Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Is Umno exploding or imploding?

Is Umno exploding or imploding? PDF Print
Thursday, 17 April 2008 12:14

So how can Umno say that the political power of the Malays eroded on 8 March 2008? It actually increased. Never mind it increased by one only Malay Member of Parliament. The important point is the Malays are not losing political power.

Yesterday, Muhammad son of Muhammad chaired an Umno Selangor meeting to discuss the party’s disastrous loss of the state to the opposition Pakatan Rakyat. Someone from Umno PJ Utara stood up to speak and said that Umno’s disastrous performance is because of Raja Petra Kamarudin. The speaker from the Umno division aligned to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad then suggested that the government arrest the man behind Malaysia Today.

I am honoured the all-powerful Umno would think that a puny website like Malaysia Today can actually demolish the hegemony the ruling party has held over this country since two years before Merdeka, save maybe for a brief period that is now infamously known as the May 1969 era. But the honour I am feeling is overshadowed by the hard on I am enjoying in knowing that Umno still does not get it. Umno has still not awoken to the realisation that it was people’s power, Makhal Sakhti, which caused the political Tsunami on 8 March 2008. It was not about Malaysia Today. It was about the people finally rising up in anger and screaming ‘enough is enough’. That was what hit Umno and Barisan Nasional.

I would like to say just one thing to Muhammad son of Muhammad. Come get me. Go make your police report if you feel this will solve Umno’s problems. Then come and get me if you think this will help Umno win back the people’s support. But you are barking up the wrong tree. And if you still don’t wake up, the second Tsunami will hit Umno, resulting in the nails being hammered into the coffin. Yes, Umno is now lying in a coffin. And it will be Umno itself that will be nailing the lid on the coffin. And Malaysia Today will be very happy to provide the hammer to help hammer down these nails. Hell, Malaysia Today’s readers will even pay for the coffin if you wish, Muhammad son of Muhammad. Just send me the bill. Malaysia Today will help raise enough money to pay for a gold-laced coffin.

Two days ago, they organised a meeting of members of the Umno Veterans’ Club and Mubarak, the ex-Barisan Nasional Wakil Rakyat’s Association. Read that again. Umno Veterans and has-been Wakil Rakyat from Barisan Nasional, all people with no teeth, both literally and figure of speech. And these over-the-hill Umno people and ex-Wakil Rakyat lamented about the ‘loss of Malay political power’. They also repeated, over and over again, about the same thing happening once before in May 1969, which resulted in the bloody ‘May 13’.

Aiyah, here we go again. Balek, balek, May 13. And what ‘loss of Malay political power’ are they talking about?

The best ever performance of Barisan Nasional was in 2004 when they won 91-92% of the seats in Parliament. How many seats did the Malay Members of Parliament win in 2004? Umno won 110, PAS 9 and PKR 1. That makes it a total of 120. This time around, Umno won 78, PAS 23 and PKR 20 (out of 31). That makes it a total of 121 Malay Members of Parliament. The best ever, in 2004, was only 120 Malay Members of Parliament but on 8 March 2008 the number of Malay Members of Parliament increased.

So how can Umno say that the political power of the Malays eroded on 8 March 2008? It actually increased. Never mind it increased by one only Malay Member of Parliament. The important point is the Malays are not losing political power. The Malays are actually seeing an increase in political power. That is the issue Umno is playing up and that argument has just been demolished. It should be the Chinese who should be screaming because it is the Chinese who saw their ‘political power’ getting eroded in favour of the Malays and Indians.

As the New Straits Times said in its Editorial yesterday: stop moaning, Umno. And stop all this talk about Malay political power getting eroded and about the same thing happening in May 1969 and about this resulting in May 13. That kind of talk was what caused Barisan Nasional to lose five states, 10 out of 11 Parliament seats in Kuala Lumpur, and its two-thirds majority in Parliament -- and which, for sure, will ensure that Umno and Barisan Nasional will be put to sleep for good if it does not stop moaning and playing the blame game.

Okay, maybe Umno no longer enjoys the monopoly on ‘Malay political power’. Maybe that ‘Malay political power’ is now shared with PAS and PKR. So three instead of one are now enjoying ‘Malay political power’. That is not important. That is in fact good because monopolies are never in the interest of the Rakyat. The important thing is Malay political power has not eroded. It has in fact increased. So we don’t need another May 13 to solve this ‘problem’ as the Umno Veteran Club members suggest. There is no problem to solve.

If Umno needs to fight with someone then go fight with MCA. MCA lost 50% of its seats. MIC, Gerakan and PPP did even worse. So go fight with them also. And it is the Malay and Indian voters and not the Chinese voters who must be blamed for Barisan Nasional’s loss because without the Malays and Indians, with just Chinese votes alone, MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP would not have done so badly.

Even Rafidah Aziz admits that, going by the saluran, Barisan Nasional did not get the support of the young voters. Read that again: the young voters did not support Barisan Nasional. Is it not Pemuda Umno, Puteri Umno and Putera Umno who are supposed to work on the young voters? This was what they were set up for. And, in every election, Pemuda Umno is the backbone of the election campaign.

How could Barisan Nasional lose the support of the young voters if Pemuda Umno had done its job? Should not the Ketua Pemuda Umno then be made to pay for this election fiasco? And was it not the Ketua Pemuda Umno’s keris-waving and keris-kissing stage-play that contributed to much of this loss of support, in particular the Chinese support? Most important of all, why is the Pengarah Pilihanraya being spared criticism?

Umno, in fact, wants to reward the Pengarah Pilihanraya by making him the new Prime Minister. He screws up and they want to make him Prime Minister. Is this how Umno solves its problems and wins back the support of the voters?

STOP MOANING, UMNO
An unprecedented editorial urges Umno to 'get on with the job'

Malaysia's main pro-government newspaper lashed out yesterday at the ruling party for its recent election losses, describing its members as boors and louts in an unprecedented front-page editorial. United Malays National Organisation (Umno), should get on with the task of running the country, the New Straits Times (NST) added.

