Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Father and son debate revisited

Father and son debate revisited PDF Print
Friday, 18 April 2008 12:36

The Ketuanan Melayu will remain not because UMNO says so. It will remain because the non-UMNO Parliamentarians allow it to. In that case, is there any longer any reason to continue supporting UMNO?

NO HOLD BARRED

Some of you may have read these two articles published in the Free Anwar Campaign website four years ago. For those who have not, well, these are the imaginary exchange of letters between father and son, revisited. Why am I republishing them? You figure that one out.

Wednesday, 24-Mar-2004 10:36 AM

Dear Son,

I thought I would write you this letter, which I feel is long overdue and which should actually have been done much earlier. Against the backdrop of the present euphoria of the 11th General Elections on 21 March, maybe I should have a man-to-man ‘talk’ with you about some of the realities of life.

No, I am not going to talk about the ‘birds and the bees’, as, in these modern times, I am sure you can tell me more about that subject. What I want to talk to you about concerns our race, Melayu.

When you came home for your semester breaks, I quietly listened to your rhetoric on freedom of speech, equality of all races, eradication of poverty, elimination of corruption, independence of the judiciary, separation of powers, and all such ‘western’ notions, without comment. I understand you are young and you are just beginning to open your eyes to what is going on in the world so I thought I would allow you to speak your mind.

Mind you, in my days, I could never speak to your grandfather is such a tone of voice. He would never tolerate my ‘independent’ views and would regard it as insolence. But that was then and, today, I appreciate the fact that the young tend to speak their minds, so I allowed you to ramble on. Now, however, it is my turn to speak my mind and I hope you too will allow me my right to speak, just like how I allowed you yours.

I want to remind you that you are Malay, first and last. Whatever you say and do must be tempered with this in mind. This fact tends to escape you and your idealistic beliefs do not take this point into consideration.

You oppose the Umno-led Barisan Nasional because you say it is a corrupt government. You say it does not allow freedom of speech, freedom of association and freedom of assembly. You say it is undemocratic and despotic. And you go on and on listing everything that you perceive is wrong with it.

I must remind you, however, that this is the same government that gave us an education -- you, me and your grandfather. Without this government that you despise so much would we be where we are today? We would still be in the kampong planting padi like my grandfather before this.

You are looking for perfection. But perfection does not exist here on earth. Perfection only exists in the afterlife (akhirat). So you will have to wait until you die before you see this perfection. As long as you are on earth you will be faced with imperfections. So you will have to learn to live with this situation.

I too would like to see a perfect world; a world filled with justice, equality, freedom, and all those ‘modern’ values you students shout about. But would you be prepared to gain all this at the expense of the Malay race?

I know you worked hard and campaigned for the opposition during the recently-concluded general election. And I also know you are terribly frustrated and disappointed with the outcome of the election. I will not hold my punches here. As you said, the opposition won, or could have won, but it was robbed of its win through an unfair election system and a biased Elections Commission.

I shall not insult your intelligence by denying all this, as I know you are smart enough to see things for what they are. But it is my duty as your father and as a Malay to explain certain things that you have probably overlooked in your zeal in upholding your modern ideas.

You must understand that the Elections Commission is run by us Malays. It is there merely to ensure that we Malays retain our political power. You accuse the Elections Commission of manipulating the elections and of unfair practices. This has nothing to do with fair or unfair. It is all about ensuring that we Malays do not lose our political power to the non-Malays.

Why do you think Tunku Abdul Rahman kicked Singapore out of Malaysia? Can you imagine what would happen to us Malays if, today, Singapore were still part of Malaysia? The Chinese would sweep all the seats and we Malays would be reduced to a minority. Can you imagine being a second-class citizen in our own country the way the Malays in Singapore are?

You say you support keADILan because it is a multiracial party that fights for equality for all races. Do you know what keADILan is asking for? How can there be equality for all races? We Malays own this land and the other races are all immigrants. They do not deserve equal rights.

You must remember, when we gained independence in 1957, it was agreed that all these immigrants would be given citizenship as long as the Malays are allowed special rights and privileges. This is why we have a Ketuanan Melayu policy. The Chinese and Indians agreed to this and that is why we gave them citizenship. Now that they are citizens they demand equal rights. This is a breach of agreement. If they do not agree to Malays being given special rights and privileges why agree to it in 1957? They should have disagreed then. Then we could have sent them back to India and China. We did not force them to become citizens of this country. They wanted citizenship and the terms and conditions of their citizenship was discussed and agreed upon. It was a social contract between them and us. How can they now turn around and not agree to it?

And this is what keADILan is fighting for. They are supporting the non-Malays in breaching the agreement made in 1957. An agreement is an agreement. If you want to break it, fine. If you no longer want to honour the agreement, then that is okay. But the clause in that agreement where they get citizenship must also be rescinded. The non-Malays will then have to go back to their own country. After all, no one is forcing them to live here. If they do not like it they can leave. But do not expect us Malays to give up our special rights and privileges, which have already been agreed upon long before independence.

You say the Elections Commission cheated. They did not cheat. They just ensured we Malays continue to dominate Malaysian politics till the end of time. Parties like keADILan are dangerous. They pawn the country to the non-Malays just for the sake of political power. The Elections Commission cannot allow this. Parties like keADILan must be wiped out from this country. Parties that collaborate with the non-Malays to rob Malays of our political power must be exterminated.

If you think the Elections Commission is there to manage fair elections then you are mistaken. It is there to ensure that political power does not fall into the hands of the Chinese. It is there to ensure that your children and grandchildren have a place in Malaysia and will not become second-class citizens in our own country.

But the Elections Commission is not the only player in this whole conspiracy. I should know as I used to work in the National Registration Department and it was our job to issue identity cards. Without these identity cards the Elections Commission can do very little. Umno decides how many voters it needs and where they are needed. We will then ‘generate’ these voters through the issuing of identity cards. The Elections Commission then registers them in the respective constituencies based on the identity cards we issue.

So you see, I was very much a part of the system. And it was a system meant to ensure that Malays remain lords of this land.

I hope I was able to shed some light on what, to you, must be a most perplexing situation. Never mind. You are young. Your blood is hot. Later in life you will realise and understand what I am saying today. And one day you too will be telling your hot-blooded children what I am telling you now.

Dad.

Wednesday, 31-Mar-2004 11:19 AM

Dear dad,

Thank you for your letter of 24 March 2004, which just arrived by Pos Laju yesterday. Maybe from now on we should just use the regular postal service. At least it will arrive at the very latest in three days rather than six days.

I must admit I was very surprised to receive your letter. I was at first afraid to open it lest it be some bad news from home. After all, you have never written to me before and this is the first time, so I suspected it surely could not have been any good news. After reading your letter I now realise why you chose to write rather than tell me to my face what you said in that letter.

I understand and respect your views on Ketuanan Melayu. Many of the ‘Merdeka generation’, especially those who have served the government, share your same views. So you are not alone. But my generation no longer holds dear the concept of Ketuanan Melayu.

You say we owe the government a debt for the education we have received. Are you saying you, I and grandfather, would never have received an education and would still be planting padi back in the kampong if not for the government? What about all those Africans, Latin Americans, and other ‘Bumiputeras’ in third world countries? They too are educated, in fact better educated than us. Do their countries also have a Ketuanan Melayu policy? If not, then how did they receive an education and how come they have a higher ratio of university graduates compared to Malaysia?

The only reason we need government assistance is because we have to pay for our education and the government gives us loans to finance our education. If education was free then we will not need any government assistance would we? We need government loans because there are not enough places in local universities so we have to go to an overseas university. And this costs money. But if we did not have to go overseas and could instead go to a local university then the problem of financing would be solved, as we will not need any.

One can argue that building universities costs money. How much are we talking about? In the last 30 years or so, our national petroleum company, Petronas, has earned an estimated RM700 billion to RM750 billion in revenue. The actual figure is still a mystery as Petronas needs to only report to the Prime Minister and need not table its accounts for public perusal, not even to Parliament. Could not one or two billion of that be used to build more universities? In fact, they could even have easily spent ten billion Ringgit without feeling the pinch and many universities could have been built with that amount of money.

