Let the heads roll PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 April 2008 18:26

Therefore, the Pengarah Pilihanraya’s head has to be the first head that rolls, followed by the head of the Umno Youth Leader, and then if Umno is still thirsty for blood they can go for the head of the Prime Minister.

Anwar may not be Malaysia's political messiah
Helen Ting, April 15, 2008

With the expiry of a five-year ban, former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim today regains his freedom to contest a Malaysian general election and internal party election.

Anwar's political comeback is as stunning as his spectacular fall from power following his 1998 fallout with then boss, Prime Minister Dr Mahathir.

The general elections, in which the ruling National Front lost its two-thirds majority in federal parliament and in which the Opposition won control of five state assemblies, have been described as a 'political tsunami'.

For the first time ever, Anwar's multiracial party, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR, or the People's Justice Party) won more parliamentary seats than any other opposition party. As a result, Dr Wan Azizah, Anwar's wife, who was also re-elected, has become the Opposition leader.

Commentators have interpreted the results as an endorsement of PKR's electoral pledge to replace decades-old race-based affirmative action with needs-based assistance programs. They argue that racial politics and the battle cry of Malay hegemony have finally been superseded.

'The people have voted decisively for a new era where the government must be truly inclusive and recognise that all Malaysians, regardless of race, culture or religion are a nation of one,' an elated Anwar declared the night the electoral results were known.

The darling of the foreign press, the charismatic and capable Anwar generally receives positive and enthusiastic coverage. Widely seen as the uncontested Prime-Minister-to-be should the opposition gain control of the Parliament, many Malaysians are ready to give Anwar another chance.

But many others harbour lingering doubts. One key concern arises from uncertainty over the extent of Anwar's commitment to multiculturalism.

Until the late 1980s, the conversion of a Muslim to another religion could be validated by making a statutory declaration to that effect. More recently, state registrars have refused to recognise such conversions unless validated by the Syariah courts. Recent cases have shown the Syariah Courts are reluctant or refuse to do their job. A Malay convert to Catholicism, Lina Joy, contested this requirement in the civil courts in order to have the religious status recorded on her identity card rectified without going through the Syariah courts.

Lina lost her case and, while this came as a disappointment to those who are already alarmed by the continuing erosion of the role of the civil courts as the guarantor of constitutional rights including religious freedom, Anwar declared his agreement with the verdict.

Secondly, even though several PKR campaign pamphlets attacked the government's marginalisation of Mandarin and Tamil-medium primary education, the PKR election manifesto contained no measure to rectify the situation. This silence raises doubts as to whether PKR will change the status quo should it win government.

Then there was the question of who would become Chief Minister in Perak after the opposition won that state. The Perak constitution stipulates that the state government should be headed by a Malay although this requirement can be waived by the Sultan. In this instance, none of the newly elected state assemblymen of the Democratic Action Party, the Chinese-based opposition party, which gained the most seats, were Malay. Yet, rather than considering the merits of the candidates, Anwar simply objected to having a non-Malay as the Chief Minister, citing the need to protect the Malay position politically and economically.

During the election campaign, he also attacked the previous government for raising petrol prices, and declared that he would lower them, once in power. Such a measure would be immensely popular, but to implement it would cost billions of ringgit in petrol subsidies. Is this the policy of a 'far-sighted' leader when this money could be used to finance a long-term solution to the prevailing over-dependence on private cars?

Anwar, who plans to return to the parliament in a by-election, has already announced that he is moving towards forming a new federal government with the help of defectors from the ruling coalition. A question arises as to whether such a 'back door' approach to gaining power is fair to voters, who tend to vote for a party rather than individual candidates. Besides, the opposition parties have previously backed an 'anti-hopping law', which would require elected representatives to resign and stand for by-election should they switch political allegiance.

It remains to be seen whether they will apply the same standard to themselves if and when they come to power. (http://www.eurekastreet.com.au/article.aspx?aeid=6654 )

Rafidah blasts those pressing for power transfer
By Maria J.Dass, April 15, 2008

Wanita Umno chief Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz today blasted members who are pushing party president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to quickly hand over power to his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, saying such a practice is unprecedented.

“Remember, we are not just changing the (Umno) president, we are changing the prime minister. Other parties can change their president tomorrow, they can tell their president to go today; not Umno," she told reporters after five-hour meeting with Wanita leaders yesterday.

“We are talking about the prime minister and this country has never had a prime minister who has been pushed out in our history; always remember that.”

She said the transfer of leadership should not be done under pressure, and should be carried out at a time deemed suitable by both Abdullah and Najib. She said the Wanita wing fully supports the current president and the next, indicating neutrality in support.

"We cannot just force Najib to take over without giving Pak Lah a chance to stabilise the party and fix the situation first. This is not fair. One of them has to be ready to give and the other ready to receive and I’m sure Najib also wants the prime minister to ensure that what is broken now is fixed, and we (Wanita Umno) want this too.”

She said if the strong comments and guessing games are allowed to go on, the party will never be stable when this should be the priority now. Rafidah added that party members should stop airing dirty linen in public and should discuss party matters behind closed doors.

“It is the opposition and our opponents who are clapping their hand when we air our dirty linen in public."

She was obviously referring to the open airing of angst by division leaders in several states, with some calling on Abdullah to hand over power to Najib while others support Abdullah in his decision to stay on until the time is right to transfer power.

Rafidah also criticised those who blame others for the poor showing of the Barisan Nasional in the last election. “No one should say I’m free of blame, there should not be no such nonsense as everyone at all levels -- be it president, deputy, exco, supreme council and grassroots -- should not absolve themselves of blame. Only the proportion of the blame is different, but it is not fair to point fingers.”

Rafidah said Wanita’s post mortem of the general election results showed the losses were due to internal factors like leadership weakness at all levels up to the grassroots, party policies and opinions not accepted by voters, professionals and Malays themselves, and weaknesses in the implementation of programmes at grassroots level.

“For example we found that many voters from the 4th and 5th streams who are the younger voters did not support us and this is something for our Putera and Puteri Umno branches to look into.”

The external factors included the weak BN election machinery, the choice of candidates and the role of the opposition, she added. (http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=21502 )

You either love him or you hate him. That is how many feel when it comes to Anwar Ibrahim. Then again, you could be feeling both at the same time, which one would then label as a love-hate relationship. I suppose that is better than the fate of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad whom almost everyone loves to hate. Nevertheless, our choice of Prime Minister should not be about whom we love or whom we hate. The job of Prime Minister is a very serious job indeed which should not be entrusted to just someone we love. Sometimes, the one we hate could actually be the best man or woman for the job.

