TDM: 22 fiascos in 22 years of power PDF Print
Sunday, 13 April 2008 19:55

Many of those who worshipped TDM cannot understand why Malaysians blame TDM for the woes of the country.

I have compiled excerpts of articles which were published in the media in past years to refresh the memories of Malaysians, as to why many Malaysians feel that TDM did more bad than good for the country in his 22 years.

These 22 fiascos were published in the form of questions directed to TDM:

1) On clean government
You came to power in 1981 and introduced the slogan
bersih, cekap dan amanah (clean, efficient and trustworthy). What did you do to further that? Did you make the Anti-Corruption Agency more independent and effective? Did you ensure that the police and judiciary did their jobs properly and reduce corruption in their ranks? Did you ensure that ministers and chief ministers not have income beyond their legal means? How many big guns were prosecuted for corruption offences during your tenure? What happened to bersih, cekap dan amanah?

2) Press freedom
Your criticism of the government got plenty of coverage in the local media whereas, during your time, criticisms against you by two former prime ministers were muted in the mainstream newspapers. Editors in Umno-linked newspapers too were removed for not toeing the line. What did you do to advance the cause of responsible press freedom?

3) Proton
You went ahead with the national car project in 1983 despite a number of experts disagreeing with you, especially with respect to the lack of economies of scale. Isn’t it true that Proton’s profits over the past 20 years came from the vastly higher prices that the Malaysian public have had to pay to subsidies Proton, resulting in considerable hardship for Malaysians who need cars because of the poor public transport system? Why was it necessary for Proton to buy a stake in a failed Italian motorcycle manufacturer when it could not even produce cars competitively?

4) Heavy industries
Why did you push into heavy industries such as steel and cement in the 1980s, ignoring studies which suggested developing natural resource-based industries instead? They caused major problems and billions of ringgit in losses.

5) Immigration
Why did you allow hordes of people to emigrate, mainly from Indonesia , in such an unregulated way that there are as many or more illegal immigrants than legal ones now, accounting for some two million or more people? Did you not realize that this would cause serious social problems?

6) Operasi Lalang
Why did you have to resort to this move in October 1987, when you used the Internal Security Act to detain over 100 people, close down four newspapers and cause a wave of fear throughout the country? Was it to consolidate your tenuous hold on power then by using an oppressive law?

7) Judiciary
What was your motive to take action in 1988 to remove the then lord president and several Supreme Court judges from their positions under allegations of judicial misconduct, a move which was heavily criticized by the Bar Council and other bodies? Was it because you needed more compliant judges whose rulings would not threaten your position of power in a number of cases in court?
Was this the first step in dismantling the judiciary’s role as a system of checks and balances against the legislature and the executive? What have you to say to repeated assertions by many, including prominent ex-chief justices, who maintain that this led to the erosion of judicial independence?

8) Education

Why did you allow our national school system, which is the ideal place to develop ties among young Malaysians, to become so divisive?  Why is it that our local Universities, once the preferred choice of tertiary education, have deteriorated to a level that even students who gained admission prefer to enroll into local private Universities.

9) Malaysian Airlines System
Why did your government sell MAS (private sale) to Tajuddin Ramli who had no knowledge whatsoever about running an airline? Why did your government then later bail out Tajuddin by paying RM8 per share when the shares were trading at only RM3.60 in the open market, costing close to RM 1 billion of the rakyat’s money.

10) Privatization
Why did you allow privatization to take place in such a manner that the most profitable parts of government operations were sold away like Telekom Malaysia ,Pos Malaysia and Tenaga Nasional? Toll roads had guaranteed toll increases and compensations in the event traffic projections were not met. Independent power producers had contracts that guaranteed them profits at the expense of Tenaga Nasional .What was the justification of privatizing the government medical stores to Southern Task Sdn Bhd, and the resulting increase of prices of medicines?

11) Putrajaya
What is the justification for spending RM20 billion on a grandiose government city at a time when office space was available in Kuala Lumpur ? Could the money not have been put to better use, such as improving educational resources?

12) Indah Water Konsortium

What was the basis of granting Indah Water Konsortium a concession to manage the national sewerage system? Could you explain the RM1.4 billion soft loan to IWK which is clearly has irrecoverable losses?

13) Konsortium Perkapalan Berhad

Why did you rescue Konsortium Perkapalan Berhad (then owned by Mirzan) and which had debts of RM1.7 billion using funds from Petronas? Was it not your administration which forced Malaysian International Shipping Company (MISC) to acquire the assets of Konsortium Perkapalan Nasional?

14) Time Dotcom Bhd.

Why did your administration bail out Time Dotcom Bhd which was saddled with a RM5 billion debt? Why did your government use RM904 million from Kumpulan Wang Amanah Pencen to buy up 273.9 million of unwanted Time Dotcom shares incurring an instant loss of RM280 million?

Did you not force the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) to buy 81.6 million unsubscribed public portion of the initial public offering (IPO) of Time Dotcom Bhd at RM3.30 per share when the shares were trading at only between RM1.95 and RM2.10 and in the process incurring an instant loss of RM100 million?

15) LRT

Why did you bail out the light rail transit operators Projek Usahasama Transit Ringan Automatik Sdn Bhd (Putra), which belonged to Renong, and Sistem Transit Aliran Ringan Sdn Bhd (Star) using almost RM600 million from EPF, which still resulted in EPF having to write off RM135 million with a share loss of RM96 million?