As an example, look at China, a poor country that has to support 20% of the world’s population. China has more than 1,000 universities. Beijing alone, whose population is less than half of Malaysia’s, has more than 100 universities. If China can do it why can’t Malaysia? How many universities does Malaysia have? Going by Beijing’s ratio, we should have more than 200 universities. But we have only about 10% of that. Yet, on a per capita basis, we are richer than China.

To say the Malays would never receive an education unless we have a preferential treatment policy and unless the government hands out charity to the Malays is an insult to our race. We are admitting that the Malays are failures and can only succeed with government handouts. As a proud Malay, I should imagine you would be the last to admit this. I would imagine you would want to say that the Malays can succeed under any circumstances if just given a fair chance.

On your argument of ensuring the Malays do not lose their political domination, Dad, have you analysed the latest election results? The ruling party created 25 additional Parliamentary seats. At the same time they redrew the electoral boundaries. Let us take one example, Kuantan.

In the past Kuantan had about 70,000 voters. Then the Election Commission moved out about 20,000 Malay voters to Paya Besar. With the ‘loss’ of 20,000 Malay voters, Kuantan has now become a ‘Chinese’ seat. So the ruling party had to field a Chinese candidate in Kuantan, which traditionally had been an UMNO or Malay seat.

This was done all over the country. In an attempt to defeat PAS and keADILan, both who depended on Malay votes, Malay majority constituencies were carved up and turned into ‘Chinese’ seats. And what is the result of all this?

In the recent election, UMNO won only 96 seats in Peninsular Malaysia and another 11 in Sabah, a total of 107 out of 219, and slightly less than half the seats in Parliament. And this is supposed to be UMNO’s best performance ever. Imagine what it would look like if UMNO performed badly, say like in 1999?

UMNO, which at one time had the majority seats in Parliament, are now just the largest minority. If you want to include the PAS and keADILan seats as ‘Malay’ seats, though they do not regard themselves as Malay parties, then the total would be 115 seats.

In what way do you say UMNO’s or the Elections Commission’s interest is merely to ensure that Malay political domination is not eroded. The way I see it, the manipulation of electoral boundaries has done exactly this, erode Malay political domination. Now, I am not propagating or supporting the idea of Malay political domination mind you. I am just showing you that your argument to justify the Gerrymandering and rampant cheating in the last election as necessary in the interest of Malay political domination does not hold water. What it has done instead is to give the non-Malays a stronger voice in Parliament.

Allow me to paint this hypothetical scenario. What if the non-Malay parties, even those in the ruling coalition, gang up on UMNO? And what if PAS and keADILan side with the non-Malay parties in the interest of multi-racial politics, or at best, do not side with anyone? Would your UMNO then still be able to defend the Ketuanan Melayu policy with less than half the seats in Parliament?

So you see, your loyalty to UMNO based on the notion that it is defending Malay rights and special privileges is flawed. UMNO can only do so as long as the rest do not mount any challenge and are prepared to live and let live. However, once they decide to change things and make a move to end the Ketuanan Melayu, then there is very little UMNO can do.

I know, Dad, this fact has never occurred to you. You have always believed that UMNO is invincible and commands the majority voice in Parliament. This is not so. In fact, even the policy of Malay as the national language and Islam as the official religion can be abolished if the majority in Parliament wishes for this to happen. Then whom does UMNO turn to? The rulers? We must remember that the rulers are no longer required. Even if they do not sign the law it will still automatically become law with or without their signatures.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah pointed this out in the late 1980s when he opposed the Constitutional Crisis engineered by UMNO, which may I add our new Prime Minister, Pak Lah, too opposed. Tengku Razaleigh said, what if one day UMNO loses its majority in Parliament and the non-Malays seek to remove Malay as the national language and Islam as the official religion? Currently, said Tengku Razaleigh, it cannot be done without the Rulers’ unanimous consent. But once the amendments to the constitution are made and the Rulers’ consent is no longer required, then the Malays face the danger of losing their language and religion plus their special rights and privileges.

More than twenty years ago Tengku Razaleigh saw this coming. He knew UMNO would one day lose its majority in Parliament and the only thing left for the Malays would be their Raja-Raja Melayu. Today, what Tengku Razaleigh predicted has happened.

I must repeat that I do not subscribe to the concept of Ketuanan Melayu. You do, Dad. I just want to point out that if the only reason you support UMNO is to defend the Ketuanan Melayu, then that reason no longer exists. The Ketuanan Melayu will remain not because UMNO says so. It will remain because the non-UMNO Parliamentarians allow it to. In that case, is there any longer any reason to continue supporting UMNO?

Your son.

(First published in http://www.freeanwar.com/ )

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by joeawk, April 18, 2008 13:11:14
UMNO is old and irrelevant. Leave it be. Malaysians must move on as the rest of the world will not wait for us.
written by malaysianohope, April 18, 2008 13:13:23
DAULAT TUANKU!

(Btw I'm a Non Malay)
written by bumi non malay, April 18, 2008 13:13:24
ha ha ha ha ha....our resident Blogger King getting sick of repeating.!!smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

We bumi non malay also getting sick of telling ALL Malays, we respect you as humans....you can have your language, practice your religion and exercise whatever rights given to you by Allah.

Can you in return respect Humanity, Freedom of Choice and don't be small minded with your cultural Prejudice? Ini bumi ALLAH....Malaysia belongs to ALLAH!!

We are still the human race after all....difference only skin deep!!.....surely for a better Malaysia we need to rid Malaysia of Racist Parasites.......unless we like to be like Zimbabwe Today......they too have their Ketuanan Zimbabwe Hitam!!

Ketuanan Zimbabwe is causing 3/4 of Zimbabwe Blacks in the brink of Hunger Pandemic.....what have this special priveledge given Zimbabwe??

Good thing we have a nation Today Reflective of Malaysia if the current UMNO-BN path is continued.

For a better Malaysia we need to rid UMNO-BN and all their sick ideology, corruption, greed and racism!!...nothing else matter!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 162
written by Thomas47, April 18, 2008 13:22:23
As I see it UMNO had to reinvent itself fully top to bottom and inside /out to remain relevant. For heaven sake, this is already the 8th year in the 21st century. This is the digital era. Change or be left behind.

BTW RPK, can I borrow your time machine? smilies/grin.gif
written by wag the dog, April 18, 2008 13:38:06
Under threat? What threat?

BRAVE NEW WORLD By AZMI SHAROM

Since the recent general election, voices have risen up in a shrill warning cry that the Malays are now ‘under threat’. But perhaps the real threat is the threat to Umno hegemony.

AND so it begins. Race-based rhetoric has raised its ugly little head in response to a democratic process. Over 49% of the people of Malaysia have voted for parties that have rejected race-based affirmative action in favour of a needs-based platform.

VIsit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 18, 2008 14:01:13
Re-reading this exchange of letters seem to be an apt summary of the battle within UMNO and between UMNO and Pakatan for the support of the Malays.

But unfortunately, the battle within UMNO to reform itself is tarnished by the fact many of the so-called reform minded leaders are either outdated or lacking in vitality. At worst, they are sidelined; remember the chap in Singgahsana Hotel who tried to introduce the idea of Anwar returning back to the fold of UMNO?

So now it falls to the battle for the heart and soul of the Malays between UMNO and PKR. Pakatan leaders and suppporters now, more than ever, must convince the fence-sitting and low echelon UMNO Malays that a Pakatan Government WILL NOT RESULT in any amendments OR deletions to the Federal Constitution vis-a-vis Malay Rights. THIS IS SACROSANT.

It bears worth repeating: again and again, that UMNO is now taking steps to EXPLOIT all RACIAL and RELIGIOUS sensitivities of the Malays either directly or indirectly via MCA in order to 'consolidate' the Malay support under UMNO. THIS MUST NOT BE PERMITTED TO COME TO PASS.

March 8, 2008 may be the END OF A BEGINNING for PAKATAN or the BEGINNING OF THE END for UMNO. It's one or the other.

CARPE DIEM.
written by mei yen, April 18, 2008 14:05:37
This is a quote from something I read:

"If we can't live in our country and be accepted as free citizens and human beings, then something's the matter with something - and it isn't me."
written by sltemp, April 18, 2008 14:16:56
I think that the concept of "Ketuanan Melayu" can be likened to apartheid, where one race tries to impose their dominance over all others. Any race or group that ignores others are sitting on a time bomb that will sooner or later explode.