The NST is indirectly owned by Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's Umno, the dominant party in the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition that has been in power for  51 years. In the March 8 general elections, BN lost its traditional two-thirds majority in the 222-member Parliament, conceding 82 seats to the opposition. BN also lost five of Malaysia's 13 states to the opposition in its worst showing in history. But Umno has since been "bickering, pointing fingers, baying for vengeance and doing everything imaginable except rolling up its sleeves and getting down to the work of governing", the editorial said.

"People are getting fed up with Umno's moaning and groaning. The truth is that the people have long been disgusted with the kind of boorish and loutish behaviour that Umno leaders have exemplified because of their grip on power since independence in 1957."

Political analysts were stunned by this unusual outburst from a newspaper that is regarded as a party mouthpiece. Ms Tricia Yeoh, director of the Centre for Public Policy Studies think tank, said it was difficult to say who directed the editorial but suggested it could have been Abdullah's camp, which wants the bickering to stop before a party congress in December when Abdullah is expected to stand for re-election as party president. "They need the time and space between now and December to do their job. If they don't, there will be a bigger blame game when December comes," she said.

The editorial listed some events that led to the plummeting popularity of the party, which claims to represent Malaysia's majority Malays. The newspaper cited the party's general assembly last year, when youth-wing leader Hishammuddin Hussein waved a kris (traditional Malay dagger) and warned minorities not to question Malay rights.

"Brandishing the kris was hurtful to the non-Malays, but the party leadership did nothing to take the Umno youth chief to task," it said. The leadership also did not stop the racist and inflammatory rhetoric of the delegates in 2006, it said.

The destruction of a Hindu temple by the local authorities last year angered Indian voters, and yet Umno leaders again kept quiet. The editorial said Mr Abdullah "is now paying for these and other acts of omission, including the undeliverable promises of change that he made when he first became Prime Minister in 2003".

Asking for Mr Abdullah's resignation, as dissidents have demanded, is not the solution, the NST said, in reference to former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad, who is leading the anti-Abdullah campaign. "Mr Abdullah should be allowed to get on with it. But all the worms crawling out of the Umno woodwork - especially the retired and those with shelf lives past due who have found new breath in their calls for a party coup - won't let him," said the NST. – Today Online

Comments (97)Add Comment
written by budakindia, April 17, 2008 12:29:11
Hell, Malaysia Today’s readers will even pay for the coffin if you wish, Muhammad son of Muhammad.
======================================================= =================

Yes, count me in! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 273
written by Mustapha Kamal, April 17, 2008 12:29:19
Muhammed son of Muhammed ? If we contribute RM1 each to the golden-laced coffin, would it end up at sydney airport, in transit to 20 zillion hectares in the aussie outback ? And an illiterate minister who can't read signs in english being caught yet again for taking in the old cash ?
agree 152
written by Mr Smith, April 17, 2008 12:31:36
They they say "Fools never learn".
UMNO has been so blinded by power for 50 long years that it still thinks it is immortal and invincible.
They have conducted several postmortems and they have yet to "get it". They are blaming everybody except themselves.
Recent events like the interrogation of PKR's leaders over the gathering, the banning of Makkalosai, the slow killing of Utayakumar, the cancellation of the Tourism MOU with PR states, the gila-babi reaction in Selangor by UMNO, TV3, RTM and Utusan all go to show that they are looking for the hammer and the nails.
We will let RPK to do the nailing, cremate them and throw the ashes into the Indahwater ponds.
agree 219
written by apa jadi, April 17, 2008 12:37:36
Someone from Umno PJ Utara stood up to speak and said that Umno’s disastrous performance is because of Raja Petra Kamarudin.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
A nincompoop who cannot see beyond his own misdeed. RPK, you are indeed honoured the hero title who single handedly bring about the collapse of UMNO. smilies/grin.gif

When a toad bloats itself too much, it explodes into pieces. smilies/grin.gif
written by Watchdog, April 17, 2008 12:38:04
I don't give a damn. In fact, I give UMNO some shit! Let them all jump in the Bakun Dam.
written by krepot, April 17, 2008 12:39:46
UMNO reports and stories are getting more ridiculous by the day!
Is it because they have no intelligent people within?
Seriously, I wonder!
written by malaysia united, April 17, 2008 12:41:27
RPK, it is an honor that yr name was mentioned in the meeting. At least, they recognize that MT site is a venue for united Rakyat to harness their thoughts to actions for the good of Malaysia. Whether UMNO implodes or explodes, I don't know (and I don't care either) but one thing I know for sure is they WILL NEVER learn except to find scapegoats instead of owning up the wrongs that they have done. Let's UMNO cooks up all forms of stories to entertain themselves. Afterall, they don't have much times for such entertainments once PR is in government.
written by miracle, April 17, 2008 12:41:56
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif the great RPK smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif what a joke ... "Umno’s disastrous performance is because of Raja Petra Kamarudin."

“Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one.”
written by cwy, April 17, 2008 12:42:42
UMNO was stung by poisonous snakes ( real snakes to counter the 'snakes') by the then BR ( now PR ) and now it is struggling with death when its people are trying with all kinds of remedy.But, there is no cure!
It was attacked and then given the wrong medication after that!
written by Bosan, April 17, 2008 12:43:31
With millions of Malaysia Today readers, all we need is just contribute one sen per person, he will get his golden laced coffin a silver embroidered pillow.
written by cwy, April 17, 2008 12:45:10
Get ready the coffin, the hammer and the nials!
Let RPK hammer the last nail into the coffin!
written by panca, April 17, 2008 12:46:11
It's a clogged drain alright!

They still squat around it, 'exorcising' it, thinking it is a life thing when it was merely outgoing clogged dirts needs to cleared. Knowingly but unintelligently inhaling those leakage into their brains!
written by panca, April 17, 2008 12:47:16
to cleared
to be cleared
written by Amadas, April 17, 2008 12:47:58
If UMNO could'nt do an objective and critical analysis of the past GE Results then UMNO deserves to fade away into history...

