Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The Malaysia-Darfur Connection

The Malaysia-Darfur Connection PDF Print
Monday, 14 April 2008 18:58

Malaysia must stop supporting the genocidal government in Khartoum, Sudan.

By Sally Ong

April 13, named “Global Day for Darfur”, marks the fifth anniversary of the genocide in Darfur, a western region of Sudan. Since the conflict in Darfur erupted in 2003, at least 200,000 people have died and more than 2.3 million people have been displaced from their homes. Most of the displaced Darfuris are now living in refugee camps in neighboring Chad and in a network of internally displaced persons (IDP) camps in Darfur.

Although the conflict began five years ago, it has its roots in decades of neglect, oppression, drought and small-scale conflicts in Darfur. The current crisis began when two rebel groups attacked the central government in Khartoum. The two groups represented agrarian farmers who are mostly “non-Arab black African” Muslims from different tribes. In response to the rebel movement, the Khartoum government increased arms and support to local tribal and other militias, who later became known as the Janjaweed. Members of the Janjaweed are mostly “Arab black African” Muslims who herd cattle, camels and other livestock. Janjaweed mean “devils on horseback” and are thus named because members of the militia would arrive on horseback to systematically murder, torture and rape hundreds and thousands of Darfuris. In addition, armed bands of Janjaweed have destroyed food and water supplies, effectively wiping out entire villages.

Malaysia is, unfortunately, complicit in the genocide. We are currently the second largest investor in Sudan after China, and thus funding Khartoum’s genocidal activities. Petronas, Malaysia’s state owned oil company, is a major player in Sudan’s oil industry. As of April 2007, Petronas had invested approximately RM 4.8 billion (or US$1.45 billion) in Sudan. Petronas’ involvement has also facilitated significant investment of other Malaysian companies in Sudan. Ranhill Berhad, Muhibbah Engineering Berhad, Kencana Petroleum Berhad, Kejuruteraan Samudra Timur Bhd, Scomi Group Berhad and PECD Berhad are other Malaysian companies that have major stakes in Sudan’s oil industry.

All these companies have been identified by Sudan Divestment Taskforce, a U.S. based non-profit, as companies with highly problematic practices in Sudan. They are thus labeled because their business dealings 1) involve engagement with the Government of Sudan, 2) provide little to no benefit to the disadvantaged populations of Sudan and 3) may be inadvertently contributing to the government’s genocidal capacity.

Because of these business dealings, Malaysia has also strengthened bilateral relations with Sudan. Malaysia has provided military assistance and political protection to Sudan. A memorandum of understanding between the two countries signed in February 2004 included an agreement to cooperate on military matters. Although Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has expressed concern about the conflict in Darfur, he has not called for increased pressure on the Government of Sudan. Instead, he appealed to Muslim world leaders to provide help to the Sudanese government. When he visited Sudan in April 2007, Pak Lah also urged western governments not to impose sanctions on Sudan.

Malaysia’s involvement in the killings in Darfur, whether direct or indirect, is shameful and must stop. The Malaysian government must use its economic leverage to pressure the Sudanese government to stop the killing and destruction of Darfuri lives. Malaysian owned companies in Sudan should also do the honorable thing and withdraw completely from Sudan if Khartoum refuses to restore peace to Darfur.

I urge all concerned Malaysians to protest our government’s role in empowering Khartoum. To learn about the lives of displaced Darfuris, please visit here , a website with videos and journal entries posted by volunteers who visited sites in Darfur and Chad. Lim Yuen-Ling, a Malaysian, visited refugee camps in Chad last year as a volunteer for Stop Genocide Now. To sign an online petition asking the Malaysian government to unequivocally oppose the genocide, please visit here

No one should have to die because of our economic interests. How many more thousands of people must die before we will speak up?

written by R Hum, April 14, 2008 19:12:08
Look at how the City Police Chief behaves. He still thinks that UMNO is still in charge. This is what he said today. " Stern action will be taken against those who attend an illegal gathering tonight at Kampung Baru in support of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

City police chief Deputy Comm Muhammad Sabtu Osman said police would not hesitate to exercise whatever measures required, to ensure peace and order.

I wonder what level of education he attained to be the CPO. He must be a full paid member of UMNO.
written by Mik, April 14, 2008 19:17:34
"No one should have to die because of our economic interests. How many more thousands of people must die before we will speak up?"