Rafidah Aziz has hit the nail on the head with this one. In the euphoria to get Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to resign, some pertinent points appear to have been lost on the Umno guys and gals. As Rafidah very aptly pointed out, the MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP, etc., Presidents are the business of the members of their respective parties. The Umno President, however, is the business of all Malaysians as this man will invariably be the Prime Minister of Malaysia. So it concerns all of us. Our future depends on the man holding the reins of power and the wrong man at the helm will spell doom for this country. Therefore, Umno can’t accuse non-Umno members of ‘interfering’ in their internal party matters if they were to ‘participate’ in the process of the party choosing its leader -- at least until Barisan Nasional is kicked out, which means the Umno President will no longer be our Prime Minister.

There is currently a move within Umno to punish the culprit who brought about Barisan Nasional’s disastrous performance in the recent general election. The fact is Umno did not really do that badly. It still got 78 Parliament seats, which is a decline of only 32 seats over 2004 and even lesser against the backdrop of the 1999 general election. It was the other parties such as MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP that got slaughtered. They were the ones who failed to deliver, not Umno. So they should be punished. Take Selangor as one example. Selangor has only 52% Malay voters. So it was the non-Malays who really swung, in particular the Indians (with of course a lot of help from the Malays as well).

What were amongst the many factors that led to Barisan Nasional’s dismal performance, especially the non-Malay voter factor? First of all, the Umno Youth Leader’s keris-waving and keris-kissing drama upset many Chinese. Add the rhetoric of the Umno Youth delegates challenging the Umno Youth Leader to use the keris because Malays never draw their keris without making sure it ‘tastes’ blood and this really pissed off the Chinese. And can the Chinese be blamed? Even I was upset.

Next, the Chinese placed this keris-waving and keris-kissing and the rhetoric of ‘never sheath it until it tastes blood’ against the backdrop of Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak doing the same thing 20 years earlier at the TPCA padang -- and which resulted in Operasi Lalang that saw more than 100 people, except Najib, spend a few years in the Kamunting Detention Centre. It was Najib’s keris-waving antics and the threats of ‘bathing it in Chinese blood’ that made Operasi Lalang necessary. However, it was more than 100 other people, mainly non-Malays, who suffered detention without trial, not Najib.

Najib’s role in Operasi Lalang, as the then Umno Youth Leader, was merely to trigger tensions and push Malaysia to the brink of another ‘May 13’ so that the government can round up more than 100 dissidents and those who opposed the government. That is the man called Najib Tun Razak and his cousin called Hishammuddin Hussein whom the Chinese have never forgotten nor forgiven. And that is why the Chinese finally said ‘enough is enough, no more May 13 threats and keris waving’ and they swung to the opposition, demolishing the non-Umno parties in Barisan Nasional in the process.

It must be remembered that Umno Youth is the backbone of the election machinery in any general election or by-election. Umno Youth is normally the one that supplies the manpower and leads the charge. This has always been and will always be. But this time around Umno Youth did not do its job. Furthermore, the Director of Elections was the Deputy Prime Minister. Therefore, the Pengarah Pilihanraya’s head has to be the first head that rolls, followed by the head of the Umno Youth Leader, and then if Umno is still thirsty for blood they can go for the head of the Prime Minister.

It must further be remembered that Malaysians are very wary of the fact that Najib is next in line. They fear the day when Abdullah will step aside for Najib to take over. That is one more reason the voters wanted Barisan Nasional out. No Barisan Nasional, no Najib, as simple as that. Malaysians dread the day the country is going to have someone implicated in a murder as the Prime Minister.

Sure, the courts did not implicate him. In fact, the Attorney-General even officially announced that only three people and no others are involved. But there appears to be one small problem with this. Malaysians do not trust either the courts or the Attorney-General. As far as Malaysians are concerned, Najib has been tried by the ‘Court of Public Opinion’ and he has been pronounced guilty as hell. Therefore there is no way Malaysians will accept Najib as the next Prime Minister. In fact, they do not even want him to remain as Deputy Prime Minister.

Abdullah needs to face Malaysians and admit that he has erred. Malaysians are a forgiving lot and most would be prepared to give him a second chance. But this will only work if he is seen as serious and sincere about repentance. Malaysians are not as stupid as before and with the Internet they are also better-informed. So it is not that easy to pull the wool over their eyes.

Some outstanding issues are the reformation of the judiciary, all the people in the Altantuya murder even if it is the Deputy Prime Minister being brought to book, reformation of the election system, and so on. If Abdullah can address these issues and can be seen as addressing these issues, then most Malaysians would rather see him stay as Prime Minister than Najib taking over. If not, then move aside and make way for Anwar Ibrahim.

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by Bunda, April 16, 2008 18:43:46
Erm, Pete, would it be unbecoming if we nominate someone else to be PM? I mean, even DSAI has his bad history, and the fact that he still has to prove to the rakyat that he is the fair-minded PM-in-waiting that his supporters make him out to be.

I nominate Raja Nazrin. Can a Crown Prince be PM? If can, then he would be the best candidate in all of Malaysia to hold everything together and bring us to greater heights.

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
disagree 39
agree 205
written by LabRat, April 16, 2008 18:45:56
I beg to everyone, please refrain from saying or doing anything that may weaken Pak Lah any further inside UMNO. Let him still be UMNO's President and Malaysian PM, at least until either one of the events below happen :

1) PR managed to persuade sufficient numbers of MPs from BN to join PR and form the next national government, and the rest will fall in place nicely; or

2) Wait until next election to be called, and double or triple our efforts to ensure PR will form the government, and the rest will fall in place nicely (but this will be very risky as by then, our nation may already be bankrupt or that BN managed to plan a major election gerrymandering, giving them another victory).

Either way, I shudder to think if Pak Lah is no more UMNO President and Malaysian PM, and Najib will take over the helm. Just think of "the Old Man" lurking behind the shadow, controlling everything again.....
written by krising1, April 16, 2008 18:48:03
OK PM. Give us the heads of keris kissing cousins and all will be forgiven.

Get rid of your SIL from politics and all will be forgiven.

Reform the judiciary and all will be forgiven.

Amend the earlier amendments to the constitution and all will be forgiven.

Dont give favours to UMNOputras and all will be forgiven.

We will protect you from Tun Mamak's attacks.
agree 275
written by educationist, April 16, 2008 18:56:22
I feel the most accurate statement is that the rakyat wanted BN to be taught a lesson. To substitute Pak Lah with Najib is a definite no no.
But it looks like those in UMNO who will like to see Najib take the driver seat is pushing hard.
I feel with Najib at the helm, we'll face again an era of oppression and dictatorship tactics which we had experienced under Dr M.
So, come on Pak Lah either you fight to keep your job or let Razaleigh/Anwar take over but not those other tainted fellows.
written by The Truth Seeker, April 16, 2008 19:15:09
najib, or rosmah, NO NO NO NO NO,
written by greenarrow, April 16, 2008 19:26:43
" GLOBALISATION "... ' GLOBALISM ' had been much talked about.. & been debated
The Malay traders had been encouraged by Government to step into that launching pad....the domestic market alone cant remain contented forever....they ve to compete outside...to merge as Leader as well as the Pioneer of Innovative products

Such Motivation & Encouragement is paramount important

...but why then this Leaders in Barisan Nasional are so narrow minded....by practising ' Unequal Distribution of Wealth among its own people '???