Is UMNO filled by emotionalists ...unable to do critical objective thinking and objective analysis?
Sheesh.....Guess what?....NST yesterday had to provide the analytical thinking to UMNO!! And it appeared that UMNO still have'nt got the MESSAGE!!

52% of the Rakyat had already decided for PR....Hey....It's about time that PR forms the next government of Malaysia!!

Let the Rakyat hammer the nails into the UMNO Coffin.
Lets welcome DSAI to be the next PM of Malaysia!!
written by krising1, April 17, 2008 12:52:59
UMNOputras past and present are upset that there is no groundswell from the Malay rakyat. So they are trying work up the Malay emotions through their UNMOputra ground leaders. The has-beens are also trying to sneak in by suggesting that they may able work up the ground emotions. They have the experience how to do it.

They want another riot, emergency rule, national operations council and unlimited power. This is not happenning and this is their disappointment.

It will not happen. The Malays have seen through the game of the UMNOputras. Their end is near - whether by implosion or explosion - the outcome is clear. They will be history. Kaboom!
written by Jeremy, April 17, 2008 12:58:01
A good article but I have to disagree that PAS and PKR fight for Malays only. PAS is an Islam platform so you can be Chinese, Indian, etc but if you believe in Islam and its principles, then that's what PAS represents. PKR believes in the MALAYSIAN platform, so they fight for EVERYONE irregardless whether Malay, Indian or Chinese or Muslims, Christians, Hindus, etc. UMNO fights only for Malays and disregards others - even Islamic priciples.
written by Ken Liew, April 17, 2008 13:00:52
BLAME OTHERS RATHER THEN BLAMING THEMSELVES....

Shame on them...... Or do they know the word shame at all???
written by yy88, April 17, 2008 13:01:30
AS long as the malay community is not fully supporting UMNO, but spreading and sharing their political power with PKR and PAS, UMNO would not be so arrogant and corrupted. It doesnt matter if the Chinese and Indian communities lacked political power, the important issue is they must be treated fairly with respects. With PAS and PKR sharing the political power, it would mutually and beneficially for all strata of the society including all the malays, chinese and Indian. PKR and PAS would be the effective vehicle to provide check and balance of UMNO's abuse, extravagances and corruptions.
When UMNO is fully in power, they can only benefits the cronies and Umnoputras. They will only be more bold,arrogant and disrespect to others including the non-umnoputras.
written by Raja Petra, April 17, 2008 13:12:38
Dear josh, I thought people said that my conspiracy theories are a figment of my imagination and not supported by any facts and figures. Now I present facts and figures and you are bored. Yang mana satu nak ni?
written by shamadz72, April 17, 2008 13:14:38
Problem with UMNO is that, they think they have the franchised right to represent all Malays and to pseak on our behalf. I would like to tell them straight on their face, I as a Malay, never give them this right and I bet millions other Malays agree with me on this!
written by Raja Petra, April 17, 2008 13:14:48
Dear Jeremy, did I say that PAS and PKR fights only for the Malays? That is different from 'an erosion of Malay political power'. You can have one without the other.
written by Su Dhanoa, April 17, 2008 13:17:10
The important factor here is " MALAYSIANS ARE HURTING " and they "WANT A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER". Instead of the Leaders responding to criticism with open minds, they are finding excuses, finger pointing - finding scapegoats!!

The PM has to be judged for his performance, his intellect, experience, judgement, achievements etc. Does our present PM has any of the above qualities??

Currently - It looks like they have the license to do harm!! Serious harm!!
written by Raja Chulan, April 17, 2008 13:18:14
CRYING WOLF ARE WE, UMNOPUTRAS?

You can pull wool over the eyes of the older malaysian because they were illiterate and naive.

UMNOputras if you want another May 13, you may be granted your wish.

Only this time it will be different. UMNO Melayu jati will be slaughtering UMNOputras for robbing the former blind.

If they UMNOputras keep mentioning May 13 again, the wish may be granted.

"Bisa di atur"

written by My2Sens, April 17, 2008 13:18:42
I don't really like things that go boom, whether the big bang kind or the cee4 kind. They leave a mess behind that needs to be dealt with.

I am for the eradication of race based politics.

I have not seen violence solve a problem. It may seem like it "solved" the dispute but all it does is "end" it superficially. It can not address the real problem as using violence means ignoring that the other person is human, ignoring a persons right to life and ignoring that he/she is a fellow Malaysian. How can any political party justify let alone thing about the spilling of blood of a fellow Malaysian? It is inheirently negative and something that negative in nature can not produce a postive result.

May 13? Now want to use that method against who? Kaum Cina? Kaum India? Kaum Melayu? Member UMNO you tak pilih UMNO kali ni?

News blackout today is not as easy or comprehensive as one could achieve in the 60's. Should any political party use methods deemed unfitting by today's civil society to retain or gain power in democratic country, do you think there will be no outcry from the internationl community this time round?
written by rakyatmalaysia, April 17, 2008 13:24:46

Why cant Muhammad son of muhammad keep his fowled mouth shut ? He is talking as though BN is one hell of a great party. Oh god. Can't you sue him for giving false allegation about malay's power were eroded ? We dont mind chipping our money in for this case. i would be in peace to see this son of an (censored) stripped of his datuk ship and dump him in kamunting prison.
written by harrbm, April 17, 2008 13:25:59

Dear YM RPK,

somehow I do think that MT had made a great impact on the voters. you know, i always overheard your name been mentioned at coffee shops or the pubs. some even recited what you wrote and discussed it. that always put a smile on my face. some friends of mine was ecstatics when they heard that you are coming to town to ceramah !

i am actually worried about our political culture.
racial issues are always a threat.
are non-malays a threat to malays?
or is it non-BN is a threat to UMNO?
which is which?
I hope you can reach out as many UMNOist as soon as possible for a mental correction.

Thank you

<
>

written by TWOG, April 17, 2008 13:29:50
Is UMNO exploding or imploding? Neither. It is just expiring.