16) North South Expressway

Why did your administration award North South Expressway concession to UEM (who then formed Plus) and then provide them with a loan of RM1.6 billion which was half of the tender price of RM3.2 billion. What was the justification for your administration to grant Plus such over generous terms, which included annual increment of toll rates and guaranteed traffic volumes?

17) PSC Industries Berhad

Why did your administration in 1998 award a RM24.3 billion contract to PSC Industries Berhad, together with an advance of more than RM2.5 billion to build naval patrol boats? Why were they also given exclusive rights to service the Malaysian navy’s entire fleet? Could you confirm that the first two ships built by PSCI could not even pass pre-delivery trials? How would you answer to the Public Accounts Committee’s revelation that it will cost the government another RM120 million just to salvage the first two vessels nearing completion after seven years?

18) Bakun Dam

Why did you award Ekran Bhd the contract to build the Bakun Hydroelectric Dam in Sarawak ? Why did your administration take over the construction of the dam by bailing out Ekran by almost RM200 million for ‘work done’?

19) InventQjaya

What was the basis of inviting Libyan-American Sadeq Mustaffa to Malaysia to set up InventQjaya Sdn Bhd and to also give him a grant of RM440 million? What was the benefit for Malaysia and how has Malaysia benefited? What happened to InventQjaya now?

20) Forex Losses

Why did your administration dabble in speculation of the money market which ultimately cost Bank Negara almost RM9.3 billion in losses?

21) Bank Bumiputra

Why did you allow the mismanagement of Bank Bumiputra, to the extent that it had to be bailed out 3 times, costing the country a total of RM 3 billion? Again, dipping into Petronas’s funds?

22) Perwaja Steel

Why did your administration allow Perwaja Steel to be mismanaged resulting in RM 2.9 million of the rakyat’s money being squandered?

There you are 22 fiascos in 22 years. The bad news is that there are actually more than 22! Remember the APs, Maminco, Renong and many more .Those who remember, please add on to this list.

By Batman

Comments (71)Add Comment
written by lonewolf, April 13, 2008 20:10:44
Hoped that one day ... All your misdeeds will be made public. Mahathir... U are nothing less than a liar and a dictator.. No doubt u have brought some development at the cost rakyat's money. U have started all this problem and yet you claim u are clean..
agree 228
written by Bunda, April 13, 2008 20:12:17
Don't forget all the other privatized highways like SPRINT, KESAS, and the SMART tunnel that was obviously badly designed.

That stupid tunnel has more use as a highway. And, it was only meant to be used once every 3-5 years. Yet, in the last couple of months, it has been used to divert rain water at least twice! And, it takes a whole frigging week to clean out the tunnel after that, causing massive traffic jams in its vicinity.

Also, don't forget Cyberjaya. And, all the lousy laws that make the rakyat pay more (like water privatization), so that the cronies can become obscenely rich.

Don't forget that it was Mahathir who tightened the screws for the OSA and the Printing and Publications Act.

The man may have done many great things for this country, but he also screwed up majorly in many other things.

Please feel free to add.

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
agree 162
written by fairnessforall, April 13, 2008 20:14:14
Wow, the total amount of losses caused by Mahathir would have been sufficient to upgrade all the villages in Malaysia thereby overcoming the flood problems that now those poor people are having to go through.
written by rakyatmalaysia, April 13, 2008 20:17:45
Good one, batsman.

And to Mr.mahathir, before u use your fowled mouth to critise badawi, please look at your own mistakes first. This country is in deep shit because of you. Admit that you are father of corruption and gave birth to all these rubish.

I think you better sit quiet and ponder on your past mistake and ask forgivenes from GOD. Your Grave is calling u soon and prepare to meet your maker and answer these questions to GOD.

Astalavista (mean : see you again)
agree 134
written by Reshminraj, April 13, 2008 20:20:09
The answer is simple as ABC. That was done by Mahathir a/l Mohammad to stay in power for 22years. It was for him and his family to accumalate billion of dollars. Not more than that, whoever were to lead Malaysia during that period of time could have done much much better for the country without hurting the human value, harmony and well being of its citizens.

written by malsia1206, April 13, 2008 20:22:22
And yet many worship the footsteps he walked and the footprints he left behind. Is he a bomoh or what? Is the rakyat so blind or what ? Or is it both or what? If we cannot see what is black and white, then we all deserve what we are getting.
written by dialogue 7, April 13, 2008 20:24:27
Do you expect this geriatric to remember all these...?
written by talk2stop, April 13, 2008 20:24:40
Batman I think we get your message loud & clear. Let the old man rattles his mouth. You know how is it like when you are old when others start to ignore you even you grand kids.
TDM needs viagra so that it doesn't piss on his own feet.
So will you people leave him alone before nursing home may not want him.
He done good to me making me leaving Malaysia for a better life.
Look on the bright side of life.....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 13, 2008 20:36:39
Give him one rotan for each of the above misdeeds and let him rot away in the cave.
written by malsia1206, April 13, 2008 20:38:32
Noe thosands. but millions, hundreds of millions and billions.Yet when you forget to dispay your 20sen parking coupon, you get penalised. When you underpay your income tax by a ringgit, they impose penalty. When you are late with your electric bill payment they threaten to cut off supply. Our PM can waste and abuse billions and get away with them all. Not even the Government's money. Thay are all the derived from rakyat's taxes. Time for the rakyat to demand the Government to show their hands.
written by InEffective, April 13, 2008 20:38:36
Like most politicians, DrM does not measure his success and recognition based on the achievements and capabilities of the rakyat (there is no people's metric that can stroke DrM's drivers).