Race difference is fine but not race discrimination. If allowed to continue, it is a festering wound that will turn gangrene and cause death.

Policies change as the world changes and those who refuses to change are soon left behind. Something practiced 50 years ago may not be practical today. What and how people think 50 years ago is different from today. We can't cling on to the past and say things are still the same. Things are no longer the same, but is it going better or worse?

Malays and non-Malays must work together for a better Malaysia. It takes 2 hands to clap and one without the other can't do much.
written by Frusmalaysian, April 18, 2008 14:25:34
I am reminded of the song entitled 'Malaysia, Land of Glory' of the 60s. The lyrics goes something like this:

On the shore beyond the tropical sea.
You will stand to welcome me
On the shore beneath the sky so blue
All my dreams, at last will come true.

O, Malaysia, land of glory,
Where I found my hearts true love
Soon we'll be meeting, dear Malaysia
You will be forevermore.

The lyrics speaks of the deep love, desire and dreams of all Malaysian (then)for our country: to welcome all its citizen; to make each of our dreams - ourselves and our children, to come true; to work and make this country to a glorious one and to defend it with our lives, and to realise it as soon as possible.

These dreams and desires, however, have not been realised by us because of the misgovernment and mismanagement of the UMNO-led BN government, for the last 50 years. (We would have acheived it had the government adopted the ways of the Alliance).

Following the thrashing the BN received in the last GE, and the likelihood of PR grabbing the rein of the government, hence, dismantling the ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ crab, we hope to realise these dreams and truly make Malaysia a truly land of glory.

written by Siputman, April 18, 2008 14:29:40
Ketuanan Melayu is relevant in those days but not now after 50 years of merdeka. We are now taking about Malaysia, not Malaysia Indian, not Malaysia Chinese etc. The Dad is old fashioned, out dated. That's why the UMNO bastards are still playing the racist poker. Threathening and scaring this kind of old folks. This generation will no longer lose this poker game. We will win the game, win f**kin big, just a matter of time.
written by Rundukon, April 18, 2008 14:57:01
I still dont understand what the Ketuanan Melayu is all about. Can a 3rd or 4th generation Indians, Arabs, Achehnese, Javanese, Yemenis be Tuan Melayu? That is the case of at least 3 of our PMs. And some Ministers, present or past, have been in this country only on the turn of the century and openly boasted and proud to be Acehnese, Javanese, Yemenis etc.

If our (UMNO) past and current leaders had been honest in taking the Malays to be at par with the non-malays economically and socially over 50 years, we shouldnt be shouting for the DEB to be extended, lets alone clinging to the Ketuanan Melayu slogan.

The fact is, our leaders have failed us. The income disparity between the haves and haves not are stretching poles apart. UMNO shouldnt then expect the Malays to continue supporting dishonest leaders.

Even cats and dogs sometimes ganged up against wolves!
written by RitchieLow, April 18, 2008 14:59:17
Wa, SiFu RPK can argue from both sides of the court and being convincing in both accounts. Just depends on personal bias to take on either side. RPK can too speak up for the world at large, just wish Aljazeera and Rupert TV come a calling. Please do write more such articles.
written by ONGJJJ, April 18, 2008 15:13:10
The usual phases that one goes through “shocked, denial, acceptance, reconciliation/healing and maturity”. Germany went through all the phases quickly after WWII, and moved on from there, whilst Japan is still stuck at denial mode, and look at them today…every visit to the Shinto shrine…kena whacked! Peter & Judas both betrayed Jesus, one repented and went on to be one of the founding fathers of the faith, the other hanged himself. Now, now, certain quarters of our society (i.e. those still clinging on to the racial or communal line propagated under “ketuanan melayu” propaganda/lie all these years, are presently at the “shocked-denial” phase, and what they do next will decide their future… I do hope they do not get stuck like Japan or refused to accept and hanged themselves like Judas, but be wise for time has come to put aside the “ketuanan melayu” lie (which has been exploited to enrich a select few) and forge ahead to fulfilling our common destiny, our Malaysian Dream, a nation for Malaysians regardless of race, language or religion, for all Malaysians to be proud of as “Negaraku, tanah tumpahnya darahku”. BTW, for the less informed like “Dad above”, there is no such thing as rights & privileges hor, only special position in education, scholarships, training etc under Article 153 of the Constitution of Malaysia, and of course Malay language, Islam & Supreme Head (Yang Di Pertuan Agung). Malaysia Boleh, for now I see there is a hope for my country. No, Baharuddin or Bung Mokthar, China is not my country, Malaysia is and will always be.
written by dieselngan, April 18, 2008 16:07:35
Something I learnt here from the letters: minority = second-class citizen.

Thus Malaysia currently has at minimum two second-class citizen - the Indians and the Chinese. Not to mention the Orang Asli such Iban, Kadazan... etc. At least I am not the only one

I wonder if Indonesian cum Malaysian are considered second class citizen smilies/grin.gif ?

Silly me, there are the majority 1st class citizen. smilies/grin.gif
written by slash n burn, April 18, 2008 16:11:35
Promise Land and sent ot concentration camp! When the Nazi declare Aryan Supremacy, Hitler commit suicide! When the Japanese claim their Leader is the son of Heaven, atomic bom explode!
This great Nations learn their lesson...

Now, there goes the UMNO claiming their race supremacy..
written by Tampinboy, April 18, 2008 16:23:49
I am in the middle path..... fence sitter smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif. Whoever can bring this country to bright side. I'm on it.

But base on my experience applying job for example ( Ah Kau company) I never get one if there a bright skin people even my qualification better.
One more I buy a secondhand car when I asked in English,Price RM 60K then I left, I told my bright skin wife to asked in Hokkien, price RM 54K then wife say why like that. The salesman say Malay get 7% discount when buying house.......
smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif

Seem like not only political have unfair......
written by Thiru, April 18, 2008 16:34:09
In the history of human beings there has been always someone to scheme for the race and never ever they succeded.I remember Hitler. Maybe here they can try lah.

My wish may the wise men rise and please tell the baboons to lay off.Please, Please........
written by SocratesI, April 18, 2008 16:37:03

Hey Kazakhstan,

Since when did the old system unite us?? And who said anything about separating the older and younger generation?? What a crock of sh*t!! Social contract is there to stay?? What social contract is that?? The only social contract I see was the one that the Brits left in place as they feared that the less developed Malays at that time will be swarmed and left behind by the other races so hence the "special place" of the Malay in the Constitution.

The Malays have come a long way since then, or they should have after more than 50 years with the playing field tilted in their favour, and against the other races. The old political system only served to divide and rule ... what unity are we talking about??

Its time to move on to a true democratic system with social equity as its objective. That is what the young man is trying to tell his Dad, to replace an old flawed system with a much better system that will not have leakages by way of massive corruption, abuse of power, etc.

The old man saw the old system of governance by BN as good, but he was only seeing it through his UMNO lenses. When his son compared what the BN did in the field of education with what the Chinese Govt. did, it was obvious that the BN Govt. did far too little using/ abusing far too much resources!! In truth, by any comparison internationally, the BN has done a below standard job for us Malaysians, and it is time to find a much more effective contractor like the PR to deliver us from the morass that is the BN govt.!!

written by novrising, April 18, 2008 17:09:03
ARE WE THAT STUPID??????? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
-Threat to language
-Threat to culture
-Threat to religion
Where is threat coming from? Who wants threat who? In particular, religion is intimate, its between us and the MAKER. How can anyone threat that. How can anyone take away by beliefs?

Peace,
NovRising

written by LTn, April 18, 2008 17:10:20
WELL SOME ******* TELL US SABAHAN NOT TO MENTION THE OLD ROTTEN 20 POINTS. WHEN I READ THIS LINES IT REMINDS ME THE SAME SHIT....

