Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Alternative Media Is Not Untouchable - Ahmad Shabery

Alternative Media Is Not Untouchable - Ahmad Shabery PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 April 2008 08:40

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR, April 15 -- The alternative media are not as untouchable as the public may think, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said Tuesday.

As such, he said, even though the people had the right to write whatever they wish through blogs and other online media, they could still be subjected to actions under the law if they defame others.

"People think that the alternative media could do what they want. This is not true. Recently there were cases against some of these bloggers," he told reporters after launching the First International Journalism Fellowship organised by the Malaysian Press Institute at the University of Malaya here.

Ahmad Shabery also said that the government had the responsibility to protect others from untruths and slander.

With technology available today, cyber forensics would be able to trace and detect the identity of online writers or slanderers even though they might use the anonymity of the Internet or a different name as a shield, he said.

To a question on the possibility of alternative media becoming more popular than the traditional media, Ahmad Shabery said it would depend on the reputation and credibility of the media concerned.

"The bottom line is reputation and credibility. If you have that and you report the truth, base on facts, the people will continue to read your articles. This is the new challenge for newspapers and for any form of media out there," he said.

In his speech, he said, even though the big names in the media industry had long reach, with glitzy presentations and cool-looking presenters, the media in the developing countries could still do better in terms of substance.

"Today's media trend is no longer about the business of informing the masses. It's about creating demands and changing opinions," he said.

The 40-day fellowship from April 14 to May 24, is participated by 33 young journalists from Zimbabwe, South Africa, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Laos, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Seychelles and Malaysia.

written by Robin Goodfellow, April 16, 2008 08:45:35
Aiseh man, Shabery you UMNO-ist! I have a better solution lah!

CLOSE DOWN ALL INTERNET IN MALAYSIA!

At least then you can say our living standards are as same as those in BURMA!
written by Atheist, April 16, 2008 08:51:08
"The alternative media are not as untouchable as the public may think"

Yes .. yes ... UMNO is untouchable, BN is untouchable, the rakyat is untouchable etc etc

People can say what they want irresponsibly because the 'system' promoted all this after 2004.

We had no problem before 2004 and when people cross the line ... no talk just lalang everyone !!!!

So do the same ..... if you can !!!!
written by foresight, April 16, 2008 09:02:32
Look where these young journalists whom he is propagating to come from. I wonder why participants for this international event are only restricted to these countries (or is it nobody else is interested) ?
written by foresight, April 16, 2008 09:08:02
I mean 'propaganding'.
written by mountainking, April 16, 2008 10:06:38
Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek

you are as good as your predecessor. wonder why they could not find any better information minister? why not let PR take over your job and teach you about media? wake up lah, doesn't matter whether MSM or cyber, the policy is about "freedom". if BN wrote so much of lies, maybe you should bring them to task and jail STAR and NST and UTUSAN journalists for writing non-truth in colluding with BN.

come and do forensics.... how many you wanna arrest? 100, 1000 , 10000, 100000, 1000000 or 10000000. do you know so many ppl are so disgusted with BN and especially you?
written by LALILOo, April 16, 2008 10:06:39
Aaah...stop the bull shit-lah. Omong kosong aje.
Recently someone wrote this and I like the sound of it. BN practices not just double standards, but triple standards.
One for UMNO,
one for their rich friends,
and one for the poor and common rakyat.

Poodah-lah!
written by Amadas, April 16, 2008 11:09:15
Hello Mr Information Minister,

Stop this media bullshit about credibility. If BN wants real credibilty then remove the printing and press act, remove OSA, pass freedom of information act and let MSM be truly independent in newsreports!!

Stop saying bullshit to insult the rakyat's intelligence!!!!

written by cancan, April 16, 2008 11:23:40
Business versus Politics

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by blacknight220, April 16, 2008 11:26:02
Ahmad Shabery Cheek)) mangkuk hayun engkau. Information minister kepala atuk engkau. (government had the responsibility to protect others from untruths and slander.) You mau tipu siapa?? woi elok you bangun laa. Really one big masaot we have here. Information Minister my foot.
written by temenggong, April 16, 2008 11:46:41
Well why don't you touch us then?

Most of the news in the blogs are straight from the mainstream media. Bloggers are commenting on it! Which is fair comment!

Besides, we have a standby international media like yahoo groups and youtube. So tell us how can you touch us?
written by gene, April 16, 2008 12:17:54
" The 40-day fellowship from April 14 to May 24, is participated by 33 young journalists from Zimbabwe, South Africa, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Laos, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Seychelles and Malaysia."

All shining examples of free media.
World press freedom index 2007
Rankings of 169 countries
149Zimbabwe
43South Africa
98Lebanon
148Saudi Arabia
128Philippines
156Sri Lanka
161Laos
134Bangladesh
162Vietnam
104Seychelles
124Malaysia

Ref:http://www.rsf.org/article.php3?id_article=24025
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 16, 2008 12:18:35
Info man talk cock.
written by anban, April 16, 2008 12:32:41
As usual the UMNO ppl are trying to bring the MSM culture to blog.