/// But the honour I am feeling is overshadowed by the hard on I am enjoying in knowing that Umno still does not get it. ///

RPK, wow, your thingamajig is getting mighty busy these days. 1,825 erections in five years and now an extra one by courtesy of the man with 2 Ms in his name [I didn't know you are that way inclined smilies/wink.gif]. One more to your tally - make it 1,826, and counting...

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by ajip, April 17, 2008 13:34:23
so Tun Maha apa nama

nape tak salahkan Najib, hishamudin dan khir toyo di atas kekalahan amno apa nama ?
written by anallu, April 17, 2008 13:36:52
What UMNO is now undergoing is its death pangs; it is not yet dead! We will have to put up with these death pangs until the next GE,after which, at best, the UMNO will end up as an opposition party. We also hope that there will be no more BN as the MCA, MIC et all would have left the present coalition.
written by antares, April 17, 2008 13:41:19
Just to spice things up. In astronomy and quantum physics, its proven that an old star eventually will explode, in the final eventually thus creating new stars.
In the case of the UMNO star, it definitely an old fart star, and what we are observing is imploding into you know what? So RPK you are definition is correct. UMNO is imploding into A BLACK HOLE! So people! Keep your distance from this UNMOism black hole, (more appropriate ala backhole => *******), otherwise you might be sucked in just like the rest of the UMNO suckers.
written by roche, April 17, 2008 13:49:13
#hishamuddin should be banned from politics.
#najib should never be allowed to be pm.
#badawi should be allowed to correct his wrongs.
#BR states should not be punished.
#muhamad son of muhamad does not deserve a gold coffin. wood will do.
all malaysians have racist thoughts (come on admit it)... we have to change ourselves first smilies/wink.gif
#nst article : what a "terkejutfying" thing. i stopped buying nst since last year. but could not resist yesterdays issue (of course badawi set it up.. what else could he do? UMNO cartoons are running helter skelter cos they cant imagine life without all the perks and power...therefore they attack him...so he retaliated... bodoh bodoh oso badawi pandai a bit la)
#RPK - could you tell us more about anwar... what do you think bout him being PM. pro's con's? can he be trusted? i rather take your word over anything else i read...
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by temenggong, April 17, 2008 13:59:16
Umno is frantically negotiating with Pas to join BN. Umno has also undertaken a plan to charge MPs for illegal assemblies, like Tian Chua, Aaizah, Khalid, etc., and get them out of parliament.

This leaves the Alliance with little choice but to try and form the federal govt by the first two weeks of May. The Alliance cannot afford to wait longer.

The AG and IGP are working frantically to prevent Anwar/Azizah from becoming PM. They are the ones who nailed Anwar in the first place.

MCA and MIC are fully and openly blaming Umno for the election loss. They are saying malay votes swung to the opposition, much more than is reported by analysts.

Both parties have openly expressed no confidence in Umno. They used the words, stupid, idiot, fools, dumb, no hope, etc. MIC is openly threatening to run a parallel govt for Indians with foreign investments of RM 100 million each year, with or without BN/govt participation. They are confident they can more than get it.

written by educationist, April 17, 2008 13:59:57
I like RPK's fact to throw at the face of those who play on the issue of the supposedly erosion of Malay political power.
It matters not to me whether UMNO is imloding or exploding - what is important is that it is not allowed to draw innocent parties into the vortex if it should self-destruct.
written by Areka, April 17, 2008 14:13:45
I would like to present this question to UMNO :

Has the non-Malays ever questioned the rights of the Malays ?

Not only the non-Malays had ever questioned the rights of the Malays, they (non-Malays) have ALWAYS respect their rights and privileges.

The non-Malays are just only asking for more transparent and fairer opportunities.

Is this asking too much ?
written by Counterpointer, April 17, 2008 14:17:32
The important point is the Malays are not losing political power.

It's only a case of the UMNO Malays' paranoia of losing their 'Ketuanan' power. That would be analogous to the immense fear and loss of pride associated with having their sexual organs removed.
written by cwy, April 17, 2008 14:39:02
Why all the quarrelling andfighting? We ought to die one! We come ( are born ) naked and we shall go ( pass away ) naked!
But, it is sad to see UMno die at this young age!
Let's mourn over its death, console its members!
Remember to raise the national flag half-way!
We shall celebrate!

written by Richard Lo, April 17, 2008 14:42:44
RPK, great article! Laid out all the facts and figures to prove your points. Unfortunately, UMNO is filled with puny minds, so they cannot see the significant of the numbers. Erosion of Malay political power- MY FOOT! Like you rightly pointed out, if anyone is to be angry then the chinese and indian should be..but the chinese and indian are not. They are not the one claiming of erosion of chinese and indian political power. Heck, infact no non-malay voters and malay voters are claiming of erosion of political power of any race. We, the rakyat who voted for PR did so because we are all sick of the arrogance, the filth and corruption of BN and component parties. We have matured in our political thinking and moved beyond race based parties. Unfortunately, BN and component parties are still stuck in trying to champion a lost cause! Actually, let me correct myself. UMNO is championing "KETUANAN UMNO". MCA & MIC - can someone enlighted me what actually are they championing??
written by Everbright, April 17, 2008 14:48:59
Pete, I will admit to you that MT is revolutionary in the context of political awakening. Malaysians are a Victorian lot. We have been suppressed, manipulated and served junk and s*** the last 50 years. Most of my colleagues *****s on your site or have received MT articles forwarded by friends. Complex issues are openly dealt with and often in a way that cuts across racial and religious lines. You write well and defend your position with facts and figures, often citing history, constitutional law, sexual experience but mostly from your heart. Readers can see you what you stand for and most will agree with you. Except most readers don't have the gall or gumption to stand up for their beliefs. Hence, we will continue to blog under anon names. One of your readers says that MT is a daily must, a fix at the start and end of each day. I agree completely. You are too important now, the revolution has started. Malaysians are crying for Real Change and we are starting to see the light at the end of a long tunnel.
written by juanglagi, April 17, 2008 14:51:33
Betul jua analisis UMNO PJ Utara… smilies/cool.gif

Biarlah org UMNO fight, jgn risau lar... smilies/smiley.gif

Dulu org PKR survived dgn 1 kerusi aje, knp sdh menang GE.....UMNO lg bising?
Kalau tak suka, tumbuh lar S47..S60...S80 yg baru!