He measures his success and his contributions on the physical infrastructure (roads, skyscrapers, landscaped townships etc), and essentially absolute control and influence over the nation's assets, resources and peoples. His esteem gets stroked everytime foreigners and visitors exclaim how beautiful this country is (he gets all the credit).

Wonder though how much of the benefits actually reached the common people -
Unfortunately the local common peoples (the rakyat) could not create a strong enough incentive to stroke this politicians self-satisfactions.

The rakyat naively believes that a politician's primary agenda is to create value for the rakyat. Unfortunately nobody told that to DrM - his understanding is that the rakyat exists to serve his glory and fame. The motivation platforms are so totally disconnected.

Welcome to the incurable disease of intellectual vanity. We sure got a first-hand education in this concept. DrM does not believe in allowing anything to get in his way - he is an achiever - but at your expense.
written by foresight, April 13, 2008 20:40:05
This just sums up the kind of person he is. He has such a thick skin to critisize Badawi and others for being incompetent. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to investigate him (he actually asked).
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 13, 2008 20:46:32
He is more dangerous than a king cobra!
written by Commonsenses, April 13, 2008 21:04:49
can someone translate it into BM, so that every one can see TDM over 22 dalils in 22 years.
written by pelukis, April 13, 2008 21:17:28
'Umno, not Malays, under threat'
Apr 13, 08 5:05pm.
malaysiakini.

Anwar Ibrahim said the ‘Ketuanan Melayu' card increasing played up by Umno is to divert attention from the party's internal problems following its unprecedented electoral setback.
* Dr M hired Jewish lobbyists
written by cble, April 13, 2008 21:19:35
Jika kita bercakap tentang Tun Mahatir sama seperti kita bercakap tentang Mugabe. Mereka berdua ini spisis yang sama perosak kepada kekayaan di negeri masing2
written by eskimomalaya, April 13, 2008 21:24:27
19) InventQjaya

What was the basis of inviting Libyan-American Sadeq Mustaffa to Malaysia to set up InventQjaya Sdn Bhd and to also give him a grant of RM440 million? What was the benefit for Malaysia and how has Malaysia benefited? What happened to InventQjaya now?

I used to work there! It was a total and utter fiasco! He just GAVE away the money to m********king sadeq faris and his own pengkhianat bangsa cronies. Which in turn was gifted back to him by one bullshitty mean or another, I'm sure.

May you all (putrajaya & cyberjaya rascal tycoons) rot in hell.
written by megahyper, April 13, 2008 21:29:43
written by wanzai, April 13, 2008 | 20:36:58
What abaout the good things taht TDM has done for the last 22 years.Could you stated that also?

Alo, Wanzai, why not you list 5? just 5 good things he has done?

Politics? Education? Economy? judiciary? Unity? None! Nil!
written by SUV, April 13, 2008 21:47:44
syabas batsman!!
written by Eskay Lim, April 13, 2008 22:13:48
For 22 long years Toon Madhatter led his merry cronies to raid the country of her wealth through mismanagement & serious corruption. It was like the king rat leading his group of friends & close family members to carry off grain from the grainery causing the country into near bankruption.
Now he is talking like a national hero. What a joker.
He should be tied to a stake at a market place and let every Malaysian to throw 3 stones at him.
written by chanatak, April 13, 2008 22:16:17
Write him down in history as equivalent to the likes of Ferdinand Marcos and Eric Estrada. Let him be remembered as such for the generations to come. Let his children, grandchildren and great grandchildren feel ashamed to carry his blood. And let us see what billions of ringgit cannot wash away - the shame for generations to come.
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 22:24:04
Oh, I can't remember.
oh, I was not the one.

Ok, Ok ,Ok , show proof!

No, No, No, The Israelis did it.

No, No, No, All these not under my time.

No, I never take a Sen!

Oh, I love Umno.

Oh I love the country.

Alright, you can call a International Commission to Investigate .

I never did anything wrong.

All is Badawi's fault.
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 22:25:21
chanatak, just look at Mukhriz, skin so thick.
The only immunity Toone Mahathir has is immunity from Shame!
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 22:26:40
megahyper, not only has Mahathir contributed nothing to Malaysia for 22 years..

Mahathir has actually sodomised the country for 22 years.

written by Countach, April 13, 2008 22:27:48
eskimaomalaya, Malaysians tak mudah lupa.

Only some people with 'selective memory' lupa.
written by wishuponastar, April 13, 2008 22:29:47
with so much of s**t he should be wearing adult pampers at both ends.
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 22:31:26
Ineffective, Mahathir is only good at spending the Nation's hard earned money.Anybody,can build this and build that.

At the end of the day, money does not drop from the sky.

In addition to Mahathir spending all the country's money, he mark up the price and pocket hundreds of billion.

Thats is development from Mahathir.

Developing Mahathir's Bank account is more like it.

Now, Malaysia, toll here, toll there, inflation everywhere.