Equality for everyone before stepping into the 'Global Competition'
Our own Businessmen are running away...investing in Vietnam...Cambodia..China
They doesnt want to compete here...they find been 'squeezed' without much OPPORTUNITY given....
They are afraid been oppressed by the ' Ketuanan Melayu ' arrogance posed at them by this Political Leaders

You can keep your arrogance of 'KETUANAN MELAYU "....but this Biznessmen NOT going continue to invest & build this country..many alreday moving out to Vietnam....they went not with 'GLOBALISATION ' in their mind..but with ' Trade COLONISATION '....all will just benefit the invested countries

Elected Government must take care own Businessmen first

Check into all the Foreign built factories in MALAYSIA here....how many percentage of local workers be found ? Almost 80% vacncies been filled up by the Indonesians... & Vietnamese

'Foreign Investors bring work opportunities to our own people ' ????
I dont think so,.....

Labour Recruiting Agents bringing in the Foreign workers... paid BIG MONEY to satisfy the Greed of many PEGAWAI KERAJAAN !!!!
Our own people are in jobless trauma & hungry ...while the Pegawai pegawai fattened their belly...& sending their children to quest for Oversea Education

So..what Globalisation are they talking about ?....their mouth say one thing...their action ran wild like Satan....
They stole all the Good things from the Rakyat.... a good 'TUAN' will not behave such

When they lost few States in recent General election...their position ..status...Moneypower also been reduced
Now they accused one another....

When will SABAH & SARAWAK...remove the scales in their own eyes?
When will Melacca & Negeri Sembilan wake up to poach the " Red Venomous Snake "?
Will Pahang learn the TRUTH..who is the GOOD TUAN ?

- GreenArrow writes

written by nana tanjung, April 16, 2008 19:34:47
The escalating prices of petrol and rice are the factors that will bring down any government. So timing must be right. BN has to face it, while PR has the luxury to wait until the lull period is over. You don't want to be caught in the middle of the crises.

So, just sit down , relax a lil bit and enjoy the show.
written by megahyper, April 16, 2008 19:36:25
Replacing a sleeper with an experienced opportunist?

Bye bye Malaysia....wherever you are.
written by MrHot, April 16, 2008 19:50:06

As for Anwar, I personally do have doubt on his commitment to multiculturalism base on my attention on him during and after his UMNO days.Long before PR12, many of my friend has given him the benefit of doubt to be the PM in the making, should the opposition came to power.

Hence, most of my non-Malay friend are ready to accept him as the next PM, with a big "IF".

I support your view 100% RPK, on AAB to continue leading this beloved Nation of us as at this moment,looking at the present political development I do not go for a Quick transition of the PM.

Even within UMNO, I would not support a quick transition of it President, be it to Muhidinyasin or Najib (my last choice).But all this depend very much on the wisdom of AAB, to his handling of some urgent national issues & political one within BN & UMNO in particular.

For the sake of this nation, I sincerely pray that God will grant him wisdom to lead Malaysia the best way he should !!!

VOTE FOR EQUALITY, JUSTICE & BANGSA MALAYSIA !!!

written by megahyper, April 16, 2008 19:51:05
Great news!....UMNO with Hadhari values has shown heightened tolerance level!

Melayu Umno: Tanjong Sepat assemblyman Karim Mansor taken a picture with 2 thumbs up......drums roll.......from visits to kandang babi.

For more info, please check out Malaysiakini or the link below:

http://aisehman.org/?p=563#comment-8864

written by Taiping60, April 16, 2008 20:01:38
Dear Raja Petra and my fellow Malaysian,

Umno's Wanita Chief is right when she said Umno cannot unilaterally replace it's President as it's President is also the Prime Minister of Malaysia. If Abdullah were to step down to allow Najib to become UMNO President and also Prime Minister of Malaysia just because some UMNO leaders say so then it will do great injustice to all Malaysian. I say a big NO to that. It cannot be arranged in this manner. I favour to have every citizen the right to vote for their prime minister. Unfortunately, this cannot be done now until and unless the Parliment change the law to allow this to do done. So as Malaysian, I wait eagerly for this to happen so that my vote is as good as those in Kepala Batas or Pekan. Meanwhile, since this cannot be done now, the next best is for UMNO to have their own free election to select their president instead of arranged succession.

Anyway, those accusations thrown at Najib and even Muyiddin in the blog are not fair. Obviously if they are guilty as claimed then not only they do not deserve to be President or deputy president of UMNO but to be put jail. However, like any lawful country, we should not find one guilty unless one is proven beyond reasonable doubt that he or she is guilty. Therefore, for those who have evidents, come forward otherwise leave them alone. This apply to those in power as well. Holding on to the evident is wrong. In fact, it is like holding someone on ransom.

On the subject whether Abdullah to take responsibility for his failure in the last general election. The responsibility for the failure in the General Election should not be shouldered by Abdullah Badawi alone. Although some may argue that he is the leader so he should take full responsibility. This is one area I like about the US presidential election. The winner takes all. SO the President nominee, Vice President Nominee and the rest of the team gets nothing if the President Nominee loose. Therefore, equivalent to the US system, everyone from Abdullah Badawi, Najib and the BN teams members should shoulder the same responsibility due to their failure and not Badawi alone. However, in this case fortunately or unfortunately BN did not loose. They won the Federal Government. So whether it is by one parlimentaty seat margin or a two third majority, a win is a win. On that note Badawi deserve to stay on as his party won. The voters have sent him a strong message in the last election and hope he will respond. If he did not then Malaysian should vote BN out of the federal government in the next election.

As for Anwar, I am sorry to say that BN loss the last election and not Pakatan Rakyat won. Many Malaysian casted their votes against BN in many states to show their displeasure of what the former government did. As a result of that Pakatan won five states and more than one third of the parliment seats. So, please do not waste this opportunity. If the opposition did well in these 5 states and do execellent work at the federal level, believe me, in the next election Malaysian will be voting for Pakatan Rakyat (PKR DAP PAS) and this time it is not about BN. As such, I would strongly discourage you to encourage any MPs or state assembly men to cross over from BN to Pakatan. Gaining power in this way is WRONG. As Malaysian who is equally dissapointted with the Badawi Administration previosly, I do not want you to be our government in this way. I want Pakatan Rakyat to win the right to govern through the ballot and not through cross over MPs or state assemblymen from BN. If you allow that to happen, it will tanish your credibility as well as the Pakatan Rakyat. In fact, if you started that way, it will be very difficult for you to be cleaned and govern efficiently.