Dengarlar apa Si-Semi-Value bilang:
...."Ini satu OMBAK baru......"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUTC_uoosrI

..."ini semua krj org gila lar"...... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related

written by Tampinboy, April 17, 2008 15:17:29
Congratulation YM RPK !!! smilies/grin.gif
Better than Oscar.....Can somebody survey popular vote on RPK..... smilies/grin.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by batsman, April 17, 2008 15:17:30
With a simple majority, UMNO cannot even govern properly. Instead it engages in the blame game and sabotages state govts which are trying their best to govern well. This shows that UMNO is not only incompetent, it does not even have the rakyat's interest at heart. Instead it tries its best to disunite the rakyat along racial lines.

UMNO only has self-interest at heart. It cannot face global crises which is looming, such as rocketing oil and food prices. Instead it is still obssessed with having monopoly of power even with a majority in government. Time to get rid of UMNO. It is a useless, selfish, corrupt govt. which uses corrupt police, judiciary, civil service and GLCs to bully honest people.
written by batsman, April 17, 2008 15:20:41
UMNO's arrogance and self-interest is now blindingly obvious. Ketuanan Melayu is just Ketuanan UMNO. UMNO never had the interests of the Malays in mind. It is just a corrupt and selfish govt.
written by malaysianohope, April 17, 2008 15:23:19
Abang Pete,

The guy who asked to arrest you must have been paid RM2.00 by M&M to raise it, giving the fact that this "Liar" has got a bone to pick with you since you challenged him to a duel, but declined. Umno is still in denial and cannot get grip with what hit them on 0803 but knowing them they will use every tricks to get at you and us. If I were you I will just put my legs up sitting on a couch and watch them self implode instead of responding to their instigations.
written by Umno Slayer, April 17, 2008 15:30:08
thanks to you RPK Brilliant!Either way they will kaput!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Sagaladoola, April 17, 2008 15:31:40
Someone from Umno PJ Utara stood up to speak and said that Umno’s disastrous performance is because of Raja Petra Kamarudin.

smilies/shocked.gif

From what I gather, all Raja Petra did was to set up a blog, and people start to write letters in , share comments and read the data given. That one also will cause disastrous performance?

Goodness gracious, then UMNO should do something to correct from the source/root deciphering why it can be terribly affected only by that. Fragile?

Anyway, even if Raja Petra is not in cyberspace, other people would also have set up websites and do the same thing all over again : write blogs, share info, online forums etc.

The main point is, UMNO has to look at the way they do things in real life. Management and Corruption issues. That is the root of the problem. Solve the disease from the root not the symptom.

Stop moaning and groaning or say it is other people's fault, two more weeks and it is already 2 months after election. Do your work, please !

written by RitchieLow, April 17, 2008 15:58:08
Well, armed conflict is always babaric and selfish in nature whichever way you look at it. Good thing the minority Chinese are beyond that, else we would have things like the CPM or Chinese Tigers (as in Ceylon) or acts of bombing as in Thailand and The Phillipines. Hell that could have happened 600 years ago when adminal ZhengHo came a calling if power is what is coveted. Nah, harmony is the at the heart of all things and an educated mind is the way to it.
written by RitchieLow, April 17, 2008 16:00:03
Vote RPK and MT. Vote UP
written by my2cents, April 17, 2008 16:13:42
written by nafis, April 17, 2008 16:13:59
"Two days ago, they organised a meeting of members of the Umno Veterans’ Club and Mubarak, the ex-Barisan Nasional Wakil Rakyat’s Association. Read that again. Umno Veterans and has-been Wakil Rakyat from Barisan Nasional, all people with no teeth, both literally and figure of speech."

sakitnya perut gelak kuat sangat

Being toothless, i dare say they are losing their eyesight bigtime too, because they could see only Pete being the amnoslayer hehehehe

and also, they are getting senile for wanting 'Pengarah Pilihanraya' to be the next PM...that ra-shit? PM? Who's going to be the ministers? monkeys? smilies/grin.gif
written by my2cents, April 17, 2008 16:14:37
I'm trying to post an image. Can someone please tell me how to. Thanks
written by the1, April 17, 2008 16:18:05
Every citizen of Malaysia should know and understand the difference between malay and amno malay.
written by Tlau, April 17, 2008 16:26:39
Reading through RPK's article reminds me of another blogger whatalulu commented. Below are extracts from her blogsite.

Lulu knows anything Dutch is not in fashion now, but this song based on the life of Vincent Van Gogh crossed Lulu's mind as she continues to watch and read the finger pointing by the PM and those from his camp.

In each chorus, McLean says
They would not listen
they did not know how
perhaps they'll listen now
except in the final verse, McLean says
They would not listen
They're not listening still
Perhaps they never will.

Lulu thinks, many of us are hoping that the PM and his camp would understand and listen to the message sent out on March 8th.
But as the days pass, Lulu thinks, perhaps they never will.
Has our country reached "the final verse"?

Sad isnt it?
written by PasarRoad, April 17, 2008 16:29:02
Whether UMNO is Exploding or Imploding, does not matter at all.
Whether MCA is Exploding or Imploding or Corroding does not matter at all.
Whether MIC is Exploding or Imploding or Eroding does not matter at all.

What matters is that the 3 monkeys are still Malay/Cina/India.

They are not being Malaysians, so let us pray that they will just whither slowly and die away.

