Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow We can topple Umno: Anwar

We can topple Umno: Anwar PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 April 2008 08:37

Govt MPs waiting to deflect - for money and power

Malaysia's embattled Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawifaced a serious challenge yesterday as opposition leader Anwar Ibrahimsaid he had the support of enough government defectors to seize power.

Analysts backed Mr Anwar's dramatic claim, saying turmoil in the ruling coalition could hasten an exodus of law-makers and propel the former Deputy PM back to power after last month's stunning general election gains by the opposition alliance.

Mr Anwar, who was sacked from  office and jailed a decade ago, said at a rally in Kuala Lumpur late on Monday that he had enough support to form a government but would not act until he had a more comfortable majority.

"Yes, we have enough Members of Parliament (MPs) to topple the government," he told reporters after police broke up the rally, held to celebrate the end of Mr Anwar's ban from politics and which drew tens of
thousands of supporters. "But we will only enter when the majority is comfortable.

"Do we want to be a government with a two- or five-seat majority?"

Yesterday, police summoned Mr Anwar's wife, Dr Wan Azizah Ismail, who is president of the Keadilan party, and several others over the rally, which had been  declared illegal.

Keadilan said it considered the move an act of "intimidation and provocation", and the official Bernama news agency quoted Dr Azizah as saying she would not give a statement to the police - a move that could see her arrested.

But Kuala Lumpur police told Bernama that they "do not want to do that".

Mr Anwar has said that coalition lawmakers from Sabah and Sarawak states have approached him about switching sides, but so far, none have declared their intentions publicly.

Mr James Chin, political science  professor at Monash University's Kuala Lumpur campus, said coalition MPs were ready to defect because of infighting in the United Malays National Organisation and uncertainty over Mr Abdullah's leadership.

"It is true MPs are waiting to jump,"  he said. "They will do it for money and power. Abdullah is fighting for his political life and Anwar is pouring oil into the fire by stating that he has enough defectors to form the next government."

Ms Tricia Yeoh from the Centre for Public Policy Studies said that Mr Anwar was highlighting his ability to form the government in order to "inject in people's mind that there can be an alternate government".

When asked if he had enough support to take power, she said: "My gut feeling says yes. It will be risky for him to lie."

But Mr Timbon Herbert Lagadan, a state assemblyman from Sabah, said  Mr Anwar's comments were merely "political rhetoric. Anwar is a man who cannot be trusted. He promised development for Sabah when he was Deputy PM and Finance  Minister but he failed to deliver". - AFP

written by Robin Goodfellow, April 16, 2008 08:42:32
CARPE DIEM, SAUDARA ANWAR!

DATIN SERI AZIZAH UNTUK PRIME MINISTER!

HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT!

TAMATKAN UMNO-ISME DI MALAYSIA!

KEMBLAIKAN PETRONAS KEPADA RAKYAT!
written by PR Msia, April 16, 2008 08:48:24
It is a matter of time - PM-in-waiting to topple BN.
Wow, the dark turn into day for all Malaysians.
Thank you Dato' Seri Anwar Ibrahim.
We are proudly waiting for that precious moment.
written by Bigjoe99, April 16, 2008 08:49:51
He is at the very least, messing with their heads. A few like Ongkili is already going crazy..

Enjoy it Datuk...
written by Cash Money, April 16, 2008 09:00:52

Those who don't want to jumpship now inorder to have a clean slate as a politician need think hard for the prerequisite to join Barisan Rakyat is a corruption free one.
written by technoboy, April 16, 2008 09:15:42
DSAI, strike while the iron is hot, there are some risk though!
written by Rundukon, April 16, 2008 09:44:21
But Mr Timbon Herbert Lagadan, a state assemblyman from Sabah, said Mr Anwar's comments were merely "political rhetoric. Anwar is a man who cannot be trusted. He promised development for Sabah when he was Deputy PM and Finance Minister but he failed to deliver".

Timbon Lagadan, you have been YB for Kadamaian for more than 15 years yet you have done nothing for the kampong folks there. Instead of attacking Anwar, you should concentrate on developing your constituency. please remember that there are still people in Kadamaian who still eat 'ubi kayu with garam' as staple food.
written by backs, April 16, 2008 10:09:30
"But Mr Timbon Herbert Lagadan, a state assemblyman from Sabah, said Mr Anwar's comments were merely political rhetoric. Anwar is a man who cannot be trusted. He promised development for Sabah when he was Deputy PM and Finance Minister but he failed to deliver"

when your in the UMNO-BN system, even the most good intentioned leader will find difficulties fighting the system since there are always someone ready to stab you in the back given the chance.

don't preach what u can't even deliverlaa...Mr Timbon Herbert Lagadan...
written by libau, April 16, 2008 12:25:30
Wah this Mr Timbun also speak la..Mr Timbun, how is the road to my kampung? As already timbun arr..? But i know you not do it because your lose in my area in the 12th GE...But even you do it, the people in our area never call you as our YB..
written by joeawk, April 16, 2008 13:57:03
It would be good for the country because the UMNO dominated govt just ain't tenable anymore.