So to all my fellow Malaysian. We have taken the 1st step. Now we watch and wait for those responsible to deliver. We make sure everyone does their job including the media. Meanwhile, we have our do our part i.e. we have to work hard for the family, for the company and for the country. Together we will be able to build a strong nation and be proud of Bangsa Malaysia.
disagree 16
written by chiongguo, April 16, 2008 20:09:08
If the first task of DSAI upon becoming the PM were to replace the election commission head with another person of his choosing then nothing has really changed. The rot in the system still remains. It is just as pernicious as if the head remain in his post.

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely and if DSAI is really serious about democracy or human rights he must put in place to ensure that the system we have in the future will not allow absolute power or almost absolute powers to be concentrated in the hands of one person or a small elite. This means he himself must surrender quite a bit of power. Does he have the integrity to divest those very powers that could help him remain in power ?

The election commission MUST be independent and the head is only accountable to the parliament and the Agung. Dissolving of the parliament can still remain the prerogative of the PM but the duration of campaign and when the election were to take place must remain with the election commission.

Democracy works only in as far as the democratic institutions work. Head-hunting may be an interesting sport after a victory but with a country weary of all the abuses and corruption the stench remains the same.

Hopefully DSAI can bring with him a breath of fresh air to a corrupt-weary nation.

written by ultra, April 16, 2008 20:15:48
A few pointers on why our votes are not secret. How the heck does the Grandma know which age group for for or against BN? That's why la this gov must be replaced pronto!
written by LACOBRA, April 16, 2008 20:16:50
Pak Lah has to redeem himself before he retires peacefully. His main duty is to expose and bring all the BN legalized criminals down. It is left to his conscience now. Whether he would be useful thereafter would be in our discretion or should I say until he has proven his ability while in power.

Otherwise we would have to bid him goodbye and he would have to face the most humiliating exit similarly to the former President Nixon in the scandals of US.

As for Rafidah Aziz, kids today are thought to be vocal and brave unlike our yesteryears of upbringing. So the Putera & Puteri can carry on competing with each other on who has the best luxury sports car that they could purchase from her APs.
written by raverz, April 16, 2008 20:36:16
Dear Bunda,

i understand the respect you have in our royals (and i feel the same) but I fear that it may be a bad idea for a royal to be the PM. They may have kuasa mutlak then....lol.....The royals have their own duties to fulfill, but then again, i suppose it's up to them to decide.
written by Amadas, April 16, 2008 20:36:34
AAB does not have direct grassroot support. Grassroots are controlled by UMNO Chiefs. So the UMNO Chiefs control him rather than he control them. There is a high probability and high likelihood that AAB may not carry out the reforms that he intended to and promised to the rakyat.

DSAI is a charismatic politician, a born leader, a tenacious fighter, has political smarts and can easily pulls in the crowds. DSAI is hands on and enjoys wide grassroot support amongst Malaysians. He has the personality and the governmental experience to know what to do, what not to do, when to do it ,how to push for change. Besides his wide international network and experience being a former DPM are critical success facor in the push for real reforms in Malaysia.

Malaysia is at the crossroads now. Malaysia can either
- move forward with real reforms or
- maintain status quo and regress further

52% of Malaysian Voters have voted for CHANGE. So it is quite obvious that Malaysia move towards real reforms. Likewise so it is also very clear that Malaysians need a "CHANGE LEADER" and that person is none other than DSAI.

Love him or hate him or both.....DSAI is our best PM candidate to embark on real reforms for Malaysia ...NOT AAB!!
written by binarytan, April 16, 2008 20:58:51
kita rakyat tak perduli sangat siapa jadi PM, paling penting dia akan:-

1. memajukan negara kita
2. menstabilkan masyarakat kita yg didirikan oleh eknik berbagai kaum
3. menghapuskan kroni, rasuah, ISA seperti dadah
4. memperkayakan anak buah negara dan bukan sekelompok buaya BN tu
5. mementingkan pengajaran kita dari sekolah rendah sampai universiti
6. tak perlulah kita bazir duit rakyat utk projek yg tidak mendatangkan manfaat, macam hantar lagi spaceman? monsoon cup? utk apa
7. menghapuskan kemiskinan dan mewujudkan masyarakat yg makmur.

Tapi, mampukah PM dari BN? jawapannya ialah TIDAK.

I tak nampak sesiapapun dlm BN ada bakat seperti PR, tak boleh banding langsung dgn leader2 PKR, DAP, PAS

Jadi, paling sesuai ialah dari PR lah Yg disetujui = DSAI.
written by Thomas47, April 16, 2008 21:01:59
I say give Pak Lah a chance to redeem himself and put the house in order first before passing the leadership to the next in line.

For the moment anyway, until something unprecedented happens like PR manage to form the government. That is unlikely to happen unless some of the elected BN MPs changed allegiance and hopped to PR parties.

Talking about party hopping, no matter what the rationale to do so is still unethical to me.
written by juanglagi, April 16, 2008 21:03:05
Well… if you want a “reborn” or better (cross your fingers) UMNO’s president/PM … I guess we just have to give them more time to settle down especially to learn all the mistakes they made… the more they fight and argue, they may making a better/informed decision. Of course we understand this may be BAD for economy and country image… But I don’t want a new tiga-suku PM now for just worrying the fed gov is too busy with their politics affair.

If a baby needs 9 months to be fully developed, we just have to wait 9 months…after all we waited for 50 years…what is 5 weeks after GE?

Btw, susah lar nak pilih yg mn satu dr UMNO…. smilies/grin.gif
written by sickofitall, April 16, 2008 21:40:21
spot on YM RPK. The ones whose heads must roll are Najib and HH. UMNO must realise that from many rakyat's perspective these two must be stopped from climbing any higher lest they bring Malaysia into further unnecessary internal turmoil. The rakyats' resolve must be strong, that is to say, send a clear message to UMNO and BN that if Najib and HH is allowed to take over, then with the power of our votes, the federal government shall fall into Pakatan's hands in the next GE. Our resolve MUST be clear and precise!
written by ahmisk, April 16, 2008 21:50:48
Honestly the more I analyse political developments, the more I feel that i'm going to be disappointed about improvements to race relations, religious freedom, corruption, national competitiveness, etc..

At the moment Anwar is enjoying a sort of honeymoon period with some of us. But let us all not forget that he is still a man, with a man's shortcomings and flaws.

As much as we have been critical of Mahathir, Pak Lah, Najib, Hishamuddin- we should be the same about Anwar.