Meanwhile, all of us rakyat - yellow, brown, chocolate brown or whatever colour; will have to learn to live with each other again, undo the horrible racist policies and ideas foistered upon us for over 40 years.
written by Long Man, April 17, 2008 16:38:47
actually, it's not rpk... it's m2m who make umno drops like hell... if he wasn't make a police report to summon rpk... then, maybe lots and lots of malaysian wouldn't know Malaysia Today and don't even care who is the warrior behind this MT i.e. rpk...

me for instance, frankly speaking, i get to know rpk just after the above matter... then only i subscribe as a member and actively commenting in MT... i like the way he punching the umno/bn devils... and i'm learning lots from him...
and to be honest and to be proudly tell all of you, i learnt from him the needs to swing my vote to oppositions...

i salute you rpk... thanks for making my day... m2m... please go to hell...
written by michael, April 17, 2008 16:57:25
Long Man,

Yes, I am also one who only came to know about RPK and his blog MT after the m2m police report. I am sure many like us went on to share this wonderful blog with our family, friends and associates. m2m was the catalyst. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by taxi90, April 17, 2008 17:11:56
The physics involved in trying to nail one's coffin from the inside is nothing short of mind boggling. But if anyone can do it, UMNO can.
written by Krazee, April 17, 2008 17:26:16
Hey RPK... be careful. Umno might charge you in court for casting somany votes for BR...pssst pssst Pete, can share with us how you managed to put in so many votes ? You're better than Phantom voters, poster voters, dead voters all put together... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Bravo....MY HERO....sigh" single handedly brought down BN...pheee wheeet smilies/kiss.gif
written by taxi90, April 17, 2008 17:32:42
Watch for another "Melayu kian hilang di dunia!" blockbuster sequel (Part 2) coming to the nearest cinema on the 2nd May. This time, in the desperate quest to save it all, the hero crown prince now delves into hiterto unknown depths of 4th dimensions and time travel where it is proven that May 13 did not only happen once, but keeps happening over again and again in parallel universes. By a marvelous feat of astrophysics, he managed to 'import' one such event into our current time-space continuum. Such ingenuity would have (should have!!) worked infallibly in all romantic epics so it was a little lame when the story ended with the prince managing to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

Rated 1.5 stars out of 5
written by MasterYoda, April 17, 2008 18:09:09
Hmmm.... interesting.

we will watch as the events unfold...

WATCHERS are looking...
written by Malaysian Abroad, April 17, 2008 18:21:49
Hidden Agenda

I have a funny feeling that there is a hidden agenda behind the NST's 'brave' editorial yesterday. It seems like it only amplified on selected issues behind BN and UMNO's debacle in the recent elections. They may be an invisible hand here, trying to capitalise on the hopeful reactions this editorial might generate.
written by miwaki, April 17, 2008 18:26:31
We Chinese are not going to cry for losing our political power because we know MCA and Gerakan are loyal second class partners of UMNO/BN.Infact,all Chinese were happy and excited when majority of MCA and Gerakan candidates which include President of Gerakan lose the election on 8 Mar.

Chinese have been living in Malaysia for many years and we have already accustomed to the practice of BN government so we know what MCA can do in the government.We can live without MCA and we know bumis also can live without UMNO.But we also know MCA cannot survive without Chinese and UMNO cannot survive without malay.
written by HeeHaw, April 17, 2008 18:42:59
I think it would be more appropriate to use a screwdriver for UMNO's coffin, really, the way they're acting they're asking to be screwed. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by windofchange, April 17, 2008 18:47:41
UMNO does not consider PAS and PKR as Malays...they are so selfish..only them are Malays...
written by JustinCH, April 17, 2008 20:05:33
I am genuinely surprised that the NST lashed out against its own party.

Even the party's own newspaper is getting sick of their attitude.

That does indeed speak miles for the disappointment of the rakyat.
written by Kuku Burung, April 17, 2008 20:10:12
Tak payahlah dengan "coffin". Gulung dengan tikar cukuplah. Wang pembaca-pembaca MT bukan untuk UMNO "coffin".
written by Sabahfan, April 17, 2008 20:18:30
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gifjeremy said...."UMNO fights only for Malays and disregards others - even Islamic priciples."

CORRECTIONS BROTHER.....

UMNO FIGHTS ONLY FOR THE UMNOPUTRAS (WIFE, SON, SON IN LAWS, KRONIES ETC)

HE HE HE HE HE
written by cancan, April 17, 2008 21:03:54
The Spoilt Child
A Letter To The Prime Minister

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by pelukis, April 17, 2008 21:29:13
Malaysian Abroad,
Hidden Agenda!!..a funny feeling!!..me too.
They may be an invisible hand here...yes, may be...but who? My ancient guru told me..it's Anwar Ibrahim!!!

Some clue at:
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/6170/84/

Perkara atau tindakan Abdullah paling dimarahi Dr Mahathir ialah kerana membebaskan Anwar Ibrahim. Walaupun Abdullah menjelaskan beliau tidak terlibat dalam proses penghakiman ke atas Anwar, namun Dr Mahathir tidak percaya. Katak mampus (pukul mati) Dr Mahathir tidak percaya kalau Abdullah tidak terlibat!
Dr Mahathir tetap prejudis dan beranggapan Abdullah terlibat. Dr Mahathir merasakan pembebasan Anwar itu sebagai satu cabaran dan mempersendakannya. Lebih jauh daripada itu beliau merasakan rakyat kini melihat beliau huduh manakala Abdullah dilihat baik. Kenapa tidak kerana beliau memenjarakan Anwar manakala Abdullah mengeluarkannya (Anwar).
Apa lagi dalam saat ini, Anwar sudah mendapat keyakinan dan kepercayaan rakyat, menyebabkan Dr Mahathir terus merasa tersindir dan terpencil dan hina manakala Abdullah pula dianggap sebagai dewa penyelamat.
Perasaan itulah yang sedang mengejar Dr Mahathir. Menjadikan beliau serba salah dan tidak berupayaan menyebunyikan dirinya walaupun dalam gelap dan sunyi. Kesalahan masa lampau sedang melampah jiwanya. Justeru menghapaskan bayangan itu beliau menyalahkan Abdullah sepenuhnya.
Dari situlah beliau menyimpan dendam, Abdullah harus dinyahkan dari tempatrnya sekarang ini yang Dr Mahathir merasakan tempat itu adalah atas ehsan dan budinya.

written by Oyster, April 17, 2008 21:46:29
UMMNO gets you hard in the pants!!!? Dude that so eeeeeewwwww! but at least it's good for something.
written by bexe, April 17, 2008 21:48:23
Why are we wasting our time coaching UNMO
If they don't get it, they don't and they deserve to fade into oblivion. Wonderful. Let them to.