"You must remember, when we gained independence in 1957, it was agreed that all these immigrants would be given citizenship as long as the Malays are allowed special rights and privileges. This is why we have a Ketuanan Melayu policy. The Chinese and Indians agreed to this and that is why we gave them citizenship. Now that they are citizens they demand equal rights. This is a breach of agreement. If they do not agree to Malays being given special rights and privileges why agree to it in 1957? They should have disagreed then. Then we could have sent them back to India and China. We did not force them to become citizens of this country. They wanted citizenship and the terms and conditions of their citizenship was discussed and agreed upon. It was a social contract between them and us. How can they now turn around and not agree to it?"

SO TO ALL MY FELLOW SABAHAN SHOULD WE CLAIM BACK OUR RIGHTS?? ARE WE SO WRONG TO CLAIM OUR RIGHTS?? IS THE PRESENT GOV bn umno BREACH OF AGREEMENT???? SO??
THE ALL bn umno JACKASS IN SABAH IS IMMIGRANT!!!! AND THEY INVITE MORE IMMIGRANT TO SABAH FROM THE FILIPINES TO JOIN THEM AND ROB US ALL!!!

SABAHAN LEADERS GO SLAP YOUR SELF AND THINK ABOUT IT......
written by harrbm, April 18, 2008 17:10:53

Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra,

Ha ha looks like introduction to YM RPK and MT for beginners.

Pardon me but I really don't know why you are re-publishing the letters but allow me to write down my mind on few issues.

Firstly, the social contract on BUMI status that was agreed and signed years ago may apply at that time because the non-malays had a choice to remain in Malaya and become citizens or go back to their British masters or their country. Only if they knew how their trust were abused...

However, non-malays that were born after merdeka or formation of Malaya and then Malaysia had no choice but to be Malaysians. I wonder what will be the choices of non-malays now if the British offer them a British citizen ship like the America offered the Vietnamese. Will they leave Malaysia?

Secondly, UMNO had no doubt played an important role for independence of Malays from British rule but that was the old UMNO for old Malays. Now new Malays are already independence from British rule but why still dependent on UMNO (the government) as if only UMNO could give them a living.

Thirdly, as for non-malays, facts of history on BUMI/Malay status is stated in the constitution. However, that does not mean non-malays could not seek for changes. The time for changes have come. Forefathers of non-malays would finally smile if the deal is better if not equal. More Malays like myself are very convinced indians, chinese, punjabis and others are as malaysians as I am. Infact my Chinese and Indian friends are calling themselves Malays, since they are Malaysian.

Lastly, politicians and issues comes in many forms depending on the time but Malaysia Today and YM RPK is consistence. To know equality, justice and bravery is to know YM RPK.

Thank you and cheersssssssssss.

>
<
written by TheMessenger, April 18, 2008 17:14:20
I've experienced the argument above when I try to make the point to my parent and my big brother in recent GE. I'm so sad when they cannot see what we see, they can't understand the way we understand. but what hurt me the most is they believe malays are UMNO and UMNO are malays! they are sooo afraid of 'The Others' because TV/newspaper a.k.a UMNO keep telling them that we the malays cannot be politically challenged.

yes i understand that they have been provoked about 'ketuanan melayu' by mainstream media everyday. even a deaf people will subscribe to the idea if they faced it everyday.
then.. i just make a simple point to clear some fog in their mind - in this 50 years we have been living with Ketuanan Melayu concept, get the special assist from the goverment (konon), are we all (the malays) now better, then any other race in our own land? are we really the supreme race in this what so call our land? No!! in fact, we are getting worse and worse in almost every aspect!! and i told them that this backstep minded have to be stop, NOW!! or our next generation will suffer what we suffer now - The Unindependent Race.

The argument keep on and on within us, but in a very gentle and discreet manners, everyday during the campaigning period. and everytime we watch TV3 news together, i will let them hear from me in a different perspective other then that silly stupid TV3 newsreader. all they talks about malay just make me really sick!!

to make them understand further, everytime we past an opposition 'markaz', i will stop and let them see the multi colour of people at the markaz, there is malay, chinese, indian, (argh! what the hell, we are all malaysian)young, youth, very young, old, very old, and we blend under that roof like a family, a true family. then i make a stop at markaz BN/UMNO. there are only a bunch of old malay folks, who try to dress and look as smart as they can, arrogant as usual. and there is also 3 or 4 Pemuda UMNO who are there because they want to make some money (we know them very well, they are our kampung's opportunist)

then.. when the moment come, the truth revealed. they suddenly see what they have been blinded (dibutakan) for so many years. when DUN Lunas and Pdg Serai Parliment won by PR, I know that four of the vote is from us..

and what make me really proud is that is the first time ever they vote other than BN and i'm sure that is not the last.

smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by LTn, April 18, 2008 17:16:29
WE THE KADAZAN DUSUN OWNS THE SOIL OF SABAH SO WHAT THE **** THIS UMNO MALAYS DOING HERE AND TALK COCK????
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 17:36:21
Dear LTn, you stupid prick, they are in Sabah because Sabahans gave them 24 out of 25 Parliament seats and 14 of them are Umno. Now go buy a gun and put a bullet in your head.
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 17:37:22
Dear novrising, unfortunately you are.
written by harrbm, April 18, 2008 17:38:31
>
>

LTn, please calm down. Sabahans need to be informed of all injustice that you see.

What are your plans?

>
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 17:39:50
Dear Bigjoe99, me 'framed the debate'? Hello.....that is an exchange of letters between a father and son. I just published them. I am not the father nor the son.
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 17:41:04
Dear Rundukon, that's the whole point. You are not supposed to understand it.
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 17:43:17
Dear harrbm, their plan is to give BN 25 out of 25 seats come the next election.
written by box, April 18, 2008 17:51:14
Malaysians must be reminded that it is the RESPONSIBILITY of the government to provide public services, education, safe environment, create employment and business opporunities and etc etc etc....

It is the government who owe us for giving them the opportunity to govern.. NOT the other way round.
written by novrising, April 18, 2008 17:55:30
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 | 17:37:22

Dear novrising, unfortunately you are.

ooouchhh smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by lynn, April 18, 2008 19:12:49
LTn, your closest neighbour, sarawakians, are just as useless as all sabahans. Sorry to scold you fellas, if not for you guys, Umno would be screwed! You East Malaysians ruined our party! Don't east malaysia got internet? smilies/cry.gif
written by tutiger, April 18, 2008 19:59:12
The university part is really true.... we needed more local university with quality badly. Then we can have more professionals and the education money would flow internally too.
Btw, I am a non-Malay but I would never dream of having someone to remove BM as our national language, those whom have been overseas would understand what I mean. After all we are all proud to be Malaysians
written by little dragon, April 18, 2008 20:41:50
d 2 letters demonstrate how very divergent opinions can result when v look at d same issue thru different lenses.

d father is obviously influenced by his emotions. he acknowledges n accepts umno wrongdoing as mere imperfections, a small price to pay, in exchange for a dominant malay race. he is tempered by a deep fear dat d malays will lose their place if ever d "immigrants" r allowed to gain political power. as such, his son shud drop his ideals n rejoin d flock.

d son, on d other hand, while being no less interested in protecting malay interests, applied critical thinking to debunk his father's notions on perpetuating a strong, albeit corrupt, umno.

there r many way v can read those 2 letters, young vs. old, umno vs pakatan, politically split families (no joke, dis is really happening) etc etc. but d most important, n most relevant to me, is dis newfound courage of a new generation of malays, better educated n far better exposed, in voicing against d flawed traditional arguments which hv kept umno in power for so long. they do not see themselves as "traitors" to their race but d real protectors of d malays.

they hv opened up their eyes to see dat supporting umno no longer equates to protecting d ordinary malays.
written by ahmisk, April 18, 2008 21:23:34
I think some people forgot that Sabahans and Sarawakians are our brothers and sisters too.

Please show them some respect.
written by ahmisk, April 18, 2008 21:55:17
I dont know what some people on this thread think they're getting by insulting others.

Does it help to convince the other party? Nope.
Do the insults contain any good ideas? Nope.

This kind of nonsensical bickering really undermines our cause. People are coming onto MT to learn about ideas for a new Malaysia and all they come across are crude statements that they could easily just have gotten at a brothel.