Time will tell what he can or will do for the country. I hope for the best but at the end of the day all of us, just like people anywhere around the world, must remember that our priority to take care of ourselves and our own. We would be foolhardy to put our trust in politicians.

written by choong, April 16, 2008 21:53:08
There is a reason underlying why people complain. They complain because they care and want to see things fixed. And they expect the service providers to rectify the errors. So if Abdullah is willing to fix the problems faced by this country (such as the judiciary reforms, clear the legal hurdle between syariah and civil courts, open tender system for govt contracts, provide welfare to the poor regardless of race and religion and etc) with great political will, I assure you I will be the first to vote for his party back to office come the 13th general election.

There is neither love nor hate so long as the welfare of all the rakyat are taken care of.
written by lpfee, April 16, 2008 22:03:22
Your analysis of Barisan Nasional’s disastrous performance in the recent general election is straight to the point & precisely correct , downright accurate and speak the mind out of the people, especially the non-Malay.
You have an unsurpass analytical power!!
written by Commonsenses, April 16, 2008 22:20:15
Rpk u r right. Its better to have AAB for another 4 years, then Najib as he is tainted with the mongol case.
written by Spear Bing, April 16, 2008 22:20:53
Dear Taiping60,

Some of the views that you brought up are valid in the context of how you, as an ordinary voter or layman, perceive the political events that unfold as each day passes by.

As politicians, DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat tend to view these events through their poliical lens, and the political landscape being porous and volatile following the results of the 12th GE, there must extenuating circumstances that may impinch upon DSAI and PR to really go for the 'kill' - CARPE DIEM!!

It could be the factor of TIMING and the right situation for CARPE DIEM, from a 'helicopter' viewpoint. The 'cross over' of BN MPs need not be necessarily viewed on moral or ethical grounds, given this extenuating circumstances and the on-going internal conflict and crisis occuring within UMNO.

Politics is about the art of the possible. Also CARPE DIEM at the right time and at the right place.

My 2 cents worth.
written by Chaptokam, April 16, 2008 22:29:41
Dear RPK I strongly agree with your views

If you care to go thru my postings or comments I wrote in regards to Little Bird joining the euphoria to get Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to resign and calling him idiot . It came across to me that this little birdy doesn't realise the impact this will cause to the country . Of course his supporters disagreed with what I had to say but I had to expose him as being a Mahathir crony or a Matthias lap dog with the sole objective of getting Badawi out .I remembered you once mentioned that even though you didn't like TDM but when you met him one day you still addressed him properly as he is the Prime Minister .
Coming back to the call for PM to step down ,brought about Barisan Nasional’s disastrous performance in the recent general election. Let me say this the impact of whoever becomes the Prime Minister hopefully not Najib , even if Anwar and PR were to form the government today we will still be not out of the woods . There is still the second echelon government consisting of all the Civil Servants . Who they are align to we don't know . They might try to subvert or sabotage new government policies. Already several factors were at play by some over zealous government officials before the election , some over zealous customs officers confiscated bibles at the airport , not knowing or knowingly the damage it will cause to the BN , over zealous MPPJ officers demolishing temples which could have been postponed till after the election , may or may not knowingly the impact it will cause the BN . Here I presume some renegade politicians were at work with the objective to run down BN and Badawi . Whether they were align to TDM one can speculate . There were many policies set by the government but were not carried out by civil servants in accordance to the policies and hence had to be checked and reminded every now and then . So this is what I fear will happen cos in the end it is WE RAKYAT who will suffer .Also please remember that all the heads of GLC companies were all appointed by the PM , if the PM goes a lot of financial transfers is bound to happen , transfering out the money to where we don't know .

I reproduce my comments ;
Little Birdy with two teloq
Quote ; Anwar Ibrahim has had his coming out party. I am not a fan of the man at all .
You have called our Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi as Idiot .
You don't like Anwar and you hate Abdullah (since you call him idiot)
Maybe I answer for him , he is a Mahathir undercover agent or a Matthias lap dog and he either wants Mahathir or Najib as the premier .

The first head to roll should be Hishamuddin , followed by Najib , and to be followed by Ong Ka Ting who caused the wrath of the Chinese for his stupidity and ball carrying mentality .
written by SBennit, April 16, 2008 22:43:11
It was Najib’s keris-waving antics and the threats of ‘bathing it in Chinese blood’ that made Operasi Lalang necessary.

Another great article by RPK to trick the peasant mind into believing that Mahathir is not the most disgusting local politician of recent times.

C'mon guys, I'm waiting to see more comments of these sort:

Yor' da' Man RPK
I agree with your 100% RPK
I fully agree with you RPK
I totally agree with you RPK

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by Taiping60, April 16, 2008 22:49:37
SpearBing,
Do understand where the angle you are coming from. I respect that view as well. As layman, I would like to keep thing simple i.e. you can only do good if you are good. One cannot be expected to do things right if one started wrongly. So if the MPs were bribed, forced or arranged to cross over so that Pakatan can be the government, that is wrong and I do not support it. However, if those MPs who cross over because their current leader is willing to change or reform and if this continue Malaysia will suffer. These MPs then decided to support different leaders within BN or outside BN as those leaders wants to change the country for good then I do not have any objection. However, as you can see this is idealistic. In the real world, especially politians world there is no real enemy and no real friend. Everything is relative. If you are in power, everyone are your friends. When you are down, you wonder where are your friends. The good thing is that you get to know who are your real friends. Anwar felt that before and so is Tun. Now I am sure Badawi is feeling this now.

written by bexe, April 16, 2008 22:49:54
Rafidah
You are so wrong, that is why I suggest you put your tail between your legs and leave, like the rest of you UMNO folks.
A few obvious reasons:
1)You cannot use precedence to cure an unprecedented event.
2) You cannot expect the person(s) responsibile for the mess to clean up the mess; particularly when those person(s) do not agree that it is a mess in the first place.
3) There is a mutiny on board the UMNO vessel. You expect the Captain to qwell that when he is the object of the mutiny?
3) Your own post mortem revealed that the next generation do not want you as their leader. So what are you doing there? Get serious. You and the other UNMO leaders have squandered our trust and confidence. Without this you cannot remain our leader.

Another thing. Did you read the NST Editorial? Ya you UMNO guys - get on with governing this country, otherwise, please move aside.
written by cruzeiro, April 16, 2008 23:05:43
Another great article by RPK to trick the peasant mind into believing that Mahathir ...........
===============
Okay SB. You got it!

Yore da man!

======================

What's with you?
Dont you see sense?
Who do you think is trying to perpetuate the dynasty by putting these two wannabes & calling for AAB's resignation?
Who do you think benefits most from AAB's resignation?
Who do you think is pissed with AAB's refusal to be a puppet to him?

