Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Perak cancels land approval given to BN component party

Perak cancels land approval given to BN component party PDF Print
Thursday, 17 April 2008 08:56

(The Malaysian Insider) IPOH, April 17 ─ The Perak government yesterday cancelled a land application approval given by the previous administration to a Barisan Nasional component party.

Menteri Besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin said the decision was made as the state government felt there were elements of abuse in the approval of the prime land.

According to him, a soy factory operator, who had been occupying the 0.92ha plot in Pasir Pinji, Ipoh, since 1953, had applied for the land a long time ago.

"The operator has been occupying the land since before independence. But a political party, which applied for the land only recently, was given the approval," he told a news conference after chairing the weekly Executive Council meeting yesterday.

He said the state government would ask the factory operator to re-submit a fresh application to the Land and Mines Department.

Nizar said the meeting also approved a land tax of RM1 a year to be imposed on about 100 private schools, religious schools, national-type primary and secondary schools in the state.

Nizar also said the state government would submit an official application to the RTM requesting an hour of airtime on Perak FM radio.

"We humbly request to be given an hour for us to convey the state government's plans for the people," he said.

He said the state government would also request that the federal government continue with the mega projects planned for implementation in Perak as stopping them would scare away investors.

Nizar said he would meet Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in Putrajaya tomorrow to convey the state government's assurance that it would implement federal government policies which are beneficial to the people. ─ Bernama

written by Biztrack, April 17, 2008 09:01:25

Any hint which political party got the land approval ??
written by michael chick, April 17, 2008 09:09:42
While you are on the "Do Good" mood. Can anyone please get a newer set of 4WD's which transport the public up to Maxwell Hill? These LandRover 110's are really really old. And they are noisy, and the engines are smokers. They are JKR owned. Maxwell Hill is one of the ignored nice places in Perak. Perak Tourism please take note...

Also, could someone investigate the RADIOACTIVE dumping ground near Batu Gajah. I skipped filming that area coz of what I heard. People from the region, if you have any symptoms of radioactive overexposure, such as headaches, vomitting, low sperm-count, infertility or any combinations of the above, do please go get yourself checked into a Hospital. If you think the local hospitals are incompetent, then go get checked in Singapore. Anyone with a Geiger Meter, please head to that area, and verify this ASAP.

Truly Asia, Truly Nightmare
written by Cozy, April 17, 2008 09:15:04
All state should go into more details of probing... Especially all the BN leader. We should be able to bring the SATAN to court to charge them... LEt the mknow how difficult is the RAKYAT...
written by technoboy, April 17, 2008 09:19:39
Yeah Pakatan, time to right all the wrongs during BN/UMNO regime, better still disclose/expose the party.
written by malaysia united, April 17, 2008 09:21:59
Yes, I am happy to learn about this news today. I am seeing PR MBs are restoring respective states with various actions. This is the right direction to move forward to stop draining our limited resources to some disgusting BN cronies for selfish gains. Imagine when PR is in government, we will see greater restoration to our nation. Way to go PR! smilies/grin.gif
written by mypanida, April 17, 2008 09:23:46
showtime.....got your popcorns and colas yet ???
written by middlepath, April 17, 2008 09:25:26
Pakatan Rakyat, Perak gov is so good, so far so good lah. Everything you do, you do it for us rakyat. you show us justice, no sign of arrogant or corruption of the umno and BN politician. How can I not vote for you again next election come. I am very happy after talking to those staying in the PR states, Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kelantan, everybody is hopeful, every rakyat is hoping for better things to come, all the people rakyat I have spoken to in the malaysia land, are very happy of the 5 states going to PR, and all are seeing the hard work of the new gov, the new hope, new frontiers, they are so happy, those are the good sign. everybody is very committed to the new gov, and the new gov, also showing the appreciation and really going to help the rakyat, give rm$1 cukai tanah to all the schools, give the freehold land, help the rakyats, all are very good things that gov suppose to do for rakyat,
but what happen to the BN and Umno when they are in power, they naik harga, naik harga petrol, naik harga tol, naik harga everything on earth, so then, they say
cuba ubah gaya hidup.....that is the kind of shit they give to the rakyat,
look at the BN states, Pahang, Johor, Melaka, Nenegi sembilan, trengganu, all are still old way of doing things, naik harga, never turun harga, they are really suffering.
I pray that PR gov will continue to take care of rakyat, we want more PR gov.
Please Paklah continue to lead, so that next round you will pass the baton to our PR gov.
Hidup PR ! the new frontier, new way, new value, new vision, for rakyat,
parti chosen by the raykat, for the rakyat, noble, humility, humble, good value
written by Batista, April 17, 2008 09:25:46
OOOoooohh my lovely State!
My love to Perak is beyond Leader, Party & Colours..
So, YB, keep it up as long as it do best for Rakyat & our Perak!
Tajol, this is how MB is supposed to be, bro.!
written by myke, April 17, 2008 09:31:29
Another BN project la.
written by Ben Nordin, April 17, 2008 09:34:12
The more i read about the PR representatives working, the more I'm proud. Let the BN/UMBO put up as many obstacles as they can. I'm confident justice will prevail and PR would show BN on how to actually run the country and serve the people. Keep it up PR.
written by rayden chan, April 17, 2008 09:37:23
Ya, i still remember that stupid PM remark about "changing lifestyle"..
Hell right to him,
Why not he demand his minister to change their lifestyle instead? stop those luxury lifestyle and start donate their property to the poor.

