Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang CM to tell all if exco consents

Penang CM to tell all if exco consents PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 April 2008 08:26

By CHRISTINA CHIN

(STAR) PENANG: Details of alleged land improprieties which resulted in millions of ringgit being siphoned off the state coffers may be made public today.

Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said he was taking up a challenge by former deputy chief minister and land development and land affairs committee chairman Datuk Abdul Rashid Abdullah to reveal the details.

“We will discuss the matter during the state exco meeting. If all exco members agree, we will go public,” he told newsmen after receiving a courtesy call from the Penang Chinese Clan Council at his office yesterday.

“Initially I had not planned to expose the details just yet, nor had I made any accusations because I wanted to give Abdul Rashid a chance to explain why premium discounts were given to certain quarters and why state land was alienated to some big companies.

“We are not out to get anyone but since he has challenged me to reveal the details, I will do so,” he said, adding that he definitely wanted to meet with the latter.

“If he (Abdul Rashid) claims not to know of any land improprieties, I will tell him and let him explain. Come and see me. Do not give the reason that I did not issue an official invitation.

“Today I am making an official invitation in the media for him to come. I hope he will cooperate,” he said, adding that it was very odd that Abdul Rashid had expected him to send an official invitation to clarify the matter.

“When I want to meet the Prime Minister, I have to write in. When others want to meet with me, they write an official letter,” he said.

Lim was commenting on Abdul Rashid’s challenge for him to expose the alleged land discrepancy cases that have supposedly happened under the previous state administration.

Abdul Rashid, who denied knowledge of any land improprieties, had reportedly cautioned Lim against making “blind allegations without any proof in hand” before urging the former to provide specific details, including lot numbers, the location and details of the land owners.

He also lambasted the new state government for not knowing how to run its administration and suggested that Lim “take lessons on land administration before making allegations about land discrepancies”.

written by technoboy, April 16, 2008 08:33:41
Yeah, Rashid maybe Lim GE should take a lesson or two from you on how to go about conducting such land scam and then share the loot, BUT unfortunately not everyone is corruptible like you and morons in BN/UMNO.
written by PR Msia, April 16, 2008 08:41:45
Yes. The common corruptions. Land premium discount or waiver, alienation of land to proxies and companies. No need to proof anything, the land office officers can tell you who was getting.

The corrupted leaders cant sleep well with money. More in Selangor also. Lands in Selangor and Penang are very valuable.

IF BN still administrate in these 2 States for another 5 years - What is leftover = bones.

Of all I heard, Land office staff are 90% PR supporters.
written by tipletoe, April 16, 2008 08:42:00
Lim Guan Eng should make the land deals involving the UMNO, Gerakan and MCA politicians public. LGE must know that it was the people of Penang who gave him the mandate to administer the state. He is responsible and accountable to the people of Penang. As a Penangite I have the right to know what was happening to my home state after years of Barisan rule. We had all suffered under gross mismanagement under Barisan rule and we want answers to a lot of shady deals that were going on. Do not sweep all these under the carpet or the peoples' trust in you will be gone.
written by Evol, April 16, 2008 09:03:35
wahai saudara Abdul Rashid,

you're showing all Malaysian how hopelessly arrogant you are. you even want LGE to reveal the evidence to you, what is wrong with you?

maybe you have been involved in too many land title scam so you need LGE to remind you which plot or lot number so that you can go back and do your homeworks or check your bank account?

2ndly, please be remind that YAB LGE is now CM of Penang just in case you forgot you are already a opposition party in state asamebly.

3rd, you are be held responsible for all your wrong doing during BN tenure as state govt. People will not forgive and forget, time will record all the thing that happen before. You cant do it like our DPM where Altantunya entry record was wipe out from immigration dept.

4th, please get yourself ready to go to JAIL or you may also have another choice by becoming a citizen in Indonesia.
written by rockli, April 16, 2008 09:38:28
Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng should tell all without seeking permission from exco members as it is not their privilege but their DUTY.
We elected you to do your DUTY.
Do not consult anyone - just reveal all!
written by rockli, April 16, 2008 09:46:34
Those inciting the people against the RM100mil project as he was among those who agreed to the project.
The MB should just reveal all their names, if possible even their photos - this should shut their mouths up once for all.
And if they persist then thye should be ISA-ed nciting the people against the RM100mil project.
written by Wisdom above, April 16, 2008 09:58:04
Do not tell all.

Just sue him for the recovery of monies lost from the sale of land.

Get factual valuation report & sue him right away.

Syabas. Barisan rakyat.

Malaysia Bersatu.

written by Kimm, April 16, 2008 13:46:55
I totally agree that with or without Exco's green light LGE must reveal the truth. Remember Guan Eng you said "you only answer to the ppl of Pg who voted you in". Hence all lies unconvered must be unvieled before all and let the ppl shout the word "Nail Them!"

Well it has been normal for BN guys to deny 1st of their wrong doing to get ill gotten money to show public they were clean. But as always when the proof and truth have been presented and ascertained they will reticent like a poor pig ready for slaughter.

With such great gusto I'm sure LGE and his team have the relevant proof to nail Rashid. So pls go all the way and no holds barrred!!

Well I'm wondering how come our Tsu Koon is so quiet about this? What was he doing then? It shown he couldn't control umno guy and a follower. Bad CM but such a gentlman the way he handled his loss.
written by devious17, April 16, 2008 13:47:32
SO! ..... there is something to tell! smilies/cheesy.gif Goody! Goody! lets see who will jump like the flea! smilies/cheesy.gif

Head needs to roll to show umno/bn that Pakatan Rakyat means business!! smilies/cool.gif
written by joeawk, April 16, 2008 14:03:16
Penang people would really want to kn ow about the mismanagement of the previous govt. Show all and then get on with the necessaries.
written by Raja Gasper, April 16, 2008 17:24:41
Only in BN illegal can become legal because they practise goodwill principles.
written by chanatak, April 16, 2008 20:27:45
Rashid dares to act arrogant as he has only because he believes, and knows that the BN government has not changed its ways. He knows that BN will not order a probe against him and his cahoots. He believes that the police will not investigate him. He believes that even if the police are forced to do so, the police will do a shabby job to ensure that the court thows out his case. And if the police does do a good job, he believes that judiciary system is still in the pocket of BN, and do the bidding of BN, not serve justice.

Let's continue to watch and remember BN's behavior