Don't simply whack, SB ..... there is no viable alternative in UMNO as things are. The alternatives are all simply a fresh coat of paint.
AAB simply couldn't do sheet becos of all the subversion within.
Maybe with the current mandate, and the weeding out of many old faces, he stands a chance.
Take that chance, or be ready to be doomed with another Ops Lalang!
"Change? What Change?"
http://cruzinthots.********.co...hange.html
written by DontPlayGod, April 16, 2008 23:08:50
I agree with some of the comments by some of the bloggers. There is nothing to hope for if AAB is replaced by Najib, who(and now Hishammudin) drew their keris and asked the Malays to bathe their keris in Chinese blood. The ISA was applied to everybody, except to Najib. This is how our police works. UMNO leaders are always exempt from any police actions. But if a DAP member were to make some comments, especially on Malay special rights, NEP, etc. the police will come down on them like a ton of bricks.

Najib must not be the next PM. He is tainted by the Altantuya case, and until and unless he has been proven innocent by the courts, we will have to give ourselves(not him, as this is politics) the benefit of a doubt. The fact that points in his direction is the case of the two personal bodyguards of Najib. These bodyguards answer only to Najib, and not to that Razak Baginda fellow. Baginda has no standing or right to instruct these two bodyguards without Najib giving the go ahead. If you ask me, Najib's connection to this case cannot be dismissed away so easily. And we want this Najib to be the next PM. How about the case of the 2 scorpion submarines? How is it that Razak Baginda was given the role of the middleman in this deal? I would have thought that the Government should have gone directly to the French owners. The whole case just stinks. Can't we find another more suitable, honest and clean candidate?
written by cruzeiro, April 16, 2008 23:08:54
BTW,

Check out this letter in response to Mathias Chang's challenge to Param:-

"A Blogger's response to Mathias Chang"
http://cruzinthots.********.co...chang.html
written by malaysia united, April 16, 2008 23:10:31
There is no doubt AAB is a better PM than the C4-man (the commission-man, old keris-kisser a companion to Keris-sa-patin, …a family disease, I guess). Cool Lee can never be a good candidate as he is now supported by TDM and possibly he will dance to old man’s tune. Forget not, this TDM is a betrayal to TAR, who orchestrated the imprisonment of DSAI, introduced the “Lingam” judicial system, abused ISA to weaken voice of Rakyat and implemented many more unthinkable selfish schemes that changed Malaysia (we are seeing the effect now).

When PR comes into picture, the former better option is no longer good enough. DSAI is an EXCELLENT choice than AAB. Do we have a better candidate than DSAI, other than Raja Nazrin, I can’t think of one. DSAI may have questionable history, let’s forget not, no one is perfect. Comparing to current BN nuts, DSAI is definitely out shined them many folds. I would choose DSAI – he has the experiences (as former Finance Minister and DPM) and most importantly he commands support from component parties - PAS and DAP.

If PR has sufficient MPs to form the next government, now is the time to do it. Let’s not wait till the 13th election. Why allow monkeys to weaken our nation further. Put in the new government now and start the change. It may be slow and painful in the beginning but what do you expect after so many years of abuses done to our nation. Naturally, it takes time to heal the injuries.

What can we, the Rakyat, do if there was no PR who took risks as opposition against the monkeys during the 12th election? Do you think we have a chance to change the current situations? Far be the thought, we have what we have today because of Rakyat AND PR. Thanks to many supports from concerned bloggers (an example is our beloved Raja Petra), who have gathered us together to harness our belief from thoughts to actions. Without these factors, we can continue our dream and it will remain as dream for many more years to come.

If PR has the chance now, we must be united to support the new government. Like all businesses, we take calculated risk. It is a risk I am willing to take and I hope you too.
written by notsosmart, April 16, 2008 23:46:35
........................Abdullah needs to face Malaysians and admit that he has erred. Malaysians are a forgiving lot and most would be prepared to give him a second chance. But this will only work if he is seen as serious and sincere about repentance. Malaysians are not as stupid as before and with the Internet they are also better-informed. So it is not that easy to pull the wool over their eyes.............................

======================================================

RPK, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. WE ARE PROUD TO HAVE A FANTASTIC RAKYAT LIKE YOU, THE GREAT MIND. smilies/wink.gif
written by nrni, April 16, 2008 23:46:36
I believe AAB is in a catch-22 situation: He cannot reform UMNO otherwise he will be kicked out from UMNO sooner than the AGM, on the other hand if he remains sleepy as he is now, PR will kick BN and him out.
written by miwaki, April 16, 2008 23:54:01
Our incompetent and arrogant BN government has already started with-holding funds meant for Penang,I'm not sure whether they have done it to Kedah,Perak and selangor.Under the circumstances,Anwar should quickly rope in 30 MPs of the other side to form a new government to save these 5 states.People might say it is unethical but what about Penang which is under-funded and who is going to pump in funds to solve their predicaments.

In politics,there is no such thing as unethical if your actions bring about development to the country.For your information,corruption and incompetency of the government are unethical,not party hopping to save the country !
written by little dragon, April 17, 2008 00:00:01
as i had predicted, impatient upsurpers within d umno ranks hv begun to make their move on d powerbases of hitherto diehard aab defenders. they r now trying to gather d sufficient numbers within d umno supreme council to deliver d coup d'grace, just like wat happened to Tunku back in 69.

d latest is dat selangor umno has joined d ranks in calling for aab to resign. selangor? now, isn't dis d powerbase of "cash in d suitcase" strongman M&M? didn't aab handpick him to hold d fort n lend legitimacy for his continued rule? has he been "turned" already? or r they now just trying to spook him to switch alliances?

an aab without a rotweiler like M&M around is a dead man walking. like a caesar forewarned of d ides of march, he will soon b walking into a council of knife-drawn killers. is this his endgame? perhaps not, if he acts fast n decisively. a go-for-broke so to speak. i mean, wat has he got to lose, wit so little time before d final whistle?

APPEAL TO D RAKYAT!!! dis is wat aab will need to do to save himself from disgrace n oblivion. go on national tv to outline a program of clear reforms d RAKYAT has demanded which he has omitted to do during his honeymmon years. call d RAKYAT to gather for a healing session at d dataran merdeka to show their support for these reforms. u will find d RAKYAT can b a forgiving lot if u keep ur word.

ur enemies r spooking u, so spook them back. n if u don't even hv d guts to do dis, then i suppose u don't deserve to be our pm anyways. then go, in DISGRACE !!!
written by FFT, April 17, 2008 00:15:45
It was Najib’s keris-waving antics and the threats of ‘bathing it in Chinese blood’ that made Operasi Lalang necessary.