6.6 Billion.
Since GREED has no limit.
written by uncleleow, April 14, 2008 19:18:25
Malaysian willing or unwilling participation in Darfur should be brought to the International attention. The US and Western Country should bar fund manager from holding shares or interest in Petronas,Ranhill Berhad, Muhibbah Engineering Berhad, Kencana Petroleum Berhad, Kejuruteraan Samudra Timur Bhd, Scomi Group Berhad and PECD Berhad. Then we will see pressure from UMNO for these companies to disengage from Sudan.
written by aah, April 14, 2008 19:37:51
Dear Sally,

My question is have you ever been to Darfur ?have you ever stayed in the IDP's camp such as EL GENINA, NYALA or EL FASHER ,for your info I have stayed in all those camps giving medical and humanitarian aids.No mass killings or massacre happens during my 2 months there.Hope you are not an american crony!
written by nesen, April 14, 2008 19:44:09
Mr OIC Chairman/ PM of Malaysia In the case of the Palestinians and the Lebanese it has been your sins of ommission by ignoring the plight of the muslims In Dafour it is a case of your sins of commision. I wonder if you could appeal to the OIC to give you another 3 year term to fulfil your obligations as OIC Chairman that you failed to carry out (as per you request to your fellow Malaysians...)
written by Flex Tan, April 14, 2008 19:47:40
MALAYSIAN DENIED HELPING HAMAS ....

MALAYSIAN ALSO DENIED HELPING SADAM....

ALL THE WANT TO DO IS....... LIVING IN DENIAL......... !!! BLAME OTHERS... THAT'S WHAT THEY ARE GOOD AT.
written by Negarakuku, April 14, 2008 20:16:38
Umno also denied helping Malay...hohohoho smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Eskay Lim, April 14, 2008 20:19:25
If greedy CEOs of Malaysian GLCs & politicians can practise corruption, mismanagement of public funds, rent-seeking and other misdemeanours in their very own country, what's so surprising that they be complicit in genocide in other people's country, like Sudan.
Few modern businessmen have conscience. Profits and more profits is more important even though doing business with a foreign government that commits mass-killings, rape and genocide on her own population.
written by sydput, April 14, 2008 20:20:56
US got their oil supplies when iran was under the shah, when saddam controlled iraq, still got their oil from saudi, whose citizen was responsible for 9/11, but Iraq, being another arab state, got the brunt of the vengeance. Nobody conplained then.
If malaysia found oil in virgin jungle of sarawak, there would be numerous protest concerning environment and possibly embargo. Us can drill for oil in alaska or anywhere without any worries.
Oil in sudan is found in the south, which is in the christian territory, and both the govenrment of sudan and the rebels have sued for peace, and not in darfur.
written by CVL, April 14, 2008 21:20:08
In the Darfur humanity crisis, Malaysia had a momentous opportunity, thru its OIC helm and Petronas weightage, to rise to the occasion for humanity and along the way seal a permanent precedence as a champion of universal values for human kind. Alas, this opportunity was not taken even as it stared in the eyes [and possibly tugged at the heart] of its OIC Chairman.

I recall there were a number of pleadings and representations to the PM / OIC Chairman to influence Sudan to cease and ease the human sufferings her citizens were caught in. And I did anticipate Malaysia would surely not miss this opportunity to help a Muslim country and establish herself as a role model of an exemplary leader in the Muslim world, and as humanitarian nation to be proud of at the UN.

Sadly, whatever the PM/OIC Chairman did, did not alleviate human suffering at Darfur by UN standards. One can ponder what actions were taken, but it seems obvious that those in the Malaysian authority either do not subscribe to the UN humankind standards or are plainly incapable of international relationship.

Either way, are many of those up there good only for sloganeering as shown in the ‘Peace Malaysia’ movement, or are Malaysian perverts? Malaysian higher ups simply cannot be stupid, or is it possible to miss this obvious thing?
written by Tompios, April 14, 2008 21:46:57
African Darfur!

Now, it’s time for some Malaya states feel what we felt long time ago as Opposition State (Sabah). Government will not let you Opposition to touch money from Government pocket bank. You will suffered and ‘putih mata’ to see only BN people and her territory will wetted by Taxpayers money.

Malaysia is just like most African Countries who are very racist with bloody hands. What is the root of this problem? It is not 100% about religion issues and also it is not about extremist but because of racism among Malaya people as whole. Mostly federal people are Malayanists. Malayanists are very racist compare to Sabahan. That is why, the Malayanist especially UMNO people spreading the racist sporadic to Sabah and Sarawak to get majority vote for UMNO racist doctrine and able to rule this country with UMNO agendas.

Now, this UMNO playing many issues card such Islamic state, Pigs, Developments issues to get sympathy from short sighted taxpayers over the nation. I do not agree with UMNO agenda since it is only benefiting one race (UMNO-Malay) as 1st class and 2nd class for other races, 4th class for any aborigines and 7th class for Bumis in Sabah.

