PM, he should start talking about how he will contribute in running the PR states. let's get down to work, this is your chance to show us what you are capable of, take it as a probation before assuming the bigger role as PM. perhaps, LGE could be PM should you fail to perform. if PR is a true democratic alliance, i don't see any reason why anyone else who is capable from PAS, DAP or PKR can't be PM one day, irregardless the race, religion or sex.

let's wait and see, hopefully our choices were well made.

written by TheMessenger, April 22, 2008 09:29:52
Alah.. bukan susah nak bagi orang kampung nampak muka ADUN atau Ahli Parlimen kita. time kenduri kahwin, kenduri khatan ke, kenduri arwar ke, Adun kawasan tu kena la hadir. tunjuk muka sat, makan nasi, salam2 skit, pastu blah la. orang kampung nak tengok muka sat je. tak payah hulur2 pun takpa. tak payah kacau rempah pun takpa. bagi nampak muka je lepas tu geng yg mulut jahat takda la bleh kata depa hilang.

cadangan je... tapi kalau hangpa buat, aku gerenti kawasan tu confirm hangpa bleh menang tiap kali pilihanraya.
written by SL Chan, April 22, 2008 12:46:33
YAM RPK..

Very well said and timely...people are the BOSS and they can decide their fate on next PRU..
written by Umno Slayer, April 23, 2008 14:45:18
RIGHT ON PKR! that the way to go...PKR must not be like the thedamn BN govt.there are many ways to consult rakyat.. and find out what's the stakes holdersm really wants for their country... and those elected should continue to respect the rakyat ..dobnt be like the bn type of elected repretatives who thought rakyat must respect them
written by VIPER, April 24, 2008 15:19:52
couldn't agree more
written by Fart Fart Wah, April 30, 2008 14:23:30
YES THE STAKEHOLDERS ARE MALYSIANS.NOT MALAYS,CHINESE OR INDIANS AND OTHERS...WE HOLD THE STAKE..WE WILL KICK ANY POLITICIAN WHO DRIVES FEAR OR ABUSES HIS POWER FROM NOW ON..WHETHER IT IS THE TOYOL AND DEROS AND THEIR WIVES OF SELANGOR OR THE BLOODY LINGAMS OR THE JUDICIARY OR ANYMORE WOLFS IN MALAY CLOTHING..LIKE THE INDIAN WOLF IN BAJU MELAYU WHO CAUSED THIS MESS THE LAST 22 YEARS.....EVERYTHING NOW...I DON'T KNOW..I FORGOT..I DID NOT SAY THAT.. NO..YOU ALL ARE WRONG..
written by malaysia devil, May 21, 2008 19:47:18
Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore's Authoritarian Regime
watch video exclusively at: http://malaysianindian1.********.com/
please pass this message to all Malaysians, singapore needs freedom and they need malaysians assistance