Thats the legacy of Mahathir, The Father of Corruption!
written by Raymond, April 13, 2008 22:35:57
Mahathir, the former mongrel prime minister.
He is worried shit about Anwar taking over as PM.
When that happens.. my guess is that he will do a Zakaria of Klang stint..
roll over and croak to aviod being prosecuted by the new administration.
But I hope that the next government can uncover the misdeeds of Mahathir and AB and recover the STOLEN LOOT back to the nation's RAKYAT.

written by hiro, April 13, 2008 22:48:23
I think TDM may be lapsing into schizophrenia.

He's essentially criticising everything that he's ever done. First, he talks about anti-corruption, then anti-nepotism, removing nomination quota for Presidential contest within UMNO, and now he's even championing freedom of under-graduates to participate in politics!

With all due respect for at least putting Malaysia on world map (whether for the right or wrong reason), it's time for him to retire from local politics and let it be. He should move on to be an elderly statesman on world stage, which is one area where he is the indisputable antagonist.
written by megahyper, April 13, 2008 22:53:05
written by biker979, April 13, 2008 | 22:40:50
"So now these Bloggers are praying that DSAI will be the next PM? Pray that you wont become the servant of the West especially USA unless you all wish to be Americanized. Or maybe all of you willing to sell your soul and counry to the White bastrads!! "

Typical AMNO respond for everything that went wrong or anyone thats not in their good book.
"servant of the west" "americanised" "zionist" "israelist"

Dont you guys have any other vocabulary? Use your head and think! do you believe all this nonsensical propaganda?
is someone so free to even relate them to all these nonsense? tepuk dada tanya selera.
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 23:00:43
biker979, Mahathir has already Sodomised the country for 22 years.

Please do not blame white or black people.
Please do not blame weatern or eastern people.
Please do not blame Jews, Israelis or Zionists.

The truth of the above article is for all to read.

We all know how to read English.

Conclusion.

Mahathir the Father of Corruption is the cause of all things wrong in this country.
written by andywongkch, April 13, 2008 23:01:37
u have prepared quite a comprehensive list of what this one sick man has done to the country to the worst. And it will take more Annuar, Lim Kit Sian etc to undo the wrong. Always keep hope alive folks
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 23:10:13
biker979, it was not the white basterd who screwed ans sodomised us for 22 years.

It was Mahathir, your hero who screwed us for 22 years.

You get it?
written by Msian 2, April 13, 2008 23:27:34
Biker979 -- you are a bloody traitor to the country & rakyat. I don't care whether its Anwar, Badawi Or your Mahatail -- you do crime you pay. Tell us Biker979 idiot its likes like U that the country cannot move forward. Don't blame Aussies, Americans etc. we have major abuses here, in our own backyard. Isn't it time for all to know & put a stop to it? Imagine what all those money can do for hospital, education, helping the poor if not all poor, deserving malays instead of Mahatail & his cronies. Looks like U love it when Mahatail screw the country ?
written by Countach, April 13, 2008 23:33:01
Msian2, every Dictator in this world screws the country and then blame whitemen.

Just look at Zimbabwe, Mugabe screwd up the whole country, then blame white man.

Btw Mahathir is the advisor to Mugabe, you see the resul, disaster.

Malaysia would be like Zimbabwe if not for her resources.

written by RitchieLow, April 13, 2008 23:35:20
One thing sticks out like a sore thumb. The people running these companies and or projects don't really know how. Just acquired the so called privilege and run them to the ground regardless. Silly isn't it.
written by yy88, April 13, 2008 23:47:49
I really 'envy' Tun for his many abilities including to twist and turn with a forked tongue , audacity to lie without a blink of an eye, perseverance in time of crisis,intolerant to political dissensions, authoritarian in governance, generousity in helping his cronies, dedication to his "race" and country, foresight in privitisation of profitable government agencies, blackmailing and coercion of his cabinets to practise high corruptions and above all his grandiose fascination of the many mega white elephants.

He is also the master of divide and rule, the hypocritical champion of his race and the insatiable thirst for greeds.

One of his greatest achievement was creating racial disharmony among the Rakyat.

How I 'wish' I was in his circle of patronage.
written by sataysticks, April 13, 2008 23:50:42
After Mahathir divorced himself from Proton and Tunku Maheel left, the company is finally making sense!!! Thank God, without Mahatheer around, Proton is finally doing very well.

Mukris was not wanted in Langkawi, Merbok or Sik. After lobbying and begging shamelessly, that Bald Goon finally got Jerlun where he won narrowly. Now that Bald Goon talks as if he's PM material!!!
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 00:25:36
sataysticks, that Bald Goon is Corruption material, not Pm material.

Just look at his Father's corruption record.

Boleh jadi Iso International standard.
written by mgeo, April 14, 2008 00:28:50
(a) Proton and at least the initial Perwaja Steel were obsolete technology. Any foreign business will be happy to sell you such technology.
(b) Import of foreign labour was partly to please employers while cheating Malaysian workers, without considering all aspects of national interest.
Not mentioned above:
(a) Buying back privatised enterprises after they failed.
(b) Operation Lalang.
(c) No action on each annual Accountant-general's reports.
(d) The exploits of his other warlords (Ministers and Chief Ministers).
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 00:31:03
Mahathir must resign from Petronas as advisor immediately!

Full audit of Petronas account must begin now /

Audit Petronas accounts for the last 22 years Mahathir was in power.
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 00:32:30
sarawakian, Mahathir is the illness of the Malays.

Mahathir is the Malay dilemma.