Someday, Sabah will stand up for her rights! Just wait and see. The new generation will come up! Just wait and see. We have some dedicated persons who are willing to stand-up for Sabah after graduate from oversea school. We are ready to mark the new history of Sabah. Wait and see. Dying for Sabah is our main target. Malaysia will never exist without Sarawak x Sabah x Singapore. Mathematically, Malaysia is no longer exist since Sarawak (1) x Sabah ((1) x (0) Singapore = 0 (Zero) NIL. Malaysia government please love Sabah as your partner. The only one who can prevent Sabah out from Malaysia is PKR groups. We are preparing for the worst things happen to us and Sabahan if possible.

written by loko Ono, April 14, 2008 23:10:19
Typical malaysian chinese posters..blame Malaysia, blame government, blame UMNO and blame Malays..Podah..pi mampus lah korang!! China is one of the biggest supporter of the Sudan Regime. Chinese (China) contractors are working on so many projects there that they get special treatment in Sudan. Who is protecting Sudan against sanctions?...come on now..say it with me..CHI ****ING NA! They have stake in Sudapet, Petrodar and bring in their chinese contractors..nak cakap pasal diskriminasi konon..pi mampus la korang..do some research lah! Ive been to Khartoum. The best part is these Chinese people there do not complain about the full Islamic Syariah law practiced in that country..and why should they..they making tons-tons of money..Melayu hipokrit konon..penindas konon..ambik kesempatan konon..pi mampus lah korang!

To the writer, hope u can extend your article to get Malaysians to exert pressure to the Chinese government as well, coz we all know, if PETRONAS aint there, the Chinese petroleum company (like China Petroleum) will just profit more and guess what..they would be more supportive of the Sudan regime and they will say **** off to whatever sanctions the international community want to do in future..

oh..just one more point to ponder..I wonder which country did these so call Malaysia companies buy their materials and heavy machinery to build oil refineries, gas pipelines, electric generators, drills, tanks etc? Im quite sure that Malaysia is not that technologically advance where it can produce those stuff..yup..they bought it from the whiteys! The same whiteys thats complaining about the opression in Sudan..at the end of the day, everyone benefits (xcept the people of Darfur of course!) smilies/kiss.gif
written by bn haramjadah, April 15, 2008 06:16:14
LOKO ono SEE YOU ARE STILL froathing and FOAMING AT THE MOUTH AND MAKING EVERYTHING INTO A RACE ISSUE again, just because china has gone in there does not mean that malaysia must follow and go and perpetuate the problem some more, the slaughter which is happenning in DARFUR, IS MAJORITY INFLICTED BY MUSLIMS AGAINST MUSLIMS, this is another country with a ketuanan issue, the genocide happenning there is akin to the slaughter of the palestinians by the isreali, so does this mean its ok for muslims to kill muslims, YOU commented about china, well maybe masa you kat askar tak cukup belajar mengenai CHINA, they are a communist country who do not believe in god, so if these chinese from china eat shit should the malaysians go and join them, so by the same standard if the chinese have a diet of pork so should the.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif you get my drift, what rank were you in the forces sir, because the way you shoot off from the mouth seems to me you must have been NCO or a lower rank. cos if you were of high rank with such racist comments, WHAT HAS BECOME OF THE OFFICER CORP OF THE MALAYSIAN ARMED FORCES. the higher ranking officers during my time were of calibre and such strategist, knowing when to move and when to hold and cover and flank. Nampak nya belum matang kat kepala kot, premature ejaculation of the mouth kot smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif I would advice you to re-read the article and understand first, it is about human rights of MUSLIMS BEING SLAUGHTERED BY ANOTHER BUNCH OF MUSLIMS, and our vultures from Malaysia are there investing in that country and basically legitimising the slaughter, do you know who guards PETRONAS FACILITIES???? GO CHECK YOUR FACTS, ODOI HAVE TO SPELL OUT EVERYTHING TO SOME PEOPLE
written by mat, April 15, 2008 14:10:56
Who is this writer? How stupid are you? You honestly think the killings will stop just because no one invests in them? Ha! Ha! Tribal killings have not a care about foreign investments. If its the Sudanese govt lain cerita la. You claim the Sudanese Govt supplied arms? Maybe. But if they stop supplying now do you think the killing will stop? Are you that naive?

As a matter of fact I think we should encourage investors to Sudan to stop the killing. The reason the tibal people in Sudan are like that is because they're poor and uneducated. Thus they do not think twice about burning a rival village to the ground. And depriving Sudan of the opportunity to improve their socioeconomic status will just further deteriorate the situation. What we can do is invest more and impose that the Sudanese Govt improve the Sudanese socioeconomic status to guarantee more investments. When people are able to think better and have better living then going off to kill others dont really seem like a worthwhile idea does it?