And behind Najib, stands the root of all evil:

Mahathir bin Mohammad

Hang Mahathir at the gallows, and half the country's problems will be solved immediately.
written by Surind Raj, April 17, 2008 01:51:42
As usual, the Indians are sidelined & forgotten. HINDRAF 5 & Uthayakumar? If UMNO does not free them unconditionally, trust me, all of you in UMNO & BN are not even an option. Anyway, PR is the only options for Indians now.

If there are not a "Hell of a Lot" of More Indian Ministers, Youth Ministers (Under 35), Women Ministers & all other marginalised groups (of quality), under the new PR government - you can kiss your grassroots support goodbye.

The little things add up & become big things. Always stay "in touch" & remain relevant!
written by bknight, April 17, 2008 02:11:26
Dear RPK

finally, i found this segment of your article that i have debated with my friends..and i totally agree with your view and i would like to add my thoughts to this..(if you don't mind)

"During the election campaign, he also attacked the previous government for raising petrol prices, and declared that he would lower them, once in power. Such a measure would be immensely popular, but to implement it would cost billions of ringgit in petrol subsidies. Is this the policy of a 'far-sighted' leader when this money could be used to finance a long-term solution to the prevailing over-dependence on private cars?"

For once,i do seriously think that the political tsunami is a good change but when i put my 2 cents worth of thoughts into this whole petrol subsidies, i really wonder if this can really be achieved ? by saying that once PR is in power, petrol subsidy will continue if i understand this correctly. Which means the taxes from the petronas revenue will be have to be maintained as part of petrol subsidy..the last i checked today's crude oil rose to USD110/barrel, it goes up faster than NASA can launch their space shuttle therefore i believe we cannot continue to subsidize this increase ? who to be blame? i think BUSH is ..

My question is, if PR is in power, is there no other means to curb the rise of our cost of living ? things like taxes on other so called "imported cars", our fellow malaysians are actually deprived of choices of cars at an affordable price in the context of "protecting our national car".

I believe if this is done without, our car industry will be competitive, which means cars like Saga or Myvvi (which in my humblest opinion) are quite economical in terms of usage but for the price we are paying ? it is ridiculous. I quote an example in the US of A, you can get a brand new Chevy Malibu for merely USD19,900 and a Chevy Malibu is similar to Chevy optra in our market and the only difference is that it is much bigger. and how much is a Chevy Optra cost in malaysia ? i seriously don't know because i can't afford to buy one at the moment..hehehehe smilies/smiley.gif

So in my humblest opinion,IF we can do without those import taxes on cars, we will have more choices to choose within our means, A SAGA will cost lower than it is now, in fact for those people who doesnt earn that much such as me, heck! i can probably do enough saving to get a SAGA at 19k with minimum bank loans.

What we are also been boiled down is the loans structure that we have to take on a repayment that is not based on reducing balance. hence we incurred more debts. I wonder why..and i think is because we malaysian are left with no choice..in the name of protecting our national pride PROTON!

I say, PR please look into all other aspect in our economy that is making us sooo much poorer..our neighbour downsouth are paying 39k for a good car and we are paying 39k for a PROTON!..sigh...

*sorry guys, abit long winded on this one..
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by chuckmoore, April 17, 2008 06:40:14

Agreed that Anwar's comittment to a multi-racial, multi-religious Malaysia has yet to be tested, though maybe he has to approach and address this issue gingerly and at the right time.

I'm also concerned with his closeness to western politicians such as Paul Wolfowitz, even since Wolfowitz is one of the key architects of the war on Iraq.

The other issue is his stand on the Free Trade AGreement between Malaysia and the United States.

Charles
written by TWOG, April 17, 2008 09:35:59
/// “We are talking about the prime minister and this country has never had a prime minister who has been pushed out in our history; always remember that.” ///

Eh, rAPidah - korreck or not???
written by Syah, April 17, 2008 09:44:08
The Prime Minister says he is the Prime Minister for all Malaysian, that which covers all the races here in Malaysia. Obviously with this undertaking, he must not only be fair but seen to be fair to all races. Action must seen to be taken against any member of the coalition party if the they have offended other races, irrespective if one is a youth head or even the son in law. If he fails to correct it in this world, then he surely has to answer in the next world. He has to answer, why when trust was given, he has betrayed. It always less painful to take action and seek the people’s forgiveness here now than to face the wrath of Allah in the next world, if only one knows…
written by alan cheong, April 17, 2008 10:05:06
i thought it IS obvious: umno IS the culprit. it and its vermin shot themselves in both feet, hands, cutting off their own nose and ears, too. am beginning to wonder if they gouged one eye so they may lay claim to be the first and sole cyclops int he land. all these just to spite US.

indubitably, they did and continue to do an outstanding job. BRAVO.
written by Sagaladoola, April 17, 2008 10:07:47
Sagaladoola,

Don't forget about Samy Vellu, Rafidah Aziz herself .. k

written by sampalee, April 17, 2008 11:40:46
When we finally wake up,we are left in the lurch,that existing system cannot filled the leadership vacumn,we can begin to accept apolitical candidate[I will call orang Tuhan]One person who come to mind is our much loved and respected RPK.
The real makkal shakti will rise above all forms of politics[divisive in nature] and galvanised this nation into a single unit with OUR RPK at the helm.
written by joeawk, April 17, 2008 13:04:37
If AAB need 2/3 majority to amend draconian laws, the opposition will support. So,it is best to have AAB around to reform the various laws which are a curse to malaysia's democracy.

After which, PR can take over because if PR takes over now, PR mayl not be able to right the wrongs which may require 2/3 majority.
written by bknight, April 17, 2008 13:43:56
Ok ppl.... 

I know I have b#$tch about why is our car prices so darn expensive and the more I think about it the more I am very disheartened..

So I decided to check out the prices of a proton in the UK. Check out this link
http://www.proton.co.uk/

okie, I know I will be blasted for this, some ppl might say “hey, what the heck are you comparing about?? Okie true enough a Gen2 in UK is selling for 8,995 GBP but hmm..let’s take a look at the forex conversion rate and translate it to RM”. Alright mate! Let’s do that, looking at today’s conversion rate is going for 1 GBP = 6.21794 to be precise. So which means a Gen2 OTR in the UK is equivalent to RM55,930. therefore a GEN2 in the UK is more expensive in terms of affordability. Yes, that is correct IF we earn Malaysian ringgit and live in the UK. BUT We are earning Malaysian ringgit and living in Malaysia.