If u cant do it, dont say it, u make the Malaysian look stupid.
written by kent chong, April 17, 2008 09:38:42
Last time BN will say Opposition Talk only No Action, now seem like BN talk only no action and PR been performing.
written by The Truth Seeker, April 17, 2008 09:53:24
good work, NIZAR
written by loosecannon, April 17, 2008 09:54:05
So who says the opposition have no experience and cannot run the government? Things are looking up everyday for the rakyat. Now there is hope that wrongs done in the past by the BN are slowly coming back to haunt them. Justice will prevail after all. We are so jealous of the five PR states and can't wait for the other BN states to fall.
written by said, April 17, 2008 10:41:15
The land grab of nearly one hectare in Perak by Barisan from a soy factory operator of more than 50 years, is just one of countless daylight robbery, corruption and extreme greed by Barisan govt which just take advantage of rakyat from any way they can. Fortunately PAS, DAP, PKR state govt stopped it in time. They are all crooks in a lawless Barisan Federal and State govts. No one in Barisan govt stops them as they are all into thieving and robbing from Malays, Chinese, Indians, Dayaks, Penans, Sikhs, Kadazans, Berawans who have become poorer and destitute.
A few months ago, I met a lady who saw a Datuk as she wanted to renew a land lease in Sabah. The Datuk told her that he would do it if she paid for his son’s education in Australia. She refused to pay and still the lease has not been renewed after so many years. This is the kind of obscenity that thrives in all Barisan Federal and State govts.
Badawi, Badawi, ministers, MPs, officials, datuks, cronies are all involved in massive massive fraud- they teach govt employees,down the line to the office worker.
They are all shit corrupted, mother****ing baruahs.
THE CRIMES INCLUDING MURDERS,OF BARISAN ARE SO HUGE COMPARED TO THE CRIMINALS IN JAILS THAT IT IS FAIR TO RELEASE 90% OF THOSE IN JAILS RIGHT NOW.

written by lynn, April 17, 2008 10:43:03
MB Mohd Nizar, the Regent made the right choice in selecting you. Good for you. Hope you remain in power forever.
written by Mark C, April 17, 2008 11:08:41
more and more of expose like this makes MT a good read. Kudos for the bravery of the Perak Government.
written by Evol, April 17, 2008 11:17:02
haha, in your face BN!

we will see another summon from MB of Perak to ex-MB, ex-DMB, ex-exco.......

bravo Pakatan Rakyat!
written by lynn, April 17, 2008 15:44:01
Biztrack, I heard from friend who read Chinese newspapers, culprit from BN component party is MCA. Can someone confirm this further?
Aiyer, MCA again. Mentioning that name gives me bad breath!
written by SocratesI, April 17, 2008 16:17:54
YB Nizar, More power to your elbow!! May you elbow out all these BNputras and cronies from deals such as these and return the money to where it is most needed - to the people.

Keep up the good work and watch your back, Pakatan Rakyat!!

written by artchan, April 17, 2008 17:18:18
good job Nizar
written by omarkhayyam, April 17, 2008 22:52:21
oh boy ...... can imagine how many more we will have to cancel when Pakatan Rakyat takes over Federal Government

this act is sending shivers through the spine of the spineless BN