Khir Toyo is censoring the comments that is given in his websites. He is probably only publising a fraction of dissenting comments by the readers. 3 of my msgs have been ccensored by him although i can swear i have not said anything vulgar or malicious.

Ali Rustam is worse still. He tried but failed miserably to open his blogs to comments. He got whacked left right and centre and made his website a laughing stock to all who visits his website. Now he has TOTALLY BANNED all comments in his blog. His blog have turned into one way media just like the rest of the MSM.

Its funny these ppl thinks by blocking views they can manipulate ppls thinkin. It worked then but not anymore my friends. Censoring is only pushing the issue under the carpet...you are not eliminating the dissenting voice at all.

They should learn from RPK. No holds barred.
written by Areka, April 16, 2008 12:45:54
" With technology available today, cyber forensics would be able to trace and detect the identity of online writers or slanderers even though they might use the anonymity of the Internet or a different name as a shield, he said."

----------------------------------------------------------------

This fellow is trying to scare and suppress freedom of expressions ! Damn you !
written by mykantree, April 16, 2008 12:52:22
"Today's media trend is no longer about the business of informing the masses. It's about creating demands and changing opinions" So said Ahmad Shabery Cheek.

BN controlled MSM has been doing these for decades. And they are experts at it. And as admitted by ASC, the people has rejected it.

What's expected by the readers of the mass media is that the MSM should be about the business of informing the masses of the facts of things.It is about presenting factual news.Leave the decisions and opinion to the readers.
written by stillnotproud2bmsian, April 16, 2008 12:54:06
Shabery, have you heard of Publius? Check this website out!!

http://cs.nyu.edu/waldman/publius/

Don't think we dunno how to avoid detection Shab! We r smarter than ur Ali Rustam Bloggers and Gnag... So dun Talk COCK!! smilies/wink.gif
written by malaysia devil, April 16, 2008 13:19:12
new video information, DSAI speech at Kpg. baru
available at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/
or at: http://www.youtube.com/malaysianindian1
written by joejoe, April 16, 2008 13:42:37
So ... if the website is outside of Malaysia, and the person who posts the comment is from outside of Malaysia and is not a Malaysian ... how do you 'arrest' that person?

Is the Information Minister so naive to the fact that the Internet is borderless in a global context? If so, how does he qualify to be the Information Minister if he is so mis-informed?

I am afraid it looks like Bodowi has put the wrong people in place, starting with M2T, Arselina and now Suckberi. Tsk tsk ... one step forward, three steps back.
written by joeawk, April 16, 2008 13:54:44
Very true, but the truth is that there is as much lies by the Bn govt.
written by budakindia, April 16, 2008 17:41:34
ooo here comes the threat! oooo! run my children! the big bad wolf is coming! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Bollocks! Still the same garbage! smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, April 16, 2008 20:28:26
Sabary,what you speak can only be heard from the Eastern Bloc Fascists block of Nations , more so from the Russian power crazy Republics.and Zimbabwe. You seem to forget that you were born in a democratic nation called Malaysia .

Its has been ages since we had some true leaders in Malaysia till after the 8th March. UMNO only bred people like you so the ultimate result that you saw. Learn from all the mistakes then climb drumstick trees. Its not intelligent and we don't need ones like you ever on this landscape , Ever !!!!!!

Even with all your wounds , you dare the people who have suffered much under ones like you . Your salary comes from us , its our sweat, blood and tears. Definitely we wont forgive you, when you call us with your arrogance!!! never assume the Rakyat can be stupid for more then 50 years!!! We work for a better Malaysia ----- you guys dont!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by my2cents, April 16, 2008 20:29:06
Ahmad Shabery also said that the government had the responsibility to protect others from untruths and slander.

I guess if you're monitoring all bloogers, you'd probably be reading this (thank God). Your quote above refers: - What did the goverment do when Utusan and Star as well as NST deliberately misquoted (tantamounting to an untruth) Lim Guan Eng about the NEP issue. Why the indifference there? I challenge your reply? Why didn't the goverment protect Lim Guan Eng?
written by lynn, April 16, 2008 22:10:02
Ahmad shabery, can you respond to my2cents question? MSM deliberately, maliciously misquoted Lim Guan Eng on the NEP and what did you do? Nothing, right? Double standards again. Hey, listen, we rakyat are sick & tired of your BN's bloody double standards. Yes, Anwar for PM SOON! We want a change of government. We need a change of government. And we are going to have it, sooner or later!
written by power2u, April 16, 2008 23:09:43
SO,THIS IS SHAMEBERRY 'S SO CALLED INVITATION TO BLOGGERS...AT FIRST HE TRIED TO SOUND SWEET,INVITING BLOGGERS FOR DISCOURSE IN TV,BUT I KNEW ALL ALONG I SMELLED A RAT HERE...SO NOW WE KNOW WHAT IT IS..INTIMIDATION AND THREATS FROM THIS MINISTER....BETTER BOYCOTT THE PROGRAM.