We criticise politicians for spending most of their time posturing and just mouthing off, and some of the people here are doing the exact same thing.

written by talk2stop, April 18, 2008 22:20:08
Ketuanan Melayu is good for non Malays. It makes the non Malays more competitive and agressive. Can't you see around you in Malaysia? The Chineses and Indians are so hard working. It is the new world if you are unfit, you parish. The elite group in Malaysia will be the Chineses and Indians.
What Ketuanan Melayu has made is that an individual malay success means nothing. We understand they (Malays) make it because of handouts. That's sad.
Ketuanan Melayu didn't push non Malays to the edge but it moves the edge to starting point.
"BRING IT ON".
written by Uncorruptible, April 18, 2008 22:40:50
The stinking beer guzzling SOB minister for education, is still unwillinbg or unable to solve the school children's heavy bags problem. he has no sympathies for primary school children unable to carry their school bags which are more than half their body weight, up and down the school buses. This bastard wants to see a serious accident happen before he does something? RESIGN you SOB, you are totally unfit to be minister for shit even !!!! GET LOST ANAK HARAM. Somebody else can do the job better, anytime.
written by Daryl, April 18, 2008 22:54:20
If only the son's point of view is the majority of Malay's view. It will only take about 15% on these Malay's vote to defeat the racist goverment we have. I think we are very close to that now. At the same time this 15% will at least influence the 15% of Malay's parents to a certain extend and maybe notch that number to 20%. If you think about it is really powerful in terms of political shifting of Malaysia especially among the Malays. It is never too late but the next questions is how about the non-Malay what are we going to do with this type of empowerment that we are kind of new too. That is the line we have to thread carefully so that the shift will move in the positive directions and trust betrween races are cemented in a more concrete fashion istead of just Pakatan Rakyat. We should strieve for Pakatan Rakyat as a party not a coalition.
written by Thomas47, April 18, 2008 22:54:53
written by ahmisk, April 18, 2008 | 21:55:17

"This kind of nonsensical bickering really undermines our cause. People are coming onto MT to learn about ideas for a new Malaysia and all they come across are crude statements that they could easily just have gotten at a brothel."

Well, it is a democratic way to voice out their opinion albeit in a crude way. I guess there is bound to be some bad apples among them but don't let that discourage you.
written by ahmisk, April 18, 2008 23:10:40
Dear Thomas47,

I'm just concerned that some people may not realise the tremendous challenge that lies ahead of us. Almost 60% of malays voted for Barisan, according to some reports. UMNO's MP count was barely scratched. The 12th PRU provided an illusion that we've somehow entered a postracial, bangsa malaysia era. But I doubt we have.

There's a LOT OF PEOPLE out there who still believe in the UMNO and BN agenda, and we have got a MIND BOGGLING challenge to convince them otherwise. And we're not going to do it by sniping at Malays and East Malaysian Bumiputeras. They are our brothers and sisters, perhaps misguided, but still our kin.

But you're right in that this is a democratic forum and that all kinds of people post. And that a lot of (justified) pent up anger is being unleashed. Thanks.
written by Thomas47, April 18, 2008 23:17:50
written by Raja Petra, April 18, 2008 | 17:43:17

Dear harrbm, their plan is to give BN 25 out of 25 seats come the next election.

It is not that we did not try hard enough to win a few seats for the Opposition. In fact we did.

Take me for example, I casted my vote in KK. And I was lost to choose which clown to vote for. At one corner was PKR and the other was DAP but I voted for PKR anyway and you know the rest of the story. That is in KK alone. What about the others all over the State. Its the same thing. All kemaruk gila nak berpangkat YB.

Well, no use to repeat of what happened almost two months ago. It is time to move on.

written by mikewang, April 18, 2008 23:25:40
Pete, you are a political genius.
You foresaw that coming in 2004 and the scenario it would have created.

So what is going to happen now ?
Father going to strangle son for being a party to it ?
or father going along with son and we all live happily ever after !
written by mei yen, April 18, 2008 23:50:43
Mother knows best …

Dad, I know you love this old house. All our children were born here, it has been our home for decades and I know you don’t really want to give up this old house, but times have changed and me and the kids would really love to have a bigger and better looking house.

Son, I know you used to be so proud of this old house; it used to be the biggest and the best in the area. You were happy until one day the roof fell on your head and you had to stay in the hospital for a long time. Now that you are home again you do not like this old house anymore and you want to get rid of it.

I know you have dreams of a new house, a bigger house but what I do not like is that you want to take the bricks from your neighbor’s compound to build this big house. You know son, that is really not a good idea cause a house built with bricks from your neighbors property will not be strong and can easily crumble. It is better for you to work hard to get your own bricks and you can be sure my son, that you and everyone who lives in it will definitely feel really proud and will always be happy in your new house.
written by Panca Indera, April 19, 2008 00:25:51
Ketuanan Melayu!

Malay leadership, Malay Ownership, and Malay Special privileges.

Non of the above is viable in a Truly Islamic State,” only possible in secular state.”
That’s why it had succeeded in the past 50 years, because of the secularism practiced by the UMNO,MIC,and MCA. Secularism based on racial, socio-economic and spiritual prejudices confused as religious righteousness. This misconception by the Malays all these time was due to of scholastic deficiencies.
The Malays themselves forgot that their religious education and scholarship were mostly from word of mouth, written jawi, simple adulterated texts, hadiths and Koran translation by half baked scholars. Just check if you can find any Malay Muslims scholar of equal standing as those from India, Pakistan, Iran, Iraq, Egypt, Lebanon etc. etc . Has any Malay Muslim scholar ever produced anything of International standard over the last few hundred years?

“Macam Katak bawah tempurung” The majority of Malay Muslims think the Islam they practiced is the most correct and perfect. Remember Dr M said, he wanted Malaysia Muslims to practice only The Imam Shafie sect of Islam and to recognize as such only. Maybe the reason was to continue to keep the Malay Muslims in the dark and ignorant, easier to manage and control.

Just like the Zionist and their supporters who could’nt or would’nt let others like AhmedDinajed questioned or wanted an international scholastic studies on the Holocaust , the Malays Muslims do not want to study or research or have public debate on the other four sects, included Shiah Muslims who followed the AhlulBayt.

To proof my point, just try to find books on Shiah in this country in the bookstore or libraries, NIL!. What is the Fear? What is there to hide?

The Saudis claims that the Shiahs are misguided and even non Muslims . Yet their own leader, The custodian of the two Holy places goes around holding hands with the greatest anti-Islam President of USA himself and provided military bases in the Holy land. Who is the hypocrite as mentioned in the Holy book?

They are going against the teaching of Islam by befriending disbelievers(USA, Isreal and EU) to help oppress a Muslim Country, IRAN. Is this the kind of Malay Muslims that we want to be?

If it is, then we deserved to be wiped of the face of this earth as we don’t deserved to be His representatives on this planet to protect its people and environment.

See what I’am getting at. THERE IS NO KETUANAN MELAYU! ONLY KETUHANAN ALLAH!

Note:As for the other Malaysians of other ethnic origins who think their race or ways are better than the Ketuanan Melayu, just see if they can have the same freedom of schooling, culture and language on the same scale in EU,USA,ISREAL as here in Malaysia.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by chilten, April 19, 2008 03:10:43
What a stupid dad. But that seems to be the majority of 'dads' in Malaysia, especially poor dads in kampong and rich dads who are related to UMNO.
written by Victory or Death, April 19, 2008 03:50:09
Dear All,

Please correct me if I am wrong. The original constitution of Malaysia does not have the concept of ketuanan Melayu.It provides for the special position of the Malays and the position of the royalty which is relatively nothing compared to the concept of ketuanan Melayu which began after 1969 and became significant when TDM helmed Malaysia.

Even today, I believe, there is no such concept of ketuanan Melayu in the Malaysian constitution. It was created by UMNO.

Would are forefathers agreed to it if the concept was in our constitution?

I believe they would not have supported independence if the concept of ketuanan Melayu as created by UMNO was in it.