Mahathir is ther Dilemma of the Malays.
written by sickofitall, April 14, 2008 01:06:42
Batman
your article is a good start, but is far from exhaustive. Can we, the readers, please continue to list (but do so fairly!) things that Dr M should answer for? Let us at least have a fair and objective verdict on his performance as PM.
written by Lim Lim, April 14, 2008 01:16:34
only 22(twenty two)fiascos-kah??the list should be much more longer!!
written by StevenO, April 14, 2008 01:35:29
He privatise the profits to his Family and Cronies and Nationalise all the loss and debts to the Rakyat of Malaysia. That's why he kept thinking up of mega projects.

Because of that, many coming generations will have to pay through their noses.
written by FFT, April 14, 2008 02:13:57
Excellent!

But do keep a fly swatter handy; you can expect that a little gnat called Matthias will come buzzing around in response to this write up.

You know, if the old coot Mahathir just left quietly and enjoyed his retirement while leaving the country in peace, that's one thing; and the country could have moved on without turning the spotlight on him.

But because this arrogant narcissist still thinks the country needs to dance to his karaoke singing of "My Way", he should be investigated, prosecuted, humiliated, flayed, drawn and quartered, and finally hung by his gonads off the Petronas Towers suspension bridge.
written by doggone, April 14, 2008 03:38:45
Of late, TDM is afraid of anything that moves.
Scary but true that his arch enemy call out his name in his dreams.

He sees Anwar even in the ripples of his toilet bowl.
written by ardijuaris, April 14, 2008 04:15:14
TDM mamak…

There are Fifty thousand of your university students are not given places in Malaysia but are good enough for places overseas resulting in billion of dollars lost. The British and the Australians are thinking how stupid. Your best students are sent overseas raising their standards while as in most countries the best are kept in local universities and the rejects sent overseas.

A university student in Hong Kong is much more prestigious than any Australian counterpart.

You have been colonized by the British so long you cannot even educate your own people. Look at Hong Kong or Singapore less than 5% study overseas. All the money saved.

Your country could save billions if every student overseas is recalled to a local university, and at the same time raising your own standards.

Your people are still without shoes, without land to farm, without homes, bathing in rivers shitting in hole in the ground, without water and electricity. Your cities are concrete jungles without greenery and open spaces. Your KL is jammed with traffic. Yet you still keep on building high rises. You should come down from the clouds and stop daydreaming and firmly plant your feet in the ground.

Your schools are cramped 500 students to an acre and thousands of acres are given free to some politician who leaves them idle. Your parks are being taken by politicians to build shop houses and every cabinet minister is a land-grabbing businessman who build roads only to their cronies' land.

written by ardijuaris, April 14, 2008 04:16:10
more abt TDM:

The Prime Minister built highways without tender, your cronies get the deal and the price double. Your Langkawi airport runway is built is double the cost by your own company Ekran.

The Malaysian nation has lost at least 30 billions during your last 10 years of corrupt rule. One billions lost from the purchase of phantom skyhawk war planes nobody has ever seen (are they still in the Nevada desert USA ?).

3 billion lost from the London tin scandal (you thought you could corner the London tin market without knowing the Americans have a stockpile! Stupidity at its best.

6 billion Perwaja steel mill where nobody even know where the money goes,

3 billion bank Bumiputra scandal where George Tan bribed all the bank officials to lend him the money.

6 billion forex lost by Bank Negara (the fool and his money are soon parted)

and 6 billion to build three of the worlds tallest buildings (built by Japanese and Koreans and furniture imported from France - not Malaysia)

and 1 billion lost from purchase of British warship including fees paid to the broker and under the table. Add the 10 billion you stole and 5 billion taken by Ministers.

SOROS REPLY TO MAHATHIR
adapted from Bangkok Post

I have always said Dr Mahathir is a menace to his own people. Now only you can see the effects of his foolishness when the ringgit has halved its value overnight and your economy goes kaput. Single handedly you have caused hardship to millions of your own people.

You have built useless mega projects at tremendous cost to the country.The telecoms tower in Kuala Lumpur and the highest building in the world show how stupid you are. Not only does it cause massive traffic jam, it has totally no purpose. If you need high ground for telecoms antennae a nearby mountain is there for free. This tower has no purpose from the ground up to 300 meters. The satelites make this totally unnecessary.

A fool and his money are soon parted. The only thing is you are the fool and the money belongs to Malaysians. You make 20% in every project, you have real estate in Japan and billions of shares corruptly acquired. Your 3 sons are worth 8 billion US$. Where do they get this money? Of course, corruption.

You are known as the Marcos of Malaysia, having enriched yourself to the tune of billions.You dare to shed crocodile tears during UMNO delegates meeting about the ills of corruption. Yet you are the most corrupt of all the prime ministers before you. A thief is crying thief and hopes people look the other way.

Who dares to say anything when the chief is caught with his hands in the candy jar? You said wisdom is not the monopoly of the West. So is foolishness.
You have more foolishness than most people would believe.

Billions are used to build two high rise Petronas buildings that benefit
nobody. It now stand tall, a symbol of stupidity and irresponsibility. Instead they just add on to traffic jam. What is this reclamation of 10 islands off Kedah? Totally absurb and stupid. Of course your benefit is 20%. And the bridge across from Malacca to Sumatra across international waters? Why not build a bridge to the moon? I am sure you still can get your 20%.
written by residentsniper, April 14, 2008 04:50:30
I was having this teh tarik session with a friend, and we were debating on the amount that the Tun might have amassed (now in terms of fixed and liquid assets) over the years:

I guessed between RM 30 to 50 Billion. He thinks it's much more than that.