So let’s compare 1 RM = 1 GBP for the sake of this illustration. An average joe in the UK can probably save enough to buy a GEN2 at 8,995 GBP in about 6 months in Cash. So my question here to my fellow Malaysians is , do you think an average joe in Malaysia can save enough in 6 months to buy a GEN2 in cash ? I think most of my fellow Malaysian here can understand what I am trying to say. Let’s assume we can’t afford to do the same, Which means we as Malaysian will have to go to our banks and ask for a loan that most probably tight us up debts from all our banks who will not gives attractive loans for car financing since there is no “REAL” competition for price in the car industry so why should they make it even more attractive for Malaysian to take up loan? NO they don’t since Our gamen want to protect our national pride. Other better quality cars are ridiculously priced with their “IMPORT TAX”. Do other car makers have a choice ? NO, do we Malaysian have a choice ?? NO. I would say LETs Open up our car market and make it a truly free market. By doing that, in my perspective will drive the price scale down and our purchasing power up a notch. And would that solve our problem entirely? NO and why?

Here is my another 2 cents. ROAD TAX and TOLLS…sigh… my fellow Malaysian.. in the name of privatization, we have seen new highways being build and toll plaza being setup. Ok…true enough if we use then we pay the tolls. And I think everyone will know there are plenty of toll plazas around..and if roads are privatized then can anyone explain to me why are we still require to pay road taxes ??because i cannot comprehend this. So we are in actual fact paying twice for our roads we use. ROAD Tax for roads that the Gamen are supposedly maintaining and TOLL for the private corporates who builds new roads..I SAY DO AWAY THE ROAD TAXES!!!

Hmm..by the way the gamen is scheming every single cent out of our pocket…no wonder our MR “budak budak sekarang suka menhisap dada” can afford to “tanam rambut” every single month..probably he is now in KERALA trying to figure out away to be a minister over there and privatized all the roads and charge road taxes.

Phew…there goes my other 2 cents worth…

written by liliwg, April 17, 2008 14:09:47
looks like I also can be PM........
written by anallu, April 17, 2008 14:12:27
I am 89 years old and have not been a politician in my life, but I am not ignorant of politics. I have a suggestion to get over the moral and legal problems of 'party hopping'. Since the BN has a 'steel grip whip' always in force, the opposition introduces a 'no confidence' motion against the PM and let the BN members who are desirous of hopping over to PR vote in favour of the motion. This will result in the BN taking disciplinary action action against its members who supported the motion, which could result in such members being expelled from the BN (or UMNO). Such members can then join any of the component parties of the PR. This can lead to the change of government. If the BN does not expel the rebel members, it will still result in the PM losing his position and creation of devisive problems in the ruling coalition.
written by joeawk, April 17, 2008 14:31:18
Aiyah, Anwar is seen to be the better of the devils among the devils.
written by Harimau Belang, April 17, 2008 15:21:32
the best person to be the PM is RPK. smilies/grin.gif
written by Free Malaysia, April 17, 2008 15:41:40
I like the paying for the UMNO coffin part. Hell, I will go to Petaling Street and buy some paper money to burn for UMNO during their funeral.
written by mat, April 17, 2008 19:33:54
Everybody out for revenge. Not justice. No wonder the Malays don't trust the Chinese and vice versa. How can u expect the low income Malays to trust chinese when baru menang 5 negeri dah banyak cakap besar & go off on a witch hunting exercise. Since last PRU we have yet to see any major improvements promised during election campaign. All parties (BN & PR) sibuk exacting revenge towards one party or another. BN lagi teruk lah. Exacting revenge on each other and everyone. Everything the other guy does is never right (even if it is good). Everything your guy do is always correct and you would gladly sacrifice your left scrotum (or both) in his cause. How for the low income malay to be convinced the PR isn't just campaigning to exact revenge?

Even today we see job oepnings "for Chinese only". Why not take Indians if your business deals with gambling or pork etc? You deal with Chinese from PRC? Most Chinese in Malaysia dont speak Mandarin! What logic behind the "for Chinese only" requirement? That is what causes suspicion for the Malays. My Chinese friends (thankfully with their heads screwed on right) openly tell me that if I buy from a Chinese hardware shop I'd most probably be charged more than if they did the purchasing. Most of the time they do the purchasing for me if I'm buying high cost items. I just lepak in the background pretending to be the Melayu kuli for my "towkay" friends. So basically its true. Even the Chinese who cry "Malaysian Malaysia" do not practice what they preach. Of course there are chinese who really dont give a **** about all this race stuff (my friends are proof, come to think of it they dont seem to give a **** about a lotta things), but there are still many who are as equally racist and prejudiced as the melayu.

If the goal is to be "Malaysian Malaysia" shouldn't the ones chanting it start first? Lead by example and not by threats, prosecution and social disapproval. Prove you're different from BN.
written by Taikohtai, April 17, 2008 20:01:23
R
A
H
M
A
N = Now what makes you think that N stands for Najib?
N could stand for Naik, as in Barang Naik.
N could also stand for Nik Aziz
N could also stand for Nothing!
But me thinks you need to look back a little and what do you see?
Right! AN
And let me tell you that AN stands for ANwar!!!!!!!!!!!!
AAB was simply a sandiwara by the Madhatter.......DSAI was and is the next rightful PM of Malaysia and so says RAHMAN!
written by pelukis, April 17, 2008 20:54:00
Taikohtai,
Gua caya lu..
AN = ANWAR
DSAI was and is the next rightful PM of Malaysia and so says RAHMAN!
written by R020998, April 17, 2008 23:46:48

When DSAI was sacked on 2 September 1998, I was in university. I got a call from my old man, who was anti-mahathir as far as I could remember. He called to remind me to stay out of trouble in uni as mahathir had definitely planted SBs in unis before he sack DSAI.

"If you want to join demo, go to KL and if you get caught in KL, I’ll bail you out. This guy (DSAI) would definitely organize one. If you want to see his charisma and how he was during his student days, go to KL"

But I never did. Education comes first then. Nevertheless, DSAI was my "PM" since September 2nd 98.

The satisfaction I had last Monday (14/4/200smilies/cool.gif at KSS was much better than my first orgasm! ...and I want more!

So..today my dear friends.. I give full support for DSAI as the PM!!

Reformasi!!!

p/s: hope my wife never read this post, otherwise I won't be getting any... haha

written by MasterYoda, April 18, 2008 00:09:23
So whats the next name ofter RAHMAN?

I know! I know!... RAJA PETRA!!!

he he he...or maybe mine,...
written by StevenMax, April 19, 2008 07:33:59
DSAI is, perhaps, the lesser of the 2 evils. It is better for him to be PM than Badawi or Najib or whoever from UMNO. You can't teach old dogs new tricks. UMNO is just another dinosaur era party and most (not all lah) members have their mind and their pea-brain shut to realities. Many are still dreaming of that "ketuanan melayu". The Malays leading the country has never been questioned. It is the character, attitude and conscience that matters and not which idol one prefer to be a leader. UMNO is still into this idolising bygone era stuff. Better UMNO join Malaysian Idol or AF lah. smilies/grin.gif
written by sitiawan, April 28, 2008 12:20:51
“We want to avoid another round of infighting, this time over the Ipoh mayoralty,”

(testing)