I also believe all Malaysians have no issue with the special position of the Malays and the position of the royalty as provided in the constitution but not the ketuanan Melayu concept.
written by e3b4c4, April 19, 2008 07:16:56
O people! We have created you male and female, and have
made you nations and tribes that ye may know one another. The
noblest of you in the sight of Allah is the best in conduct…
(Qur'an, 49:13)
Asabiyyah is an inner psychic trait that is manifested in
patronizing or defending one's kindred or those with whom one
has some kind of affinity or relation, whether it be creed and
religious ideology, soil or home, language or colour. This
affinity may also be due to similarity of profession or the
relationship of teacher and pupil, or something else. It is a
moral vice that appears to take the form of defence of truth or
religion, but in reality it is aimed at extending one's own
influence or that of one's co-religionist(s), relative(s), friend(s),
or member(s) of group.
written by lokenpal, April 19, 2008 08:47:04
I think RPK is trying to calm the excitement of the recent election wins. KM is still a sensitive issue!

Ketuanan Melayu (KM) can only be discussed with some degree of bias on the part of the writer/reader. So does a non-Malay have more merit than a Malay in discussing KM issues?

Anyway, I write on that premise!

It has alwsys been the case, an accepted fact of life. Life was not bad and growing up was fun (in hindsight). Reality hit us in on may 13 1969 inter-racial riots. Fear, sadness and confusion was the order of the day. Pity the Chinese for bearing the brunt; while some Malays suffered.

Now, about 40 years later, we find ourselves asking if history would repeat itself. The recent May 2008 election showed that at least some historical events dont repeat itself. People do learn. This in comforting.

KM aka NEP is a delicate and complex socio-economic public policy, unique to Malaysia. This policy has failed dramatically in changing the majority Malay's socio-economic status. Fundamental changes in the psychological behaviour of Malays were not addressed effectively. Governance matters were neglected for short term success. Picture perfect concrete jungles rose from the ashes of may 13. The era of Mahatir,Samy Vellu & Ling was in full bloom.

While individual KM success was beginning to take hold/foot; the everday Malay was not enjoying the benefits of KM. The poor non-Malay was in the same boat.

World events did not help Malaysia's race relations. 911, Iraq war & Bali bombing sent shivers down people's spine on the dangers of extremism and etreme actions.

...more soon..It will take another father and son to be agreeable.

http://apakhabar.********.com/2008/04/ketuanan-melayu.html
http://apakhabar.********.com/2008/04/malaysias-democratic-revolution-2008.html
written by penangite, April 19, 2008 09:59:01
Dear all,

Najib Razak once said that PKR is Parti Kurang Relevan. Today who is kurang relevan? UMNO today stands for Under-sieged Monkeys Nihilistic Opera.
written by angfaulith, April 19, 2008 10:14:51
we in pas agree entirely.
let us malays fight for equal opportunity with the other races.
the poor of all races should be helped especially the indians in the estates.
malaysia is for all races and creeds
hidup pas! hidup malaysia!
written by OrdinaryMan, April 19, 2008 12:24:59
Sunday, 4-Apr-2004

Dearest brother,

Received this letter from you yesterday. Do you realise this is the first time you write a letter to me? Very surprise indeed! At first wondering why you choose to write instead of just calling me by phone as you used to. But, after reading the contents I saw this was just a cc to me of dad's letter to you and your reply to him, I assume you just to know what I've got to say about this exchange of opinion.

I don't agree to this paragraph dad wrote:

"You must remember, when we gained independence in 1957, it was agreed that all these immigrants would be given citizenship as long as the Malays are allowed special rights and privileges. This is why we have a Ketuanan Melayu policy. The Chinese and Indians agreed to this and that is why we gave them citizenship. Now that they are citizens they demand equal rights. This is a breach of agreement. If they do not agree to Malays being given special rights and privileges why agree to it in 1957? They should have disagreed then. Then we could have sent them back to India and China. We did not force them to become citizens of this country. They wanted citizenship and the terms and conditions of their citizenship was discussed and agreed upon. It was a social contract between them and us. How can they now turn around and not agree to it?"

The first sentence is okay. It was an agreement between the immigrants and the British. The immigrants are all of us: Malays, Chinese, and Indians. We are not natives of Malaya. The understanding was the Malays were allowed special privileges because they were economically weaker then and the privileges were given to help them achieve par with the Chinese. Why does dad make it appear that the contract was between Malays and the non-Malays? This was simply not true.

What really irked me was this statement: "Can you imagine being a second-class citizen in our own country the way the Malays in Singapore are?"

Hey brother. I didn't realised the Malays in Singapore are second-class citizens! It doesn't appear that way here. In fact the Malays here are so happy. They are so proud to be here in Singapore. Many of them came from Malaysia, some even from our own kampung. I asked some of them if they like to go back to Malaysia. They all gave me a resounding NO. They laughed at the NEP. They told me the Singapore government gave all equal opportunities. If you work hard you prosper; that's it. No handouts. They said the handout was an insult. There is no such thing as a 1st-class citizen or a 2nd-class citizen. A citizen is a citizen, period.

There was also no similar rhetoric as 'Ketuanan Cina' in Singapore. Everyone's equal in the eyes of the law here. I would say the laws here are stricter than those in Malaysia. But we don't mind because there is no preferential treatment and not much corruption.

Brother, you have asked me before if I would come back to work in Malaysia when I graduate. I can tell you right now that I rather work here in Singapore. I am having excellent grades here and I know I will get First-Class Honours. There are many opportunities here. I have already been head-hunted from a couple of firms. They recognise me for my merits, not for my colour. If I come home and got a job, people will say I got the job just because of NEP. I didn't want that.

Anyway, dearest brother, don't be too harsh on dad. I think he's getting senile. That's all.

Your loving sister.
written by Taiping60, April 19, 2008 13:36:29
Raja Petra,

Malaysians owe you alot for making us realise we were wrong to keep quiet and not stand up for our rights. Thanks for not giving up hope when many Malaysians have done so. What you have done is very noble and you will be remembered for that.

You provoked our thoughts and get us to start thinking again. If we do not work together against the wrong, who will be. Many of us especially the non Malays have been repeated bombarded with threats of May 13 in every election since 1969 and many of us fell into the trap. Yes, you were right to say Malaysian Chinese and Indian were cowards. I believe we were but not anymore. From now onward we should all think ourselves as Malaysian and no more individual race. We will keep a close watch on the governments and will not hesitate to take necessary actions to correct them. If this fails, we will correct them in the ballot box.

To all my fellow Malaysians. Thanks for standing up against the wrong. To all the politicians we are counting of you to make Malaysia a better place for all of us.
written by Ujang, April 19, 2008 21:36:43
Pada PRU 12 yang lepas buat pertama kali aku hantar SMS kepada abah aku di Rembau suruh abah undi PAS dan PKR. Dan keputusan di Rembau memang berbaloi. Kalau abah den umor 74 boleh ubah aku tak tahulah mengapa orang mudo tidak berubah.
Baru-baru anak den ikut kami poi ke Kg. Baru untuk dengar Sdr Anwar berucap dan dia terpegun dengan wawasan Sdr Anwar. Omak dio memang kuat sokong PKR tetapi den pulak PAS walaupun tidak jadi ahli parti. Rata-rata orang Melayu baru tidak lagi sokong UMNO.
smilies/cool.gif
written by ALHujuraat1114, April 20, 2008 05:13:45
I Just love this blog and its owner. Anyway referring to the letter the only way is mix marriages otherwise how can we be one. Some lucky fellow get to have his amoi all the time.

What people say the bloggers living in fantasy land? It might be true as the net is the only place we can speak our mind, too many plastic clones out there. They think past leaders cave in because they scared is it.

Talking about petronas money, as someone who comes from the timur side, we are just disappointed that in the list of 25th richest man in Malaysia none are from our side. Not complaining just hoping somebody with opportunity can claim our God given right. Ilmu masih kurang tapi Minyak dah ambik, siapkanlah highway to sampai KT and KB.