What do you guys think? Any figures?
written by MRDaniel LOOI, April 14, 2008 05:07:48
All the loses could be put to used for proper eduction facility and health facility. During TDM's time the school condition in some rural school is in such a bad condition, hospital not enough bed for patient. He don't border to administrate the government service, the service are so bad. He only care for the big project which causes the government to lost billion.
One of his achievement is he has created a son who is number eight richest man in Malaysia.

Pak Lah is one hundred times better then TDM.
written by MRDaniel LOOI, April 14, 2008 05:24:14
I was told that TDM is the chairman of a Bank in south Africa. Tun Daim has many banks in South Africa,both are in the same boat. Where they get so much money to own banks.
written by taufan, April 14, 2008 08:08:15
"9) Malaysian Airlines System
Why did your government sell MAS (private sale) to Tajuddin Ramli who had no knowledge whatsoever about running an airline? Why did your government then later bail out Tajuddin by paying RM8 per share when the shares were trading at only RM3.60 in the open market, costing close to RM 1 billion of the rakyat’s money"

On this note, many did not know that Qantas had offerd MAS RM6 to buy over the shares, but TR (probably under instruction from Daim) refused to budge. The biggest sucker was Brunei which had to dispose its share (though small) at the measely market price.

As for Putrajaya project, did the proposal go through Parliament? I don't recall that taking place. Maybe I missed out on the debate!
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 08:49:52
To stop massive staeling of money, Badawi must remove Mahathir from Petronas as advisor.

Full public audit of Petronas accounts must go back 30 years ago.

How much does Mahathir has?

More than 200 billion Rm is a good figure to start off with.
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 08:52:52
sataysticks, tell me which company where Mahathir is involved makes money?

None.

All business that Mahathir in involved using taxpayers money fails and the government loses, meaning our money , billions of losses everytime!
written by Counterpointer, April 14, 2008 08:55:10
Yes, Batman,this was where you got your ideas for this piece.

Question Time: 22 questions for Mahathir
By P Gunasegaram

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cm...0-17b59680

smilies/wink.gif
written by humanist, April 14, 2008 08:56:33
If Malaysia were to be well run by decent leaders, we would have been easily be some a country like Singapore. A clean, efficient place for anyone to stop by, doing business, going around sightseeing, people are free to roam around. But not now, you do not go out on fear of being mugged, you want to do biz you have to worry about the legal and illegal money you have to pay even to get things going, all the supposedly nice infrastructure were poorly done , garbage all over due to poor education.

To me Mahathir was a zero and a pariah from day one, nothing more. He thought he did a lot, but he fact, he looted a lot.
written by Awaken64, April 14, 2008 09:47:05
Has Dr M & his family filed in their tax returns IRD please take note.
written by khongja, April 14, 2008 09:50:14
This guy at the moment is the most hated person on earth.Use to wonder how this guy sleeps at night.Today he acts as though nothing happens and I think Pak lah has to do something for his survival and start proceedings for the rape of this country by him ,his families and cronies!
When he is under seige especially his reputation , its time we bring his memory to order.This guy thinks he own the country and today he thinks he can get away with it.Oh one more thing ,he thinks he is God and can live forever.
written by bogeyman, April 14, 2008 10:40:31
written by Counterpointer, April 14, 2008 | 08:55:10

Yes, Batman,this was where you got your ideas for this piece.

Question Time: 22 questions for Mahathir
By P Gunasegaram

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cm...0-17b59680

report abusevote downvote upVotes: 1

Yes, buttsman, you are nothing but a two bit plagiarizer desperately seeking the limelight in M-T after some of us exposed you for the phoney that you are.
Nothing original ever comes from you, except wilful stupidity. You are the laughing stock in M-T smilies/grin.gif
written by Sean E, April 14, 2008 10:48:46
TDM advocate the 70 million population policy in September 1982 as the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

The Family Planning Programme which was initiated in 1966 was turned upside down. TDM is interested in a large but illiterate population of a certain composition so that he and his cronies can rule for a thousand years.

To speed up the process of attaining that objective, TDM has ‘Project IC’ in Sabah – mass import of muslim immigrants from neighbouring countries and even Pakistan. At one time people from Cambodia, Bosnia, Myammar (of certain religion) are welcome with open arm. Contrast this with the boat people from Vietnam in the 70s who were confined to an island (Pulau Bidong, Terengganu) and later refugee camps in Sungei Besi.

TDM is interested in quantity, not quality. Hence the foreign spouses of Malaysian (of not the correct race or religion) are ignored and refuse citizenship. TDM wanted the number but didn’t have the social programme to look after them. We have big family size and children born one year after another (no proper spacing of child birth). We have high rise mass apartments which are not conducive to big families and the apartments are also not well taken care off.

We can now see the impact of that misguided 70 million policy (the folly of one person). Drug problems, snatch thieves, petty crimes, rape, child adduction, mat rembit in the cities.