Yes we need to get on with running the country. If the ruling regime cannot do it, then we just have to wait for the next move to get them out
1) Defections confirmed
2) No confidence Motion in Parliament
3) all of the above all at once.
That's what the people like to see next.
written by Ben, April 17, 2008 22:32:44
It is imploding. The sheer volume of corruption and abuse of power has been eroding the integrity of this party slowly but surely. The selfish leadership who cannot see beyond their own whims and fancies have eventually paid the price. Just like the Titanic, all the arrogance and materialistic trophies goes down with it.

On the other hand, PR has found a strong and steady wind in their sails. God willing. may they sail in their ship of ambition and anchor at the harbor of success.
written by tbsbidayuh, April 17, 2008 22:54:34
I think, what is the best UMNO can do is to approve every projek ternakan babi and the Chinese will back them up like what is happening in Sarawak. It true you know. all the timber tycoons are well protected by the CM. There are more precious because the MONEY comes from these tycoons.
written by Thomas47, April 17, 2008 23:41:09
We have all those schools, colleges and universities and they still thought that we are a gullible lot and can be taken for a ride. What do they take us for?

I am not feeling angry. I don't know how to describe it but definitely not angry. smilies/grin.gif

And I think before they make any more future statements, they should at least check their data are correct at real time. I am not saying that I am supporting them but at the moment they are our leaders and for leaders to blunder all the time "bukan saja mereka, tapi kita pun turut rasa malu."
written by fromamovingtrain, April 17, 2008 23:47:28
I've been saying it for months. Let's leave umno by the dumps to die. They have screwed up too much, missed the plot for ages and have been run by self-serving idiots who think nothing of chalking one up for themselves whenever there is a chance. The have long outstayed their welcome.

Party keramat my foot!
written by Taiping60, April 17, 2008 23:50:59
Don't worry pete. Mohammad son of mohammad don't understand english so you are safe on what you wrote.
written by Jarratt, April 18, 2008 01:18:47
It's so lame that here BN talks about what a well-oiled machine they are, how integrated they are, how in-tune they are with each other and the rakyat, how they can finish each other's sentences. Then turn around they in fact, don't have to care about anybody else's sensitivities, that since they are in the number 1 in the alliance they can do whatever the hell they want because others just feed off them. That they are they proponents of ketuanan Melayu and everybody else should just accept it and shut up (maybe "in appreciation of being granted citizenship").

Yes, Pemuda UMNO has the right to do whatever the hell they want in their general assembly. They can even start showing off silat while chanting "long live the Malays and death to everyone else who believes otherwise!!" in their assemblies to "let off steam". But, as there is no free lunch, they will have to pay the price in the polls when they drag the whole alliance down into a difficult situation. MCA and MIC can't be too critical or else the alliance is not as rosy as it seems. Yet pemuda UMNO cannot back down in risk of their actions and words of ketuanan melayu being taken as just a load of hot air and losing whatever credibility they have with their people, and have to continue fighting for their "right" to wave the keris.

I believe the Malaysian rakyat are one of the most patient constituents in the world, and that is why they have clenched their teeth and accepted the excesses of BN for 50 years. The only way BN could have lost this power was in their own hands. They toyed with the limits of the rakyat, and in their arrogance (especially during these economic hard times), broke the paper thin wall that held them in power and unleashed the flood that resulted in March 8. Pemuda UMNO needs to let off steam? So does the rakyat.

So don't try to pin the blame on everyone else except yourself. Don't put it on the Chinese when they are only 26% (Malaysian Census 2000) and a lot of them voted BN, especially in Johor. Don't put it on Raja Petra who could not even speak in Penang Island. Or the internet that "sided" with the opposition (when most blogs were just responding to articles written in mainstream media, not creating news out of thin air (and also overlooking the mainstream media's presence on paper and in cyberspace). It was your arrogance and misreading on the pulse of the nation that cost you this election. You talk about race when everyone is talking about the economy. You claim what the eye can see are massive movements as just minorities on the fringe. You also insult the intelligence of the people when these events garner international attention and yet the media you control find it unimportant.

Gee, I really wonder why you lost.
written by RitchieLow, April 18, 2008 02:38:47
Despite calls to the contrary here at MT about reading MSM, the online version isn't that bad. There's still some people who can think over there. Here's a link
http://www.thestar.com.my/news...&sec=focus
about the same matter.
written by Bee65, April 18, 2008 05:57:32
Dearest RPK,

For once, I have to disagree with you about the "moaning"......
We as rakyat, for once decided to "make love"/"have sex" (I mean good one, probably a bit rough), of course they can't stop moaning...................

Put it in a rude way, BN had a good "f**ked" from the Rakyat, of course they cant't stop moaning!!!!!

BN is so use to f**k its RAKYAT, now is their turn! Let them keep moaning!

RAKYAT has to keep "making love" with them for our future "ERECTION"!!!!!

Let BN keep "moaning"!!!!
written by Bee65, April 18, 2008 05:59:10
To All,

I hate to say this:

I can't wait for the next "ERECTION", I want them to keep MOANING!!!!!
written by Bee65, April 18, 2008 06:04:05
And honestly, when I was following the results of March 8 Election, my ERECTION started when we were closed to getting 1/3 of the seats..............

And it turn to full ERECTION when we finally get it!

p/s: sorry for borrowing the "ERECTION" word from our beloved Minister.
written by TWOG, April 18, 2008 09:44:39
A bit out of topic, but since we are talking about erections, oops, I mean elections, let me share a joke about the British politicians.