Campaklah la mamat timur tu dalam perigi lepas tu suka hati cakap dia bodoh. Nasib baik ada Sofitel.

written by stevey, April 20, 2008 10:25:03
I think it is a myth that Malay in Singapore is 2nd class citizen. In fact, Malay is the privilege race because they are the one getting free education till University as long as they make the grade. Malay students are making progress by leaps and bounds. Do you know that the TOP student for Nation-wide primary school leaving exam in last 3 consecutive are all Malay students. And I can assure you, no one in Singapore would said they get the top honor by getting special arrangement or privilege. They are top because they deserve it.
A Chinese Singaporean.
written by agnostikos, April 20, 2008 13:42:58
Wow, written four years ago? The son (alias one rpk?) was amazingly prescient re the role of PAS-PKR-DAP. Some would give an arm and a leg for access to such a time machine :-).
written by Camillus, April 20, 2008 17:30:06
Questions:
1. Why does the father think and write as such?
2. Why does the son think and write as such?
(Please! THink hard and do not spout nonsense)

Additional Questions:
1. Is this 'Malaysia Today'? Or 'Non-Malay Today'?

written by Camillus, April 20, 2008 17:52:36
As an example, look at China, a poor country that has to support 20% of the world’s population. China has more than 1,000 universities. Beijing alone, whose population is less than half of Malaysia’s, has more than 100 universities. If China can do it why can’t Malaysia? How many universities does Malaysia have? Going by Beijing’s ratio, we should have more than 200 universities. But we have only about 10% of that. Yet, on a per capita basis, we are richer than China.

Dear Son,

Your paragraph above mimics what certain writer wrote before - in one of his previous articles. I cannot - and do not blame you for your utter lack or intelligence, i.e. stupidity - given the role model smilies/wink.gif See, I am learning to use the Internet with all its eccentricities smilies/tongue.gif

Getting back to your paragraph above:

The huge majority of university students are youths. How many younsters are there in Malaysia? Out of 25 million Malaysians?

Now, how many youths are there in China? Out of 1.4 billion Chinese?

Foreign students. What are the percentages of foreign students in China? What about Malaysia? Why is this so?

Universities in the major cities and towns will always be preference. Why did I do my first degree, post-grad and Ph.D. in a major city? Yes, the quality of the research was one factor - but there were others though!

Indeed, we do need more universities. Quality universities at that! Your argument is so irrational though. Such a stupid use of ratios! The comparison given really is nonsensical!

I will say this again. I do not - and cannot - blame you. Try to think and act and write with a clear head. Minus any emotions. Look at all angles and do not jump to conclusions - like the majority of stupid Malaysians.

Indeed, this comes with experience and I guess that's to be worked on. You know, some 'oldies' like myself still write like a hot-heated teenager? Three guesses who??? smilies/tongue.gif

Finally, I am sorry if my words hurt you. We 'oldies' are less tolerant of people. As you get older, you will be so as well smilies/tongue.gif

Your loving Old Man
written by RobertS, April 20, 2008 18:24:52
I once read that beauty is only skin deep and humans only live and go thru life only once. Lets focus on making our country a better place to live in rather than trying to establish who is the "Tuan"and who is the "Kuli". Take a knife and cut yourself and the blood that flows is all red in colour. So before your number comes up for you to meet your maker...All Malaysians should strife to make Malaysia a better place to live in......NO CORRUPTION, NO ABUSE OF POWER..NO PATRIC BANGAWI, NO CORRECT,CORRECT,CORRECT AND NO BULLSHITTING REPS.....
written by RobertS, April 20, 2008 18:26:45
MOST MALAYSIANS FAIL TO READ INBETWEEN THE LINES AND ARE NOT AWARE OF THE POLITICAL MANIPULATION THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON........THANKS FOR THE ENLIGHTENMENT.....
written by wannabepatriotic, April 20, 2008 18:48:10
RPK sir, i enjoyed it the first time, and i enjoy it the second time... tho it made more sense before the GE12 as it is now. The morale is the same, only this time, the son has a ray of hope for Malaysia, and the dad might have gotten a chance to repent and quit UMNO...
written by Panca Indera, April 20, 2008 21:29:41

Yeah Right!
so what, Are they Muslims?
Please provide names and pics of those so that we can verify your facts
otherwise!

written by Panca Indera, April 20, 2008 21:33:14
written by stevey, April 20, 2008 | 10:25:03
I think it is a myth that Malay in Singapore is 2nd class citizen. In fact, Malay is the privilege race because they are the one getting free education till University as long as they make the grade. Malay students are making progress by leaps and bounds. Do you know that the TOP student for Nation-wide primary school leaving exam in last 3 consecutive are all Malay students.
A Chinese Singaporean.
Yeah Right!
Please provide names and pics of those so that we can verify your facts
if its true.
note.forgot to copy first part previous msg
written by RitchieLow, April 21, 2008 02:22:15

"If government would confine itself to equal protection, and, as Heaven does its rains, shower its favor alike on the high and the low, the rich and the poor, it would be an unqualified blessing. In the act before me there seems to be a wide and unnecessary departure from these principles."
--Andrew Jackson
written by bikerzon, April 21, 2008 11:23:51
Ever since my grandfather arrived from China in the 1900's, he and the rest of his gang have just one thing in their mind : work the land and earn as much as possible so that they can get back home to Hainan Island and enjoy the fruits of their labour with their family. Never did it occur to him that he will eventually built a "home" in this country and even lay to rest forever in this land.

You see, my grandfather even apply for a citizenship so that he would stay and toil this land together with the rest of the household. He is not a rich man, he came to "Nanyang" with just a piece of cloth on his body. He knew nothing about the spoken language of Malay or English. Neither he can eat curry with his hand. It is just too spicy for him.

Soon he stared to realized that he will stay here longer than he expected to. Eventually, from a wooden house, he built a "home" for himself and his family. He started to like curry and even some of his compatriot start to meddle with curry spices and came out "nyonya laksa" and "curry mee", thanks to their fluency of Malay language and their "new" Malay friends.

Ladies and gentlemen,
My grandfather and his compatriots have absorb the culture of this land into their life without them knowing it. He eventually pass down this down to my father which grew up speaking fluent malay and english and ate with his hand and if there's no curry in his daily meals he would be restless.

The notion of being a "guest" in this country have been long eradicated and all the traditional culture in this land been accepted in my family for 3 generations. I would believe that in generation to come, it will still be part of my family culture to accept Malay language of the national language of Malaysia, that we have the traditional cloth "Kebaya", "songkok" and "baju melayu" and I am proud of it.

So ladies and gentlemen,
Lets us work together to build this household together. Lets be Anak Malaysia, and work together. Don't regard this land as "rumah tumpangan" anymore.

http://new-dawn-malaysia.********.com
written by tcng, April 21, 2008 11:43:20
To all Malay 'thinkers'...
Forget about what was the agreed upon in 1957, prior to independent.
Consider this scenario :-
A couple has a biological son and adopted son.
They 'pampered' the biological son such as :-
1) the biological son received present for scoring 50 marks in exam, while adopted son must obtain 80 marks to get a present.

2) The couple helped the biological son with his homework so that he has more time to watch TV, play computer games and sleep longer.

3) When the biological son started doing business, they gave them capital and tell him that they will bail him out should the business fail.

Guess which one of them will grow up stronger, more competitive in the society?

If Ketuanan Melayu means 80% of doctors, teachers, lecturers, professors must be Melayu , regardless of the quality of these people vis-a-vis Non-Malay, I wish the Malay race good luck.

written by dmh1871, April 21, 2008 13:50:03
Dear ordinaryMan, stevey and panca indera maybe you could tell a bed time story to the young sg Malays that once upon a time long long time ago:-

a)Yusuf Ishak was the first Malay president and after that……..;
b)There use to be a Malay deputy prime minister;
c)The Malay is only entrusted to look after only one key ministry for more than 20 years;
d)The call for prayer “azan” was once could be heard from outside the mosque;
e)M Nasir, Loloq, Aron Aziz and etc migrated and become successful in Malaysia;
f)Malaysia Berita Harian paper actually originate from Singapore and yet the difference that in sg there only 4 sheets;
g)The Malay use to own land and lived on landed property and there were Malay kampong;
h)The free University education given to the Malay is provided for under the Constitution i.e Part XIII, General Provisions, Minorities and special position of Malays, section 152: The Government shall exercise its functions in such manner as to recognise the special position of the Malays, who are the indigenous people of Singapore, and accordingly it shall be the responsibility of the Government to protect, safeguard, support, foster and promote their political, educational, religious, economic, social and cultural interests and the Malay language. Unfortunately this is the only thing that are given to them as what we can culled that they are sideline or marginalised as follows:

1)Malay not allowed to hold key security sensitive post such as IGP, Generals, Admirals and fighter pilot coz they may hesitate ………;
2)There no Malays High Court Judge, Bankers, CEO of GLC, Billionaire, corporate figure and etc ;
3)A lot of Singapore Malay migrated to Malaysia to become Malaysian Malay one good example is a former district judge who is currently practicing in KL and acted as one of the counsel for our former chief judge in the Lingam saga;
4)The numbers of Malays in a housing estate is control; and many more……

Just imagine the Malay is indigenous people of Singapore, they are said to be brilliant and yet what do they get? Almost nothing for being brilliant, just imagine if they were stupid.