Actually successful countries doesn’t need big population – Sweden (9.2 million), Finland (5.3 million), Switzerland (7.5 million). Tell that to our dictator TDM when he was in his height of power!
written by Msian 2, April 14, 2008 14:04:37
The Bangkok Post article on Mahatir is long & very interesting. Makes me very angry that our Mahatir had done untold damage to the economy in the name of RACE & ISLAM. The main beneficial is him, his family & his cronies. Hope someone can post the entire thread for everyone to judge for themselves what this old goon had done & would do if he can get rid of Badawi. Its so evil, brutal and how much power this mamak had and reminds me of Russian Stalin.
written by ez24get, April 14, 2008 15:53:13
The corruption of Mahathir
SOROS REPLY TO MAHATHIR
adapted from Bangkok Post

I have always said Dr Mahathir is a menace to his own people. Now only you can see the effects of his foolishness when the ringgit has halved its value overnight and your economy goes kaput. Single handedly you have caused hardship to millions of your own people. You have built useless mega projects at tremendous cost to the country.

The telecoms tower in Kuala Lumpur and the highest building in the world show how stupid you are. Not only does it cause massive traffic jam, it has totally no purpose. If you need high ground for telecoms antennae a nearby mountain is there for free. This tower has no purpose from the ground up to 300 metres. The satelites make this totally unneccesary.

A fool and his money are soon parted. The only thing is you are the fool and the money belongs to Malaysians. You make 20% in evey project, you have real estate in Japan and billions of shares corruptly acquired. Your 3 sons are worth 8 billion US$. Where do they get this money? Of course, corruption. You are known as the Marcos of Malaysia, having enriched yourself to the tune of billions.

You dare to shed crocodile tears during UMNO delegates meeting about the ills of corruption. Yet you are the most corrupt of all the prime ministers before you. A thief is crying thief and hopes people look the other way. Who dares to say anything when the chief is caught with his hands in the candy jar?

You said wisdom is not the monopoly of the West. So is foolishness.

You have more foolishness than most people would believe. Billions are used to build two high rise Petronas buildings that benefit nobody. It now stand tall, a symbol of stupidity and irresponsibility Instead they just add on to traffic jam. What is this reclamation of 10 islands off Kedah? Totally absurb and stupid. Of course your benefit is 20%. And the bridge across from Malacca to Sumatra across international waters? Why not build a bridge to the moon? I am sure you still can get your 20%.

You called me a Moron. How can a Moron make so much money. By allowing short selling and borrowing millions of shares from your banks we fund managers made millions out of your inexperience and poor regulations. You lose all Malaysians money, therefore you are the Moron. Now you know too late and start crying over split milk. In Australia you are known as the recalcitrant ego maniac; in UK the corrupt bastard because of your stupid purchase of our movie studio and the 290 million ringgit Lotus racing car plant and the shady Pergau dam loans from the UK. They are useless to us and you still want to buy them. What about buying British reject submarines through your agent, of course. The agent/ broker is designed to make millions out of Malaysian government. Your purchase of our battleships is at least 50% more than others are paying. Your purchase of 9 hospitals from UK lock, stock and barrel does not support your local architects or your industry and the British send you obsolete medical equipment.
written by ez24get, April 14, 2008 15:54:12
continue...

The design is atrocious, one end to the other is half a kilometer and there is no CT-scan, an absolute necessity. In the Uk your face appears in no less than 17 newspapers as a corrupt dictator. In Malaysia you are known as the (IBM) International Big Mouth. In Japan they call him the 'smallest one' (brain size). In Pacific island the Santa Claus (giving advice left and right). In south America they call him the parrot (he talks a lot but does not know what it is about).

In Manila the living Marcos.

In Malaysia they are spending millions to lure tourists and you talk rubbish scaring every foreigner away. "When he is dumb he is doubted a fool, when he opens his mouth it removes all doubt."

While I agree the West does not have the monopoly to wisdom, your actions are not the wisest either. Your EAEC has totally no support even in Asean. Your South-South dialogue mets with the same fate and what is this I hear of the Bridge from Malaysia to Indonesia covering 20 miles across International shipping lanes? How crazy can one get?

Even the Japanese don't have the money. This world's stupidity seems to be concerntrated in one man's mind - yours.

The multimedia super corridor - MSC -. Well in USA its most stupid concept because we Americans, would have thought of it light years before. Even if it makes money, we can copy this concept can't we? Why do you want to spend your hard-earned money doing questionable projects? It will be like the Bakun project. Abandoned fund wasted and another white elephant. I always say politicians should not be involved in business. Your ministers are also businessmen and almost every official is enriching himself. Look at Rafidah Aziz, selling thousands of Approved Permit for cars each worth 20-30 thousand Malaysian dollars. Why not your government sell them and make the money?She has acquired millions of shares meant for bumis for free before she agrees to list them. Look at your Selangor Chief Minister collecting millions for approving high rise buildings from businessman. He is worth a few billions. Unfortunately he was caught with a few millions pocket money in Australia.Every Chief minister is awarding useless projects to his cronies then collecting secret pay offs on the side.The Land development Boards and the Economic Development Boards are used to bailout any loses suffered by politicians.The profits they keep, the loses they force the Government bodies to absorb.How can your poor ever close the gap when every good deal is snatched by your politicians?How can your country get out of poverty if all the billions of corruption money is taken out of the country?