Anyway it's better for the Sudanese than having the US Army march in, kill everything in sight, proclaim liberation of Sudan and proceed extracting black gold as payment for "services rendered". smilies/grin.gif
written by sallyo, April 15, 2008 19:20:59
Dear all,

This is Sally, the author of the article. Thank you for your impassioned comments (even though some of you did some namecalling smilies/wink.gif ). It's all good, shows that people care.

In response to some of the concerns brought up, I would like to say the following:

1)to aah, true, I have never been to Darfur but numerous independent sources have confirmed the fact that people have died, been raped, and chased out of their homes in Darfur. If you ***** on the Stop Genocide Now weblink, you will find witness accounts of what actually happened. A fellow Malaysian, as I mentioned, went to Chad last year and documented witness accounts. http://www.stopgenocidenow.org/iact/iact3/day4 ***** on this link and you will hear a young mother's account of the killings and displacement. I'm not sure how you did not hear of tales of mass killings, rape and displacement when you visited Chad. Who did you go with? Also, why would there be so many displaced Darfuris in Chad if there's no mass killing? People don't just pack up and leave for no reason.

2) to loko ono. This is not a Chinese vs Malay issue. I was actually quite impressed at how you were able to link a protest against Darfur to our own unfortunate racial (or racist) situation here. The reason why I am petitioning the Malaysian government and not China is because I am a Malaysian citizen and not a Chinese citizen. I am really against my government helping a genocidal government in Sudan. They are my elected representatives. Why shouldn't I speak up? Plus, there are already many many articles about China's involvement in Darfur since they are the no.1 investor in Sudan. We are a close second but not much has been spoken about our role there. I'm sure fellow Malaysians also have a conscience, so please speak up with me!

3. to mat. If you read my article properly, you will realize that I am asking the Malaysian government to first, use their economic leverage to pressure the Khartoum government to stop the genocide. If they refuse to respond, then let Malaysia withdraw all its investments. Yes, there will always be someone else willing to invest but why should it be us? Why would we want our hands sullied with such a dirty, rotten government, which has killed hundreds of thousands of its own citizens? Tough action needs to be taken; it has been proven to work. Malaysia was a vocal opponent of apartheid in South Africa, Malaysian citizens couldn't even visit SA during years of apartheid. International pressure eventually did help the change in SA. Why shouldn't we do the same today for Darfuris?

Also, as a sidenote, I am NOT an American crony. Goodness! Haha... For the record, I also oppose Guantanamo, the execution of Iraq war, etc... I am just a firm believer that human rights violation is terrible no matter who commits it. Let's not practice double standards. Darfuris are as human as the Khartoum government and us Malaysians.
written by mat, April 18, 2008 10:15:14
Dear Ms Ong,

If you read my reply carefullyyou will realise that I am saying that stopping investments in Sudan will make the situation worse. As I said earlier it is the state of ignorance and lack of education and social well being that have driven the Sudanese tribesmen to such acts of violence. Sure having cleansed ourselves of "dirty money" etc is all honorable and stuff but if you look at the bigger perspective, helping to actually stop the violence for good by enlightening the Sudanese people is the actual goal isn't it? Punishing people for the sake of punishing will only fuel their ultra-nationalism.

Why is it no one ever look into our own country's struggle against the Communist Terrorists? The British were wise enough to know that to rally support of locals and to diminish the Communists will to fight it is imperative to show that Malaya can prosper without having to be under Communist rule. Once the nation and the people have a comfortable standard of living it becomes glaringly obvious that going off into the jungle and sabotaging the nation's infrastructure for a certain group's cause is a selfish and socially irresponsible act. Compare that to the village burn and terror campaign of the Americans in Vietnam. Because communism does not believe in God and the Vietnamese aren't Muslims? Wrong. The Vietnamese are Buddhists and very much believe in Buddhism which is contrary to Communist beliefs. If the British were to punish every vilage and town in Malaya as reaction to the Communist insurgency what would the outcome be today?

As for South Africa please study it first. South Africa was not a case of mass ignorance, lack of education and social awareness. The oppressors were the educated white people. They had the upper hand in every aspect. They have no real reason to oppress the blacks. Anyway look at what happened after Apartheid was abolished. The uneducated blacks exacted revenge on their former masters. Just like what we're seeing happening now in Malaysia the last PRU. But thats besides the point.

The case of Sudan is that the rural tribal people are largely uneducated, poor and have very little chance of improving their lifestyle. With people who do not have the educational background to decide beyond tribal laws and have nothing to lose, violence seems a very interesting option doesn't it?

So why must we just follow the old draconian laws that only punishes but does not enlighten? And also there is no such thing as honor and "clean money" when it comes to national interests. Those are just words of envy by those jealous white people who didn't have the opportunity to exploit Sudan first.