So you couldn’t and shouldn’t blame the Malaysia Malays for protecting their rights which has been enshrined in the constitution due to the above.

The difference is that Malays are an accommodating race which does not like to disturb other people right as stipulated under the Constitution provided they don’t disturb them in the first place. So why only the Malay has to compromise their rights guarantee under the law where the sg Malay predicament is a lousy test case.

Where as In malaysia?

To me the sg Malay are like passenger in an air con bus i.e. they are provided with clean, comfortable seat and cool surrounding so that they forgot that they have no control over where they are going, the route is pre determine for them. However qualified them may be they can never be the driver or even the conductor coz.

So to all the Malays keep on fighting with each other coz the winner would definitely not be us and when we all finally realised it, it might be too late.
written by tcng, April 21, 2008 15:31:37

Anybody has the information as to the number of Malay-Muslim Singaporean denounced citizenship to become Malaysian in the past 20 years... it would be interesting to look at the number...
written by cheekhiaw, April 21, 2008 21:06:24
Hi father and son,

Only a quack duck would pick another quack duck to be boss duck simply because the other quack duck thinks he was born a boss duck.

written by jeremiah_liang, April 22, 2008 00:07:19

Despite 50 years of race-based politics and a disastrous social economic policy (NEP) if not for the blessing of commodities and the infusion of Japanese MNC investments in the late 1980s, many Malaysians have still not woken up to the meaning of the political changes that we saw on 8th March 08.

Yet, there are still many Malaysians including crown princes talking about special privileges based on race and implicitly warning about the dangerous consequences of upsetting the status quo.

The idea that there will be political instability when one race becomes economically poorer than another in a multiracial society is filled with fallacies, especially in today's world of electronic communications and global dialogue.

First, on a matter of human principle (all men & women are created to be treated equal with equal rights), the legalisation of political and economic privileges based on race is something that the world has struggled with in the past, and we know the victors were those who favour humanity and equal rights (the fall of legitimised racism and white nationalism in South Africa, the failure of Fascism in Germany, etc).

So as a matter of principle and even as a matter of practice, the promotion of superior rights for any race, be it minority or majority, will actually lead to instability, either from the inside which happened in Malaysia, or from external forces (which is reflected in the marginalisation of Msia's economic health versus its stronger neighbours - Indonesia, Thailand, Spore etc.)
The truth is that the winds of change have come to Malaysia. And it is God's divine will that all unjust laws and corrupt practices will eventually be blown away by new forces of change. Anwar himself may be an opportunist as some people may say, but he is definitely used by God to change Malaysia for good and transform this country into a model of civilisation. If we are wary of his true intentions (who can trust a politician anyway, especially one who is not repentent over his track record), then as Raja Petra rightly pointed out make sure there are checks and balances and ensure neither BN nor Pakatan Rakyat get two thirds majority.

There is hope in a meritocratic society: as Malaysians learn to respond to incentives to enhance their abilities without crutches or government aid, they will be able to compete globally with the very best. At the educational level, those of us who are more efficient or capable can take time to teach and guide the ones who are less capable (e.g. the Finnish model of education is one example of a successful education system).

Friendly domestic competition based on mutual trust and respect will lead to a greater economic pie for everyone, regardless of race, to share. Let us all work for a real future and a vision we can all share and work against the idea that the baker will always be there to cut a bigger slice of the pie for some sections of the populace. Baking a bigger pie to share fairly among Malaysians is always better than slicing a big portion of a cupcake.
written by Wan Lin, April 22, 2008 13:30:20
written by Tampinboy, April 18, 2008 | 16:23:49
I am in the middle path..... fence sitter smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif. Whoever can bring this country to bright side. I'm on it.

But base on my experience applying job for example ( Ah Kau company) I never get one if there a bright skin people even my qualification better.
One more I buy a secondhand car when I asked in English,Price RM 60K then I left, I told my bright skin wife to asked in Hokkien, price RM 54K then wife say why like that. The salesman say Malay get 7% discount when buying house.......
smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif

Seem like not only political have unfair......

All actions have consequences. though i would never condone the act of the salesman above. Everything in this world are about actions and consequences.

After you EAT for sure you gonna SHIT......so after the race discrimination of UMNO against the minority groups (not just Chinese), the consequences are on the way, and when it comes, THEY are going to scream, "SHIIIIITTTTTT" !!!
written by batsman, April 22, 2008 15:20:46
Hi Camillus - Spouting your usual nonsense again I see. since you are so clever, tell us what the father is thinking and what the son is thinking. Stop making allusions about how clever you are.

Also stop asking questions for which you don't have the answers and use them as arguments - not very clever. Just making claims about yourself.
written by Wan Lin, April 22, 2008 15:27:53
Can you imagine what would happen to us Malays if, today, Singapore were still part of Malaysia? The Chinese would sweep all the seats and we Malays would be reduced to a minority. Can you imagine being a second-class citizen in our own country the way the Malays in Singapore are?

dad

i totally disagree that Malay in singapore are 2nd class citizen. I think you should take some time off to go there and have a look. There are so many Malay friends from Malaysia that convert their citizenship into Singaporeans. Most of them are my uni frens. IMO these are the reasons:

1) There is no such thing as 2nd class citizen in Singapore, and the Chinese have never practiced Ketuanan even though they can do that easily. Look at all the developed countries in the world, i can think of none that practices Ketuanan, except for country like Zimbabwe?

2) Everyone is treated equally regardless of race, so it doesn't matter whether it is dominated by which race as long as the government in charge is capable of advancing the country as it should have.

That's the reason why Singapore has the ability to attract so many talents from many parts of the world. To import all the brains from other countries to develop Singapore, how smart, right?

I had once left my newly bought PDA at the counter of custom checkpoint at Woodlands, Singapore. But i only noticed that after 2 hours, i called the police station at Woodlands to find out that my PDA was with them. When i met that police officer, (he's a Malay from Malaysia which has been a PR in Singapore for almost 9 yrs), i told him if it was to happened at Malaysia, for sure my PDA would be gone for good.

At that point, that Malay officer explained to me that the police in Singapore wouldn't take bribes or do such dishonest act because the Singapore government has provided them with what they need and they can afford to buy things that they want, so there's no need of doing all those hanky panky stuffs.

3) The relationship of the Malays and Chinese there are closer than us in Malaysia for sure because of the absence of NEP/Ketuanan Melayu.

written by Wan Lin, April 22, 2008 16:13:48
To me the sg Malay are like passenger in an air con bus i.e. they are provided with clean, comfortable seat and cool surrounding so that they forgot that they have no control over where they are going, the route is pre determine for them. However qualified them may be they can never be the driver or even the conductor coz.

by dmh1871

Better than in Malaysia where Malays are promised by the bus company boss that Malay passengers can drive the bus(special Malay rights), but the truth is the boss of the bus company gives the Malays lousy dirty broken busses with failing brakes, headlamps etc. which leads to fatal accidents, while the boss are enjoying in his own Mercedes Benz....... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

and the Boss said,"Here in our company, all Malays passengers will be given a chance to drive......."

Lots of smart Malays have already chosen to be a passenger in a clean, safe and comfortable bus that will safely brings them to the destination rather than to risk themselves with the bus company with a crooked boss. and I am too, just a passenger, looking forward for a good bus ride.
written by malaysia devil, May 21, 2008 19:48:33
Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore's Authoritarian Regime
watch video exclusively at: http://malaysianindian1.********.com/
please pass this message to all Malaysians, singapore needs freedom and they need malaysians assistance