Look at the Sarawak Chief Minister selling billions worth of timber concessions under the table; selling every piece of state land to businessman without tender; using his own companies to obtain lucrative government contracts; selling approval signatures for a fee 'you pay I approve'. He has 8 billion US stashes overseas. Thousands of acres of land are given to one or two companies while thousands of poor people still live in cardboard makeshift homes; have no water and shit into the river. Thousands of acres of land are sold to companies for plantations while the native don't have even one acre to their name. He is selling sand near the beaches to one company for earth filling and then ask the government to spend millions to protect the coastline when erosion occurs. He lost 300 millions of the sarawak government money trying to make computer chips. He has built a port in Northern sarawak town in water so shallow it needs dredging every year.

The Prime Minister built highways without tender, your cronies get the deal and the price double. Your Langkawi airport runway is built is double the cost by your own company Ekran.
written by ez24get, April 14, 2008 15:54:55
continue....

The Malaysian nation has lost at least 30 billions during your last 10 years of corrupt rule. One billions lost from the purchase of phantom skyhawk war planes nobody has ever seen (are they still in the Nevada desert USA?). 3 billion lost from the London tin scandal (you thought you could corner the London tin market without knowing the Americans have a stockpile! Stupidity at its best. 6 billion Perwaja steel mill where nobody even know where the money goes, 3 billion bank Bumiputra scandal where George Tan bribed all the bank officials to lend him the money. 6 billion forex lost by Bank Negara (the fool and his money are soon parted) and 6 billion to build three of the worlds tallest buildings (built by Japanese and Koreans and furniture imported from France - not Malaysia) and 1 billion lost from purchase of British warship including fees paid to the broker and under the table. Add the 10 billion you stole and 5 billion taken by Ministers.

In the 1997 the World Journalists meeting voted Dr Mahathir the Prime Minister of the Decade. It sounded strange to everybody until it was revealed those who voted against are threatened by IRD officers and with losing their jobs. In New York the United Nations 1997 meeting,

the most corrupt Prime Minister of the decade is President Suharto and second Dr Mahathir (Actually Dr Mahathir should take first place but bribed the Indonesian to take honour of Number One.

There are Fifty thousand of your university students are not given places in Malaysia but are good enough for places overseas resulting in billion of dollars lost.The British and the Australians are thinking how stupid.Your best students are sent overseas raising their standards while as in most countries the best are kept in local universities and the rejects sent overseas. A university student in Hong Kong is much more prestigeous than any Australian counterpart.

You have been colonised by the British so long you cannot even educate your own people. Look at Hong Kong or Singapore less than 5% study overseas. All the money saved. Your country could save billions if every student overseas is recalled to a local university, and at the same time raising your own standards.

Your people are still without shoes, without land to farm, without homes, bathing in rivers shitting in hole in the ground, without water and electricity. Your cities are concrete jungles without greenery and open spaces. Your KL is jammed with traffic. Yet you still keep on building high rises. You should come down from the clouds and stop daydreaming and firmly plant your feet in the ground. Your schools are cramped 500 students to an acre and thousands of acres are given free to some politician who leaves them idle. Your parks are being taken by politicians to build shophouses and every cabinet minister is a landgrabbing businessman who build roads only to their cronies' land.

The Malaysians' prayer

"Ya Allah, we thank you for your gifts of timber, oil and grain. But then the devil sent us corrupt Mahathir without a Brain And look we are back to square one again So just take Dr Mahathir back to Hell And we will be alive and well."

In China people have been shot for embezzling one thousand dollars. With 8 billions you have stolen therefore you would be shot 80 thousand times.

Now you are leading an anti-corruption campaign. We all know what you should do. Look yourself in the mirror. You see the crook there? Then use your left hand and handcuff your right hand.

You have put the opposition leader and his son in jail when they said in parliament you are the richest PM in the world. And his colleague

Mr Karpal Singh too for 2 years. So I get a reward or bribe if I now say you are the poorest PM in this world?

Your 3 sons are sitting in the board of directors of more than 200 companies. They must have been educated in Harvard school of business and obtained distintions? Or is it "you don't know me you don't do business in Malaysia" law that applies. Billions of ringgit of Employee's Provident Funds and public Petonas funds are used to bail out your sons who make losses investing in every venture you thought you could make money. How unethical and corrupt.

Every one of your politicians are sitting on the boards of tens of companies making thousands without any effort, lending their VIP names to borrow millions from local banks without collateral. Now these have become non performing loans. Now you want 20 millions Malaysian to sacrifice for the folly of ONE man? Why not the fool resign and admit he wasted and took most of the money. I could teach you how to put your economy on tract but first you must apologize to the Jews and the Malaysian people as well.

'SOROS'

written by mgeo, April 14, 2008 22:09:13
Dear MRDaniel LOOI,
Is Datuk Samsuddin still the front man in South Africa?

Dear Sean E,
Most of the contries rated to have the highest quality of life have populations below 10 million. Most of the petroleum producing countries (except maybe Kuwait and UAE) have the bulk of theit people living in poverty.
written by Countach, April 14, 2008 23:16:32
ez24get, Lee Kuan Yew should cane Mahathir a 1000 times.

And send Mahathir to the Singapore night Zoo be be displayed as a monster!
written by Fat Zorro, April 14, 2008 23:56:30
Actually, I have this nagging question and I hope someone can provide factual answers. We produce petroleum and yet we do not benefit at all from the escalating price, why? Have we forward sold our oil so somebody and this somebody is making money at our expense? I also understand that our petroleum is one of those high grade type and yet the diesel we sell in our is inferior to the diesel sold in developed country. Why is it that we Malaysians are always short changed?