Many moons ago, two British MPs got married. The husband was from the Conservative party and the wife was from the Labour Party. On the wedding night, as they were about to get to bed and consummate their wedding, they began to talk politics. As usual, politics and sex do not mix and they ended up arguing heatedly and quarreling. The wife was cheesed off and turned her back to her husband and refused to open her legs.

A few hours went by and the wife began to feel horny and couldn't stand it anymore. So she cooed to her husband, "Honey, right now there is a crack in the Labour Party. If your Conservative member stand, it can get in easily."

The husband exploded, "Too bloody late. He stood as an independent and lost his deposits!!!"

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by billyong, April 18, 2008 09:45:50
My take is this. UMNO is too far gone and nothing it does will ever have any redeeming effect on the party, not even the decision to look into a judicial review, and not a thousand apologies to the 5 judges are going to do the trick. What is going to save the party now is - AAB has to start a party purge of all the bad elements in his party and then appoint men of good standing to man the posts with strategic ministries shared with non-malays. Next, release the ACA and PETRONAS to be accountable to Parliament. For whom the bell toll? UMNO, and Paul Anka could not have written the "My Way" song any better than this - And now the end is near and so they face the final curtain. smilies/sad.gif
written by sampalee, April 18, 2008 10:50:14
Umno is laying in the coffin,some one outside must do the nailing.Perhaps it is the out of body roh.
written by Caesar, April 18, 2008 13:52:44
UMNO cannot hold the country's peace to its ransom by calling for the resignation of Badawi as PM. It should get it's house in order by realising its mistake.. and not, take heed of Mahathir's call as this megalomaniac is trying to cover up his misdeeds.

MCA & MIC must reassert themselves as during the Tunku's time. Consider joining the Pakatan Rakyat if necessary.

In this new world, the developed economies (the G-smilies/cool.gif plus China and India will support efforts to dismantle a racist system where you are 2nd class citizens interms of OPPORTUNITIES to better one's life. Wake up to the fact that at least 1 million Chinese/Indians/Eurasians have migrated or left to look for work overseas. Also, how many contracts, petrol agents' outlets, scholarships has Petronas, the supposedly national oil corp. gave to non Bumis??
written by Dora, April 18, 2008 17:02:36
Dear RPK, you are one hilarious dude!!! and you remind me so much of someone i know.... who had this same kind of wry humour and would make me laugh!

I have one question for you lah.... for being so outspoken, bold and so vocal aren't you afraid for your safety......... you keep whacking Najib and others to glory, what if someone out there pulls an 'Altantuya' on you? Don't know about you, but I'm worried for your safety. Watch your back, man! smilies/wink.gif
written by talk2stop, April 18, 2008 19:12:25
I am no UMNO support but it looks like opening "kicking UMNO" season. I hope you people must remember "what does not kill you only make you stronger and better."
I'm sure UMNO will improve if they do then Malaysia will be better place.
MPs got to put politics behind there are more pressing issues in Malaysia.
There is a lot of catching up to do. The party is over!!!!
RPK you do what best? Keep rubbing!!!until there is nothing to rub.
written by PakPandir, April 18, 2008 21:39:25
I think there should be a process to recover the nation's money that were lost to unscrupulous politicians.
Remember Ferdinand Marcos ?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 18, 2008 22:10:09
UMNO-Baru will soon be history, and UMNO-Hadhari will take over
written by 1eyecls, April 18, 2008 22:28:06
later,later someone frm UMNO during a forum will say:"orang macam RAJA PETRA kami UMNO patut mempelawa dia jadi pemimpin kami,ba......",i was thinking,or perhaps guessing,before he says ru......,MIKE TYSON alredy give him a powerfull left hook! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Uncorruptible, April 18, 2008 22:38:08
The stinking beer guzzling SOB minister for education, is still unwillinbg or unable to solve the school children's heavy bags problem. he has no sympathies for primary school children unable to carry their school bags which are more than half their body weight, up and down the school buses. This bastard wants to see a serious accident happen before he does something? RESIGN you SOB, you are totally unfit to be minister for shit even !!!! GET LOST ANAK HARAM. Somebody else can do the job better, anytime.
written by 1eyecls, April 18, 2008 22:55:24
umno behavior was like they wanted to swallow everything!they even want effortless rewards!
the moment i came across the incident whereby a group of UMNO youth leaders went to the GIANT superstores HQ and quiried the Management why they didnt employ Malay management staff,i told myself,these are the very KURANG AJAR ppl,they have done overboard,extremists is the alternative name,precisely for UMNO,with these attitude,they are gradually committing political suicide,dont you think so?
written by penangite, April 19, 2008 09:52:01
UMNO has nothing left to offer, so either reform or die. The best option would be to covert it from United Malays National Organisation to United Malaysians National Organisation. In order to rival PKR and PAS, and for the UMNO domination in Malaysia, allow anwar back into UMNO for reform or anwar can 'reform' UMNO from the outside. Of course, 'reform' here means destroy.

Anwar Ibrahim is the next Malaysian Idol.
written by Countach, April 25, 2008 09:00:16
Umno, imploding or exploding?

All thnks to the 'great' Mahathir who has single handedly destroyed Umno and raped and plundered the country!
written by StevenMax, May 02, 2008 08:25:56
I supported for betterment of the society. I would like to see change. Once we are too used to certain system we get complacent. This applies to both BN and PR. We all should keep both BN and PR on their toes so that no complacency sets in. UMNO can never change no matter what. RPK has done a very good and great job. Salute to you, brother. However, it is not enough to change the entire country and system. Something more is required. UMNO still has some good support although eroded. This shows UMNO and its "ketuanan melayu" concept still has a place amongst Malaysians. We cannot run away from this reality. Unless UMNO totally get rid of this zion of theirs, making a complete change within UMNO and its members, UMNO will be UMNO and we have to live with that. The best thingis for us now to educate rural people and get them to vote for PR at the next GE. Start educating now.